• Breaking News

    Thursday, March 26, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-26

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-26


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-26

    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Thinking of Building an App/Game - Do Burpees, Level up your Hero

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 07:05 AM PDT

    Hey /r/bodyweightfitness, I'm an indie app developer.

    I recently stopped doing crossfit and am trying to use bodyweight fitness to stay in shape. Mostly just simple stuff like burpees, squats, pushups etc.

    As a developer, I'm always trying to think of new app ideas. I've been toying with the thought of creating an app for tracking body weight exercises that would also help me periodize. The more I've thought about it, I thought it would be fun to do it as a game.

    Here's the basic idea. You have a hero/avatar in the game, the goal is to level up your hero and improve their stats and abilities. Your hero grows stronger as you do burpees in real life and log them in the app. Your hero has an energy meter, which will limit the total number of reps you are allowed to log within the first day, but the energy meter refills over time.

    In the beginning, your hero is weak. They start with an energy meter capacity of 30, so you can only log 30 burpees the first day. For this you'll gain 30 experience and level up your hero. You recover +1 energy every 2 hours (so you''ll recover 12 energy 24 hours).

    As you level up your hero, your energy capacity increases 30->40, 40->50 etc. Also the rate at which you recover energy get's faster. You also unlock new exercises you can do, instead of just burpees. The exercises in the app will all be body weight exercises that people can do anywhere without equipment.

    As you unlock more exercises, there will be gaming mechanics to ensure you are logging a variety of exercises, like maybe the ones you do more often become worth less and the ones you've been avoiding are worth more points/burpees bucks.

    You earn Burpee Bucks, which can be used to buy equipment for your hero, shoes, headbands, etc. You can equip these items to improve your stats.

    What do you think, would you use an app like this?

    Edit: Here's my half finished landing page in case you want to follow on social or email for updates https://burpeehero.com

    submitted by /u/think99times
    [link] [comments]

    Bodyweight workouts: beware of injuries

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:58 AM PDT

    I felt the need to address this, as I continue to see posts from new people to the comminity. Please dont take this the wrong way, dont be discouraged, I just felt the need to bring attention to an important point, something that seems to not be emphasized nearly enough

    While its true that weightlifting likely leads to more injuries, I cant help but feel there is an attitude that calisthenics is viewed as safer, and a risky mindset that not much can go wrong

    To be honest, I don't know you all. I'm not gonna try to act like a parent, but from personal experience, I can at least try to help some people who might not have a serious enough attitude

    What do I mean: its no secret that heavily desired skills, include advanced moves like levers, flags, planche and even more. For seasoned bodyweight athletes, with very strong foundations, these are realistic goals. with patience of course.
    however, I see many newcomers immediately trying to do what it takes to breeze through progressions

    this is a very dangerous mindset. As a powerlifter who can moves quite a great deal of weight, and advanced calisthenics athlete, what might surprise many, Ive suffered zero injuries from weightlifting. rather, all my injuries were actually a result of calisthenics. whether it be overtraining, over eagerly rushing through progressions or carelessly jerking my body in different ways without the proper 'warning lights' going off in my mind that tell me to be careful. of course if somebody attempts a deadlift 3x bodyweight, theyre well aware how heavy that is, and the potential risks.

    bodyweight /calisthenics seems to have a more lax attitude and I implore you all to change that, whether it be newcomers trying to achieve a planche as quickly as possible, or veterans passing on the message. using the example of a planche, this is an incredibly advanced skill to most people. sure, if somebody trains bodyweight rigorously, and carefully, building up strength over time to move on to the next progression, its achievable, but for somebody who is just starting calisthenics I cant help but feel its giving tremendous false hope. Ive seen some advise people relatively new with bodyweight training, to already begin pseudoplank pushups. to me, this is just one example of a mistake. a great deal of mobility work and careful, patient, practice of straight arm strength that places tremendous strain on the shoulders should not be simply tossed around as suggestions. people might attempt them, and might even deceive themselves into thinking theyre ready to take on a new progression before theyre body is truly ready. by that I mean properly conditioned. you cannot rush conditioning it takes time for bodies to grow accustomed to movements or positions that put joints in very strenuous positions. rather, an extreme emphasis should be noted on how one should be determined to go about their journey, but with realistic expectations, and proper warning of the injury risk it presents. just because weights arnt involved does not mean injuries cannot happen.
    in fact, gymnasts seem to get injured all the time. even elite ones. other things like doing something everyday without proper rest and recovery time is also dangerous habit. this leads to overstressing the muscle, overtraining, usually such that cannot be felt at the time, but rather over months or years of such heavy loads of training, injuries develop

    *Forgive the long post, but with so many newcomers who continue to come to this sub in hopes of guidance, I think its only responsible for us to properly communicate not only the benefits (which their are plenty - this isn't supposed to be a negative post) but also to properly educate/warn/caution what can go wrong. if they don't rest enough, if they move through progressions to quickly, without developing that needed foundation of strength that can only be gained through months of hard work and careful conditioning. stretching, mobility work, and proper recovery are just as important. and advising people to even just keep an eye on how their body is responding.

    lastly, ill just bring the example of the one arm chin/pullup. I see this all too often. hanging from a pullup bar with just one arm places stress so tremendous on the shoulders that if somebody isn't extremely conditioned they are at literal immediate risk of a tear, right there and then. if somebody can do 10 pullups they are not ready for a one arm chin. I don't care if its negatives. this is about being responsible. people that do one arm chins successfully are typically ones that have trained calisthenics for years, building exceptional balance throughout their body, and super important - properly building the needed stability.

    Just using ones bodyweight is not often thought to be something that risks injury, and for the most part that is true. sticking to fundamentals. pushups. pullups. core exercises, flexibility and mobility work...and even progressions...but those progressions need to be done carefully and patiently. or injuries will factor in.

    sorry to sound so negative. I just think we need to be aware of the risks just as much as we are aware of the benefits.

    submitted by /u/NFLAddict
    [link] [comments]

    Question about L-Sit

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 06:55 AM PDT

    Hey Bodyweight Freaks! Maybe anyone have tips. I trained for 6 months the recommended routine and changed just 2 weeks ago to rings (best decision ever). I try to master beginner skills like Handstand and L-Sit and i only can see progress in my handstand. When i do or try the l-sit i have the feeling that my arms are to short because i can only push me 1 cm from the floor. But that's not so important. I just can't get my legs straight in 90 degree, only maybe 45. I train all the progression exercises, especially compression work like Leg lifts with my back against the wall. Also a lot of stretching. I think it's something with my hips but i don't know. Are there any other exercises or should i continue with the compression work until i reach the straight lsit?

    submitted by /u/WichtlS
    [link] [comments]

    How to use a weighted rucksack.

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:38 AM PDT

    Hey guys, long time lurker of the subreddit. Followed the RR for around a year alongside weighted training and ultra-running.

    The majority of the time I practiced the RR in my local gym with the aid of a weight belt that was useful for weighted pullups/dips etc. During the isolation period, I have access to an outdoor training frame that allows me to continue with the RR but all I have access to is a weighted backpack. My question is how to best utilise a weighted rucksack? Should I have it on my back? Strapped to my front? Dangling from my legs or other appendages? What are the pros and cons of each?

    submitted by /u/toasterfitness
    [link] [comments]

    DIY push up harness and loading pin.

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 02:11 AM PDT

    https://imgur.com/gallery/JlO6nci

    After long standing shoulder issues I can't bench anymore and push ups feel fantastic but are just awkward to load solo.

    I tried using a dipping belt on its own but this puts a lot of stress on the lower back. By attaching a simple band to the back of the neck with a dipping belt it it up to the upper back. This feels very stable and strong when pressing and really cues you to straighten out into extension when pressing.

    One point to consider is that I would use a separate caribener to clip the band and a 3rd to attach the chain to the weight.

    Loading a dumbbell or plates can be awkward so I'd recommend using a loading pin or making your own as shown in the pics. Happy training.

    EDIT 1 This set up is for use on rings/straps/between chairs for extra range of motion and to hang the weight below you. Also if you bail on the weight you just drop the weight on the floor first rather than your face with weights on your back. Just for your reference here's one you can buy online instead and only other option I've found https://fortisequipment.com/product/the-fortis-push-up-harness/

    Benefits o this set up are best explained by the big man himself Omarlsuf. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qrTtV6xN9OY

    submitted by /u/dohraymeh
    [link] [comments]

    Home Workout Motivation

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 10:07 AM PDT

    Hi guys,

    I want to share this home workout motivational video with you. Should be useful right now.

    https://youtu.be/MdHCw5_SjrA

    I've seen a lot of workouts that you can do at home, while in isolation, so I decided to make something different, that can help you to find inspiration in these difficult times.

    How do you stay motivated right now?

    Hope we will return to parks/gyms very soon!

    Thanks once again for taking time to watch!

    submitted by /u/JustCalisthenics
    [link] [comments]

    Piggyback goodmornings

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 11:59 AM PDT

    I tried this out with my gf the other day and got a good workout from it so I thought I'd share.

    It's pretty simple: carry your spouse, partner, child, roommate, or dog piggyback and do goodmornings with them. Make sure to keep your back straight and your feet planted. Focus on the mind muscle connection to really feel the muscles work.

    If you want it to be harder have the person or being you're carrying on your shoulders though be careful as the high centre of gravity can throw you off balance. Do 5-30 reps per set depending on how easy or hard it is for you.

    E: grammar.

    submitted by /u/balalasaurus
    [link] [comments]

    Questions about diet during Quarantine. (Trying to gain weight)

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 11:17 AM PDT

    Hey guys,

    I'm very close to being underweight, which isn't terrible since my main sport is climbing. My big inspiration, Adam Ondra, is exactly my height and 8kg heavier, so I thought I'd try to match that while I have tons of time on my hands.

    Anyway, it is currently very difficult for me to shop, as I can only go grocery shopping once a week at most, and the stocks are often lacklustre. The guide in the sidebar recommends me to eat around 3100 calories a day, and I have trouble matching that. Here's a few ideas to supplement my normal diet and questions related to that:

    1) We have tons of olive oil, maybe I'd just drink a shot of that after every meal.

    2) I do have lots of whey powder, it says 30g/serving, is it save to have 3 of those with milk?

    3) Loads of honey, I could probably straight up eat a few spoons of that as a "snack".

    4) Beer. We do have lots of liquid bread in storage, and it would probably be the easiest way to reach my goal. Also helps fight the boredom. But it seems to be very bad for bulking muscle, is that true?

    Since my mom is currently doing chemo therapy and I am caring for her, there's a lot of easily digestable stuff in our normal diet, also lots of veggies. Meat isn't optimal though, since she has to be very careful with bacteria, and it is difficult to store so long. Other suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

    submitted by /u/antwille
    [link] [comments]

    Can you do 1, 2, or 3 cycles of this?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 11:11 AM PDT

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVr9fU2Kgjs

    • 50 J.Jacks
    • 40 squats
    • 30 pushups
    • 20 leg raises (abs)
    • 10 burpees
    • (Skipped: 10 pulll ups)

    I only did 2 cycles, not 3.

    With a 3 min. rest in between.

    Good one.

    submitted by /u/CortexExport
    [link] [comments]

    How does absence of gym compensate working out at home?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 12:45 PM PDT

    Now that I am indoors, I don't spend two hours in the gym. I go running outside and workout from my garage (have some weights). I am wondering will I be able to get the desirable results? I am trying really hard to watch portions and eat carefully seemingly that's the big deal! How is everyone else coping with this change? If you spent a significant portion of time in the gym, how are you keeping it going being home?

    submitted by /u/iampretzel
    [link] [comments]

    Is Darebee's Military Fit 30-day program worthwhile?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 12:38 PM PDT

    https://darebee.com/programs/military-fit.html

    Would you recommend doing this, or instead steer away from it?

    submitted by /u/mrisoveli
    [link] [comments]

    Workout Logs

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 12:38 PM PDT

    I use a workout log to track sets/reps. It's annoying to use while working out. Anyone feel the same?

    submitted by /u/geoff_langenderfer
    [link] [comments]

    Question on greasing the groove

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 12:29 PM PDT

    So I'm interested in trying out grease de the groove for improving my front lever and planche progression hold. I can currently hold a 15 sec max adv. tuck planch (an ugly straddle for 2-3 secs) and a full front lever for 2-3 secs. Can I continue my regular workouts with the static hold or should I remove the static holds and stick to only doing accessory movements during my actual workouts or complety stop normal wokouts and only do grease the groove? When I'm talking about accesory work I'm refering to pseudo-planche push ups and front lever pulls or rows along with pull-ups or pike push-ups

    submitted by /u/fortval
    [link] [comments]

    GTG Diamond push ups with shoulder injury?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 08:29 AM PDT

    I [20M, 5'11, 135lbs ~ 60kg] recently injured my shoulder, and that prevents me from doing regular push ups. It starts acting up after ~5 reps. And since I'm quarantine with no means of transport, I can't have it checked by a physio.

    However I can comfortably do 20-25 reps of diamond push ups before my shoulder starts to hurt.

    Is it advisble to do GTG with just diamond push ups?

    Any help is appreciated :)

    submitted by /u/zireael44
    [link] [comments]

    How difficult is this type of handstand?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 11:44 AM PDT

    It starts at 0:48min

    https://youtu.be/oGofcTM2POE

    I can do a "regular" handstand and hold the position for a few seconds. I just say this video and I wondered how difficult it is to do. I know it is hard to give a good answer to that question but what do you think how much more difficult it is compared to a regular handstand?

    submitted by /u/DunklerReiter
    [link] [comments]

    Is it good to incorporate to the RR some cardio?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 11:37 AM PDT

    I started this week the RR after 3 months in the gym, cause it seemed to only serious program to build mass at home, and I also got interested in learning some calisthenics. I added a stretching routine ad the end of every workout and on rest days, and I'm also skipping the rope for 20/30min medium high intensity on rest days.

    In addition to this I try to do 100 jumping jacks every hour just to be sure not to be all day sat that tbh makes me feel like shit.

    Is it too much cardio for muscle gain? Should I reduce it? (I know that depends on what I eat but generally assuming I'm in caloric surplus is it too much?)

    submitted by /u/GianVR46
    [link] [comments]

    Would you consider dip bar set ups or parallettes more useful for at home training?

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 10:52 AM PDT

    I have some birthday money to spend and since I can't get to the gym right now, I thought about getting either a dip bar set up like this https://amzn.to/39iQz6A or a pair of parallettes. I originally wanted to get rings, but I have nowhere to mount them unless I want to install ring holders in my apartment ceiling somewhere, which I feel like would be more trouble than it's worth.

    submitted by /u/esquqred
    [link] [comments]

    I am currently on the Pseudo Planche Pushup Progression but I can't do more than a single pull-up!,is this normal?have I messed up?

    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 11:14 PM PDT

    On the other hand I can hold the superman plank or arch for a minute so.....could it be i lack the technique,also also I can do a few chinups!

    submitted by /u/PhantomD3vil
    [link] [comments]

    Training for One Arm Pull Up in Quarantine

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 08:53 AM PDT

    Hello guys,

    I want to train for the One arm pull up. I weigh 74kg and my ORM for pull ups is just below 50kg and I did 5x5 with 20kg added over the last few weeks. So I am not starting from zero. My gym closed due to the Corona Pandemic and I haven't got weights except for a 7kg dumbbell but a pull up bar at home. Any tips or recommendations how I can train for the OAP with my given equipment? And how far do you think I am away from achieving it? Thanks for your thoughts and advice.

    submitted by /u/Climbaha
    [link] [comments]

    Anybody have a ceiling mounted ring hanger?

    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 08:02 PM PDT

    I just moved apartments and am in the market for a pull up bar. Problem is it seems like most of the good ones are either sold out or marked up an insane amount.

    One option I'm considering is to mount my gymnastic rings on a ceiling mounted ring hanger in my apartment. It would be something like this (I have no affiliation with these guys). Does anybody use anything like this? Most of what I've found on this sub recommends mounting them onto either a pull up bar or something more sturdy (like an outdoor setup).

    Thanks for any advice!

    submitted by /u/tepextate
    [link] [comments]

    Would a push up board be worth the price?

    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 03:34 PM PDT

    I 100% suck at doing pushups I can't even do 1 normal pushup unless I start from my stomach and then push up then attempt to slowly lower myself back down which doesnt work too well. I saw a pushup board that allows you to adjust the hand grips to target different areas. My question is has anyone here used one and was it helpful? Or should I keep going without the board?

    Thanks

    submitted by /u/RagTagPig
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment