Weight loss: Why is it ok to tell smokers to quit, or stage interventions for alcoholics...but not dangerously obese people? (I was dangerously obese) |
- Why is it ok to tell smokers to quit, or stage interventions for alcoholics...but not dangerously obese people? (I was dangerously obese)
- The last 13 months - Struggling with weight gain after my partner came out as Trans.
- To lose weight, I needed to be comfortable with being hungry
- There’s hope for the breasts after all!
- For the first time in my adult life I have a healthy BMI.
- The goal jeans fit!!!!
- Since one week I have been feeling up my stomach because first time in my life I have abs that I can feel.
- Before and after photos - worth it?
- Quarantined at home with parents’ unhealthy meals, and mindset.. parents trigger my stress/boredom eating ?
- HEY NEW GUY HERE LOOKING FOR ADVICE AND MORE IMPORTANTLY SUPPORT
- take pictures - even when you start over for the nth time
- Somehow sitting on my ass all day makes me really hungry?
- Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Saturday, 28 March 2020? Start here!
- Daily Q&A Post for Saturday, 28 March 2020 - No question too small!
- There's more to health than a weight on the scale, especially close to your "goal weight"
- Is losing 2 lbs per week safe?
- SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Saturday, 28 March 2020: Today, I conquered!
- Heart Attack survivor here...
- Finished a diet, feeling lost trying to return to normal
- Needing help, accountability, and kind advice
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: March 28th, 2020
- How do you guys get enough protein?
| Posted: 27 Mar 2020 02:21 PM PDT My journey: My first starting weight was 120kg (264lbs). I then dropped down to 79kg (173lbs). I kept it off for a couple years then got lazy and shot up to 150kg (330lbs). After 3 years of ups and downs I now weigh 90kg (198lbs) @ 178cm (5' 10"). I'm 30 years old. If someone smokes cigarettes, people around them will often suggest they quit. Or make jokes about them smoking too much. If someone you know is abusing alcohol or drugs, their family and friends might stage an intervention and help them get into rehab. But it's very rare to tell a friend or family member morbid obesity is killing them. Or ask do they really need to eat that whole pizza? They think they will hurt their feelings. But you know what...knee reconstructions, heart attacks, strokes, diabetes hurt a lot more. I know getting fat is MY RESPONSIBILITY, and only mine. It's MY bad choices. But I also know, that no one ever saying anything helped me live in denial. I made excuses for myself. Why does society not have interventions for morbidly obese people killing themselves with food and inactivity? [link] [comments] |
| The last 13 months - Struggling with weight gain after my partner came out as Trans. Posted: 27 Mar 2020 06:56 AM PDT I am going to start at 14 months ago. I was down to 150, feeling amazing! Still about 15 pounds away from my goal weight but I had lost 30 pounds which felt so good. I was counting my calories limiting it to 1200 a day and exercising (sparingly admittedly). Then comes February 16th, 2019. My Spouse came out to me as being transgender, MTF. We met in high school and have been together for almost a decade, 4 of which we have been married. (3 at the time). And I was shocked to say the least. I felt as if my life was frozen, that anything and everything else in life did not matter and I was spiraling into a deep depression. I called on my old friend, food, to comfort me in these times. I had no energy to cook so I was going out almost every day. When I was eating I felt good, so I kept eating. I was so utterly lost and trying to fuel myself in any way that I could. I tried Yoga a but but i quickly quit. It was hard to face my feelings, my inner thoughts like that. I was trying to escape them not confront them. So continually I led myself back to food. I am not mad about it. Honestly, it worked. I got through it. I worked with my therapist on the parts I couldn't control and when I went home I ate, something I could control and something that made me feel good, if fleeting. This last year has been the hardest year of my life and I hope that it is the hardest year I ever have to face. It was an anomaly. But now, I feel good. Not amazing, but good. We are strong in our Marriage, I love her for who she is and we take it day by day. I am up 30 pounds since 14 months ago and today is finally the day I feel ready to get back to it. I logged my breakfast this morning, I did 15 minutes of a youtube spin class (that shit is hard!) and stretched. A good start. I am ready to shed my 30 pounds again, plus that final 15. I need the support of this subreddit to do it. [link] [comments] |
| To lose weight, I needed to be comfortable with being hungry Posted: 27 Mar 2020 04:14 PM PDT In the past, I kept myself full all the time. I definitely overate. It's probably been years since I really felt hunger for any period of time. For me to start losing weight, I needed to break this cycle. I eat less and more often. Pretty standard. But what I've tuned into is "hunger". I can feel the hunger coming on in between when I eat. At first, this would feel more "heavy" - like I HAD to eat. I would get the surge to stuff my face. I fought this for a few weeks. Sometimes I gave in admittedly, but more often I fought the temptation. After a few weeks of doing this, I started feeling OK with being hungry. In between eating, I could feel that hungry feeling coming in, but didn't rush to eat. Instead it was a reminder I was in the right track. Almost like when your muscles are sore after a good workout. I also learned I could quell my hunger with less. Don't stuff myself, just eat enough to make it go away. Then repeat. Anyway, just wanted to share. I feel like I'm better tuned into my hunger signals now and have more control. [link] [comments] |
| There’s hope for the breasts after all! Posted: 27 Mar 2020 09:45 AM PDT I'm a young woman. 19 years old. My entire childhood, from age 3 and beyond, I was either overweight or obese. When I was a baby, I was small and lithe. I was formula-fed but not chunky; I had to have special formula due to my severe milk protein allergy. As soon as I began eating "real" food, the weight piled on because my mom did not cook very often, and when she did cook, it was fatty and unhealthy. By sixth grade, I was 180 pounds. I was put on a sedative at age 12 to help with my major depression and psychosis. It caused me to devour anything in the house. By age 13, I was 230 pounds. Age 17, I decide I didn't wanna be, frankly, fat and miserable any longer. I started intermittent fasting, calorie counting, and major restriction. Now I'm 19, and though I've not weighed myself in a bit, I'm around the 140-pound area. And I feel great! However, there was a problem: my breasts. I have a ton of loose skin on my body. I like to make fun of it and joke with people, saying it's my "dough." I'm not too insecure about, but my breasts were another issue on their own. Ever get curious and drop a few coins in a sock? Yeah. Like that. Pre-weight loss, I was a C-cup. Very full and busty. They had a few stretch marks but were otherwise fine. As soon as the weight fell off, they just sagged and shrunk. I'm now a small B-cup. At first, I could pinch the loose skin around them and pull it far out. Everyone insisted that I'm young and my skin would revert back to the way it was. I didn't believe them, because they seemed so saggy and wrinkly beyond repair. I was becoming discouraged. They weren't fixing themselves like everyone said. At that point, the women in my family suggested I just "get a boob job" or "just get implants!" Now, I don't like the idea of modifying a body I've worked so hard for. I may have my other loose skin removed later if it doesn't tighten up, but my boobs are a no-go. I explained to them that, I prefer that no one touches my breasts and does anything with them, because I want to breastfeed any babies I adopt/a future wife will have. It's important to me (a goal of one year of more) and I'd like my breasts to be natural in fear that a surgery would screw something up inside and I won't produce milk or not enough to feed a baby. I know you can still breastfeed after having surgery on your breasts, but I just prefer to leave them alone in their natural state. And besides, even if I didn't want to breastfeed/didn't care if I could or not, why all the pressure on someone so young to change her body? If you want to do it, I will say go for it! But it's not for me. I was getting upset because I could never say one thing about my breasts without someone chiming in with "get surgery." But alas! Almost 19 months into this weight loss journey and I just noticed that my breasts are most definitely reverting and tightening up. They do not sag as badly! They seem a little fuller despite being the same size. I think my youth is giving me an advantage! I'm so excited to see how they look when they finally settle down again. I didn't believe that they could "go back to normal." But they have. There's hope! I hope none of you ladies feel discouraged no matter what anyone tells you. They may sag and stay that way. If you accept it and choose not to have surgery, good on you! If you want to have surgery, go for it! Just don't let anyone try and make that decision for you, about ANYTHING! Not even your other loose skin. And for my weight loss bros out there, if you have loose skin, don't let anyone push you into something you're not comfortable with, either. They're not you. You've worked hard for this body. We've ALL worked hard for these bodies. Keep on motivating, and stay safe in quarantine out there. I know those snacks are tempting. Push through! [link] [comments] |
| For the first time in my adult life I have a healthy BMI. Posted: 27 Mar 2020 06:16 PM PDT Today I hit my long time goal I've had for years and for the first time in my adult life I am a healthy BMI. My current weight is 88kgs and my heaviest was 120, but more recently I have lost 25 kgs in the last 6 months. I achieved this through doing the 5:2 diet that my GP recommended me, on my non fasting days I tried to my goal weight maintenance calorie count (2300 on 5 days a week, and 600 on my 2 days). Below I have got 4 main tips that worked for me to help anyone else who is also trying to lose weight. 1.) Only eat one 'bad' thing a day. This one here will make a huge difference as I've noticed even when not calorie counting this one still seems to hold me in good stead. 2.) Only tell those who need to be told. When I was younger I told everyone when I was trying to lose a few kg and it backfired, it puts lots of pressure on yourself. You should let people find out for themselves when you get started (it won't take long!). 3.) Try to find what works for you and don't be afraid to fail. Having spoken to other people who have lost weight, everyone works in different ways. There is no shame in properly trying a method and finding out that it doesn't work for you, as long as you keep trying. 4.) Don't feel scared to ask for help. I couldn't have done this without my doctors suggestions, using online communities such as you guys helped a tonne :). My beautiful girlfriend was so instrumental to helping me as I live with her and she was so understanding. Thanks everyone and I hope I could help even one other person with this status - feel free to comment with any questions. Crappy before / after photos. https://imgur.com/gallery/3S8YKSk [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Mar 2020 03:19 PM PDT After about 5 months of them physically not even being able to close, they fit. Sure; they're snug, but they close. They button. And there's a little room to spare. When I first buttoned them up, my first reaction was complete disbelief. Then I ran through to tell my family. Then I looked in the mirror and was like: "right. That's that. Now let's set another goal to get into that blouse." My point is that we need to all give ourselves more credit. This is a big deal for me. So I'm gonna bask in this for a bit, and then set another goal later. Remember to always praise yourselves. And it's more than possible. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Mar 2020 02:01 PM PDT I (30M) have always been a little overweight, but fairly active in exercise and running. I have run half marathon twice in last two years, generally workout two-three times a week, but still i never had a flat stomach. Partly because I love to bake and have no one to share with, and was ordering delivery 2-3 times a week. I had accepted that fact that this is what it is. I was laid off two months ago so to motivate myself started 16:8 IF with low carb diet. I have lost just 5-6 kgs (from 86 to 80kgs, 167 cms), but the difference is astounding. My chest is more pronounced, biceps have a better shape but most of all, I can actually feel my upper abs. There is no change in legs, but I didn't expect any change there. As gyms have closed so all my weight lifting has turned to running plus kick boxing but frequency of workouts is same. Biggest help has been dark chocolate chips which help me stop cravings. And i add store bought kimchi and feta to every salad, so that even salads are something I look forward to eating. [link] [comments] |
| Before and after photos - worth it? Posted: 27 Mar 2020 11:20 PM PDT I currently weigh 193lbs, down from 217 in October, and I didn't start counting calories until January, when I was 211. Things are going really well, but given that I've hated the way my body looks, I haven't taken any "before" photos. So, now that I've lost a decent amount of weight, I'm really disappointed to not have a before photo to compare things to, because I don't see it at all. Even more than 20lbs down I can't tell the difference, because I see myself every day and the changes are likely be my subtle. My family says they can see the change, so that's good I suppose. I'm curious how you feel about taking before photos. Is it worth it to do so, is if motivational for you? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Mar 2020 10:54 AM PDT I live at home with my Asian parents who are pretty cortisol inducing to say the least.. Normally with work social activities or the gym I'm never home enough to share all meal times with them, allowing me to just make things for myself in a peaceful lonesome way. Is anyone else struggling with now facing their spazzing irritable parents who induce stress? Well with all the new time on your hands and interaction with them spikes boredom and or stress eating? And the worst part is all the junk they buy I'm now constantly looking at. It's all just so triggering... I'm going to have to sit at my room all day to avoid it. Sorry just venting :/ [link] [comments] |
| HEY NEW GUY HERE LOOKING FOR ADVICE AND MORE IMPORTANTLY SUPPORT Posted: 28 Mar 2020 12:42 AM PDT iam 30 M 5'11" SW-326, CW-326, GW-270, full time working professional. So i have never been thin in my life, i have been healthier and have always been physically active, played sports throughout school, continued playing football (soccer) in college, but weight was always there. It was quite later in my life i found out that i suffered from hyperthyroidism and high uric acid. But i still managed to get through it and have continued on weight loss journey. However at this point i'm most unhealthy than i have ever been, but want to change that. I take full responsibility of my eating habits and negligence towards my health. Looking forward to receiving motivation, support , encouragement and healthy advice to get to where i need to be. Hopefully ill find it here. [link] [comments] |
| take pictures - even when you start over for the nth time Posted: 27 Mar 2020 11:05 AM PDT i decided to do what i'm now calling a "silent start over" this year in january. i've often scoffed at january weight loss hopefuls & didnt want to be considered one of them. i didn't tell anyone what i was doing, or my goals. i also forbid myself from any of the "This Time I'm Gonna Lose Weight" urges i normally get: i didn't buy new work out wear, exercise equipments, fancy ""health"" foods like protein drinks or chia seeds. heck, i didn't let myself get a gym membership until 4 weeks in & 10 lbs down, & still none of the stuff i wanted: no gym bag or fit bits or anything. i knew that if i wanted to lose weight then it had to be adjusting my relationship with food first & what food is in my life, bc that's the only thing that creates a lasting weight loss. i didn't do what i've historically done: made a super rigid meal plan & get rid of all of the junk in my house. i knew that it couldn't be about the weight loss itself, it had to be about that connection with food. it worked! i'm down 40 lbs (195-155) and still trucking. i don't regret anything i've mentioned above, but i do regret one thing. take! pictures! i didn't do anything i historically did bc none of it worked so i wanted to try a totally new route. including taking pictures, and i regret not taking pictures so much. i'm hitting my hardest "what's the point" curve today, i'm sure not helped by quarantine & cancelled events piling on, but the worst of it is i just can't really see the difference & i want pepperoni pizza. i have other forms of "evidence" - i bought a size medium dress at target yesterday, and my "comfy shorts" from last year are slipping off my hips. i'm getting lots of compliments from family & friends. but i still look in the mirror and cannot see a difference. i really feel like i look the same. i know if i had pictures to look back on, i'd see the difference. it's annoying to take up space on your phone with bad photos, but i'd say take the "click-baity" intentionally unflattering photos. even if you're starting over for what feels like the 1000th time! you'll wish you had them in a few months. which is why i'm taking some of me midway - and not ordering a pizza - today! i'm sure me in a few months will appreciate it. [link] [comments] |
| Somehow sitting on my ass all day makes me really hungry? Posted: 28 Mar 2020 12:34 AM PDT Hey everyone, I've been having massive cravings and urges to eat in this quarantine. These urges weren't so present when I was working out at my gym and going to classes, but now, everything has changed. My TDEE has to be pathetically low at this point because the only exercise I'm getting is 30 sit ups, push ups, and squats and 30 min of walking 5x a week. On top of that I've been going 500 calories over my target of 1800 a day, which sucks. I roped it in and barely fought off urges today so I'm at 1800, but still, I need a way to curb them. I really want to stick to my timeline to reach 157 from about 190 right now by September. Anyone have any tips? [link] [comments] |
| Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Saturday, 28 March 2020? Start here! Posted: 28 Mar 2020 03:25 AM PDT Today is your Day 1? Welcome to r/Loseit! So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started. Why you're overweightOur bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently. Before You StartThe very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week. TrackingHere is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it. Creating Your DeficitHow do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian. The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it. ExerciseIs NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight. It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel awesome and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes. Crawl, Walk, RunIt can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments. AcceptanceYou will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better. Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better. Additional resourcesNow you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.
[link] [comments] |
| Daily Q&A Post for Saturday, 28 March 2020 - No question too small! Posted: 28 Mar 2020 03:01 AM PDT Got a question? We've got answers! Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? that's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small. TIPS:
[link] [comments] |
| There's more to health than a weight on the scale, especially close to your "goal weight" Posted: 27 Mar 2020 06:13 PM PDT For about the past months, I have just been maintaining around 65kg, or 143lbs which for my height is a healthy weight, but I wasn't happy with it. Not because of aesthetics or anything as I now realize, but because I know from the past, that I always used to maintain around 63-64kgs, which might not be a big difference, but it's a difference. It perplexed me how I am not doing anything differently and don't feel any different, but still have that one kg more on my body. When I recently told a couple friends my weight because we were talking about fitness, they didn't believe me at first because "you don't look like you weigh that much" which only made it sting more. Today, it finally clicked for me when I took a shower after sitting and playing video games for 12 hours straight (no, I don't normally do that, I just found a really enganging new game) and when I looked in the mirror, I noticed that something on my stomach was missing. I've always had a flat stomach because that's not where I carry my weight, but when I sat down for long, I always had two disctinct red lines across my stomach from where the little chub I did have would fold over, but they weren't there. In disblief, I stepped on the scale and still, 65kg, a little more even because I weighed after eating and drinking. After that, I thought about other things and I realized that my even though I naturally have a very round face because of the way my cheek bones are shaped, it looks a lot less puffy and actually more defined, not only today but in recent pictures too. Looking at pictures, I generally look a lot less chubby now than I did when I was lighter. A pair of pants that perfectly fit me has actually been a little loose too, but I had always attributed it to the fabric stretching with use, if that is even possible for a pair of jeans. Then it hit me, hot cock on a rock, I might have gained muscle mass! I don't really know how, because the only workouts I do are some small things to get my heartrate up because I was born with a deformity of the heart and don't plan on dying anytime soon from my heart growing too weak, but it must have somehow been enough to build some muscle along the way. I wish I could insert a nice comparison picture here, because the difference especially in my face is crazy now that I compare the pictures, but I don't think I am at the confidence required to post my face here quite yet, maybe some day! I was so focused on a number on the scale, that I became completely blind to these now obvious changes in my body! All that even though I was always the one who advised people to chase a feeling rather than a number, as in they shouldn't set a specific goal weight down to the pound, but rather define a way that they want to feel within their body. I myself am still not quite where I would like to be with my body and the way I feel about it, but this realisation has helped me in detaching myself from that number and focusing more on how I feel, but it'll still be a long way until I am where I ultimately want to be. I am not saying that there is anything wrong with setting a goal weight for yourself, but it shouldn't prevent you from paying attention to things beside the number on the scale. Take care and stay healthy in these trying times! [link] [comments] |
| Is losing 2 lbs per week safe? Posted: 27 Mar 2020 07:22 PM PDT I'm a 19 year old female who is 5'4" and 147 ish pounds and my goal weight is 130 lbs (i was 138 beginning of fall but freshman 15 really is a bitch). i'm right on the line between healthy and overweight bmi and i just want to get healthier. I've been looking at calorie deficits, and most say 1-2 pounds a week is safe. If my maintenance calorie intake is around 2100 a 2lb per week diet would clock me in around 1000-1100 calories a day which seems harmful? or too little? i was thinking of starting at a 500 deficit then dropping my way to 1000 and then back to 500 when i reach near my goal weight. has anyone had any experiences or tips for this? [link] [comments] |
| SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Saturday, 28 March 2020: Today, I conquered! Posted: 28 Mar 2020 01:10 AM PDT The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)
Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness! Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit! On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 27 Mar 2020 08:36 AM PDT A month and a half ago or so, I suffered a major Heart Attack. I had never really been a candidate for one or so I thought... I am 6'1" weighed in at 235 the day of. Last thing I did the night it happened. I guess I had been severely dehydrated that night. Since then I have been focused on cutting the fat and refined carbs. I record everything... the recipe, the oils in the pan, the dressings after preparation. No FAD diet stuff only things I should avoid... So cutting the salts out I lost a lot of water weight.... that was a significant amount. About 10 lbs. I have added walking and cardio back in about a month ago. And I now down to 209. Have another 20 to go... Good luck to everyone. The only magic pill I have... my loved ones. Get healthy for them. [link] [comments] |
| Finished a diet, feeling lost trying to return to normal Posted: 27 Mar 2020 03:49 PM PDT Does anyone have any tips on how to finish a diet? I stuck to my diet for a year. Every single day I weighed myself in the morning and tracked the calories of everything I ate. It was literally every day, I never didn't do it. Most of that time was intermittent fasting one meal a day. I don't want to live like that permanently. I had always planned for it to only be a temporary lifestyle change until the weight was off. Now the weight is off. For the first time in a year I'm not tracking my calories, or weighing myself, or fasting this week. Do I just eat what I want, when I want and try not to overindulge? I feel like I shouldn't obsess about it, but I'm starting to get a lot of anxiety before I consider any meal. [link] [comments] |
| Needing help, accountability, and kind advice Posted: 27 Mar 2020 07:59 PM PDT Hello everyone! I am new to all of this but am seeking support and advice for losing an extreme amount of weight. I have noticed being made uncomfortable by my weight for the past few months and feel as though it is time to change before I die or suffer severe consequences for my poor life decisions thus far. To clarify, the discomfort I am mentioning is not mental discomfort, but actual, physical discomfort when I do simple life tasks. I have invested a great deal into my education, family, career, and I am getting married at the beginning of next year. I know that I need to change but don't know how to stick with anything or reverse some of the lasting mental damages that have lead me to this lifestyle. Truthfully, I feel trapped and like I am destined to die because of the position I put myself into. I am hoping someone has been in this same place and can share their story and give me some hope that this is all possible. I am just so lost. Thank you all in advance. [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: March 28th, 2020 Posted: 28 Mar 2020 03:22 AM PDT Hi team Euro accountability, march 28th is here! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went! Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here! [link] [comments] |
| How do you guys get enough protein? Posted: 27 Mar 2020 04:47 PM PDT Hey all, thought I'd try to gain some knowledge from ya'll who have been at this eating healthy thing longer than I have been. I've been rocking it on keeping my carbs and sodium low, which have always been issues for me. But now I'm running into a new problem: I can never seem to reach my protein goal! I know that protein is important so your body burns fat instead of muscle, but I struggle to get enough. On the other hand, maybe my protein goal of 131g is too high? (F, 5'6", 272lb) I'm using myfitnesspal, macro goals 35% carbs 35% protein 30% fat. For example, today I've eaten: Breakfast: 1 oz bacon jerky, 11g protein Lunch: 4 oz Chicken breast with parmesan cheese 21g protein At work snack: Beef Snack Bites, .2 oz (2 pieces) 1g protein After work snack: Protein shake with extra peanut butter powder, chia seeds, flax seeds, strawberries, and whole milk 41g protein I've still got about 600 calories to work with for dinner, but I don't know that I can cram enough protein in to meet my goal even then. All advice is appreciated! EDIT: Ended up only drinking half the protein shake after the discussion. That freed up 250 calories for dinner. I figured the shake wasn't fabulous enough to make up for the amount of calories. Instead I had 3 fried eggs with a 6oz chicken breast crusted with parmesan, and topped with homemade salsa. 50 grams of protein for 350 calories. Much better! Puts me at 105g protein with 500 calories to work with. [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment