Weight loss: What are things you unapologetically do not count the calories for? |
- What are things you unapologetically do not count the calories for?
- Losing the weight is like physically losing my trauma
- Woke up at my lowest weight since my freshman year of college
- Getting diagnosed with ADHD finally helped me with my weight
- Finally comfortable saying I'm over the 100 lb. milestone
- I lost 3 KGS!
- Does anyone else hate the “what’s your secret?” Question?
- Unnecessary comments from friends/family about weightloss
- Finally hit 'Healthy Weight' According to the NHS
- NSV: I listened to my body yesterday.
- PSA: If you suffer from thigh chafing / chub rub - YOU DON'T HAVE TO
- It's okay to lose weight slowly
- Has anyone here lost 80-100+ pounds and kept it off for 5+ years?
- I don't understand what's happening to me
- It’s as easy (and hard) as y’all told me it would be
- Came out of a cheat weekend weighing less than before!
- The darker side of meal prep - no points/calories left to eat up alllll the leftovers from dinner no one is eating and having anxiety over all the food waste. Anyone else?
- (Update!) Obese... no more!
- Its a hill I don't think I can climb
- Your reminder to stop and smell the roses, because weight loss is not a race
- Stuck at the same weight
- In a deficit and exercising 5 times a week and gaining weight?? Feeling really deflated and confused.
- Tantrum Tuesday - The Day to Rant!
- How to not self sabotage on the weekends
- Today I was actually able to identify when my brain was telling me to eat even though I wasn't hungry... because of the easy dopamine and contentment it would give me... But now what?
| What are things you unapologetically do not count the calories for? Posted: 28 Jun 2021 10:05 PM PDT My personal list: Onions - I literally use a sliver at a time. Or even like just the outer layer of a 1/4 cut piece that I dice and top my food with. "Garnish" veg - Parsley, green onions, microgreens etc. just no. Seasonings - this has always been silly to me Splashes of almond milk - i think i measured this once and it ended up being 3 calories Lettuce - Every time i make big salads for a meal, the lettuce calories end up being like 20-30cal. I think i burn those calories just chopping them + the other veg i add. Cucumber - water with a crunch imo Things I consider supplements: nutritional yeast, vitamin gummies - no matter what my calorie count is for the day, i dont want to not take these. and i use the nut yeast by taste. Those 2 doritos i ate at 3:00am - I swear it was only 2. and they were broken. Leafy things like a handful of spinach, cilantro, etc - these are like 10cals right a single Jalapeño - idk it seems silly to weigh just 1. i feel the same when i only eat 1 of any small thing like a strawberry, red radish, etc Garlic - a fart probably burns more calories than what a clove has Probably more that im forgetting to list.. I'm not saying these calories "don't count" or anything. I just mean that they're so insignificant to my personal calorie count that it doesn't really affect my progress whether I count it or not. Anyways I come from a background of obsessive calorie counting to the T, which wasn't sustainable for me mentally. So now I'm more relaxed not counting/weighing every single tiny thing. Doing this small thing helps my healthier way of eating feel more of a lifestyle rather than a diet. I've lost about 7lbs this month and it was my bday month too that I had a non-tracking calorie day for :-) No calorie police allowed here! I know theres going to be someone that disagrees but I promise I dont care and won't stop LOL. edit: emphasis on every time i said "personal". whats insignificant to me might be significant to u and thats valid & ok :-) u do what u want~ [link] [comments] |
| Losing the weight is like physically losing my trauma Posted: 29 Jun 2021 04:31 AM PDT Hello all! I had a thought about my weight loss journey yesterday and thought I would share. A few years back, I gained 90 lbs in 9 months due to mental health issues (for which I had to be hospitalized), weight gaining drugs, and a physically and psychologically abusive relationship. I am doing much better now, but still haven't been able to shake the weight off. I turned to binge eating for comfort. I decided since the rest of my life is going well now, it is time to focus on my physical health. I am 10 lbs down, and have 90 to go, but it's a start. After how I gained the weight, I realized that my weight truly is a manifestation of the trauma I went through. Losing it feels like the final step of healing from that trauma. [link] [comments] |
| Woke up at my lowest weight since my freshman year of college Posted: 29 Jun 2021 05:47 AM PDT F25, 5'2 SW:267 CW:209.8 GW:145 I've lost 57 lbs since last April and I kind of can't believe it. I graduated college in 2020, then completely switched gears and dove into a new field for my masters. Between a really bad home life, a terrible relationship that I allowed to push me into bad eating/lifestyle habits, and the stress eating that came with my grad applications, I had gained 30+ lbs that year. I've been lurking here for years, since I was a freshman in college around 212 lbs, and I had been trying to lose weight since middle school. I spent all of college gaining and losing the same 20-30 lbs and then that final 30+ lb gain pushed me over the edge. I left the crappy relationship, moved out and somehow managed to break out of the 20 lb cycle and get the first 57 lbs off. Now after a little more than a year of CICO, yoga and walking, I'm almost to onederland for what's probably the first time since I was in high school. I weighed myself at my bf's house and couldn't believe it, basically convinced myself his scale was busted. I went home, checked with my scale AND my roommates scale and it was right! I still have a long way to go but this subreddit has changed my life and I wanted to come out of hiding to say thank you to everyone here for sharing your progress. It makes a huge difference to see people succeeding at this so maybe this can help someone out who's just getting started like I was! [link] [comments] |
| Getting diagnosed with ADHD finally helped me with my weight Posted: 28 Jun 2021 07:20 AM PDT I was gradually gaining all my life. Not to an extrem niveau because in my country junk food isn't that accesable (it is but not the US style) and I still have some good cooking skills from home. But the quarantine hit the nail and I got to 84 kg. At the same time I got diagnosed with ADHD and started being medicated. The medication causes appetite loss for about 2 weeks, after that it is back to normal, so it isnt a weightloss drug. But the miracle - I can finally CONTROL my portions. The medis don't make me full, but they finally let me say no to the next piece of chocolate. They tell me not to quit the run after 2kms only bc I am slightly bored. They help me tell my brain 'faultierin, you are full, you dont need the second helping of this dish' In the last 3-4 months I have lost 7kgs and finally I dont feel like a quiter anymore. It is amazing how big role the brain plays in the weightloss. I am so happy, I think for the first time in 10 years I will not be overweight. [link] [comments] |
| Finally comfortable saying I'm over the 100 lb. milestone Posted: 28 Jun 2021 02:22 PM PDT This time last year, I had a major wake-up call when I was filling out the ADA paperwork to be allowed to teach my college courses remotely. My BMI (over 50 at the time) meant I was eligible for accommodations. I definitely felt some shame as I ticked the "BMI over 30" box, but what really hit me was the question that followed. For the first time in my life, I had to put in writing that I had no idea whether I was going to stay that big forever. Did I have the willpower? Unknown. Did I have a solid understanding of the challenges that I would face? Unknown. Had anything changed from the dozens of times I had tried to lose weight before? Unknown. That word..."unknown"...really hit me harder than I can explain. I wanted to circle "temporary", but I didn't because I didn't trust that I could follow through. And so I circled "unknown" and it ate at me for about a week before I decided to try to make some changes. Baby steps at first, like being mindful of what I ate and trying to make substitutions for some of my less nutritious food choices. I started weighing myself daily at the end of June 2020, and from those little changes, I started to see the weight drop off. By the end of July, I was tracking my calories and bought some hiking boots to try to get a little more movement into my weekly routine. Now, a year later, I'm 104 pounds lighter and the uncertainty is gone. My obesity is not permanent, and I KNOW that I can see this through. That's not to say that this has all been wine and roses. I have definitely had some hurdles, especially as I got closer to the 100 pound milestone. I have had significant struggles around plateaus and daily fluctuations, even though I know, rationally, that as long as I stick to my new habits, the weight will keep coming off. I know it sounds silly, but when I hit 221 pounds, I fantasized about the "weight loss fairy" showing up, congratulating me on my progress, and then magically erasing the last 60 or so pounds I still need to lose to get to a healthy BMI. (Spoiler Alert: There is no weight loss fairy, and I seem to have misplaced my "Lose 100 Pounds, Get 60 More Removed For Free" coupon somewhere.) So what has changed for me this time around?
I'm sure there's more to share, but I'll save that for the post I make when I hit my goal weight. Thanks for reading. Wherever you are in your journey, the fact that you are spending time here means that you have a desire to succeed. I KNOW you have what it takes to do it! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jun 2021 03:06 AM PDT It took me forever but I'm finally where i want to be. 😊 Still have some love handles that i want to get rid of and I'm trying to exercise to get there. I'm really happy. I know some people may say that it isn't much, and it isn't compared to others, but I'm not here to compare myself. I don't have other people to share it, but this community knows how hard it can be and how rewarding it can be. I lost 3 KGS and it's worth sharing even if that's a small win. I won't try and lose more so that i can still qualify for blood donation. F24. 160cm. Starting weight 53kgs, current and maintenance weight 50kgs. Replaced dessert with fruits such as apples and kiwis, aimed for 10 to 20 minutes of brisk walking per day, increased my water intake and vegetables intake, cut down alcohol altogether, got myself a smartwatch and tried a minimum of 8000 steps a day. Didn't do anything extreme because this is something i have to maintain, so it took me almost 4 months. English isn't my first language, sorry for any mistakes. [link] [comments] |
| Does anyone else hate the “what’s your secret?” Question? Posted: 28 Jun 2021 07:35 PM PDT I've recently lost a noticeable amount of weight (F/5'4"/280+>185) and decided to share a weight loss pic celebrating a healthier lifestyle. Now I have all sorts of people reaching out and they all seem to be asking "what's your secret?". I'm not usually one for attention so I never quite know what to say… and to me, it's not a secret and it's not complicated: I'm working out daily and eating a healthy diet. 🤷🏼♀️ When I say that to them it doesn't feel like enough for them or the answer they were "looking for". Anyone have advice on answering that question? Or even do you hate it as much as I do? Lol [link] [comments] |
| Unnecessary comments from friends/family about weightloss Posted: 29 Jun 2021 02:23 AM PDT Is it just me or does anyone else receive backhanded compliments from the people they know? I've been trying to keep my weight/fat loss progress lowkey for 2 months now. It took a great amount of discipline to workout everyday for 1-2hrs and maintaining a clean diet (with a few reward days ofc) just for friends and family members to convince me to eat more or say I look "too small" or "bad" when I lose weight. So far, i've lost 6kg. Im 5'2 btw with a now-normal bmi. I recently met up with a friend whom I havent seen in months for my small post-birthday celebration just to catch up on things. She blurts out of nowhere sayin, "Wow you look like you lost alot of weight! Did you starve yourself this week for a week to achieve that?" I kinda thought that was very insensitive and inappropriate comment. What were the comments people have single-backhandedly complimented you on your weight loss and how did you respond? [link] [comments] |
| Finally hit 'Healthy Weight' According to the NHS Posted: 29 Jun 2021 06:06 AM PDT Been overweight ever since 13 because of my dad passing away causing stress eating and 6 months ago I was at 98kg (probs 100 by the time I got to losing my weight) Starved myself for literally days at a time and lost 25kg then rebounded to 90. In the last 3 months with the help of this subreddit and r/Volumeeating (along with youtubers focusing on volume eating) I managed to lose another 25kg and am down to 66kg :) going for 62 or 63 now but mainly trying to lean gain at the gym. Wildly inaccurate NHS calculator screenshot - https://imgur.com/L1Muk7K Obligatory before and after (the before is from my 80kg milestone as I was too self conscious at the start to take a before) // Before - https://imgur.com/a/0g8kysN After - https://imgur.com/a/TYUjZZc Now a long way to go to build up my body and become healthy again (and to also get rid of that last bit of weirdly shaped belly and make my torso more aesthetic) Also random thing but for some reason I grew a bit over an inch in height after losing weight, if anyone has any idea why I'd love to know as I had stopped growing by 15 so idk where that came from but it was definitely a bonus :D [link] [comments] |
| NSV: I listened to my body yesterday. Posted: 29 Jun 2021 07:18 AM PDT I'd been in my deficit for about three weeks and been stuck at the same weight for about two of them. Frustrating! Yesterday I was just having a hungry day. I just wanted to eat. A lot. Because I have a history of binge eating disorder I can recognize when my body is feeling really deprived and when I need to eat more on a single day to help my mental psyche cope with the deficit. This means a slower weight loss, but after bingeing for weeks on end it's worth it to keep my mindset in the right place. I made the decision to eat more. I know it goes against a lot of what this group stands for but from a mental health perspective it's exactly what I needed. I ate over my TDEE, I got takeout from Buffalo Wild Wings and then I had a bowl of ice cream. The cool thing about that though is that it was delicious, I enjoyed myself and now the next day I can proudly say I honored my hunger cues and didn't binge eat. This morning I'm ready to go again at my deficit, I'm feeling good about my decision and I'm mentally in a good place, which is not something I can say of my previous weight loss attempts. Yes, the scale was up two pounds this morning, but in my opinion that's a small price to pay for my mental health. Long story short, don't feel like you always need to deny yourself. If you're really and truly hungry, please eat. From someone who has spent years recovering from binge eating disorder, having a meal that tastes good and protects your mental health. [link] [comments] |
| PSA: If you suffer from thigh chafing / chub rub - YOU DON'T HAVE TO Posted: 28 Jun 2021 08:17 AM PDT I commented about this recently in someone's post, but I think the subject deserves a top-level post. I know many of you know how to deal with this already, but it can be an embarrassing topic, and because of that I think often people suffer in silence and assume nothing can be done about it anyway. This is for all of you out there who need this knowledge! Chafing is NOT an inevitable side effect of fat thighs, and you can prevent it and allow yourself to walk comfortably and without pain or injury. Some suggestions here: https://www.cosmopolitan.com/style-beauty/beauty/g10324670/anti-chafing-products-thighs-nipples/ I haven't tried all of those, but I personally have used Body Glide and it is amazing - I have never had a chafing problem when I've applied Body Glide in advance. You just roll it on like deodorant. I have also used the shortlettes from Undersummers, and they've been very comfortable and effective for this. Walking is such wonderful exercise with so many benefits - don't think that you have to lose weight first before you can really get into it. If chafing is stopping you from walking more, this is a problem with a solution! Edited to add: I was hoping this would kick off a good group discussion with lots of helpful tips, and I see it has! You guys are the best! 💕 [link] [comments] |
| It's okay to lose weight slowly Posted: 28 Jun 2021 01:43 PM PDT I weighed myself this morning and I'm really sad that I'm 219 again (for reference, I'm a 23yr old 5'3 female) But it's important to remind ourselves that weight loss takes time and that it's okay to lose weight slowly. I was losing weight fast and dropped down from 229lbs to 184lbs about two years ago. I was sort of miserable though, constantly weighing my food and praying I was under 1200kcals, though preferably 1100kcals daily, and I think that's what made me lose control. I thought about beating myself down with the scale again and it put me off so much. I have mental health issues, so I'm sure some of my peers can understand how difficult it is to not eat your feelings out to feel better and suppress the pain away. I currently cut my mother off from my life and I don't have any family here aside from my SO. With the previous knowledge I have, I promise to be good to myself and slowly reach my goal weight. I shouldn't be too hard on myself if I slip up here and there because I'm only human and am bound to make mistakes every now and then. I'm still going to weigh my food, but give myself a 1500kcal limit daily and make my way to the gym for daily walking. Hopefully I'll gradually do weight lifting and cardio, but I'm not going to overwhelm myself and stop because of being overwhelmed. I'm thankful for this community here, as we're all supporting each other. I guess it's important to remind ourselves that slow progress is okay, so long as we keep ourselves accountable. I just want to be happy. Plain and simply happy. I'll slowly get there! [link] [comments] |
| Has anyone here lost 80-100+ pounds and kept it off for 5+ years? Posted: 28 Jun 2021 11:54 PM PDT Wondering what your experiences are. Have you lost weight and kept it off? Apparently research has shown that a high percentage of people regain the weight they lose - which was the case for me after losing a significant amount of weight as a teen. I'm on my second time around in my 30s and I'm going very slow and steady. I know 'sustainability' is the key... But also our relationships with foods are so hard to shift at all, especially when they're ingrained when we're so young! I am 32 years old, female, 5'7", and 185 pounds. Goal weight is 145-155, highest weight 248. I lost 60+ pounds through intermittent fasting, walking, jogging, and yoga. My weight has been yo-yoing for the past year. It was down to 177 last September, but it's been up and down since then. I know I could be more consistent with IF and exercise, but I'm still figuring out a realistic exercise routine with my busy schedule and figuring out other eating issues, like overeating some days, etc. I'm wondering if other people have lost 80+ pounds and kept it off for 5+ years (although, maybe those people don't use a resource like this sub!) [link] [comments] |
| I don't understand what's happening to me Posted: 29 Jun 2021 01:20 AM PDT I want to share with you a very stressful moment of my life, I have been losing weight for more than a year now, I managed to create good eating habits and I lost more than 120 lb, I was sure I had left all my bad habits behind. In the last month, however, everything went badly, I started eating a lot of junk food, I probably consume more than 4000 Kcal per day, I eat until I feel bad. Every night I tell myself that this is the last time but the next day it's like my brain goes out, I find myself on various delivery apps ordering food that does nothing but intoxicate me and make me feel bad, as well as ruin all the work I've done in the last year. The thing is now it's different because I know exactly what I'm eating and why I shouldn't eat it but I still behave this way, I do not understand what is happening to me but I am seriously afraid that I have not learned anything in the last year and that I will end up losing everything I have achieved. I would like to ask you if you have found yourself in such situations and if this is the case, how did you manage to get out of it? [link] [comments] |
| It’s as easy (and hard) as y’all told me it would be Posted: 28 Jun 2021 03:15 PM PDT I (6ft M) graduated highschool 10 years ago, weighing 170 and in tip top shape courtesy of basketball and not having a car (so I had to walk everywhere). Long story short, I got up to 245 and didn't realize how big I was until seeing myself in a picture with my friends that I thought I was the same size as. You all were so annoying with "caloric deficit", blah blah. But I am now down from 245 to 218 in 3.5 months with my only two changes being 1) calorie counting, and 2) subbing out most of my heavy weightlifting for simply walking on a treadmill at an incline. Somebody said "nobody is impressed with the moderately strong fat guy" and that has been my motto this year. This post is half "go me, I'm halfway to my goal" but mostly it's "thank you for giving me my energy/confidence/life back". Best of luck to all of you! [link] [comments] |
| Came out of a cheat weekend weighing less than before! Posted: 28 Jun 2021 08:02 AM PDT I had a huge cheat weekend where I ate portions way larger than what I usually eat and really overdid it on simple carb heavy foods. I definitely don't regret it; I'm moving out of state in a few days and wanted to have all of my favorite local foods before I go. However, I was super anxious to step on the scale this morning for my weekly weigh in. I knew that what was done is done and I had to live with the consequences, but I was still afraid to see that number go up. However, I was shocked to see that I was down 4 lbs, finally making it to onederland and over halfway to my GW! I'm absolutely over the moon, and just wanted to share with people who understand! :) [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jun 2021 04:09 AM PDT I don't cook really unhealthy dinners so it's not that the food is all super caloric, but I have to make enough for if the husband and kids actually decide to eat it. If they don't, I end up with a fridge full of leftovers. If I don't meal prep, I can work it into my allowance for lunch, but also if I don't meal prep, it's harder to stay on track. This would all be so much easier if I only had to worry about feeding myself and not fickle small children and a SO! When I'm on track, I go from being the family garbage disposal/waste prevention eater to "Somebody has to eat this! SO EAT LEFTOVERS!" which is also not fun. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Jun 2021 08:35 AM PDT I got on the scale this morning and I weighed in at exactly 200.0 pounds. Putting my age, height, and new weight into a BMI calculator put it at 29.5. It is official, I am no longer obese. This comes just one day before my birthday, so I could not have asked for a better gift to myself! I cannot remember the last time I was not at a BMI over thirty. My strategy has been pretty simple; Use this website: https://www.calculator.net/calorie-calculator.html to figure out how many calories I should be eating to lose or maintain a certain amount of weight, then use MyFitnessPal to watch the numbers of the meals I eat throughout the week. I also have been exercising several times a week (mostly weight training and some rucking). My weekend landscaping job probably helps me burn some too. If I can do it, you can! You've got this! [link] [comments] |
| Its a hill I don't think I can climb Posted: 28 Jun 2021 03:32 PM PDT I love all the positive stories on here and I am happy for every milestone achieved and everyone else's success. I want to say they motivate me and make me want to do better but I don't know if I ever can. It feels insurmountable, years and years of work, of sacrifice. I am morbidly obese, I am 5ft3 and have a BMI of 43. I reached out to my Dr today for help/support/hope... I don't know, I reached out. I was just told again that I need to simply eat less, exercise more. Sound so easy but it's not, its hard! In the last 10 years do you not think I have considered this. The solution is so simple, why can't I just do it. All I hear is my Mother again telling me I'm a fat and useless and will never amount to anything. I hear the boyfriend who told me no one could possibly love someone like me, no one likes fat people. I remember the article I read about how slim people are more successful. I remember all the times I religiously counted calories but still gained weight. I look at around me, at the people I see and can only think of how disgusting I am. Obesity is a mental health crisis, food makes me happy. Sometimes it feels like the only thing that can, when I "diet" all I can think about is food and spend every second obsessing over how the only time I'm happy is when I'm eating. I am too ashamed to go to the gym or exercise in the outside, I'm pretty much too ashamed to go outside. I've tried calorie counting, legal and illegal weight loss drugs. I've tried ignoring it, I've tried positive behaviour changes, yoga, meditation, I've sought therapy and I don't know what else to do. I reached out to a medical professional because I'm desperate to do something to break the cycle... ... Just eat less and exercise more, simple right?!? So why do I keep failing, why can't I just be better. I tried to explain my depression, anxiety, ADHD, impulses control issues but it was a 10 min appointment and what does all that stuff really matter anyway /s You know... ...Just eat less and exercise more... If you have got this far, thanks for listening to my rant. I'll try and reset for tomorrow and do better and screw everyone who thinks it's easy. Edit: I went to sleep last night after posting this and woke up feeling pretty rubbish about everything, the outpouring of advice and support I have received have really turned my day around and it's only 8am. I didn't get one nasty message from anyone, not even sliding into my DMs which I feel is an achievement all by itself. [link] [comments] |
| Your reminder to stop and smell the roses, because weight loss is not a race Posted: 28 Jun 2021 10:43 AM PDT I know this comes up frequently, but I had a few thoughts I wanted to share regarding the SPEED of weight loss. When I first began my weight loss journey, I downloaded my little food tracker and scale apps and plugged in my goal weight and weekly deficit and they both spit out a little "projected goal date." This felt HUGE to me at first - I kept staring at that date, imagining myself at that point of the year that many pounds lighter. It actually lined up perfectly with a camping trip I have planned so I really clung to this idea that that weekend I could be thin and happy in my swimsuit in front of my friends. As I continued updating my daily weights, that projected date would fluctuate a few days sooner/later depending on my rate of weight loss. I was never SUPER stressed about it, I understood that it was always a rough estimate and that if I was a couple lbs over my goal at that point that was obviously still a win. But I was still VERY MUCH focused on getting to my goal weight as fast as possible (within reason/in a healthy way, you know what I mean). But I started losing weight back in January, when the US was still very much locked down in quarantine. I was working from home, it was freezing outside and I was unable to really do anything or see anyone besides my partner. Because of this, I was very much in a weight loss "bubble." I had pretty much total control over what food would be in front of me every day. Sure, there might be some junk food in the house or I could overdo it on portions of healthy food if I didn't have good self-control, but all my meals centered around what I chose to prepare. Because of this, my little projected weight loss date continued to stay more or less right on track. I was losing at a good clip, about 7-8 lbs a month. And then... my situation changed. People started getting vaccinated, the weather got warm, and my world opened up. I mean, it was thrilling and exactly what we had all been hoping for the past year. But from the perspective of my weight loss journey, it was a huge adjustment! I had maintained from the beginning that I never wanted to be that person that can't enjoy food. We've all known that person that constantly whines about their diet, or loudly bemoans how they can't have a piece of cake at a party or whatever. I knew that for my long-term success, I needed room in my diet to live my life. To eat a plate of food at a barbecue, to have a couple beers on a warm night on a friend's balcony. So I had to adapt. I started going to gatherings more regularly and while I wouldn't binge, I didn't restrict myself to celery or whatever - I enjoyed the hell out of cheese platters and grilled meats and other tasty stuff. And I saw that projected goal date getting further and further away. But I've also continued to see the average on the scale go down. Yup, it's slower. Sometimes I have a week or two now where I bounce around between the same 3 lbs and don't really make "progress." But I have such a different outlook on success at this point. Success is that I spent a whole weekend seeing friends and family I've been missing for the past year, enjoying delicious food and having a drink in the summer sunshine without feeling shitty about my body. Because the thing is, I've already lost about 35 lbs. In the beginning, I was so laser-focused on just getting to my goal weight as fast as possible that I fully neglected to realize that even part of the way there would still feel amazing. I never thought about how GREAT it would feel to essentially have a "joyride" in my body even before my goal weight! Like yup, I still want to drop some pounds, and get more buff... but my body has absolutely noticeably changed, clothes fit better, and I'm having a blast getting compliments from folks and living my best hot girl summer life NOW even if I'm not "finished." So I just wanted to give a shoutout to reframing your expectations around the speed of weight loss. I see a lot of posts about how slow and steady wins the race, which is valid, but I want to also plug that YOUR RATE OF WEIGHT LOSS CAN FLUCTUATE, and that's not only okay but also potentially a great thing! If you're losing slower, or maintaining, or even gaining a little, all because you're enjoying the shit out of your life? You're a goddamn champion. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jun 2021 07:06 AM PDT Started my journey in November 2020. The first 30 lbs just melted off till. I've been eating at or under my calorie goal (2100) for the past 3 weeks and going to the gym at least 4x a week. I look so much better than when I started but I'm really frustrated. I understand that weight loss is not a linear process but why have I been stuck for the last 3 weeks at the same weight of 178lbs. It's frustrating and disappointing. I guess this is a plateau I just didn't expect to hit one so early in my journey. I want to get down to 156 lbs. I am getting enough protein and take few supplements like Zinc and Multivitamins. Male/5'11/SW:209lbs/CW:178/GW:156 Please help me with this. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 29 Jun 2021 03:45 AM PDT Hi guys, I made this account specifically to post this because Google has yielded nothing but the usual generic, useless results. I should start by saying I'm 22F and currently 19 stone 7 pounds. I've been doing this for a month now and I lost half a stone in the first two weeks and nothing has changed since. I'm onto my third week of the scale just going up and down between 19.8 and 19.10 and it's driving me bloody crazy. I am ABSOLUTELY in a deficit. I have checked this time and time again against multiple TDEE calculators. I currently eat 2000 cals a day and that's actually a couple hundred lower than most sites recommend as my deficit. I'm not starving myself either, I eat a comfortable amount. I have counted absolutely everything to the last gram. I have a treat meal once a week but that's it. I do half an hour of cardio Monday to Friday (usually either jogging or swimming). I'm just confused. I'm not a beginner and I'm not naive enough to think I'm putting fat on because that's just impossible, but I read that gaining muscle whilst losing fat is very rare so its unlikely? could be BS though idk. Basically can someone help me understand what the hell is currently going on with my body?? I feel like this shouldn't be happening after 2 weeks as a morbidly obese person, the weight should be falling off. I just feel really down because I'm working so hard and feel like I'm getting nowhere. EDIT: thank you so much for the comments guys! It means the world to me in a moment of self-doubt. I have so many things I could try now and I feel a lot more educated on what's currently happening with my body. I appreciate the advice! [link] [comments] |
| Tantrum Tuesday - The Day to Rant! Posted: 29 Jun 2021 06:12 AM PDT I Rant, Therefore I Am Well bla-de-da-da! What's making your blood boil? What's under your skin? What's making you see red? What's up in your craw? Let's hear your weight loss related rants! The rant post is a /u/bladedada production. Please consider saving your next rant for this weekly thread every Tuesday. [link] [comments] |
| How to not self sabotage on the weekends Posted: 29 Jun 2021 05:57 AM PDT Hey y'all! A bit of background- i'm 22F, 5'9", 171lbs and have previously lost 100lbs over 2 years. I've maintained a range around 171-173 for a year now and want to finally get down to 165. Currently working out 3x a week. My question is, I tend to do really well with eating and IF during the week. I'll see the scale go down every day and a few times I've gotten down past 170! BUT...then I loosen up on the weekends. I'm not gaining weight due to weekend eating, but the bloating and water weight will put me back to 171 on Monday and it makes me demotivated and then takes longer for me to get back down to where I was. So, do y'all have any tips to keep it lighter on the weekends and reign yourself in? I know the greatest tip would be to be more disciplined but I figured I'd give it a shot and see what y'all say! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Jun 2021 06:10 PM PDT A big trigger for me is sitting down and watching Netflix while eating after a long day. And trust me I would be on that couch for the full hour and then some, snacking through the episode(s). Now that I'm eating healthier and paying attention to my body, that's not happening. Since my meals are appropriately balanced and no longer these prolonged king feasts, i'm not receiving those beautiful hits of dopamine that comes from easy consumption lol So what happens is, 15 minutes into the show I'm left with this "well, now what?" feeling. I started thinking about my hobbies but when I realized I actually had to work for that dopamine, my mind and body say "eat junk food instead, eat junk food instead, eat junk food instead" My brain is in for some major rewiring and it is fighting me every step of the way. How do you to tell your mind "look, it's not all about food, other things make me feel content too," Hope this made sense! [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment