• Breaking News

    Tuesday, June 29, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-29

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-29


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-29

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Daily full body -how important is variety?

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 08:04 AM PDT

    I have found success in utilizing daily full body workout consisting of 1 push,pull, and leg exercise 5-6 times a week (a la K Boges -check him out on YouTube) . Doing these short workouts has greatly improved my consistency - which has been the largest detriment pertaining to my fitness journey.

    With my limited knowledge and experience I am not confident in implementing more spontaneous variations of exercises on a daily basis. As such, I was curious if rotating though an "A" "B" day (posted below) would provide enough variety.

    To clarify, my main concern with this routine would be developing "over-use" injuries through its repetitiveness.

    For example:

    Day A: Dips: 3x8-12 Pull-ups: 3x8-12 Nordic progression: 3x4-8

    Day B: Pushups 3x12-15 Rows 3x12-15 Bulgarian Split Squat 3x12-15

    submitted by /u/jhammo
    [link] [comments]

    So close to the ring dips progression --- can I jump into them now?

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 08:29 AM PDT

    I'm doing the RR and can currently do a 50s support hold on the rings (hands turned out slightly) and 6r x3 parallel bar dips. My problem is that I always feel a bit of strain on my elbows doing the dips. The parallel bars are awkward in general for me -- it seems unnatural, like I'm fighting to keep good dip form with my scaps down, elbows back, etc. I'm looking forward to the ring dips because everything I've read says they'll adjust to the natural movement of my body as I dip.

    I do have a Sling Shot that a lifting buddy gave me which I used along with eccentrics to get to the parallel bar dip. I could use that on the rings, too, I assume.

    So the question is, at this point, am I strong enough/prepped enough to just jump ahead to ring dips, or Sling Shot assisted ring dips? Here's the rest of my RR progression -- thanks!
     

    []() []()
    Pull Ups 5r x3
    Bulgarian Split Squat 8r x3
    Parallel Bar Dips 6r x3
    Hamstring Slide 6r x3
    Horizontal Rows 7r x3
    Diamond Push Ups 6r x3

     

    submitted by /u/WadeWatts37
    [link] [comments]

    Question about the diet (beginner)

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 06:39 AM PDT

    As I said elsewhere I haven't been exercising for years, and anyway I never was too muscular. Now I'm out of shape with about 30% of body fat. I started the RR a month ago (still not the complete workout) and I want to adjust the diet to gain muscle but since I'm already quite fat also not gaining more of that. Since I'm overweight and a beginner I suppose I can hope for a good body composition change (gaining muscle and losing fat) for a while. The question is, should I get a balanced intake of calories to match my TDEE or less/more? Also I'm 42 and not a hard gainer (I'm genetically big) Thanks

    submitted by /u/noisex
    [link] [comments]

    my bodyweight training results with 1 year gym and 1 year bodyweight background. i was off like 1 year

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 10:42 AM PDT

    https://imgur.com/a/QO5vzF7

    I just wanted to share my result with you guys, what you think? Am i doing something wrong or am i doing okay?

    submitted by /u/y4vrum
    [link] [comments]

    Cut or keep going normally

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 12:38 PM PDT

    Hello,

    I am a 14 year old boy. I have lost a lot of fat in the last few years. When I was about 10 I was absolutely fat, I couldn't even run a bit. Now I am normal weight for my age, but I still have a decent amount of fat on my belly and my legs are still pretty fat. I weigh 69 kg and I am 184 cm tall.

    I do road biking or mountain biking 3-6 times a week. I am pretty strong but my legs are so fat, so I look pretty "weak". I have also been doing the RR for the last few weeks. My max reps are pretty imbalanced between different exercises, because this winter I did a lot of pull ups, so I can do about 10 pull ups, but only a few dips and about 15 push ups. Im sure that will balance out with time.

    I am more worried about how this fat will go away. I haven't really tracked my weight too seriously, so I don't know if my legs have went smaller in the last few months, but it doesn't really seem like they have.

    So what should I do? Eat less and try to lose fat or keep eating normally and just keep doing both cycling and strength training. I don't want to do some strict diet. Just skip snacks and eat less at meal times. I don't eat fast food, well 1 pizza every friday. I also don't drink soda or other sugary drinks.

    submitted by /u/SwoutXD
    [link] [comments]

    Need some help with my diet

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 11:52 AM PDT

    Hey there!

    I started out my chalistenics journey a half an year ago and I have been seeing some progress, though I want to get a bit more serious about it.

    I've been watching a lot of content on bulking and cutting but I wounder if it applies to chalistenics or only for resistance training.

    But my most important question is: Currently I am in a really healthy weight with some muscle gain (not much yet), but I have quite noticeble "love handles" and a bit of lower belly fat. I really want to get rid of this fat, but I don't want to sacrifice my muscle gain rythm. I wanted to know if I should be on a caloric surplus or deficit.

    Thanks for your time in advance.

    submitted by /u/jlpmarques2002
    [link] [comments]

    Am I training for speed wrong?

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 10:56 AM PDT

    Context: In a few months I'll be attending a military special operations selection course. For this I've been training push-ups, pull-ups, rucking, running far (5mi @ 7min pace), and running fast (2 miles @ 6:30 pace). My question is about running fast; a 13-minute 2-mile is considered the "best" score on my military fitness test - but for special operations selection it's "good enough." I'm working to get back to sub-6 miles like I used to (back in high school) - the difference is I weighed 135lbs and couldn't do 10 pushups when I ran 5:05 miles and now I weigh 185lbs and can do 70+ pushups. Is it physically possible for me to get into the 5:30 range while keeping my strength?

    Workout: I recently started doing 3x weekly sprint workouts. Half mile warm-up at 8min pace; then 4x400m with a goal of 1:25 per 400m then rest 1:25 - this is on an Evocardio Renegade HIIT assault/manual treadmill with resistance set to 0.

    Problem: Even at 0 resistance, this treadmill is kicking my ass. I hit the first 400m at about 1:35; then the rest at 1:40-1:55 and I'm absolutely gassed. I think this has to do with the inherent resistance that the treadmill brings.

    Questions: Is this manual treadmill a good way to train speed? Should I instead be going to a track with a stopwatch? Should I be doing more than 400m intervals if my goal is to train for a 2-mile run at a 5:30-5:45 pace? Am I completely wrong and this is actually good training and I need to stop being a little bitch who is scared of being out of breath and just keep going?

    Thanks in advance

    Edit: To clarify, these sprints are not the only workouts I'm doing. I wrote just about the sprints because my question is about increasing shorter distance (2 mile) run time; I'm good to go on the other events and am just working to maintain my status with them.

    submitted by /u/LT_FatNeck
    [link] [comments]

    Most effective way to do kegels, reverse kegels and other pelvic floor excercises?

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 08:27 AM PDT

    I know this might not really fit in here, but I hope someone can help me out anyways.

    So my urologist ordered me to do kegel excercises for erectile dysfunction. He mentioned briefly how to do them and that I can easily fit them in my day and do them whenever I think about it.

    I looked this up online and for one, it seems that additionally doing reverse kegels is generally recommended, such that the one-sided motion of the muscle doesn't end up causing issues. I also saw that there are other pelvic floor excercises that might be helpful.

    In general, I wonder what the most effective way to do kegels, reverse kegels, and other pelvic floor excercises is.

    • Does it make sense to do them everyday, whenever you think about it? For other kinds of excercises, like weightlifting or bodyweight excercises, most people say that you need to rest in between training days and that ignoring this is going to hinder your progress. Would this not apply here as well?

    • In terms of progression, should one simply try to hold the contraction for longer periods of time? Or is there a better way to make it more difficult and to build strength in those muscles over time?

    • Is there anything else I need to watch out for? My doctor didn't seem to be particularly knowledgeable about this, and I don't want to do anything wrong.

    submitted by /u/GiganticSchlong
    [link] [comments]

    HELP FOR A SPLIT/ROUTINE

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 07:00 AM PDT

    I'm overweight(88KG 5'11"). I wanna lose fat and build a decent amount of muscle. I wanna mainly improve athletism for Football. I wanna go for a 4 day strength training and 3 days of Cardio (Running). It's basically 2 Upper body and 2 Lower Body. The equipment I have is a Pull up bar , A bench , Dumbbells (not heavy enough for compound lifts) , a resistance band. My split currently looks something like this

    UPPER BODY PUSH UPS 4XF (F= FAILURE) NEGATIVE PULLUPS 4XF INCLINE BENCH PRESS 3XF (NOT HEAVY ENOUGH DB) INVERTED ROWS 3XF OVERHEAD PRESS 3XF LATERAL RAISES 3XF BICEP CURLS 3XF TRICEP PUSHDOWNS 3XF

    LOWER BODY SQUAT MOVEMENT (RR) HINGE MOVEMENT (RR) WEIGHTED LUNGES 3XF CALF RAISES 3XF ABS (RR) RR = REDDIT RECOMMENDED

    MONDAY - UPPER TUESDAY - LOWER WEDNESDAY - REST THEN REPEAT IT AGAIN FOR THURS , FRIDAY , SAT

    CARDIO WILL BE RUNNING FOR 3 DAYS A WEEK BASED ON RECOVERY

    ABOUT CALORIE DEFICIT MY MAINTENANCE CALORIES IS ABOUT 2700 IM AIMING FOR 2200 CALORIES AT THE START I GAVE MYSELF 3 MONTHS TO LOSE 8KG

    PLEASE TELL IF I CAN IMPROVE OR A BETTER ROUTINE (ENGLISH IS NOT MY MOTHER TONGUE SO PLEASE DON'T MIND THE MISTAKES)

    submitted by /u/sthith365
    [link] [comments]

    Form check for row and pushup

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 08:22 PM PDT

    Hi everyone I wanted to ask if you can give me feedback on my pushup and inverted row. I am really trying to focus on scapular mechanics as my physio therapist said I have scapular winging, which I have added a pic of below.

    Inverted row: https://imgur.com/gallery/dT3fRuU

    Push-up: https://imgur.com/gallery/AsLKDb7

    Scapular winging: https://imgur.com/gallery/4SN7l5X

    Please do let me know what you think. To fix the winging, the physio told me to perform rhomboid strengthening exercises. I'm doing this by doing the seated cable row but with only one arm and really focusing on squeezing my shoulder blades together to strengthen my right side. I think it's also important to note that whenever I perform the push-up or pull up, when I squeeze my shoulder blades my left one feels nice and rigid at the contraction while the right one feels much more loose and weak. Do you have other tips to help with this? I'd really appreciate your help!

    submitted by /u/ivan-the-delightful
    [link] [comments]

    Review my workout

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 07:18 PM PDT

    So I'm 16 and workout thrice a week On chest day: I do all these pushups with a 7kg dumbell in my bag except for finger and one hand pushups and 5 reps of each 1. One hand pushups (each hand 5 reps) 2.diamond pushups 3.archer pushups 4. Typewriter pushups 5.clap pushups 6.knuckle pushups 7.finger pushups After doing 5 reps I do this once more (I rest for 30 seconds between pushups)

    Back and legs: I do a total of 30 pull-ups 1.10 archer pull-ups 2.10 normal pull-ups with 4kg dumbell in my bag 3. 10 chinups

    Legs: 1. 10 one leg squats (both legs 10 reps) 2. 20 lunges with 2kg dumbell in either hand 3.20 calf raises with dumbelss

    Open to any suggestions about my workout

    submitted by /u/yashh007
    [link] [comments]

    RR feels too long, critique my adjustments

    Posted: 29 Jun 2021 01:52 AM PDT

    I'm only a couple weeks into training and focusing on keeping on muscle while on a cut. So pretty much brand new. I've been sticking to the RR and have made some nice strength gains. The issue is that I tend to gas out quickly and the workouts are taking me 1.5-2 hours to complete. Not a fan of that length.

    To try and fix things, I did some research and designed an upper lower split that fits more of my strength and aesthetic goals. I have access to is a pullup and dip station, bands, rings, and an a pair of adjustable dumbbells.

    What I designed was:

    Upper:

    • Dumbbell Overhead Press: 2x6
    • Lateral Raises: 3x15
    • Negative Dips: 3x6-12
    • Close Grip Pushups: 2x6-12
    • Pullup Negatives: 2x6-12
    • Horizontal Rows: 3x6-12

    Lower + Abs:

    • Bulgarian Split Squat: 5x8
    • Floor Slides: 5x8
    • Calve Raises: 2x15
    • Hanging Knee Raises: 3x6-12
    • Banded Pallof Press: 2x6-12

    I'm planning on doing this kind of split: Upper Lower Rest Upper Lower Rest Rest

    Please let me know if something is weird or off. The progressions shown are what I am working on currently. Should I just stick to the RR?

    submitted by /u/soyboiyeet
    [link] [comments]

    Vision fading out experience and leg excersises

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 07:45 PM PDT

    Frist of all I understand reddit is in no weay credible for professional medical advice. I'm simply looking to share my experience with vision fading and see if others have had similar experiences.

    So this pandemic got me out of the gym and not until a month and half ago I got into swimming and felt I got back into a good condition substantially as I'm now doing greater distances in the pool (2k- 1800m) . Having found happines in my results I felt adding up a body weight routine to target legs might be a good idea( I want to have better looking legs lol)

    Enter me last friday after some reserach doing a 10min warmup and then some lunges x20 and jumping squats x20 sets. I did two sets and my vision began to fade a little and I got a little cold. I tried doing two lunges and had to stop as I was definitely not feeling good. I sat and it took me half and hour to get back to a good calm state. I felt cold and a little light headed.

    Ok so perhaps I didn't eat or was dehydrated I tought. So today I ate and drank water an hour before. Just like in Friday after the warmup and the two sets my vision began to fade a little and I decided to stop there to not get in the feeling bad state.

    So...I really feel lunges and jumping squats while demanding on their own way and targeting the muscles I want are simple enough exercises right? I feel as if my legs where sucking my blood away from my head if that makes sense...is that a thing? What would you recommend as an effective light leg routine to get started? Have you had similar symptoms after exercising legs a little? Perhaps jumping squats are too aggressive? I will try without jumping this Wednesday

    submitted by /u/Pipster27
    [link] [comments]

    Beginner Exercise Advice?

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 09:06 PM PDT

    hi there everybody, I've (M20) have never been a person who has been very exercise or health conscious for my entire life. The past few years I've tried losing some weight (was around 170 a year ago) cause I wasn't content with my body and did weight and strength exercises at the gym with friends.

    After covid struck, and as a student sitting all day, I am now currently 215 pounds.

    I am extremely unhappy with my body and have reached a low point in my life. I've been trying to research good ways to begin losing weight and I have ideas of toning up my body, but my main priority is losing a lot of my weight first. There's so much information overload that I can't tell is reliable or not, and I'd love if anybody could provide any advice on how to get on track to a journey to losing this much.

    My current situation is no gym and no equipment, just some running shoes and tight workout clothes I can use. At home exercises would be ideal, but I have no idea how to even form a routine for that and how I should pace myself.

    submitted by /u/Gse_Panda
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment