• Breaking News

    Tuesday, July 28, 2020

    Weight loss: Screw the scale! This is what 19 inches lost looks like

    Weight loss: Screw the scale! This is what 19 inches lost looks like


    Screw the scale! This is what 19 inches lost looks like

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 06:32 PM PDT

    Long story short, I have relied on the scale for too long. I started to take my fitness seriously in the middle of April. I took all the pictures and all the measurements and set goals and did everything right. Some cardio, some weight lifting, lots of food tracking.

    Seeing only 20lbs down after months (15 weeks to be exact) of working my ass off and tracking my food, I was discouraged af.

    But inches don't lie! Obviously I have a ways to go still, but moral of the story is screw the scale. Don't depend on one number to represent progress 💪

    http://imgur.com/gallery/gNloYEX

    submitted by /u/tosheez
    [link] [comments]

    Our dog got killed , so I’m eating off plan and I don’t feel guilty

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 05:41 AM PDT

    Yesterday our dog got attacked by another dog in the park :( she died instantly but we brought her to the vet , went home and cried . It was so horrible to see, our dog was so tiny and on her leash and the other dog was free and the owner didn't even try to help.We ordered pizza and drank wine and ate chocolate while looking at pictures of the dog from when my cousin first got her as a puppy eight years ago until now and laughing at all the mischievous stuff our dog got up to . I didn't log any of the food though I tried to eat mindfully and I won't log again today and I'm trying not to feel guilty about it but I think it would be healthier for me to just not log for two days and then log everything from tomorrow again :(

    submitted by /u/eternallyeating
    [link] [comments]

    Thanks /r/Loseit! 1 year later i've hit my goal! (Pics Inside)

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:37 AM PDT

    100lbs lost | 24M 6'3" | SW: 340lbs | CW: 240lbs | GW: 240lbs (now 220lbs)

    last week I hit my first goal of losing 100lbs! it's been a long journey, but this sub and others convinced me to finally make the change I needed to take control of my life. This has been a Lifestyle change, not a fad or a phase, and i will not be going back to how things were before. Through CICO and exercise, i've managed to drop exactly 100lbs in 1 year, and I feel amazing.

    i originally decided to start losing because i was sick of not being able to buy fashionable clothes in stores. then i realized just how much i didn't like what i saw, and how much pain i was in. i was just under a year out of an abusive relationship, and it quickly became about taking my life back and once i felt how much better being healthy felt i never looked back.

    since starting, i can now run a 5k in 27:25. I biked 40 miles the other day without clip-in pedals or proper compression shorts. i'm confident i can go further with proper gear. i can lift my bodyweight and did my first ever pull-up at age 25. I feel AMAZING and I have so much energy. I tend to spend 1-3 hours exercising where before taking the stairs had me sore and winded.

    I wore the same belt since day 1 as a constant reminder of how far i've come. now that goal 1 is accomplished, it might be time for a new one finally!

    my next goal is less about the number, but i'd like to end around 220lbs

    Before and After, and what my now comically oversized belt looks like.

    submitted by /u/Jerrshington
    [link] [comments]

    Last year, I told myself I'd weigh 52 lbs less if I lost 1 lb a week.

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:10 AM PDT

    So sometime around this time last year, I realized that if I lost 1 lb a week for an entire year, I'd lose 52 lbs.

    The "Too Long; Didn't Read" summary is that I did not meet my goal of losing 52 lbs in one year.

    No one really knows what the trigger will be to jumpstart motivation. I'd already started earlier last year with the goal to be able to run 1 mile uninterrupted, and I kinda thought weight loss would be a natural side effect. But by this time last year, I still wasn't able to run 1 mile and my weight hadn't changed at all. But the 1 yr=52 lbs thought somehow clicked with me, and I decided to focus on losing weight.

    Somewhere along the way I learned that it's actually a bit of a myth that exercise alone will get you to lose weight. Exercise can help you lose weight, but 95% of losing weight is how many calories you can burn versus the number of calories you bring in. (Some would say that's actually 100% of the equation.) And Americans as a whole tend to overestimate how much exercise burns and underestimate how much they bring in through eating.

    So I decided to watch what I eat and document it. There are several apps you can get on your phone for this, but I ended up using one called Loseit. If I wanted to lose 52 lbs in a year, I needed to eat less than 1700 calories a day to start with. That number would shrink as I shrunk, but that was the start. On a day where I just ate whatever I wanted, I easily ate 2200 calories. On particularly bad days, it'd be close to 3000 calories.

    I quickly learned that losing weight for everyone is custom to everyone. I met people who absolutely could not cut out sugar, but they could limit themselves to a single piece of chocolate rather than the whole bar and feel satisfied. That was not me. I met people who absolutely had to have flavored drinks, but would drink zero calorie packets in water and feel satisfied. That was also not me.

    I had two particular culprits that caused me to overeat: 1) I loved and craved sugar. 2) I preferred to eat until I felt satiated and full.

    It took weeks, if not months, to kick the sugar addiction. Any time I tried to cut cold turkey, suddenly I had to have ALL THE SUGAR! I spent weeks slowly cutting back the sugar in my coffee and finding substitutes that somewhat satisfied the sugar addiction. I found dark chocolate peanut butter cups that I didn't eat by the bag full. I found chocolate popsicles that kinda filled the ice cream void. Nothing was a 100% perfect replacement, but the less sugar I'd manage to eat in the day, I found myself craving it less.

    Like any addiction, even when I was eating the healthiest, I never could get the thought of how comforting an entire box of cookies would feel to eat.

    Eating until full has always been an issue for me. I've often gone out to dinner and crammed my face full of tortilla chips and salsa and then try to eat as much of my dinner as I could. I'd do this until my stomach felt uncomfortably full, then I'd get pretty grouchy because I'd actually eaten past the point of being full. It became apparent there was a delay from when my stomach filled with food to when my brain received the message that the stomach was full. I tended to keep eating until my brain received the message, which was usually too late.

    It also took weeks, but I had to train myself to eat a reasonable portion and then stop even though I felt completely unsatisfied. I had to keep telling myself that I'd feel that satisfaction if I just gave myself 30 minutes, but those were long, nearly unbearable minutes. I had to find distractions that were better at keeping my mind occupied than the thought of eating. The more I managed to do this, the easier it became to simply wait.

    Even though I trained myself to wait, the thought of how great it would feel if I could just eat to fullness would continue to pop up every time I was hungry.

    While I said exercise is not the main factor in losing weight, it did help by putting my body through a routine. At my best, I was having a light lunch, an afternoon snack, and then could actually wait to cook a small dinner after exercising in the late afternoon.

    I made it from 233 lbs on August 15 to 187 lbs on March 10. Not only was I going to lose 52 lbs in a year, it looked like I might even lose more than 52 lbs.

    Of course, then the pandemic hit and I stopped caring. Suddenly the box of cookies and that satiated feeling were a lot more tempting. So as of today, I weigh 192 lbs. I suppose I should be glad I only gained 5 lbs in the four months since I stopped caring.

    Anyway, it's 6 months until my birthday. If I lose 1 lb a week, I'll be 166 lbs on my birthday. I'm actually aiming for 170, so we'll see in 6 months.

    submitted by /u/pacifien
    [link] [comments]

    24F | 5'0" | SW: 209lbs | CW: 197 | GW: 120lbs

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:51 AM PDT

    Long time lurker, first time poster

    I've started calorie counting 88 days ago, and I've lost 12 pounds so far. I struggle to see differences in the photos, and sometimes it's a little discouraging. However, everyone on this subreddit continues to motivate me with their posts about their own struggles. Every time I feel discouraged, I just scroll through and read about your awesome progress, and it continues to help me push through the slump.

    My goal is to get to 120lbs, which is how much I weighed before having kids. Thankfully, logging the calories has gotten easier and almost like a habit -- and I don't beat myself up if I go over my calories. I try to stay below maintenance, and even if I go over, which is rare... tomorrow is a new day.

    I hope to be able to create an update post if when I reach my goal!

    Thank you to everyone on this sub.

    submitted by /u/moms_ghetti
    [link] [comments]

    Ironically, quarantine is the best thing that has happened to me health-wise. Ever.

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 06:28 PM PDT

    In march, when the epidemy started to gain traction in my homecountry, I (19F) was about 75kg (165lbs) and 166cm (5'4'') tall; not that overweight but still extremely unfit and overall unhappy with my body, health and state of mind. But, as of today, I've officially lost 11kg / 25lbs!

    But most importantly, I feel like I rediscovered my sense of willpower and self love. Treating yourself is caring for yourself, but it takes real love to get up and do something that'll help you in the long run. And that's the hardest exercise of them all. If you're like me and you're using this terrible thing that's happening and being the silver lining, I applaud you. No matter where in your health journey you are, I'm extremely proud of you. And if you're someone who's chosen to focus on something else, I'm proud of you too for making that choice. Different people have different priorities and you should never be shamed for it. Let's all take it easy.

    Yeah, I still struggle, in every sense of the word. My mental health is an ongoing issue, but I've made crazy progress in the last few months. I still have big meals and dessert, but they're much more special now that they don't happen pretty much everyday. Exercise became a hobby and even if it's not always what I'm most excited about, I feel it in my bones the good it does to me. And I've proven to myself that I'm able to make a change.

    I still wanna lose an extra 20 pounds and keep growing stronger, physically and most importantly: mentally too. Clean eating with two cheat meals a week on the weekends, cardio 5 times a week and on and off (body weight) weight training is going a long way for me.

    Just thinking off the top of my mind. Take care, good luck, and stay safe!

    submitted by /u/1tabsplease
    [link] [comments]

    I went through my cupboards and threw out the crap!

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:03 PM PDT

    I've tried and failed multiple times in the past year to lose weight. I'd do very well for a couple months: I ate healthily, worked out 5 times a week, and saw the numbers on the scale drop... to somehow get off track and gain it all back in a matter of weeks. It only took one day of a long shift to get McDonald's drive thru for dinner to throw me off my diet and say f*ck it. I figured if I already gave in now, how am I going to be strong enough to fight it again? Well I'm fed up. I've worked too hard for too long to just give up on myself again. Although it's taking me a long time to figure out a new routine, I've started exercising again and realized food was holding me back this time around. If it was here, I'd eat it. No matter how much I knew I didn't want that stupid candy bar, if a friend picked it up for me to be nice I still ate it. No more. I went through my kitchen and threw it all away! No more fast food or junk food, or at least until I can actually prove to myself I can have it in moderation and not quit my whole diet. I've got this 💪

    submitted by /u/fukuimashark
    [link] [comments]

    Lots of small victories in the last 2 months I want to share with someone.

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:01 PM PDT

    Two months ago My grandmother died which resulted in a 2 week shit show of repressed emotions and whatnot. It ended with me realising and just breaking down and crying at what I had become physically. That day (I think 15th June) has been a turning point.

    My parents and my sister consoled me and told me not to lose hope and that it will get better. From the next day my loseit journey started. Till now I have lost almost 10 kgs (significant water weight included). Here are some of my small victories:

    1. Biggest of all. My whole family seems to have shifted to a overall healthier lifestyle. Better food is cooked. Less food is cooked. We enjoy the amazing food even more and have started enjoying the "everyday boring food" much more.
    2. I started going on long walks every morning with my sister and playing badminton for half an hour. Doing this everyday has helped me have a better relationship with her. We were mean siblings and now we are sort of friendly siblings.
    3. I have recovered a lot of my stamina that I had lost. I didn't feel winded carrying a 20 kg sack of flour up two flights of stairs. Before I would get out of breath after simply walking up without any extra weight.
    4. I have lost a few inches everywhere leading to looser and more comfortable clothing.
    5. My favourite: I stopped getting inner thigh chafing. Inner thigh chafing sucks!
    6. I have overall better health, mental and physical. We walk without any earphones so it's either talking or silence, which seems to have improved both my and my sister's mood.
    7. We got new shiny badminton rackets and shuttle cocks. We got an expensive plastic shuttle cock and it simply won't break. It's getting tiring lol.
    8. I have improved my food habits immensely. I don't feel like I am starving at all and I am still eating all the foods I love, just less frequently and smaller portion sizes.
    9. I have started regaining my confidence and don't feel like a total slob.
    10. I don't feel constantly tired.

    PS: I probably missed some stuff but it's a fairly good list of amazing stuff that's happening to me.

    submitted by /u/mittalrohit0598
    [link] [comments]

    I finally realized I know NOTHING

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 08:31 PM PDT

    And maybe this should be obvious. But my [26] dad [56] is finally going to the doctor and I'm finally realizing. He had no understanding of what is healthy. He eats one meal a day, smokes cigarettes, and drinks coke. My mom went on crash diets, constantly gained and dropped weight, and was a hypochondriac. Both were runners in hs but other than that, they did no exercise except for my dad angrily walking many miles depending on how angry he is.

    I have NO basis for what healthy looks like. I don't even have a place to start. Exercise was labeled as punishment due to anger. And food was either so restricted I could only eat what my mother ate (and that was mostly pasta). Or why my dad cooked - which was burnt steaks.

    I finally realized I have NO IDEA what I'm doing. And I can stop feeling confused about that because I had no role models. I realized I have to build the picture of what heathy is completely on my own. And that's terrifying- it feels like an insurmountable task considering I have only steadily gained weight my whole life (not sharing the numbers because I don't feel comfortable doing so). The last time I was "thin" was 5 years old. I don't even remember what that feels like.

    All to say, it took too long but I finally have my revelation. I have to do this from scratch. And I hate this. But at least I know I know nothing and actively reject anything I'm currently holding onto.

    Thank you for reading. I just needed to share with someone.

    submitted by /u/same_old_anxiety
    [link] [comments]

    How I lost 25 pounds! Here’s my meal plan, recipes, and workout routine. Losing weight is a slow cooker, not a microwave

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:56 AM PDT

    Progress Pic

    A year ago I gained 25 pounds in a short amount of time. I'm normally active and eat semi-healthy, but I had started a new sedentary job and slid into a lazy diet. I had my wakeup call when I couldn't fit into my jeans, and decided to do something about it.

    I joined r/cico and r/loseit, downloaded MyFitnessPal, and created a workout plan. I set the MFP goal to "lose 1 lb a week." It told me my TDEE was 2,400, so I ate 1,900 calories a day. I started out at 200 lbs, 5'10". My goal weight was 175.

    Scale Data:
    I weighed myself once a week.
    Mar 4: 200 (start)
    Mar 11: 198 (-2)
    Mar 18: 196 (-2)
    Mar 25: 194 (-2) -- March total (-6lbs)
    Apr 1: 193 (-1)
    Apr 8: 192 (-1)
    Apr 15: 190 (-2)
    Apr 22: 189 (-1)
    Apr 29: 187 (-2) -- April total (-7lbs)
    May 6: 186 (-1)
    May 13: 185 (-1)
    May 20: 183 (-2)
    May 27: 181 (-2) -- May total (-6lbs)
    Jun 3: 180 (-1)
    Jun 10: 178 (-2)
    Jun 17: 177 (-1)
    Jun 24: 175 (-2) -- June total (-6lbs)
    July: maintained!

    I drink over a gallon of water every day which helped minimize fluctuations, and is also a great way to reduce cravings.

    MEAL PLAN:
    I think meal-prep is the most underrated and underutilized skill to eat healthy! You won't have to summon daily motivation to cook and eat healthy - it's right there waiting for you, just heat it up. I make big meals on the weekends then eat it the rest of the week. I literally don't know how I would lose weight if I didn't do this.
    These are each 100-500 calories per serving. Some go well together, like Tabbouleh and Kafta combine to 500 calories. Mix and match however you want. Many of these I double or triple what the recipe says to get more servings out of it. I've included links for each recipe.

    Lebanese:
    Fattoush (350 calories)
    Tabbouleh (100 calories)
    Kafta (400 calories)
    Hummus (100 calories)
    Grape Leaves (350 calories)
    Baba Ganoush (150 calories)
    Fatayer (280 calories)
    Mujadara (200 calories)
    Kousa (450 calories)
    Shawarma (300 calories)
    Kibbeh Nayeh (250 calories)
    Halloumi Fries (130 calories)
    Tahini Cookies (140 calories)

    Southern/Caribbean:
    Collard Greens (225 calories)
    Corn Bread (275 calories)
    Shrimp & Grits (500 calories)
    Elvis Pancakes (500 calories)
    Slaw Dogs (500 calories)
    Jerk Chicken (300 calories)
    Jamaican Rice & Peas (200 calories)
    Ackee & Saltfish (300 calories)

    Snacks were Quest bars, pistachios, and nice cream. These foods were all my comfort foods, but also had plenty of leafy greens and lean protein. Find what works for you!

    WORKOUT PLAN
    Day 1: Yoga 30-day playlist
    Day 2: Resistance Bands Routine
    Day 3: Pilates 30-day playlist
    Day 4: Sprints HIIT

    The yoga and Pilates days are active recovery. They made me sweat a bit, but they are zero impact and I didn't feel worn out. The resistance bands allow me to workout at home, during lunch break, or at a park. Sprinting HIIT is much higher intensity, and at the track. I try to exercise every other day, so going through this 4-day routine takes about a week.

    Last Thoughts
    Grateful: I live in Austin Texas where the weather is nice year-round. There's fitness parks and trails everywhere. Being home a lot gave me extra time to focus on meal prep. My wife supported me in this journey and would run with me.
    NSV's: I had a secondary goal of getting faster in the 400m dash, to compete in USATF Masters division. I started at 1:15, by the end I was going 1:03.
    Maintenance: getting in shape sucks... but being in shape is awesome! Thanks to new muscle mass and not needing to be at a deficit anymore, I was able to increase my daily calories from 1,900 to 2,600. Workouts are much easier after doing them for months, and I take more days off. This is 100% sustainable for me.
    Biggest success: I started with small daily goals and kept small daily goals all the way through. This means I never starved myself, and never exercised too hard if I was tired.
    Bonus pic of both dogs

    TL;DR Downloaded MyFitnessPal, meal-prepped food I like, was honest counting calories, exercised, lost 25 pounds.

    submitted by /u/LukesGreenMilky
    [link] [comments]

    25F | 5’4” | SW:358 | CW:252 | GW:120ish? | Six months in and I am starting to recognize myself!

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 08:15 AM PDT

    Yesterday marked six months since I decided to start taking myself and my health seriously, here are some of the insights that I have from losing ~106lbs.

    •Some days it's just going to suck. You're going to feel hungry, or sore, or cranky. But it's not worse than the pain of your body aching under your weight, or the embarrassment of people waiting for you to catch your breath, or the missed opportunities for life experiences. You can choose your pain, and nobody can make that choice for you.

    •Intermittent fasting can be a game changer. I have PCOS and it makes it really difficult to lose weight sometimes. I'd always feel so bloated and disgusting having small portions spaced out throughout the day. Now I feel like my body has time to digest and I feel a lot trimmer even with the same calories. (May not apply to everyone.)

    •Working out is great, but if you're trying to burn off bad habits then you're doing it for the wrong reasons. Working out is to get in shape, diet to lose weight. Focus on goals like lifting more weight per month, or going one more mile, to get non-scale victories that you'll need to keep yourself motivated when the scale pauses.

    •You won't always notice the weight loss. For me, it seems like the numbers aren't budging for a week at a time, but I'll look back a month and be down 15lbs. Perspective is good, don't be too impatient or hard on yourself.

    That's is for some of my advice, but here's more about myself if it helps anyone. I was slowly killing myself with food. I didn't care about living or dying, had no life or friends, and was generally trapped in my depressed, morbidly obese body. I wasn't always like this, I was a varsity cross country runner in high school, so it goes to show how important getting your mind right is.

    At the end of January I decided that I had enough of not recognizing myself and that if I was miserable already, I might as well be miserable and losing the weight, too. But I found out that I'm not miserable losing weight, I'm so much happier. I've dropped from a size 26 to 16, I can run around the yard with my dog, I deadlifted 270lbs and kayaked a 12 mile route this month! I'm still morbidly obese, but I know I won't be for much longer, and I couldn't say that six months ago.

    But the catalyst for this post, other than being six months in, is that finally when I look in the mirror see the girl I knew before the weight. Sure, she's bigger, but she is the same girl who will sing and dance and have fun. Six months ago I was too depressed to listen to music at all. I am so glad I made this change - maybe I'll be back for my one year anniversary!

    submitted by /u/stoopkidfarfromstoop
    [link] [comments]

    The bigger picture

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 04:59 AM PDT

    I often read "I'm down on cals, exercise, and still don't lose weight." Let's have a conversation of the bigger picture here.

    Health: losing weight helps prevent heart disease, liver diseases such as fatty liver, and feel better overall! Let's say instead of aiming for a number on the scale, your goal can be to feel better throughout your day, breathe easier when you walk up the stairs, or cut down your time in your mile.

    Consistency: you will have to learn the easy way or the hard way, this is a lifestyle that you must be persistent with or you will fail. It will take longer than you think to get to where you want to be, the image might not be exactly what you imagined (abs, cuts, veins) and you must maintain it after getting there.

    Vanity: let's face it, we all want to look good. But unless you're getting paid millions to play a role as a sexy figure for a movie or a photo with a nutritionist and trainer included (and maybe a PED), you might not get your dream body or zac efron in baywatch. Respect and love your body for who they are, not what society or anything else deems beautiful, hot, sexy, attractive, etc.

    Goals: ultimately, these are going to be your biggest motivators, so set them up accordingly. Your ultimate goal might be to drop to a certain body fat. What's a good way to get there? Set different goals in different aspects of the overall game. Some examples: this month, I want to eat no more than 50k calories. I also want to run my mile 10 seconds faster. I also want to bench 10 more lbs. I also want to learn how to cook with more vegetables. I also want to walk at least 8k steps. Next month I will aim higher, but for now, these small steps add to the bigger picture.

    Motivation: this is a hard one. I weighed 245 my heaviest, xxl shirts 39 inch waist (always said at least it's not 40 haha). When my friend said "are you seriously struggling to tie your laces," it hit me like a train, I was gasping to bend over and tie my shoe laces. It never bothered me being overweight, I was a husky boy, so it was normal to me, but this was a wake up call. Soon after I joined the gym and loved it, this was 6 years ago and can say it was the best decision. 6 years understanding trying to learn everything, diets, exercise (and proper form), advantages and disadvantages. You think it I've researched it. Best diets to lose weight, best exercises to lose weight, why is x culture leaner, which plant extract burns fat, calories in xyz (I've memorized calories in menus from so many restaurants lol). The best piece of advice I can give you on this is find what works for YOU. Yes, kale is a super food but I prefer spinach. Yes, HIIT burns more calories but I prefer to walk than sprint 4 miles. Yes, lower calories will help me lose weight faster but I hate feeling hungry. You have all the time in the world, there's no rush. Just learn and grow as you go, you'll get there. Good luck!

    submitted by /u/Discipline1996
    [link] [comments]

    [NSV] Scale loss revealed a hidden psychological victory

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 05:56 PM PDT

    I have a victory that came from a set back. It's long, but hit me profoundly.

    I have let COVID be an excuse. It started with gym closure. My work lets me have an hour 3x a week at our on site gym, but I lost that when it closed die to COVID. I could still walk or something, but since my time slot is first thing in the morning I would have no shower access, so I would be a stinky mess all day.

    No big deal, I started rucking at home before work.

    But I got lazy about it, wasnt putting the effort in, etc. And then came the heat. We live in the desert southwest and at 6AM it is easily 85.

    So I slowly stopped my morning exercise.

    I was still watching what I ate, and my weight crept up a little. Then I didn't track my food for a day. Then two. Then three. I quit weighing in as I gained weight.

    Last night I looked in the mirror and realized I was looking fat again. I decided enough was enough. I downloaded the audio book from the library that really got me focused originally, resolved Monday was exercise time and logging my food. I would also do what I had been avoiding for nearly a month- weigh in.

    So today I weighed in. I was 220, up 14 pounds from my best thus far. Part of me is really sad as I wasonly 7lbs from my goal.

    Weridly enough, though, my biggest take away wasn't that I had gained 14 pounds. See I am still 30 to 25 lbs below my 245 to 250 that had been my normal 18 months ago. I have normalized in my mind my lower weight, and saw myself as fat at 220 lbs! 220 was a weight that had been BELOW my initial goal for my 1 year mark. It was the weight I lied abput on my DL for years. Now its noticable to me as being over weight!

    Yes, I have a lot to claw back from, but I am mentally thinking of myself as thinner. I see myself at 21 lbs over my healthy weight as fat, not "I'm doing pretty good". 18 months ago being merely overweight was a short term goal, and yet today I look at it with annoyance and not feeling myself. Its a challenge to improve, not a thing to just accept.

    I haven't been 220 since 2005 prior to this journey, and I'm super stoked that my mindset about my weight and appearance is so different.

    submitted by /u/lelfin
    [link] [comments]

    Good intro fitness program for a woman in her 20s?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:54 PM PDT

    Hey all. Several months ago I posted on r/loseit and got some really good advice for my cousin who's not really on reddit but to whom I extolled the virtues of the wisdom to be had on here, and she was really really interested.

    She learned some good techniques (like CICO) for weight loss, but she really wants to step up her fitness game now, and as I only really know the male/bodybuilding side of things, am not able to help much.

    She's looking to slim down in the thigh/leg/glute area. She's doing really well on diet (~1700 calories a day, eating really good, whole foods, etc.) but the female exercise regimens on YouTube seem to be contradictory (Do cardio! Don't do cardio!!) or oftentimes too simple. She tried signing up for an online fitness program through a pretty reputable podcast but had no clue what to do- I took one look at the thing, full of Arnold presses and trap shrugs and grids of routines per day and could not blame her in the least.

    What would be tremendously helpful would be *some* reliable, approachable, well-explained and laid out program for her, something for women with her goals in mind that's intelligently and clearly structured.

    Now, I hate to throw a wrench into things, but she's really limited in equipment right now due to Covid, so at most it should only require resistance bands, some dumbbells, etc., you know, stuff in the ~$50 price (and ~50 cubic inch!) range. Also jumping/plyo activities would be an issue as she lives on the third floor of her building and can often only workout nights.

    Anyway, thanks so much in advance. Reddit has been pretty damn helpful in the past, figured you guys might come through for us again now!

    submitted by /u/BigBrother700
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 27

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 05:08 PM PDT

    Hello losers,

    Monday funday y'all. Blergh. We made it though! Taking that win.

    Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning. 201.5 lbs trend weight.

    Stay within calorie range (1700 ish): Better today. Back on the wagon. It's been a rough weekend for calories but it's way easier when the routine is back in place.

    Exercise 5 days a week: 150 tbar swings at 50 pounds, arm strength stuff & some light yoga. 21/27 days.

    Self-care time (JOURNALING, working on love journals, beauty treatments, drawing 0/23 days): I need a shower & some skin care routine woot woot.

    Try a new recipe once a week: An imitation crab salad with homemade sauce, a crock pot Italian wedding soup, Russian dressing & a chicken lemon orzo soup. I want to make a cole slaw only with a veg & dressing setup I prefer. 4/5 weeks.

    50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: An attempt was made. 1/50 pages.

    No fast food or candy from the work dish: Streak day 3. 4 candy related lapse in judgement.

    Listen to my effing body: Body tired today. Inertia was a bit of a struggle I will admit.

    Be more mindful & express gratitude, avoid the hedonic treadmill: Today I'm grateful for bacon, grand theft pony & a few other silly things that make the days feel full of fun.

    Also, I think I'm grateful that after being on this journey for 2.5 years I've perhaps learned to not judge my own food choices. Americans assign moral value to food choices sometimes & while I would never do that to a friend or acquaintance, I spent the first part of my journey aggressively judging my own choices. I think I'm done with that. I say that because I keep waiting to hear my internal recriminations at some of the choices I've made during intentional maintenance & It hasn't been coming. I'll take that. Remember to be kind to yourself along the way folks. Goes a long way.

    Your turn.

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    Weight loss slowing down and weight fluctuations?

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 12:18 AM PDT

    Hi! 22F, 5'2, currently at 138lbs. I've lost about 10 lbs since the beginning of June which I know isn't a lot and it's quite slow compared to the other people on this sub. It's because I've been focusing more on my relationship with food rather than a quick weight loss. I used to lose weight pretty quickly but I would probably only eat 500 calories in a day and binge the next month, aka yoyo dieting, now I wanna avoid that.

    The thing is, my weight loss has been slowing down. I was losing around 1.5 lbs per week, but recently my weight has been fluctuating from 138-140 lbs. I'm quite desperate to get down to 135 lbs at this point (for a normal BMI) and just do my 500 calorie diet :( It's just weird for me that I recorded my lowest weight at 137.5 lbs a few days ago, and then two days later I was back at 139 lbs. I don't know if it was a fluke in the weighing scale because I have been counting my calories consistently, measuring three times consecutively to make sure I get the correct measurements. How do I know what my true weight really is? And why does it seem like my weight loss is slowing down (I can't seem to move on from the 138-140 lb range).

    For reference, I eat 1,200 calories a day but eat 1,300 on days when I exercise (1-2 times a week). My TDEE is around 1,600 calories. I would really appreciate some help or just encouraging statements because I can't stop thinking about just restricting myself back to 500 calories/day until I achieve my goal weight :(

    submitted by /u/corposlave
    [link] [comments]

    Booze Free August, anyone?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 03:06 PM PDT

    Booze Free August

    Hi all. I'm now 4 weeks into my Noom journey and am down 15lbs. When I started 4 weeks ago (SW340lbs) I couldn't manage 1000 steps a day. Now I'm up to 5000. It's a huge achievement for me!

    The food I've been eating has been great and I don't go hungry. However alcohol just ruins my nutrition! I don't often drink more than once a week but that once is enough to wreck me!

    In order to really focus on weight loss I've decided I will drink no alcohol for the month of August. Even just a couple of drinks sees my progress stall and has me feeling easily fatigued from poor sleep. So let's see what happens! You're welcome to join me for accountability if it's something you want to try too!

    submitted by /u/Weird123456789weird
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: July 28th, 2020

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:11 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    How to deal with demotivation from the scale?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 05:56 PM PDT

    Hi all! I'm new here and I've decided to restart my weight loss journey after not taking it seriously these past few months. I'm doing CICO with a 1000 calorie deficit and walking about 10000 steps a day (I track calories and steps through my fitbit). I've been very diligent about logging everything I eat (no matter how small) for about a week now but i still haven't seen a difference on the scale.

    For me its really demotivating to not be able to see my progress even though I know I've been doing everything right. I know I haven't seen progress because I'm a week out from my period (woo water weight!) but its still very demotivating to not see any results. Does anyone have any advice on how to stay motivated even when you don't see the number on the scale go down? Thanks!

    submitted by /u/disneyfan12675
    [link] [comments]

    Question about my body when losing weight.

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 02:06 AM PDT

    Hey everyone. So I turned 17 19 days ago and I'm a male who's 5ft8.

    I finally started my weight loss journey on the 16th of June as I wasn't happy with how I looked and I wanted to look the best version of myself, especially for my mental health.

    From June 16th-5th of July I was doing a minimum of 10,000 steps a day as well as 3 meals per day.

    After this I was still probably having 3 meals a day until around the 13th of July where my sleep schedule was ruined (and still is ruined lol, although I had breakfast today as it was weigh-in day) therefore I was missing breakfast so now I eat two meals a day.

    From the first 3 weeks I was doing 10,000 steps as well as 3 meals a day which in the end gave me a loss of 7.496lbs.

    The next 3 weeks I have not been doing 10,000 steps, which at first was an experiment to see how much I'd lose but now I'm just going to do walks whenever I want to instead of doing it everyday, for now anyways.

    Anyways during the past 3 weeks I haven't been doing 10,000 steps and the past 2 weeks I have usually been having 2 meals instead of 3 a day.

    In the end I lost 7.073lbs.

    At the beginning of this journey I was 163.142lbs and I have now gone down to 148.592lbs in the space of 6 weeks.

    Now I'm very happy with the progress, as in mentally I feel I'm in a better place now and I'm not thinking to myself that I've wasted this whole amount of time I've had to do nothing, since I'm doing something now.

    However looks wise I still have belly fat and my face is still quite chubby, I'm not slim at all basically, which is fine since I'm still losing weight but how much weight do I have to lose so I can lose the belly fat?

    I've lost 14.569lbs and I suppose I've lost weight somewhere but I just don't see where I have, and I understand that you look at yourself in the mirror everyday so you won't always see it, but I really really want to lose my chubbiness in the face as well as my belly fat, and my thigh fat.

    So if anyone can tell me please: I'm a male, 17, 5ft8, went from 163.142lbs-148.592lbs which was a loss of 14.569lbs.

    How much more do I need to lose, to lose my belly fat, thigh fat and chubbiness in the face?

    Thank you to whoever has read this far.

    submitted by /u/0161ugetme
    [link] [comments]

    Sleep problems are interfering with my weightloss: advice needed

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 01:58 AM PDT

    Hello guys,

    So, I've been trying to get back into my weightloss, after a month hiatus.

    My 30yo brother came back to live with us (I'm 23yo and moving out is off the table right now, I don't earn enough), as he lost his job and had no savings.

    During quarentine, I was working from home everyday, and would wake up at 8:30am. My father sometimes annoyed me with the TV volumen, since he'd watch movies till 6 am. But, since I had more leeway to sleep, and it was colder, I could just shut the door and sleep mostly fine.

    Now things have changed and I have to rotate every week, and work home some days, and others go to the office. I have a 1.5h commute, and need to wake up at 6:30 am, so I have to be asleep by 10:30pm. This makes it really hard for me to adapt, because every week my office days change, and they alternate.

    Aside from this, my brother is being a total asshole. I've already talked to him, but he doesn't give a fuck, nor do my parents. He stays up listening to loud music or watching TV till 2 am, in his room, beside me. My mother and father, too, stay in the living room till late at night. The dog barks so my brother plays with him, my parents scream at me or come talk to me in my room while I'm trying to sleep, or even switch my light on??

    I'm going insane from not resting well.

    I cannot close my door, or windows, because we live in such hot place, heat doesn't let you sleep, even if windows are open.

    I have been taking "surprise naps", the very few days I've stayed home, and this doesn't help. I constantly have migranes lately, and most days it's too hot to even walk outside at 8pm.

    I used to be someone who would go on 3h walks, or go swim for an hour. But lately, I just have no energy to push myself to walk. And, I'm 4'9 with hypothyroidism, my TDEE is not much. I do need to exercise to keep losing weight in the long run.

    I have bought some earbuds to block noise a few days ago, but I'm scared to use them and miss an alarm to work.

    This situation makes me very tense, and I can't relax and sleep. What can I do to improve my sleep?

    submitted by /u/HealingF
    [link] [comments]

    Advice on toning while still trying to lose body fat

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 12:51 PM PDT

    A little background info. I (31F) am 5'6.5", SW 258, CW 190 even, and GW 150-60ish. I'm not worried about the numbers on a scale I just want to be, feel, and look healthy while maintianing a realistic lifestyle change.

    In 2018 I was diagnosed with type II diabetes that is connected to another medical issues I have (PCOS). Since then I've been watching what I eat off and on with little to no exercise and since have lost 68lbs. Starting diet was eating 1500 calories with 130-140g of carbs a day and this has kept my blood sugar levels at normal/non-diabetic since 3 months after diagnosis. I have changed jobs and go to school full time and both are very sedentary, and I am lucky enough to have not gotten loose skin but I have definitely lost muscle mass.

    Can I tone/regain muscle and still drop the body fat?Can this be done? What should my macros look like? Any information, input, and advice is much appreciated!

    submitted by /u/bunnybunns12
    [link] [comments]

    I'm overweight again.

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 09:10 AM PDT

    I hit three of my goals at the same time!!

    The three goals that had been haunting me for about the last year was being under 200 pounds, I think i was a teenager the last time I was. Getting under 30 points on BMI so that I was no longer obese but now overweight and last but not least was breaking 14 stone.

    The number 14 has been the starting point for my weight in stones for over six months as I plateaued and also had a mini start over (THANK YOU LOCKDOWN/s)

    But today I weighed myself and the scale read 13.13. As I marked my weight in mfp and did the calculations in my head for what that would be in pounds, I also decided to check my BMI and my excitement tripled.

    13.13, 195, 29.5

    I finally feel like I've hit a turning point. I'm doing weight loss in a way that works for me and while I've still got more to go on my path, exactly 30 pounds til I'm in my healthy range. I don't want to turn back, I want to keep going. If every goes perfectly, I should be finishing up by the end of the year but I'm just hoping to at least lose another stone so that I start 2021 with an easier goal.

    Also I didn't do anything super special I just did CICO with about 1500 cals, I did my steps at 10,000 then in the past weeks I've now upped it to 12,000. I also did strict IF of 20:4 which I definitely felt helped the first stone but I don't do it strictly anymore. I usually eat a light lunch about 2 and eat maybe one or 2 snacks in between depending on what I've got planned for dinner. Then when it's dinner, I usually finish with something sweet so could be an orange, choco soy yogurt or sometimes im not hungry.

    I was someone that always needed to eat something sweet after a meal so giving into a healthy sweetness definitely helps.

    Most nights I finish off with a nice bowl of homemade popcorn which depending on my schedule can be between 8-10. So I'm technically still fasting but with slowly loosing the time, i feel like I'm now more in control of my food choices

    I can already feel the difference to my appetite in the sense I don't want to over eat anymore, the food that I used to love eating in exuberant amounts no longer has the same effects. Ex. I loved these ramen packs, I'd eat 2 at a time which was basically half my calories gone in one meal. I hadn't let myself eat them in a while cause I wouldn't say they're a trigger but when I'd eat them I'd just wanna have a junk food day.

    I decided to have 1 packet for dinner about a week ago and they made me feel icky and I just didn't enjoy them. Oh wells.

    Thanks for reading and hope everyone keeps going on their bad ass journey.

    submitted by /u/Retrievetheqte
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment