• Breaking News

    Saturday, September 5, 2020

    Weight loss: [Challenge] The Great Loseit Cookoff Challenge - RESULTS

    Weight loss: [Challenge] The Great Loseit Cookoff Challenge - RESULTS


    [Challenge] The Great Loseit Cookoff Challenge - RESULTS

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 09:11 AM PDT

    I found a picture of my face from 2 years ago

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 07:08 PM PDT

    TL;DR: Face picture: https://imgur.com/gallery/F1CZII7

    I took the picture on the left for my university ID badge in September 2018. As of January 2019 I decided to begin my weight loss journey at 295lbs. Around June 2020 I hit my goal weight of 175lbs and I've been maintaining ever since. I'm currently on a bit of a pause from this journey as I try to focus on just living regularly again but I am so, so glad I went through this process - my life has changed for the better in so many ways, it's actually quite hard to explain just how much better off I am now.

    I actually made a similar post to this post last year where I compared the picture on the left to a picture of me from September 2019, I think the difference is a bit more noticeable this time but I'd love to hear your thoughts!

    submitted by /u/chrisd848
    [link] [comments]

    I’ve lost 50 pounds and I just wanna tell someone, anyone, that I’m really stoked about that. Any tips?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 09:52 PM PDT

    I could blame social distancing but I didn't really have friends before. Lmao.

    But

    M 27 5 foot 11 currently 205 pounds 93kgs

    December 2019 I was one bad weekend from 255 pounds/115kgs. Since then I lost at least 50 pounds/22kgs through better eating habits. Upped ny water intake to what if should be. Cut down on soda.

    I was also getting most if not all my exercise from work. I'd walk to and from work, 5 miles total, and at work I'd walk another 5. Started biking to work when the weather got nicer.

    I've hit a wall at 205 but I honestly think that's me gaining muscle. I started doing body weight squats and lunges last month.

    I slowly added weight [ I was scared of injury from fatigue or bad form] and I'm ready to do deadlift squats with low weight. I feel my legs getting stronger though, even though it's little weight.

    I love to play basketball and I've been going early in the morning to shoot around by myself. 3 months ago I was 205 but i had no explosive step, no hops, no stamina. I'm the same weight and today I feel WAY better. I'm super stoked man.

    This sub helped me too man. I lurked and ALL of your stories inspired me. I didn't go into detail of what I did, diet exercise, but ask me whatever.

    Also any tips to work out my core and arms? I have two 25 pound dumb bells and a bar with 100 pounds. My legs are coming in but I took a conscious effort to go slow/slower to avoid any injury. I barely feel any strain in my legs but I feel gains. Literally every other day I feel stronger. I CANT stop now man. I feel good :)

    submitted by /u/pm_nudesladies
    [link] [comments]

    Down 47 pounds in 3 months for a weight loss competition

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 06:00 AM PDT

    https://imgur.com/gallery/nuGGG3L

    3 months ago on June 1st I started a weight loss competition challenge. I initially weighed in at 234.4 pounds. I started a diet of only meat, fruit, and veggies right at the beginning, and stuck with it the entire way through. My liquids were black coffee and water. The challenge just ended; on September 1st I weighed in at 187.6 pounds and won the competition. I lost a total of 46.8 pounds. In addition to the diet, I worked out extremely hard, lifting weights for over an hour a day 6 days a week with 1 rest day, and sometimes would do a water fast on my rest day.

    submitted by /u/daycabbage
    [link] [comments]

    Came to a realization about self-control today

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 06:07 PM PDT

    So what a lot of my unsuccessful weight loss attempts in the past have in common is that I got obsessed with restrictions and being really hard on myself if I made the smallest mistake and all the other stuff I'm sure a lot of you are familiar with. I was trying to figure out why this time has been so much easier and more successful and I think a huge part of it comes down to the language I'm using. A lot of the obvious ones like "there's nothing I can't eat, there's things I'm choosing not to eat," and "I'm taking care of my health because I love myself not because I hate myself," and all that. But the biggest one by far has been that I don't ever tell myself no anymore, I tell myself not now.

    My boss was going to this new local milkshake shop today that makes the most insanely decadent milkshakes you've ever seen in your life and offered to get me one. If it was one of my previous weight loss attempts I would've said no I can't eat foods like that. Then that same day I would've caved and gone and hated myself and decided I'd failed and might as well give up. But instead today I said "Oh no thanks, that doesn't fit my meal plan today, but I'll definitely have to check them out one day!" And I wrote down the name of the place and made a plan to have one on a planned indulgence day. Anyway that's probably obvious, but for me it was a revelation that I don't have to tell myself no, just not right now.

    submitted by /u/chalkpastel
    [link] [comments]

    I lost 40+ lbs and am now just overweight!

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 06:12 AM PDT

    I have been afraid of the scales for the last couple of years. I'm 24. I've been lying to myself about my weight since middle school. About a month after the stay at home order hit, I realized that I wasn't moving at all and I was just snacking because I was bored. I decided to change all that. I bought a scale and told myself I was going to walk 10,000 steps a day and try to be more conscious about my portions and try to limit snacking. Since the beginning of May, I've walked at least 10,000 steps almost (I missed 2 days due to illness) every day. Most days I'm hitting closer to 20,000 or higher. I've never felt better, and I've been able to see the progress!. I started tracking my calories in June, just so I would know what I'm eating. I don't limit my choices, I just try to be more aware of what I'm eating and why. I hit under 200 a couple weeks ago, and today at 196 I hit a BMI of 29.9! I'm officially overweight and no longer obese!

    submitted by /u/Jellyfish-Objective
    [link] [comments]

    I am really proud of myself.

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 08:40 PM PDT

    Four years ago I moved and was at my highest weight. Previously, I didn't realize it until a friend pointed out to me that my ex enjoyed watching me eat, as he knew the bigger I got, the worse I felt about myself and he could compliment me all he wanted. She mentioned that the bigger I got, the harder it would be for me to leave him and he confirmed her comment. Since I moved, my highest weight was 250, I lost 20 lbs my first year. Then, I just stopped losing weight. I found some health coaches and I weighed 230 when I met them. They set a goal for me to reach 205. I don't like to get on the scale because I get addicted to it, but I weighed myself this week and after almost a year with my health coaches I made it to 204. I had ups and downs and learning to be healthy is hard, but I am on the right track and did it!!

    submitted by /u/wednesdaytuesdaythur
    [link] [comments]

    I’ve realized the biggest downfall in this whole thing is simply lack of patience. This isn’t a race.

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 07:27 AM PDT

    Looking back at all failed attempts, it usually boils down to impatience.

    Too aggressive deficit - end up binging or giving up out of lack of willpower.

    People with decades of bad eating habits not allowing them the time to slowly learn new habits.

    Instead jumping into a completely new routine the next day and regaining it all back.

    It's not a surprise that almost every success thread is:

    Lost X pounds in X amount of time.

    The concern is always "how much time!!"

    What is the rush?

    With patience you get:

    a less aggressive and more manageable caloric deficit.

    Allowing yourself trial and error without feeling defeated

    Engrained habits that will assist in maintaining

    Maybe you lose 1 pound a week, or even 0.5.

    Eventually you'll be where you want to be and it will have been so much more manageable.

    submitted by /u/dragrout
    [link] [comments]

    NSV: I can safely jump on a “normal” backyard trampoline!

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 05:08 PM PDT

    I'm 28F, 6'0", HW: 290, CW: 245, GW: 175. This is the first time in 4 years that I've been under 250 and I feel amazing. I still have a long way to go, but am enjoying things like visible collarbones, smaller clothes, and simply being able to do more with my body.

    I started taking my journey seriously 8 weeks ago. I started making all my meals at home and as clean as possible - mostly veggies, fruits, and lean protein with small amounts of good fat and complex carbs. I count my calories and mostly try to stay at a deficit of between 750 and 1000 calories a day; being flexible with that helps me stay on track. Before this I ate pretty much nothing but junk, and 4,000 calories a day was easily possible. Once I shifted my mindset, I quickly learned that I'm a better cook than I believed possible so long as I PLAN and began enjoying both the process of cooking and the deliciousness of what I could make for myself. I haven't had a bad meal in 8 weeks. I haven't been hungry. I still deeply enjoy food, it's just actually fueling my body instead of killing it.

    I started doing a workout on demand program, Barre Blend, at the same time. I initially told myself I would get through 2 weeks of the 8 week program. I'm ecstatic to say that today, I finished all 8 weeks and never missed a day! I have gotten so much stronger; I feel a distinct difference in my day to day fitness. And my resting heart rate has plummeted from ~70 on average to 52! I'm buying myself years here.

    All this leads to today's NSV. I mentioned to my mom that I wanted to start looking at trampolines as a reward for myself for getting under 250. I've wanted a trampoline for years but buying one was never realistic due to weight limits and I worried about injury because I hadn't built up strength or awareness of my body.

    To my surprise, my mom and dad showed up at my house this evening with a brand new trampoline to celebrate 8 weeks of changing my life. (I'm ridiculously lucky and have amazing, supportive parents.) I couldn't be happier and can't think of a more fun way to celebrate this step in the process. It will fit right in with my new active lifestyle!

    submitted by /u/CyborgCrusher
    [link] [comments]

    Someone explained anti-chafing shorts to me

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 04:26 PM PDT

    This isn't about a milestone or a specific amount of weight lost.

    I've been losing weight gradually over the course of about four years (aided by visiting this sub!), I'm not exactly where I want to be, but I am happy with myself and at peace with taking things at my own pace.

    One thing I hadn't realised is that my mental image of myself, and my own knowledge of my experiences, now clashes with how the friends I have made in the last 1-2 years see me.

    I still see myself as a big person losing weight. But I was talking to my friend about outfits & stuff, and she mentioned wearing safety shorts under her dress. I just agreed, yep, I also wear safety shorts under dresses/skirts to avoid accidentally flashing people, I get it.

    She wasn't convinced by my agreeing, and proceeded to explain to me the shorts also stop her thighs chafing together.

    I was like ??? I know ??? But I realised that she's only seen me look a certain way. So it was reasonable of her to explain this to me.

    Sorry this is so long winded but it was really a moment of me wondering how to say, no buddy I DO know what you're talking about, without making it about me/my weight loss. I just let it pass but hey, thought you guys would find it funny like I did!

    Anyone else have an obese person explain an issue to you that you used to experience yourself?

    submitted by /u/moonlaunch
    [link] [comments]

    Just eat 1/2....

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 07:28 PM PDT

    Just a short little tidbit I was just thinking about, and makes such a huge difference. Every meal I make, I cut in half. Let's say it's an egg sandwich on a bagel? Cut it in half, save the other half for the next day. If I go out to eat, I ask for a doggy bag right away (well, I used too before Covid) and immediately, divide the plate in half and eat that, with the leftovers for another meal. It has changed so much for me, not even with weight loss, I feel better, I am less fatigued during the day, and I notice I can get full without eating a whole meal and stuffing my face late at night.

    I come from Two decades of binging, esp at night. It's a terrible habit. I always thought, regardless of the time of day, as long as I wait 3/4 hours before I go to sleep, I won't put on the weight. ERR....WRONG. The body just KNOWS what time it is, your internal clock knows it's past 5pm (or whatever time )and you are not going to breakdown and burn off those calories.

    I still have an issue with eating late, I do it at least once every other week, usually on a weekend but it is not nearly as much as I used to eat.

    Thanks for reading and listening...it's the little things that amount to the final goal. One day at a time people, we got this!

    submitted by /u/Uglymicrowave
    [link] [comments]

    My son has put on a significant amount of weight in the past two years. I’m worried about his health but it’s obviously a touchy subject. Any ways I can talk with him?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 11:48 PM PDT

    I (M56) am pretty close with my son (M24) as far as parent-child relationships go. We usually share most everything notable with each other and he hasn't been one to feel uncomfortable to come to me with difficult topics in the past. But over the past couple of years my son has put on a lot of weight. When he began his masters program, I had seen him the summer prior and I know he was around 150lbs then as that's what he'd always weighed as an adult. I didn't see him in person again until the holidays that year, but had seen some tagged photos on Facebook as the semester went on and he started becoming hard to find in group photos because he started to look so different. I figured he was just really maturing, but when he came home that December for Christmas, I'd say he had to be at least 225lbs, a huge difference from just the prior summer visit. I figured this was just due to stress and this new chapter in his life. He reassured me everything was okay (in general - I didn't pry about his weight specifically). I asked if he was getting enough exercise and he said he's getting used to working with it on a new schedule but was figuring it out. All seemed like I didn't have to be too worried yet, although it did seem like a pretty big change in a short amount of time.

    But since then, I've finally seen my son again for the first time since before coronavirus began, and I'd say he's easily over 250lbs now if not more and he's not even in his masters program anymore so I'm worried that his adjustment period for keeping up with his health has long expired. I'm starting to get worried for him, just because of the rate of weight gain. I don't want to sound like I'm fat shaming him or being critical of his appearance. I worry that if a weight gain like this continues at his age, he will start to experience some extreme side effects. I've finally had one chat with him this week about my concerns and mentioned his weight and health from the POV of genuine concern. He acted quite ambivalent, even oblivious as to there being any kind of problem. "Everyone gains weight as they age and their metabolism slows, I'll hit the gym again and be back in shape, this is just a little extra weight" - but come on, he's very obviously put on at least 100 pounds.

    Is this out of my control? Is it wrong of me to push my concern? How can I talk with him? I just want to make sure my son stays healthy. After he had initially gained the weight during his masters program, I at least convinced him to get a physical and some tests when he was home to just make sure everything was okay. Nothing underlying and his numbers were all fine. Which makes me think that he's living a lifestyle with a really bad diet or something with health effects that haven't caught up to him yet. He already has this giant beer belly that's bigger than I've ever been and I'm almost 60 and he's not even 25. I'm just worried about him. What can I do?

    submitted by /u/Dodgers994
    [link] [comments]

    It's incredible how my feelings dictate how much I eat

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 05:24 PM PDT

    Right now I'm typing this because it's 2 am and I can't sleep. I've eaten too much for dinner, even if it was as early as 8 pm. I'm lonely and am filling that void with more food than necessary. It's not new for me, I've been relying on emotional eating for all my life.

    But the reason I know it's my feelings that dictate how much I eat is that in 2018-2019 I went studying abroad for 5 months and made a group of international students with whom I would go out nearly every day. They were my friends, at least during those months that the international exchange lasted, and it legit was the first time in a decade that I felt that I had friends. Those 5 months have been the pinnacle of my life, in terms of feeling good and such.

    Well, during my stay there, I always ate adequate portions for my appetite. Never overate. But what strikes me is that I didn't even have the desire to eat more, once I felt satisfied. I would just clear the table and move on.

    I was living alone in an apartment so it wasn't peer pressure or anything. It was genuine joy of living because of having a regular flow of positive social interactions.

    submitted by /u/vugits
    [link] [comments]

    My first post on my weight [EVER!]

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 08:40 PM PDT

    Hello all! I am 26/5'5/F CW:263 GW:133

    I have always struggled with weight, right from middle school. My mom has always nagged me and that has made me more reluctant about getting help for my weight loss. I have been steadily increasing my weight, and somehow the past couple of weeks, I have accepted the reality. I am obese but the picture in my head is the 6th grade me who was not that. Today, I completed my first day of IF. I gradually want to take on walking 10,000 steps at the least, do a bunch of Chloe Ting challenges, and feel great about a body with functioning heart and limbs. I am also CICO at the same time, but not on a strict low carb diet. I am planning on building up as I go on. I want to post this because there is no one I can be accountable to. Looking forward to losing my first 10 pounds!!!

    submitted by /u/asa81mg
    [link] [comments]

    Lost 10 Lbs!!!

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 06:32 AM PDT

    F 32 5' 3" SW: 198 CW: 188 GW: 140

    I cut back my carbs, stopped eating bagels in the morning, stopped putting sugar in my coffee, just cut out the death by thousand cuts type stuff.

    My husband and I generally ate healthy lunches and dinners but we tighten them up a bit, substituted some things and we do yoga and go for walks.

    I started this around July 4th (a little after)- so I would say 8 weeks of doing this consistently.

    When I stepped on the scale today and saw I lost ten pounds, I was so happy.

    I haven't told anyone I'm trying to lose weight- just my husband knows, so I guess I had to tell someone and this thread seemed like the right place to post some progress!

    submitted by /u/Gabernellie
    [link] [comments]

    Under a 100kg (220lbs) for the first time in 3 years!

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 01:45 AM PDT

    I started CICO after a health scare this summer. I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease called ulcerative colitis in May. My digestive system attacks itself, and flare ups can be triggered by eating foods with high fat, refined sugar and whole grains. The wake up call came from it being so difficult to get a diagnosis and how obesity can worsen the condition. I've been obese since puberty. Doctors I saw immediately assumed I had hemmorhoids due to my weight and didn't want to investigate further. When I eventually did get a correct diagnosis I was informed that a poor diet would worsen gut health and exasperate symptoms. After my diagnosis I started tracking everything I ate religiously on the FitBit app. I followed a 1000 calorie deficit and since May I have lost 18kg (~40lbs)! At 5'7, I have gone from 117kg (~257lbs) to 99kg (~217lbs). This has brought me from Class 3 obesity to Class 1 and I am aiming for 68kg (~150lbs) to bring me to a healthy BMI. I have finally learned the value of calories and how good I can feel eating healthy food. I can eat in moderation, 6 months ago if there was a bar of chocolate in the cupboard I would eat it in one sitting. Now I can enjoy a little bit at the end of the day and not binge the whole thing. Instead of eating my feelings I go for walks around my town. I went on holiday with my family and I could walk everyday and not have pains in my knees and ankles at the end of the day. I've gone down 2 sizes in jeans and have lost 20cm from my waist (8").

    This sub helped me a lot, there were weeks where I would seemingly maintain due to water weight and instead of freaking out I realised it was normal and it would drop soon enough. I still have a long way to go but I know I can do it, thank you all!

    Tl/dr: I had a health scare and have since lost 18kg, still have a long way to go but I know I can do it.

    submitted by /u/HeckEmUp
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 4

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 06:27 PM PDT

    Hello losers,

    Happy Friday!

    Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning.

    Stay within calorie range (1500 weekdays, maintenance weekends, NO FAST FOOD): Doing way better today! Maintenance.

    Exercise 5 days a week: Gonna have a post dinner business. 3/4 days.

    Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Not yet! X/X weeks.

    Self-care time (working on love journals, beauty treatments, staying on top of adulting, drawing 2/4 days): Day off work for me. Purposefully was as unproductive as possible.

    Try a new recipe once a week: Not yet. 0/5 weeks.

    50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: Not tonight kids. 0/50 pages.

    Be more mindful, present in my body & express gratitude to avoid the hedonic treadmill: Grateful for grocery store pick ups, less grateful to have ended up with substitutions and 6 cans of pinto beans. My chili game is going to need some extra help!

    Your turn kids!

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    Losing 20 pounds in 2020 with 2 visual images

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 09:41 AM PDT

    So far this year I've lost 17 pounds towards my goal of losing 20 pounds in 2020. While it's too early to declare victory, here are two visual aids I've been using to keep my mindset on track.

    The first is very practical and accurate, the second is mind-bending nightmare fuel. The first visual is a car's fuel gauge. If the car runs out of gas, you are totally screwed. You might be stuck on the side of a mountain road, at night, in a snowstorm. You might get hit by a truck just because you ran out of gas.

    You don't want your car to run out of fuel, and you personally don't want to run out of food energy. You will get headaches, you will get dizzy, you might stumble off a curb and get hit by a truck, maybe even the same truck. However, and this is important, you almost never need to be full.

    In America there are gas stations every 10 miles, far more in some places. There's just no reason to have a belly full of food, since almost every gas station these days has more calories than a small country had a thousand years ago. If you really get hungry, have a snack, order a pizza, grab an apple, drink a Coolatta, it's not a big deal.

    So have three meals a day, but keep your tank about half full, less snacks, no dessert, more water, less second helpings.

    The second visual is if you are "hungry" and tempted to eat an unhealthy snack or dessert, or tempted to have a third or fourth piece of pizza, or ice cream, or a bowl of cereal late at night, imagine this, imagine you are at a table and sitting across from you is one of your ancestors from 10,000 years ago.

    The person across the table is dirty, their hair is matted, and they have not eaten in six days. No one in their family has eaten in six days, no one in their entire tribe. No person they've met or ever will meet in their entire life has eaten in six days because it's winter, they are not having luck hunting, and there simply is no food to be found.

    In all likelihood, if things don't turn around quickly, that person, everyone in their family, and everyone in their tribe will be dead inside of two months.

    Now imagine that the snack is in the middle of the table, and before you eat it you need to explain to the smelly person why it is that you, someone who almost always has three meals a day, someone who will have three meals today, someone who will have three meals for every day the rest of the year, someone who has ample body fat, someone has a pantry full of food and a wallet full of credit cards, needs the snack more than they do.

    You could start with something like, "Og, while it's true that six days is a long time, I don't think you're fully appreciating the stress that I'm under at work..." and then THUMP, your head is smashed into the table by Og right before he grabs the snack and divides it among his five children.

    Don't piss off Og, let him have the bowl of cheetos, because if Og dies you die, because he's your direct ancestor, and if he doesn't make it through the winter, you were never born.

    submitted by /u/pbw
    [link] [comments]

    I'm Down 15 lbs!!

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 10:47 AM PDT

    I am so proud and happy I wanted to post here. I started in February 2019 slightly underweight at 111lbs. I was 20 and I am a female. By Nov 2019 I was 141lbs thanks to a lovely SSRI medication.

    I worked out pretty frequently about 4 to 5 times a week but I wasn't dieting at all. I never had an issue with eating- I could eat what I want and not gain weight. Unfortunately this had changed and was no longer the case. From Jan to Mar 2020 I tried Intermittent Fasting. Unfortunately that also did not work and I couldn't get below 137 and I would usually get right back to 141.

    As of the beginning of June, I continued my weight lifting, strength training, and some cardio about 5 to 6 times a week as I had been doing since November but this time- I started a calorie deficit. I spoke to a nutritionist and got everything in order. I actually haven't spoken to her again but I am so happy to say I reached my goal!

    As a 22F at 5'5 my goal is 125. I weighed in today at 126!! I am basically one lb off which to me is fine since I've been focusing more about body positivity and feeling comfortable and loving my body for how it looks. I definitely thought I lost weight and have taken pictures but seeing my goal be reached has made me ecstatic.

    Losing weight is hard work and I am so proud of myself for not quitting all 93 days of the deficit. I remained happy and ate a healthy balanced sustainable diet!

    submitted by /u/kylaah27
    [link] [comments]

    I don’t even like marshmallows.

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 12:44 PM PDT

    But I still ate 5 of them yesterday. 90 calories each (jumbo marshmallows). And it's like why? Why did I even do this? I've been trying to lose about 60 pounds for a couple years.

    I have tried: weight watchers, my fitness pal, lose it, intermittent fasting, and just now I was intuitively eating. Until I intuitively ate 5 marshmallows for no reason besides I was hungry and wanted them. I am stuck at 15 pounds down, unable to lose more really.

    This is my first official post here, and I wanted my first post to be a success one. But I'm riding the struggle train hard right now, guys.

    I want to find sustainable weight loss. I want to be able to do this for the rest of my life, and I'm unsure if counting calories/weighing food/meticulously planning out meals could ever be sustainable for me. That's why I was trying intuitively eating. But unsure if that's enough structure, if that makes sense.

    Anyone else had this problem? I swear I'm trying, just not quite getting it yet.

    submitted by /u/kristinanicolee
    [link] [comments]

    My first mistake

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 05:36 PM PDT

    Hello everybody I've been looking on this sub for a year and I've never posted

    My starting weight was at 392 at the beginning of the year and I've been consistent at home even with COVID

    I'm 19 My weight at the moment is 249 and I'm a 6'5 male , I've been obese my whole life and this is the first time I'm really losing weight

    And also for the first time i over ate and I don't know how to feel I know it's just a mistake but I feel like it's a huge one

    I ate 8,000 calories in 2 days and now I don't know my next move and I feel like a failure but I don't want to feel this way anymore but I don't know what to do

    submitted by /u/jayswag958
    [link] [comments]

    I too can be healthy... (diagnosed BN / BED)

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 07:40 PM PDT

    So like many others I too have gained weight during quaratine (and before quarantine too). Probably around 15 if not 20 pounds. I'm now at a BMI between 30-31 (I don't want to weigh and don't want to know my exact BMI). I'm probably about 190 lbs, which is the highest I've ever been. I'm currently 23 years old (F) and am 5'6" tall.

    3 years ago I also weighed 190 lbs. I lost weight and went down to 132 lbs (BMI 21.5) in less than a year, but this was through excessive binging and purging and using laxatives. I went to group therapy to get help for both my Bulimia and Binge Eating Disorder, but my therapists were really only interested in getting me to stop vomiting and using laxatives. Once I stopped, I was given no ropes for how to deal with the binging. Therefore, I have now gained ALL the weight back I had lost years ago. A skirt I used to wear now doesn't even nearly go past my thighs. I am so glad summer is over so I can hide in my oversized hoodies again. My breasts have become so big in size they're a burden when I sleep. I don't want this life, I want to be comfortable with my weight and be able to wear beautiful clothes confidently.

    However, I have probably tried everything you can think of. Counting calories, exercising, fasting, binging & vomiting, chewing & spitting, laxative abuse, liquid diets, soup diets, fruit diets, cutting down on sugar, cutting down on carbs altogether, 2468 diet, abc diet. You name it, I've probably tried it.

    I just threw out all unhealthy snacks I had left (which was really just cookie dough, some marshmallows and some licorice. I'm in a tough financial spot so I shouldn't be able to buy anymore snacks for at least the next 3 weeks. I will not weigh myself, because I don't want to know if I've gone over my highest weight from 3 years ago (190 lbs). I know I'm at that weight, but I don't want to know if I'm currently the heaviest I've ever been. If I do well this week I might weigh myself then. I also have a gym membership now. I actually love going to the gym, but when the summer heat wave hit here, I didn't go because I'd rather not melt before I get there. I'm making a new reservation right after posting this, probably on Tuesday or Wednesday. Since I'm in such a tough financial spot, I'll probably have to finish the excessive amounts of instant noodles, coffee, instant soups and canned soups I still have here. They're not the healthiest options, but since I've been living off of sugar the past few weeks, this should be an improvement.

    I definitely want to keep writing here on Reddit though. Writing my feelings away makes me realize how bad I really do want this and what a negative impact being overweight has on my life. I need to lose 40 lbs to be at a healthy weight for my size. I've done it before, so I can do it again the healthy way.

    submitted by /u/Avyeon
    [link] [comments]

    Finally 154.8 lbs!!

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 05:59 AM PDT

    I'm 5'5", wavered around 160 after quarantine began.

    For over 3 YEARS, I've ALWAYS weighed over 155 lbs. The lowest I've ever gotten to was 155.4 lbs, and then I'd always give up there, thinking I could never go lower, because I never have.

    Not this time though!

    I've finally hit less than 155 lbs! It sounds insane but I haven't seen "154" for YEARS!! And this time, I know exactly what's been working for me so I can just keep going without guessing, judging myself, getting frustrated and giving up!

    Ahhh!! I'm just so happy! I've been blessed with good proportions so nobody would guess I weigh what I do, but holy crap!! I've never been this excited about weight loss in my life!!

    Thanks for reading - I just needed to share!! :)

    submitted by /u/killbillvolume3
    [link] [comments]

    I Gotta Sag

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 07:34 PM PDT

    I found this sub not too long ago but as someone who started their final weight loss push two weeks ago I'm glad I found it. Two weeks ago starting at 266 with a goal of 180. And while I have no specific end date for that goal I do want to get there by the time winter is over at least.

    This thread is highly inspirational. It's nice to see so many people going through the exact same thing. It sorta makes me stay more honest with my goals. Having struggled with weight for forever, losing so much and then gaining so much back im looking forward to destroying my goals with overwhelming force this time around and finally keeping that shit off for good.

    submitted by /u/Dayvfish
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment