• Breaking News

    Saturday, March 28, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: Slip Up Saturday (Chaturday): This is the thread to vent, laugh, and humble yourself with this past week's screw ups in training. You can also tell us all about it on our Discord chat!

    Bodyweight Fitness: Slip Up Saturday (Chaturday): This is the thread to vent, laugh, and humble yourself with this past week's screw ups in training. You can also tell us all about it on our Discord chat!


    Slip Up Saturday (Chaturday): This is the thread to vent, laugh, and humble yourself with this past week's screw ups in training. You can also tell us all about it on our Discord chat!

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 02:22 AM PDT

    Welcome back to the thread where no matter how new or adept you are, we can all take a moment to embrace the shortcomings that come with this journey, finding ways to improve together.

    If you've got a photo or video of yourself face planting from a handstand, doing a muscle-up into a low ceiling, or simply want us to sympathize with your lack of resolve in training consistently, this is the thread for you!

    Be sure you are familiar with the rules, particularly #2: No Medical Advice.


    So how'd you goof this week? Tell us about it! Share your epic fails!

    Click here to view last week's thread

    Click here to view previous Slip Up Saturdays.


    ADDITIONALLY, Saturday is the day we promote our chatroom, which we maintain throughout the week. There, you can find some of our active subscribers lounging around ready to provide real-time answers to your burning questions, or make friends with a common interest in bodyweight fitness! Follow the instructions below to get started:

    Step One: Click on this link to join us on Discord. Register for an account if you don't already have one!

    Step Two: Say hi, bullshit with us, or ask any questions you like and tell us how much you deadlift.

    submitted by /u/Solfire
    [link] [comments]

    A word of advice if you decide to make your own pull up bar.

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 05:12 AM PDT

    The other day I was talking with my dad about the homemade pull up bars I was seeing here on Reddit and, being an engineer, he pointed out to me the difference between static load and dynamic load, because even if something has an high static load rating, the dynamic one could very well be (much) lower.

    What I'm trying to say is that you should always take the dynamic load into account too: even if you put a bit of swing on the bar, if you do a skin the cat etc you are going to produce force on the bar in a different way from a simple dead weight.

    As an example, I recently bought a half-rack with a pull up bar rated only 150kg for the user - while the value may seem low, the rating is for the dynamic load, so it's safe enough for the moment.

    There are people here who will be able to explain the concept much better than me -- but I hope this can help you stay safer!

    submitted by /u/ilmattoh
    [link] [comments]

    I also made my own pull-up bar!

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 06:05 PM PDT

    Imgur album: https://imgur.com/a/zsLdiZ0

    I loved seeing /u/Noble_Thor 's homemade pullup system so I thought I would share mine. I already had a door style pull up bar for my apartment, but I didn't like the stability of it when doing any moves that required movement. This was made with just a galvanized steel pipe, 2 heavy duty shelf racks (rated for 1200lbs as a pair), and a 2x4. This thing is absolutely rock-solid and I'm not scared of doing any sort of move on it.

    submitted by /u/M1NNESNOWTA
    [link] [comments]

    I’m looking to gain a more masculine physique

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 10:37 AM PDT

    Hi my name is Theo, I'm 18, my sex is female, however i'm FTM transgender. I'm 5ft 7 and I weigh 11st 6lbs. My current training experience is quite low, Ive done some work at the gym, however I'm new to a lot of this.

    I'm looking at getting my physique more masculine. With being "biologically female" my body I'd obviously like it to look more like a mans body; straight, abs, etc.

    If you could recommend me any types of workout, any dietary/nutrition advice, that would be great.

    Thanks! Theo

    submitted by /u/enbyboiii
    [link] [comments]

    So we're making pull-up bars, are we?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 10:52 AM PDT

    Imgur Album: https://imgur.com/gallery/ex54MYC

    They closed my gym. Then they closed my parks.

    But they cannot close me...

    I've wanted a home pull-up bar for a while, but my dad has never let me put one up because he says it'll wreck our door frames. Well it was a lot more work, but we finally got one up. It's a 1" x 48" pipe connected to elbow joints and 1" x 12" pipes to flanges all in galvanized steel. The piping is bolted to a 63" 2 x 4 which is attached to our deck via 10 1/4" x 4" lag screws. We essentially followed This Guy's Tutorial.

    For the rings, I took a 24" PVC pipe, duct-taped one end closed, filled it with sand, closed it off with duct tape and put it in a 350 degree oven. After ten minutes, I took it out and wrapped it around a gallon paint can until held its shape. Then I scraped the duct tape off, used Goo B Gone to get all the adhesive off, washed it, dried it, painted it, let it sit for a while, then tied it around the pull-up bar using a Double Fisherman's Knot. Repeat the same process for the second ring, making sure to use some ink/sharpie to mark the correct height of the ring to help make them even.

    Did my first real calisthenic workout yesterday and it kicked my butt!

    submitted by /u/mynameisryannarby
    [link] [comments]

    Protaction in planche training

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 05:06 AM PDT

    EDIT: I meant Protraction, no Protaction Hi guys! I've been doing pseudo planche push ups and L-Sit to tuck planche push ups for a while and got really good at them. However, I've looked at some footage of me performing those excercises and I noticed some scapular winging at the top and I also saw that my shoulders retracted at the bottom of the movement in both excercises. I was wondering, should I keep constant protraction and avoid retraction at all costs in the whole range of motion? And is it okay to see some scapular winging in planche movements? Specifically on the top range of the movement. (I don't have scapular winging on the regular, tho. I ask because I've seen videos of guys that protracted their shoulders in a way that there's 0 scap winging) Thanks! Stay safe. Stats: I'm a 5'6 male, 19 y.o. I weigh 144 pounds. I've been training for 4 years. (First year and a half of weight training, the rest of calisthenics and weights, bust mostly calisthenics.).

    submitted by /u/santirohm
    [link] [comments]

    Cheap and heavy objects to attach to the weight belt?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 12:39 PM PDT

    I don't want to shell out money for kettlebells and plates. Any alternatives in the range of 10 - 40kg that don't rip off your pants?

    submitted by /u/xardez
    [link] [comments]

    Any reviews of Planche Pro by FitnessFAQs?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 12:22 PM PDT

    I know this was posted a while ago, but there weren't too many comments on that thread.

    Now that the program has been out for a while, I was wondering if anyone has tried this program?

    Also, I can barely hold a tuck planche at the moment. Do you all think this program might be too advanced for me?

    Thanks.

    submitted by /u/Low-Confusion
    [link] [comments]

    Stripping it back to basics with bands?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:45 AM PDT

    Ive actually been enjoying this break. I feel like Ive spent so long focusing on adding weight to the bar that I've missed other areas and let my overall fitness take a hit.

    Its been about ten years from when I was a teenager that I really followed any type of bodyweight plan. Now that I only have myself and crossfit bands up to 100lbs of resistance Im a little lost on what to do. I suppose I primarily want to keep some tone up and work on areas that I consider to be lagging. My posterior chain and rear delts/rhomboids definitely fall into this category.

    Would you still keep to a split to do this? Or full body every day or every other day? Having done a workout today it didnt feel /that/ intense - sets of roughly 20 ina circuit going from push ups, diamond push ups, 1 min wall squat holds, 20 squats, 15x band deadlifts, band shoulder press, and band pull aparts.

    Suppose Im looking for ways to add intensity, or get a good balance going.

    submitted by /u/Youvegotmalware
    [link] [comments]

    Beginner/intermediate getting back to routine

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:38 AM PDT

    Hey guys!

    I know this post will probably be all over the place and also that I could maybe avoid posting this and all the info is already there, but I've been digging a lot through the sub for the last 3-4 days and found some valuable info, but it's really hard to find everything that I need and some specific-ish info.

    Really hope there's someone kind enough to help me fix/straighten my routine for now because I've just bought Overcoming Gravity and it will be a gradual and long process to change my programme based on the knowledge contained in the book. ;)

    Little backstory - I've started my bodyweight fitness journey somewhere around March-April 2018 and since then I've worked my way into a respectable shape I guess. Have been dieting reasonably well and working out probably ~3 times a week on average since then, but lacked motivation for the last 6 months or so. Kept up the diet but lacked motivation and worked out very rarely, probably like once/twice a week at most some random, low-intensity-circuit-style shit. Pullups and pushups/dips mostly. Strength is a bit down (although not horrible), weight very similar.

    I'd shut up, do RR and save everybody reading and myself some time but it's not enough volume for me even after this break.

    My routine is based mostly on the knowledge I've aquired lurking this sub for quite a long time and watching CaliMove/Fitness FAQs/Athlean X sometimes.

    What I'm doing right now (I've been adding a rep/set here and there for the last few workouts, although I'm basically in the same place as a ~year ago):

    Warmup

    • shoulders/elbows/wrists for both
    • for pull scapula shrugs/skin the cat/weird stretch I saw on CaliMove lmao, a hell of a stretch for the bicep
    • for push lsit to pike hold (although back to no full lsit, one knee bent), pseudo planche, wall handstand

    Pull

    • Pull-up (3 x 7-8 reps)
    • Chin-up (4 x 6 reps)
    • Negatives (3 x 6-7, will incorporate australian pullups once I get my rings)
    • Bicep Curl (3 x 9-11 reps)

    Push

    • Pseudo Planche Pushups (3 x 7-8 reps, parallettes)
    • Pike Pushups (3 x 7-8 reps, parallettes/floor)
    • Dips (3 x 10-12)
    • Diamond / Tigerbend / Tricep extension with dumbell (2 x 8 - 10)
    • Pushups ( 2 x 8 - 10, floor)

    Legs - incorporated into one of the trainings (plan to divide into a separate leg day soon)

    • one leg squat (knee bent under me)
    • one-leg bridge (dunno the name for this in english, flat on the back, knees bent and raise the butt off the floor, except with one leg, second is straight)
    • weighted squats

    Core - each workout at the end, some variation of leg/knee raise, bicycle, mountain climbers, hollow body hold (tough for now), spiderman, side plank and dead bug FFAQs latest vid. 3 excercises, 2 sets for reps or time.

    Regime Pull/Push/Rest Day (sometimes 2 rest days based on if I feel sore/heavy). Added some mobility on rest days.

    What I plan to incorporate:

    • rings - long overdue. They will allow me to do
      • australian pullups instead of negatives, I really like them to kill myself at the end of pull day
      • some ab 'rollouts'
      • pushups with adduction on top
      • maybe better for dips
      • better for skull-crushers/tigerbend
    • pistol squat once I stretch and strengthen my hip flexors enough
    • sissy squat
    • anti-rotation abs excercise - got to get the band from my other flat (no uni because of this coronavirus shit and forgot them)
    • back lever progression
    • dragon flag on rings somehow
    • some pull progression, maybe tuck front lever hold?
    • infinite knowledge from Overcoming Gravity 2nd Edition ;)
    • Pull/Push/Leg no rest day regime

    I'd be really glad and super happy if you suggested how I could change/model my routine as of now/what I could incorporate with bands/rings. Last year my goal was a clean, unassisted muscle-up and handstand (both failed smh), but I can't really train for this in my flat and a low bar in a doorway and no workout park except for some explosive pullups and strengthening the core, so I guess now the target would be just to build more strength.

    Thanks a lot for any feedback and stay strong and healthy. Cheers.

    submitted by /u/ProjectTreadstone
    [link] [comments]

    How to get toned the right way?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:35 AM PDT

    F, 5'6

    SW 81 kg

    CW 75kg-76k (reached 69 kg 6 months ago but now I am bulking!)

    Hey everyone!!! So I have a question. For the last 2 weeks, I decided to rack up my carb intake to build muscles. I think it is called carb cycling/bulking? I did not count calories and ate according to satiety. I had such a great continous boost of energy and worked out daily (cardio+ strength training).

    Looking at my before and after pictures, I am very happy! Yes I gained a bit of weight, but also gained a good shape with muscle definition. Now I am considering cutting down the carbs and increasing the protein to lean out, with the goal to continue with the same level of exercise intensity. My questions are:

    1)My period starts in 2 days. Should I wait until it is over to start leaning out or it doesnt matter?

    2)Should I carb cycle for longer or it doesn't matter?

    3)How should I approach leaning out without risk of falling off the wagon? Initially I planned on just increasing my protein according to my satiety levels which I know will decrease on it, but should I also put a caloric restriction right from the beginning? Should I go full blown keto? Should I weigh all my foods on a scale? Or can I do these things gradually?

    Thanks.

    submitted by /u/positiveflower
    [link] [comments]

    Which muscles should I feel during shoulder dislocates?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 05:17 AM PDT

    So I've decided to finally do something about my (pretty bad) posture and one exercise I keep coming across are shoulder dislocates. I've tried them with both a resistance band and a stick but I'm unsure if I'm doing them the right way. When I'm doing them my shoulders get really tired very quickly but I don't seem to feel any effect on my lower trap (which seems to be the intended area). Is this because I'm just starting out or is my technique off?

    submitted by /u/DerLuk
    [link] [comments]

    One arm pull up

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 04:29 AM PDT

    I've been training for one year now and I train twice in a week. First day I train in a gym and second day I do calisthenics. My dream is to be able to perform one arm pull up. Recently I started to work on it. I do one arm lat pull down in my gym day and for my calisthenic day I do chin up and trying slowly go down using one hand and weighted pull ups with 16 kg. Once in a while I do chin ups with 32 kg to boost my ego, just 1-2 reps before my hands stops lifting me up. So my question is what would be your advice on achieving one arm pull ups and what I need to change in my program? And will I able to do it if my height is 183 (6 foot) and my weight is 80 kg (175) with 15-17% body fat (barely visible abs)? One of my friend told me it will be very difficult to achieve with my big body and perhaps I will not be able to do it at all.

    submitted by /u/PowerManAI
    [link] [comments]

    Benefit of working yoga into my routine instead of rest days?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 03:36 AM PDT

    So I'm currently doing the RR with some slight modifications (seated rows instead of the incline rows) and working out 3 days a week, a rest day between each workout day, with a 2 day rest every 3 workouts, and every couple months taking like a 3-4 day rest to help with plateaus and avoid injuries.

    Doing this, when I was aggressive about tracking my diet, getting ~2400 Cal (5'11 dude, right around 165/70 +/-) and I saw pretty good results - definite performance gains, but aesthetically, I didn't seem to be improving my fat:muscle ratio as much as I'd like, I wasn't seeing that muscle definition. Now, I didn't do a cut, and maybe that was my problem (I just don't like the idea of cutting, seems like an invitation to injury or lose muscle), but the most ripped I've ever been was when I was doing a nearly-bodyweight routine, but instead of rest days between workout days I did guided yoga - workout S-Tu-Th, and M-W yoga. Originally I was really interested in the stretch aspect, but I ended up with my heart racing and getting in solid leg/lunge workouts. That said, the only tome I've ever injured myself was during this same period doing yoga, and I've wondered if it was because I wasn't eating enough for that level of activity.

    I love the days of rest between workout days in the RR, we build muscle when we aren't working out not when we are, but am I not working out enough to get that athletic-looking build if I'm only going 3 times a week? Also worried that by increasing exercise frequency I wouldn't leave enough time for muscle repair, and I'll reiterate it because it makes so much sense - we build muscle not at the gym but with everything that happens after and before.

    Only other thing I can think of to explain my subpar gains is poor sleep habits - the last time I was really fit, I was also in bed at 10/10:30 virtually every night and up again at 6:30/7, but not I'll sometimes be up late and get up early, go on after only 5 hours of sleep, etc.

    submitted by /u/Khenghis_Ghan
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-28

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment