• Breaking News

    Monday, September 28, 2020

    Weight loss: I've just turned 34, and I'm in the best shape of my entire adult life after losing more than 40lbs.

    Weight loss: I've just turned 34, and I'm in the best shape of my entire adult life after losing more than 40lbs.


    I've just turned 34, and I'm in the best shape of my entire adult life after losing more than 40lbs.

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 09:31 AM PDT

    I've been wanting to do a post of what my health journey has been like for the longest time, and I'm finally getting around to doing it!

    Background:

    Overweight (70-85kg at 5'4") for all of my teenage and adult life, family history of Type 2 Diabetes, Heart Disease (Dad died of a heart attack when he was 49), Stroke. Diagnosed with T2DM at 26, and never restricted any food. Relied on metformin to 'fix' the problem. Food to me was instant noodles for dinner, nuggets, sour gummies, chips, basically junk food for children and at least 3 cans of Coke Zero a day!

    Fully aware that my lifestyle was unhealthy but was never motivated enough to do anything about it.

    The Turning Point and Finding My Why:

    Earlier this year, my Mum was diagnosed with Stage 4 Breast Cancer. She had been overweight too since her 30s, and suffered from a lot of medical issues - stroke at 54, hypertension, T2DM.

    The exact moment when the switch flipped for me was when I was sitting in the Doctor's office with Mum and her Oncologist is explaining to her why they could not proceed with Chemotherapy because her body would not be able to cope. Poor kidneys, risk of another stroke, poor blood profile, etc. Most of the damage was done due to poorly controlled T2DM.

    Her cancer was quite progressed at the time and Chemo was the only aggressive form of therapy enough to stop it from spreading further.

    Instead, we had to opt for a less aggressive combination of radiotherapy and hormone therapy. Unfortunately, mum didn't survive the cancer and she passed away 5 months after her diagnosis.

    It was then that I realized that you could actually neglect your body enough to the point that even medicine couldn't save you.

    I went home and spent the night deep in reflection...I knew that I had to do something about my health. I was on the same train tracks as my mum if I didn't change. I didn't want to be in my 50s crippled by medical complications. I didn't want to just rely at the mercy of medicine to save me. I didn't realize how poor lifestyle choices manifest in the ugliest of ways when you are much older. That it catches up with you, and it comes swiftly.

    I woke up the next day, 31 Jan 2020 and decided, this is it. I will change.

    The Journey:

    Over the course of the next 8 months, I went from 76kgs to 56kgs. I've lost 20kgs in weight steadily over the months by changing my diet completely. 70% Nutrition + 20% Exercise/Activity + 10% Recovery.

    I threw myself into learning about what I could do specifically to manage T2DM and repair my insulin sensitivity. Binged on YouTube, SubReddits and lots of reading!

    Started Intermittent Fasting first, then gradually went into tracking calories, then embarking on Keto.

    I didn't start working out purposefully until we went into lockdown (Malaysia). Before that, I tried to hit at least 10k steps per day, and did that probably 4 out of 7 days a week.

    When we went into lockdown, I couldn't do my usual walks, so I had to change up the routine. I started with Freeletics (a HIIT circuit training app) and then Les Mills Body Combat (through their app).

    I started focusing on strength training at the Gym with a personal trainer in July, and it's one of the best investments I've ever made.

    To be honest, I didn't have a goal weight, as my goal was just getting my diabetes under control and getting off medication. The weight loss was a happy side effect. I learned that weight loss is not linear, and there are going to be weeks of plateaus.

    I also wanted to regain the ability of having my period normally without relying on the pill (stopped taking it in Feb). 4 years ago I was so deep in depression and stress that it wrecked my body and I lost my period and haven't been able to have a 'normal' cycle since then. That changed in August when I bled normally for the first time in 4 years! T___T

    Stats:

    • I went from 40% body fat to 21%, and gained some muscles along the way
    • My HbA1C was at 10.6% at diagnosis and as of August, is now at 5.8%. Doctor halved my metformin dosage
    • Cholesterol Ratio at 3.3 in August!
    • Monthly Average Resting Heart Rate went from 78bpm to 55bpm
    • Dress size went from UK16 to UK8
    • Shoe size went from EU38 to EU37
    • I don't struggle with aches and pains anymore and I don't need to take naps midway through the day just to get through

    Today:

    I am in the best shape of my life - physically and mentally. The healthier changes have impacted almost all facets of my life in positive ways. I feel like I've regained many years back of my life, and this lifestyle is something I can continue to do sustainably.

    It really is a lot of hard work and determination, but once you find your why or reach a turning point, nothing will stop you. I think figuring out the why is so incredibly important and key to making any kind of pivots in life.

    It sucks that it took Cancer to be the wake up call that I needed, and that Mum passed away, but if this didn't happen, I would've continued living my life in ignorance (or rebellion as I stupidly told myself) and not taking care of myself.

    With Mum's death, she gave me life and a will to live.

    Progress Pic 1

    Progress Pic 2

    Post Edit:

    Thank you everyone for your kind messages, awards, upvotes and condolences. I've been lurking on this reddit for a long while and was inspired to keep going reading about everyone else's journey! Didn't expect this post to blow up!

    You guys are so awesome!

    submitted by /u/n1ks_
    [link] [comments]

    NSV: I went down a pant size!!!

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 06:20 PM PDT

    First time poster here, so be gentle.

    For context, I'm 26F 5'0" and I've ALWAYS been the short, chubby girl. I took it in stride through high school, and at the time I was sitting comfortably at a size 16 pant. Well, then I went to college for 5 years and around the time I graduated I started dating my current boyfriend of 3 years and ya know, the freshman 15 plus the happy relationship 20 started adding up. Early on in college I did have to move up to a size 18 pant, but YEARS later I was definitely in denial that the size 18 didn't quite fit, so I kept squeezing into them.

    Buying new clothes has always been a difficult experience for me because of my size, and any time I go to try new clothes on, I feel like I inevitably prepare myself for the worst. But tonight, after spending the past 4+ months changing my eating habits and becoming more active and managing to lose 30 POUNDS for the first time in my life, I decided to try on new jeans because my old ones were feeling so loose. And to my surprise and delight, I FIT IN A SIZE 16 AGAIN!! And comfortably!! I remember trying on jeans toward the end of 2019 and feeling so awful about myself because I could barely squeeze into an 18 anymore. But here I am, KICKING ASS, fitting into a size that I literally haven't worn in almost a decade!! Now I can't wait to go clothes shopping soon!

    submitted by /u/kybraddles
    [link] [comments]

    An update to my 3 year old post.

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 10:14 AM PDT

    3 years ago, I made a post on Loseit in a desperate attempt to find advice on how to lose weight. I was in the 360's at that point and about to meet up with my then online boyfriend for the first time in real life. despite the post, I didn't manage to lose a SINGLE pound up until I met him. We met, and he loved me regardless of my size. I upgraded him to HUSBAND in 2019!

    It's been quite awhile and I forgot I had this account since it was meant to be a throwaway, however, after rediscovering the account, I thought I would post an update!!!

    It took me 2 years after posting to get myself together and really try to lose weight. My highest was 375lbs. I actually used much of the advice given to me on my post to start trying again. It's been a year since I have started my weight loss journey and I've lost 106lbs. I'm currently 269lbs.

    It's thanks to this community that I was able to push myself in the right direction. I went from helpless to hopeful, and even if it took 2 years for the advice to stick in my head, it was still the advice from THIS community that got me to where I am today. I'm thankful for this community and the kind, wonderful people who are a part of it...and even though my journey isn't done yet and I have a long way to go, I just want to say THANK YOU LOSEIT!

    submitted by /u/TurtleDesperation
    [link] [comments]

    i know this is probably posted a lot, but i'm under 200 lbs for the first time in over a decade

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 09:53 AM PDT

    i have been wondering when, or if ever, i'd be able to make this post. i started trying to actively lose weight in 2016 when i reached my highest weight of around 275-280. i am rather short, so that is quite obese for me. i lurked in this sub to learn about what i was doing wrong, and tried to build a mental aggregate of all of the various kinds of dieting methods, advice, anecdotal accounts etc, that people gave.

    Eventually what i found, of what worked for people, shared these traits: dieting is not something you can do temporarily, it is a permanent lifestyle change; do not drink sugar; drink more water; study your portion size for your height and compare it to the portion sizes of people of healthy weights of the same height to see how it differs; exercise has absolutely no bearing on weight loss but it's important to your recovery from obesity anyway, think of it as physical therapy; change your diet away from processed foods to meals made from whole ingredients; use less oil; cico works but is unnecessary if you follow the previous guidelines.

    and so.... that's what i set about doing. i don't count calories, because i found it made me a bit neurotic. i started observing the portion sizes of others around me and reducing mine to around the same. i avoid processed food as much as possible.

    this was not even remotely easy. the first couple years were hell. i struggled with food addiction most of my life. overeating, eating to cope with depression, ptsd from childhood, etc. but i had noticed the health effects the weight was giving me, sleep apnea, chronic pain, etc, and it scared me. and obviously, i didn't look like myself, i had been The Fat One in my family for so long, but i didn't view myself as fat mentally. but i literally have no idea what i look like under all this fat.

    i've suffered backslides and such. but i just kept picking up and going anyway. there were times i thought i could get away with undereating... and also learned the hard way that is not good for you either. now... i eat a healthy amount daily, and only when i'm hungry, and don't find myself snacking much. i am currently roommates with someone as obese as i used to be, and their habits are as bad as mine used to be, and it's been pretty jarring to observe. it has been pretty helpful to stay on course, tbh, even with the smell of fast food constantly filling the house.

    anyway, i'd post progress pics but the last time i tried i was downvoted, i assume due to my appearance, so whatever.

    i have 27 more lbs to go before im out of the obese bmi. i'm looking forward to that. i already feel so much more spry and limber now.

    submitted by /u/Duskuke
    [link] [comments]

    I started losing weight towards the end of June, and so far I’ve lost 41.7 pounds. The biggest change so far is something I don’t see anybody else really talk about on here.

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 06:28 PM PDT

    I'm a 6' 1" 27 year old man. I've went from 323.2 pounds to 281.5 pounds since the end of June. I didn't log the date that I started, but 323.2 was my weight on June 7th. I know I didn't start until a couple weeks later.

    I messed up at the start by not taking progress pics. I don't really feel different. I don't think I look very different. I still have a big belly and man titties that haven't seemed to change. It's gotten easier to run, but I can only run a half mile at a time still because all the fat bouncing around hurts the muscles around my sides/under the stomach. At that point I have to switch to walking at an incline. I work out pretty sporadically though. Most of my weight loss is because I cut my caloric intake in half and I also fast. Usually 18 hours a day with 1-2 24 hour fasts a week. It's gotten easy for me to do that now. I fasted for 24 hours today without even thinking about it. I've been doing IF for years though since even at my fattest I skipped breakfast and didn't really snack. I just ate massive 2-3k calorie meals. I don't have urges to binge like that anymore though and I don't miss how I used to live at all. It's like something clicked in my brain and I felt disgusting about how gluttonous I've been since childhood.

    However, when I was at my fattest weight I had this bad issue with drooling in my sleep. Even if I took a nap I'd wake up with drool. If I slept on my back, the sides of my mouth and my beard would be wet. I'd have to sleep with tissues next to the bed to wipe my face off multiple times a night when I'd wake up randomly. My fiancée said she'd wake up in the middle of the night and she said it sounded like I was snoring with a mouth full of water. Lovely.

    I didn't even notice until today that I don't drool at all in my sleep anymore. I don't know how I didn't notice because I'd gotten so used to it. I can wake up without having to flip my pillow because it's soaked. I don't need to buy tissues regularly. My fiancée doesn't have to deal with the weird gurgling noises and she says my snoring isn't as loud in general.

    I'm not sure if anyone else here ever dealt with this issue, but it's the best change I've noticed so far. I'll never be morbidly obese again.

    submitted by /u/-----Nice-----
    [link] [comments]

    “Embrace the Suck”

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 08:24 PM PDT

    I'm a 22 year old male at 6'0 and 250lbs. After high school sports and going to college I put on about 50 pounds. I've dealt with weight issues that have stemmed from anxiety and depression since I was a kid, and it hasn't been until recently that I realized I'm the one holding myself back from so much happiness in my life because I've yet to take care of myself and my own internal struggles.

    Tomorrow I want to get back in the gym and attack. I haven't held myself accountable in a long time so I thought putting this out into the world might help. It's not going to be fun, it will suck, but dammit I know it is worth it. Studying Kobe Bryant and his "Mamba Mentality" has lit a fire inside me I haven't felt since high school football. My coach used to tell us "Embrace the Suck" because in the end, you will succeed. That's what I plan on doing.

    This community is full of inspiring people and your journeys are beautiful. I hope to get to know some of you better during my personal journey of gaining control of my body and mind. Let's "Embrace the Suck" together 💪🏼

    submitted by /u/TOMMYgun1263
    [link] [comments]

    Please don’t advise “moderation” to food addicts

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 08:30 AM PDT

    Hello! I have seen a lot of posts about people struggling here with food addiction. What is food addiction? Well, you might simply think it's just indulging when the urge hits because, well, you're addicted. But it's more than that. Signs of addiction to food include:
    - Eating after feeling full
    - Once you start eating outside of the "plan", trying to think of what else you can indulge in that you normally "can't"
    - Feeling almost no pleasure during the "binge" and feeling guilt after the binge(sometimes even during) and still continuing to do so. Also feeling that it's indulgence when the next urge to binge hits. Vicious cycle of feeling a "need" then guilt.
    - Social isolation, taking advantage of being alone to eat, avoiding food outings because people will see how much you actually "need" to consume.

    Now that we know the common complaints of food addicts, let's come to the title of this post. Obviously, everyone should moderate the amount of food they eat. For some, they simply lose mindfulness about food and can be reeducated to moderate their portions to regular sizes. For addicts, this is also true! However, addicts that post here about above issues are not suffering from a lack of portion control. Their problems and posts often depict a disorderly frenzy eating situation that repeats and as a result, they can't lose weight. In fact, "dieting" seems to increase the frequency of their frenzies. They feel lost and sad and come here to ask for advice. What they really need is support and reassurance that a professional can help. What they often find is advice on moderation and portion control and how they cannot escape trigger foods forever. They actually can!

    Any treatment for food addiction starts with an identification and purge of triggers. You can't get the chips out of your mind once you put them in your pantry? Well, they go right in the bin, never to be bought again. You make a pot of pasta that the family will share? You make just enough to feed everyone for one meal, no leftovers. If it's bad enough that you eat it raw, sorry, the family has to make the sacrifice to not eat pasta until you are at a step of recovery that let's you do so. Going out to Chipotle, you gotta get 3 burritos to feel like it'll be just enough? Well Chipotle also will be pushed wayyy back in your recovery journey.

    So please, I'm not saying moderation isn't key. But food addiction needs to be treated! And treatment begins with the purge. So if you're reading this, please gently push people to seek out professional help or at least group therapy led by a professional instead of advising cutting. It'll help immensely, like it did for me! Thanks for reading!

    submitted by /u/sumaclover
    [link] [comments]

    Lazy peon needs to work work work!

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 08:45 PM PDT

    First post on reddit :) I'm happy it's here.

    I'm 28 y/o F weighting in 230 pounds. This is the heaviest I've ever been and honestly even though my self esteem is pretty good, I know I need to drop a lot of weight. Ever since this whole pandemic thing, it really started to make me think about a lot of things, like life goals and the such. I quit my college studies in order to pursue another degree that's completely different to my main studies and now I've been contemplating traveling to other countries (if things get better, of course).

    My goal is to loose around 70 pounds and workout well enough to get fit and become a Viking or something. I know it might sound silly, but I grew up watching, reading and playing lots of fantasy themed things, I recently got into Castles and crusades and it's amazing. So, I've decided to try my best to make myself healthy and strong like the characters I tend to play, and if possible, visit other places and actually go on adventures hiking and sight seeing.

    Today I began my day with a home made breakfast, scrambled eggs with some onion, meat and cilantro. For dinner I had a salad composed of lettuce, some onions, cranberries, chicken and a bit of strawberry vinaigrette.

    Here's to hoping to achieve my goal. I'll be sure to share with you all whatever recipes , alternatives or workouts I get into :) cheers!

    submitted by /u/lazypeonorc
    [link] [comments]

    20lbs down over 6 months - how I'm living the slow loss life

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 05:13 PM PDT

    Hello LoseIt!

    I am currently 20lbs down with 20ish lbs to go, and I am so pumped!

    My brief story: I love chocolate chip cookies and cookie dough.

    2017: Reached the top of Overweight BMI (150lbs/68kg) and my mom kindly told me to turn around. I joined this sub, and I found a why - my (very active and fit) best friend was getting married in 8 or so months, and I did not want to be the dreaded "fat bridesmaid." I read the whole sidebar, started counting calories, started running. For the first time, with the help of this beautiful community, I lost 20lbs and I was fit for the wedding. It felt GREAT.

    Holidays, new boyfriend, stress, more stress, more stress... Nov 2019: Highest recorded weight of 164.7lbs/74.7kg (obese category, uh oh).

    WHAT I'M DOING

    - I don't have a deadline this time. No deadline = no end point. I am very stubborn about rules, so once the "end" has been reached, I start eating whatever I want. What I want is all of the chocolate chip cookies.

    - Weigh myself every day. I think it gives HappyScale a better ability to trend. I don't get caught up on days with gains, maybe because I no longer have a deadline, or I've just been doing it for six months and it's happened enough to alleviate any anxiety about it.

    - Logging my calories every day. I've been doing this for 183 days now (half a year!) and this is the ONE thing that has kept me on track, because even when I eat at maintenance and beyond, I still have a daily reminder of the deficit I'm aiming for and daily self-accountability about what/how much I'm consuming. It probably took 2-3 months to feel this way, but I find it to be an easy and pain-free part of my day.

    - Better choices? Instead of cookies, I have daily chocolate chips. Sometimes I even have berries or frozen mango cubes when I want a snack. I try to get a vegetable in every meal. I try to have a vegetarian dinner once a week. If I'm eating pizza, I prelog my calories so I know how many slices I can have before I decimate my deficit.

    - Allowing myself to be bad at losing weight. I love the posts about being willing to be bad at it. I ate 500 calories over maintenance yesterday, whoops. I haven't been using a food scale for months (though, honestly, they are so helpful.) I exercise anywhere from 0-3 days a week, but usually one. It's something.

    - Exercising/being active. Health is so much more about being active than it is about weight, and health seems to have prioritized itself over vanity, as there's no one to be vain for when you don't leave your house! So I'm trying, albeit inconsistently.

    - Stress management. My boyfriend recently called me out (in a loving way) because we started arguing and I immediately went for chocolate chips. (I still ate them.) I've been writing more often and going for more walks.

    It's all been said before, but I love rereading the same inspiring stuff over and over, so here's hoping you do too. You can do this!!!

    Onto the next 20 lbs.

    submitted by /u/n3156tango
    [link] [comments]

    Im actually losing weight successfully and healthily and im so excited!

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 02:57 PM PDT

    Ive (F24) always been average weight, mid range BMI, nothing extreme, but last year I lost weight suddenly due to a traumatic event and realised how much of a difference a few kilos made. Then I fell into a disordered cycle of binge/restrict that made me gain about 10kg and put me at the top end of BMI. Since then, I've struggled to maintain or lose weight safely.

    But! I just got a new job that's physical and im working in the middle of nowhere where they feed me so Im forced to only eat 3 meals and not snack. I don't own scales, but I took progress pics for the first time and I can see a difference in the pictures! That's never happened before and I feel really successful. Got about 10kg to lose before ill be happy but I'm feeling really positive and motivated to keep doing what im doing and im not going to rush it.

    I don't have anyone to share it with in real life because im embarassed to mention weight loss because i put on weight over corona and have hidden away.

    But im so excited! It's working in a healthy way and I still have energy to do things and exercise whilst losing weight!

    submitted by /u/Drinkthecyanide
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Monday, 28 September 2020: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 01:11 AM PDT

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    • Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?
    • Did you log for an entire week? or year?
    • Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?
    • Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!


    On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often!


    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Unsupportive Spouse

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 06:47 AM PDT

    TL;DR: spouse is unsupportive of my weight loss and it's starting to negatively affect me. Advice and coping strategies are welcome.

    Throw away because my spouse follows my main account.

    A little background about me (F34)... Last summer, I started losing weight when my job became more stressful. I wasn't eating as much during the workday and was physically more active at work. I was losing weight without even trying or really even realizing it at first. At the beginning of 2020, the stress let up and I started to make a conscious effort to continue losing weight. I woke earlier to exercise and continued to eat less/snack less.

    This summer, I recorded 70lbs of weight loss, went from obese to overweight, and made it under 200lbs. I'm currently at 85lbs of weight loss with a goal to lose another 30lbs.

    In May, I gave IF a shot since I was plateauing. It was a good experience and helped me to really understand my impulses to boredom snack and got me away from eating too late in the day. I don't go to a gym or follow any specific diet plan. My exercise consists of an hour on a stationary bike that we own or a 5 to 6 mike walk outside.

    I feel better, sleep better, look better. I actually have consistent periods now and the frequency of my headaches and migraines are greatly reduced. Everyone in my family and in-laws have been super supportive of my journey...except for my husband.

    My spouse (M35) of 8 years has struggled with my weight loss (his BMI is in the obese category). He says I'm too braggy and recently called me conceited about my weight loss. He told me a few months ago that the more weight I lose, the more self-conscious he becomes. When I started IF, he was always talking about how I'm starving myself to where I've gone away from eating plan so that I don't have to hear that from him.

    I try my best to avoid the words diet, weight loss, exercise, etc and to steer clear of anything that might lead to those topics of conversation.

    I invite him on my walks and have tried to share my tips on drinking more water, snacking less, eating smarter but he's not interested in trying to lose his own weight.

    Upon self reflection, I was very excited leading up to this summer and seeing myself lose weight. I dont think; however, that I've risen to the level of conceited.

    His negativity and adversion to my weight loss is starting to weigh on me. Has anyone else had an unsupportive Spouse and found effective ways to cope with it?

    submitted by /u/bbwcr
    [link] [comments]

    Does eating greasy or sugary food actively feel nasty to anyone now?

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 04:21 PM PDT

    I used to binge eat greasy fried foods, and sweets didn't bother me, etc, when i had my eating addiction. 4 years later, 80lbs down, whenever i eat sugar or grease, it feels nasty. Like tastes good, sure, but actively feels nasty inside my body. Does anyone else experience this? I cant tell if i'm just imagining it. The sensation is physical rather than mental too, like it feels like a sludge in my veins / a very slight pain in my skin. I've never been pre-diabetic, my doctors have always noted my strangely good vitals despite my obesity, even at its highest, so i doubt it's something like that, but my god my body really does Not like sugar or grease these days.

    i'm now realizing i'm not missing out, i definitely feel a lot better eating a healthier snack. it's just rather jarring, y'know?

    submitted by /u/Duskuke
    [link] [comments]

    Stuck in desperation and lack of progress

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 09:44 PM PDT

    (5'5", 62kg, 16yrs old, M)So to make this quick, I started to exercise during quarantine and started to do a bunch of different exercise plans with the intent of just looking fit, I'm more in the fat side around 20 percent body fat but with lots of strength and some muscle, I went from 76kg to 62kg and made myself look leaner on the shoulder, neck and arms however right now I'm stuck at a plateau.

    Currently this is my routine: Daily at 5am I jog for 1hr and do approximately 9km and after that 30 mins of bodyweight cardio. After that at night I do a dumbbell routine (right now using 20lb dumbbells). Then lastly just rest Saturday and Sunday. I really don´t have any diet set in stone because my parents fear of me being too skinny so I just control not to eat a lot and prioritize not eating junk. But I haven't seen any fat loss and I'm actually scared that I might lose the muscle gains I was having at the beginning because I see all these vids and stories about people getting amazing results in less time than what I've been doing. Am I doing this wrong? Am I being counterproductive with my combination of cardio and weight lifting? If so what would be the best way to prioritize fat and weight loss without losing the muscle I have or maybe even gain more with time? If everything is about diet, any concrete plan or somewhere I can get a good nutritional plan?

    Routines:
    Weightlifting: https://cdn.muscleandstrength.com/sites/default/files/workouts/dumbbellworkout5day_0.pdf
    Bodyweight cardio:
    https://darebee.com/workouts/solid-snake-workout.html

    submitted by /u/RedM1st89
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: September 28th, 2020

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 10:36 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    Trying to reach my goal weight (135lbs) in 6-ish months. 25F, 5’5”, 165lbs. Is it doable?

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 04:27 PM PDT

    Hello! I'm trying to take advantage of my spouses' deployment and really focus on my health and fitness goals. I want to lose about 30 pounds before he comes back. I am already working out consistently. I do strength training 3-4 days a week and I run 2-3 days a week. My diet isn't great. I'm going to start intermittent fasting, as it works well with my lifestyle. Any tips on what else I can do during this time? I'll be all alone for most of it so I can eat whatever/whenever. That could be really good or really bad. I just want to look and feel great when my spouse returns! I'm also hoping that keeping my diet in check, along with my regular exercise, will help my mentality.

    submitted by /u/yeldah_
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 27

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 05:50 PM PDT

    Hello losers,

    Happy Sunday! Meal prep is done & ready for work lunches. Chili over yonder, hopefully it means it will inspire chili weather.

    Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning.

    Stay within calorie range (1500 weekdays, maintenance weekends, NO FAST FOOD): Better today. Maintenance.

    Exercise 5 days a week: Light walk to clear my damn head will happen after dinner. 18/27 days.

    Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Not today. 3/3 weeks.

    Self-care time (working on love journals, beauty treatments, staying on top of adulting, drawing 11/22 days): Work. Blergh. Adulting.

    Try a new recipe once a week: Experimenting with pumpkin puree, slightly different chili recipe & an oil based vinaigrette salad dressing. 3/5 weeks.

    50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: Not tonight kids. 0/50 pages.

    Be more mindful, present in my body & express gratitude to avoid the hedonic treadmill: I am grateful for my kitty tolerating me trimming her claws. Murder mittens ahoy.

    Your turn kids!

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    I’m trying Noom!

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 04:14 PM PDT

    I gained 30 lbs since March, and I've lost/gained before, so I was a skeptic... having tried Dr Oz, P.I.N.K., dropping a gym membership and struggling to get that yoga membership, working on my butt from home instead of walking school hallway laps day in and day out... I really needed a mental coach, felt like my brain was out of whack (depression anyone). Anywho, I'm on a free trial and I really like what I'm seeing in the app. Activity and meal tracking PLUS psychology for us knowledge nuts.

    It's helping me reframe some distorted thoughts (like "I'll only ever be able to get down to 185lbs)... turns out you have to believe for it to work!

    It's a great app and I might even pay money for it once my trial runs out. Wish me luck!

    submitted by /u/Lollipop77
    [link] [comments]

    Hit rock bottom

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 09:32 PM PDT

    Hi all, I don't usually make post at all honestly but I am in need of help with the situation I am in and want to stop feeling the way I feel. I have been on a great healthy diet for almost a year and a half now. I'm down 67 pounds but not yet quiet where I want to be. I'm still a bit overweight and the size that I am currently at isnt satisfying. So my problem is this : I will eat healthy all week and then on a Saturday or Sunday I'll give myself a cheat meal. But then , it turns into another cheat meal. Then a cheat snack. Then a cheat day. Because why not right? Yeah no. Then I cry by the end of the day, feel horrible, and then after I cry want to eat more. I've tried multiple strategies such as telling myself no cheat day every week but rather every other week but FAILED at that. I have gained five pounds from the past four week just because of how much I'd eat on these UNEXPECTED might I add cheat days. Eating around 6,000 calories of junk. I have gotten into a deep depression now because I feel like I have let myself down, multiple times. I keep telling myself I'll stop overeating the eat great for a whole six days and on the seventh pig out. Has anyone ever been in this situation before? How do you control it?

    submitted by /u/Nadsop123
    [link] [comments]

    After almost two years, the scale is finally going down

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 08:42 AM PDT

    Hi everyone,

    A bit of background on me: I'm 22 years old, 188 lbs, and 5' 2". My family has a huge history of thyroid conditions, so about two years ago, I started getting my thyroid checked with blood tests and even had an ultrasound done. My thyroid was visibly looking like I had Hashimoto's, but my doctor wouldn't start looking at treatment options since my tests were relatively normal. Last year, I gained almost 30 pounds in the span of about two or three months because my thyroid finally took a dip. I was already a little overweight, so the extra pounds really took a toll on me physically and mentally I worked with a personal trainer, ate at a calorie deficit, and just worked SO hard to try to lose the weight, and NOTHING was working. My doctor would barely consider putting me on thyroid medication even after all of that.

    In February, I started a new job and got new insurance. I switched doctors because the labs from my previous doctor were no longer in network. The new doctor ran my tests, ran antibody tests, and spoke with an endocrinologist to find the best treatment plan because I did in fact have Hashimoto's disease. I was finally put on levothyroxine!

    After gaining all that weight and finally getting a doctor to listen to me, I found a good dosage of medication and I LOST TWO POUNDS this month!! Hypothyroidism makes it extremely hard to lose anything but so easy to gain. I'm just so proud of this moment, and I hope I can continue losing. It's probably going to be a slow process, but any progress is all that matters. I hope that one day I can post here saying that I've finally reached my goal weight.

    Moral of the story: YOU know what your body needs!! If you have a doctor that's not listening to you or isn't taking health conditions seriously, find a new doctor. There is one out there that will finally listen and it will feel so validating. We all have the ability to achieve our goals, even if some journeys take longer.

    submitted by /u/ejoze
    [link] [comments]

    1000 Days of MFP - Thanks LoseIt and ProgressPics

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 06:27 AM PDT

    Hi all,

    I want to start by saying MAINTENANCE IS HARD. I'm not going to lie, it's been hard maintaining the weight loss. It seems like I wanted to work harder to lose the weight and now that it's gone, I'm a little more lazy or complacent.

    That being said, I'm so grateful to this sub and to ProgressPics for the inspiration. I have upvoted every single progress pic that has been posted to that sub over the last 1000 days. It's my daily inspiration and I feel like everybody who is posting there deserves an upvote. I have also read many of the posts in this sub over the past 1000 days and it helps keep me motivated.

    To everybody who is putting in the work, making an effort and sharing their stories with strangers online, THANK YOU. Had I not found these subs I would not be where I am today. I am much healthier and have a much more positive outlook on life because of you. I have changed my lifestyle to one that is much healthier and I owe it all to you.

    You can see my 1000 day progress pic here - https://www.reddit.com/r/progresspics/comments/j0qy55/m4557_246_17571lbs_1000_days_of_mfp_thank_you/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x&context=3

    submitted by /u/peiguy23
    [link] [comments]

    How one decision is changing my life for the he better.

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 10:56 AM PDT

    So about 2 months ago, I had a really really hard heartbreak. I was seriously considering what to do with my life and where was I heading. After a lot of thinking, I'd decided, that, the first step towards fixing stuff was to begin with me. And so it begun.

    In August I started my journey towards losing weight. It was tough at first, counting calories, eating healthy, removing old eating and bad lifestyle habits. The first few weeks were not easy at all. But then the results started happening. Healthy food became something I can't live without and exercise is a daily and enjoyable thing for me.

    Almost 2 months later I've 12 kgs and am at the best I've in the last 5 years. It feels good to see my face thinner, my clothes not fitting me anymore and my mood improving day after day.

    I'm still not done, but damn am I proud. Everything has become clearer for me. Hopefully by Christmas I'll post here again, after hitting my goal and this the with progress pics. Big thank you to the community for inspiring me each and every day.

    submitted by /u/YouSaidWutMate
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment