• Breaking News

    Sunday, June 27, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-27

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-27


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-27

    Posted: 26 Jun 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Sunday Show Off - Because it's perfectly fine to admit you're also doing bodyweight fitness to do cool tricks in front of people!

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 12:52 AM PDT

    Have you taken any recent pics of those sweet gains, your human flag, or those handstands off the wall you're finally holding?

    Do you have other bodyweight fitness accomplishments you've made and want the world to know about because your friends and family can't appreciate how hard L-sit progressions are??

    This is the thread for you to share all that and inspire others at the same time! I'm talking about another S-S-SU-SUNDAY SHOW OFF!!

    Note that we aren't limiting you to what we're discussing on the FAQ. Show us anything that blew your mind the moment you realized you had it. This may include aspects of: gymnastics, climbing, parkour, weight loss/gain, posture, etc. They are all more than welcome in this thread.


    We also want to remind you that we've been sharing your content on @redditbwf on both Instagram and Twitter. Help us grow our sub's social media in order to reach out to non-Redditors across these other platforms!


    Last week's Show Off thread

    Check out some of the previous Sunday Show Off threads for more inspiration! Archives here.

    As always, many of us are on Discord and would love to meet our BWF brothers and sisters, wherever you're from!


    Want to motivate yourself further? Use our member locator and workout map resource in our sidebar to form a local workout group in your area!

    submitted by /u/Solfire
    [link] [comments]

    It seems like Im getting bigger/stronger but stay the same weight

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 03:05 AM PDT

    Im going to take you through my calisthenics journey in the past months.

    Around september last year I was around 67kg and I was pretty weak - 15pull ups, one leg fl. Then I trained my brains out and around january I was 72kg. I looked at lot more muscular and was a lot stronger - half assed oac/oap, straddle fl. All seems fairly logical - I got stronger, bigger and put on a few kg all at the same time.

    Then around april/may I got a lot better at FL and managed to do a full hold for a few seconds in good form. I even almost could do a full ROM row. But I was still at 72kg and didn't look visibly stronger. Which was strange. After that I got ill and I lost a lot of power and muscle mass.

    And now in June Im at 70~71kg and I have almost regained all my FL strenght plus that I started training HS pushups and planche and have become a lot stronger in these moves. My arms and shoulders seem bigger too.

    This is really confusing for me. Im both stronger and more muscular BUT have lost weight? I've had the same amount of body fat since sept. I've always had trouble eating enough, only when I jumped from 67 to 72 was I able to eat properly. Is this normal or is my weight an indicator that Im undereating and hindering my progress?

    submitted by /u/Juan-punch_man
    [link] [comments]

    How can I fix my year long forward head posture?

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 07:16 AM PDT

    Hello, I am 23 years old and for many years I've had a really bad forward head posture.

    It started as me being introverted and rather staying at home with my head hunched forward to my video games or computer screen.

    Now I've had this issue for probably at least 12~ years now, I can't remember if I had this head posture before the age of 11~10 but regardless it started getting worse since then.

    It got worse consistently, and starting around the age of 14~ years , simple walks would lead to my back hurting more and more as I age, due to what I assume to be my back carrying all weight of the forward posture of my head.

    All this is getting worse and worse and these past years and months I can't even sit somewhere for a long time without something supporting my back.

    My self esteem is not great and I can't look at any pictures of myself which show me from the side.

    Since I am in my 20s now I don't want to grow even older without fixing this problem, it affects my sleep, workouts, social life and I don't think its healthy to keep on living like that.

    After walks I have really uncomfortable pains, mainly in my upper back, but in general I would say that I have back pains in the upper and lower area (lower often after sleep).

    Does anyone have any similar experience with such a long head posture problem and are there any good videos or exercises which can help with fixing this problem, and also how long would it take for something like a 10+ year old head posture to turn into a "normal" posture.

    My back is leaned forward only slightly, the main problem is my head posture.

    I once went to a doctor because of a problem related to my head posture, I had an uncomfortable feeling in my throat/neck, the doctor said that its due to my head posture, but he just prescribed me a muscle relaxant but I don't think that will solve my problem.

    Regarding exercises I once tried one thing, I did it as shown in the video and the next days I had horrible back pains so I never tried it again and don't believe this method really helpful.

    I would really appreciate any recommendations for videos guides exercises which could help me with my head posture.

    Thanks:)

    submitted by /u/throwaywayneck
    [link] [comments]

    Finally I can do a push-up

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 11:00 AM PDT

    Following quite a while of strenuous preparing, I can at long last take my 200lb body off the ground without precedent for my life. I know it's anything but much, however it feels so great to realize I'm getting more grounded. I simply needed to share this where I will not get snickered at for something so modest.

    Alter: I am totally overpowered by the appreciation here. I simply need everybody to realize I like everybody's acceptable energies! What's more, to the individuals who are as yet battling, I know it's intense. Continue onward! We as a whole will get the outcomes we need!

    Alter 2: WOW!!! I wish I had the opportunity to answer to everybody one of you! I like every one of the celebrations and the gold! This truly implies a ton to me, this string has instructed me to not be embarrassed about my own achievements. This string has instructed me that there's as yet humane individuals on the planet. In particular, this string has instructed me that a ton of us go through these things. It's simply human to feel glad! By and by, THANK YOU ALL! I trust everybody had a pleasant thanksgiving and are proceeding with an extraordinary end of the week!

    submitted by /u/Legal_Raspberry_3447
    [link] [comments]

    Lower body training rest days?

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 11:13 AM PDT

    Well I am currently dealing with shoulder impingement on my left shoulder so I can not train my upperbody at the moment.

    Therefore I want to get my lower body as strong as possible.

    On 6/24 I started a squat program on that day I did 200 air squats.

    On 6/26 I came back and did 200 air squats and 50 deep body squats down to the floor.

    My question is should I take a rest day today I currently feel sore in my quads but its not bad. Now my buttocks is pretty damn sore. Also my ankle was sore squatting however it is not sore at the moment.

    Lastly what are some exercises I should mix in to get my legs and core strong.

    Age: 24

    Wt: 175

    submitted by /u/catchingsmokebandit
    [link] [comments]

    Routine Critique

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 11:10 AM PDT

    Guys, this platform has been such a blessing since I started Calisthenics. Lockdown has really ruined my progress (although very little) and I'm literally starting from ground zero again. After almost a year of not working out I have updated my routine. Thought I'd post it here to see what others think. This is only for the upper body phase:

    Tuesday:

    A: Weighted Pull Ups (15kg) + Feet elevated (20inch box) Pike Push Ups

    B: FL Pulls + L-sit to tuck Planche swings

    Supplementary: Incline DB Curls + Dips/Skull Crushers/Tricep Extensions

    Friday:

    A: FL Rows + PPPUs

    B: Weighted Pull Ups (7.5kg) + Feet elevated (10inch box) Pike Push Ups

    Supplementary: Eccentric Pelican Curls (Rings) + Dips/Skull Crushers/Tricep Extensions

    On both days I finish with some compression work. And if I have time I'd do some leg raises or leave them for the end of a leg day.

    Note: I do legs on Monday and Thursday. The reason as to why I do FL Rows + PPPUs first thing in my Friday workout, in contrast to my Monday workout, is because I find FL Rows and PPPUs much harder than FL Pulls and L-sit to tuck Planche swings. So I do them first whilst I am 100% fresh and make my weighted pull ups + Pike push ups a bit less intense than Monday. I feel like I can get away with a higher intensity on Monday, in regards to weighted pull ups and Pike push up and still be able to push myself on the FL Pulls + L-sit to tuck Planche swings. With the PPPUs the aim is to get to a point where my feet are floating at the bottom of the movement as shown by Mantiscalisthenics .

    Also, I've gained quite a bit of weight over the last year. I've gone from 77kg to 81kg, so I am finding these exercises slightly harder. But I can still hold a 10s adv. tuck FL which is a similar hold time to prior to lockdown. However, my Planche has suffered A LOT! I went from a 10s tuck Planche to a 4s one, and I really struggle in getting my legs compressed to my chest so there is a clear gap between my legs and the floor.

    Thanks in advance for all your comments and advice 💪🏾.

    submitted by /u/SenshiBB7
    [link] [comments]

    Is BWF and the RR right for me at 52?

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 09:11 AM PDT

    Male, 52 (in Sept.), 5'11", 178 lbs. Not fat. But not tight either. Used to be a soccer/hockey player. Been mountain biking a lot lately but noticing my 33" waist pants are feeling tight when I sit down.

    I want to lose the muffin top on my sides and belly button, and tighten up. Also have noticed a loss in chest and arm size and upper body strength in the last 10 years.

    I want to get stronger and rebuild some muscle and lose the flab. I don't care about doing cool tricks.

    "Am I too old", I guess is my basic question, and if not, is the RR the right place to start for me?

    submitted by /u/GoodsVT
    [link] [comments]

    How's my routine?

    Posted: 26 Jun 2021 10:47 PM PDT

    New to calisthenics. My routine has been 3 sets of 6-12 dips, bodyweight rows, pseudoplanche pushups, pullups, pike pushups and then I end with chin ups. After that I do some core exercises - I do ab wheel for 3 sets of 12 and hanging knee raises for 3 sets of 12.

    Once I can do an exercise for 3 sets of 12, I move on to a new progression or I add weight.

    I do this routine 3 days a week and I do some cardio on my rest days. I also do some skill training for about 15 minutes before my workouts.

    How's my routine? Anything I should add. I was thinking of upping it up to 4 sets of each, and switching my ab workout to my rest days.

    submitted by /u/Cricket_Excellent
    [link] [comments]

    HEALTH AND FITNESS 2021

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 06:08 AM PDT

    Keeping fit and healthy, both physically and mentally, has never been more of a paramount concern than as the Coronavirus pandemic rages on.

    In spring 2020, the majority of us were relegated to our homes to work (and play) after the government enforced its first set of lockdown restrictions. The guidelines stated that people should stay at home where possible and only leave for activities such as shopping for necessities, going to work if you can't do so from home, meeting a support or childcare bubble, and exercising once a day as gyms and leisure centers closed their doors.

    CLICK HERE TO GET FIT

    As result, we took to transforming our living rooms and bedrooms into our very own at-home gyms, complete with skipping ropes, yoga mats, and dumbbells. Last year, the E-commerce Times reported that sales of dumbbells during the 2020 lockdown period increased by 1,980 percent

    As the months of lockdown, restrictions have continued, people have used virtual workouts, courtesy of fitness companies such as Barry's Bootcamp, Psycle, FRAME, and Kobox, to fill their spare time and find a new work/life balance. Pret trips for afternoon coffees and post-office runs have been replaced with HIIT sessions, pilates, and meditation apps. Research from Mintel states that 80% of all online adults took some sort of exercise during the Covid-19 restrictions of the spring and summer, with 74% of those aged 16-24 exercising at home.

    The gyms and leisure centers finally open, as of April 12, 2021, many of us are now left contemplating when (if at all) we'll head back to the gym and if we do, how we'll take the lessons we've learned over the last year back into the studio. As a result, we've rounded up the workouts and fitness trends you can look forward to sweating, and smiling, your way through to ensure your mind and body are in top condition.

    submitted by /u/myfitness2108
    [link] [comments]

    Routine Critique!

    Posted: 26 Jun 2021 08:52 PM PDT

    Need some routine critique please and thanks. Heavily edited from the recommended routine! Trying my best to incorporate weights.

    Monday:

    Squat - 3x8 Romanian Deadlift - 3x8 Pike Push-Up - 3x8 Incline Row - 3x5 PPPU - 3x5 Weighted Dip - 3x5 Weighted Pull-Up - 3x5 Dead Hang - 3x30s Hanging Leg Raise - 3x8 Farmer Walks - 3x25m

    Wednesday:

    Deadlift - 3x8 Front Squat - 3x8 Overhead Press - 3x8 Incline Row - 3x5 PPPU - 3x5 Weighted Dip - 3x5 Weighted Pull-Up - 3x5 Dead Hang - 3x30s Hanging Leg Raise - 3x8 Farmer Walks - 3x25m

    Friday:

    Squat - 3x8 Romanian Deadlift - 3x8 Pike Push-Up - 3x8 Incline Row - 3x5 PPPU - 3x5 Weighted Dip - 3x5 Weighted Pull-Up - 3x5 Dead Hang - 3x30s Hanging Leg Raise - 3x8 Farmer Walks - 3x25m

    Note: The routines aren't ordered how I am planning to perform them and aren't paired correctly yet as I have yet to work it out fully. I am also keen on including bench pressing somewhere but I am afraid it'll be too much volume or too much pushing movements.

    submitted by /u/Prosper_T1
    [link] [comments]

    Looking to get into bwf, beginner questions

    Posted: 26 Jun 2021 08:52 PM PDT

    Hey all, hope you're having a good one. So I just had a few questions. I've lurked around here and some other subreddits for a bit and I've found good info from you all about things like losing weight and somebody said once for that, it's like 80% diet and 20% working out. But where I'm at, I'm looking to lose weight and gain muscle(if that's even possible) but I'm not looking to going to a gym or running. I'd buy a bike and put money towards things I need for home workouts. But I'm trying to avoid a membership at a gym. I am a male, 26 5"7 and 169 lbs(biggest I've been) But most of my weight is fat. I'm not too big but also I am uncomfortable with my body. Without too much ranting, I would just like to feel the benefits of taking care of myself as I've heard a million times how highly you all speak of good sleep, drinking water. Yanno working out and trying to be better than you were the day before. So I definitely believe there's truth to it and I'd like to feel better too and experience those things. The main thing holding me back was a concrete direction to push in. And because I'm doing this by myself and no buddy's want to. I just don't want to go the wrong way or make mistakes.(bad form, bad rest, exercises etc.) So what I wanted to ask you, was do you follow any YouTube videos? How do you stretch? How long do you rest and how many days on/days off and which of those days would be legs, arms, full body workouts yanno.. Also how are you eating and do you find a strict diet or intermittent fasting super important? Would you consider that important for me trying to lose weight and gain muscle? Could you help me? Anything is greatly appreciated and I don't expect to have it all figured out right away. I've worked out in the past for a few weeks at a time, but I would love for something to just stick to me and really grow over the next few months. Physically, mentally and emotionally. Thanks all :)

    Tldr: I'm looking to get into bwf, and I am looking for help in what direction to go, I'd like to avoid gyms, pull up bars and L-sit rails etc. Stick to gravity to begin with and use the floor/table.. I am trying to lose weight and gain muscle. Also I need a routine, maybe diet help, and stretch techniques or videos so I won't hurt myself or tear something. Ty for reading and any help

    submitted by /u/its_ya_crown
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment