• Breaking News

    Monday, June 28, 2021

    Weight loss: Women, it's been said before, but I need to say it again. Your cycle influences your weight loss and appetite.

    Weight loss: Women, it's been said before, but I need to say it again. Your cycle influences your weight loss and appetite.


    Women, it's been said before, but I need to say it again. Your cycle influences your weight loss and appetite.

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 07:34 AM PDT

    I've lost and gained 50lbs several times now, and decided in may to track the entire process. I'm two months in, and 11lbs down but I have to keep reminding myself a few things.

    1. Even if I'm sticking to a calorie allowance, I will gain weight 2 weeks after my period.

    2. It's okay to not stick to your calorie allowance while on your period. This is a marathon, not a sprint. If I eat extra that week it's not the end of the world. At least I kept tracking and working towards the goal. Even if the goal that week was just accountability.

    3. Get back on track when you fall off. If I gain weight? Track it. If I overeat? Track it. See the change over a longer period of time, not just the day or week you're in.

    submitted by /u/meesh-lars
    [link] [comments]

    Had to get my bridesmaids dress altered

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 12:46 PM PDT

    My oldest and one of my best friends is getting married next month and I'm a bridesmaid. When I first tried on this dress 8 months ago, I weighed 80kg/176lbs (down from 87kg/191lbs) and felt very frumpy in it. I wanted to be the hot bridesmaid! I was already on a weight loss journey but this "before" pic spurred me on.

    I lost the weight through CICO and daily exercise, that's it. I have no special secret or hacks to lose weight, much to the disappointment of many people who ask me for tips!!

    I am now maintaining 56kg/123lbs (total 31kg/68lbs lost) and I just tried on my dress again today after getting it altered. I'm very proud of the after picture and I can't wait to show off the new me at the wedding haha.

    I've had a tough journey, with backlash from family members over how much weight I've lost, and I still have some bad days with regards overeating but I am so proud of how far I've come.

    https://imgur.com/a/ZGv8rFp

    submitted by /u/ZombieShellGrrr
    [link] [comments]

    I ran my first 3 miles since I had Covid last October, and I’m proud of that!

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 04:59 PM PDT

    I really don't know what to say because I am so happy. I'm a young male in decent shape, 21 years old at 170lbs. I was never big into fitness though and went to an academy for my education that required a 1.5 mile run in 16 min to enter and 13 min to graduate, amongst other requirements. I passed the "exit" standards when I took the entry test in October, but shortly after I got Coronafied.

    I decided to try the test by myself when the academy started in January and I was shocked because the run took me 27 min. I didn't have any respiratory symptoms so I was appalled at this. I decided to run nearly every day through graduation in May and I passed! I continued my running and am pleased to say that I ran 3 miles in 23:58 minutes and I am so proud of myself.

    I hope others in a similar situation to me can be inspired from my journey as I continue to push through this recovery and make myself a better person!

    submitted by /u/ShiftyShift11
    [link] [comments]

    Secret Eater

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 09:25 PM PDT

    If you ever have time, look up Secret Eater on YT. It is a great show about how much people really eat vs what they put in their food diary. It is an eye opener on what people eat and what they think they don't eat. It shows how mindless eating or grazing effects people's weight. What is really great about the show is that a dietician is there who gives them advice on what to do. And most of the people lose 1 stone (14lbs) on average.

    Everyone generally has the same spiel at the start, they all eat 1200 calories (the women) and 2000 (the men) but it turns out they eat around 2000-4000 calories a day. It is mainly women who write down they only eat 1200 calories and are surprised to see their total was closer to 2-3k. Alcohol was a culprit, with people drinking easily 1000 calories but mainly mindless grazing.

    There are a few episodes where the people try to cheat and eat less(without realizing it) and actually lose weight during the 5 day period. One guy switched his full sugar soda with diet and lost 2lbs. He drank a lot of soda but that one switch resulted in weight loss.

    It is a big eye opener. A lot of people couldn't believe that they ate that much. They ate not consciously aware of how much they consume. Being videotaped it allowed people to visually see what they eat and when they snack.

    I find it really fascinating and I hope you all do too.

    submitted by /u/MaxVictory
    [link] [comments]

    The math adds up: Drinking alcohol the past year has caused me to gain 36lbs

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 07:46 PM PDT

    I started 2019 at 280lbs. I did CICO and by March of 2020 I was 194lbs. Started drinking June of 2020. June of 2021 I'm at 230lbs.

    Before, I didn't drink any alcohol except on very rare occasions. Then COVID. The gym shutdown, the local spot where I picked up my meal prep closed. I lost my motivation and momentum. I stopped losing weight but I wasn't gaining at this point.

    I moved from a small apartment to a new house in June 2020. I had a backyard and a huge deck. I starting enjoying a few 100 calories seltzer's while out on the deck. This quickly turned into me drinking every night. This past year I probably drank about 2-12 packs of Trulys a week. Sometimes more. This would be 2,400 calories a week attributed to alcohol. 2,400x4weeks in a month is 9,600 calories a month extra due to alcohol.

    We all know 3500 calories is 1lb loss in deficit. It is also 1lb gained when eating over maintenance. I have gained 36lbs in 1 year. 36/12 is a 3lb per month gain.

    3lbs = 3500x3 = 10,500 calories excess a month. For the past year, I've been drinking in alcoholic calories atleast 9,600 calories a month. I'm sure sometimes more. That's nearly equal. Drinking 3lbs worth of alcohol a month. 36lbs in 12 months.

    If I had not drank any alcohol in the past year, but still have ate the same amount of food, I probably would have maintained my weight very close to 194. The math adds up.

    TLDR; I did the math and I gained 36lbs in the last year from drinking alcohol. If I hadn't drank I likely would have maintained.

    submitted by /u/SynfulEden
    [link] [comments]

    The many... maaaany.... MANY practical reasons why I want to lose weight (A LIST)

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 05:53 PM PDT

    Who can relate to these? lol.. I'm excited to look back on this list as my habits change, and my body along with it. Hopefully I can remember to post an update in 6 months, when I hope I'm closer to 250 lb.

    I made this list a month ago when I decided I wanted to lose weight at 296 lb. I've lost 8 lb so far so I'm feeling really great at 289 lb, so I decided to post this list online so that I don't forget about it and so it keeps me accountable and motivated.

    Looking at the list, I think about how much better my life will be when I get healthier and lose weight. I don't think it's naive to think that life is in many ways better at a healthy (or healthier) weight, even if I (realistically) might never check off every single thing on this list, or if perhaps many items in this list are not even mutually exclusive with obesity (like for example, having high cholesterol or not feeling confident in a swimsuit. Both are possible at both my current weight AND at my goal weight, too!), and I acknowledge that. But these are all still huge motivators for me nonetheless because I know that losing weight will not solve all of my problems, but it sure as heck will solve many of them.

    Even just getting as close as possible to 200 lb will probably solve most of my physical issues that I didn't experience when I used to be 200 lb! Now THAT is fuckin' worth it. Even over the past month, the acanthuses nigricans on my neck has close to disappeared, and walking has definitely gotten easier--both thanks to keeping up good habits. :)

    physical + health reasons

    • [ ] currently weigh around 300 lb... want to get to the 200s
    • [ ] want to get to the 100s
    • [ ] being "morbidly obese"
    • [ ] being obese is a huge cause of oxidative stress... you really don't want cancer
    • [ ] upper arm flabs HURT like heck because the skin has to bend as if it were a 2nd armpit and I always have to fold it in; also have to put deodorant on it.. embarrassed to wear tshirts sometimes bc people can see my 2nd armpits when i lift my arms slightly
    • [ ] it's SO hard to walk to places. I take ubers for walks that are less than a mile... my ENTIRE body hurts for the rest of the day if i walk <1 mile with a heavy backpack
    • [ ] insulin resistance!!! you don't want type II diabetes for the rest of your life 😭😭
    • [ ] high blood glucose
    • [ ] high cholesterol
    • [ ] vitamin D deficiency :(
    • [ ] everything hurts all the time. I want my left knee, feet, and back to stop hurting :(
    • [ ] I have PCOS and it gets worse the more overweight you are/the longer you are overweight. SCARY side effects
    • [ ] having kids is scary and rough on your body if you're morbidly obese
    • [ ] it's so hard to find clothes when you wear a 3X... the only clothes I've been able to find have been 3X tshirts at target, 20-22 size jeans at old navy, or clothes online through shein that can be hit or miss
    • [ ] size 11 feet. can be hard to find shoes sometimes
    • [ ] being self-conscious of applying to medical school while weighing 300 lb
    • [ ] spending $100 on groceries every week. and then MORE money on snacks and eating out and getting takeout by myself
    • [ ] have to wear an old bra under a sports bra
    • [ ] breaking all my goddamn bra underwires
    • [ ] rubbing holes in the jean fabric on my inner thighs and going through them like kleenex
    • [ ] riding e-scooters w/ an under 220 lb weight limit... doesn't work, almost died because the little motor throttled under my weight and then ZOOMED forward. it was the little engine that couldn't
    • [ ] CHUB RUB when wearing water shorts/skirts and painful boils on upper thigh when i walk with jeans for <1 mile and my thighs sweat if it's really hot (sorry, TMI)
    • [ ] mattresses are very uncomfortable. mattress pads not designed for people weighing 300 lb
    • [ ] getting so many cavities because you eat like shit and then are so tired from just walking around all day hauling an excess of 150 lb of body fat that u fall asleep before brushing your teeth
    • [ ] if i buy anything snackable/good (especially in large/bulk/family size amounts) because i think i can handle it i will SPIRAL. i can never handle it. the spiral always comes for me
    • [ ] not being able to play any sports because i physically can't + am embarrassed of how i would look trying to run and kick a ball
    • [ ] food controls me. i need to control it.
    • [ ] nasal drip
    • [ ] heartburn.. super uncomfy
    • [ ] I want my towel to fully wrap me :'(
    • [ ] I want my bath robe to fully close :'(
    • [ ] I want to fit under the water in my bathtub :'(
    • [ ] recently discovered that I can't do more than like 5 sit-ups and I can't do 1 single push-up because I'm carrying sooo much extra weight
    • [ ] it's hard for me to walk more than 1 mile at a time and it takes me around 20 min
    • [ ] I'll make any excuse to get out of walking more than a mile anywhere with my friends

    social reasons

    • [ ] my weight often feeling like the elephant in the room (pun not intended)
    • [ ] embarrassed to wear tank tops without wearing cardigans over them
    • [ ] embarrassed bc can't avoid double chin when sitting and looking down at laptop
    • [ ] spilling out of lecture seats and taking up armrest space of seat neighbors. lap desk almost doesn't go down all the way sometimes
    • [ ] embarrassed about the dark rashes on my neck due to insulin resistance.. but i can't put my hair down because i also have thin hair (thanks PCOS)
    • [ ] my hair will keep thinning unless i can manage my PCOS.... ergo, by losing weight
    • [ ] over the weight limit of many kayaks.. afraid to flip in my kayak and be unable to get back on because I have 0 upper body strength and can't haul my 300 lb self out of the water
    • [ ] my neck is sooo thic. most necklaces are uncomfortable to wear
    • [ ] most rings won't fit me and they make my fingers look chubbier anyway. scared of getting my class ring and having to size down if i do lose a lot of weight
    • [ ] chubby hands
    • [ ] my airplane seatbelt flying to my summer internship city a month ago almost didn't reach all the way to buckle and the guy next to me watched me struggle with it for legit like 10 minutes. i don't want to ever need a seatbelt extender!! also, taking up so much room in a tiny airplane seat, I felt like my body depth/stomach and chest towered over the guy next to me who was my age
    • [ ] i automatically feel like i have 0 chance with any guy. parties are very awkward. i automatically do not allow myself to like anybody because deep down, i know i'm "not their type"
    • [ ] my friends made me get a tinder "for fun" and I didn't want to meet any of my matches for fear of "catfishing" them
    • [ ] being embarrassed of running into all the same cashiers at takeout places (lol)
    • [ ] never seeming to have close guy friends
    • [ ] fear of never finding someone. never getting married, never having kids. being alone forever.
    • [ ] can't tuck shirts into jeans because my belly bulges out
    • [ ] can't wear crop tops (rolls/belly + stretch marks)
    • [ ] stretch marks on my arms
    • [ ] can't wear shorts + cellulite
    • [ ] had to find a crusty XL lab coat
    • [ ] my calves (and almost my arms) are as thick as friends' thighs
    • [ ] never being happy with how i look in ANY photo, especially those taken by surprise
    • [ ] embarrassed to dance with friends because... i can't/it's very hard to
    • [ ] face masks are too small for my face and it looks funny
    • [ ] my mons pubis makes leggings look awkward on me
    • [ ] can't tolerate the heat and get super sweaty when walking to work/class if it's above like 70-75 degrees F. sooo afraid that i'll stink if i'm in class 2 inches from others, and have in the past resorted to showering twice a day
    • [ ] being self-conscious of applying to medical school while weighing 300 lb
    • [ ] over the weight limit of many chairs
    • [ ] my face is super chubby. it's sooo wide
    • [ ] embarrassed to ever wear any kind of swimsuit and go to any pool, jacuzzi, lake, anything. awkward when friends want to do something together but i don't want them to see my body. always coming up with creative excuses not to go to the pool or wherever
    • [ ] PCOS is worse when you're overweight, so... body hair is excessive
    • [ ] don't fit into the cute shein dresses that i got. I'll prob need to get to at least <250 lb to fit (excited to get to that point tho bc they're superrrrr cute!!)
    • [ ] i take up so much space
    • [ ] bigger every time i see my extended family
    • [] just realized i forgot one of the BIGGEST things!!! fucking snoring. It caused issues with my roommate freshman year, my friends would wake me up if I fell asleep during movie nights bc my snoring was so disruptive, and when I went on a road trip with my friends, my friend and I had to share a bed and I realized in the middle of the night that they went to sleep in the living room, preferring to sleep in s couch UPRIGHT instead of next to me with my snoring. It was horrifying!! Can't wait to not have to worry about snoring. I want to share rooms with my friends during road trips or while traveling or studying abroad without worrying about my embarrassing snoring or pondering just not sleeping so as not to expose myself during a trip.
    submitted by /u/gonewiththewing
    [link] [comments]

    I can now comfortably fit into Medium shirts

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 09:58 AM PDT

    Before I (28M) started my weight loss, I was 253 lbs and wore pretty much only XL shirts. I could get away with wearing Large if I did the classic "tug and stretch" technique to get them to hide my body. But I was always doing the picking and pulling to make sure the shirt wasn't caught between any folds.

    During my weight loss I didn't buy new clothes since I figured they would get too big before I could wear them enough, so I've been just wearing my old clothes. I did have a pair of shorts that I bought a few years ago that were too small (they were on the wrong hanger, and I didn't check the tag) and even those are too big for me now.

    Fast forward to today, and I'm now 180 lbs and went clothes shopping to prepare for a visit to my family, and I was surprised to find that Medium shirts is now the size that fits me! I felt so giddy and pumped my fists (in the dressing room) as I now can fit in them. Also, my waist went from squeezing into 38" to now maybe needing a belt for 32".

    A funny takeaway that I noticed, is that it seems like the graphics on the shirts that I bought look larger compared to the ones on my XL shirts. Since the graphic is printed the same size on all the shirts, but now there is less shirt!

    I've never posted here before, but I've lurked quite a bit and found inspiration and motivation and education in quite a few posts here, so as I continue my weight loss, thank you so much!

    submitted by /u/vexillaarius
    [link] [comments]

    6 months of progress

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 11:32 AM PDT

    I am so low-key proud of myself and I didn't even realise how much my body had changed until I took another set of progress photos this morning. I know people say this all the time but TAKE PROGRESS PICTURES, even if you think you'll never look at them again, just do it because you will be blown away when you come back to them after a few months of keeping your head down and quietly getting on with your weight loss journey.

    I currently do HIIT workouts 5-6 times a week, haven't particularly gone on a 'diet' but I do generally have much healthier habits that I did a few months ago. The progress was so slow I didn't even notice it happening. I have recently started working in a bakery so I'm now planning to tackle the snacking on delicious cakes at work issue 😂 but overall I'm really happy with my progress!

    SW: around 83kg

    CW: around 82kg (but I've put on 4kg of muscle!)

    Progress photos, Dec-June

    submitted by /u/bpa23
    [link] [comments]

    Hopefully the last Day 1

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 08:44 PM PDT

    Out of the seven deadly sins that can affect mankind, it's pretty obvious which one is mine: sloth. I am so, so fucking lazy. And to add to that I fucking love food. That's not a great combination for someone who is supposed to lose weight and spends an unhealthy amount of time fantasizing about all the clothes they will wear "when (they) are fit". I have had a bajillion beginnings, my mantra is "I'll start tomorrow!" and I am way too kind to myself ("I don't even have a double chin ffs"). Reality is that I am extremely unhealthy, most definitely overweight, and have never in my life been slim or close to it. I can't do one effing pushup. And on top of it, this past year I was extremely depressed and obviously tried to fill The Void with pizza, soda and more crap that I do not want to remember. It was awful.

    But I am eternally optimistic, that's what helps me begin afresh every single time. However, I intend for this to be my last beginning. I won't like kill myself or something if this doesn't work out, but by talking to myself in front of others who have been through the same thing, people who I respect so darn much for their perseverance and hard work, I hope to have more accountability. And after a few months, I hope to grace you beautiful people with the before/after pics. If you read through this ramble, thank you, and here are my stats, a result of nine months of binge-eating and a lifetime of laziness.

    Current Weight: 75.5 kg/height: 167.5 cm/BMI: 26.9 (oh god)

    Target Weight: 52 kg/BMI: 18.5

    I will be realistic about this; Rome wasn't built in a day etc. But I hope to be back with good news soon! xoxo

    S <3

    submitted by /u/MentalButNoHealth
    [link] [comments]

    There are 1,440 minutes in a day

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 11:28 PM PDT

    Hi guys! I never really post on here and just hide in the shadows, BUT if you find it challenging to work out, this might help you! As the title says, there are 1,440 minutes in one day. Looking at it this way, 30 minutes of ANY type of exercise (I love walking/hiking) is negligible in the grand scheme of things. You would still have 1,410 minutes left in the day to do whatever you want! Thinking about exercise in this mindset has helped me to push through those days where I don't feel like working out. So put those 30 minutes aside to do something beneficial to your physical, mental, and emotional health! The benefits far outweigh the cost of being temporarily uncomfortable. Much love and keep on pushing friends! Thank you for motivating me to continue on my health and wellness journey. :)

    submitted by /u/Ebz_gets_abs
    [link] [comments]

    Loosing weight in an unhealthy manner is just as unhealthy as being over weight

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 05:24 AM PDT

    This was bothering me since yesterday's post, and it's been bothering me for a bit and finally figured out why.

    I tend to see it a lot, the obsession about reaching the perfect BMI, and on paper that seems like a sound theory. But in practice, it's more than just trying to reach your perfect percentage.

    In my opinion, not every ones recommended BMI is actually healthy or easily achievable, it's more than just about the number on the scale. I think it should come down to how do you feel on your weight loss journey? How does your body feel? How do your clothes fit? Do you feel stronger when you work out? Do you get a boost of confidence?

    The scale and the number on the paper that gives you your BMI aren't going tell you all of that. It's literally just a number.

    If on your journey you start getting anxiety attacks about what you eat and how much you eat to the point you start vomiting, talk to your doctor and get a therapist, because that's not healthy for you.

    Don't restrict your calories so much either, there are calculators on Reddit, this sub, and google which will help you find your caloric deficient. It's going to be different for everyone. But I have yet to see an average male needing a caloric deficient set to 1200 calories.

    I get there are families and friends who will hate your progress and try to undermine your success, but remember that's not everyone and showing concern doesn't always come from a toxic mind set. It's not always because they are jealous, yes sometimes you are the one showing some concerning signs. Maybe in those moments double check yourself.

    submitted by /u/Grumpasaur_Rex
    [link] [comments]

    24-Hour Pledge - Monday, 28 June 2021 - The Plan for Today!

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 10:01 PM PDT

    Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!

    This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track.

    Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing

    I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me?

    Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution.

    Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message.

    ---

    On reddit, your *vote* means, *"I found this interesting"* (...read more about [**voting on reddit**](https://www.reddit.com/wiki/voting))

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Two years to the day. Take small steps, but keep taking them.

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 04:02 PM PDT

    This is my COVID-19 project. Two years ago today I decided I wanted to look like an anime character so I could start cosplaying. Still have work to do, but I'll get there. I'll post an update in a few months once I reach another goal. So far I'm down about 85lb, and I'm in the process of starting to build more muscle.

    Starting weight: 240LB Current weight: 155LB

    Started off with intermittent fasting, then I realized that I didn't need that tool anymore so I just calculate my calories and make sure that I'm at a deficit of about 500-700 a day. I eat about 1700-2200 calories a day and do an hour and a half of cardio. Cardio consists of using a weighted jump rope. I like to throw in some curls, and pushups but that's really about it.

    Diet is by far the most important thing to achieve a physique like this. I would suggest eating a protein-rich diet because it's got the highest thermic effect and will leave you feeling full and satiated the longest. The only liquid I drink which has calories is cashew milk, and chocolate milk. Other than that just water. Fill in the rest of my daily calorie limit with other whole foods. The trick is to have a low-calorie-dense diet and to stick with it.

    Remember that the best time to start was 2 years ago, the 2nd best time to start is right now. I'll try and answer any questions you guys have. But please bear in mind that I'm not a doctor, or a nutritionist/dietician. I'm just a dude that decided enough was enough. Best of luck to all of you on your journey.

    submitted by /u/GL_Levity
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: June 28th, 2021

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 09:04 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences :)

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    I have finally reached onderland! Yay!

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 09:27 AM PDT

    I'm F, 39, 5'3"/160cm. SW (15 Dec, 2020): 238lbs / 108 kg. CW: 196lb / 89kg. GW: 143lb / 65kg

    It took me 6 months to get here. I never thought I would ever get this far! And for once I feel like I can reach my goal-weight.

    I have been overweight all my life, the result of an underactive thyroid which led to depression and using food to fighting it off. Food was my go-to to deal with any kind of emotional situation. I have tried losing weight many times but never got very far. I would watch those transformation videos of people who have lost weight on youtube and imagine myself in their place but never could get there. Maybe it was my depression but I would lose focus within the first month.

    But something changed for me mentally in December of 2020. I didn't want to celebrate my 40th birthday as an obese woman. Something just clicked and I started on my journey. I don't know why it never clicked before but I am still so happy that it finally happened.

    I have been doing this now for over 6 months. I took it slow and didn't go all out like I would all the other times.

    I tweaked my diet for about a month until I got something that I can stick to without feeling deprived or get triggered into eating too much. There are some foods that I would just gorge on and that would always end in me giving up. This time I identified them and am staying away from them. I don't plan on giving them up for life but just until I am in a stronger headspace. I also stopped ordering takeout since that is a slippery slope for me. One takeout would turn into another one that next day and the next until a whole week is gone.

    For my workout, I just started with 3k steps a day and I have worked upto 10k. I have also been lifting for the last couple of months, probably not a lot for most people but enough for me.

    submitted by /u/losing_it_81
    [link] [comments]

    Dealing with impulse control issues due to ADHD.

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 02:50 PM PDT

    I've struggled with my weight over the years. (M/186cm/100kg)

    I know longer binge eat but I'm still not in full control of what I eat.

    My problem is that I fill no connection to my long term goals. I know what I would like but it feels so foreign and blurry that I struggle to connect my behaviour now with that goal.

    I've never been able to find good short term goals either. Nothing beats the hit of dopamine I get from eating an extra slice of toast.

    Through pure grit I eat well, exercise, drink water and do all the right things but I just can't change by overall habits. I always fall JUST short.

    I need something else that will give me the buzz eating does.

    Is anyone else in the same boat?

    submitted by /u/wearekindtosnails
    [link] [comments]

    Weighted myself again and glad to see the result! Though is my fat% too low?

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 12:49 AM PDT

    I am F23, 52kg and 155cm

    Title says it.. Weighted myself again in more detail and found out that: 1. Fat%: decreased from 34.3% to 3.0% 2. Muscle mass: increased from 38.0kg to 47.3 3. BMR: increased from 1274 kcal to 1450 kcal 4. Metabolic age: decreased from 35 to 14 5. Visceral Fat Rating: decreased from 6 to 1 6. FFM: increased from 40.4kg to 50.5kg 7. TBW%: increased from 47.6% to 63%

    Full measurement here: https://imgur.com/gallery/DsmcGSF

    Glad to see the improvement on my muscle mass, BMR, Visceral fat and FFM! But wondering if the fat% is really decreased that much and whether it is still healthy or not? Also is my TBW too high? I do drink lots of water…

    Also do you have any advice to my current body measurements? Anything I should decrease or increase?

    submitted by /u/Meaning-Relevant
    [link] [comments]

    Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Monday, 28 June 2021? Start here!

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 09:31 PM PDT

    Today is your Day 1?

    Welcome to r/Loseit!

    So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started.

    Why you're overweight

    Our bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently.

    Before You Start

    The very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week.

    Tracking

    Here is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it.

    Creating Your Deficit

    How do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian.

    The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it.

    Exercise

    Is NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight.

    It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel *awesome* and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes.

    Crawl, Walk, Run

    It can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments.

    Acceptance

    You will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better.

    Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better.

    Additional resources

    Now you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.

    * Lose It Compendium - Frame it out!

    * FAQ - Answers to our most Frequently Asked Questions!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Saggy skin makes me feel desperate

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 09:13 PM PDT

    Hello to everyone I'm 28 female 230lbs and 5'6' and for 15 years I struggle with my obesity. I used to be very thin as a child but then I started to have many mental health problems and I started to use food to cope with my emotions. My overprotective mother was enabling my behavior because I was always difficult with food and she couldn't force to eat health. Due to excessive billing at school I stopped to do every sport I tried to start even if I really liked them. It makes me sad even these days thinking about my past because I never really enjoyed this lifestyle or food.

    I know that my situation is reversible and many people have to deal with much more weight, the problem is that my skin is already saggy. My breasts were always awful but I have extensive fat in my belly and my stomach, they are huge considering my weight, while my legs and arms are thin. Maybe this is happening due to my health problems (it's very likely that I have Cushing syndrome) but my body is atrocious. I have stretching marks everywhere in my stomach, upper arms and armpits, my back, buttocks, even behind my knees and they already seem kind of floppy. I see people more fat than me and their body is more tight than mine. I don't know maybe it has to do with my body type and that as a kid I was always extremely thin. My skin is very sensitive and fragile also very fair and bruises easily so all these things seem ten times worse in me.

    Last 4 months I start walk everyday for miles and even if I still eat kind of unhealthy I managed to lose 20 pounds. I know that it's not important considering my weight but I observed that my skin became even more saggy. My belly and my stomach seems like they melting and the same goes with my abdomen are and arms. Honestly I feel terrified and very depressed because I really want to do an effort to lose my weight but I'm afraid how I will be after that. I never expected that i wouldn't have excessive skin but now I realize that situation will be much worse considering my weight. It would be normal for someone with more pounds than me to face such a big problem. I search pictures on internet with before and after and I can already tell how my skin will end up and my stomach area seem similar with women who were more that 300 pounds.

    I don't know if exercise can save the situation and I also know that if I start I will lose weight very fast even if I don't try, I remember that within a week in the past I had lost 20 pounds only with walking and eating a little bit healthier.

    Does anyone else has to deal with something similar, saggy skin even as an overweight? Also I would appreciated a lot if someone with Cushing syndrome who managed to lose weight can give me some advice because this makes everything more complicated.

    Thanks everyone who read my rambling and I'm sorry if it doesn't make sense.

    submitted by /u/Miss_miserable_
    [link] [comments]

    I took a week off from diet to eat whatever I wanted, gained weight and feel guilty.

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 04:51 PM PDT

    After losing 104 pounds I hit 62 kgs.. I had gotten to a point where I was barely eating and walking my ass off every day for hours and hours until my body gave up on me. I was constantly having paranoias, panic attacks, couldn't sleep etc. I decided it was time to take a break. I started to eat waaaay more, until I got to the point this week where I've been eating a LOT, especially fruits and sweets. I can't stop, I've eaten like 2 pounds of fruits per day and 1 pound of cookies today, hitting 4k calories and days where I've gone up to 2k. I can't understand what's going on! I wanted to hit 60 kgs but I'm currently up to 64 and something.. I feel like shit. Mostly because I got scared when I saw myself binging again.. I'm losing control and I feel bad. Please help.

    submitted by /u/CubaLibre27
    [link] [comments]

    my boyfriend and i weighed ourselves tonight and i feel so self conscious

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 11:41 PM PDT

    so for some context, i love my boyfriend very much. we have been together for over a year and plan to tie the knot (not looking for criticism on that, love had no timeline). we are extremely comfortable with eachother and he has never been hateful or dismissive to my body in any way. anyways, tonight we were running around the house and had to change the batteries in the scale. for fun we decided to both weigh ourselves. he is on the skinner side and came in at around 140 lbs (63 kilos), and i was 160 (72 kilos). i was absolutely mortified and instantly felt self conscious. in retrospect, my health has taken a turn over thr pst year. i have switched anti depressants and birth controls which had directly impacted my weight. seroquel was the worst for me and caused a lot of binge eating and hunger. i used to be huge in the gym and went almost every day, but since my mental health declined i have ended my membership and stopped going. how do i eliminate this somewhat shameful feeling? i had struggled with disorder eating in the past, and many times when i start a diet it spirals out of control for me and ends in laxative abuse. does anyone have any advice?

    submitted by /u/Silent_Heron_612
    [link] [comments]

    Sustainability, Binging, Keto, etc...

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 06:41 PM PDT

    Hi everyone.

    I have been keto very liberally off and on for a couple of years. Back in 2019, I had really great success and 50 pounds melted right off. I went from 240 to 190. My lowest weight was 179, but then I fell off the wagon for months. Even still, I maintain between 190 and 205. I haven't had anymore success with weight loss. It's been over a year since I reached that low of 179. It seems I cannot make it more than a few weeks of keto before I'm off the wagon, but it's not just about eating carbs. For me, eating carbs is a doorway into binge eating. I feel like it doesn't matter what I eat-- potatoes, rice, salads with lots of veggies, fruits-- if it's carb loaded, it will send me spiraling into a binge that can sometimes last... months. I feel so ashamed to even admit that. When I fall off the wagon, I fall HARD. That being said, it truly feels like being in ketosis, or sometimes the act of fasting, is the only thing that takes away the part of my brain that loses control. Even if it's only for a few weeks, keto gives me the feeling that I am in control of my eating behaviors, binging becomes minimal, and if I'm not around carb-laden food, I do not really get cravings for them. The problem for me is multifold. 1) it seems like keto isn't sustainable long term. Society revolves around food, I genuinely feel as if I'm missing out a lot of times because I am so restrictive with carbs. This leads to me feeling sad towards food, mad at myself for not being "normal," etc which leads to binging. 2) Keto is the only thing that gives me a semblance of control. I tried to just count calories for a couple weeks, but inevitably I would eat something that would lead into a binge.

    So. I know this problem isn't really even a keto problem. It's a binging problem. Binging is a mental problem, probably a maladaptive coping mechanism. However, there is a part of me that feels like I will never truly be in control of myself if I'm eating carbs regularly. But another part of me feels like I cannot live my whole life keeping myself from food I enjoy. Ugh. I just feel so hopeless and out of control. I feel like a child who's had their carb eating privileges revoked. It feels like a punishment, and despite feeling so lost and unsure, I know for certain that feeling that way is not the path towards successful weight loss and health management.

    I'd truly appreciate any and all advice. That being said, I don't have insurance or the resources to consult a dietician or therapist at the moment. I'm hoping this will change soon, but right now I need things I can take in my own hands. Thanks for reading.

    submitted by /u/vermillion_ink
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment