• Breaking News

    Friday, September 4, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: Form Check Friday for 2020-09-04

    Bodyweight Fitness: Form Check Friday for 2020-09-04


    Form Check Friday for 2020-09-04

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    As always, please give last week's thread a once over for any form checks that could use some feedback.


    All previous Form Check Fridays


    Without further ado, please post a video (or if you can only manage a photo for a static hold) of the move you'd like to be critiqued.

    Your video should be:

    • Oriented the correct way
    • Be formatted such that there isn't unnecessary video of you preparing for the move (keep it short)
    • Have the important bits of the movement clearly visible (multiple angles is always useful)
    • You may want to show a regression of the current exercise as well, but try to keep each video to one "set" of movements
    • Include the whole body
    • Of you

    Include in your post the following details:

    • Basic Details: (Age, Weight, Height)
    • What move you are attempting (be specific in regards to progressions
    • Indicate whether this is a max attempt (holds/reps), or specify what your current best performance is
    • Any specific questions you have about your form

    Rules for critiquing form

    • Constructive criticism only
    • You need to either be able to complete the move yourself, or have experience in training others to complete the move (no "I read an article on how to do these")
    • Feel free to point others to resources that address their form and/or questions if you aren't "qualified" to give them advice yourself

    If your form is awesome, consider posting it in the Show Off Sunday thread!

    If you dun goofed, consider posting the out-take in the Slip Up Saturday thread!

    Join our live chatroom on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-04

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    I managed to do 5 dips!

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 04:45 AM PDT

    I'm ultra weak due to a loooong(~5 years) illness and started rr 2 weeks ago. I can't believe how much progress I've been able to make just in this short time!

    I've gone from:

    6x incline pushups 2 ft above the ground to 8x3 1ft above.

    Not being able to hold myself up for 30s on dips to 7x3 negative dips.

    Bridge 40s to 60s.

    Not being able to hang from a bar to now 8x3 scapular pullups and moving to arch hangs from next time.

    As someone who played a lot of sports in college I know this rate of progress will slow down in a while but it's freaking great while this lasts.

    I guess I'm posting to say thanks to the community. Reading threads and following links from here really helped me move out of hopelessness and begin to start doing this for myself.

    submitted by /u/ObIangata
    [link] [comments]

    PPL split to save time, really enjoying this version.

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 08:38 AM PDT

    Since quarantine started, I have been wanting to start working out again. About a decade ago I was in great shape - US Marine, 18:04 3 mile run time, 60+ strict form pushups, 15+ pullups, plank for days... When I got out of the military I got a desk job. Got skinny fat.

    Recently I had a baby and it's been the motivation I needed to work out again, I want to be in good shape to support them, be a role model, and just generally be healthy for them. Problem is, I have a baby, which means no time for a 45+ minute workout. The recommended routine wasn't working, I'd get called away before I could finish.

    I stumbled across This Post by u/BorjaX which has a PPL version. I run it as a circuit, 30 seconds rest between exercises, 2 minutes between sets. Takes about 20 minutes and feels great. I'm also older, stiffer, and fatter than I used to be, so the twice a week schedule provides the needed recovery. Here's my version.

    All exercises are progressions based mainly on RR, convict conditioning, startbodyweight.com. I split all ring movements into 4 levels - rings at armpit when they are hanging, under pec, lower ribs, waist.

    Schedule is PPLPPL with legs and core on the same day. I don't take a rest day unless needed, but I do take them as I need them. Every third week one of the days gets a third session that week.

    Push day:

    Dips, 3 x 5-12

    Pseudo planche pushups, 3 x 5-12

    Pike/Handstand Pushups, 3 x 6-12

    Ring tricep extension, 5 x 8-15

    Pull day:

    Chinups, 3 x 6-8

    Ring rows, 3 x 6-12

    Ring face pulls, 3 x 8-15

    Ring bicep curls/pelican curl, 5 x 8-15

    Leg day:

    Pistol/Shrimp squats, 3 x 6-20

    Sissy squats, 3 x 6-20

    (Weighted) Bulgarian Split Squat, 3 x 6-20

    Hamstring curls, rings to nordic, 3 x 6-20

    One leg Calf raises, 5x 10-20

    Core:

    Plank holds, 3 x 30-60

    Hanging leg raise, 3 x 10-20

    L-Sit holds, 3 x 15-60

    Bridges, 3 x 10-20

    Eventually I will add in a mile+ run a few times a week.

    Overall, I really enjoy this and recommend it to anyone short on time, needing more recovery, or just wanting something different than the RR.

    submitted by /u/Bananamcpuffin
    [link] [comments]

    Bodyweight and weight training together

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 04:00 AM PDT

    So, I'm very new to this whole idea of body weight training. When I say new, I mean I've literally never done a single workout session but I have spent the past couple of days looking for info. I've discovered Tom Merrick who I seem to like because his program looks good and I like his channel so that's where I'll start(if I do)

    Anyway, I've been weight training consistently for 5 years and have a nice home gym. I do however lack real world strength which is what has led me down this path. What I mean by that is, it's one thing to curl 20kg, but it's an entirely other thing to lift 4 bags of groceries in one hand with a child in the other.

    I think a question many people like me would have is, can you incorporate both this type of bodyweight training for strength and traditional weight training for mass or purely for the intensity at the same time 9r even just because you like like so want a bit of both. I've seen a lot of conflicting and useless info around this so thought I'd ask how It might work. Weight lifting alone doesn't translate well to real world strength

    submitted by /u/bazk88
    [link] [comments]

    Best 3-exercise workout?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 11:56 AM PDT

    Hey everyone, is there a calisthenics equivalent of Bench Press/Weighted Pullup/Squat or Bench Press/Deadlift/Squat?

    I'm (21M/188cm/79kg) on a programme that has you do three days of BP/WPU/SQ with a weekly DL, but I'm not gonna have access to a barbell for a month or so cuz quarantine. I'm aiming for all-round hybrid fitness, so I've got one day each of hillsprints, death by burpees, and a 10k, respectively, per week, if that makes a difference.

    I'm thinking Pseudo-Planche Pushups/Pullups/Shrimp Squats or Dips/Pullups/Shrimp Squats?

    Obvs I'm open to the occasional bit of supplement/substitution work (like the weekly DL session above) but would like to stick to the 3 compound movement framework as much as possible.

    submitted by /u/TheDisposessed
    [link] [comments]

    Keep ''losing'' and ''gaining'' my full Front Lever

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 03:50 AM PDT

    Anyone else have the same experience where sometimes i can hold a full Front Lever for about 6-7 seconds (with good form), but the other day i can just do about 2-3 secs or can just barely hold it with good form at all. I feel like i keep losing and gaining the skill all the time and it's pretty annoying. I don't think it's necessarily due to having trained too hard the days before, as i sometimes have the same experience after a day (or two) of resting. Is this normal? Is it just a matter of getting even stronger or will GTG be helpful here? Would love to hear of anyone had similar experiences and how they dealt with it.

    submitted by /u/Leatherhead1234
    [link] [comments]

    I’m 100% sure I do exercises with improper form, because I only feel shoulders working and I can’t change that no matter what. What to do?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 02:30 AM PDT

    I always enjoyed exercising, always wanted to have a good physique, but I always get discouraged then I see lack of results. I think one of the reasons for that is I always feel that I am working shoulders all the time no matter what - pushups, bicep curls, etc. Always feeling shoulders. Never chest, biceps triceps. One exercise I experience results only is calf raises, because I guess it is very simple and hard to do in bad form, lol. I think that my form isn't proper, but I cannot change it, Ive watched countless videos on form techniques but I'm still end up working shoulders and doing improperly. Anyways, any tips guys?

    submitted by /u/isucklol100
    [link] [comments]

    Should i add a set?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 10:58 AM PDT

    So ive been working out pretty consistently for the past 4 months. I dont feel as sore as I used to. I am following the recommended routine. Doing the right progressions to work on strength not endurance. Yet I do not feel as sore. Should I had more sets?

    submitted by /u/LandscapeMiddle
    [link] [comments]

    Move program flexibility segment each day?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 05:45 AM PDT

    I just started the Move program. For those who use it, do any of you do the flexibility exercises each day? Is this a good or bad idea?

    submitted by /u/scampi_and_redlabel
    [link] [comments]

    Skin the cat Fear

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 03:24 AM PDT

    I've been training for about 6 months now and I never gave a special attention for my Lower back till recently when I started feeling some pain and unbalances. After searching up exercises to work my lower back the one that most interested me was skin the cat, because looks cool and it's working towards a back lever. The problem was that when I attempted doing this I was able to enter a tuck front lever position, place my feet on the bar but then when I needed to twist my body I was too scared of damaging my shoulders, slipping from the bar or falling with my face on the ground. I do think I have the shoulder flexibility but the problem is that, that movement is different than anything else. What should i do to start using the Skin The Cat to work my lower back?

    Help plz

    submitted by /u/MattSiq07
    [link] [comments]

    Routine help for volleyball

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 09:07 AM PDT

    I'm 15/m/150lbs/5'7 I need to start doing exercises weekly so it adds up to a minimum 120hours, I have no equipment whatsoever, any tips or suggestions? I'm trying to lose weight for a 130lb goal or something since that's what my doctor said but I remember seeing somewhere that doing exercises for sports will make you gain weight ? I'm just in need of help at the moment and understand. Thank you !

    submitted by /u/jolpd
    [link] [comments]

    My 5 months bulk! from 59kg to 70kg

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 10:23 AM PDT

    Hey guys, first time posting here. So i was very skinny and i had been training in 2019 but with ups and downs and also without a good plan and diet, i didn't even gain 1kg of muscle in that year. I am 16 years old, 71kg(in the photo i am at 70kg)and 5'9 rn and 5 months ago i started seriously, eating a lot, training hard, i never skipped a workout. And the results were amazing. Hard work always works. Street workout with free weights btw, i like to be versatile. I eat a lot of only real food, i don't count calories. My current split it's :Upper, Lower, Rest, Pull, Push, Rest. I do a lot of compound exercises: Mostly Pull ups,chin ups, Push ups, muscle ups, dips, squat, and also some bench press, overhead press, rows. And to a lesser extent some isolation exercises like curls, french press or lateral flies. Always trying to make the muscle burn. I started working out in 2019 for esthetic, but i noticed that esthetic just maked me feel bad, i didn't see progress and it was really frustrating, in 2020 i selected another goals, i wanted to be a perfect athlete, a muscular one, but also with strength and endurance. And here i am, trying to achieve that goal! I can't upload photos so here it's a link: (https://ibb.co/gtd61qS) PD: My legs are a lot more muscular now so all the kg are not only from upper body

    submitted by /u/savm300
    [link] [comments]

    Hour glass gym workout plan

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 02:01 AM PDT

    I'm new to the gym and wanted to know if anyone can share a gym workout plan to get an hour glass body shape. Or if there is an app I could download on my android phone.

    submitted by /u/SnooOpinions3591
    [link] [comments]

    Unable to lock our arms

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 09:44 PM PDT

    I've been training calisthenics for a few months now. I am unable to fully lock out my arms (may be due to short tendons, the cause isn't fully known) Has anyone experienced this and if so, has it changed progress in any way?

    submitted by /u/DerkeDerk6262
    [link] [comments]

    Weighted Vest Hack - Camera Backpack

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 05:40 PM PDT

    Was using an old northface backpack, when I stumbled on a Lowepro Mini Trekker camera backpack for $5 at a thrift shop.

    It has internal compartments, padded back, chest and waist belt, and the compack size keeps it from shifting.

    I was looking for a solution that allowed me to use existing plates and this is working really well @ 20lbs. Hoping it holds.

    submitted by /u/Nomanisanasteroid
    [link] [comments]

    Strength-Endurance?

    Posted: 03 Sep 2020 04:00 PM PDT

    I'm trying to build strength-endurance. However I can't find a good previous post that explains this in depth. My own logic is telling in order to achieve this, you'll have to separate your days (i.e. Sunday is a strength day, Tuesday is an endurance day, Thursday is a strength day, etc...). Is this the right way to think about this goal?

    submitted by /u/andy20491
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment