• Breaking News

    Monday, April 5, 2021

    Weight loss: From 226 lbs to 134 lbs, it was possible four years ago because of this subreddit. I'm now 164 lbs and overweight, posting this to keep myself accountable because I'm going to get healthy again this year.

    Weight loss: From 226 lbs to 134 lbs, it was possible four years ago because of this subreddit. I'm now 164 lbs and overweight, posting this to keep myself accountable because I'm going to get healthy again this year.


    From 226 lbs to 134 lbs, it was possible four years ago because of this subreddit. I'm now 164 lbs and overweight, posting this to keep myself accountable because I'm going to get healthy again this year.

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 03:42 AM PDT

    I am now restarting my journey. While my first journey helped me become aware of calories in and calories out, helped me take out softdrinks away from my entire lifestyle, it did introduced me to new healthier way of eating. However, I fell down again and was able to gain weight after reaching 139 lbs.

    My number one enemy right now are sweets. Before I decided to lose weight, I hated sweets (except for softdrinks). It's only when I lost the weight, it might have "unlocked" my love for sweets. I now love cakes. I now love pastries. I now love frappuccinos. I NOW LOVE ICE CREAMS. Now, I'm going to limit that.

    In fact, the main reason I joined Reddit and how I discovered it is because of /r/loseit as you can see in my username. It's time to be a Calorie_Killer_G again for this year and hopefully end the year with a healthier weight and a healthier lifestyle. We got this everyone. We can do this!

    submitted by /u/Calorie_Killer_G
    [link] [comments]

    I'M OFFICIALLY UNDER 200 POUNDS

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 07:52 AM PDT

    This morning i weighed in at 198 pounds since starting my weight loss journey since January 29th. Spent the last 3 years trying to lose weight but ended up gaining 18 kg from Oct 2019 - Last year September. I basically maintained my weight even though I was constantly trying to lose weight through ridiculous diets. It feels surreal that I'm even losing weight cuz since forever, I subconsciously accepted i would be the big girl but it turns out, I'm not going to be. Oh and as of Jan 29th, I weighed in at 216 pounds, still have 48+ more pounds to go to reach my goal weight but I'm proud of my little progress.

    submitted by /u/Humble_Marzipan_3258
    [link] [comments]

    I Lost ~15 Pounds. I am now 7 pounds away from being in TwonderLand.

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 06:46 PM PDT

    I started a weight loss challenge with my co-workers/friends. Most people lost steam around the first month (60 days total) but myself and another girl have kept it going. I am officially down from 322 to 307!!! If I keep this up I am going to be 299 in a few weeks and I am so excited.

    We end on the 10th this month, so I just have to keep losing to win!!!

    But most of all, even if I don't win the money, I finally have hope I can beat the weight. It has been such a depressing yo-yo. I have not binged in a month, I have not craved coffee. When I did finally have some the other day, I had a small and didn't even want to finish it. :3

    I am not having cheat days, because I feel like that would make enough of an excuse to go back. At least for me. Some people can handle that sort of thing, once I get back on the binge train we are forever gone.

    But most of all, I honestly think I can get down to the weight I was before I was assaulted. And it's an amazing feeling for people to see, know I have worked hard, and say "you look great. Good job. Keep it up." I FEEL great.

    submitted by /u/Winiri
    [link] [comments]

    262lbs to 190lbs, officially a healthy BMI for the firs time

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 01:27 PM PDT

    Front View

    Side View

    Today I hit my goal of 190lbs and a healthy BMI, although I'm not finished losing yet I still want to share my progress. Cause believe me, if I could lose this much then anyone can.

    I started my weight loss journey in October 2019, back then I was at my heaviest being 262lbs and around 33% bodyfat. I started with a keto diet for the first couple months since my friend suggested it and it worked for him, after a couple months I switched to just a normal calorie deficit diet. after about a year of only dieting I got a gym membership and started taking things more seriously. I now go 5-6 days a week focusing on a different muscle group each day, while also trying to get at least 10k steps each day on my Fitbit.

    The biggest challenge I've faced with my weight loss has just been the mental side of it. It gets exhausting at times. When I look in the mirror I still only see the fat. If not for making these comparison photos I don't think I would have seen much of a difference. But thanks to therapy for other issues I've started to love stepping on the scale everyday, seeing the number slowly go down gives me motivation every day, even on days when the scale doesn't move it just makes me want to push harder.

    I just wanted to say thank you to this subreddit, I've browsed it everyday for the past few months and although I don't really post or comment on anything just seeing your journeys helped me see mine, so thank you!

    submitted by /u/Mysterious_Green
    [link] [comments]

    15 years of yo-yoing and feeling like a failure but not wanting to give up.

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 02:46 AM PDT

    Hey Reddit!

    I have written about this before on another account but now I am really feeling like I want to open up again.

    I have been dieting since I was 14 and I am currently 29. I remember starting my first diet in the beginning of June 2006 when weighing 61kg (134lb). I was not overweight but that seemed a bit too much for a 14-year old girl, especially because I had gained about 6kg (13lb) during that school year due to being quite sad (I had trouble finding real friends) and then comfort eating.

    Since then I have been going up and down with my weight and having had multiple different lifestyles, usually either extremely healthy or binge-focused. My weight has been fluctuating between 50 and 75 kg (110lb to 165lb) and right now I am at 70kg (154lb). With my height (171cm) it's still a normal weight which I am astonished about, especially because I binge SO much. I have gained about 6kg since last autumn though but before it I lost some and prior to it I gained some and so forth. I am always either gaining or losing.

    I am extremely tired of this yo-yoing. Constantly gaining or losing. The saddest part is that this affects my passions, running and exercising in general. I am also a bit too obsessed about exercise, it's really the only thing I want to do aside from eating chocolate of course. I don't have any other passions because almost half of my life I have been so focused on dieting and training. I was pursuing a career in sports and exercise related field but gave up that too partly because of being so ashamed of my weight going up and down all the time.

    Right now I would want to lose about 10kg but my trust in myself is very low. Even if I lose the weight what would keep it from going up again? I am kind of having my life on hold because I am thinking that I'll switch career when I am thin again and so on. Then I'll go with exercise or find something I really like again. What I am doing now I... Well, don't hate but don't like either. Additionally I suck at it. :P

    Well, I don't know what kind of responses I am expecting. Maybe there is someone who has experienced the same or is in a similar situation? What have you done to stop bingeing and permanently lose weight?

    submitted by /u/throwaway987424389
    [link] [comments]

    HELP! Just joined a new team at work and they want to take me out for a pizza dinner.

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 03:15 AM PDT

    This is my dream job and I'm the newest member of the team.

    After working from home for so long, they wanted to treat me to a dinner at a fancy pizza place which I know is really hard to get reservations for.

    They're so sweet but I've checked the menu and there's literally nothing clean or which would fit into my calorie goals unless I eat a ridiculously small portion which would leave me starving.

    Also I don't want to be a wet blanket and not eat anything, especially as the dinner is to welcome me to the team.

    Does anyone have any advice or tips around how to navigate such situations?

    I should probably also mention I'm struggling with binge-eating disorder, so letting loose "for just one night" isn't an option. I've done that before and consumed 7,000 in one sitting so I'm trying to avoid it.

    Many thanks kind souls!!

    submitted by /u/skitschy
    [link] [comments]

    How do you learn to eat normal portion sizes?

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 04:15 AM PDT

    When I was younger I got some r/raisedbynarcissists treatment. One of my mother's illogical and bitch antics was forcing us (siblings and I) to over eat, then call us fat for eating or gaining weight. When I was like 6 onwards she would try force me to eat until I almost threw up, either verbally abusing me or physically assaulting me (hair pulling, hitting, spitting on me, pinching, choking, covering my mouth and nose, etc) if I didn't eat. Even if I wasn't hungry she would start forcing me to eat food. Then nitpick every detail of my body.

    She used to blame it on 'mY pAreNts sTarVEd mE As a cHilD' in reality and what I realise now it was nothing to do with that, she's been morbidly obese for as long as I can remember and she wanted to make us fat too either to feel better about herself or to belittle us for being overweight. She was constantly obsessed with weight despite being obese since forever.

    Hence as an adult I have disastrous eating habits. It's not so much what I eat its how much I eat. I can cook a relatively average meal but I will consume an entire soup in under a few hours, devour a roast/vegetables in one sitting, destroy a stir fry meant for several people, and so on. I can't 'snack' because I will finish the whole thing in one sitting. Its almost like compulsive eating where I cannot stop until its gone. Regardless if I feel sick during or afterwards. I'm also a fast eater if that wasn't clear.

    Recently I've come to find out I'm lactose intolerant and want to focus on changing to a vegetarian diet. I'm scared of becoming like someone on 600lb life. I'm not sure how to control portion sizes especially if it feels like a compulsion.

    submitted by /u/G00d8y3
    [link] [comments]

    Weight-loss vs fat-loss (A little info for anyone looking to lose body fat)

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 05:01 AM PDT

    Understanding Macronutrients for body-recomposition goals

    There is still a myth that persists within the Fitness industry that to get „ripped" you need to be in a caloric deficit. To gain muscle you need to be in a surplus.

    However, I've seen people gain body fat in a caloric deficit and not gain much muscle eating at a surplus (they gained much more body fat than muscle).

    The idea that you can gain body fat and lose muscle mass while losing body weight still escapes a lot of people (which is why the scale should never be your guide but the mirror).

    What is more important than counting calories ?

    Tracking "Macronutrients".

    Certain macronutrients affect the body differently.

    Macros are classified as proteins, carbohydrates and fats.

    Each macronutrient has its own "sub" classes that affect the body differently.

    Fats can be saturated, monounsaturated and polyunsaturated.

    Saturated fats, while you do need some for hormonal balance, should be kept low if your goal is to burn body fat.

    They are more easily turned into body fat (especially in an insulinogenic environment).

    Monounsaturated fats are easily turned into energy and should comprise most of your diet if your goal is fat burning: Olive oil, almonds, macadamia nuts and avocados are some examples of excellent monounsaturated sources (even though each of these foods comprises some saturated fats and polyunsaturated fats as well).

    Proteins can be complete or incomplete. The listed "protein" content for 100 grams of product on many packaged foods does not matter.

    You will need complete sources with all 9 amino acids: Chicken, fish, turkey, red meat and eggs are all excellent sources that I use daily.

    Carbohydrates can also be found in the form of glucose, fructose, sucrose, lactose, galactose, etc.

    What macronutrient is eaten at what time of the day will also affect fat-burning.

    Example: Fructose in the morning can be stored in the liver whereas in the evening it could mostly go to fat stores since the liver is already full.

    submitted by /u/MarkoSkoric
    [link] [comments]

    Need a weight loss buddy! Im 19f

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 02:12 AM PDT

    My time zone is CEST

    Hey! I'm 19f been losing weight for a while, but just can't seem to get these last 10kgs off. Looking for someone I can talk to about what we eat everyday, how we feel. Sometimes I grt frustrated cause I think about weightloss too much but I dont wanna tell any of my friends about it.

    I'm not a vegetarian but I try to eat less meat. I am 161cm and 64 or 64kg currently. Just went throufh two really sad weeks and I wasn't tracking much. Usually I try to eat 1300cals with a bunch of protein.

    I'm trying to exercise more but tbh I dont really like it. Im trying to change my eating habits instead of working out hours and hours. Its just what will be sustainable for me.

    Anyone interested? Im thinking of chatting here or on another app! Let me know on my inbox!

    submitted by /u/Somynameisrose
    [link] [comments]

    Goal post keeps moving!!

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 03:27 AM PDT

    (SW 224+lb CW 112lb TW 98 female 25yo height 5ft2) As a child I was obese. Like I'd say around 16+st at 14 and 5ft 2. I wanted to lose weight only for my health. So I cut out all the junk food and stoped binging and started gentle exercise (I'm disabled)

    When I got down to 11-12 stone at 16, I no longer had all my weight related health problems. And I was no longer super big so I thought I no longer stood out in a crowd. So I considered myself done. I was happy and healthy.

    Then I went to college (uk) and got horrendously bullied for my weight because I was still fat. I still stood out in a crowd. So I decided to lose more weight and get to a point where I was no longer considered fat. Because then the bullying would stop right?

    Nope. I got down to 10-11st at 19 and was now (very) chubby. I went to uni and the bullying picked right back up where it left off. But even worse. How. Being bullied for being chubby was different and somehow worse than being bullied for being fat.

    So I decided to lose more weight and be slim. That's gonna stop the bullying right? Nope.

    I got down to 9st at 21. Now the bullying takes on a different form. It's more snide remarks about how I'm not skinny and how I'm flabby in photos. And now there's something new. Pressure. I'm no longer seen as fat and now I'm dragged into the world of body image pressure. I am now dragged into a competition I dint want to be a part of. I now feel a pressure to look a certain way. I'd never had this before.

    So now I want to look ''better'' so I decide to lose more weight. For vanity as well as to stop the bullying. I get down to 8st at 25 present day. And nope.

    It's still there. People still comment on my body. Some people say I'm fat or chubby but now I've got over comments too. And all of them hurt in some way. They make me feel visible and exposed. People call me slim or skinny even and it makes me feel watched.

    And people now say that I could do to lose more weight. I feel a pressure to be the ideal weight and super toned and super strong, athletic and curvy at the same time. I have people telling me I should ideally be at 7st for my height. That I need to lose fat and gain muscle. And I soak it all up like a sponge.

    When. When will the goal post stop moving. I feel as though I hit a goal, start celebrating and then get smacked back down again.

    I'm nearly 26 and I've been at this for 12 years. Stopping and starting. I am now trying to lose fat and gain muscle. I just hope that this time I get to the final goal post.

    submitted by /u/Ronnattt
    [link] [comments]

    I’m trying so hard but verbal abuse makes it harder.

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 03:27 AM PDT

    I started my weight loss (initially in secret, which is nigh on impossible when you live with your parent(s) ) on the 16th of March this year. I have a parent who takes after their own father (my deceased grandfather) and sometimes is a wonderful parent, and at other times is endlessly verbally abusive, sometimes hits at or slaps me. I'm not saying it's so bad I end up in hospital or anything like that, but it almost always leaves some form of red swollen area or sometimes even a few bruises, I've had the things I've bought with my own money (possessions) smashed, thrown, dented or even destroyed over the years, I used to retaliate but as I've gotten older I do not believe in violence of any kind, and whilst I may verbally retaliate, I will never physically retaliate because it goes against my own philosophies. I'm 26 y/o and can't afford to rent anywhere. Two friends of my family lent me the money for my first car in 2019 and since then I've earned my own wages since doing my degree and paid to keep my car on the road, as well as paying a small food contribution each month to my parents as I can't afford anything more to live in their home. So to simplify: it was either the car or renting somewhere and I needed the car to get a job so I went with the car. In some ways I have since regretted this as I am essentially trapped where I live.... anyway that's not really why I'm in this thread. I started my weight loss journey weighing 79.5kg / 175.267lbs on the 16th March this year. I'm 26, (F), 5ft 5". I have since lost 4.7kg / 10.362lbs through exercise 3 - 5 times a week (15-30 minutes of intense aerobic exercise, because I was the most horribly unfit person imaginable and didn't do ANY exercise at all prior to this, at least not since I was a child) and careful and considered calorie deficiency. I kept it initially secret from my parent as they are always verbally abusing me, calling me "fat" followed by another rude word, "fatty", and other really unhelpful comments, and I knew my motivation would BOMB with them around knowingly seeing me work hard. I've been furloughed from work for three months and during this time worked hard to gain an additional and new qualification besides my degree (that J graduated with in 2019, since then I've been in steady full time employment) so that I can hopefully leave my job and do one that I enjoy more and hopefully earn a little bit more money. (I have since been offered a temporary summer job in this field starting in June I believe, I'm waiting on final details and contract to come through). My parent was not furloughed but I was suddenly told they had taken 2 week holiday leave so the last two weeks have been a mixture of spending "nice" time with this parent and also utter hell, endless verbal abuse because I'm not the tidiest person and often leave my things around the house, or wash up a bit later than this parent would want me to. Basically, we do not agree on hardly anything. When we get along, we are fine, really close even, but this parent switches very very quickly. They use me a lot to help them with their technology issues even though I don't know anything particularly about the field. I've worked so hard to lose this weight, it's not much I know, but I find it so much harder without any support. They use the money I give them to buy the healthy food for me that I ask for, (which is supportive, yes) but if I have one of my rest days of not doing any exercise because my body is telling me I need to rest, this parent calls me lazy/useless/a slob, just because I feel tired and need to have a rest day (aka no exercise but confining my healthy eating plan). I don't know, I just needed somewhere to vent I guess. Thank you so much if you took the time to read this.

    submitted by /u/shedreamsofatlantis
    [link] [comments]

    ONE YEAR PROGRESS REPORT: 364 to 319; 45 pound loss, not the 100 pounds I'd planned

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 03:24 PM PDT

    This community is incredibly supportive. Anonymous communication is very helpful to me. I experience great shame at my self-created predicament.

    GOOD NEWS-BAD NEWS

    The good news is that I've dropped from 364 to 319. That's a drop of about 45 pounds. It's significant and I'm thrilled by it. I had to have some of my clothes re-tailored to fit me. Although, other clothes are only slightly loose. I find that surprising.

    I went from 364 to about 305 by December. But then I gained from December to January about 15 pounds, bringing me back to 320.

    The bad news? The objective data (collected via body fat calipers, tape measure, and scale with bodyfat impedance calculations -- show that my current body fat percentage is about what it was when I started. Even more incredibly, the Trendweight.com site I use (highly highly recommend) shows that my body fat percentage rose from 38% to 44% (impedence) and 36% to 39% (calipers). I find it incredibly confusing. My waist circumference went from 56" to 50" (when I went to 305) and back to 54" (back to 320).

    FOOD / NUTRITION

    My nutrition was not so great in Dec-2020 and Jan-2021 and Feb-2021. I admit it -- and my weight rose because of it. I have gargantuan amounts of nutrition data. I made it from something like March-December 2020 tracking all meals and snacks I consumed. For a period of a month or two -- I weighed everything I ate with a kitchen scale. That became so tedious and mind numbing--and I got better at estimates and tracking--that I modified things to an estimate base that was so close to what I was measuring that I stopped weighing EVERYTHING. (I still weigh some things).

    My calories hover around 1900-2300 calories. I'm consistently a little short on protein (shooting for 1g/lb of lean mass, about 170-180 lean mass, depending on the body fat calculation).

    EXERCISE

    My exercise has been consistent and robust. Believe it or not -- I enjoy some run walks (new dog!) -- about 16-18 minute miles; I do a good mountain bike ride every week or two -- and a regular street ride 1-2 times per week. I regularly lift weights (more kettlebells these days, but have most of the other equipment) - I also use TRX and a rowing machine. I'm working out 30-60 minutes, 4-6 days per week. The family and I walk several miles a day as well. I hope to return to swimming shortly, too.

    THE LAWS OF PHYSICS

    Although you may hear it differently--let me be emphatically transparent. The laws of physics apply to everyone. The body is an energy management machine -- it takes fuel in and burns it through motion, activity and BMR. I don't think I'm any exception to that rule. (I do think I have so much fat on my body, however, that my bmr is nothing like a 10% body fat 320 pounder - that part I **DO** understand.

    MY REVISED PLAN

    So, truth be told, I thought a year ago, I'd be down 100 pounds today. I'm not, I'm down 45% -- about half way to that original goal. While I **feel** like I'm doing the right things, over the past month or so, I've not gotten the correct results. I'm either consuming too much fuel, or not burning enough fuel, or a combination thereof.

    So, my logical and simplistic side takes over: Dude, just drop daily consumption by 500 calories; or drive up daily caloric expenditure by 500 calories, or do a combination of the two. If you do so, you'll drop 3500 calories a week, which is a pound a week - which is 52 pounds in the next 52 weeks. I'd drop to about 270.

    I know if someone told me this story, I would like them in the eye and say: You're burning fewer calories today then yesterday -- and your consuming a few too many calories. You're basically at an energy equilibrium. You just showed yourself you could run an energy deficit. Go do that again, just at your 320 level.

    I'd then add: It's time to get more serious about resistance training. It's time to make an effort at building muscle while dropping fat. Probably three very serious weight training sessions every week.

    And then I'd say: Have you considered hiring a professional trainer that has a track record for helping obese people drop fat and weight while developing muscle? Cause dude, you have cash and resource -- use it to save yourself if that's what it takes.

    WEIGHT LOSS SURGERY (WLS)

    I've been on the weight loss surgery roster for several years. About two years I got down to 285, but then I lost it when work got out of control, and my diet went out of control and my exercise levels dropped significantly. It scares the hell out of me.

    HISTORY -

    I've been tracking my progress (or lack thereof!) here for a few years. Here's one of the archives:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/loseit/comments/grdlx0/52yo_male_346_pounds_down_15_trying_to_find/

    Also, got some great insight from u/funchords and u/koopzegels. I hope they'll assist me here, as I'm feeling a bit down and depressed.

    QUESTIONS

    Suggestions for me?

    Anyone else get readings of losing muscle rather than fat? What did you do?

    Anyone have good experience working with a trainer to develop a weight loss plan? (Ive worked with a nutritionist - maybe it was just her - but it just wasn't to my taste. I felt shame all the time in there -- and it produced negative results -- I gained weight during the time I went to her).

    Any secret to newfound motivation as one enters into year two of the struggle?

    submitted by /u/tk-0318
    [link] [comments]

    I need help with losing weight

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 01:48 AM PDT

    I'm a sixteen year old girl that has a BMI of 23.4 and for my age, that's a bit overweight... To be honest I don't really care about being overweight, I just care about starting a new and healthy lifestyle where I feel strong and confident. I started going on runs every other day and I'm not good at running but I build up my stamina and it's fun to run. I also want to start with lilly sabri's workouts (I'm focusing on core because that's something that I've been not doing and it's very important for a lot of things) and I will hopefully do her workouts after my runs. But there's one thing that always makes me gain my weight back and that's binge eating/overeating... I am bored most of the times even if I have to study or do other things and then I open the fridge and look for things to eat even though, most of the times, I'm not even hungry... Help?

    submitted by /u/DefinitionKey8897
    [link] [comments]

    When a family member's comment ruins your whole day

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 03:58 PM PDT

    I don't mean to complain on here but this is a supportive community. And I just had a serious breakdown today. I just want to know how you guys get over comments and breakdowns like this.

    I've been on a real, sustainable weight loss journey for the past 1.5 months and have lost around 5 lbs after struggling to lose weight for the past 3 years. And I'm pretty sure my body has recomped a bit, slimmed down waist & my legs look way more defined than they used to. I'm a 5'6'' female, 191 lbs.

    Today was a hot day and I decided to wear a sleeveless t-shirt. My dad for some reason decided to ask me if I gained weight since I started living with him (started Oct 2020) and I said I was pretty much the same (didn't mention the -5lb loss) and he commented that my arms looked pretty big. That comment just made me break down and I cried in the shower for a solid 30 min. I worked out TWICE today and ate 100 cal under my limit and I was actually feeling good about myself and then people feel the need to say things that are hurtful. The only reason I'm living with him is so he isn't lonely during the pandemic and because he can't drive and have NEVER said anything hurtful to him even though there's a lot of flaws. I'm just so angry and over it.

    Not to mention, I'm an extremely busy person (9-5 tech job, grad school & a side business). So staying on track with a weight loss journey and not giving in to comfort food is really f*cking hard.

    Anyone have any tips on how to make yourself feel better?

    submitted by /u/slothlorien
    [link] [comments]

    Fustrated from period & weight fluctuations

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 02:57 AM PDT

    Hey all,

    It's Monday morning where i am and i am so frustrated right now. I just cried for a straight 10 mins.

    Exactly 1 week ago i was 284.8lbs (finally passed 288 which i was stuck on for a while). I took this weight a few days after my period ended.

    Ive had really irregular periods last few months and it's pretty much been going on for a month now, on and off. Waiting on Dr action/results.

    So my stats: 29, F, 5'6

    Weekly tdee is 2790 a day or 19,322 a week (based on being active 3-5 days a week) Weekly cals to lose weight (2lbs a week): 1760 a day/ 12,320 a week I aim more toward 1500 a day 14,310 calories is what i ate this week

    Based on this logic , yes i was over but i still should have lost weight. Instead i weighted myself today and gained 4lbs.

    My period wont end. Im trying my absolute best and working out more than ever and still gaining?

    I literally just wanna give up. It would be so much easier to just eat a pizza and call it a day.

    Edit: i am more active now than ever before. I worked out everyday this week. Burning av 200-300 cals a day. Am i doing something wrong? Please help...

    submitted by /u/stressedoutpeach1
    [link] [comments]

    Taking comfort in failing but not hitting rock bottom...

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 12:31 PM PDT

    I'm dead tired after a particularly bad day at work, and tonight of all nights me and my boyfriend reached a breaking point, and I guess I've now been dumped too.

    I was a self-pitying sob away from ordering delivery junk food to stuff my mouth with, but I managed to think long and hard about what would inevitably follow (I'm in the early stages of recovery from years and years of bulimic disorder) and instead I had four slices of whole wheat toast with my healthy-ish chocolate spread.

    It still ends up being a cheat day, mind you. I've likely hit maintenance level calorie wise, if not a little more. But it wasn't thousands of extra calories, and it wasn't purging, I didn't flush money and teeth enamel down the drain (sorry for the visual).

    It's infinitely better than the mess I would have made had this happened just 2-3 months ago. And while it sounds pathetic, I decided I'll pat myself on the back on this one, and hopefully get back on track tomorrow morning.

    Best of luck to everyone else out there who's also struggling with eating disorders and self-worth. Maybe it's ok to fail sometimes. Just don't hurt yourself so much over it that you can't get back your feet the next day.

    submitted by /u/BJulia44
    [link] [comments]

    1k Calorie deficit yet not losing weight

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 01:29 AM PDT

    I've been subscribed to a weight watchers type service and during the first month and a half I lost a little more than 15 pounds without working out, which felt great (Sedentary TDEE is 2500, food is between 1500 to 1600 calories). However, I haven't seen results in the past month even though the food I'm eating is identical to the food I started out with. I don't have indigestion and I drink a decent amount of water daily and the food is not high on sodium so no water retention. I wake up everyday and my stomach is aching and rumbling, and I force myself to go to sleep sometimes in spite of hunger, so I know there's a caloric deficit happening, but I'm not seeing the numbers go down. Any ideas on what's going wrong? Thanks

    submitted by /u/Green-Dog-Man9998130
    [link] [comments]

    The Power of Posing: How it affects progress pictures

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 01:57 PM PDT

    Progress photos. We hear a lot about them on this subreddit, because for many it may be the best way for them to track their weight loss journey. I do want to express a word of caution to those using them though. Below is my progress photo.

    https://imgur.com/a/dSUfKVw

    The photo on the left was taken on January 9th, at 310ish pounds. The photo on the right was taken yesterday, April 3rd, at 295lbs. Now, it actually looks like a fair bit more than a 15lb loss. As you can see, my neck is a bit slimmer, the double chin is nearly gone, and my shirt is hanging a lot looser.

    So, what changed? How I was posed (hence the title). Using my background in photography, I was able to manipulate how I was standing to exaggerate my weight loss. For the neck/chin, it was a matter of pushing my head forward a bit. This stretches out the skin on the neck, reducing the visibility of a double chin and makes it appear narrower. For the torso, it was a matter of pulling my shoulders back, pushing my chest out, and sucking in the ol' gut.

    So what does this have to do with weight loss progress pictures? It's to show the importance of consistent posing. Maintaining a consistent pose will give you a better overall perspective as to how your body composition has really changed.

    In addition to that, it's to help people that struggle with seeing candid photos of themselves. I've seen a number of posts on here since I joined from people upset that a candid photo of them looks just like how they looked before they started losing weight. And that's really how powerful posing can be. You can take a really slim person, and pose them in such a way that makes them look much heavier. Or you can take a heavy person, pose them really well, and make them look much slimmer.

    We all remember the 'Myspace' pose right? High angle shot looking down? That was done specifically to make the person look slimmer. The same trick applies to any picture.

    So when you take your progress pictures, it's paramount that you maintain a consistent pose. That will give you the best idea of how you look along your weight loss journey.

    Hope this helps some of you that may be suffering from some photo discouragement. Your weight loss may be hidden under an inconsistent pose.

    submitted by /u/bertzie
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: April 5th, 2021

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 12:00 AM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences :)

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    Sudden cravings

    Posted: 05 Apr 2021 04:32 AM PDT

    First things first, sorry for my bad English.

    I'm new on reddit and actually joined when I remembered r/loseit exists. Sorry if this goes to the wrong place since I'm not sure if this is the right place here.

    Anyway, I've been eating healthy/losing weight for about a month now with the mentality of not restricting, eating mainly healthy and moderately. My problem used to be overeating and eating unhealthy foods for my feelings. This new way has really worked for me and I never really got any cravings since I allow myself sweets here and there. I've noticed change too.

    Suddenly this weekend I got huge amount of cravings. I just wanted to eat. And eat unhealthy. I actually ate some McDonald's and sweet in the moment of weakness I had. I thought that maybe it will get better now that a new week starts again. But I so desperately want to order McDonald's and just fill my mouth with everything unhealthy. Usually eating mandarins help but I just want unhealthy foods.

    Does anyone has similar experiences? Do you have any tips? I'm afraid that I just give up because I feel so bad about this.

    submitted by /u/auroorakoo
    [link] [comments]

    Overweight college kid trying to figure out how to diet and lose weight (never tried losing weight before)

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 08:56 PM PDT

    I'm 19 and in my second semester at college. I don't have a scale so I'm not sure how much I weigh now compared to before, but I do know my clothes from last year don't fit anymore.

    I want to start losing weight and I know the key to that is dieting. With only a microwave in my room and dining hall lacking in any healthy options besides a salad (idk if you're supposed to eat salad with dressing and stuff while trying to diet?).

    I come from a family of overweight people and have no idea how to control eating habits. One thing that has always been an issue for me is eating and not feeling full at all.

    Any beginner tips will help because I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. Not trying to build muscle, simple want to lose some weight.

    submitted by /u/Herobrine4433
    [link] [comments]

    Daily Q&A Post for Monday, 05 April 2021 - No question too small!

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 10:31 PM PDT

    Got a question? We've got answers!

    Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? That's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small.

    TIPS:

    * Include your stats if appropriate/relevant (or better yet, update your flair!)

    * Check the FAQ and other resources in the sidebar!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    I have 64 days to feel better about myself!

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 09:10 PM PDT

    Indian. Male. 22 years. SW - 91.2 kg CW - 83.7 kg. GW - 75 kg

    tl,dr: I want to feel better about myself. Vanity vice of having summer body in 2 months. How do I do that?

    Hello everyone,
    I confess, the title is a clickbait but do hear me out. I'll also try to keep this as succinct as possible

    A really close friend of mine went abroad for higher studies and I promised myself that when he came back, I would overall be in a much better place - emotionally, mentally and physically. Unfortunately, I'm far away from those goals and the pandemic worsened it all.
    This friend is coming back in 2 months, and I would like to at least tick one box off - physical fitness; essentially being confident in what I wear and if we were to go out to a beach or something confident to take my shirt off. (keeping in mind the required protocols with COIVD at large)
    I have lost a little bit of weight, but I really struggle with my diet. I have a chronic sugar addiction which I've not been able to beat coupled with half-assed calorie tracking.

    Currently I'm another skinny fat victim and there's so much of overwhelming information I dont know what to do. I workout at home with 2 10 kg dumbbells and do a 5k run at least twice a week.
    I hope this community could help me figure how to approach my dilemma and achieve a goal which I know is pretty difficult to attain.
    Thank you!

    submitted by /u/Such-Smoke-8196
    [link] [comments]

    NSV: I can wash myself in the shower again!

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 08:22 AM PDT

    26 F. I've been working out since Dec2020 with the Blogilates app. I haven't budged on the scale (Still 173lbs) but I definitely look and feel different. I have hip bones yall!

    Recently I noticed some other changes as well.. besides the insane amount of stretch marks, it no longer feels uncomfortable when I put my arms down anymore, and most importantly... I CAN WASH MY BOOTY WITHOUT THE STRUGGLE!

    I did not think I was big until I noticed I was having a heck of a time washing myself back there. I had to squat in all kinds of weird positions just go adequately reach and it really hit my self esteem hard. I made all kinds of excuses too: The shower is just small, I need a bigger loofa, I need a smaller loofa, I'm just a little out of shape, maybe I just need to stretch, etc etc

    However, lastnight while in the shower I realized that I can actually reach my behind while standing up in the shower again, and I almost cried I was so happy! None of my friends thought it was a big deal when I told them, so I said the heck with yall I'm posting on reddit.

    Guys... best NSV yet. No more awkward shower positions, no more anxiety and self esteem, just a squeaky clean booty. Has anyone else felt like this over something so awkward and weird?

    submitted by /u/Abrakadabra12345
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment