• Breaking News

    Friday, September 4, 2020

    Weight loss: The Nike Attitude

    Weight loss: The Nike Attitude


    The Nike Attitude

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 09:44 AM PDT

    On May 10th 2019, shortly after my best friend's wedding. I received pictures from the wedding. And I just couldn't look at myself. I hated that picture, and I hated the way I looked. I weighed just shy of 400lbs, possibly more as I didn't want to see the number start with 4 so I stopped weighing myself and just hid the problem.

    But this picture, the one on the left, pushed me to finally make a life change. I quit my job as a school bus driver, which had aided me in packing on the pounds due to being a very inactive job, and took a paycut working for Amazon delivering packages because of how active the job was. That lead me into my current career path driving for UPS. Which is not only more physical and more exercise, I'm also scaled to make more money than I ever have in my life. I weighed myself today. And when I seen I had finally reached my soft-goal of 250. I had to take a picture to compare. And honestly I've never been more proud of myself.

    And I did all this by just adopting what I call "The Nike Attitude"

    You can think of a million excuses to not do something. But you just need to keep telling yourself "Just do it."

    I still have a good ways to go before my goal of sub-200. But I just wanted to give some inspiration to anyone out there who needs it. You can do it. I have faith in you.

    Just do it.

    submitted by /u/NikeAttitude
    [link] [comments]

    Lost 10 pounds and I'm under 300 lbs!

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 11:46 PM PDT

    I hit my absolute highest weight of 308 lbs about three weeks to a month ago, can't remember exactly when. I started doing intermittent fasting without counting calories and walked one hour minimum per day. I lost nothing for a week or so, so I started counting calories (around 1500-2000 per day) while doing IF and the walking. The weight started just dropping off, like melting off! Every morning when I weigh myself I see another dropped half pound to a pound. I know it's mostly water weight, but still feels amazing to see it go away! Today I weighed in at exactly 298 lbs, my first goal! Too bad I'm stuck on mobile Reddit and can't change my flair!

    Next up, 280, which I haven't weighed since two-ish years ago? Really exciting!

    submitted by /u/Forever-Willing
    [link] [comments]

    i lost 10 pounds!!!!

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 11:49 AM PDT

    Alright, so this isnt the biggest accomplishment but its a milestone for me and I'm trying not to talk about weight loss with friends since many of them are stressed about their covid bodies. Sometime in January, I weighed myself and hit 200 pounds and felt... crappy. I was trying to be in shape, playing hockey at least once a week, yoga 2-3 times, but i was just eating terribly and so i was still packin on the pounds.

    I kicked it into gear and lost 9 pounds. 191... so close. And then covid hit and i was on the couch, eating not great, and before i knew it i was back up to nearly 200. Now i had to lose the 10 again but without access to my favorite activities (hockey and hot yoga), so I hit up my fitness pal for the first times in a few years and took it slow and steady but i hit 189 this week, just in time for my birthday. I still have 25-30 pounds to lose, but this milestone was a big one for me.

    Hope everyone is having a great, healthy day.

    submitted by /u/puckastronomer
    [link] [comments]

    To anyone looking for “the motivation” to lose weight

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 10:55 AM PDT

    I just had a lightbulb moment of what honest-to-god motivated me to lose the weight. This may not work for everyone, but I hope it can help at least one person.

    When I first started out, I picked a method that works for a huge amount of people: CICO (calories in, calories out). It seemed like the least intrusive type of diet change. I could continue eating what I usually ate, but in smaller portions. I didn't have to go to the gym. I committed to trying this method for two weeks.

    When you first start dieting, the weight drops off pretty fast. I think I lost 5 pounds in two weeks, and it felt incredible. I couldn't believe it WORKED. That first time you see results is like… playing a video game you will love, for the first time. Reading a great chapter of a book that you will love, for the first time. You end up wanting to keep at it, see where this road can take you.

    So, my advice would be - Fuel your initial motivation by considering it a "two week challenge". 14 days of putting yourself first, just to see what might happen. After you drop the first few pounds, it's bonafide proof that god damnit this is possible.

    PS: I will always recommend CICO, because 1) It works. 2) You don't need to make huge life changes to get started. 3) You can still eat things you like, which is critical to creating sustainable changes down the road.

    I believe this sub has a quick start guide that can lead you through the steps of getting started with CICO.

    submitted by /u/river_rose
    [link] [comments]

    Am I allowed to be proud of my progress? (Using medication as a tool)

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 10:20 PM PDT

    TLDR; Doctor prescribed meds to help kickstart weightloss due to binge eating/emotional eating, seeing dietitian to fix it, feel like I don't belong in the weight loss community cause I had to get help from external factors and medicine is a stigma. Need hugs.

    Hi guys.

    It's my first time posting something personal on here. I've been overweight all my life and stood out so much because being obese in Asia is rare. For Asian body types, our healthy BMI is 23 and below whereas I've hit 31 multiple times in my life and fluctuate between 32~28. Never at the healthy range.

    I've tried everything you can name - counting calories, tracking macros, reading books on eating psychology, exercising, signing up for a gym membership. While all of those worked for a while and got me to a BMI of ~28, I always regained it because I have a very bad binge eating and emotional eating background. My mental health is also not exactly in the right place and I'm seeing a professional for it too.

    Recently I decided to go to a doctor that deals with weight management. He listened to me very patiently and prescribed me a drug, phentermine, as a tool to help with the emotional eating. I'm well aware of the side effects and risks, but two weeks prior, I merely ran for 5 seconds to chase a bus and I was already seeing stars and almost fainted in public. I think me being the way I was was already a big risk to my health anyways so I took the plunge.

    So far it's been one week on the drug, it doesn't seem to clash with my antidepressants, and for the first time in a while I'm genuinely eating "normally". I eat proper meals and don't snack in between. I'm more productive and when I'm stressed my mind does not go to food anymore and go to other things to unwind instead, the doctor suggested taking a stroll when I'm stressed. I'm also seeing a dietitian next week to make sure I'm eating enough while on the drug, and even when off the drug, I maintain the eating habits.

    For sure, the doctor also told me clearly the weight has potential to all come back if I don't use this time to form healthy lifestyle habits. I'm well aware, because I did use it once when I was 15 (unethical doctor prescribing it to me before I was even an adult lol) and didn't do anything to change my habits, it all came back.

    But this time? After 5-6 years of on and off attempts to fix my emotional eating and doing it alone? I'm trying it again with a whole different mindset. I'm seeing progress in my weight already, I'm strolling in the park to destress at least 4 times a week now which I never did before, and I genuinely feel happier I'm doing something.

    Just one thing : I feel like I'm not allowed to be in the weight loss community sometimes because I had to seek help from external factors and wasn't strong enough to lose 50 pounds on my own. I mean, the initial weight loss will be aided with meds, but once I'm off it I have a lot to lose on my own. But the fact that I started with meds makes me afraid of stigma and what people will say. Like I'm not really part of this entire hard-working community and can't relate to some of the things that are said, even though I really feel like I'm on the same journey of self love and lifestyle change.

    This is the turning point in my life and my road to inner peace, I just feel ashamed sometimes I had to get help for something a lot of people do on their own, even I wanted to do it on my own. I did and I tried. I think I still am?

    Just need some reassurance and big hugs, thank you for reading this far <3

    submitted by /u/aiden_20
    [link] [comments]

    From Ask Reddit (my post) Overweight or obese people of reddit...what do you wish your parents had done/not done to give you a healthy relationship with your body and food?

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 04:37 PM PDT

    Hi all, I posted the above question to ask reddit and wrote the full below info to go with it...only to find out you can't have text in the body of an ask reddit post. Someone recommended I try here instead so...yeah. Here we are.

    Let me explain a little more.

    My daughter is 10 and weighs 72 kg (we're Australian - for Americans that's 158 lb). For reference, she's already 10 kg heavier than me (her mum) and steadily rising.

    She was classified as morbidly obese at 8 and has been OBSESSED with food since she was 18 months old. I remember because around that time she started eating crazy stuff - whole tubs of butter, raw chicken, soap. It was hard work keeping her alive! (Surprisingly she does not have pica - we looked into that. She just wanted to eat ALL THE THINGS).

    When we went for picnics she's go and sit on other people's picnic rugs to puppy-dog-eye them till they gave her treats, when we went to birthday parties she would never leave the food table to play, she sneaks food constantly and always wants to eat 12 meals a day.

    I have worked really hard all her life to keep the focus off weight and on her health, I'd keep it light hearted too (we only eat one breakfast here, we're not hobbits!) - we've seen countless dr's, dietitians, pediatricians. She's had a million blood tests to check that there's not some medical reason for her constant need for food. I made sure that there was no mention of weight at any of those appointments and we just talked about them as check ups and to make sure she's healthy.

    So, basically, I'm asking here because as a mum but also as a woman who struggles with my own body image issues, I am terrified of fucking things up. I want her to be healthy and happy and have a great relationship with her body and food. I also don't want her to turn around as an adult and say "why didn't you DO anything?!". When I see her getting bullied at school for her weight it breaks my heart and I feel like I'm failing her.

    I want to know, as someone who has walked this walk, what is the most loving AND beneficial way to approach this?? And what things did parents/other adults say/do that truly hurt you and you would never wish on another child?

    tl;dr Please tell me how to not fuck up my daughters life

    submitted by /u/I_am_a_reddict
    [link] [comments]

    Hello, first post (I've lurked) and I'm just mentioning something that works for me (and an ask for any tips :) )

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 01:17 AM PDT

    I'm trying to lose weight for all the normal reasons, but there are two extra incentives at the moment (a) there's a virus going round that likes you if you are obese and over 50, so I wanna hide as a skinny person and (b) my workplace is being taken over so there is a good chance I'll be made redundant and I think if you are thin you do better at interviews. I've lost 36 pounds but have since gone up and down by 6 lbs. I really want to get under 200lbs (I'm 6lbs away) and ultimately to around 150 (5.5 female) but I find that i get too impatient, over focus and get extreme and fall off the wagon. Like most of us weight is one issue in life, my other issues are finishing tasks around the house and putting off trying new things. What I've been doing is journaling, with pictures and setting myself 6 to 8 small tasks each day. today's include sorting out clothes for the reuse shop and putting away and cleaning some outside pots (the pots have shamefully been in a corner for 2 years). This is really working for me, not only do you see incremental changes at home (I'm sure none of you are as big a prevaricator as me!) but it focuses, not on the weightloss, but as the transforming of your life to the way you want it to be. Next weeks task will focus on decorating a room, small bit by small bit ;) . I mark myself everyday (because that's me ;) ) but it really has lifted my spirits and stopped the focus on weight loss over everything else. I'm losing weight, but I'm not going to weigh myself for a month (and that doesn't feel un-achievable!), I'm just enjoying, genuinely enjoying, my little successes outside of weight loss. this may not work for anyone else, but I thought I'd put it out there Happy Friday people, and thank you for a supportive board.

    submitted by /u/Dogwarden
    [link] [comments]

    Weight loss is a marathon not a sprint, but I succeeded by leaving the race altogether (how I've handled maintenance)

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 12:52 PM PDT

    This is an update to my previous post: https://www.reddit.com/r/loseit/comments/hx2ipv/i_reached_my_goal_weight_exactly_one_month_ago_i/

    Also, before I begin, I want to let everyone know that my dog had her last chemo and beat cancer!!! I call her my little champion dog :).

    Disclaimer:

    Weight loss is a personal journey, what has worked for me may not, and probably will not work for you. I'm sharing this just to get it out there, but please continue to do what works for YOU.

    Now:

    Hey everyone, about a month ago I posted that I could not stop binging ever since I hit my goal weight the month before that post. While the comments were very encouraging, I noticed that they tended to fall into a few categories:

    1. Stuff myself with low-calorie, high-volume foods
    2. Intermittently fast so that I could go all out for my one or two meals
    3. Eat in a constant deficit so that when I went off the rails it all balanced out

    As these comments kept appearing, I realized that every single one of these would make me a slave to food and weight loss, constantly thinking about calories and stressing about my weight. I realized that I needed a break to think about what to do. I had posted about my workouts, how I worked out five days a week doing intense calisthenics and conditioning, and I decided that for my weight loss break I was simply not going to work out for an entire week.

    That week changed everything.

    Without thinking about the day's workout or what workout would follow, it completely opened my mind and emotions up to so many things I had been neglecting as I dedicated all of myself to my weight loss journey this year. When I spoke to people that week, it wasn't about how many reps of this I could do or how much of this I could lift, but it was about my stuff: my dog, music, school, anime, all the things I completely forgot I loved during my weight loss journey. The mental break also allowed me to begin feeling and processing all of the overwhelming emotions that had sat on my chest during this whole year. I laughed a lot, I cried a lot. I felt good again. Like a real person.

    The second thing that happened that week is that my hunger reduced dramatically as a result of not pushing my body to the limit every day. Without feeling so ravenous, I also stopped thinking about food constantly as the week went on. This was the most freeing thing of all. I felt a huge weight off of my mind and realized for the first time this entire year I was actually focusing on myself. Yes, the weight loss journey was for me, but it was stressful and burned me out. At the end of the week my new clothes fit so much better and I looked so much better. I realized that without all the extra exercise and food I needed because of that exercise, my water retention went down, but more importantly, I looked rested. I felt great.

    That's when I realized that I needed to put my weight loss journey behind me for good. For eight months I became a shell of my former self. For eight months, all I could talk about was calories, exercise, food, diets, reps, blah blah blah. I became...boring. I wanted my life back. I wanted to focus on the things that actually mattered. I needed to let go of my "dream body" goal and understand that if I feel great in the body I have and it's healthy, then my happiness is far more attractive when I look at myself in the mirror than a perfectly chiseled frame. So I cut my workouts back. Way back. I workout twice a week now. The workouts are still intense, but they're fun and somehow relaxing now that my sole focus is just on enjoying them. After I workout, I simply do not think about fitness or exercise until the next workout. I just go on and live my life. From doing this, food no longer controls my life. I don't feel an urge to binge -- partly because I'm not exercising for 10 hours every week, and partly because I'm in a good place mentally. But that doesn't mean that things have been easy.

    The past month that I've been doing this life has been utterly kicking my ass, from losing funding for my master's degree to losing family members to COVID. But because fitness is no longer my entire life, all of the stress hasn't derailed my health, because the system I have is designed so that my life comes first.

    Lastly, I'm not going to post any progress pictures or anything like that. Why? Because comparison is the thief of joy. When I had this mental shift a month ago, one of the first things I did was delete the Instagram app off of my phone, to stop browsing r/progresspics, and to realize that I'm happy with where I am, there's no need for me to compare myself to others. For those of you who are wondering, I have no idea what my weight is. I simply don't think about it anymore. And I don't have to, that part of my life is behind me. What I do know is that every day when I get up my clothes fit me exactly how I like them and I like what I see when I look in the mirror. This weight loss journey has given me my life back, but I only truly got my life back when I realized that the journey was over and it was time to let it go.

    Thanks for reading.

    submitted by /u/coffeewolfo
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 3

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 05:56 PM PDT

    Hello losers & fluffy monsters,

    I hope you're kicking butt!

    Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): 207 this morning.

    Stay within calorie range (1500 weekdays, maintenance weekends, NO FAST FOOD): Swing and a miss. Still tracking though.

    Exercise 5 days a week: Walk about. 2/3 days.

    Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Not yet! X/X weeks.

    Self-care time (working on love journals, beauty treatments, staying on top of adulting, drawing 1/1 days): Grand theft pony!

    Try a new recipe once a week: Not yet. 0/5 weeks.

    50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: Not tonight kids. 0/50 pages.

    Be more mindful, present in my body & express gratitude to avoid the hedonic treadmill: So hot kids. Blergh. C'mon fall!

    Your turn!

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    NSV: My progress made a friend start her own weight loss journey

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 01:42 AM PDT

    I think this may one of my favorite NSVs so far...

    So I (really) started my weight loss journey in February/ March, right when the pandemic hit my country hard and we were supposed to stay home as much as possible. Because of this, I didn't see any friends until July, when a friend had a small birthday dinner, and by this time I had already lost around 45 pounds (want to lose around 70 total). Some friends commented and were happy for me but other than that and me thanking them, we didn't talk about it much so I was happy but moved on quickly.

    Well... Last week another friend had another small birthday dinner and one of the girls there (who had also been to the first dinner in July) was thinner! So we start talking about it more, and she tells me that it was because of me! She saw my progress in July and it motivated her to start as well and so far she's lost already around 20 pounds!

    I wasn't expecting how good this would feel, for my journey and my effort to potentially be a positive influence on someone else. Honestly lately at around 55 pounds lost it hasn't been that exciting anymore watching the numbers drop, and this was just the motivation I needed to keep going until my goal :)

    Has anyone had a similar experience?

    submitted by /u/TheBoredLeo
    [link] [comments]

    I think I've ended up obsessing! Advice please!

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 10:47 PM PDT

    I'm a short girl (147cm/4'10") . Was 72 kg and have lost 21 kg since.

    I've been overweight for over 10 years and started because of the fear of chronic illnesses and their long term toll. I'm finally in a healthy BMI and look good enough. BUT I still have a ways to go until I reach my goal weight (42kg) and I find myself starting to obsess about getting there.

    At first my journey is about not getting sick, and now I find myself falling into societal brainwashing to look good. I keep seeing my belly (although I know it's no longer there, but it could be flatter), and i keep seeing my thighs and calves thinking that they are large and does not match the rest of my body.

    I've (think) plateaued for 1.5 mths, and not seeing the scale or measurements move is very disheartening and dispairs me.

    I've set my goal to lose 30kg and I just cant get that goal out of my mind, and I feel bad and guilty if i dont get there.

    HOW DO I NORMALISE MY THOUGHTS and be okay with my weight and progress now?! That it should be okay to not get to my goal weight because I'm already "healthy"?

    submitted by /u/pot_cookies
    [link] [comments]

    40 lbs down - 40 to go !

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 02:59 AM PDT

    I began this latest journey in January this year with calorie counting alone, I added running in February. In July I grew tired of the constant tracking and began to eat more intuitively with my usual types of foods, but in August I moved and got completely out of my rhythm. I didn't exercise even once in all of August and I started to spend more and more on takeout and junk type foods at the store.

    I enjoyed my break but I'm ready to lose the last 40 lbs!! I went for a run on Sept 1 to start off right and am planning to meal prep and measure again. I cannot let this be my plateau.

    I'm posting for accountability. I hope to continue to lose around 5 lbs per month as I have this while year(except august). By my birthday next year(june), I plan to hit my goal weight. Wish me luck!

    submitted by /u/stpaulgo
    [link] [comments]

    Does anyone find that exercise doesn’t help their mood?

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 03:05 PM PDT

    I don't mean to be a pessimist but I have a bachelors in psychology and have been told time and time again that exercise releases endorphins and you feel all kinds of better mentally and physically. However, I have never really felt that. I enjoyed playing sports in high school but ever since then I just stopped. I've gone to the gym here and there or gone walking but have never truly enjoyed it. Since quarantine I tried some Zoomba with a few friends but they kinda stopped including me and I guess I really do need that social aspect cause I can't find the motivation to do it on my own. No matter what I've tried in my adult life, I haven't felt better after exercising. I just feel pain and want to stop. It feels like a chore.

    I do have a few mental health issues and am morbidly obese so I'm sure that plays into it but I really do want to lose weight. I went for a half hour walk at a park today in my city and while I'm glad to have actually exercised at all for the first time in a while, I didn't enjoy doing it. I constantly looked at my watch to see how much time had gone by (I aimed for 30 minutes which I hit).

    As I'm typing this I think I realize I enjoy playing tennis (the sport I played all growing up) and it makes the time go by much faster. It's just hard right now due to the global circumstances.

    I guess my reason for posting this is just to vent that I am having a hard time getting the motivation and having the self discipline to do something that I know I should do. I just wish I felt a better reward after doing it. It would be a good reinforcement that I'm just not getting right now.

    Thanks for reading.

    submitted by /u/CourtK1212
    [link] [comments]

    Anyone tried Calorie Cycling?

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 08:05 PM PDT

    Has anyone here tried any form of calorie cycling? I'm eating 1500 calories a day, so I should be eating about 10,500 calories a week to lose 1 lb a week.

    I was thinking of eating 1300 calories Monday-Friday, and eating 2000 on Saturday and Sunday so I could have a bit more wiggle room for a couple slices of pizza or something if I crave it.

    1300 x 5 = 6,500 + 2000 x 2 = 4000 Grand Total: 10,500 calories

    I get nervous going over my usual calorie count, I'm pretty strict about it. Let me know if my math is wrong, or if it may be a bad idea? I would also intermittent fast on the days I eat 1,300 to help me with the lower calorie count. Tell me your thoughts!

    Female, 19, 178 lbs, 5'4.

    submitted by /u/SaltyPotato8
    [link] [comments]

    Things cutting out sugar and refined carbs for 7 days taught me

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 04:03 PM PDT

    I am totally and horribly addicted to sugar and carbs. I'm prone to binging and get horrible cravings. After a particularly bad binge I decided that I had to make a change, if not for my weight loss, for my health and borderline type 2 diabetes. I gave myself an initial goal of 7 days, and holy crap has it taught me a lot. I didn't calorie count or anything but I'm down 2kg in 7 days and feel like this sugar trap might finally be lifting.

    So I wanted to share some things I have learned that might motivate you guys reduce your sugar intake

    1. Sugar is addicting as fuck (I dont think I need to explain this one)

    2. Surprisingly, less glucose = more energy. This is because I didn't experience that blood sugar peak you get with carbs and sugary foods. I found I didn't get too hungry or sleepy in the afternoons, and my workouts have been better.

    3. I learned how much sugar we face in our day to day lives. Simply making the decision to not eat a sugary snack that my office has laid out, or say no to basically every breakfast option, was enlightening. I face sugar everywhere I go, my family keeps and consumes mountains of the stuff every day.

    4. No sugar or carbs has meant nothing to binge on. I don't want to make recommendations for those who suffer from BED or overeating, but I did find a lot of relief from them, simply because I was full from my food, and had no desire to binge on sweet potato, asparagus or grilled chicken.

    5. Mental relief. On top of the relief from binge eating, mentally, after I got past the cravings, I felt good! My mind was clear, and I began to put my food into perspective.

    I'm going to continue this for another 3 weeks now! And can not recommend it enough.

    There are definitely more, but if you guys have also quit sugar, did you notice these things or learn any other lessons?

    submitted by /u/justme7773
    [link] [comments]

    Has anyone who's struggled with bad mental health over the course of there life...... found a antipsychotic medication or a strategy combo of meds to be able to stay LEAN while on psychiatric medications with their doctor?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 02:13 AM PDT

    Don't want to go into the dietary/exercise advice as I've been dealing with this for a decade. AKA I've done it all as far as counting calories, plenty of water intake, high fiber diets, balanced MACROS, vitamin/mineral supplementation, mindfulness while eating, a moderate caloric deficit, exercise regimes of all time (resistance, HIIT, walking) etc.

    I have a science education background and the law of thermodynamics (calorics in calories out) and well weight loss isn't quite as simple with these drugs as they for me have caused a losing battle when it comes to "will power" when you have Leptin, blood sugar regulation, increased appetite, and other hormone and metabolic processes being effected by these drugs.

    Tired of having to choose between 1. fat, but semi-stable 2. lean, but very unstable and depressed

    Just wanted to see if anybody could relate or has found something that works for them in regards to stay lean while on psychiatric meds from (antidepressants, mood stabilizers, to atypical anti-psychotics)

    submitted by /u/Ocelot859
    [link] [comments]

    Anyone else feel like because of how the world is their weight loss isn’t real?

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 09:34 AM PDT

    I started on my weight loss journey in May. I lost my job at the end of March and after sulking and eating for a month i decided well if I'm gonna be sitting around all day doing nothing, the one thing i can control is what i eat. Fast forward 3 and a half months. And I'm down 70lbs (327->255). But because 2020 is like this fever dream/nightmare we can't seem to wake up from, my weight loss doesn't seem real to me. I don't really understand it. I should be beaming. But it hasn't brought me up that much. I did recently accept a new job so maybe when that starts and i have a reason to get out of bed before noon everyday I'll start to feel a bit better.

    Anyone else going through anything like this?

    submitted by /u/swiftpenguin
    [link] [comments]

    binge eating in the evenings

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 03:55 PM PDT

    hey folks,
    I am struggeling so hard with these binge eating issues in the evenings. I am eating fine all day (mostly healthy and balanced but I allow myself everything) but in the evenings, when everyone went to bed I grap my notebook and can´t stop eating whatever is in the fridge. I eat toast and leftover lunch, granola, ice-cream, chocolate. just everything I can find. And I cant stop myself, cant relax or concentrate. I have the urgent need to constantly eating. I tried vegs as carrots already, but then I am just snacking those and afterwards I grab the chocolate. Then I go to bed with my belly overfull and regret it so so much. But I cant stop before. I am completely out of control.

    What can I do to stop myself from over-eating? I hate myself so much.

    submitted by /u/behind-reality
    [link] [comments]

    <Rant> I’ve been so frustrated with my lack of progress that I’ve been having extremely bad breakdowns. I’ve been actively relapsing because of it.

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 12:45 AM PDT

    I've been trying so hard to lose this weight but it's just not working. I've been seeing a personal trainer, going to the gym twice a week and maintaining a decent diet.

    I mess up on days when my chronic illness flares up, because all I'll want is something cold and creamy like ice cream. I'm so disgusted with myself, I don't know how to fix this. I'm relapsing and diving back into bad habits. I've been starving myself and purposely avoiding things my body needs because I feel like I must punish myself for my bad food choices. I hate myself so much. I'm constantly comparing my progress to normal people's progress and it makes me suicidal. Why can't I just lose it.... why can other people succeed so perfectly but I'm constantly screwing up? Why do I need to punish myself for eating badly occasionally? I've made little to no progress and I've been trying for a YEAR to lose weight. I get extremely jealous when I see perfectly skinny attractive people at the gym working out effortlessly, meanwhile I'm getting chronic illness flare ups and sobbing at my reflection. I'm a pathetic wreck. My self image issues has taken over my life. I'll never be happy until I'm skinny. Sorry I sound so dramatic 😓 my weight has affected my 21 years of existence and I'm so unhappy with my appearance.

    submitted by /u/ShadowiesArt
    [link] [comments]

    [Century Club] September 3, 2020 - Have you lost or need to lose 100 lbs or more? Here’s a thread just for you!

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 07:17 AM PDT

    I have often welcomed those who have lost 100+ lbs (~ 50 kg , ~7 stone) to "the club" and joked that club meetings were on Thursdays. I recently suggested that we try out having a regular weekly thread to talk about issues that are particular to those who have lost 100+ lbs, those who are well on their way and those who are just at the beginning of a journey this big.

    Welcome back to the Century Club! Each week I will provide a topic of the day that has been on my mind or inspired by previous posts. However you are free to talk about any topics you think might be relevant to current and prospective club members.

    Previous topics: Health - Exercise - Denial - Headwinds - Streaks - Other People - Toolkit - Breaks - Support - Clothing - The Unexpected - Self-image - How do you end your journey? - What made it click? - Loose Skin


    Today's topic: Fun!

    Many of our topics are serious and focus on the long road we have to face, but life isn't all disciplined routine! Tell us about something fun that you were able to do because of the weight loss or something fun that you were able to do despite being on your journey.

    The anecdote that I enjoy the most here because it really cemented my view of how I wanted to be able to live my life in maintenance was the Gelato Festival I attended in June 2019. At that point I was ~185 lbs, so I had lost about 90 lbs and was about 15 lbs from my goal. In about 3 months I would be ready to approach maintenance. However, I was already at a weight that I could live with if I never lost another pound.

    My partner and I decided to go to this festival despite her celiac disease, we expected there would be at least some gluten-free flavors she could try. It was a nice warm late spring day, the weather was great and we started the day with a decent breakfast. (I logged 480 kcal). We took the train and walked over to the site of the festival. Surveyed the festival, decided it was worth the price of admission and proceeded to try out the gelato. Each stand had a signature flavor and there were about 16 different ones to try. Each serving was about a half-scoop, somewhere around 2 fluid ounces, but enough to get a real feel for that particular flavor. We ranked which ones we wanted to sample and headed in for the first 6 flavors. If one turned out to include some gluten, my partner avoided it.

    After this first round we were beginning to get full, and decided to take a walk for a bit. we wandered around the site a bit checking out local stores, sights and restaurants we might want to come back to and when we had digested a bit.

    Overall I managed to taste 10 flavors of gelato, called that my lunch when I just couldn't eat anymore and logged it as 10*2 oz = 2.5 cups of generic gelato for 575 kcal. I looked at many different entries and picked one sort of in the middle of the pack.

    We stopped in at the Italian market that was sponsoring the festival on our way out and bought some nice charcuterie and fruit for a light warm weather dinner. I logged that as 90g of prosciutto and breasola and 1 cup of cantaloupe for 320 kcal.

    I ended up walking 15K steps that day, to/from and around the festival.

    I went in to the day fearful that it could derail me, but all in my food log says I ended the day with 1400 kcal in and 2900 kcal out. I probably had a glass of wine with dinner that I didn't log, and my estimates for the gelato servings may have been off a bit but hard to believe that would manage to offset my 1500 kcal deficit for the day.

    We had a real blast, enjoyed some excellent new to us foods and I managed to prove to myself that fun around food was still possible, acceptable and even manageable for me in maintenance.

    We hit a few more food festivals last summer, maybe one a month, wish we had been able to repeat this summer, but the virus had other plans.

    What about you? Did you climb a mountain? Run a marathon? Ride a roller coaster? Eat something you never thought of as "diet compatible" food? Try a new sexual position? Centurions, what ways have you found of introducing more fun in your lives?

    submitted by /u/SmilingJaguar
    [link] [comments]

    45% OF 100 POUND LOSS ACHIEVED

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 01:18 PM PDT

    Hi --

    Three months (or so) ago I provided a history and some goals, see: https://www.reddit.com/r/loseit/comments/grdlx0/52yo_male_346_pounds_down_15_trying_to_find/.

    The original post was May 26, 2020. I can tell from the writing I was depressed when I wrote it. I have a much better mental outlook today. And, about 90 days later, I weigh 320 pounds, down from 347 pounds.

    For most of the summer, I lost about two pounds per week. I know that because of trendweight--an app that works very well with fitbit. Trendweight provides a trendline of what you weight is by using weighted averages of your prior data points (the closer the data is to the present, the more weight that data point is given). It also neatly does the math and charts: a) body fat %; b) fat mass pounds; and c) lean mass pounds. It delivers the trend for each.

    (The dataset is a bit, odd, however. On the one hand, my weight has steadily dropped from a weighted average of 358.0 on 04.20.2020 to 319.6 on 09.03.2020 (today). So,as a weighted average I've dropped 38.4 pounds. But my peak weight was 361--with a lowest weight of 316--so I claim a 45% completion of my 100 pound goal. But, unlike the weight loss, my fitbit scale says my body fat steadily increased from 38% to 45%--but in August (when I started resistance training) it dropped down to 43-44%. Likewise, Trendweight claims I've lost about 40 pounds of muscle, and my fat pounds have remained virtually unchanged. Incidentally, I do see my body measurements (chest, biceps, stomach, thighs) are decreasing by inches, though.) So, the weight loss is good. The devil is in the details though. I think even if the weight that came off was mostly muscle, I'd still be OK with it. It's clear to me that with a 48 inch waist there's plenty of fat to be burned off in a caloric deficit and I'll simply get there eventually.

    NUTRITION

    I second what I hear others with large losses say on this forum: You can't outrun your fork. More than anything, I am limiting the calories going into my body. I have done that with several strategies.

    I've gained control of my eating (really my over-eating) and worked to make a conscious choice to choose life over death/misery. For 101 days in a row I have tracked my calories in my fitness pal. The data is easy to export and I keep a spreadsheet that gives me average calories and macros per month.

    furthermore, I have made the effort to do much more cooking and determine what's going in. Through that challenge I bought a wok, and I regularly make myself vegetable dishes. While I do not see myself becoming a vegetarian or vegan--I'm not much of an absolutist--I'm happy to borrow what I think are there best principles. There's a ton of disagreement in the nutrition field. But, everyone seems to agree go ahead and eat more plants (fruits and vegetables). In my experience the vegetables are hard to consume more of, because it takes greater effort to prepare them. The goal these days is for me to make 10 vegetable dishes a week (virtually all of them in the wok). That has served me well.

    EXERCISE

    I've also returned to daily 30-45 minutes+ of vigorous exercise. I'm using kettlebells for resistance training which I love. I have a barbell and bumper plates in the garage but I need to rework my garage before I can use it as a gym. Moreover, I still have plans to bring my rowing machine out of storage (I love the concept 2) and also get a bike trainer in there as well. But, I'm forced to choose between cooking vegetable dishes and working on the garage--and with limited time the need to focus on vegetable dishes is winning.

    THE NEXT 55% OR 55 POUNDS

    I need to sustain my 1,800-1,900 a day caloric intake. I probably need to add some protein--the range has been 93 to 112 grams of protein. I weight 320 pounds with something like 35-40% body fat. So, I have lean mass of about 190 pounds or so. I'm getting about 0.5g/lb of lean mass. I think I'm within the minimum numbers -- but I could see making a conscious effort to increase it to a level approaching1g/pound of lean mass.

    I continue to come to this reddit for confirmation and inspiration. more than antyhing, I feel like this is totally achievable. And the truth is while the stated goal (for now) is to "drop 100 pounds" (basically 360 to 260) -- there's more to be done after that. But, for now I simply want to focus on the 100 pound goal.

    I've also taken up roller blading. I will continue to incorporate that into my regular trx and kettlebell routines. And, I do expect to clean up the garage so I can use it as a gym. When I add that activity to my cooking routines, I expect I can get the other 55 pounds off. My hope is to drop 100 pounds within a year of the original post. I've lost 45 pounds in four months, so that leaves me as much as eight months( (about 34 weeks) to drop 55 pounds. So, about 1.5 pounds per week would do it.

    CONCLUSION

    This reddit has been and continues to be an inspiration for me. And the anonymity of it provides an opportunity for me to be 100% transparent in a way that's virtually impossible for me in real life. At some point I'll work up the guts to put some photos up (with my face blurred)- but right now, I got to say my face looks a little different but not my body. . . oh well, with time, I suppose. Onward.

    submitted by /u/tk-0318
    [link] [comments]

    NSV I feel like I'm beating my food addiction

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 10:49 AM PDT

    I've been on my journey for a little over 3 months and I'm almost 30 pounds down. My everyday has changed so much since I started, I used to not drink water regularly, always have an energy drink or flavored low calorie water instead. Now I only drink water and have caffeine maybe once a month. I started with IF and CICO at the beginning of my journey and it was hard at first but now my bodies in the routine and it comes so easy. I still think about food a lot but not nearly as much as I used to. I've learned the difference between hunger pains, being thirsty or just cravings. I don't eat just to eat anymore, I can still savor my foods without having to stuff my face. I've learned about portioning and knowing when to stop eating even if I still feel hungry and waiting to make sure I need more food.

    My eating habits have changed so greatly and I no longer feel like I'm missing out when I'm "dieting". I don't feel like I'm dieting either, I eat whatever I want when I want it but just eat a smaller portion or try not to eat too much the rest of the day. I've started watching how other people eat as well, how my skinny friends eat and how my boyfriend eats. They never have to finish all they have or eat just to eat, they eat slower and until they feel satisfied then stop. For me, I always finished whatever I had, I didn't want to waste and enjoyed eating it. I ate fast so my body didn't have time to register it was full. I still eat fast, but I have one serving and then I wait at least 20 minutes to see if I even need more.

    I finally feel like food doesn't have a hold on me anymore. I still enjoy it and will have my little pleasures every now and then, but I don't feel the need to binge or eat until I'm overly full or eat until it's all gone. I'm learning how to have a healthier relationship with food so I can be healthy myself. I have at least another 30 pounds to go before I reach my goal area of weight. I'm at 208 right now and I'm excited to be under 200 pounds soon, I haven't been in at least 5 years. I can't wait to look at myself and not just see my huge thighs or my stomach sticking out. I'm slowly seeing myself shrink and I can't be more excited. I know I have a ways to go, but I know I can get there.

    submitted by /u/Lahya2000
    [link] [comments]

    Feeling deflated - both physically and mentally

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 11:14 PM PDT

    I've lost 90lbs in the past 3 years, from 283 to 192. It's been a long effort, and I am proud of myself. but....

    All through my teens and twenties I was so frustrated and disappointed with my pear shape. 36B bra with 2XL-3XL butt. The only upside to getting to 283 was that finally I had a bigger chest. 38D. Still pear shaped but was very happy with my chest for the first time ever.

    As i've lost weight i've held off bra shopping, mostly because I don't want to spend money on bras until i get to goal (160), but finally my weight loss got to the point that my bras were actually causing me pain. Because there's no flesh to fill them out they are digging in between the cups. The cups themselves are half empty and just ridiculous.

    So i finally bit the bullet and went tonight to get some "good enough" bras and I am so sad. My breasts honestly look like sad pancakes. I barely fill a 36B with all this skin flopping around all the edges everywhere. Everywhere but in the cups. I wanted to cry in the change room.

    My husband says he doesn't care, but I know he prefers large breasts. I know he loves me but i'm so sad that he got stuck with this sad deflated set of balloons.

    I'm not going to quit or give up, i know my health is so much better now than it was. I'm just sad that I never once got to see my body look the best it could. Now it's just as good as it can be -considering all the damage i've done to it.

    anyone else gone through this? does it get any easier to accept?

    submitted by /u/electric_snek
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment