• Breaking News

    Tuesday, July 28, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-07-28

    Bodyweight Fitness: Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-07-28


    Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-07-28

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Training Tuesday! Post the full details of your routine and the progress you've made over the past week. Include as much detail as possible.

    All the past Training Tuesdays

    If you are posting an update from last week's thread (please do!), please link your old post.

    Copy the comment's address by right clicking the "Permalink" under your comment and clicking "Copy Link Address/Location" or similar, depending on your browser.

    Then include this in your post:

    [Last week's post](http://link.goes/here) 

    Include these sorts of details:

    (Gender, Age, Height, Weight [kg/lbs please])

    Goal: Vague or specific (get bigger? Or master a planche by December?)

    Routine: Include what progress you've made this week. Extra reps? Longer hold? New progression?

    Diet/Mood/Energy/Anything else relevant to your training:

    Questions: Request any feedback you'd like on your routine.

    Highlight the improvements you have made in your routine, since last week and include any videos or photos that are relevant.

    All top comments must be routine posts.

    Join our live chatroom on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    So it turns out pull ups/chin ups are considerably harder on thick bars

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 05:30 AM PDT

    Lately I've been doing sets of 5 pull ups/chin ups exclusively on fat bars with 1 min. rests inbetween sets and so far I've built up to 8 consecutive sets of 5 (started from 3 sets of 5), after which my reps quickly drop down to 2 (pull ups) and 3 (chin ups). The goal is to do a total of 50 pull ups/chin ups as quickly as possible (my best time so far is 18 minutes or so). Again, the entire workout is done on a fat bar.

    Today, towards the end of my workout, when I was already fatigued and was down to 2 pull ups per set, I decided to do a set of pull ups on a standard bar for a change. To my surprise I was able to do 4 max pull ups. I rested 1 min., went to the fat bar and was still able to do only 2 pull ups. Then I rested 1 more min., went to the standard one and did 4 pull ups again.

    I knew that a thicker bar would challenge my grip strength, but I wasn't aware it would negatively impact my pull up/chin up numbers. The way I see it, when performing pull ups/chin ups on a fat bar, more "power" is being diverted to the gripping muscles in your forearm, and as a result, your back and elbow flexors (biceps, brachialis & brachioradialis) aren't working to their full extent. Would that still induce growth in your back and elbow flexors, seeing that you're recruiting less motor units than usual to pull yourself up?

    My body generally feels much lighter when using a standard bar as opposed to a thick one.

    submitted by /u/Ungeheuer00
    [link] [comments]

    Lockdown progress 63-54kg

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 10:02 AM PDT

    Stats

    M/20yo/5ft 4

    Just before the lockdown started I I jured my glutes stopping me from going to the gym. I was pretty low mentally since I had to stop training for a bit completely. Then every gym on the planet closed down and I figured it was the perfect time to get into bodyweight fitness again and focus on some non powerlifting goals. So I decided to go on a cut.

    Pics

    http://imgur.com/a/EfxHRn8

    Handstand

    http://imgur.com/a/gFVJ3H6

    V sit (sorry no video. I can hold this position for about 12 seconds)

    http://imgur.com/a/xP6Dz4C

    Training

    Background: a little but of bodyweight fitness here and there over the last 4 years. About 2 years of on and off training in the gym and then 9 mo this of consistent powerlifting work.

    Started with the rr and bought a pull up bar. Then I bought a set of rings and did the 4 day U/L variant of this https://www.reddit.com/r/mistyfront/comments/eey3es/calisthenics_intermediate_hypertrophy_program/

    Went from 8 BW pull ups and 14 BW Dips, to 10 reps of 15kg added pull ups and 16 reps of 15 kg added Dips. Also made a lot of progress on the rings. Managed to hold a 30 second handstand a few times but not been very consistent with my times. Also started working towards a full v sit since I had a basic l sit down.

    Also started c25k (along with the rest of the world) and then did hal higdon novice 10k program. Last week I got a 10k time of 1h 7 minutes.

    Diet

    Started watching a lot of Dr Greg so ate a lot of popcorn, French toast and spinach. Started at 1800 calories and moved down to 1500 a day by the end of the cut. The first 5 kg dropped real easy and it was only the last 4 kg that I felt like I had to really work for.

    Final Thoughts

    So glad I switched focus into progressing with BW fitness instead of just trying to maintain what I had. Kept me driven and sane during lockdown.

    submitted by /u/CrotaSmash
    [link] [comments]

    Thoughts on Dominik Sky’s Ring Grip Push-up Variation

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 03:07 AM PDT

    Context:

    So I recently came across a variation of something called the ring grip pushup (which is basically just a pushup-variation where you balance on a pair of gymnastic rings on the Ground - much more difficult than it looks like, I found out).

    I saw variation of this exercise performed by a guy called Dominik Sky on youtube, where he performs the ring grip pushup, let go of the gymnastic rings while they balance on the ground, clap his hands, and then catches the rings before they Fall over. Hard to explain, but it looked insanely cool so I had to try it, and it took me 8 days of practice before I eventually got it - you can see what I'm talking about here: https://youtu.be/nBsc0iDr3mE

    Question/discussion

    I was pretty satifisied with the final one I was able to get (you can see it towards the end of the video), since I thought it had pretty clean form (when comparing to the one Dominik Sky was able to do, in his video). I did however notice, that we both use 1) a wide lege stance, and 2) end up shooting our hips up a bit high and slight backwards (I learned by watching his form, but it also just happened sort of intuitively).

    My question is, what are you thoughts on this pushup variation, it's difficulty level, potential benefits, and finally, what are Your thoughts on the possibilities/technical cues of learning something likes this with super strict form?

    Note: If you have a pair of gymnastic rings, I would definitely suggest giving the regular ring grip push up a quick try (while being careful not to faceplant) just to get a better idea of how akward it feels! xD

    Thanks!

    submitted by /u/SamMartinez93
    [link] [comments]

    V sit issue, thoughts?

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 10:42 AM PDT

    Hey guys.

    I wanted to share some thought with you on the v sit and have your opinion.

    So, traditionally in any v sit tutorial that you can find on here or on internet you'd find three main areas to work on :

    1) Passive flexibility (hamstring, calves, piriformis with very few mention of the glute region)

    2) active flexibility (compression strength)

    3) extension strength conditionning (retraction, triceps, bringing hips forward)

    And while all of these are necessary I have found that there might be a very important element thats missing here.

    A bit of background for me: I can hold 40-45s floor l sit with arm externally rotated.

    I am pretty advanced in hamstring / calves flexibility (forward fold standing head under knee, (fore)head to toe 5cm away)

    I can hold an exhausting "v sit" for 8-12 seconds depending whether I feel good on the day.

    By exhausting I mean, my legs are roughly 45 degrees or a little higher maybe. My thighs are not closed to my chest and thus the energy expenditure is big lol.

    I get the same angle when I bend at the knee so as to take posterior chain flexibility out of the equation.

    So I decided to go back and train my tuck v sit. Same problem. Cannot get my thighs close enough to my chest. Almost impossible at the moment.

    It is frustrating. And today I thought about something. My glutes and piriformis are really tight. Can that be the issue?

    Or is the issue mainly coming from a lack of retraction, shoulder extension strength (hips not forward enough?)

    To me, it sounds as if I can get my thighs close to my chest, I wont have to bring my hips as forward as now and thus make the position easier to hold.

    If anyone have recommendations or tips id be glad to hear them !

    submitted by /u/malicieusss
    [link] [comments]

    Ring frequency and beginner excerises ?

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 04:24 AM PDT

    Recently got rings the other day and am very excited to have them in my arsenol. I was considering running a U/L split with hitting my upper body solely on the rings and lower body with weights. Is 2x a week on the rings a good amount of frequency ? And what are some good beginner ring exercises to help me get used to them ?

    submitted by /u/Leonardo1964
    [link] [comments]

    How many sets of pull-ups for hypertrophy?

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:47 AM PDT

    Hey there,

    Currently my pull routine is

    Set 1 => 7 normal pullups
    Set 2 => 7 narrow pullups
    Set 3 => 7 wide pullups

    Set 4 => 7 normal pullups
    Set 5 => 7 narrow pullups
    Set 6 => 7 wide pullups

    Set 7 => 5 tuck l chin ups on rings
    Set 8 => 5 tuck l chin ups on rings
    Set 9 => 5 tuck l chin ups on rings

    Set 10 => 5 rear delt fly on rings
    Set 11 => 5 rear delt fly on rings
    Set 12 => 5 rear delt fly on rings

    I do this twice a week and technique is on point. Do you think I should try out weighted pullups? Or is 6 sets of pullups where I would do more in each one better? Thanks, I have figured out my pushup routine on rings but I am quite lost on how many sets to have for pullups.

    Stay strong and thank you bodyweightfitness gods for your advice! 💪

    submitted by /u/lerryverryberry
    [link] [comments]

    At what point should I start the recommended routine (weight related)

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:39 AM PDT

    Hello!

    I am 6 ft 1, 117kg, and have lost 18kg in the last three months. I am enquiring as to if there is a best time for me to start picking up the recommended routine? I am running 3x a week (for the last 6 weeks) and want to do some weight/resistance/bodyweight exercises. My core is pathetic, upper body strength pathetic, but my legs are fairly strong, probably from hauling my fat ass around for 33 years. My diet is now mostly clean, fully tracked and monitored daily. It has been for the last 6 months. This is not a diet. I'm fixing my behaviours and habits.

    I've started doing incline pressups on a kitchen counter, and bedsheet rows. I can bodyweight squat pretty well as I've been doing them on and off for years. I can't find a pullup bar for my weight (100kg seems the top end) so I am going to try the bedsheet pullups (I imagine I will not be able to do anything but the first part of the progression).

    Looking for advice or similar stories to help guide me.

    submitted by /u/burninginq
    [link] [comments]

    Pull day critique

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:37 AM PDT

    So i follow a ppl split and was hoping to perfect it. Now my pull routine is as follows:

    1. Pull up/chinups (rotate on a weekly basis) ( 4 sets close to/ at failure) (3 min. rest)
    2. Ring rows (4 sets close today/ at failure) (1 min. 30 sec. rest)
    3. Bicep curl/ Pelican curl eccentrics (rotate every workout) (3 sets to failure) (1 min. rest)
    4. Face pulls (3 sets to failure) (1 min. rest)
    5. Shrugs (3 sets to failure) (1 min. rest)

    I perform this routine 2 times a week. My training experience is now a year. Do you guys think this routine is good. If not, what's your advice to change in it? Thanks in advance.

    submitted by /u/omarmustafa029
    [link] [comments]

    Can’t workout chest muscles

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:34 AM PDT

    Title basically says it. I've been working out on and off for a while now, both body weight and with actual weights. Something I always have difficulty with is hitting my chest. Whenever I try to work out my chest I always end up mainly working out my biceps, triceps and shoulders. Those muscle groups tend to tire out before my chest does, i.e. those muscles have reached failure while I barely feel anything in my chest. I've tried pushups (army, wide arm, staggered, decline, incline, etc). I've tried using weights, and even chest dips seem to target my triceps a lot more than my chest. My form also isn't horrible (I sometimes mess up my form in the last few reps when I'm struggling but my form is otherwise ok). Idk if it matters but I'm pretty lanky so maybe that's a reason it's harder for me to target my chest?

    Are there any exercises I can do to target my chest the same way a crunch targets the abs or a pushup targets the tris? I'm kind of all over the place right now (travelling and such) so I can't really lug around dumbbells or bars. Wide arm pushups seem to target my chest the most but it still isn't enough relative to the burn in my arms.

    submitted by /u/MrBoogle_
    [link] [comments]

    Any science backing up the recommend 50% max rep in GTG for increasing pull-ups?

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:17 AM PDT

    From what I understand, proponents of GTG say you should do 50% of your max rep, every hour of the day. For example if you can do 6 pull-ups before failing, then you should do 3 pull-ups every hour.

    I don't understand. Why would 50% (3 pullups) be better than 66% (4 pullups), 83% (5 pullups), or even 100% (6 pullups) ?

    The articles I've read use a lot of bro-science to explain why "training to failure is training to fail".

    Has anyone seen any actual evidence that GTG with 50% max rep results in greater strength gains compared to a GTG with a higher percentage of a max rep?

    submitted by /u/chinawcswing
    [link] [comments]

    Just got my first pair of rings!

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:10 AM PDT

    Hello r/BodyWeightFitness,

    I've been following the RR for years, and it's the best workout I've ever found. With CoVid shutting down all the gyms, I decided to get my first set of rings. What a difference!

    I'm back to doing stable holds and negatives and I'm back to seeing active gains.

    I've only got one question: How do you hang the rings high enough that you can do full neutral hangs? I can't figure out any way to get them that high while still able to recover them afterwards.

    submitted by /u/Ponderputty
    [link] [comments]

    What's the difference between push up bars/grips?

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:03 AM PDT

    Kind of new to this sub, forgive me if it's a dumb question.

    I have a ganglion cyst on one wrist so I basically can't do push ups unless I have a grip. I've been looking on getting one but they also vary between a cheap $12 one and a more official $46 one. Is there any notable difference between different bars like these?

    Or how about something like this that doesn't seem to look like the other parallelettes?

    Thanks in advance.

    submitted by /u/StoicallyGay
    [link] [comments]

    How did you learn your calisthenics moves?

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 11:02 AM PDT

    I want to learn things like muscle up, back leaver etc... but still do push-ups, dips etc for muscle growth.

    How did you manage you routine. Should I give everything to lern one move or pull all in my routine? Can you tell me your experience?

    submitted by /u/Fabskn
    [link] [comments]

    Question on muscle up and push strength

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 07:34 AM PDT

    Hi guys, 29/F here.

    I've been trying to get a muscle up for a while, and though I have pretty good pull strength (max 12-13 reps, can do weighted pull ups 10 kg x 3-4), my push strength (i.e. straight bar dips) is absolute crap. Right now I'm training with some bands and have difficulty clearing the next few levels (i.e. less band assistance) and I'm not sure if it's because my push is too weak...

    Does weak push strength limit one's ability to get over the bar and stay there (e.g. until you can rest on the bar), or is the push limited to the dip portion of the movement?

    Any other tips on how you got your muscle ups are also welcome! Thank you!

    submitted by /u/omnisheep1991
    [link] [comments]

    Body composition in defecit

    Posted: 28 Jul 2020 05:08 AM PDT

    Hi,

    I am currently dieting (-500 kcal from my TDEE) and am also gaining muscle using the recommended routine. So I know from experience you can gain muscle in a defecit.

    My q is it is largely said that 3500 kcal defecit = half a kilo in body fat.

    So if you gain muscle whilst in a 3500kca defecit, would you lose less weight (as body fat lost is compensated by increased muscle mass, so less than .5kg lost) - or does strength training make you lose more body fat so that the body fat lost + muscle gained evens out to roughly 0.5 kilos lost in total?

    Thanks

    submitted by /u/Mbyadsr
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-07-28

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment