Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-05 |
- BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-05
- A full comprehensive program focusing on Skill, Strength, Agility, Conditioning and Flexibility - AGT Program
- Looking for advice on how to not fall off my exercise momentum after an old injury flares up
- Dr. Mike Israetel on Calisthenics Programming and Periodization
- Skills in the Morning, Strength Work in the Evening?
- Feel lost/need advice
- Female dancer trying to increase metabolism and build lean muscle! Help is appreciated, thanks!! TLDR at the bottom :)
- Starting over from scratch, looking for help preventing future injuries with a mobility/flexibility routine to supplement the RR that travels well.
- Are non-bulky toned legs with calisthenics possible?
- Should I get the Calimove Body Transformation Basics OR the Pro version of the same program OR FitnessFAQs Begin Bodyweight course?
- Suspension-based RR for an overweight newbie with other possible modifications
- Training routine for skills and hypetrophy
| BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-05 Posted: 04 Apr 2021 09:01 PM PDT Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread! Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness! Reminders:
NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:
Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter! If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 05 Apr 2021 04:17 AM PDT I found this site through researching stretching routines. What I didn't know and only just discovered is the full program incorporating all the elements of a balanced fitness regime. http://agt.degreesofclarity.com It is six days of training program. Each day focuses on skill (fatiguing and non-fatiguing) and stretching but alternates between a combination of strength, sprints and conditioning. Each workout should take 90 minutes. The strength components are for weight-lifting however can easily be swapped out for calisthenics. More details on the programming and customisation in the link. Anyway I thought that this was too good of a resource not to share with the community. edit: typo [link] [comments] |
| Looking for advice on how to not fall off my exercise momentum after an old injury flares up Posted: 05 Apr 2021 04:25 AM PDT I am terrible with motivation for exercising and getting into bodyweight fitness really helped because it meant fewer excuses for me to try to shirk exercising. I am overweight so associated aches and pains, like on my hips and knees, are to be expected. But one thing I have to be very careful about is my back. About 9 years ago I slipped on some ice and landed squarely on my lower spine, resulting in two herniated discs. It was several years before I wasn't in daily pain, and thankfully I can now go most of the year painfree. But if I do something to irritate that injury, it literally makes normal life painful, things like getting dressed, going to the bathroom, sitting, standing, walking, sleeping, all become so painful I get to the point of fantasizing about shoving a metal nail into my spine. The pain usually subsides after a few days and I'm able to go back to normal. So cut to now, I've recently started getting into a regular, healthier exercise routine. I follow along with YouTube videos to vary it up every day and give me ideas about what to do. But I messed up and wasnt thinking about one of the exercises, which had me run in place in between reps to keep my heart rate up. This apparently jostled my back too much and I've been in that painful state for a few days now. The thing is, I know from past experiences that if I go more than a few days I will lose ALL momentum to keep going and I'm afraid that will happen again. Does anyone here have similar experience or advice on things I can do to keep exercising, even if it small but enough to keep my brain in that momentum? The injury is in my lower back, and sometimes it's hard to know what is "tied" to it until I do something wrong and get the blinding pain. (Sometimes just walking with the wrong gait can suddenly be not okay.) Thanks in advance to anyone taking the time to help me. I super appreciate it. Y'all have already been so inspiring/helpful just with keeping up with this sub! [link] [comments] |
| Dr. Mike Israetel on Calisthenics Programming and Periodization Posted: 04 Apr 2021 07:57 PM PDT Dr. Mike Israetel did a podcast with Frinksmovement TV about calisthenics programming. He talked about what type of programming to use, how to approach bulking and cutting when our goals are strength skills, what type of periodization to use, frequency in streetlifting, RPE and calisthenics and many more. This is full of very valuable information and a must watch for anyone who is serious about calisthenics or strength training in general. Spread the word (btw I'm not the creator neither I'm associated with him). Link - https://youtu.be/AsxE0mo3n7k [link] [comments] |
| Skills in the Morning, Strength Work in the Evening? Posted: 04 Apr 2021 06:50 PM PDT It generally takes me 90 minutes to workout and for skills such as the handstand, l-sit, and this is excluding warmup and cooldown afterwards. I was thinking of doing skills in the morning and strength in the evening. So for example, on my push and pull days I would do some handstand work and morning mobility/stretching, on leg days I would do L-sit, pike compression, and again some mobility maybe even some cardio on any day. Is this a good idea? or would this interfere with my strength workouts/recovery? I generally still feel pretty good after doing handstands before strength training. For more info I have been training for almost 9 months now. Thanks again! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 04 Apr 2021 08:47 PM PDT I just feel lost on my fitness journey right now. I'm (18) did the RR for more than half a year (summer - October) and saw minimal results but was pretty happy for a while. Then I started to lose motivation from October to now. I only gained about a pound in the mean time because I kept doing it glad hearted + did some other routine I don't remember where I found. I just feel lost, I know the RR is good for getting results but I felt like my legs weren't being trained enough. My joints started to feel weird and kinda hurt so I started to feel scared about causing damage to myself. What should I do? Should I go back to the RR? How can I train my legs more in addition? How can I add mass and get stronger and more athletic? (I know the answer is progressive overload but just how do I do that because it seems I'm always going too light or too heavy? I work a full time job and I'm in college also so I don't have a lot of time to train but I also just hate how I look and how weak I feel even though I'm really not that weak. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 04 Apr 2021 06:13 PM PDT 5'5 | 114-118lbs, idk exactly | 2000-2500 cals I struggled with anorexia in the past and have been in recovery for two years. Atm I struggle with bingeing and restricting, so I feel like my metabolism is pretty messed up and so is all my muscle. In the past week, I've increased my daily calories from ~1500 to 2000+ per day because I've been much hungrier. As a dancer (mainly ballet) we're expected to have lean muscles and I naturally have a more bulky build. I dance 10 hours a week, and recently also started running ~10 miles a week along with random ~1hr cardio workouts and almost daily walks. I'm on spring break right now so haven't been dancing, but the rest I have been doing, but with less movement I've gotten more hungry (hence the calorie increase) I want to make use of this extreme hunger since I have to gain weight anyways from being underweight previously. I think I got it back up now from the excess calories this week but I want some of that weight to go to lean muscle, I've got a good amount of fat right now so I want to try and build muscle and hopefully improve my physique. Can someone recommend a routine for me? Idk if it would be different bc I'm a girl and I'm assuming most people on here want to build bulkier muscles, that's why I'm not just doing one of the recommended ones from the FAQ. I also have been trying to eat more protein along with the calorie increase, I prob hit ~100g a day TLDR//routine or tips wanted, increased hunger and I need to gain weight so I want it to be as much muscle weight as possible [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 04 Apr 2021 07:49 PM PDT Hi all. I (31/M) have been doing BWF for some years now, with no focus on anything in particular other than "health", ie staying active and maintaining mobility and functionality. I (was) also a frequent runner (6-8km 3-4 times week). January of 2020 I suffered some sort of injury to the legs which I pretty much maintained throughout the year, and I am still not able to run without pain. I finally managed to see a sports medicine doctor, who basically said it was overuse, and that I have weak glutes (medius) and lower core, and presumably everything in the hips to be honest. Aside from that, my other workout sessions suffered either due to gyms being closed during Covid, and later on not having access to equipment for many of the exercises I was doing. I basically substituted with yoga (alomoves) for most of 2020, and while some of it was great, I feel like I could use more. I'm writing this because I am going to start a refresh of my BWF routine, but as someone who travels frequently for work (I'm a flight attendant, going back to work finally) I can't always guarantee that I have access to good enough gyms to get in a typical gym session. While normally on trips I would run, that won't be happening for a while, and this has been an eye opener, letting me know that I have been neglecting or missing important aspects of working out, at least I suspect. For my home workouts I will be going back to the RR. I have some equipment from BaseBlocks, (U-bar, handstand canes, bench) so I can do most of the exercises without any issues at home, and should be home enough to get 3 days of a full body routine. The question I have is about a mobile routine that doesn't depend on having specific things other than what I can potentially bring with me. I may split legs and holds or skills out and do those exercises while on the road as well, but what I really am looking for is ideas for hotel room workouts that are really focused on mobility/flexibility and keeping the legs strong and stable and to help prevent future injuries like this, especially if I ever do get back into running. Realistically, these may have to be done multiple days in a row, and I don't know if that's a problem. If you could only carry some resistance bands, (maybe up to 3 pairs of different weights) and maybe a jump rope, could you come up with a routine that is well balanced? Or am I just wishfully thinking? TL;DR I injured my legs running (overuse, weak glute medius, hips, and lower abs), and have regressed on most of my exercises, so I'm going back to RR with more beginner progressions. I travel a lot, and am looking for recommendations for traveling routines that can be done to supplement the RR and help strengthen my legs, maintain and improve mobility. I'm looking at buying a few sets of bands to travel with, so that will be in my toolkit (open to other suggestions as well) but nothing else is ever guaranteed as hotel gyms aren't often well equipped and currently may be closed. As a side note, with the basebar (u-bar), since it is so low to the ground I have to have a tucked or l pull up. Is it bad to only do pull-ups in that manner? [link] [comments] |
| Are non-bulky toned legs with calisthenics possible? Posted: 04 Apr 2021 03:22 PM PDT Hi guys, the title is it. Can I develop strong lean legs without a huge hypertrophy? I have pretty big legs (I love training them) that are hindering my upper-body progress :( , can do 10 pistols w/5kg and +10 nordic curls (female) I do leg kicks every now and then because ballerinas do that and have strong quads and calves What do you think? I have access to a gym Edit: thank you everyone :) [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 04 Apr 2021 11:31 AM PDT I wanted to get into calisthenics for two main reasons: - Building muscle - Learning skills and progressions I mainly want to focus on mastering the basics (push ups, pullups and dips) on my first months of training whilst building muscle in the process. I've worked out for the past 10 months on a mediocre dumbbell upper/lower split. My progress was minimal, as I lost 8kgs and after switched to maintainance, although I did manage to get a somewhat tonned physique. I'm currently 16 years old, 174cm, 54.5kg (and roughly at 12% bf) and wish to go on a lean bulk on a calisthenics muscle building program. However, I can only do 21 pushups in a row and 1 only one pullup ;( Could someone who has followed any of the programs (calimove's body transformation basics OR calimoves body transformation pro OR fitnessfaqs's begin bodyweight) offer any info with regards to what to expect with the exercises in any of the three programs (like if they begin with rows and eccentrics to build up towards the pullup), and whether they would work for hypertrophy? I already took a look at the RR routine, but I feel that I could not meet its demands based on my current bodyweight levels of strength. Also, I want to work out at least 3x per week, so for example, if the calimove body transformation basics is mostly 2x week workouts, then I would rather much prefer any of the other two. Thanks for your responses in advance!! [link] [comments] |
| Suspension-based RR for an overweight newbie with other possible modifications Posted: 04 Apr 2021 12:52 PM PDT Hey guys I wanted to start RR and need some help on my modifications and ask some questions. Stats: 25M 5'9(175 cm) 255lb(115.6 kg) ~30% bf Background: I considered myself an early intermediate in barbell training but then lockdown hit in early 2020. During the home workout craze, I tried to make my own upper/lower hypertrophy bodyweight split but it ended up being too overwhelming with too many exercises and sets per session plus the extra body fat I'm trying to lose made bodyweight training harder than expected. I'm strong enough to skip wall pushups and high incline rows but doing regular pushups and pull-ups was a huge pain on my joints and it was demotivating missing sets on basic movements. I bought a suspension trainer so I can use angles to control exercise intensity which worked well but bad programming was still an issue. I took a long break from working out due to a combination of bad weather, covid, and depression but I'm ready to get my shit together and back on track. Equipment: -Doorway Pull-up Bar -Dual Anchor suspension trainer -45, 65, 95-pound sandbags -Set of 9-pound dumbbells -Set of mini bands -Set of pull-up bands -a 1/4 and 1/2 lb jump rope Routine idea: 1st pair: -Jackknife pull-ups<negative pull-ups<band assisted pull ups<regular pulls ups/chins -Sandbag squats 3x8<??? 2nd pair: -Sandbag OHP 3x8<??? -Romanian sandbag deadlift 3x8<??? 3rd pair: -Suspension Incline Pushup<Suspension horizontal Pushup<??? -Incline row<Horizontal row<Decline row<Wide row<Archer row<Single arm row Questions: Any exercise suggestions for the missing parts in the routine? I'm stuck since each sandbag has a huge jump in weight I'm unsure how to program a progression to these movements and I have no idea what to do for the push-up progression past a regular suspended push-up. Is there any modification suggested to help push RR a bit more into hypertrophy? I would like to focus on fat loss, hypertrophy, and strength in that order. I understand the importance of strength training but honestly, due to my situation, I just want to focus on removing the excess weight and train to look better naked. Would it be possible to slowly add accessory movements like sissy squats, hamstring extensions, hip thrust, bicep curls, tricep extensions, and chest/rear/y files at the end of the workout of the routine later down the road or perhaps on an off day? I appreciate any advice and thank you in advance. [link] [comments] |
| Training routine for skills and hypetrophy Posted: 04 Apr 2021 12:59 AM PDT Hi guys, i wonder if it make sense to do (in order to learn some skills and get also hypertrophy) this kind of routine: first of all do a strenght training to learn skills and improve technique: 1) skills1 (eg: planche/l sit/ handstand ecc ) rest 2/3 min 2) skills2 (eg:front,MU,vic, ecc) rest 2/3 min and then switch to an hypetrophy routine like: 1)dip 3x8 rest 1.30/ 2 min 2)pull up 4x8 rest 1.30/ 2 min 3)push acccessory excercise rest 1.30/ 2 min 4)pull accessory execises rest 1.30/ 2 min this is only an example, i only want to know if it is possible combine them without excluding too much one or the other thing, hope you get the point. [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from Reddit's Bodyweight Fitness Community . To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment