Weight loss: Weight loss is not always a proud feeling. Today was a very raw experience. |
- Weight loss is not always a proud feeling. Today was a very raw experience.
- Lost 150lb - Then lifted hard for 8 months to build muscle - Happy with my progress, but it's CUTTING TIME!
- Are these MY legs?!
- First progress checkpoint - I'm no longer obese!
- Kept telling my Drs something was wrong... it was
- Yall I saw "the sixties" today
- I finally got all my Covid weight off!
- Been avoiding the scale for months, finally weighed at the doctors office. I knew it was bad but yikes...
- I can't make up for yesterday.
- Losing weight without obsessing about it?
- Oh, that water weight.
- Finally reached my milestone of 50lb weight loss!
- Went to the gym alone for the first time today!
- February’s diet is March’s body – share your progress!
- Lost 12 pounds in 6 weeks and feeling good
- Today, I weighed myself for the first time in 2 or 3 years. I'm currently 386 pounds.
- Anyone who embarks on a weight loss journey should strongly consider seeing a mental health specialist at some point.
- Comments about my weight loss are making me incredibly uncomfortable
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 1
- Tiny victories are what keep me going.
- Being mean to yourself isn't necessary [article]
- Unexpected victory: 20 pounds down!!!
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: March 2nd, 2021
- Miscalculation Story
| Weight loss is not always a proud feeling. Today was a very raw experience. Posted: 01 Mar 2021 07:20 PM PST When extreme weight gain was a defense mechanism or trauma response, shedding that weight does not always feel like something to be proud of. On most days, I do feel more confident and more energetic due to my weight loss. Today was not one of those days. I haven't really worn "real clothes" during my entire weight loss journey, since I've been working from home and have had no need to dress up. But today I needed to dig through my closet to find a proper, well-fitting outfit. Everything hung across me like a garbage bag. As I stood there swimming in my clothes, I felt an unsettling, palpable feeling like half of my body was missing. Like my protection layer was missing. Like that big blubbery part of me that kept people away—and kept me safe from being hurt by bad people—was gone. I felt tiny and fragile standing in those giant clothes. I kept digging through my closet and finally found something that fit. Clothes from college—a very rough period of my life. Putting those clothes on transported me right back in time to that place I've tried to leave behind. Putting on those clothes felt like putting on an old version of myself that I wanted to leave in the past. The clothes fit exactly right... and at the same time, I felt suffocated in them. Weight loss is as much of a psychological journey as a physical one. For those of you whose weight challenges have deep roots, know you are not alone. It's not always easy, but it's worth it. It can hurt at times but it's for our own good. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Mar 2021 11:00 AM PST Hey all, Just wanted to drop in and say I just finished my first ever bulk. Started this bulk cycle at 190lb on July 1st after having lost 150lb from my peak weight of 340lb back in June of 2019. Losing that much weight left a lot of loose skin, but I'm working on slowly filling it out with muscle. https://imgur.com/gallery/WtJMxxE During this time, I ate at a 500kcal surplus to put on a pound per week. Originally, I had planned on stopping my bulk Jan 1st, but was convinced by u/mysticalstrength to keep going, as there is "never a wrong time to bulk". So, I kept it going for an extra two months. From Mid Jan to Mid Feb, I focused primarily on strength and powerlifting, as my gym has a 1000lb club (combined total lifts between deadlift, squat, and bench all are 1000+lb). I figured as home-stretch goal, I wanted to his those numbers. At the time, however, I was about 25lb short, so I found a peaking program solely based around 4 weeks of growing your 1RM. I increase my calories, started this program, and lifted away. I am happy to say that at the end of those 4 weeks, I managed to get my goal of hitting 1000lb. https://imgur.com/gallery/SmfFfrN Ultimately, I'm super happy with my progress. 40lb is a lot of weight to gain, a bunch of fat, but a bunch of is also muscle, so for my first bulk, I'm super happy. Looking forward to cutting for a while to strip away excess body fat. Thanks for all your continued support and encouragement! 💕💕💕 [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Mar 2021 08:42 AM PST I'm writing this in my car, still INCREDIBLY excited so please excuse any errors. So, I've started my weight loss on January 4th this year, the usual CICO and IF. My starting weight was 89,9kg (198lbs), my current weight as of today is 84,3kg (~186lbs), so yeah, my weight loss is not tremendous but it's honest work! Today I went as an advisor to help my dad pick his new "formal" shoes. It was my first time in a long while wearing jeans instead of rocking the usual sweatpants-t-shirt duo. You know they have these big, wall-length mirrors at shoe shops, right? So, I was wandering around the store, waiting for my dad try on another pair and something suddenly caught my eye. I took a few steps back, looked in the mirror cricitally, and... Oh my God, are these my legs??? Are these MY calves????? Calves that so not meet in the middle??? That don't look so friggin swollen?? No, are you serious? Is this not a prank or one of those reality-bending mirrors? Am I dreaming?? My legs, especially my calves, have always been one of my biggest insecurities. I'm short (1,64m), so my weight is distributed everywhere on my body, especially on my (short :c) legs. My calves have always been really big and "meaty, " for a lack of better word. I always felt ashamed of them, and I avoided wearing dresses and shorts (or even knee length or calf length pants) because I thought they looked awful. Even my family always commented on that. The change is not big. It's not like I suddenly have supermodel legs or something. They're just a little slimmer. But the change IS there, and I can SEE it. I'm teary eyes right now, gosh, I'm so happy. I've had troubles seeing any real change with my weight loss despite other people complimenting me on that (and despite me documenting my weight loss in pictures), and it kinda hinged on my motivation. But now, seeing my ugly calves just a little less ugly... I'm all over the moon. Truly. I wouldn't have been there if it wasn't for one post from this subreddit urging me to be one of the people sharing and celebrating their weight loss results by the end of March. Thank you r/loseit, I know there's still a long way to go for me, but this time I'm not giving up!! And you, the person reading this, whatever the difficulties, you also should not give up. On anything. Let's keep going together! [link] [comments] |
| First progress checkpoint - I'm no longer obese! Posted: 01 Mar 2021 11:46 AM PST 25F, SW: 94 kg (207 lbs), CW: 78.5 kg (173 lbs) Hey! I've been lurking this subreddit for almost a year now, and I've finally decided to post and share my little victory - for the first time in my adult life, I'm no longer classified as an obese person! I know that my change is not as drastic as some of the other ones posted here, nevertheless, I wanted to celebrate and discuss how little and slow changes accumulated over time. To be honest, despite being overweight my whole life, until last year I had never actively tried losing weight. I accepted that part of myself and hadn't really feel the need to change. And, frankly, I hadn't had the energy to do so anyway, neither mental nor physical. This changed last year, when I finally managed to get full control over my depression and CPTSD. I suddenly had the energy to do literally anything besides sleeping and studying. I've slowly started introducing more and more physical activity into my life. I'm not gonna lie, changing my attitude towards being active in general wasn't easy. I hated doing anything physically challenging, because I always associated working out with just wanting to look better and I didn't want to let the society dictate that, as a woman, I should be as petite as possible and always on a diet. Then I met my now ex, who's a total sport freak. He never tried to put any pressure on me to do sports, he just enjoyed them on his own and was super happy whenever he could work out, and, tbh, I think that's what finally changed my mindset. I realized that being active can be something I do for fun, not because I'm being forced to do so during PE classes, or because I hate the way my body looks like and desperately want to lose weight. Now it's trivial to me, but I seriously had problems with perceiving sports that way. But, the best thing is, I'm not even doing anything hardcore. It's just some walks every couple days, cycling to the mall instead of taking the bus and occasionally working out at home (I strongly recommend checking out Team Body Project on YouTube, they were the first workout videos I saw where they actually took into consideration my limits as an obese person who's out of shape, and they're also super nice - nobody motivates me like they do). Since September, I've also been on a calorically restrictive diet planned by a dietician. First it was ~2000 kcal per day, now it's ~1800 kcal. I still eat the same delicious vegan food, just in different quantities. In those six months, I lost 15kg and my BMI dropped from 34.4 to 28.8. I wanted to reiterate, though, how important was my mental health in all of this. I don't think I'd be able to change so many things, had I never even tried handling my depression. If you have similar problems, I recommend looking for help first. I wish you all the best! ❤️ [link] [comments] |
| Kept telling my Drs something was wrong... it was Posted: 01 Mar 2021 11:36 AM PST TL;DR: Weight not making sense with what I'm eating. Doctors kept treating me as a liar. Found out I have metabolic disorders. Taking meds, changing foods. Lost 23 pounds in 6 weeks (net, gained, and lost in-between). For years something about my weight gain didn't make sense. I would balloon up and down super quickly with my highest weight at 476 but it didn't seem like I ate that much. I would diet, calorie count, not lose any weight, and then give up. This happened year and year again. I developed an ED and dropped to 320 and no matter what I did I couldn't get below that. Even eating less than 1000 cal/day I stopped losing weight, which didn't make sense to me at all! Doctors kept saying I was eating more and basically accused me of lying. After a few months of that, I was admitted to the hospital with malnutrition, heart issues, and lots of other complications. They said I wasn't eating enough for my bigger body and send me to a clinic. I recovered from my severe undereating ED and returned to my bad habits: lots of carbs, sugars, and snacks in the day, some binges, but I stayed low calorie on average. A month ago I decided to start limiting my carbs and getting rid of the sugar. I lost 10 pounds in a week. Then I felt the familiar pang of severe hunger all the time causing a week-long binge. I talked to my doctor who told me to keep going to therapy, but it didn't seem like this was mental, it felt physical. A constant daily feeling that I wasn't eating enough and that my body was starving was torture. Two weeks ago I said enough was enough and forced myself to endure the torture. I cut carbs and sugars from my diet and started rapidly losing weight. I visited a new doctor (70 yr old knew what she was talking 'bout) last week and this morning I got the news I thought all along: I have a severe metabolic disorder syndrome x: insulin-resistant type, and PCOS (also insulin resistant.) We're running hormone and metabolic tests as I type. I just started medication and today is the first day I haven't felt like I'm dying on the inside from hunger. One med I'm taking will take a while to load, so I will see in a few weeks how I feel. This morning I weighed in at 302.9lbs, down from 326 on 01-12-21. I'm having to cut out all carbs (including certain veggies), gluten, soy, dairy, and most sugars. I've been doing it for a while before this news, and it's finally becoming a habit. I REALLY like the foods I'm eating. So here's to a hard road ahead but at least I know it's not just my lack of willpower. [link] [comments] |
| Yall I saw "the sixties" today Posted: 01 Mar 2021 02:43 PM PST I'm 5'6" and have been 178 pounds or more for the last year (HW 183). I've been tracking calories, eating tons of fruits and vegetables and training. Saw 169 on the scale today and gasped. I am immensely more eager to continue crushing it. To anyone feeling unmotivated and frustrated about not seeing the results expected, hang in there and put in the hours. The workouts get easier and the calorie deficit becomes more normal - I found many ways of stretching it by eating in volume and consuming many vegetables, so I'm rarely hungry. Keep at it. For the menstruating people out there, do not get upset by the lack of progress around your period - water retention is real. [link] [comments] |
| I finally got all my Covid weight off! Posted: 01 Mar 2021 09:01 PM PST I'm 6ft, 49F. I am no stranger to weight fluctuations. Before Covid I had gotten to my current weight (188) and felt I was making good progress to what my happy range is (165-175). As an emotional/stress eater who has battled my weight my whole life I've been all over the scale from the mid 300s to the 150s. I was feeling great about my weight progress pre-Covid. Then living alone, takeout became my only happiness and I gained 34 pounds in 6 months. In August, I woke up and realized I was hurting myself far more than the Covid situation was. I went back to weighing my food, tracking it all, sticking between 1600-1700 calories, and walking. It wasn't super fast (27 weeks), but today I got the last of my Covid pounds off! I still have 4 pounds to go to a normal BMI, 13 to the high end of my range and 23 to the low end, but I feel so good about undoing all that damage I did! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Mar 2021 03:20 PM PST I'm 39F 5'3" and have weighed ~160 most of my adult life. Except with each of my 3 pregnancies - with those I always got juuuust over 200 right before giving birth, then dropping down to 180 soon after. After my last baby (who is now 4), I worked to lost all the baby weight and then some, and got down to 140. Slipped up here and there and spent a couple years between 150-160. Then covid hit... I know it's been bad. None of my clothes fit, I get winded easily, I can barely do any of the things I used to do with ease. I've been eating garbage and barely moving. I think I stopped weighing around 175, that was last fall. I was thinking maybe it would even out around 180 since that's where I was at my heaviest (after my first baby was born), when I was bingeing with reckless abandon. So I got on the doctor's scale today - yes with clothes but it was just thin capri leggings and a light hoodie - and it registered 193.6. I found myself closing my eyes when the number popped up as if that would somehow shield me from the embarrassment. I just got back to the gym last week for the first time in months, and finally trying to get better with eating again...but the reason I was at the doctor was knee pain and it sounds like a torn meniscus so I'm supposed to stay off it for a couple weeks at least. So now I'm feeling sorry for myself again, I had felt so much better getting back to the gym and felt like I was finally going to take control again...and I'm afraid without that helping me that I'll just give up right away again. I guess the good news is I didn't binge immediately after getting home from the doctor. I'm still on track for today but I'm hungry and upset and just generally crabby. Anyway I just needed to vent... [link] [comments] |
| I can't make up for yesterday. Posted: 01 Mar 2021 07:16 AM PST Since January I have been making good progress. (Just a pound or so a week, but it's better than previous attempts.) Until last week. My diet got derailed and I thought, 'it's okay I'll just make up for it tomorrow.' which lead to this cycle; Skip breakfast ➡️ small lunch ➡️ over eat at supper ➡️ destroy all progress with evening snack ➡️ swear to do better tomorrow. Repeat. Did this enough times to gain weight. Trying to make up for yesterday made it worse than if I had just accepted the 'bad' days and moved on. So today I said no more. I'm not going to make up for past mistakes. I'm going to go back to what worked. Tracking my food and splitting my calorie intake throughout the day. And that starts with breakfast today. Wish me luck. ❤️ [link] [comments] |
| Losing weight without obsessing about it? Posted: 01 Mar 2021 11:22 PM PST I feel as though every time I begin losing weight, I think about dieting to the point of obsession almost. I'm not undereating, but I just can't stop thinking about what kind of food to cook/eat, watching "what I eat in a day" videos, etc. I'm not even hungry while I do this, it's almost like a stress/anxiety response. I wish I could just eat the food I eat without having to think so much as well. It's not hard sticking to the calorie deficit necessarily, it's just the mental effort of thinking about it all the time that makes it exhausting. When I'm not in a deficit I'm able to eat intuitively without gaining weight, I haven't binged in years, and I try not to restrict too low, I just wish I could turn off my brain. Since I've only been actively losing for about a month, I am wondering if anyone has advice about going from the "this is new and requires effort" mentality to "this is just my life now" [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Mar 2021 09:09 AM PST This is for those of you who get frustrated over water weight, cause I sure do. This was a bit of a whoosh week for me. Started the week out at 169 on Monday, dropped to 167 by Thursday, 166 on Friday and stayed there until this morning. That 166 is my "50lb loss" number. That number is what inspired that big post I made with 150 likes on it. And this is how life goes: ONE meal of Mexican food last night (arroz con pollos with black beans, my favorite! But I didn't even eat all of it. Urgh.) ONE first day of my period, lol. ONE day of heavier walking than I normally do. And this morning I weighed in at 170. I know its impossible to gain 4lbs overnight. I know this is just water weight and is probably largely from the Mexican food. But gah, does it feel like a big slap in the face after floating on my 50lb loss cloud the past 3 days? Sure does! But, I know I've still lost 50lbs. And my clothes don't fit differently so I know my measurements arnt different. I know I didn't actually gain 4lbs. Rational me is taking over here and I'm not really stressed about it, but I wanted to make this post to show you guys (especially those of you at the beginning of your journey) that stuff like this happens ALL the time, in fact it happens to me about once a month. All it takes isn't even necessarily a cheat meal, just something a little heavier than usual. Something a little saltier than usual. Or maybe you exercised a little harder, or maybe your cycle is rearing its ugly head, or maybe you haven't been going to the bathroom as regularly as you thought. All kinds of reasons contribute to water weight. And that's why you always take it with a grain of salt and JUST KEEP GOING. Keep doing whatever you were doing to make whatever progress you've made. One overnight jump on the scale usually doesn't mean a thing. It'll go back down. Just take a deep breath, and keep going. Don't let water weight screw you up. It's okay. It's just how our bodies function. That's all. [link] [comments] |
| Finally reached my milestone of 50lb weight loss! Posted: 01 Mar 2021 12:48 PM PST F, 5'5 I started my weight loss journey around the end of September at my heaviest of 270lbs. I felt sick, unmotivated, and tired all the time and I finally had enough. I started the first few weeks on a Keto/low carb diet and decided it wasn't sustainable enough for me so I stuck with calorie deficit and going to the gym as least 4 times a week. I've found not limiting yourself and eating what I want in moderation has helped reduce binging and helped my overall mental health in regards to weight loss. I started seeing a personal trainer which helped me develop a pretty standard gym routine and feel more comfortable at the gym by myself. I don't see her anymore but I started weight lifting and doing the 12/3/30 treadmill workout on cardio days. I definitely have had weeks of no progress, weight gain, plateaus, etc etc but today I weighed in at 218.4! I've been wanting to reach over 50lbs of weight loss so badly and I am so proud I finally did it. I definitely have more to go still but I wanted to thank everyone here for the motivation and kindness. I couldn't do it without you all. Keep pushing and stay positive! [link] [comments] |
| Went to the gym alone for the first time today! Posted: 02 Mar 2021 12:01 AM PST I started going to the gym a few weeks ago with my friend. That was a pretty big step in and of itself since I'm not very active at all. I'm also not very self disciplined so I needed someone to hold me accountable. I was also scared to go because I didn't know what I was doing and had all of the nerves of "what will people think when they see me trying to figure out what a machine does??" (Yeah I know, nobody cares) Today I went by myself!! And I felt confident all through it and even hit a leg press PR and was able to push myself to keep going even after I didn't want to. My weight loss journey is slow but it's cool to see these type of achievements culminate :) [link] [comments] |
| February’s diet is March’s body – share your progress! Posted: 01 Mar 2021 10:55 AM PST I posted last month about seeing the results of how we've treated our bodies during the previous month. Progress shows up gradually – and on a bit of a delay - so we need to remember to look for it! Weighing myself every day drives me a little crazy so I'm checking in monthly. I lost 12 pounds in February and I'm almost at the exact halfway point of my weight loss journey. I've now lost 90 pounds in total. I'm aiming to lose 181 overall so I'm almost halfway there. On New Year's Eve I thought about how far I had to go. I gave myself a deadline of three years to get to my goal weight so I'd be finished by the time I'm 33. That's how old Jesus was when he died. I plan to be as cut as Jesus is in all his sculptures by the time I turn 33. I'm calling my journey 'The Body of Christ'. I've been planking, squatting and lifting five nights a week. I have a Youtube playlist of music and instructor-led videos that I've been adding to as the weeks have gone by. I've been doing a little more every day and stepping it up again at the beginning of the next week. I cannot believe how much my body's changing! My wrists are getting skinnier. I can feel that I've lost back fat which is just lovely. I'm back in some old smaller clothes and I fit back in my old sports bra (which was a personal goal) so I can start running again. My face is so different than it was 90 pounds ago. I had a bit of a wobble in the middle of February. I hurt my knees and I missed a few workouts. It really dragged me down mentally but I kept remembering something I read on Tumblr years ago. "I already know what happens when I give up. I want to see what happens when I don't." I managed to eat within my calories every day even when I was off my mental game. My motivation has returned and I am excited to head into a new month. With workouts I'm going to start doing four strength days and two cardio days during the week with a rest on Saturday. Really looking forward to the start of next month to see the payoff from the work I'm going to put in throughout March. Yet another Tumblr saying about weight loss I remember reading is - It takes four weeks for you to see the difference in your body Eight weeks for your friends and family to see And 12 weeks for the world to see For others like me that started (again) at New Year, the end of March marks that 12-week point. Next month we're going to see such satisfying results even people that don't know us will be able to see that we're walking on air. No matter where you are in your journey I hope you take time to celebrate your progress so far and look forward to results yet to come. There's something quite powerful about visualising your goals. Picture yourself at your best then work on making it a reality. We can all do this. Well done with your hard work this month! I really want to hear how everyone did. Remember that self-discipline is the highest form of self-love. We're doing this because we love our bodies, not because we hate them. Edit - Corrected February's loss to 12 pounds from 16 [link] [comments] |
| Lost 12 pounds in 6 weeks and feeling good Posted: 01 Mar 2021 02:13 PM PST Hi, new to the sub but feeling proud so wanted to post on here about myself. I've been struggling with my weight/self image for about 10 years. I've fluctuated between 210-220 for so long and any time I start a diet or workout routine I seem to peter out around 212 and give up. Well I don't know what clicked but I'm down to 206.5 and I've been consistently eating less and not drinking as much beer. It's been a steady decrease in weight since the new year, from 218 to 206.5, about a pound or so a week. Anyone have any advice in case I start slipping off the diet again? What are some ways to maintain motivation over time when things start getting tough or life starts getting in the way? [link] [comments] |
| Today, I weighed myself for the first time in 2 or 3 years. I'm currently 386 pounds. Posted: 01 Mar 2021 02:58 PM PST I had a vague feeling I was around or over 400, but I told myself there was no way, it was just me being insecure. But, unless there's something wrong with my scale, I currently weigh 386.2 pounds. I already know what caused this, I've been sedentary most of the past 10 months, and for a large part of that I was receiving enough money through unemployment to eat out multiple times a day, every day. It was somewhat necessitated by me being unable to get to the store, but it's been several months since that's been the case. I could have fixed this by now, and...I simply haven't. Today I start my journey. I'm hoping to be under 350 by the time summer starts, though I'm not sure how realistic that is. I believe I can be under 300 by New Year's next year. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Mar 2021 07:17 AM PST Losing weight (IMO) is equal parts physical and mental. When I started all of this, it seemed easy enough to follow the basic rule of CICO. But it wasn't until I got deeper into this whole process where I realize my mental health was complete trash. Even after I looked on the scale and (at my lowest) was 40lbs down, got complements from friends: I couldn't help but look at the mirror and still see a fat f**k. I hated every part of who I was, would get so hungry that it got me angry, and still couldn't say something nice to myself. I looked physical well but felt mentally crap. But seeing a therapist really put a lot of my weight and body image issues into perspective. Talking though things like body dysmorphia, my unhealthy relationship with food, the past traumas that led me to being obese, how to break terrible patterns, etc: provided clarity that regular ole calorie counting couldn't. I'm in a much better headspace than I was before but it's still a WIP. Don't forgot that throughout all this, you still have to take care of your mental health too. [link] [comments] |
| Comments about my weight loss are making me incredibly uncomfortable Posted: 01 Mar 2021 11:48 PM PST This might not be the right place. for this but it's been on my mind snd idk where else to post this... My (23F) staring weight was 270 at 5'10. I didn't hate how i looked at my starting weight and have always been confident in my body and was able to feel good even at my largest. I'm losing weight because i want to be healthy and i want to avoid the afflictions of some of my family members... Ive lost a total of approx 35lbs in 6 months (including regaining about 10 during the holidays) and people will not stop commenting on my body. I dont see too many people because of covid but I recently went to my partners parents house after they've been fully vaccinated and his mom kept talking about how much better i looked and how I should've done it sooner and she can't wait to see me once i've lost all the weight, etc. She would also use me as an example that my partner also needed to lose weight and basically called him ugly and said he could look so much better if he lost weight "since I was able to do it. " I'm conflicted because i am proud of the work i've put in but they way they describe it just makes me so sad. I wasn't ugly before and i don't really look "better" i just look a bit different. The way they're congratulating my weight loss and making fun of my partner for not losing weight makes me feel like they saw me as a less than human person before i started losing weight. I always knew i was treated different/worse for being fat but I guess it's kinda jarring to see people be so open about it. I knew with losing weight that people would notice and probably comment but this just makes me feel sad and gross and i really really hope that comments like this aren't the norm when you lose weight. [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 1 Posted: 01 Mar 2021 05:11 PM PST Hello losers, Happy March! Since it's day one, I'm going to give y'all the low down again in case you didn't catch it in the sign up post. Which by the way, is an arbitrary name. You are always welcome to hop in or off or in again whether you signed up or not! For the newbies to the sub reddit, please start here, so much good info! https://www.reddit.com/r/loseit/wiki/quick_start_guide https://www.reddit.com/r/loseit/wiki/faq And hey, maybe it's not a bad idea to review them anyway to you returning conquerors. I do occasionally to remind myself of the basics. Here's what we do in the DAC my friends! This is the sign up post to outline your goals, weight loss, self care, creative, whatever keeps your motor going. There will be a daily update post for you to chime in about how day whatever is going! At the end of the month, there is a wrap up post to reflect on the progress you made or didn't make & what you learned. Learning is progress my friends! We try to foster a supportive, caring place to discuss the actual day to day of deficits & counting & caring so much about how we fuel our bodies & lives. So be kind, interact if you like & hopefully you feel supported by the internet version of a push up bra! Leading by example, here I go! Weigh in daily, enter into Libra & report here even if I don't like it: I looked at the scale & immediately forgot the number & to put it in libra this morning. Monday for ya. Tomorrow I shall be more vigilant. X this morning, 229.9 lbs trend weight. Entering it even when I don't like it. Stay within calorie range (1800): I think I should be good today, some guestimating on fajitas will occur. 1/1 days. Exercise 5 days a week: 30 minute lunch walk & 30 minute stationary bike. 1/1 days. Self-care time (journaling, beauty treatments, anything that fills the bucket, non food rewards): I'm going to address the pile of laundry on my bed & there will be a long shower & skin care routine after. Try a new recipe once a week: Nothing yet, although I tried the pickled peppers from last month & those need to happen again for sure, with more exciting seasonings & types of peppers. X/4 weeks. Express mindfulness and or gratitude: Today I am grateful for revisiting a blog I've seen referenced before but never spent enough time on. Captain Awkward for the win. Your turn! [link] [comments] |
| Tiny victories are what keep me going. Posted: 01 Mar 2021 09:01 AM PST Full disclosure, I haven't accomplished much yet. I started about six weeks ago, and most people can't tell a difference visually. But I hit a couple of tiny milestones that I'm really proud of and just wanted to share. As of a week ago, I weigh less than 300 lbs for the first time in almost two years. Also, for those last two years, my belt has been decidedly locked into the third notch, and this morning, my pants were too loose. I bumped it up to the fourth notch and it felt perfectly comfortable. So, I know those are just little accomplishments, but I feel good knowing that I can lose the weight and get to where I want to be! [link] [comments] |
| Being mean to yourself isn't necessary [article] Posted: 01 Mar 2021 06:55 AM PST I was reading this article this morning about ways to change to become a more disciplined. Really it's about dropping bad habits and all four of the items really reminded me of this sub. But in particular the first item is about the self-talk that we have. I've noticed a lot of people when they're struggling and they're posting here for support and advice... we're just really mean to ourselves. We're really good at responding to others with compassion, but when people are posting about themselves, often times, they rag on their discipline or how they're "such a failure" or how they'll "always" be ugly or fat or have giant thighs... Being mean to yourself is not helpful or motivating. The stories we tell are important even if the only person listening is ourselves. This is the narrative that is running on the soundtrack of your life. When the narrator is a jerk, fire him!! The other points in the article are great too and also seem to come up a lot, but this really stood out to me and I thought other people might find it helpful too. https://nickwignall.com/4-habits-you-should-give-up-to-be-more-disciplined/ [link] [comments] |
| Unexpected victory: 20 pounds down!!! Posted: 01 Mar 2021 10:19 AM PST I've been CICO since November, with a really vigorous effort since January (definitely did not count over Christmas, though I did exercise!). I have been determined to avoid the scale for the first little while, since I tend to obsess over it. I feel like I am losing too slowly, although I see changes in my body, and give up. This time, I've been committed to just noticing the changes in my body, and maybe weighing myself when I am irrefutably at my lowest. So today, I unexpectedly had to go to the doctor, and had to be weighed. And guess what?! I had lost 20 pounds since my last doctor's trip in October!!!! I was speechless! I never lose more than five or so at a time before I feel it's futile and give up. I've lost ten max in the past before I got discouraged. Just knowing I can lose 20 pounds is exhilarating! I still have 40-50 left to go, but I know I can do it if I have already lost 20! And this comes on the heels of two REALLY bad weeks. It's rained so much here (rainiest February on record for my area), and I've had tons of work meetings the last two weeks, so exercise has been very spotty. I've also eaten decent meals, but way too many sweets since Valentine's. Two weeks ago, I probably weighed even less! So if you think you can't do it...you can!!! I never would have guessed I'd lost so much. Even if you feel like you're not making a lot of progress, you're doing better than you think! [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: March 2nd, 2021 Posted: 01 Mar 2021 10:20 PM PST Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went! Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here! I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 01 Mar 2021 05:26 PM PST TL;DR: Try actually counting calories for anything 'home made' you or your family cook, you could be in for a shock. I thought I was too smart to make that mistake. So I've been here before. I was at 220 at my highest, and at my lowest, I reached about 153, I was doing ok. I reached a plateau that lasted for a while, frustratingly so. I eventually reverted to eating junk food and not exercising. I've gone up to 184 now. However, good news, today is my first day doing CICO again, yay! I cooked my usual lunch of chili for the week, and decided out of curiosity, let's try and calculate roughly how many calories are in each serving. So I added up all the nutrition info for the ingredients, divided it by the number of cups yielded, and I kinda freaked out. Each serving was a little over double the calories I thought it was. I used to think each cup was 225 calories, when in reality, each cup was about 450. And I eat two cups at a time, so that's about an extra 500 calories over what I thought I was eating. I was losing at a rate of 1 pound per week, then I wasn't. Since I was otherwise calculating my calories correctly, that means the undercalculation of calories in the chili was exactly enough to bring me to maintenance, instead of in a deficit. No wonder I stopped losing weight! On one hand, while I'm really angry that such a simple problem caused so much stress before, I'm also excited, because if I managed to make great progress before the plateau, I can only imagine what my progress will be like now, with an accurate calorie count! Maybe this time instead of getting stuck at 153, I can actually get cut. Don't be like me, actually measure all of your ingredients instead of just estimating or eyeballing. [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment