• Breaking News

    Wednesday, March 3, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-03-03

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-03-03


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-03-03

    Posted: 02 Mar 2021 09:01 PM PST

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    I moved my pull-up training to the END of my workout-

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 05:45 AM PST

    and BOOM! I can do pull-ups. Only three or four, but literally overnight. Seriously, for the last two/three weeks I was doing assisted pull-ups as the first workout in my rotation (I heard that you should do what you struggle with first?) because I couldn't even get out of a dead hang. I could bang out 3-4 chin-ups, but pull-ups were a no-go. I stuck to scapular pulls, dips etc and bought some resistance bands and really worked my back and shoulders, but I never just went back and tried a pull-up after I was warmed up and "stronger." It's like all of the sudden all the muscles that were already there learned how to work together. That's the best way I can describe it. So, yeah! Woo-hoo!

    submitted by /u/Septopuss7
    [link] [comments]

    Need suggestions for weight loss

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 08:41 AM PST

    I'm 242 pounds, 6ft and I want to lose 80 pounds till this time next year. Gyms don't feel safe, so can someone suggest exercises for beginners. I read a lot of articles online but I wanted input from people who've actually lost weight. Right now, I'm running 6km a day and I'm trying to do pushups by doing easier variations.

    submitted by /u/hvikhe
    [link] [comments]

    Just used an ab wheel today for the first time in god knows how long:

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 11:20 AM PST

    It was INSANE. Trying to keep posterior pelvic tilt during rollouts was all kinds of torture (thought my lower abs were going to explode). And I can't even roll the full way out lol

    submitted by /u/TrashHazard
    [link] [comments]

    Not progressing much after 3 weeks

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 11:14 AM PST

    As the title says, I'm not progressing much in strength after 3 weeks. I still can't do a full pull up from a dead hang and more than 6 push-ups in a set means my form breaks down. On the other hand I seem to be putting on muscle in my back, shoulders, and arms.

    Is this normal? Is there anything I should be doing to progress that I'm not currently?

    submitted by /u/naval__gazing
    [link] [comments]

    How to eliminate leg-drive during muscle ups.

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 09:57 AM PST

    So I've been able to do muscle ups for a while now, with my best ever being 11 consecutive at a lighter bodyweight, and now around 7. These have been done using significant leg drive, or "knee drive" (bending knees during explosive pullup to ease the transition to the dip). I would like to be able to do cleaner muscle ups by eliminating leg drive and was wondering if anyone has any ideas on how to accomplish this? Any cues, exercises or other recommendations? I've tried keeping my knees straight, but usually that results in my feet going further In front of my body. I've also learnt how to do the slow muscle up in rings and on a bar using the false grip, but this transition is quite a lot different from the transition in a normal, bar muscle up. Thank you for any answers :)

    submitted by /u/undergroundmeme
    [link] [comments]

    Kneecap sliding when doing Nordic hamstring curls

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 09:57 AM PST

    I have been doing these twice a week for a few months now for about 6-8 reps each time, but lately my kneecap seems to slide forward when I get about 45 degrees with the ground. It's not sore but usually ruins the rep and throws me off balance. I've always put a pillow under my knees aswell. Does anyone know how to fix this?

    submitted by /u/mr__15
    [link] [comments]

    Diastasis recti

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 12:00 PM PST

    This is not a request for medical advice—just personal experiences.

    For many years I've noticed that when I do crunches or the like, the center of my belly bulges out visibly, down the vertical seam that joins the left and right halves of the rectus abdominus. I assumed this had to do with using my hip flexors too much and not contracting the abs properly, or that maybe it was related to the fact that I have scoliosis. Or maybe my body was just weird. I've only just recently realized that it's almost certainly due to a medical condition called disatasis recti, which is common among pregnant women but can happen to anyone, and can result from weight training and some ab exercises. (I'm pretty sure I know when it happened, and I was doing a lot of heavy lifting and intense ab exercise at the time.) It can contribute to poor posture and back pain.

    Unfortunately, all the advice I'm seeing on healing DR involves skipping virtually of the ab exercises I'd normally do, and focusing on strengthening the transverse abdominis. So that's what I've done.

    So my question is: if you ever had DR, were you able to heal it with transverse abdominis exercise? If so, how long did it take? Were you eventually able to return to more conventional ab exercises? It's frustrating to have to cut out a significant portion of my go-to ab exercises, and I'm trying to get some idea how long I may be dealing with this.

    submitted by /u/fattymcfat2021
    [link] [comments]

    How do i get out of a plateau?

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 05:44 AM PST

    I have been exercising for 3 months now and kind of gotten stuck at my pushups and squats.

    When i began exercising my max pushups were 27 and 61 squats and a month ago i hit my PR of 54 pushups and 84 squats in a row. But since then there has not been much development unlike the beginning when i was getting a PR every 2 weeks.

    I do at least 300 pushups on push days and try to do 300 squats on leg days but they are not doing much difference also my weight has also increased from 63 kgs to 69 kgs.

    I am 6 feet tall and would like to stay in the 60-70kgs range but at the rate my weight is increasing it might not be long before i cross 70kgs.

    I try to eat as healthy as i can but i am limited to what my mom makes and can't skip meals because i am 15 and feel very tired if a skip.

    Does everyone plateau at some point or am i just doing something wrong?

    Edit: just to be clear i gained 5 kgs in 2 months and I don't think that is very healthy.

    submitted by /u/thunderemperor2024
    [link] [comments]

    This movement... is it possible to hold this position?

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 09:13 AM PST

    is it possible to maintain this position?

    Or with arms making an angle higher than 90 degrees

    https://imgur.com/gallery/8V4w6uY

    submitted by /u/zedaoisok
    [link] [comments]

    Looking for a routine with resistance bands

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 11:22 AM PST

    I'm looking for a 5-6 days workout routine for muscle gain and strength.

    My equipment is resistance bands and one pull-up bar.

    submitted by /u/FerRabago
    [link] [comments]

    When did you switch from upper/lower to PPL and why? Looking for anecdotal responses

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 07:11 AM PST

    Hey guys, currently working an upper/lower split and wanted to hear from other calisthenics folks at what point (skills or training experience-wise) that people decided to transition from upper/lower to push/pull/legs. It would be nice to hear why you decided to switch and what benefits / drawbacks you noticed after switching.

    Also, did you keep weekly volume relatively the same? Therefore, probably having shorter workouts on the push/pull days? Was your motivation to eventually increase volume? Thanks for the input

    submitted by /u/Economy_Device4808
    [link] [comments]

    Trying to get better ab workouts to create the split down the middle. Any suggestions on the best exercises?

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 09:24 AM PST

    I'm 5'10", 165lbs (lean fairly muscular, roughly 8% body fat) and workout regularly, fight training mostly and body weight fitness. I've been injured most of 2020 and 'getting back on the horse'. I've got abs that show but wanting to get that mid-line separation down the middle better. Advanced exercises welcomed as well. Thanks in advance!

    submitted by /u/sonofagun_13
    [link] [comments]

    How do I train my hip adductors/abductors at home?

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 12:13 PM PST

    I'm 18M, and since it's lockdown I can't really go to the gym. What home exercises are good to strengthen these muscles?

    I have some dumbbells at home. Would I need a resistance band? If so, do you have any good recommendations for a good band? I can order one on Amazon.

    Thank you, I'm not too knowledgeable in this area. I tried posting on r/Fitness but auto mod kept deleting

    submitted by /u/TangyBoy_
    [link] [comments]

    Resistance Bands

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 10:58 AM PST

    What are some exercises that I can do to replace pushups but build my pushup strength? (Need high PUs for military tests)
    I'd like to avoid anything that is especially hazardous to wrists or shoulders as I know I will probably have poor form.

    Also, whats a good rule to follow with sets/reps and number of different exercises on the same muscle group assuming I am consistently near >90% of failure?

    Thanks!

    submitted by /u/HurrySpecial
    [link] [comments]

    Blockage in the shoulder blades while doing pull ups

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 06:50 AM PST

    I started to workout with rings and a pull up bar but I can't do pull ups. I have the feeling as if my shoulder blades block me. Is it because I'm not strong enough or is that nothing usual? I go to physio therapy because I have problems with my shoulders. He told me that my pecs and so on are too strong for my back so my shoulders are like too much inside. I never did my lifetime pull ups. Just push ups. I'm 16 and I'm sorry if something is not clear because I'm not a native speaker. I'm 5'9 and 185lbs if that matters.

    submitted by /u/Cano2744
    [link] [comments]

    How can I get my legs and butt bigger without weights?

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 10:15 AM PST

    Hi guys! So I'm an aerialist (32F, doing mostly silks) and I've gotten super strong over the past few years. However, I feel like I'm now unbalanced in my lower body so I want bigger thighs and butt. But everyone I know INSIST the only way to do this is with weights, and doing deadlifts. First, the idea that I need to buy expensive weights or a gym membership to do this annoys me. Second, 100% of lifters I know have some form of back injury so I refuse to lift.

    What are some exercises I could do at home or on my aerial silks to gain visible muscle in my lower body?

    Thanks ♡

    submitted by /u/AlleyCatNip
    [link] [comments]

    How To Do More Pull-Ups For Beginners (Grease The Grove Method)

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 10:06 AM PST

    Hi guys! Arthyr Morozov is here once again and today I'm going to share with you one of 37 methods I know to increase number of pull-ups! And today I will talk about Grease the Grove method. Yes, this method REALLY works for those, who do less than 10 pull-ups in one set. If it doesn't fit your training level, leave a comment and I will share another one next time. I divide all methods into 3 groups: 0-10, 11-20, 21-30. FYI, right now I can do 35 pull-ups by myself.

    Video for those, who don't like to read much - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eF0qJhu8xiE

    If you can only do around ten pull-ups but you want to do more then you have to check the grease the grouve method invented by legendary fitness trainer pavel tsatsouline which will help you to increase number of pull-ups in just one month. This method was originally developed to train for strength and as we all know in case of small number of repetitions strength plays much bigger role than endurance.

    The main idea is to do a big number of sets during a day with a small number of repetitions in each set. For example your current maximum is ten pull-ups, of which you can do five and still feel very fresh. And let's assume you have ten active hours during each day. If you will do 1 set of 5 pull-ups every hour then by the end of the day it will sum up to fifty pull-ups which is 5 times more than your current maximum! And if you will do this for a month, then your maximum will surely increase!

    Important note. In each set you should strive to do as many pull-ups as you can, while still maintain freshness in muscles. Otherwise, if you do reps until muscle exhaustion, you would not be able to recover in one hour until the next set and the method would not work.

    This is very simple yet very effective method which works the same way as greasing the grove, but for your neural muscle connections between your brain and the muscles which are performing the exercise. Just like learning to play a new instrument, it is more effective to practice multiple times a day for shorter periods because you don't get tired of it and the brain has enough time to make the neural connections it needs in between sessions. And because your current maximum is relatively small, this method would be a perfect match for you. So write in comments your maximum and then get back after a month and write your new maximum, I am sure the result would make you happy.

    submitted by /u/workout37
    [link] [comments]

    Does more upper body mass make planche easier?

    Posted: 02 Mar 2021 07:28 PM PST

    Hi guys, Not sure if my understanding of physics is correct but if you theoretically had more torso mass, relative to legs, this would decrease amount of lean required to hold planche right? Its the same logic as if you wear a weight vest and planche it would be an easier lean. Discuss.

    submitted by /u/mongrelkhan
    [link] [comments]

    Improving muscle up on rings

    Posted: 03 Mar 2021 07:46 AM PST

    https://imgur.com/gallery/LjAaveh. Hi, how can I improve my ring muscle up? I always go up mainly with my right arm so I think my left arm is lacking either strength or my left shoulder is not mobile enough. I can minimize this by doing the movement explosively, but if I try to muscle up slowly my right arm is a lot prevalent on the left one. How can I solve this? I would like to be able to do good slow muscle ups on rings. Thanks for the help.

    submitted by /u/SimoneTag
    [link] [comments]

    Muscle motivation needed! 6 months into yoga with weights (2-5 times weekly) and 3 months into hit classes

    Posted: 02 Mar 2021 10:46 PM PST

    Hi!

    This is my first post here!

    I am a 20 year old woman, I work out 3 to 5 times per week. I do power yoga and hit classes- every session is 45 minutes.

    I have lost a bit of weight over the last couple of years from about 19 to almost 20 (I'm 21 in June) or so (I moves out and went to uni and my eating habits fell apart) and in the last 4-5 months I have noticed massive differences in my strength- I can now do pull ups and push ups which I couldn't before, sit ups with 8 - 12kg kettle bells, 50 push ups etc. I have noticed some differences with my build where I have developed back muscles, arm defintion, legs and the beginning of abs around my upper abdomin (I use pea protein powder over whey as I have a dairy allergy) and I feel really strong now. When I am with my partner, we run 3 times a week (I hate running by myself so at the moment I'm not as covid has meant she and I are in seperate countries).

    However, I take adhd medication and until recently I struggled to eat lunch, exercise has helped me to eat at lunch and reduce the effects of adhd on my life. The problem however is I had an eating disorder when I was younger and my relationship with food (though improving everyday) is rough. When I look at my progress photos I feel like I'm getting no where now- it doesn't help when you google how long it takes for muscle growth in woman it says 6-8 weeks as that first muscle growth for me has passed.

    I wondered if anyone could give any advice/ experiance as to how long it took for them to actually have all over muscle growth. I am not interested in being just skinny- I love that i have developed muscle and am desperate for more!! It makes me feel great about myself but recently I am starting to feel like this is it for me.

    I am prepared to commit for the long haul, I would be so grateful if anyone (esp. Women) could share how many months / years of hard work it took to gain that muscle (I am hoping for a healthy six pack but that last bit of fat on my stomach is stubborn (and i think a tiny tiny bit under my arms when I flex).

    Thank you for reading!

    submitted by /u/oysterpearlgirl
    [link] [comments]

    Progressive overload during a cut

    Posted: 02 Mar 2021 01:09 PM PST

    I have been on a pretty big cut for many months because I was overweight and out of shape. 5 months ago I was 245 lbs. I am now ~200 lbs. I've been losing about 1.5 lbs per week by eating at about a 750 cal deficit (I track my TDEE in a spreadsheet and I currently burn about 2950 cals a day and eat 2200 cals). Because I was so out of shape at the beginning, I've been successful at body-recomposition, continuously getting stronger and improving my workout. My goal weight is 185 lbs, so I still have a bit to go.

    The past two weeks I have hit a bit of a plateau in my RR improvements. I've been doing the RR for about 3 months now and I think I'm hitting the end of my newbie gains, so the next phase might be more of a traditional cut cycle. So this question is for folks who have gone through cuts while doing body weight workouts.

    Is the goal when you are cutting to maintain your current progression/sets/reps or do you still try to improve even while cutting?

    I'm not sure if I should just accept the fact that I might stay at my current strength level while I drop the last 15 lbs, or if I should try to make some changes. My priority is weight loss over strength, but until now I've been able to do both at once. Thanks for any feedback!

    submitted by /u/vishvananda
    [link] [comments]

    Inverted rows advice/input - overhand grip on straight bar OR horizontal grip on dip bars?

    Posted: 02 Mar 2021 05:39 PM PST

    My terminology may not be correct but hopefully the question makes sense. I have a set of the Lebert XL dip bars and have been doing the Recommended Routine for about 4 weeks now. I've been doing rows using one bar with both hands on it and elbows flaring out. Today I used both bars (turning my grip horizontal) which kept my elbows tucked. Seemed like I felt more of a pump in my biceps and later in the day I felt I worked the muscles across my upper back and shoulder blades pretty well. Any input on which grip has more advantages? Definitely enjoying the workout and mixing up the different progression suggestions. Just didn't see anything about this particular grip/exercise

    submitted by /u/Think-Pink-1977
    [link] [comments]

    Looking for a 4 day Upper Lower routine based around weighted calisthenics and adjustable dumbbells

    Posted: 02 Mar 2021 04:35 PM PST

    Is there such a routine? I have limited equipment except for calisthenics gear and adjustable dumbbells. Should I even bother trying to work out if I have such little equipment?

    submitted by /u/GamerPatrick2017
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment