• Breaking News

    Wednesday, September 2, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-02

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-02


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-02

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    T-Rex Gratitude

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 08:56 PM PDT

    Hey guys, I wrote last week about thinking my arms were too short for L-Sits. Thanks to your help and guidance, I managed to get two ten second supported L-sits today. It felt so good and awful at the same time.

    I just wanted to write and show my gratitude for you guys and your willingness to help me.

    submitted by /u/Time_Bandicoot
    [link] [comments]

    Anterior Pelvic Tilt - No more leg raises?

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 11:21 AM PDT

    So after a look in the mirror, the thought that I have an ATP respawned. I definitely have ATP.

    So apparently I can't do leg raises anymore? I thought a weak core is why I have this so.. why can't I do the singular ab exercise I actually like?

    What do I do instead? a bunch of planks?

    Then on Glutes.. How do i strengthen my ass? Squats?

    I'm overall very beginner level on most things and despite maybe being physically active with sports once upon a time (I'm 20) you could say 99% of my recent years consisted of sitting or laying down. Very sedentary, also trash cardiovascularly but that's unrelated.

    So uhm, ATP. Glutes and Abs? What do I do ? I'm too overwhelmed by results, I need this spelled out for me. Please

    submitted by /u/Kenchu_X99
    [link] [comments]

    Pull ups help

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 07:56 AM PDT

    I cant seem to get my max pull number over 3-4 and its been like 2 months plz help.

    submitted by /u/JATTT5911
    [link] [comments]

    No progress in my arms

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 10:17 AM PDT

    I am able to do 17 pullups in a row, 46 pushups, 23 dips (perfect form, no resting positions). My body improved, but my arms are still the same. Been training for 9 months now. Any help??

    submitted by /u/Ognjen159
    [link] [comments]

    Is there a good training program for progression in all skills?

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 11:20 AM PDT

    I'm kinda new to calisthenics and I already found some good 6 month programs but they only teach muscle ups. Are there any good programs to learn more skills?

    submitted by /u/katonadani99
    [link] [comments]

    Is it a good time to get a hernia surgery during a cut?

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 10:51 AM PDT

    I'm gonna need a hernia surgery but can have it anytime. What's a good time? During a cut?

    submitted by /u/thespitefulorange
    [link] [comments]

    Help with 5 x 8 pull-up progression

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 10:13 AM PDT

    So I started from being able to do 3x5 pullups. Ive reached the point where I can almost do 5 x 8. The last set is usually 6 reps with the last 2 reps coming after a 15-30 second drop off the bar but overall I felt like I was strong enough to move on.

    I have been doing weighted pull-ups with 22lbs. For these sets it goes something like 1 x 8, 1 x 6, 1 x 5 and then I take the vest off and am able to rep out another 1 x 8 unweighted which I find strange. Have cranked these for about 2 weeks but still struggle to complete the full 5 x 8.

    Any tips here? My gut is that I should be doing lower consistently numbered reps with more sets with the weight, but that doesn't feel as challenging fatigue/muscle wise. I usually rest for about 3 minutes between sets on both the unweighted and weighted sets. Should I try shortening the rest times? Any help to break this plateau would be much appreciated have been stuck here for about a month.

    submitted by /u/yhwse1994
    [link] [comments]

    Lack of progress due to no appetite

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 08:53 AM PDT

    Hey everyone, I'm not really sure what's going on here. I've been exercising regularly until about halfway through last month. I made all the normal neuromuscular junction gains and all that but my progress has come to a complete halt. My routine feels the same every day and I haven't moved up in reps or any of that in probably at least two months. I know this is because of how I'm eating, but the thing is I eat when I am hungry and I'm really just not that hungry.

    For example I will usually work out around 11 AM because quarantine but I won't be hungry at all during the day until probably like 3. I don't eat breakfast because I'm just simply not hungry. I eat dinner probably around 7-8 and it's a full meal but outside of that and maybe a spoonful of ice cream I don't snack really at all.

    I've tried forcing myself so sit down and eat at the same time each day but that doesn't last long because I'm just not interested. I don't have an eating disorder, like I don't have an aversion to eating. My body weight is healthy but on the low end for my height.

    Any advice would be appreciated. I mostly want to be healthy but I seek to be in a rut, I didn't used to eat like this at all so it sort of took me by surprise when I sat down and thought about it.

    submitted by /u/NoHangoverGang
    [link] [comments]

    How much of your weight is shifted towards your upper body when doing a Pseudo Planche Pushup?

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 09:06 AM PDT

    Assuming that:

    - You're preforming the exercise with perfect form

    - Your hands go far enough back that when you go down, they are level with your belly button

    How much of your bodyweight would you approximately shift forward? Or alternatively, how much do you take away from your lower body? I understand that for something like this, there are no perfect answers, but a range would be nice.

    PS: Can't find anything online or on this sub reddit about this topic, if this has already been answered before, please link it to me in the comments.

    submitted by /u/DizzyMint2
    [link] [comments]

    how to progress into a grounded L sit.

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 08:46 AM PDT

    I can L sit on push up handles for like 15 second but i'm nowhere doing an it flat on the floor, how can i work towards this?

    submitted by /u/tedscriv
    [link] [comments]

    Recommended Routine (RR) 4 Months Progress of Casual Beginner

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 12:32 PM PDT

    http://imgur.com/a/Bq73hEB 23, 5'7", 140lbs

    Doesn't look like a huge difference, but I feel stronger and more confident! Overall, I would consider myself a casual beginner since my goal is just to stay healthy and active at home since I used to dance and do yoga frequently before the pandemic (equivalent to maybe 5-7 times of moderate to vigorous exercise a week pre-CoVid).

    Before RR, I could not do a single pull-up and only managed it assisted with bands, and also did not know the proper form for a regular push-up. The first 2 months, I did the RR every second day, so some weeks I did it 4 times and did yoga or moderate/intense dance on rest days. These physical activities on rest days are my hobbies and did them for fun, but my body quickly got tired and so I focused on the RR afterwards and now I just dance maybe once a week on a rest day. Became less consistent on the last half of the 3rd month and beginning of 4th because I got kinda depressed but I am still slowly trying to get back into being consistent and to find balance between pushing myself and also having self-compassion.

    In terms of my diet, I eat relatively healthy but I don't count my calories and I just try to keep in the back of my head to eat a little more. Haha so definitely not that serious. I have a history of disordered eating and counting calories and being overly worried about my diet has been bad for my mental health as a teen. I know I'm making slow progress because of this and other factors but I'm happy to be progressing nonetheless.

    Current routine: Warm-up: 100 jumping jacks Dance-type warm-up of shoulder and hip joints These probably aren't ideal for warm-up because they are kinda cardio, but they're fun and it's been working for me. :)

    Round 1: Assisted pistol squats using door frame: 3x8 (on other days I do Curtsy lunges 3x8 with 30lb weight) Pull-ups 3x8 (other days I do Chin-ups 3x8)

    Round 2: Ring hamstring curl 3x8 (I couldn't find a comfortable slace to do Nordic curls in my home and I found this as a recommended progression on here) Ring dips 3x8

    Round 3: Ring horizontal rows 3x8 Archer push ups 3x4 (or Uneven push ups 3x8 using a yoga block) Diamond push ups 3x8

    Round 4: Kneeling ab wheel rollouts 3x8 Pike hanging leg raise negatives 3x8 Copenhagen plank 30s each side Arch body hold 30s Hollow body hold 30s

    Round 5: Seated dumbbell bicep curls 3x8 25lbs Single dumbbell front hammer raise 3x8 30lbs

    Round 6: Wrist strengthening exercises by Antranik (when I'm not feeling lazy) Palm pulses on hands and knees Back of hand push ups on knees

    All this takes me about 2 hours. Some days longer, some days shorter depending on my energy and motivation level or if I get distracted. I like to listen to podcasts or audiobooks while working out. Sometimes I dance around to the music I'm listening to during breaks or I end up singing along for too long (I do these all in my bedroom soo...). Or some days I water my plants or clean my room and get distracted during breaks and my breaks are too long. But I almost always finish it once I've started.

    TLDR: it may not be perfect but slow progress is progress :)

    submitted by /u/robo-bonobo
    [link] [comments]

    Squats give me an electric shock type of sensation in my thighs. Is that ok?

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 10:50 AM PDT

    Hi, thank you in advance for the advice. When I lift up from a squat, I get this weird twitch/pinch feeling on the side of my upper thigh. It almost feels like an electric shock. Is this normal? Is there a stretch for this?

    To better explain the area of my thighs: If you were to stand up and let your hands fall at your sides, it would be a few inches lower than your fingers up on the thigh.

    submitted by /u/river_rose
    [link] [comments]

    Does anyone else get bumps by the forearm area when doing RTO exercises?

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 10:21 AM PDT

    I found this post here and it seems the first comment says how to avoid it but I'm a bit confused. Can someone maybe show a picture? I'm more of a visual learner.

    Should I not be leaning into the rings with that portion of my back forearm if I'm doin RTO? So my knuckles are facing the same direction as my butt and my forearms naturally rest on the rings.

    https://i.imgur.com/o6Fzmma.jpg

    submitted by /u/Aarenas52
    [link] [comments]

    New here whats up

    Posted: 02 Sep 2020 08:33 AM PDT

    So i been doing alot of beach body stuff recently and im doing 10 rounds atm but i always been into calestetics and i always enjoy push up crunches and pullups...tho at my house i dont have anything to do pull ups with atm :(. Been following thenx and chris heria.

    From what i understand people dont like him for some reason other then his shitty neck tattoos that make him look like daddy long neck. How come?

    In his videos he always seems to have good form and i lile the build ups to do muscle ups and everything like that. I do my own eating ways because every body is different obviously and fuck starving myself.

    Anyways if not chris heria who should i be watching?

    Personally im M 5'5 and (now 140 - 145) was 170 before starting beachbody (insanity max 30) and fixed my eating with portions. Still got some belly fat but i been kinda looking for strength now and trying to find my abs lol any tips or people to watch?

    submitted by /u/TheHylianlink
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment