Weight loss: Today is the first day in my [31F, SW 260 CW 199.6 GW 150] adult life where my weight starts with a 1!!! I'm so happy I could (and did) cry. |
- Today is the first day in my [31F, SW 260 CW 199.6 GW 150] adult life where my weight starts with a 1!!! I'm so happy I could (and did) cry.
- I exercised (almost) every day for a whole month
- 90 days. 65 pounds, and dumped high blood pressure and cholesterol at the same time. None of my clothes fit, but I feel so much better! Here's how I did it, and what I learned during the process.
- Having a kitchen scale makes a HUGE difference!!
- 19 year exercise streak!
- Day 51. I’m almost to the point where I look good in the mirror.
- Down 50 lb w lose it!
- Never thought I would make it this far! (20F SW:160 lbs CW:142 lbs GW:130 lbs)
- After just 10 lbs, I already feel loads better
- I'm proud of myself!
- Hit my goal weight than binged :(
- I haven’t drank soda in 11 days and I’m back on in the calorie counting game.
- my physician thinks i have an eating disorder because i lost weight (long story)
- Its all worth it
- I just hit my first milestone goal!
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 1
- I reached my first goal! 20 lbs lost since June!
- how long do you have to have kept the weight off to say "you've lost weight"
- Daily Q&A Post for Wednesday, 02 September 2020 - No question too small!
- Looking for advice on joining a sport when you’re overweight!
- My three-month transformation
- Rant: I keep sabotaging myself.
- SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Wednesday, 02 September 2020: Today, I conquered!
- The 10 pound fluctuation
| Posted: 01 Sep 2020 06:07 PM PDT I am a 31F who has struggled with her weight my whole life. I wasn't taught to eat mindfully and had some pretty bad habits by the time I was a teen. 3 years ago I found myself at 260lbs and had no idea where to turn. I downloaded MyFitnessPal and with only CICO I lost 30 lbs. When quarantine began I was standing at 230lbs still and decided that I had run out of all of my "I don't have time to workout" excuses since I now WFH and I started using my Peloton regularly (at least 4 times a week) and I am now down 30 lbs since March!!! This morning my weight showed 199.6lbs. Just needed to share this with people who understand since my whole family is overweight and not the most supportive (aside from my amazing DH). I am so so happy! Photo proof Onederland [link] [comments] |
| I exercised (almost) every day for a whole month Posted: 01 Sep 2020 03:36 AM PDT (Sorry for formatting, am on mobile.) http://imgur.com/gallery/AEZGK20 26F, ED (eating disorder) survivor, been overweight my whole life. I lost 30+ lbs a couple of years ago, gained the few I lost with the ED back, and maintained for a long time. I didn't ever feel mentally healthy enough to go on a weight loss journey again, especially because the one where I lost 30 lbs I ended up with bulimia. I started August thinking I would get to the best shape of my life. I've improved a lot physically and mentally. I've been exercising 2-3 days a week since January but it has always been 15 minutes tops. So this time I had goals: follow challenges, keep workouts longer than 20 minutes, and improve as much as possible. And I've succeeded! Except for the days where I wasn't doing well mentally or physically (I'm VitD deficient and haven't been using my supplements, so that shows) or I had another responsibility, I exercised for at least 10 minutes (and usually longer) every day. I'm so proud of myself! Never thought this was possible. I've also not given into any ED urges and I've been pretty stable. The bad thoughts knock on the door after I eat but I'm able to dodge the urges quite easily. For someone who's been struggling for years, that's a really big achievement. I'm eating 2 times a day with family, trying not to eat sugar but I do a little bit if I feel the need to, and it's like an accidental IF since I don't eat after dinner. Since the beginning of the month I lost 10 lbs, some of it water weight, lost 4 inches off my body, and I'm actually able to hold myself up for 10 seconds on a pull up bar AND lift my knees up to my stomach. Guys, I wasn't able to pull myself up, let alone actually hold on for 10 seconds. I was stuck on the ground. Since I was a kid. I could never play on monkey bars because I had no muscle and a lot of fat. I'm just so proud of myself about everything I've achieved so far and I really wanted to share. I've come to learn that success doesn't come from luck or extreme work - it comes from consistency and that especially goes for our bodies. For once in my life I'm actually celebrating what my body can achieve instead of hating what it looks like, and it feels fucking amazing. Edit: I didn't expect this to blow up! I'm so glad I've been able to inspire so many of you, and thank you for the sweet comments. Be kind to yourselves and your bodies! It's gonna be alright in the long run 💕 [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 02 Sep 2020 12:41 AM PDT Sorry for the long post. There's a lot to cover. The TL;DR is at the end, but I'd recommend reading the whole post if you actually want to try what I did, because there were a lot of little (and not so little) lessons that I learned along the way, both good and bad. On June 1, my life was fucking awful. Two months prior, my wife moved out with 2 days' notice. I had no idea anything was wrong, and she wouldn't even tell me why at first. I found out later that she'd just been putting on a smile and pretending everything was fine, when it wasn't. I was in school, and my grades had tanked. I was in danger of losing financial aid. I was about to have to move. I was losing my wife, and she wanted to take my 5-year-old daughter 50% of the time, with that same 2-day notice. On the Holms-Rahe Stress Inventory, on a scale that maxes out at 300 points to determine how close to a stress-induced health breakdown I was, I scored 753 points. I had high blood pressure, high cholesterol, type 2 diabetes, anxiety, depression, and really severe ADHD. Life fucking sucked. But I decided I was going to work on personal improvement instead of wallowing in self-pity. I started weighing myself while trying to figure out how to change the numbers on the scale. I wanted to try something like calorie counting and intermittent fasting, but I just couldn't stop eating crap. Tons of it. When you're diabetic, and you don't eat, you kind of get the shakes. You feel a little uneasy, maybe stressed out, irritable, and possibly dizzy or nauseous. But when your whole fucking world is dumped on its head, you feel like that all the time. I forgot to eat for three days, because all of those warning signs were just what it was like to exist at all, all day, every day. At 8:30 pm one night, I realized I was hungry. I thought to myself "Huh. I'm hungry. When did I last eat? Wait, when did I last eat?" And that's when I realized it had been three days. I weight myself. The scale said I'd lost 11 pounds in those three days. I was shocked, for two reasons: I had lost an astonishing amount of weight during that time, and I had managed to fast after all. The next day, another two. 13 pounds in 4 days. I decided I'd better call my doctor, because there was no way that was safe. I wasn't able to schedule an appointment right away, so I had to wait a week or two. Meanwhile, I decided to use my new-found willpower and try out this whole /r/intermittentfasting thing. Specifically, OMAD, or One Meal A Day. Surprisingly, my doctor wasn't concerned when I finally reached him. By that point, I'd lost roughly a dozen more pounds, and had started to exercise. But he said it was normal to experience extreme weight loss with extreme changes to diet and exercise. He put me on a blood glucose monitor to ensure my blood sugar didn't drop to dangerous levels since I'm diabetic, and warned me that I wouldn't keep losing at that rate forever because it wasn't sustainable. Much of it was water weight, and eventually it would slow down. But until then, "Enjoy it while it lasts," he said. I targeted 1,250 calories per day, all during one meal (over roughly an hour, since I often snacked on the meal's ingredients as I cooked), and tracked everything using MyFitnessPal. Just the free version - I haven't needed to upgrade to the paid version yet. I also tracked my exercise using a smartwatch. I started setting goals, like targetting 175 pounds by December 15, or 6 months after I started. According to the math behind my loss so far, this appeared to be possible. A side note on MyFitnessPal: don't link it to your smartwatch. If you do, it starts to give you calories back as if you've "earned" them. But if you do that, you'll eat more than your target, and you'll stop losing (or worse, start gaining!) weight again. The paid version allows you to disable this "feature", but I found that you can just unlink your smartwatch account and that works just as well. And I kept losing weight! With the guidance of a dietician in my doctor's office, I started targeting the following proportions on my plate:
At my request, my dietician agreed to let me switch protein and veggies. (She said it wasn't ideal but it also wasn't a huge problem. My dietitian was blown away by my weight loss. I'd also recently had an A1C panel done (A1C is your blood sugar over ~3 months, as opposed to the instant, but short-term result that a glucose monitor provides), and my A1C had dropped from 10.1 to 8.6! My dietition mentioned that, with my latest A1C test result there was actually the possibility that I could eventually reverse type-2 diabetes! So, at this point, I was on 1,250 calories per day, with specific targets for food type proportions, and eating it all in a single meal, usually at night. And I was losing an average of ~6 pounds per week this way. My doctor eventually asked me to start eating my one meal in the morning instead of the evening, since I was getting irritable and shaky in the late afternoon. By doing this, that feeling didn't occur while I was awake, and disappeared by the time I woke up the next day. In addition to losing all of the weight, I started paying more attention to my diabetes and blood pressure mediation. After a couple of weeks of doing so, gradually increasing the dose of my BP meds, I finally got my blood pressure under control, and my doctor was finally comfortable with me taking my ADHD meds without risk of a stroke. But he warned me about rebound weight, and how quickly I could gain it all back if I wasn't careful. I needed to stay true to my goals. He also expressed concerns about my goals. He wanted to be supportive of my desire to get to 175 pounds, but he felt that doing this in 6 months, and my thoughts of reversing diabetes by then as well, might be "ambitious", as he put it. I gradually started to change what I ate, as well. Calorie counting meant I had to immediately dump some things, like candy bars, but others (like boxed mac n' cheese, milk, etc.) were still fair game. They increased my carbs and didn't give me much that was healthy, but this was a stepping stone. I started having smoothies for breakfast every few days. Eggs and bacon instead of sugary cereals. Broccoli or green beans with my meals. Etc. And, over time, I discovered that I was craving unhealthy stuff much less, and started enjoying things like dried fruit for snacks (apricots and mangos, mmm!) that I didn't used to go for much. Tastes change when your body starts getting used to the idea of not having everything be oversaturated with added salt and sugar. At this point, I also started seeing a therapist. I wanted to address my anxiety and depression before I did something stupid, and I wanted to stop letting ADHD run my life. Even more than I knew it was, at the time. I was also concerned about the possibility that I was a narcissist, which is something my ex accused me of being when she finally told me why she left. But then a new problem cropped up. (Warning: poop details.) So, there's a thing called "dumping syndrome". It turns out that, when you eat a gigantic meal, it isn't all going to fit into your stomach where it can be digested and used by your body. Instead, your body "dumps" it into your small intestine once it runs out of room in your stomach. Well, when non-digested food ends up in there, it acts as a solute and pulls a bunch of water out of your intestinal lining, resulting in cramping and somewhat uncontrollable diarrhea. This is the same reason those with lactose intolerance get cramping and diarrhea: lactose is a sugar that your body can't process, and it does the same thing once it ends up in your intestines. So, yeah. I'd eat a huge meal, then I'd have to make sure I was always close to a bathroom because there was going to be a reckoning real soon now. And, sometimes, I didn't make it in time, or I made the mistake of leaning too far, too fast, while trying to get there. It wasn't pretty. I asked my doctor about this, and also if there was a significant difference between OMAD and just limiting calories, but over multiple meals, he said no; there was no data to demonstrate that there was a statistically significant difference between the two methods. The only differences were that it can be hard to stretch 1,250 calories over three meals, and you'll spend more time making three meals instead of one. When my doctor explained all of this to me, we both agreed that I should stop doing OMAD and try to switch back to three meals a day, still restricted to 1,250 calories. At this point, I'd been on OMAD for roughly 8 weeks and had lost somewhere around 40 pounds. And, after a little while, the dumping syndrome symptoms mostly disappeared. At this point, I decided I wanted to put more effort into my exercise. I joined the same dojo as my 5-year-old and started taking kempo karate. And I discovered a new problem: head rushes. When I started exercising intensely, I started to get pretty severe head rushes. I had already experienced them, and my doctor said that, yeah, that can happen when you aren't eating much. But they were WAY worse during karate sessions. I started to lose vision at the edges as it disappeared into a sort of grayish-brown static, and then it wasn't just at the edges. Eventually, the static turned red. Yikes. I was pretty sure that hallucinations weren't a good sign, and I was worried I'd have to change my diet enough that I'd stop losing weight. Fortunately, it wasn't that bad at all. My doctor said that, basically, my brain was getting starved of glucose because my muscles were using it. This resulted in my visual cortex getting starved as well, and the aforementioned light show. He told me to stop exercising when that happened. I suggested upping my calories to 1,500 per day, and he agreed that was a good idea. It also had the benefit of being easier to spread over three meals. The head rushes and hallucinations disappeared. But I kept losing weight. Awesome! But my doctor had warned me, fairly early in the process, about the potential of gaining it all back too quickly if I didn't stay on top of my diet. Then I met a girl. We went on some adventures. I stayed at her house a few days at a time. I started forgetting to take my meds, because they weren't in front of me, because I wasn't staying at home anymore. But... about those meds. I hadn't realized that I'd forgotten them until I was in my doctor's office for a follow-up on something else. When they pulled out the cuff to take my vitals, I immediately thought "Ah, crap. I've been forgetting my meds for DAYS! My BP is going to be high again." But it wasn't. It turns out that, when you lose 40+ pounds, start paying attention to macro proportions, and start hiking regularly, it lowers your blood pressure. Who knew? My doctor was pleased. I was ecstatic. Two days later, he permanently removed high blood pressure and high cholesterol from my chart. That's two out of three pills I didn't have to take. And then he started talking about something else. "So, here's the process we follow to remove diabetes from your chart," he said. He described continuing to test A1C levels until they are at normal, non-diabetic levels of ~5.7. Then they take me off my meds, and keep testing for a year after that. If I remain at non-diabetic levels, he said, they'd remove diabetes from my chart. He just said it matter-of-factly that day. As if it was a matter of when, rather than if. As if it was a foregone conclusion. I guess he changed his mind about me. :-) So, that girl. We were having a good time togehter, and I stopped worrying as much about specific calorie counts, allowing myself to go a few hundred calories over each day. After all, I was still NOWHERE NEAR my original calorie count before this insane diet, right? And I gained 11 pounds back in only 6 days. Holy cow! My doctor was definitely right about the rebound weight! Fortunately, I got it back down after about 10 days. But lesson learned! One of the recurring themes in this journey was the need to listen to my body. I needed to listen when I was getting head rushes. I needed to listen when I was suffering diarrhea. And I needed to listen when I was full. After a while, I started forcing myself to slow down, and I realized that I could get full WAY faster than I thought, but I just hadn't given my body enough time for my stomach nerves to figure it out and signal my brain "Hey. I'm full, dumbass. Stop eating." I discovered a bunch of non-scale victories along the way, as well. Clothes not fitting was a big one, but there were some seemingly small events that had a REALLY big emotional impact when they happened. I went on a cave tour, and someone had to squeeze by at one point. Well, prior to that, turning sideways did nothing for this. I was basically a circle from above. But this time, I sucked in my gut and turned sideways, and it made a difference! Man, things like that felt good. I've also started out outpace my friends on trails and other activities. And when I dropped below 250 pounds... man. Okay, so there is a ton of stuff in life that has a weight limit of 250 pounds. That's basically what the country thinks is the limit of "normal" weight. And don't get me wrong; I'm not faulting this. It's basic structual engineering: things can only take so much weight. But it sucked when ladders creaked and bent, or I couldn't go on a trampoline, or I wasn't allowed to go skydiving. Now, I can! I got a monthly membership for my kid to go to a local trampoline park, and I'm allowed to jump with her! Ladders don't flex and move around when I stand on them. Hell, I can even go skydiving now, something I've always wanted to do! (Not that I can afford to, but at least I'm allowed now!) The number of life changes that have occurred is staggering! It's been three months, as of today, since all of this started. Here's a before and after from the last 3 months. Yeah, I'm still a fat fuck. But I'm WAY LESS of a fat fuck than I used to be, and I'm continuing to lose weight every week. I've lost almost twice as much as my kid weighs! And while it's slowing down a little, it's definitely still going strong. None of my clothes fit anymore. Nothing I've purchased in the last 3 years, anyway. And roughly 3 years ago, I packed a ton of things that were too small into plastic bins for "when I lose weight". Yeah, those clothes? Most of THEM don't fit anymore, either! They're too big! That's the difference 65 pounds makes! But now I have to buy new clothes and I can't because I'm a broke college student that's also a recently-single dad. Oh well. I guess that's a pretty good problem to have! So, for you. This is the beginning. This is how it starts. With the moment looking in the mirror. With the moment of realization: "I DON'T LIKE THIS." And, then, "so I'm going to CHANGE this." And then you do. And it sucks, and it takes time, and some days you move forward, and some days you move back, and it feels like a yoyo sometimes. But you keep going. And, after a month, you look at yourself in the mirror again. And you're disappointed. Maybe even disgusted. But you keep going. And after two months, when you look in the mirror again, you shrug and go "Huh. Okay. This is actually starting to look a little different." And then you keep going. And then, three months later, you look in the mirror again. And then you smirk. And then you smile. And then you can't stop smiling. And then? You keep going, because you're committed to the change you started... Today. Congratulations on taking this first step. It's the hardest one. Some others will seem harder in the coming weeks/months. But this one, this first one, is the big one. And you took it. So. TLDR:
I hope this helps someone. It sure as hell helped me. :-) [link] [comments] |
| Having a kitchen scale makes a HUGE difference!! Posted: 01 Sep 2020 01:32 PM PDT Hey, everybody! Long time lurker, first time poster. I just graduated college and am living on my own for the first time, which means prepping/cooking all of my own meals! I have been trying to lose about 20-30 pounds for a while now and have really been struggling because back when I was in college, I ate at our dining hall everyday and would pretty much just estimate my calorie intake for each meal. Over six months I lost about 8 pounds and, while I'm happy with this progress, I know I could have done it so much sooner! After getting my own apartment and kitchen, I purchased a relatively inexpensive kitchen scale to help me track my calories and it has made a HUGE difference in my progress!! Since weighing my foods and accurately counting calories, I have lost 6 pounds in the past month! If you have the resources to get a kitchen scale, I cannot recommend it enough! I am currently 22, female, 5'7 and 153 pounds. My goal is 140 so hopefully I will get there within the next couple months. I'm aiming to eat about 1400 calories per day, sometime I eat a little more, sometimes a little less. Right now my lifestyle is pretty sedentary but I try to get out and go walking if I can. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Sep 2020 08:13 AM PDT Over 20 years ago, I decided that I was going to get into better shape because I wanted to be around for my five-year old daughter when she grew up. I read Covert Bailey's "Fit or Fat", and I really took to heart his suggestions. One of them was to "run so slowly that people will think something is wrong with you." So, I did. I started really slow, and gradually, I was running five to six miles in an hour. I did this every day until there was a huge snowstorm, and there was literally no space to run. I was very disappointed, so I bought a Schwinn Airdyne stationary bicycle. By the time I bought it, I had gained back a bunch of weight, so, again, I decided to go slow. I told myself that I would bike every day for an hour, and I would go as slow as I need to in order to maintain the streak. On 09/01/2001, I started that hour of daily aerobic exercise. I did it every day, burning through the bike in the process. I got another bike, and when I burned through that one, I decided to upgrade to a treadmill. I burned through the treadmill, got another, and today, I hit 19 years! 9 days ago, I was challenged by a co-worker to run 100 days in a row. Until then, I had been walking because I have had a lot of cumulative back damage over the years. But, I took a shot at it, and I have been running since then. Today I ran 3.78 miles, the best distance yet! The moral of my story is to start slow, and take care of the streak. If you do, it will take care of you! [link] [comments] |
| Day 51. I’m almost to the point where I look good in the mirror. Posted: 01 Sep 2020 09:34 AM PDT SW: 255 on July 11th. CW: 211 GW: 190 I can't express how this feels like the light at end of the tunnel. It's exciting to think about liking the way I look naked. I'm back to a point where my old clothing fits and the stuff I bought as I got fatter is way to big. At my peak I was wearing 2XL and 40w pants were tight. Today I'm wearing L shirts and I can squeeze into my 34w pants again. I plateaued on the scale for almost 10 days. 5 of those were lost days due to traveling and having to eat out but I am thankful that I didn't back track during that time. I'm excited to be done with this cut. Just a few more weeks to go. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Sep 2020 02:17 PM PDT So I started sometime in February and I weighed 220 lbs give or take. I had been trapped in that body, or at least I felt trapped, or three or four years. I'm 5'3 and before that I had been definitely under 140 lb because I had an eating disorder. So I totally recovered but I had no idea how to eat properly so I gained about a hundred pounds in like 2 years. I did not take it well but I did not go back to my eating disorder. I just kind of ignored it although I was unhappy and found men who liked larger ladies. I think that was my coping mechanism, sadly enough. People treated me like shit and everybody wanted sex but no one wanted a relationship. Worst of all I hated what I saw when I looked in the mirror. I tried dieting but it never stuck because I was never willing to get out and get the exercise. So I started out in January actually with the spark people app but it is extremely inferior to lose it and was not as helpful. I ate 1200 to 1300 calories a day every day no matter what and started with one mile and worked my way up to nine miles a day. Not everyday but definitely 12 k steps a day. I eat the calories I burn and I don't really care what anyone has to say about that. I weighed myself for the first time in a few days and the scale declared 174. I realize that's still big but you have to understand coming from 220 that is like super skinny to me. I'm going to keep it up and because lose it has helped teach me a positive lifestyle I will make it to my goal of 140 and maybe even go below. If you told me 10 years ago that I was going to lose 50 lb without an eating disorder I would have never believed you Thank you lose it and congratulations everyone for all the work you will do [link] [comments] |
| Never thought I would make it this far! (20F SW:160 lbs CW:142 lbs GW:130 lbs) Posted: 01 Sep 2020 11:58 PM PDT Long time lurker, first time poster! Today I am closer to my goal weight than my starting weight. For the first time in 4 years I am under 145 lbs. I never thought I would see the day when 130lbs was a goal within reach. Even at my fittest as a competitive swimmer, I was always pushing 145. For about a year in 2019, I tried CICO on and off with minimal success. It wasnt until I got a wake-up call measuring in on the scales after the holidays that I realized I needed to take this seriously. Cue r/loseit and r/weightloss. I started taking CICO much more seriously, religiously counting and measuring, and I also started running 2-3 miles a day for a few days of the week because of all the free time during quarantine. A lovely app called Zombies, Run! helped get me motivated to get active again. I also adpoted intermittent fasting for 16/8 hours. I was changing my habits and improving myself. If it hadn't been for subs like this, with posts like this coming across my dashboard of others successes, I dont know if I would have had the motivation (or information) to get to where I am at now. If you are reading this and need motivation: keep it up! You are closer to being a better you today than any other day, be consistent and stick with what works for you. It can be a bit of a long haul but looking back and seeing your progress is worth every bit of effort. [link] [comments] |
| After just 10 lbs, I already feel loads better Posted: 01 Sep 2020 12:19 PM PDT Wtf. For reference, I only have about 30 lbs to really lose, but I know that makes it just that much harder because my margins have to be slimmer (no pun intended). I am 23f, SW: 195, CW: 185, GW: 155. I am 5'9". In college, I was an athlete and while I am unsure of my exact weight, I was a size 6 or 8 Women's US at about 140 or so pounds. Now I am around a size 12 or 14, but I am determined to get back to where I was. After college, life just happened: I got married, stress from my first ever adult job, not as much free time, etc. My first red flags were encounters with a couple health professionals. First, my gynecologist noted my significant weight gain and slightly elevated BP at my yearly check-up and very gently (bless her heart) reccomended that I "start adding healthy habits and exercise back into [my] routine." Second, I had the opportunity to consult a personal trainer for free on one occasion at a local gym. He took my body fat percentage. It was 33%!!! He, very softly and kindly, told me something along the lines of "young lady, i probably do not have to tell you why that is not good." It was so embarrassing. This was all several months ago and since then, I have very slowly lost 10 pounds. I have been doing a combo of WW and CICO. I have had my ups and downs and I would like to buckle down and get more serious about my weight loss, but here are some differences I've noticed that make me feel a ton better:
Sorry if this was just pointless listing, but I just wanted to share how weight loss and subtle habit changes, mindfulness have made a difference for me. :) Edit: said fuggit and took some "before" picture to motivate myself to quit dilly dallying around and get even more serious about getting to a healthier weight and BMI. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Sep 2020 03:29 PM PDT Hey guys! I'm a long time lurker on this sub and I just had some news I really wanted to share with people who would understand. I've been on my weight loss journey now for a little over two months, and have lost about 20 lbs so far. Well, today, I've been unusually hungry even though I have been drinking water and eating within my normal caloric deficit. So, instead of restricting myself (which when that happens, I normally end up binge eating at some point during the night), I had another bowl of yogurt with bananas for dinner! It put me a over my calorie goal for the day, but I feel sooo much better and full now. I'm just so proud of myself for being able to recognize that I was hungry and being able to handle it in a healthy manner that won't lead to binge eating later! Thanks for reading :) [link] [comments] |
| Hit my goal weight than binged :( Posted: 01 Sep 2020 05:19 PM PDT I've been looking for an answer on how to avoid bingeing in the future and I'm hoping to hear how anybody else keeps their food cravings under control. Lately my food cravings had been non existent, but on Saturday I hit my goal weight of 185 pounds and wanted to celebrate by drinking some whiskey and having a massive feast. The second I feasted my food cravings came back so I've eaten A LOT since Friday. I just stepped on the scale and now I'm 197 pounds. In these four days I put on 12 pounds! How is that even possible? Anyways it's gotten me depressed and just wanted to say what's up with my weight struggles. I'm 25(m) 6"1 [link] [comments] |
| I haven’t drank soda in 11 days and I’m back on in the calorie counting game. Posted: 01 Sep 2020 09:55 PM PDT For at least a couple years I drank diet soda constantly, not overkill, like at least three cans a day. I knew it was still awful for the body. My plan for stopping drinking soda was to get teas that have caffeine so that it wasn't breaking a soda habit AND a caffeine habit at the same time. I miss soda. I've quit drinking it before but after a few months I started again so I am definitely not one of those people who quits for awhile and then thinks soda is disgusting. The last three or four weeks have just been trying not to gain weight and I haven't! As a binge eater, to go from the 1200-1350 calorie counting (I'm a short lady) to just maintaining without gaining weight is a huge accomplishment. I would celebrate the hell out of someone if they did that but since it's me I'm not impressed. The last few days I've been tracking my calories and have been within 1600-1300 everyday. I'm happy about it and it feels sustainable. It was intimidating to get back into but it's nice. I've also started tracking my water intake. It's hard to drink enough water! The most helpful thing that I've learned is the dumbest thing that I feel like everyone realized but me. When my (and everyone else's) stomach says/feels like I'm hungry it's just because no food is there, not because of lack of nutrients. I do not get hungry once my body as consumed and processed the food I ate. Yes, the salmon is no longer in my stomach (so I'm hungry) but the protein, fats, vitamins and minerals are just now getting a chance to go do their job. Knowing that I'm eating nutritious food makes it so much easier to say "I WANT to eat, but I don't need to." [link] [comments] |
| my physician thinks i have an eating disorder because i lost weight (long story) Posted: 01 Sep 2020 01:40 PM PDT TLDR: my physician jumped to the conclusion that i was anorexic despite the fact that i have a bmi of 20. the doctors there made rude comments about "my anorexia" and overstepped their boundaries in trying to "help me" despite me showing no signs of an eating disorder. for context, the doctor's office in my town is crap. there are countless stories i could tell about them falsely diagnosing people with depression (this happened to my brother) and once i was diagnosed with spinal meningitis and almost had to undergo surgery, only to find out last minute that i did not actually have spinal meningitis, and the person working at the office simply had an obsession with this disease. my point is basically that the doctor's office where i live is obsessive about finding issues with people that are not there, ESPECIALLY mental health issues. i would not say that i have ever been extremely fat, but i gained a lot of weight between 8th grade and 11th grade due to hormonal stress, and was on the verge of becoming overweight (bmi of 24). during quarantine i decided to go on a low calorie diet in order to ensure that i did not gain weight (and to lose weight so i can feel good/perform better in athletics when i go back to school.) i was successful using CICO, as well as exercise to go from 141.5 lbs down to 120.5 lbs. I am 17 years old and 5'4. my parents were very involved in my diet, and i talked a lot about what i was eating, how i was feeling and what my goals were with them. it has been a very safe and healthy experience, and i don't plan on going any lower than 110 (and might decide to move back up if 110 is uncomfortable for me.) i had a doctor's appointment, but before i visited i had to do a 15 minute check-in via video call with my physician. i decided to tell dr. olivia (fake name), who is a good friend of my mom's and usually a very sweet woman, that i was undergoing weight loss. as soon as i said this, she seemed alarmed. the sudden alarm did not make sense to me, as the last time i had visited i was borderline overweight (bmi of 24), so it would make sense that i would try to drop a few pounds. i told her EXACTLY what i had been doing during quarantine/summer, as well as my goal of reaching 110 lbs (which i stated was an absolute minimum and that i would probably not stay there,) and she said that she was concerned that i might have an eating disorder. my doctor has the right to be concerned, after all I am a 17 year old girl, and 110 lbs is on the low end of normal for my height. but the way that she handled this situation was absolutely not okay, and if i did have an eating disorder, would have seriously made it worse. note that although i have plans of reaching 110 lbs, i was 120.5 lbs (20 bmi) when i went to the doctors office. when i visited her, she immediately began aggressively discussing "my eating disorder" with me--we had not even discussed whether there even was an eating disorder to begin with--and demanded that i either see the exact nutritionist she recommended--a local HAES "healthy eating and movement" group whose slogan was "ditch the scale"--or come into the office once per week for weight checks. my mom jumped in to defend me, stating that both she and my dad were fully aware of what was going on and didn't see any reason to be concerned. my doctor was convinced that I had an eating disorder, despite only having a vague knowledge of my diet and workout habits, and basically said that my behavior was "really concerning" and that i must do exactly what she was asking. she left the room and my physical began with a weigh-in. another doctor came into the room and told me to "take my phone out of my pockets" and then said "get all the rocks and treasures out too" with a laugh. this comment made me uncomfortable, as it shows that the entire office was already convinced that i was anorexic. later, when dr. olivia came back, she measured my heart rate. it is important to understand that i am athletic, and I have always been a frequent runner--I run 2 miles and 4 miles daily on interval. she measured my bpm and my resting heart rate was 47--low for a normal person, but on the high end for an athlete. she made a face and said "that's very low," then she finished the physical, i received my vaccinations and went home. dr. olivia told the head doctor at the office that she was concerned that i had an eating disorder, and my family recieved a call stating that i must come in to have blood tests done, as well as some kind of test where they hook me up to a treadmill and measure my heart rate while i am running. my parents refused, and dr. olivia emailed my mom multiple times implying that she is a neglectful parent, and saying that with my "low" heart rate of 47, "it is dangerous for [me] to be running (AT ALL.)" this contrasts with my experiences, as i have been getting increasingly faster times throughout my weight loss. my dad, a fitness expert, was outraged that they were jumping to conclusions and overstepping their boundaries. he told me that a low heart rate like 47 was a good thing when you are athletic, and that it was absurd that they were trying to paint this situation as if i were going to die. my mom asked three of her friends--a personal trainer, a biologist and another fitness expert--who all said the same thing: it is not a concern, and my heart rate is good. my mom wrote to dr. olivia again, asking why she was so concerned, but she did not respond. my family made the decision to leave this doctor's office for good, and we are now looking for a doctor that has better knowledge of athletes and nutrition. i still have to go back soon for my second round of vaccinations, which will be uncomfortable, but then we will be going somewhere else. i know some people might read this story and be concerned that i have an eating disorder--because of my goal, age, and because the physician said so--but you will just have to take my word that i do not. i know what eating disorders look like because my mom was hospitalized for one when she was younger, and i have had friends who suffer with them too. i love food and i can't wait to reach my goal so that i can increase my calorie intake and eat more of my favorite things. this experience just upset me a lot because i had been really proud of myself for my weight loss, and i had hoped that my doctor would be supportive. she made me question myself, and she made my mom worry and question her own parenting; this was hurtful coming from someone who had been a friend. i know that dr. olivia likely had genuine concern, however it was also clear that she is heavily influenced by HAES based on the terminology she used throughout this interaction (also because this way of thinking is common where i live), and i think that she was letting her own personal beliefs and values overshadow her position as a doctor. while she might not think CICO and maintaining a healthy BMI are important, i do, and i wish she would not diagnose me with an eating disorder just because i am briefly pursuing these things. watching your weight ≠ having an eating disorder. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Sep 2020 04:39 AM PDT 21st of May, that day I had to buy new trousers for school. I didnt try them on, I just bought a size I thought would fit and hoped for the best. I was too embarrased to actually try on any pants. I was over 100kgs then. I remember getting home, trying on the pants, and them not fitting. I remember feeling horrible, I took my dog on a walk and started crying? I didnt really know why, I dont think it was the pants. I think it was how my entire life had been affected by my weight. I thought about the comments I received, wearing a shirt at the beach, all of that. I had tryed and failed losing weight for over 4 years at that point. I knew I had to do something, it was tough, I wanted to give up multiple times, but deep down I knew that I couldnt continue on living the way I was living. Now I am 87kgs, half way to my goal, not nearly finished, but today someone commented on my weight loss. I feel so much better about myself. And those pants, two sizes too big. [link] [comments] |
| I just hit my first milestone goal! Posted: 01 Sep 2020 03:08 PM PDT 1 down, 11 to go!
The milestones are roughly 15 pounds apart and I use an app called Happy Scale which predicts the dates that I'll hit each milestone along with the final goal. As of right now it says it'll take me 3 years to reach my goal weight because I've committed to losing 1 pound per week. However I've actually been losing closer to 3 pounds per week so it readjusts based off of that. My next milestone is "due" 12/15/20 and it's for 15 pounds which will bring me down to 285. It's predicting that I can actually get there by 10/6/20 at my current pace. I'm still going to aim for the December one just because I don't want to overdo it and then if I do it faster it'll just be something extra to be excited about. I've always rewarded myself with food so it was hard to come up with a reward but I eventually picked buying myself a new puzzle so I got that today! But I'm currently having a migraine so I'm going to put it together tomorrow. Thanks for reading. [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 1 Posted: 01 Sep 2020 06:04 PM PDT Hello losers, Welcome to the DAC! Returning losers, love to see you back! Newbies, welcome, stay a while, we're going to conquer this month! Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): 207 this morning. Blergh day 1. Stay within calorie range (1500 weekdays, maintenance weekends, NO FAST FOOD): Not doing well on day 1 my friends. I hope you're kicking butt. Exercise 5 days a week: Rest day. 0/1 days. Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Not yet! X/X weeks. Self-care time (working on love journals, beauty treatments, staying on top of adulting, drawing 1/1 days): Skin care product came, plus I washed & fed my car. Try a new recipe once a week: Not yet. 0/5 weeks. 50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: Not tonight kids. 0/50 pages. Be more mindful, present in my body & express gratitude to avoid the hedonic treadmill: My body is tired & a wee bit stressed. Work is busy, home life is blergh, everything is stressful. But I am up right, tracking & striving for my goals. Enough about me, how was your day 1? [link] [comments] |
| I reached my first goal! 20 lbs lost since June! Posted: 01 Sep 2020 12:18 PM PDT It's been a long journey and It hasn't been easy! I'm 5ft 3 my highest weight was 285lbs. I am now down to 265lbs! It's not the first time I've tried to lose weight, back in 2017 I developed an atypical eating disorder. I was so obsessed with my food being healthy, no oil, no fats, and I had cut my portions down so small.. That I lost an extreme amount of weight unhealthily. So much so I was admitted to the hospital due to heart problems. I've given my self a few years to heal. And unfortunately my old habits returned and I was back up to my starting weight. Thanks for coming to my Ted talk 🤣 [link] [comments] |
| how long do you have to have kept the weight off to say "you've lost weight" Posted: 01 Sep 2020 09:09 PM PDT A tiny bit of context for my question: I, like i'm sure many other people, put on some weight (around 4kg, going from 56kg to 60kg from March to June; for reference i'm 156cm F) during lockdown but since going back to my home country and living normal life again/actively trying to control my CICO, i'm down about 5kg, going from 58.8kg to ~53kg in two months. I was wondering for other people how long they need to have maintained their (mini)milestones to be able to be comfortable saying they've actually hit it, so that it's not just a part of the normal weight fluctuations due to water etc? for me personally I want to say about a week of hovering around my milestone, while still eating comfortably/sustainably. Thanks in advance for any input! [link] [comments] |
| Daily Q&A Post for Wednesday, 02 September 2020 - No question too small! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 03:01 AM PDT Got a question? We've got answers! Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? that's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small. TIPS:
[link] [comments] |
| Looking for advice on joining a sport when you’re overweight! Posted: 01 Sep 2020 09:11 PM PDT Hey y'all! I'm (20 F) overweight. Okay no, I'm technically obese I guess. I weight 240-250lbs, it fluctuates between that ten! I've come to realize that I'm a little competitive. I didn't play sports as a kid, so as an adult, this all feels really overwhelming. I hate going to the gym. I start strong, but end up falling off because -for me- it's just so bland. I want community and competition. I wouldn't mind joining a rec sports team, but I am lArGe, my friends. I worry. So, I am wondering if any of you have done the impossible. Have you joined a local sport? What was it? Were you welcomed as a fat person? What were some outcomes (positive and negative) from joining? Tips? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 02 Sep 2020 01:52 AM PDT BACKGROUND Male / 25 yrs Started - 155lbs Current - 134 Diet Primarily plant-based (with lots of beans for protein!), and occasional fish/seafood (2-4 times/month). No meat otherwise, and no dairy (except for the rare ice cream treat; a pint can last months in my freezer). I've been doing 16:8 intermittent fasting now, and am thoroughly loving it (it's not for everyone, so always check with a medical professional before you make any significant changes to your lifestyle). For tracking the diet I use a notebook on the laptop, such as Bear - https://bear.app/ Sleep: 6 hours a day, plus post-work naps as needed. Misc: Never drank, smoked, or used drugs. Don't like coffee. I do enjoy the occasional smoothie, but otherwise primarily drink water. YSK The human brain is 60% water and it only takes a 2% reduction in hydration to induce cognitive impairment. EXERCISE Yoga Initially, I wanted to do the workout at home, but a little later I realized that yoga practice is much more suitable for me. Tried quite a few yoga apps, but later I found a great one complex - Cardio Yoga session from Zenia. This is a high-intensity yoga practice designed to increase a heart rate and help you to get into the perfect shape. During this intensive class, my arms and my upper body get a nice burn, the core is activated, and all the muscles get a really amazing stretch. The duration of the class is about 20 min. Also, I attend regular yoga for flexibility classes. Zenia App (free version, sub based): https://get.zenia.app/0BrF/f2f98069 Meditation I kept to the schedule of meditation for 1 hour per day. I tried meditating before this for around 20/30 mins but never really felt that much benefit. So I started doing 1 hr. At first, it was very difficult to sit still for that long. But after the first week, I started to truly realize that all of my problems were in my own head. I was perceiving things poorly, from past images that I'd clung onto. I used the Headspace app (free version, sub based): https://www.headspace.com/ Also running and jumping rope, but it's on my mood. TOOLS The smartwatch helps me track my daily steps and connects to the Wahoo HRM when I do activities where I don't want to risk damaging my phone (swimming, mud races, etc..) Jump rope is probably the best tool in my arsenal. It's cheap and highly effective in burning calories efficiently. The food scale is a must. I needed to know how much I was consuming so I could target how many calories I could eat on a weekly basis. WORKOUTS Ok, so I've learned A LOT over the last 3 months. The BIGGEST TAKEAWAY is this… long periods of high-intensity cardio is NOT the best for «cutting». I learned that short HIIT sessions are MUCH more efficient and effective. Here are my three-month transformation my routines: Daily workouts consist of 35 minutes of low-intensity cardio. This included warming-up and Cardio Yoga session: cat-cow pose, downward-facing dog, sun salutation, chair pose, half-bridge, twist. I tryna keep my heart rate around 115-135 BPM. For me, that was approx 65-75% of my MAX HR. In this range, approx 25% of the calories I use/burn in my workout comes from fat which was my main target, not muscle growth. Progress tracking apps are very helpful to stay motivated, but I prefer in-app tracking features. That's pretty much it. As of now, my goal is to hit 130 lbs @ 10% body fat then start a clean bulk program to build muscle mass with strength training. I have approx 2 weeks to go. Hope this helps and if anyone has more questions feel free to ask. [link] [comments] |
| Rant: I keep sabotaging myself. Posted: 01 Sep 2020 07:21 PM PDT I'm sure you've all read plenty of posts that sound just like me by now on this sub, but I'm so frustrated with myself. I'm a 26 F and just cannot seem to get myself to adhere to making lifestyle changes over the long term. I've been obese essentially my whole life, even when I was swimming competitively 5 days per week while growing up. I've had body image and self esteem issues for as long as I can remember. I've recently reached a new low and just feel myself slipping into a state of complete lack of caring, and I honestly just don't know what to do anymore. When I was in high school I severely restricted my diet and increased my physical activity level and managed to drop from the 210s to the 180s over the course of 6 months, but I managed to put the weight back on within the following year. I've fluctuated between the 210s and 230s since then. In May this year, weighing 228 lbs, I enlisted the help of an online registered dietitian to help guide me to making better eating habits, hoping that the accountability and financial investment would make me more likely to stick with the program, but about 10 weeks into the program I fell off the wagon and haven't been able to regain progress since. I managed to drop about 4 pounds by reducing portion sizes, reducing carbs and increasing the amount of fresh produce in my diet, but I found myself eventually making excuses and reverting back to my old ways. At the beginning of August I decided to spend the money I was spending on my RD appointments on weekly personal training sessions instead; however, since I'm only consistently getting a good workout about 2 times per week, I haven't noticed a significant difference other than my DOMS the day or two after my sessions. I recognize that I have an unhealthy relationship with food. I've found myself binge eating very frequently over the past month or so, eating until I'm uncomfortably full for no apparent reason. I feel myself spiraling out of control and I don't know how to break the cycle. I don't have the money or time to invest in professional counseling at this point. I'm getting to the point where my clothes aren't fitting, and I honestly hate myself for it. I'm currently 233 lbs, which is 1 meager pound away from my highest weight ever. I really, truly want to be better. I'm hoping to start CICO with 16:8 IF and being more committed to getting to the gym etc. I acknowledge that I'm the one who got myself into this situation and I'm the only one who can dig myself out. I'm just so frustrated that I've even gotten to this point, and I'm scared of what happens if/when I inevitably fall off the wagon again, or if I keep failing to make progress on my weight loss, and I think those fears are causing some part of me to hesitate about implementing new changes. I guess I don't know what I want out of making this post. Any guidance or words of advice are welcome. At this point I just feel like I'm at a complete loss. I feel ready to get started again, but my fear of failure and repeating my cycle of self-sabotage seems to be holding me back. [link] [comments] |
| SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Wednesday, 02 September 2020: Today, I conquered! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 01:09 AM PDT The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)
Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness! Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit! On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Sep 2020 10:42 PM PDT Its been since the beginning of this year that I have been on a journey to lose 30 pounds. I'm 32 years old and let me tell you about the changes In my hormones, digestive and where the fat chooses to congregate on my body! I've only ever gotten down to 189 this year and the it shoots right back up. I also have a TON of intolerances with food so I flare of and get inflamed super easily which I sometimes contribute to the scale. I'ma tall 5'11 female.I hold my weight well but there's a few rolls id like to see disappear. Its been so frustrating figuring out what works for me seeing how It comes with all my digestive issues. BUT today I said EFFF it and re measured myself and lost inches everywhere, shut the front door!! Checked the scale and im sitting at 195.8 still lol [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment