Weight loss: NSV- I suffer from Binge Eating Disorder. Today, I ordered Chipotle and didn’t eat it all in one sitting. |
- NSV- I suffer from Binge Eating Disorder. Today, I ordered Chipotle and didn’t eat it all in one sitting.
- First time in my life I’ve been able to muster the physical and emotional motivation to make lasting changes in my life, and lose weight purposefully
- 36 pounds down, holy shit, pics included
- NSV
- Made 3 rules for start of journey, feel free to add more!
- My Niece is noticing my weight loss, how do I respond without giving them a complex for the future?
- I think I’m done losing!
- Breakthrough- I am STUFFED with a normal amount of food!
- A 100 day 0s, 0 day 100s, until now!
- Breaking my silence and my stillness
- I need to change more than just my calories.
- NSV: First time in 18 years not stepping on a scale
- How did you overcome food obsession?
- Progress after four months: 83 lbs lost, M 35 5' 8", SW 258 lbs, CW 175 lbs, GW 140 lbs
- Today I looked in the mirror, and it made me realize I've built a new life.
- NSV- I've had to go back to Old Navy TWICE this summer!!
- M25, 360+ lbs, it’s time to turn around this sinking boat!
- An update! 13.3kg down since 14th May 2020!
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 2
- Back on the weight loss train.
- Has anyone else had the issue that they grew up without food, so now restricting food feels like a violation?
- Today I realized I'm finally okay with feeling hungry.
- Turning my binge watching habits to help lose weight!
| Posted: 02 Sep 2020 05:59 PM PDT Hey y'all, first time posting here! I've been on a weight loss mission since November 2019 [F 5'2"/SW: 184 CW: 154 GW: 129], doing CICO, stringent calorie counting and an hour of exercise 6 days a week. For the most part, things have been going well. I've definitely battled feelings of inadequacy due to how slow I feel like I'm losing. That slowness in losing is heavily due to the fact that I have disordered eating. I suffer from BED, have purged in the past, and have no connection with my biological hunger cues whatsoever. This has caused several lost weeks due to binging the calories I burned through cutting. Today is my day off, however, and I ordered Chipotle. I ordered chips and queso, and a burrito bowl. I ate about a quarter of my burrito bowl, about half of the chips and less than half of the queso. A would-be 1800 calorie binge turned into a 700 calorie meal. I didn't even go over my calories for a cutting day. This is HUGE for me. And I actually recognize that I feel full. Slow progress is progress, my dudes. Making small, sustainable changes leads to results that will last. I couldn't be happier. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 02 Sep 2020 07:40 AM PDT Edit: holy shit! My first AND SECOND award! This is so awesome thank you guys! I've beeen getting really high on the encouragement of others, this is only adding to it. Edit 2: OMG 4 and 2 gold! I really didn't think this would be enough progress for anyone to care, this is so encouraging, thanks y'all I've (32, SW ??, CW 297, GW 160) been fat as long as I could remember, have always felt just as if that's my lot in life. The only times I've been able to not gain 20lbs/year have been with the heavy use of stimulants. Also a year sober in July! i've got more love and support now than i have ever in life, and with that i was able to beat some of my demons. But with quarantine happening while sober, I found myself self medicating with food instead, and i ballooned. i don't know exactly how much because i didn't get a scale until like 2-4 weeks ago, but i was 300 by the time i got the scale and that honestly terrified me. starting in early june, since i've got the most time, support, and ability to eat well that i'm probably ever going to have going forward, i made the conscious decision to really try. not half-ass go the the gym and still eat 2500 cals for 2 weeks and think nothing is working and give up. not lazily workout twice a week. really try. i made a goal with myself that if i really gave it my all for 3 months and i saw changes, i had to keep going. what i've done! in june, i just did low intensity hatha style yoga. i don't like "working out" i don't think i ever will. yoga's the only thing i really enjoy, and have always wanted to be the sort of person that does it consistently. my favorite studio did a free online month for BIPOC, so it was like a call to me. in july, i wanted to get cardio in, but the few times i went on some walks made me nervous about going outside (men). i got a trampoline and have been using it to get a "morning run" in every weekday, slowly increasing the time and intensity over time. i started doing higher intensity yoga, and spent all july doing both every weekday and resting weekends. 2 weeks ago i started chloe ting's ab challenge with some friends on instagram, tracking everyone's progress in my stories. i was also doing the yoga and trampolining the whole time (they're just my constant now). I also added different types of squats during trampoline time. i jump for 35 mins and i do 10 squats every 7. it was a lot of fun actually! and i saw even a huge change in my body from those two weeks (pics included). i actually gave up on day 11 because i was PMSing and my body was so sore from the squats, but i plan to do another public challenge in a couple weeks. that was a lesson in giving my body rest days lol. my partner and i decided that getting a subscription box (greenchef) would be helpful to both of us, he's pre-diabetic and needs to cut carbs as well. i'm great at cooking but i have a hard time with figuring out sides and planning, and this has been so awesome. we get the keto meal, which is more like 1/3 lean proteins and 2/3 veggies than the like cream cheese and butter stuff, which i hadn't really seen in a keto situation before. i'm loosely intermittent fasting (i have coffee with almond creamer, i will not be moved on this) until 1pm every weekday because that's when my yoga class is over. "lunch" can be any loose meal i want, usually egg based. i also allow myself some liberties on the weekend so that i don't feel too restricted. i keep fruit in house and snacking is super limited if any. sorry for the novel, i'm just so excited, as this is the first time i've been able to have and notice any success in this area, and i can't wait to keep going every day! [link] [comments] |
| 36 pounds down, holy shit, pics included Posted: 02 Sep 2020 06:18 PM PDT Hi everyone Long time lurker, but never thought I'd be the one to make a post like this My heaviest was in high school at 252 pounds I'm sure everyone can relate, I was the fat kid in the group. Tried countless times to lose weight Lowest I ever got was 220ish sometime in high school but gained it back after giving in to the urge of fast foods Fast forward a few years my weight fluctuated, I didn't eat out as often but didn't exercise, so my weight fluctuated often I would hang around 230-240 pounds May 19 2019 I decided to give it another shot. 236 pounds. I was 25 and wasn't getting any younger, so I went all in 1300 calories or less a day 2 miles a day 6 days a week And chest/leg/ab workouts 5 days a week Since covid came around my work shifted to remote so I'm not as exposed to fast foods, so it was really perfect timing Anyway as of August 31st I'm 200 pounds flat. It's super weird, I get complements on zoom calls lol One of my students out of nowhere tells me their wife thinks I'm handsome A girl I hadn't spoken too in a long time stopped by my house to catch up and told me that I'm "hot" now My friends are starting to diet and exercise as well and asking me for tips Me, the fat kid lol It's an amazing feeling but I am definitely not used to getting complements lol Goal weight is 180 so I still got some way to go, will make another post when I get there. Thank you all for your support, reading everyone's success stories played a huge part in all this. Thank you thank you thank you. Pictures below: edit: link fixed [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 02 Sep 2020 08:26 PM PDT The number one reason I wanted to lose weight was so I could be more active. I like doing things like hiking, kayaking, and just walking in general. Unfortunately, my size has made all of these things either very difficult or even impossible (I'm far too large for a kayak right now). Of course the ability to be active wasn't the only thing motivating me. I also want to be more attractive, healthier, live longer, and all the things we promise ourselves we're doing all this work for. With such a high starting weight (407), I told myself that I needed to focus on losing a bit of weight before I would even go for a simple walk around my neighborhood. I gave myself a pretty simple goal of 25 pounds before I started getting out of the house for walks. Last week I made it down over 28 pounds. I told myself I needed to start getting out and walking. I WANTED to get out and start walking. I still could not get myself awake early enough to do it before work. I tried to be kind to myself, but that's a struggle on a really good day for me. The one thing I didn't do was let my minor failure to move allow me to throw out my calorie counting. Cutting down on calories has made my life better in so many more ways than I ever thought it would. Maybe TMI, but even my bowel movements have improved. Today was the day. I stepped on the scale and was down 32.6 pounds! Another 4 plus from last week! Great! But I still wasn't walking like I wanted to. I still didn't get up this morning and go and I still didn't go in the evening. Now is a good time to mention my lifelong habit towards night owl living. I always said I did my best work at night. So at 10 PM this evening I strapped my sneakers on and set out with a playlist in hand. 2.5 miles and 42 minutes later, I'm sweaty, a little stinky, and actually a bit tired, but I did it! And it felt amazing! The cool night air, the calm quiet of the town. Everything about it was just so pleasant. Today was the day I decided night walks are going to be my best friend. Maybe in the dead of winter I'll aim for some in the daytime, but until then, this girl is a nighttime prowler. [link] [comments] |
| Made 3 rules for start of journey, feel free to add more! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 09:53 PM PDT [EDIT: whoops, forgot to give all my info :)) 22F 5'5 160lbs, goal weight: 125lbs] Hi! This is my first post on reddit, and I'm not ashamed to say I spent 3 minutes thinking of the correct way to start it. A simple "hi" seems adequate. I am close to 5'5 and I weight 160lbs. My goal weight ever since I can remember has been 125lbs. I guess you could say compared to what other people have achieved, 35lbs isn't that much, but in the past I've always given up too fast (like literally, after two weeks. Yikes). This time, I feel different. I'm starting for the right reasons, I'm in a relatively good place mentally (strong emphasis on relatively, lol), and I have set a minimum time of 10 months (can you believe I never actually sat down to calculate how long it would take to lose this weight? Always assumed it would take 2 months, lmao) which should be enough for achieving this goal in a healthy way! So here are the 3 rules I've made for myself which basically summarize everything that's gone wrong in the past:
Well, except for here, obviously :D Sharing it with my parents has only resulted in "but you should be eating! You're growing! Just exercise and it will be fine!" No mum. I'm 22. I think I'm done "growing". Sharing it with my friends has only resulted in taunts of "so you're going to be in a diet for the rest of your life?!?! I would rather have a double cheeseburger and be fat than not have it". Yes very easy for your 110lbs ass to say this. Also I'll have that stupid cheeseburger, just not every week. Sharing it with literally anyone else has only resulted in condescending up and down looks and "but some people are meant to have a bigger frame. You look fine!" Yes, I know I look fabulous, thank you very much. But no one is meant to carry extra weight.
Get rid of the "all or nothing" mentality. As cheesy as it sounds, it's a marathon, not a race. They don't give awards to people who reach their goal weight faster. They do give awards to people who make healthy lifestyle changes though.
In the past I would always look at myself in the mirror and feel disgusted. No more. I'm not going to wait until I'm a healthy weight so I can love myself. The body I have now has gotten me here this far, it just needs a bit of refining. If you have any other rules or any adjustments to these rules, I would really really really appreciate it! Wish me luck! [link] [comments] |
| My Niece is noticing my weight loss, how do I respond without giving them a complex for the future? Posted: 02 Sep 2020 07:04 AM PDT My niece (5) is starting to notice my weight loss. She told me last week that my face at Christmas used to look round (she traced a big circle around their face) and now does not (she traced her own face). I just responded with "I guess I have different faces!" Later she noticed my ribs while laying down. And saw my collar bone. She asked what that was (pointing to my collar bone and ribs). I made her shrug so she could feel her own collar bone and explained it's bones we all have. My nieces are very slim and active. My other female relatives are overweight, and as I continue to lose weight, my niece is noticing that I have bones or differences from the other female adults. How do I approach this subject when they ask? Do I tell them I am losing weight? Do I say bones stick out in some people and don't in others? They went on a run with me twice when I was visiting. They know I'm becoming more active. I just don't want them to think they have to be small or big or look any way. I don't want to give them a complex. They already have some sense of body items (asking me to pull down my bathing suit to cover more of my bum) and I don't want to add to it. EDIT: thank you all for your insight and advice! I think I'm just super cautious as I can remember the exact comment a kid made that made me feel like I was big. He didn't even use the word fat, but from that moment on I was super conscious of my body, and how it compared to others. I wasn't even big, I was average. But to me, one comment stuck - so wanted some ideas on what to say that would hopefully not swing a pendulum either way on eating/body issues. I appreciate all the stories and advice on what to say! Learned a lot! I love my nieces so much and just want the best for them! Oh and since there were some comments - my other female relatives are not morbidly obese or have weight related health issues, more baby weight gain and a changed body from some life stress - which is fine! And they are working on it too! Just everyone has different progress and journeys. I grew up with a healthy weight family (we were active kids), it's just we became hyper aware of weight through the years as a female in society.... and so yo-yo diets began ... yada yada here we are [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 02 Sep 2020 01:29 PM PDT 16F, 5'8, SW: 221 lbs, CW: 121 lbs, OG GW: 130 (tw, mentions of disordered eating at one bit) I did it! I have basically become an entirely new person with the normal change of growing up included. I grew up with my parents working a lot and being semi-poor so the fast and easy options were always Kraft Mac and cheese or fast food. I think they would've been fine, but i never knew what a good portion was. Eating an entire family sized bag of chips. 3 bowls of cereal. 4 toaster waffles instead of two. 2 mcchickens and a medium fry. The entire footlong instead of just half WITH a bag or two of chips and full soda. My mom would make subtle comments about it sometimes (make sure you don't eat all of it at once save some for later etc), my dad would always try to help but in a really not-good-for-me way (straight up said I was getting fat in 2016, would criticize the food orders instead of trying to wear me off of that amount) and that led to me getting really insecure. I stopped wearing shorts or skirts in 2013, only wore shirts that were 2-3 sizes bigger than me. And then last year I switched off a long-term med that had an affect of increased appetite, kept on the weight and maybe lost a couple pounds until about october. June 2019 I was 220 lbs, november 2019 I was 179 lbs, and as of this morning I am 121. I used to always make excuses about it, saying stuff like my face is too big and if I lost weight I'd look awkward, that it's just my frame, etc. (MINOR ED MENTION AHEAD)———— the past 20-30 lbs have been very difficult to do in a positive mindset and healthily because of the way people in my generation (and honestly probably the same for others too) portray weight/eating on social media, especially tiktok now. I'm pushing through it, taking it one step at a time, deleted tiktok, people just kinda suck. Teenagers will be judgy I guess.—— I will attach photos below as I don't want the preview showing in fear of people I know seeing it lol. But as of now, I think I'm done trying to drop pounds, if anything continues, I would like to get more toned rather than lose more weight. It's been a long year :) [link] [comments] |
| Breakthrough- I am STUFFED with a normal amount of food! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 09:55 AM PDT Hi everyone! I've posted on this sub before so I'm sorry for posting again, but I just wanted to share an awesome thing that just happened to me. For lunch today, I treated myself to a non-water drink (starbucks refresher, I know I know the sugar is awful but for the size I ordered the calories are decent), a wrap with dressing, and some grilled nuggets. I'm a little more than halfway through the drink and finished the (very normal sized!) wrap and dressing and I am freaking STUFFED! No way I'm getting to nuggets right now or even soon. If not for the fact that I am parched and really want a refreshing drink, I would probably stop right here with the sbux refresher. Usually, I would absolutely crush a wrap, medium fry, multiple packets of sauce, entire 30 oz drink and clock in at about 1300 calories no problem in one sitting. Right now, I'm only at about 600 calories with about 60% of trenta refresher and a chick fil a cool wrap and dressing. THIS IS AWESOME!!!!!! That is all. Thank you for reading, loseit, you're amazing. [link] [comments] |
| A 100 day 0s, 0 day 100s, until now! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 04:14 PM PDT My entire life I have struggled with negative self image, and just really not liking the way my body looked. I was always borderline overweight, or on the higher edge of BMI. Ever since I was young, 8, 9, I've always felt bigger and grosser than the other girls. I was friends with girls on my soccer teams that were really toned and athletic and I never understood why no amount of hating myself made me any slimmer. I had no idea about calories or exercise, or even that what you eat affects the way your body looks and feels. I've been joining calorie counting apps, fasting trackers, workout programs, since I was 11, but never following through on ANY. I just would kind of forget and trail off. I figured that after a week of doing 5 minute workouts I wasn't skinny, so why bother? I just continued writing journal entries of revelations, and signing up for MFP for years, still hating myself, still never putting in any effort, just doing what was easy. I ate for comfort, for emotional support, boredom, a distraction. After LOTS of therapy for anxiety and depression, understanding and tackling trauma and emotions, clearing up relationships, getting my professional life in order, I decided the only thing left for me to overhaul was my body. And I was ready to do it healthily and for the right reasons. For feeling good, living long, and being happy, not just to be skinny like my motivation was before. 3/16/20 March 16 will probably hold a special place in my heart for a while. Thanks to a culmination of unlikely circumstances, it sparked my life up. I accidentally laid the groundwork for a weightloss journey through half assed efforts. I sound ridiculous- let me explain. I wanted to start running earlier in the year. I ran 1-2 times in October, maybe 1-2 in January, just like one day would wake up and feel like running. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ I don't know. But it helped me feel more comfortable with the idea of running around my neighborhood, even just a bit. It kind of gave me an idea about what to expect. So on March 13, My workplace closed for Coronavirus. They planned to reopen in April, but happy September, I'm still on my laptop! I took a weekend to relax and hang out with friends and family, and then I wanted to be productive on my first day of 'real' quarantine. I don't know what I was thinking tbh. So, I went on a run. I found a little trail that led to a small park exactly 1 mile away from my house. I figured that would be perfect because I can totally run 1 mile, right? NOPE. Ran 1/2 before dying on the trail. But I walked home, and ran it again, everyday, until I could run that damn mile. I don't know why. I never stick to things like that, things with nothing on the line. No losses if I don't do it, no pressure, accountability. I was so unbelievably proud of myself for sticking with it though, and it honestly helped me sort out my emotions and choices. For 20 minutes a day, everything was so clear, on that little dirt trail. I probably lost 5 pounds, just by exercising a bit in that first month. After a bit, I mixed up my daily exercise with bike rides, walks, and short 3/4 mile-1 mile runs. (When I say 'run' I mean like a 12:00 pace, def wan't putting in 110%) I soon noticed that I was looking healthier, and I felt so good. My stomach had slightly gotten smaller, and my shorts were a TOUCH looser. I decided I wanted to go further with exercising and getting healthy in April. I got a fitbit inspire hr, (He and I have a love/hate relationship, his name is Markus) and I made sure to get at least a little bit of activity into my days, even if I just walked around my living room until I had 3,000 steps. One day I just kind of decided to push myself and see if I could run the trail AND BACK. I never really pushed myself to run more than a mile, and consistently only ran that far. I ran probably 1.6 miles when I pushed myself that day, but I was beaming for a day straight, and in the shower I envisioned myself at the finish line of a 5k. It was like out of a cheesy movie, but I saw it, and I wanted it so bad! In May, I noticed that I wasn't loosing anymore and honestly gaining. I decided to count calories with my fitbit (Fix your food library!!!) and realized I ate easily 2000 calories, and my daily chip binges didn't help with that. I logged calories, but I didn't make a conscious effort to change the amount I ate, because I didn't know where to start. I didn't know what I should be eating, and how much weight I should be loosing. I used a couple other people, my fitbit's suggestions and my BMR and decided to actively cut down my calories. I ate at a good weightloss pace for a couple months, and it really made all the difference. It's only been a few months, so I'm riding that weight loss high, but as I plateu now, I need to remember how far I've come. I really took running seriously in June, and got to my 5k goal! Didn't get to do an actual race thanks to COVID :(. My personal record is 7 miles. I went from 1/2 a mile and death to 7 miles and being okay after. (That's my record, I usually do 4 miles a couple times a week). I took updated progress pics a bit ago, and it was crazy. I didn't even notice my body changing! I had no clue that I was lovehandle-less, or that I had a jawline! Anyway, my post is very long, but some last thoughts- I did it. I NEVER thought that I could be athletic and thinner. I thought some people just were, and some weren't. I didn't realize I had power over my life. I always assumed there were these rules on everything. This journey had also sparked realizations in other parts of my life. There's no rules. There's no rules to clothes, I can wear ANYTHING. There's no rules to cooking, it doesn't have to be a big ordeal, and I don't need 20 specific ingredients for everything, I can try new things. There's no rules, I'm allowed to change however I want. I CAN be one of those women who are healthy and look good. I CAN be ANYTHING I want. Can't believe it took me this long to realize and change. [link] [comments] |
| Breaking my silence and my stillness Posted: 03 Sep 2020 12:57 AM PDT HW: 99.8kg (220lb) CW: 87.7kg (193lb) GW: 72kg (158lb) So I've been watching this reddit for a while now, I found it originally through Luke Narwhal's YouTube. It inspired me and kept me going through my 20 or so kg weight loss. But since covid and lockdown hit and then later lifted (side note: I'm in Western Australia where our state government are doing a fantastic effort in keeping our borders locked and things are back to almost normal). But since then, I've gained close to 10kg back, takeaway has been too easy to buy, the gym is so far when I'm staying with my partner (which is most of the time) and I can feel myself slipping, and clutching at my health in relation to food and fitness. I'm struggling. But I've had enough, from today, right now, at 3:53pm on September 3, 2020, I am getting myself back on track to my goal weight. I'm telling you for accountability, as I will be updating you on my progress, but also asking for little tips and tricks you may have ❤️ [link] [comments] |
| I need to change more than just my calories. Posted: 02 Sep 2020 11:32 AM PDT Hi everyone. My username is macaroni to mangoes because I lost 40+ lbs two years ago eating 1200 calories a day of boxed macaroni and cheese. I went from 180 to 135. I have never admitted this to ANYONE. Obviously I gained about three quarters of it back because that's hardly a sustainable life choice. I want to lose the rest of it in a healthy way (eating fruit and veg). I started dieting again this year and lost some of it. I went from 167 to 153 (I'm 5'7" and female). And then I went on the most intense week-long binge of my life. It just ended today. Once I start binging it's very hard to stop. And it is always pure garbage food like pizza, hot dogs, candy, etc. I want to get back to my normal weight of 135, but I feel like I really need to change my relationship with food. I go between restricting obsessively to binging. There is no middle ground. What I'm looking for is support or resources on how to do that. I want to eat real food and lose weight. I want to actually nourish and take care of my body. I hope you all are having a wonderful day. [link] [comments] |
| NSV: First time in 18 years not stepping on a scale Posted: 02 Sep 2020 12:29 PM PDT TL;DR: Stepped on a scale at least once a day everyday for 18 years. Completed a calendar month without stepping on a scale and proud of it. My Non Scale Victory is a pretty big deal to me. I think everyone fights with some sort of an addiction and I've had a few but probably the one I thought was harmless was the most damaging to my body. I played high level sports for my entire life and I started weighing myself everyday (and mostly 3 times a day) since 2002 (I was 13 and 183lbs). Ive always been data driven so having a number as a goal to get up to in weight and knowing everyday where I was in progress to reaching that goal was extremely important. When my athletic career came to an end the obsession with knowing my weight didn't leave. I now needed to lose the massive weight i gained for sports (highest at 307) to be able to have a functional life. My injuries and pain hurt me and the leap into a full time job made it hard to lose but I did pretty good at the start. I would set scale based goals because I didn't think I would ever like what I saw in the mirror. For the last 7 years I had been in a cycle of lose weight to 239, celebrate that milestone and ween off a diet, gain weight to 272 and hit rock bottom and crash diet. The scale determined if I had a good day or bad day. I lost my dream job due to COVID and have bounced around 7 homes in 2020 trying to get my life back in order. I've been on diets and then binged and then back down and binged, I've developed new injuries and healed some old ones. But as I was driving to my parents home on July 21st I decided I would try and break my scale addiction and just live life process oriented instead of goal oriented. I have now stuck to my diet better than ever before. I have found ways to ramp up my workout plans so I'm not creating new injuries or hurting old ones and have gotten the thrill of feeling exhausted for the sake of exhaustion instead of the number on the scale. I feel better than I ever have. I know it's an addiction because every morning, post workout, and night before bed I stare at the scale desperately wanting to know what my weight is at that moment. But I know once I get back on the scale I will be upset no matter what the scale shows. I'm proud to have completed 41 days and more importantly a full calendar month of not being on a scale but know it will be a fight every day. [link] [comments] |
| How did you overcome food obsession? Posted: 02 Sep 2020 06:47 PM PDT I've tried almost everything to stop being obsessed with food. Counselling, meditating, the brain over binge book, fasting, no dieting, macro tracking, exercise, sleep hygeine, and still I find my day pre occupied with "the next time I get to eat" and what I will eat. Food is literally what gets me out of bed in the morning. I can no longer keep food in my house. I have slight agoraphobia so Its rare that I'll leave my house when I feel a binge coming on. if I order in, at least it's only one meal and it ends at that, however my entire pay check now foes to skip and Uber eats. If I have a stock pile of food, even fruit and veg, I'm downing it. I would love to stop wasting so much of my brain power in constant obsession and want to live life again. It feels like an emotional aid which drives me nuts because I'm full aware of how moronic that is. Does anyone have any advice on how to overcome this? Have you had success in overcoming it and if so, what worked? Thanks in advance for any tips [link] [comments] |
| Progress after four months: 83 lbs lost, M 35 5' 8", SW 258 lbs, CW 175 lbs, GW 140 lbs Posted: 02 Sep 2020 08:28 PM PDT
Still have mood swings and anxiety every so often. Especially with career changes coming up. But feels good to have made up my mind to get healthier to be able to absorb the stress four months ago, delay starting the new gig just to buy this time for myself to be in better physical and mental health before starting, and finally follow through on it. Setting goals, achieving goals. What a wild ride it's been so far. A year back to the day I was in the depths of burnout, a dream had collapsed, hard work of three years had gone to waste, and professionally and personally I felt broken and without a will. I had even lost my voice for a bit, that's how much I had felt my ego die. Looking back, I can't believe I made it through that. My family supported me. I made my brother stay an extra week when he visited me here. My friends supported me, I visited everyone and it all helped. And I discovered reddit since, and the amazing support system an anonymous social network can provide. Thank you and wish me luck going forward! [link] [comments] |
| Today I looked in the mirror, and it made me realize I've built a new life. Posted: 02 Sep 2020 03:22 AM PDT I have tried many times to build new habits, lose weight, and become some new, smaller version of myself. Fueled by self loathing, I'd cut down to 1200 calories, not allow myself any take out, and I'd dwell about food. I'd go aimlessly hop on the elliptical, just burning calories without worrying about form. I was never obese, but my hatred of the number on the scale wasn't close to what I felt when I tried to exercise any other way, especially running or hiking. My body itself nearly groaned. I lost 25 lbs in 2019 with my Loseit challenge teams, but gained it back as my mom became more abusive throughout summer, fall, and early winter. I moved out of my mom's house in December, and in a new apartment with my boyfriend. I found myself supported, and happy to come home! I could cook whatever I wanted. I buckled back down into my better habits, logging and weighing my food. I soon realized 1200 calories wasn't enough if I was running, and bumped up my calories. Running? Oh, yes. I wanted to be a faster hiker, so I started running for cardio. When lock down happened, and I only averaged 3,000 steps a day that first week. But suddenly, I did what I couldn't do before:instead of spiraling in my depressive cycle, I found my step again. My boyfriend helped me measure and weigh ingredients for recipes, making dinner on Tuesdays and Thursdays when I ran. I saw friends (outdoors and distanced) three weeks ago, and they all mentioned how healthy I was! How much they admired how I ran, how they could never do it during quarantine. And instead of feeling flustered or like I had lied to them, I felt proud. I talked to them about how they could definitely run too. And last weekend, I started attending a trail running group. And it is so, so hard. Running uphill over dirt and gravel and roots is all the worst parts of hiking faster. But I'm loving it, and I'm under the direction of a coach for the first time in 7 years. I'm social again, the peppy new runner in the group, instead of withdrawn into my own world like I have been for years. I'm 84 days into my 10,000 steps a day streak! I don't know how it happened, but I changed, and I'm proud. [link] [comments] |
| NSV- I've had to go back to Old Navy TWICE this summer!! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 08:46 AM PDT I am so amazed at the changes my body has gone through over these three months! In spring, the quarantine really hit me hard. Staying home worsened my depression by a landslide, and I was constantly binge eating out of a desperation to fill the void. At the end of May I weighed about 165 lbs (I'm 5'2") and had a new big ol' muffin top. I graduated from university and moved back home, and decided it was time to fight my depression and feel healthy again. I didn't set specific hard goals, but instead just focused on "doing my best" and being kind to myself. I ate some healthier foods, tracked with CICO, and did some yoga and light pilates. I just aimed to feel better. By July 1st, my shorts could not stay on my waist!!!!!!! I was wearing size 14s, went to Old Navy to get resized and it turns out my waist had shrunk to a size 10!!! Wow! So I got two new pairs of shorts that day. I continue my relaxed routine, and towards the end of August I notice that my shorts are a little too loose again. On the 31st I went back to Old Navy and got sized again. I couldn't believe it- I am now a size 8!!!! My total weight loss from May 31st to August 31st was about 25 lbs. But I am amazed at the inches lost- and now I've got a flat tummy!!! I wasn't expecting this sort of victory- and I've never been so happy to spend money on new clothes!! [link] [comments] |
| M25, 360+ lbs, it’s time to turn around this sinking boat! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 09:04 PM PDT Hi loseit, I wanted to make this post as something concrete I can look back on when the going gets tough. I've been aware of my weight for about 15 years or so, and I'd like to vent a little- take this down if it violates some posting rule. When I was growing up, I'd always spend the night at my grandmothers house on fridays. I ate pretty terribly throughout the week anyway, but at her house I'd have endless snacks and food. I'd regularly eat a whole large pizza, some ice cream, and then fast food breakfast the next morning every weekend as early as like 12 years old. Probably around age 15, I'd promise myself every weekend that I'd "start" Monday, meaning I'd swear off the over eating and start exercising. At 17 I joined a sport and lost about 60 pounds and was at 230, and I felt really good about myself, even though at 6 foot this was still very overweight and possibly obese. After the season, I kept my crazy eating habits but lost all activity and quickly gained 70+ pounds by university, where over the next six years I ballooned up to 363 pounds just a few weeks ago. Two years ago I lost about 40 pounds by fasting and walking, but gained it back and more. I'm extremely upset and embarrassed. I don't have any nice clothes, I'm not very involved socially because I'm ashamed to be out and about. I dated a girl who was vicious about my obesity but stayed with her due to shame and scarcity. I have no discipline, and every week, just like at 15, I tell myself that now is the start. Well I'm tired of my youth being squandered, my health destroyed, and my self esteem at rock bottom. It's the second of September, and right now I choose to be happy and motivated and disciplined with my face illuminated by the future. I read all the posts on here and I'm always so inspired by everyone's success, and the most motivating thing for me is when people say they feel younger. I already feel old and unwell. I want to bounce off the walls with energy! I love this community, sorry for the novel. [link] [comments] |
| An update! 13.3kg down since 14th May 2020! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 12:47 PM PDT Hi people 😊 I really wanted to give an update on here! I have been absent for a while due to personal stuff, but I wanted to share an update because I miss this community, it's the only place a can really talk about my weightloss journey. I hit 86.7kg a few days ago, which is the lowest weight of my obesity BMI boundary. When I hit 86.6kg I will officially be overweight! I got my period so I probably won't hit 'overweight' for a few days yet, but this made me so excited. I've been on this journey for nearly four months. My weightloss has slowed down a little, which was frustrating at first, but I've come to peace with the fact that this is a marathon and not a sprint, which has taken a weight off my shoulders. I have been very depressed the past few months. I have a history of depression, but this is the first time that I haven't used food to make me feel better. Instead, I found something much better: the love of exercise. I have worked out lots for the past seven years, but I always did it to 'earn' food or stop me feeling guilty for eating. 99% of the time I hated it. Now that food isn't an issue, I can enjoy exercise for what it is. It makes me feel so alive and relaxed and strong. Every day I feel my fitness getting better than it has ever been. I no longer crave pizza and chocolate, I crave the gym and working out (swimming is my absolute favorite)! I'm also proud of myself for not ordering takeout since I started this journey. I used to have McDonalds several times a week, but now I don't even miss it or crave it! I still have a few issues I want to tackle: I drink more diet soda than I would like, usually one can a day (occasionally two), so I want to reduce this. I also snack a little bit worse than I'm happy with, almost always due to boredom. I want to cut down on snacks or try and switch to healthier snacks. I also eat too many startchy carbs so I want to get more fruit and veg into my diet. Plain potatoes are my vice at the moment, so I want to work on slowly reducing the amount of them I eat. Despite these few small issues, I am really feeling great in myself. My confidence and fitness are growing, so I am very happy with my progress. I'm even getting back into dating! I am excited for what the rest of the year holds! [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 2 Posted: 02 Sep 2020 07:08 PM PDT Hello losers, Late post & run here we go! Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): 207 this morning. Stay within calorie range (1500 weekdays, maintenance weekends, NO FAST FOOD): Not doing well on day 2 my friends. Better than yesterday. I hope you're kicking butt. Exercise 5 days a week: Walk about. 0/2 days. Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Not yet! X/X weeks. Self-care time (working on love journals, beauty treatments, staying on top of adulting, drawing 1/1 days): More skin care stuff! Try a new recipe once a week: Not yet. 0/5 weeks. 50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: Not tonight kids. 0/50 pages. Be more mindful, present in my body & express gratitude to avoid the hedonic treadmill: Body wants to be doing higher intensity exercise because anxiety. Tomorrow I need to hit it hard. Your turn! [link] [comments] |
| Back on the weight loss train. Posted: 02 Sep 2020 04:57 PM PDT I'm starting another weight loss journey, and I'm very upset that I've let myself get back to this point. I'm determined not to let it happen again. Just a disclaimer this is going to be long, if you do decide to read it, thank you, if not, no worries, I get it. The first time I decided to really focus on getting into shape was in high school, with a purpose in mind, to be a better baseball player, well things worked out and I was playing baseball at the collegiate level, but I got content with where I was and let it all go, ballooning up into the 200s for the first time in my life. During the off-season of that year I realized I was not in any kind of shape for an athlete. I worked hard, mainly with old fashioned calorie counting and exercise and got myself back in the 190s. Two years later my arm was damaged to the point I couldn't really throw anymore at least not for that level of competition, and without that competitive motivation, I saw myself neglecting exercise and eating like trash again. I popped back up to 220 and decided it was time to do this again, once again, by restricting calories and doing at a very minimum some cardio every day, I managed to get myself down to 170 before graduating. I felt committed to maintaining a healthy weight and started either lifting weights or swimming every day. I gained weight, but it was about 15 pounds of muscle this time. When work moved me to a new town, one without a rec center or an affordable gym, I once again lost my motivation to work out, and slowly the stress of this job and the horrible conditions I was living under, had me making worse and worse food choices along with stress eating. I wasn't weighing myself regularly anymore but I knew my clothes were getting tighter. But I ended up moving to a town 20 miles away from work, and the better living conditions cleared my head, I made better food choices but still wasn't working out regularly, I did enough to stave off the weight gain, but not enough to lose the amount I had already gained. I ended up shifting careers, into something I really enjoy, moving back to my hometown, and I've had a lot of success with it. That being said, it can be stressful at times and I am traveling a lot, I'm not making excuses, I know there are ways to stay active and eat better on the road, but there's no doubt it makes things harder, and having become obsessed with this new career, I neglected my health once again, to the point that I now stand at 6' 1" and weigh in excess of 230 pounds (28M), and I couldn't be more upset with myself. Although I did make a lifestyle change one year ago that has been for the better, quitting soda. Beginning yesterday, I am shifting into judiciously consuming 1500 calories a day, and using intermittent fasting as a mechanism to help control my appetite, rather than just eating whatever and whenever. I will be spending a minimum of 30mins running or walking every day I'm at home and will be going on morning jogs or walks when I'm on the road. Once I'm under 200 pounds I will lower my calorie deficit and ramp up the exercise. I plan to post an update here once a week in an effort to hold myself accountable. This yo-yo cycle for me needs to stop, and I intend to begin that process now. For those of you that read through that, thank you, I appreciate the support, even if it is from strangers. TL;DR: I'm a yo-yo dieter intending to buck the yo-yo trend. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 02 Sep 2020 09:42 AM PDT Hello everyone! When I was growing up, we frequently could not afford food and I spent many nights going to bed hungry. I started working jobs under the table to be able to afford lunch at school and eventually moved into working at restaurants so I could get food for reduced/free and keep more of my money. This has undoubtedly caused problems for me later in life. I do cook at home, but eating out feels the same as a home cooked meal for me. I also have a really, really difficult time restricting food intake (calorie counting, keto, all of it) because it kind of sends my brain back to the negative headspace of not having food, even if I have it out and visible. Has anyone else had this issue? [link] [comments] |
| Today I realized I'm finally okay with feeling hungry. Posted: 02 Sep 2020 04:30 PM PDT And that feels like the real game changer in this weight loss adventure! My solution? Accepting that I've been mildly depressed for probably the last ten years, and finally getting on a daily anti-depressent. The new found motivation from this chemical brain change is starting to pay off with making me mentally, and physically, healthier. Portion sizes are easier to control, snacking is down, and it's much easier to skip a nightly dessert. I know the side effects of anti-depressants are typically related to weight gain, which is part of why I had chosen to ignore my symptoms and the inevitable solution, for so long. Just wanted to share my experience in case others are in the same boat! Has anyone else found success this way? [link] [comments] |
| Turning my binge watching habits to help lose weight! Posted: 02 Sep 2020 09:39 PM PDT So I love binge watching shows and it has always been straight up couch potato mode when I do. Due to quarantine, I ended gaining over 15 lbs and am determined to lose the weight. I know a lot comes down to diet but I was also worried about the ill effects on cardiovascular health being so sedentary while being home so much. I ended up buying an elliptical for $170 or so on amazon (and I absolute love the thing). I would use it, but not consistently since I have issues with motivation. I don't know why it took me so long to figure this out but I what I did recently was pick a show I know I am very likely to want to binge watch (recently, it was Umbrella Academy) and tell myself I can ONLY watch that show if I am on the elliptical. Then, when I am on it, I can crank up the resistance and get a solid chunk of cardio in my day! I will usually go for one episode, sometimes two and then save it for the next day. I then actually look forward to running because I want to know what happens in the show! I told my friend about this strategy and they started to do the same with their sedentary bike too! I'm not sure if this would help anyone else here but it has really helped me! I hope this can maybe be useful for someone who struggles to find motivation to work out like me. [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment