• Breaking News

    Thursday, July 29, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-07-29

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-07-29


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-07-29

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 04:00 AM PDT

    Welcome to the r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Body weight dips vs Push-up for overall chest focused workout

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 02:47 AM PDT

    Hi guys, I'm a 22 y/o male, around 193lbs, 5'11 (181cm).

    8 years experience of body weight training. I'm just wondering what everyone's opinion on the push-up vs tricep dips on parallel bars for more chest focused workout? (Bending the torso forward so the middle chest is parallel to the handgrip on the bars and legs are straight with feet also parallel to the chest).

    Im trying to gain more strength in my chest as it's one of my weakest areas.

    I know dips are more triceps focused in nature with more of the lower chest being worked than the overall chest, however I'm just wondering if there's anybody out there that has got better results from gaining more strength from either push-ups in any elevation vs chest/triceps dips. Anecdotally I think dips are better since most of the body weight is being used but not sure if anybody more experienced in chest training with body weight can give me a better insight between the two exercises for strength training. Thanks in advance

    submitted by /u/RyboGallazur
    [link] [comments]

    Rate my routine!

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 08:31 AM PDT

    I mainly train calisthenics. The weights are just used to get that little extra out of each day and to add to the physical appeal.

    I train Monday to Thursday, and I rest 60 to 120 seconds between sets, depending on the exercise.

    Day 1: • Pull ups: 3 x 6 - 8. Weighted. • Tricep extentions: 3 x 6 - 8. • Close grip pull ups: 3 x 6 – 8. Weighted. • Push ups: 3 x 6 – 8. • Wide grip pull ups: 3 x 6 – 8. Weighted. • Hammer curls: 3 x 6 - 8. • Rows/Australians: 3 x 6 - 8. • Dumbbell curls: 3 x 6 – 8 • Diamond pushups: 3 x 6 - 8

    Day 2 • FL raises: 3 x 6 - 8. • Hollow Hold: 3 x 30s. • Reverse hypers: 3 x 6 – 8. • Star plank: 3 x 6 – 8.
    • Side plank raises: 3 x 6 – 8. • Leg raises: 3 x 6 - 8. • Dumbbell deadlifts: 3 x 6 – 8. • Russian Twists: 3 x 6 - 8.

    Day 3: • Chin ups: 3 x 6 - 8. Weighted. • Wall assisted Handstand push ups/Pikes: 3 x 6 - 8. • Close grip chin ups: 3 x 6 – 8. Weighted. • Front lateral raises: 3 x 6 - 8. • Wide grip chin ups: 3 x 6 – 8. Weighted. • Side lateral raises: 3 x 6 - 8. • Forearm curls: 3 x 6 – 8 • Reverse fly's: 3 x 6 - 8.

    Day 4: • Nordic hamstring curls: 3 x 6 – 8. • Crunches: 3 x 10 - 12 • Squats: 3 x 6 - 8. • Cross crunches: 3 x 10 - 12 • One leg butt bridge: 3 x 6 - 8. Each leg . • Plank: 3 x 30. • Lunges: 3 x 6 - 8. each leg.

    submitted by /u/EdPsychCali
    [link] [comments]

    I really need help with my pull-ups since I have not been progressing in forever.

    Posted: 28 Jul 2021 01:30 PM PDT

    Hello everybody Ireally need some help. I have been working out for about 1.5 years and achieved 4 pull-ups within 6 months. The problem I that I have is that since then I haven't progressed at all.

    So in the last year I have been doing a 4 day upper, lower body split. I do pull-ups and rows in every single workout and have not been able to do more. I do negatives as well as banded and have tried doing more volume. Overall, I just have been stuck and have watched every single YouTube video there is in doing lore pull-ups and I still just can't seem to do lore. Are there any tips and tricks you guys have or any advice to help me? If it helps I am almost 17 and Male.

    submitted by /u/shiloh6226123
    [link] [comments]

    Need advice on plant base meal plans

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 09:56 AM PDT

    Hi. I've been struggling to find a good meal plans. I've checked several websites and blogs but haven't been able to find a good plan. Any suggestion is appreciated. Note: I've posted my question on /r/PlantBasedDiet/ but for some reason my question isn't visible. Since I'm doing calisthenics, I thought this might be a good place for my question.

    Goals:

    - Whole food as much as possible. I'm trying to avoid processed food (e.g. seitan).

    - Lowest prep time as much as possible. I can cook but don't have much time. Can't do avantgardevegan's style even though his recipes are superb.

    - High protein, low fat ingredients, high carbs is ok. I'm struggling with tofu, tempeh. They're great source of protein but add more fat than I'd like.

    - Avoid high sodium. Canned food is ok.

    Current:

    - Weight: 65kg. Body fat: 16%.

    - Total Kcal intake a day: 2410 kcal. Carbs: 365g. Fat: 40g. Protein: 147g.

    - Meals (main ingredients only): oats + soy milk + blueberries + banana. Rice + mixed vegetables + seitan (which I'm trying to avoid). Lentils + vegetables. Ezekiel bread + fruit spread/dates + soy milk.

    - Sedentary work, sit down ~8 hours/day. Frequent high intensity exercises mixed with yoga days.

    Namaste. 🙏

    submitted by /u/SmokyBottom
    [link] [comments]

    What are you’re favorite podcasts relating to BWF?

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 10:00 AM PDT

    I'm always trying to learn something new about Bodyweight training and was wondering what podcasts you guys would recommend? I recently have listened to the Fitness FAQ podcast by Daniel Vadnal and enjoyed it a lot.

    submitted by /u/oDARKSTARo
    [link] [comments]

    Pullup Bar Help

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 12:50 PM PDT

    There's another post here from 6 years ago but the suggestions given don't work in my situation. My door frames here in Costa Rica aren't the same design as your average door frame in North America. If I could post an image I would, but there is no frame, only the jamb. All doors in Heredia are like this so far as I've seen. I need something that one of those leverage pullup bars suggested in that post can connect to somehow, otherwise the bar just falls when you try to use it on a door without a frame. I can't use the extension bar either, even with the screws, because I have no place for that anywhere in my apartment where there isn't a door that would need to be shut at some point. Anybody have suggestions?

    submitted by /u/nom420
    [link] [comments]

    Meal Times Confusion

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 11:38 AM PDT

    Hi everyone.

    Long time lurker and for the past 2 years transitioned from the gym to bodyweight, where in the last year I bought myself a pair of gymnastics rings and my progress has been slow but honestly steadier than it has ever been.

    I am currently following the "Body by Rings" program, which is quite taxing on my whole system when trained properly.

    The past year I have been working out in a fasted state when I wake up, around 10-11 am, and then around 13:00 or 14:00 id have my lunch. A few healthy snacks in between and a meal with very few carbs around 21:00 and id go to sleep around 1-2 am. So plenty of time for my body to be in a nice fasted state without being totally depleted of energy. Also, I was staying at home all this time, so cooking whatever I liked and eating was a very easy task that I would follow very well.

    Forward to today, I moved to another country for work-related reasons and my schedule has shifted completely. I start work from around 11 am until 8 pm and get home around 9 pm.

    I do not have a kitchen in the apartment I currently reside and I am only limited to the food I am provided by my work and so my last meal is around 7 pm.

    I keep on with the morning fast, but I have not yet tried to work out in the morning due to time limitations and do my workouts at night. The problem is at night I can not have a post-workout meal because I do not have a way to cook per se.

    Will working out at 9 pm and then eating again around 1 pm have any impact on my progress? Should I start forcing myself to wake up earlier and work in the morning around 8 and then eat at 1?

    I am really starting to overthink it and it does not good. Looking forward to your opinions and some healthy discussion.

    Stay strong everyone :)

    submitted by /u/AbidingOverthinker
    [link] [comments]

    Warm-up issues

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 07:45 AM PDT

    Hello,

    Before any workout ,I make sure to warm-up properly and I start whenever I feel ready. My question is:

    Does my warm-up session take too long ? It generally last up to 30, even 40 minutes. I've tried to reduce my warm-up session by putting more effort and concentration into it, but nothing seems to help. It mainly consists in rope jumping(first to get my blood flowing), and then every single muscle from head to toe, particularly shoulders, wrists and back.

    I've noticed that my back and wrists take the most to prepare and they take the most time in my routine. If I don' t insist on them I simply cannot perform any skill properly and I struggle a lot holding that position.

    I also want to mention that I always start my workout with 5-6 sets of my maximum hold of a certain progression and then I move on to reps.

    Any suggestions are welcome !

    submitted by /u/Slibby666
    [link] [comments]

    What is the ideal scapular plane and elbow trajectory during pull ups ?

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 06:50 AM PDT

    Hello everyone !

    The title is already pretty elucidative, i think. Anyways, here is the thing: I've been training and studying calisthenics for a year now. I'm a ring enthusiast and rarely train with bars. As with everyone, I believe, my pull up form and dorsal muscle conscience increased far away than I imagined, it seems form will always improve and surprise me :). At the moment, i'm kinda stuck with the following question: regardless of arched or hollow body pull ups, what is the best scapular angle and elbow trajectory, for developing general back strength ? As an example, I believe Muscle-up pull ups need a 45 degree angle and arched body pull ups are executed the best with scapulas and elbows at the same plane (almost as a 2D image). Hollow body pull ups, meanwhile, can be done both ways... What are the benefits with each type ?

    I think the difference between these movements can be better executed and ''felt'' with ring pull ups, since the ring can move and adapt to the trajectory.

    Thanks

    Hope you all keep pushing your limits everyday and enjoying the challenge !

    submitted by /u/Intelligent_Talk1183
    [link] [comments]

    This is my workout. Is 5 times a week too much for chest and triceps?

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 08:36 AM PDT

    This is my workout for Chest and Triceps to gain size (how many times I should train in a week?) :

    3 x 8-12 : PUSH UPS ( Weighted Push-ups [5kg] )

    2 x 8-12 : DECLINED PUSH UPS (Tried to add weight by using backpack but it hitted my head lol)

    3 x 8-12 : DIAMOND PUSH UPS (without weights)

    2 x 8-12 : WIDE PUSH UPS (without weights)

    3 x 15-20 : DIPS (with chair)

    2 x 8-12 Cross Triceps Extension : (not sure about this one, I don't think I will be able after the dips and push ups but I'll try)

    And a final set of push ups until failure.

    I need help because I've read that big muscles like chest need time to recover. Thanks in advance

    submitted by /u/Painthesilence
    [link] [comments]

    Change my view: Narrow-grip chinups are the superior way to do "pullups".

    Posted: 28 Jul 2021 02:38 PM PDT

    I bought a pullup 2 years ago. Like everyone else, spent the first month or so struggling. Went through phases of forearm/joint pain, somethin that felt like tendonitis, etc. I then got to a point of doing them on the daily with no sense of discomfort.

    Aside from paying attention to my own form, I've watched & read countless pieces on form/different variations of those form. Some months ago, I finally came to the conclusion that narrow-grip chinups are simply the best way to execute them.

    That isn't to say it's the ONLY way you should, but 95% of the time it's how I do them as I strongly believe that the extra reps you get from recruiting the bicep will make up for whatever supposed gains you can make by doing pronated/wider grips.

    I'm open to having my mind changed but as I do them now on my own time, it's been cemented in my head that every time I approach the bar, it's going to be an underhanded/narrow grip. I've been eating at maintenance/near-maintenance calories for the past year or so & my rep count with my usual 35lbs+ has gone up. It also became VERY apparent to me that the biceps were not being worked nearly enough when I started follow-up with curls after a set of chins and realized that the biceps had so much gas left in the tank.

    submitted by /u/Won_Doe
    [link] [comments]

    Beginner needing advice on recovery

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 06:44 AM PDT

    I have recently started doing light workouts at home for the first time ever. I am a classic ectomorph and want to hit the gym soon but decided to do 100 push ups a day for 30 days as a sort of warm up and to see if I can stick to it long term. On days 1 and 2 I did 4 sets of 25 but by day 3 my muscles were so sore that I knew it would just get worse if I continued. It is now day 4 and I am still aching, I have been doing 100 sit ups a day instead. I want to know what I am doing wrong that makes me ache so badly. It's barely a work out and each set takes about a minute so why is 4mins of exercise a day making me so sore? If I keep doing this will I just constantly be sore? And surely if I do an intense workout at the gym it will take like a week to recover and I won't make any progress like that, not to mention I'm a drummer and a skateboarder so I can't deal with being sore all the time. Will I just get used to it or is there anything else I can do?

    submitted by /u/chonklord420
    [link] [comments]

    Intermittent fasting or longer water fasting (3-7 days) for fat loss

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 06:28 AM PDT

    If you have done intermittent fasting or longer water fasting (3-7 days), have you lost much body fat and have you kept that fat off over time since going back to your original diet? And did you retain any muscle?

    I've done multiple fasts before (mostly 48-72 hours but never beyond) and I prefer doing them than counting my calories. I like to stay active during my fasts just to counteract any muscle wastage to let my body know it is too important of a tissue to metabolise but this is just an educated guess rather than fact.

    Of course muscle wastage would be more prominent in the longer term fasts (perhaps past 72 hours) which is obviously not what I want happening. Let me know if you have done these type of fasts before and if they have effected your gains negatively or if your gains stayed the same but have less body fat as a result. Let me know your experiences with fasting compared to calorie restriction diets, thanks :)

    submitted by /u/RyboGallazur
    [link] [comments]

    15 year old doesnt know whether to eat on a deficit surplus or maintenance

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 12:48 AM PDT

    Im 15, 77 kg's (170 lbs), and 5'10 (70 ins). I have multiple questions but the main one is whether or not i should eat at my maintenance a deficit or a surplus. I calculated my tdee and entered in my information. I have soccer practice for an hour and thirty minutes 3 times a week and i have P.E 4 times a week with it usually being an hour long and on thursday its 2 hours long so we go to the weight room for the 2nd hour and do a quick 3 laps, warmup with dynamic stretches, and a 30 minute body weight exercise in the first hour. I also do the recommended routine. So im wondering that when calculating my tdee what level of activity would that be classified in. And also should i bulk, cut, or maintain my weight. My maintenance is like 3500 -4000 calories and that seemed farfetched since i saw posts talking about only 3000 being an immense struggle.

    Edit: my goal is mainly about aesthetics. Having well defined and toned abs is the #1 right now. A lot of people my age are starving themselves and stuff and i want to take a healthier approach to getting an aesthetically pleasing core. And not to mention abs from working out look better than jus being skinny imo.

    submitted by /u/Rilxy-_-
    [link] [comments]

    Plateau in Weighted Pullups and HSPU

    Posted: 28 Jul 2021 04:28 PM PDT

    Hello, I am a 17 year old male and weigh 120. I've started bwf a year ago and my progress has been very slow. My max pull ups as of 3 or 4 months ago is 17. However, my main goal for pullups is strength and for hspu, the ability to do freestanding ones. I have looked at a bunch of websites and yt videos and tried many of their suggestions, but still with slow progress.

    For my pullups, at my strongest, I was pulling 37lbs for 5x5 and 47 for 5x3. However, in the previous month I have gotten worse, even after a break week. My workouts are 2x a week back with 1 session for strength and other for explosiveness + some 3x8 pause at the top weighted pullups.

    Before my pull session tho, I do a small front lever session of either 3x8 sec straddle halflay and 3x straddle negatives OR 3xadv tuck with extending my legs for one leg adv tuck front lever and 3x8 banded full fr raises. I made the second fr routine because I had a fr plateau, but it seems I am making gains for it. After my fr session, I do my weighted pullups and after, I do my rows which are mainly 5x8 bw.

    One thing I notice specifically with the 5 rep weighted pullups is that my muscles give out similar to when you go to failure. However, with 3 rep sets, I don't feel the similar "tiredness", and rather that I just can't pull the weight anymore. Because if that, the 3 rep sets feel better and more in control since there is a bigger gap between getting another rep in for the higher weight vs the lower weight.

    Also, I suspect my frontlever training could be affecting my weighted pullups as I usually fail at the lats and not the bicep or grip. Also, my progress from 0 lbs to 25 lbs was fast, but I hit a plateau at 25, but then broke through it for a bit.

    For my hspu's, I do them at the top of my push days, which I have 2 in a week. My first session is 5x8-9 chest to wall hspu trying to maintain good form throughout. My second session is 5x8 standing dumbbell ohp and 3x 3x 7sec maximum effort isometric ohp on a machine.

    When I do my chest to wall hspu, I feel my scapula or some muscle that you use in pseudo planche pushups get tired. Because of this, I was thinking of doing my ohp in the similar movement pattern. Also, I was thinking for my chest to wall hspu, I increase the rom to full handstand pushups and not handstand pushups.

    My chest to wall hspus have plateaued, and to practice the skill side of freestanding one's, throughout the week I practice handbalancing + negatives but my negatives are inconsistent because I can't seem to learn more forward and end up falling. However, when I do get to the bottom part, I can't push and seem to have no power to push up.

    Thank you for reading and any suggestions would be appreciated!

    submitted by /u/Biblogrophic
    [link] [comments]

    How Long Should I Rest?

    Posted: 28 Jul 2021 05:12 PM PDT

    I've been doing bodyweight exercises for a while. I did about 40 pushups and 40 situps a day for about 3 years, and about 2 months ago, I started actually working out using calisthenics. I do an upper-lower split. For upper, I do 5 sets of pushups, L sit holds, pike pushups, dips, and rows to max. For lower, since I only recently started working out legs, I just do 2 sets of squats and holds to max.

    When I look online, it says to rest 30-90 sec for hypertrophy and 3-5 min for strength, but when I rest for 4 min, I can't do as many reps. For example, I'll do about 20 rows max, then rest 4 min, then have 16 rows max. Is this normal? Should I rest longer?

    As a side note, I always end up being really tired about 3/4 into the upper workout. Am I doing too many sets?

    submitted by /u/Disapoin
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment