• Breaking News

    Saturday, June 26, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-26

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-26


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-26

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Progress after 1 year and 8 months. Last 9 months of bodyweight training. 114 kg -> 81 kg, 30yo male

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 01:35 AM PDT

    https://i.imgur.com/n1vTc7I.jpg

    Hi everyone! Since this sub has been really helpful on my journey and has always answered my random questions, I wanted to share my progress.

    In September 2019, I started to think that it is time to focus more on healthy things, since I've been quite overweight for the most of my adult life. I started with small diet changes, drinking less alcohol and eating more veggies, and started to excercise a bit more (I've had already done some semi-consistent walking/jogging and sprinting). I started to go to the gym twice a week and the first 10 kilograms from 114 to 104 melted pretty fast, maybe 3-4 months. Then COVID hit and the gyms closed.

    After that I just focused on cardio and eating. Summer 2020 progress was a bit slower and I was able to get to 96kg in about 6 months. All this time I did small, easy improvements on my diet that didn't feel tough. For an example, I just suddenly decided to leave cheese out of my ryebread toppings, because I calculated that it should actually have quite a big impact on total caloreis. Then last august I finally decided to take on bodyweight training.

    I started out with the really basic stuff, like band assisted pull ups, push ups, squats and rows. I did this outside on some of the local streetworkout spots. Maybe two times a week on average. Then I bought myself a pullup bar and some rings and started to do it at home. During this time from August to December I got from 96kg to 85kg.

    Around December I started to really look advice from this sub and took on the RR, 3 times a week. On the off days I usually went jogging or walking. I think my results have improved quite well after that. From August 2020 to this day my pull ups have gone from ~3 to around 13 reps. Now I usually do weighted pullups with a 10kg vest, around 7 reps.

    Same kind of progress on other excercises too, only squats have not improved that much. I already had quite strong legs before my whole weightloss journey and I've been finding it hard to improve them much with BW training. I'm doing weighted one leg shrimp squats. I think my cardio results have improved even more because of the weightloss and prior cardio workouts. I wasn't able to do long constant runs/jogging before, but now I'm able to hit 5km in under 25 minutes!

    My original plan was to be in the shape of my life on my 30th birthday, and I achieved that and more! My weight was around 81 kg on my birthday in May, and I've never felt better physically. This summer I'm not concentrating that much on results. I've had quite long workdays lately and don't really feel like doing really heavy training. I just want to do some fun workouts and cardio outside in the sun and try to go through all my muscles. In fall I will get back to more serious training.

    I wanted to thank all of you guys for always answering my questions in the daily questions thread! They've been really helpful! Hope you all have a great summer!

    submitted by /u/Irma91
    [link] [comments]

    Workout app feedback survey

    Posted: 26 Jun 2021 01:15 AM PDT

    Hey, We are currently developing an app to track and share workouts. We think you might be interested in checking it out. If possible can you please read the description and fill out this survey about the app. The survey will only take a few minutes, and in return you can be added to the private beta list. Thanks heaps

    Here is the link https://forms.gle/hkXCq7NHdFYDJgUP9

    submitted by /u/RepstarTeam
    [link] [comments]

    Lifting once a week to supplement running?

    Posted: 26 Jun 2021 12:12 AM PDT

    Hi all, I'm currently looking to start some weight training (body weight mainly, but I do have 2 adjustable dumbbells). I am 29M in decent shape.

    I currently run 3-4 times a week (5km, MWFSun one week and TueThSat the next), but I am wanting to reduce it to just 3 times a week to Tuesday Thursday and Saturday and have a weight training day on Sunday. I'm mainly looking to work on my upper body as I think I get enough leg workouts during my runs. I am mainly looking to get a good muscle tone and to help my running speed (training for a half marathon).

    I guess my main question is: would doing a weight training regimen only once a week be worth it and is it feasible to get my upper body stronger with only a once per week routine?

    submitted by /u/Nihilist_Ned
    [link] [comments]

    Will putting a pillow under my tailbone during ab exercises contradict ab muscle development/growth?

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 08:12 PM PDT

    Hi, my main end goal of my body transformation is to have visible abs. So I've been lowering body % and doing resistance training. One main thing I've noticed is that eventually I'll need to work them in some type of way to get the look I'm going for.

    So the one main thing that has been holding me back is the discomfort I get from laying on my back on the floor. My tailbone just feels so unbearable. I'm not sure if I'm just weird. The other day for fun, I grabbed my pillow and put it under my tailbone and I automatically felt better and was able to do the exercises much easier.

    Now my question; does the pillow take anything away from the exercises? Cause I mentioned it made it way easier but I'm not sure if that was cause I was comfortable.

    Thanks in advance!

    submitted by /u/Whatchuon
    [link] [comments]

    How do I incorporate grip training into RR?

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 09:38 AM PDT

    Hey!

    I'm just starting with RR and the hardest thing for me occurred to be pull-ups. Surprisingly (for me) I can do one pull-up, but I'm struggling with scapular pull-ups - can do only three in a row so far.

    After reading some threads and listening to the body it became clear that the grip is the culprit: just hanging on the bar is kind of very uncomfortable to me and I can stand only about 4 seconds of a dead hang.

    The uncomfortable/stretching/burning sensation is everywhere along the hands with wrists/palms/fingers being the most noticeable part.

    What is the best way for me to proceed? Stop trying scapular pull-ups and just do dead hangs? Ignore all the above and try to do regular pull-ups starting from one set of one?.. Add grip training to scapular pull-ups somehow?

    I'm ok with slow but low-traumatic incremental path.

    Thanks!

    submitted by /u/Zestyclose-Painter-3
    [link] [comments]

    Am I doing something wrong?

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 03:57 PM PDT

    I have been working out for almost three years now. I started off with casual gym sessions and eventually learned about calisthenics. I would practice the basics occasionally but not a lot. After about 1.5 years I decided to finally focus on calisthenics. From my training at the start I could do a few muscle ups, tuck planche, weighted pull ups but still struggle with weighted dips. After about a year of training, my weighted pull ups got better and started to get the straddle FL. For the most part, I was still stuck on TP, handstand, and dips. I was training PPL twice a week, training pretty hard and eating decent. I figure my progressions haven't been great because my arms don't lock out (can make pushing exercises harder) and I believe I've had costochondritis (visiting a doctor soon). What could I be doing wrong? Weight: 150 pounds, height: 5 foot 10 inches.

    submitted by /u/DerkeDerk6262
    [link] [comments]

    A hybrid fitness timer for the home, feedback pretty please .....??

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 09:30 AM PDT

    Hi

    Looking for an honest no BS opinion, I've been getting some sketches and a 3D of a new fitness timer I want to bring to market.

    Why?

    - Sick of using my smartphone and laptop for various apps to countdown my interval training

    - The dedicated timers out there now are crap for various reasons, i.e. no bluetooth, volume settings, old school timer face, doesnt look cool enough for me : )

    - Tried the whole link up to TV and alexa etc but the kids drive me mental and its not built for a proper interval workout

    I want to bring something to market which is simple, can use it in my home for working out, can use it in my gym/garage or take it off the wall and take to another room in the house if I need too without loads of plugs etc, can also stream a fitness class as I am a member of a small gym studio and they are offering workouts from home if I cant get to the gym (obviously want my membership money so need to cater for the fact I wont be there every day of the week).

    What will it be as a prototype ( A lot of the features like the ones above but with):

    - 10" x 4" LCD screen

    - Integrated Bluetooth to mobile app

    - Modern Graphics

    - In built speaker to sync music

    - In built live trainer mode (drill sergeant type as I need a push from time to time!)

    - Can be attached to a wall, magnetic and looks up at you from the floor can swivel upwards.

    Please can you let me know if you think:

    - Its a good idea and something you would buy if the price and features were right?

    - The sketches attached look a bit more modern than these type of timers - https://garagegympower.com/best-workout-timers/

    - If there are any other features it should have?

    I believe there is a market here as the home fitness market is going to stay high post Covid - https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/home-gym-equipment-market-size-to-reach-revenues-of-around-usd-31-billion-by-2025--arizton-301161796.html

    Plus have seen some portable timers with less to them get over a million in kickstarter funding!

    Be honest you won't hurt my feelings! These are just early sketches and ideas, I have experience in tech and selling online so looking for market feedback.

    Thanks so much !

    submitted by /u/bhollera
    [link] [comments]

    Safety of tension-style pull-up bars

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 04:53 PM PDT

    Most of the topics I've seen on pull-up bars that can be installed in one's home seemed to tackle that pull up bar which have a sort of brace that rests over the door frame, but I am mainly interested in the ones that are 'straight bars' (with no need of drilling).

    How safe are these, how can I ensure and double check that I set them up correctly?Is it wise to readjust the height every so often for different exercises?Do they leave marks on the door frame and if so, what can I use to either remove those 'stains' or not make them pop up in the first place (i.e. what can I put between the bar and the frame)?Finally, am I making the space beneath myself safer if I put a cushion or three on the floor underneath the bar itself?

    I'm thinking of ordering one; I weight 75kg and the fitness store that I'd be getting it from claims that it can withstand 100kg of weight and I am very sure that my door frame can handle it, it seems very sturdy, but I primarily don't want to get it dirty because I'm living as a subtenant.Thanks in advance!

    submitted by /u/ScottyExplosion
    [link] [comments]

    How to progress after Archer push ups?

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 10:35 AM PDT

    Hello everybody, as I've written in the title, I'm asking what Is ( or was ) your progression after having mastered the archer push up.

    I want to make clear that my goal is, in primis, hypertrophy, in secundis strength and then the skills themselves, and this are my 2 push routines:

    1) - Weighted push ups 3x8-12 ( now + 13.5 Kg ) - Weighted wide push ups 3x8-12 (+13.5 Kg ) - Dips 4x8-12 ( I'm now starting to add weight) - Weighted diamond push ups 3x8-12 ( now + 8.5 kg ) - Elevated Pike push ups 3x8-12

    2) - Archer push ups 3x8-12 every side ( now on the 12th rep) - Assisted one arm push ups x3 ( now 7 reps per side ) - Dips 4x8-12 ( same as 1st routine ) - Elevated push ups 3x8-12 - Elevated pike push ups 3x8-12

    Regarding the 2) workout and the Archer push ups, I reached the 12 reps for both sides, and I'm not sure about how should I progress. Should I ditch them and concentrate on the One arm push ups? Should I start to add some weight ( even if the weight will be less stable due to the lateral movement)?

    Thank you in advance

    submitted by /u/Fakkalleh
    [link] [comments]

    Some questions about progression

    Posted: 25 Jun 2021 11:54 AM PDT

    So I've been exercising using basically the recommended routine for about a year now. I pretty much hit the point where progressing each exercise doesn't go nearly as fast as in the beginning which I think is probably normal at this point.

    What I've been wondering is how exactly I'm actually supposed to progress and if your experiences are similar to mine.

    So what I do is this:

    • 3 sets with n reps each -> n / n / n -> f.e. 6/6/6
    • once I've successfully completed the sets my next workout will consist of (n+1) / n / n reps -> f.e. 7/6/6
      • almost always I complete this step without issues on my first try
    • the next step is adding one rep to the second set -> (n+1) / (n+1) / n -> f.e. 7/7/6
      • now this is where my issues lie, in most cases I won't be able to do this for a few weeksit'll usually oscillate around (n+1) / (n+1) / (70% of n) ( 7/7/4 <-> 7/7/5) until I finally get it
    • last step is increasing to (n+1) / (n+1) / (n+1) and then I'm at step 1 again
      • this usually takes not as long as the previous step, often like 2-4 training sessions
      • (once I reach 12 reps each set I make the exercise harder and go down to 5 reps again)

    Sometimes I hear the phrase add one rep each workout and don't really get how this is possible. Do you experience the same difficulty going from (n+1) / n / n to (n+1) / (n+1) / n ?

    submitted by /u/roooonie
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-25

    Posted: 24 Jun 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Need explanation about workout plan by Tao Physique

    Posted: 24 Jun 2021 01:08 PM PDT

    Hi,

    I need an explanation about a workout plan by Tao Physique:

    His fullbody workout has two different "days". At 10:16 he explains how the plan should be done, but I don't get on which days which workout should be done. At 10:52 he says you should do "Fullbody A" on day 1, "Fullbody B" on day 2 and rest on day 3? Can this be right? Shouldn't be there a rest day between every workout day?

    If you look into detail, only the horizontal pull and core should be done on both days. Because of that it's not that bad to rest only on day 3? But also the vertical push but in different movements should be done on both days.

    Fullbody A
    2:17 Horizontal Push [Push-ups]
    4:24 Vertical Push (Flexion) [Pike Press // Handstand Push-up]
    3:12 Horizontal Pull [Horizontal Pull-ups]
    7:15 Squats
    9:33 Core [Abs]

    Fullbody B
    5:20 Vertical Push (Extension) [Dips]
    5:59 Vertical Pull [Pull-ups]
    3:12 Horizontal Pull [Horizontal Pull-ups]
    7:57 Hip hinge [Hip thrusts]
    9:33 Core [Abs]

    So for example:
    Monday: A
    Tuesday: B
    Wednesday: Rest
    Thursday: A
    Friday: B
    ...
    Can this be right?

    I hope you can help me, thank you for your advice.

    submitted by /u/Straight-Mechanic-71
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment