• Breaking News

    Monday, September 28, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: Motivation Monday for 2020-09-28

    Bodyweight Fitness: Motivation Monday for 2020-09-28


    Motivation Monday for 2020-09-28

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    Welcome to Motivation Monday, your weekly thread for motivational videos, pictures, and stories!

    Anything goes in this thread, as long as it's motivating. Let's get started!


    Feeling inspired and want to pass the time with other badass videos? Check out our collection of YouTube videos through our official channel!

    Join our live chatroom on Discord! You can find the web client by clicking this link, here.

    We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-28

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    I attended my first adult gymnastics class. My thoughts

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 10:24 PM PDT

    Please excuse my pathetic formatting on a mobile.

    My background:

    Like so many of you I'm an adult calisthenics / bodyweight enthusiast with some good strength but no gymnastics background. Over time I took an interest in men's artistic gymnastics sport events, incorporating gymnastic elements into my rings routine.

    Today I went to a university gym to attend a 2-hour gymnastics class with 7 other adults, 4 men and 3 women, all regulars of 4+ months. These classes are meant to teach artistic gymnastics on apparatuses of still rings, parallel bars and the high bar. I personally have no interest in free exercises or acrobatics.

    My observations:

    1. The warmup was more intense thanks to running, crawling etc. "compounded" with upper body dynamic elements (compared to my half-assed mobility warmup standing). Just a reminder that you do need to do your wrist mobility, shoulder dislocates, arm circles etc. but it's also necessary to literally warm up (break a sweat).

    2. We performed a multitude of lying, spotter-assisted, against the wall drills of bodylines, handstand and press elements that were not directly relevant to the work done later on the rings. Just a reminder that you have to do these things because they will come in handy at some point. Don't be me who can't balance a freestanding HS more than 3 seconds unless the planets line up.

    3. Being finally able to swing on high rings as opposed to having them hang from a bar within arms reach is fun! It was a little intimidating to jump and grab them at first (280cm).

    4. There is a shit-ton of short cues and tips that a professional will throw at you each time you perform anything. After 4 years of calisthenics I understood the terms we were told and did most things largely right within a couple repetitions people assumed I had actual gymnastics background which is nice. But the trainer's informed eye points out the little things and fixes that you weren't aware of, that noone has told you, that you never noticed. That can make the difference between getting something okay on the first attempt and largely right on the third.

    5. There are many useful progressions and variants of exercises where a foam box, a gym ball, adjustable-height rings or a spotter come in inherently handy. Some elements you just can't effectively learn by yourself on a bar, with a set of rings and resistance bands. But you'd be surprised by how many you can.

    6. Gymnastic swing, kip and roll element guides on youtube are pitifully lacking (beyond the very foundations). The videos are often short, or meant for trainers to show how to teach and spot effectively, not so much how to learn them. Having watched hours of gymnastic events I wanted to do at least some of the exercises I saw on screen. They often require not more power, but dynamic awareness and being taught complex technique. Here this kind of classes really shines.

    7. The other participants, of whom the most "fresh" was training since June, were performing skills at the level I'd hoped to see–not at all easy for me, but neither intimidatingly advanced. Before, I was anxious of dragging the group down or needing much help to follow allong. This may be a reason for shy people like me not to go. Worry not folks

    My conclusions:

    Self-training based off internet tutorials can get one quite far, especially strength-wise. It's at this point that attending classes at a gym under a professional can be most beneficial to progress further. Having him show what things to do, correct the way one does them, combined with the foundational understanding and strength, can result in a lot of improvement even after few sessions. Even if, like me, you can't afford to pay for regular visits long-term, I greatly encourage you to find similar classes in your area and give them a try.

    Needless to say it was very fun and inspiring

    submitted by /u/WojtekimbieR
    [link] [comments]

    How do you deal with anxiety ina gym environment/for exercising in general?

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 04:19 AM PDT

    I (18M) suffer from social anxiety and have autism. So, when I'm in a gym environment, I feel overwhelmed and stressed. I am often hyperaware of my surroundings and it takes a lot of mental energy to tune things out. Which normally sends me into a "meltdown" as it's called.

    I want to go to the gym for my own physical improvement as I'm relatively thin with no noticable muscle and I am extremely weak, but I don't feel comfortable in that setting at all, nor can I afford to buy much of my own equipment. I have two 4kg and two 8kg hand-me-down dumbells (I struggle with the 8kg) from when my father was my age, that's it.

    As well as all this, I just feel embarrassed whenever I exercise in general. Be it on my own or in a gym/sporting club setting. I think I look stupid and, when there are others around, my mind just focuses on how much better they are than me.

    Sorry if that comes off as whiney at all, I really need some help here.

    submitted by /u/JamieT0
    [link] [comments]

    Struggling to do OAC negatives even with a 75% weighted chinup

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 08:42 AM PDT

    As the title states, my 1rm chinup is 115lbs, which is 75% of my bodyweight (150lbs). I can do 70lbs for a 5x5. My 5x5 weight increases by 5lbs about every week and a half, so I'm making decent progress with my weighted chinup. However, I cannot do even a single negative OAC.

    Does anyone here have experience with using weighted chinups to get the OAC?

    submitted by /u/arjav_
    [link] [comments]

    Skill work and kyphosis

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 06:25 AM PDT

    Well the title basically says it all. Let me start by clarifying this. There are 2 types of Kyphosis.

    -Functional - this can be healed with stretching the correct muscles, training the weak ones and overall dedicated posture improvement routine.

    -Structural - Shuermann's Kyphosis - wedged vertebres, can't be fixed, but if you train, stretch, maintain a healthy lifestyle overall, there is is close to zero impact on the physical ability of one (that's my experience). I've been doing body work for some months now, got a pull up bar, bands, rings and stuff like that, basically everything a good ole RR routine needs.

    I've been doing the l-sit and I've been thinking of going into handstands for the last couple of days but reading about them and the science behind them (body mechanics) makes me think that a guy with structural kyphosis like me can't maintain the position.

    My question is, to all my fellow kyphotic warriors, are you able to hold the handstand, if yes, what is your experience with training for one, thank you in advance for the responses.

    Sorry if I made any spelling mistakes, English is not my native language.

    submitted by /u/duuuuuuuudeimhigh
    [link] [comments]

    Help with building a workout routine that consists of HIIT, strength training, and dance, and without any gym equipment?

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 05:35 PM PDT

    I would like to build a workout routine where it's mostly a mix of HIIT, strength training, and dance workouts. I don't have any equipment at home except for 5 lb and 10 lb dumbbells and resistance bands, and I cannot go to the gym now due to COVID-19 or buy any more equipment. I would like to be more toned and build muscle, but I don't want to bulk or become too muscular, only toned. if that makes sense. My main goal is to be healthier, look good and toned, and appear more fit. Does anyone know of a full on workout plan that I can get started on which mainly consists of HIIT, strength training, and dance workouts without weights? Please let me know, thank you.

    Edit: I am a female and I am 5'1 and weigh 105 lbs. I would like to appear more slim and toned, and lose some of the fat from my body. I would also like to build ab and glute muscles, but only to a point where I look toned, and not muscular or bulky. I can add weights as well, but I'm really not sure what plans to follow. I also have been playing field hockey for years and have been doing Pamela Reif's videos for a long time, and the workouts are intermediate to intense, and not beginner at all. Therefore, I would like workouts that are more challenging and will make me more toned and fit in a short time, possibly with weights and bands, and something that includes HIIT, strength training, and dance since that is fun.

    submitted by /u/geneticmodified
    [link] [comments]

    Homemade Dip belt

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 03:10 AM PDT

    I've been using a homemade dip belt for the past 6 months and it's very comfortable, solid and cheap.

    I explain how to make it in this video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_KW8JquXOk

    Tell me what you think about it.

    submitted by /u/ChickenNope
    [link] [comments]

    Anybody have any alternative brand of ADJUSTABLE DUMBELLS that are cheaper than like BOWFLEX? Like the dumbells that lock in to place and you can switch weight amounts really fast by adjusting the knob... not the regular screw the plates off and change them ones

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 12:14 PM PDT

    Specifically ones that go up to like 50 pounds.... here is an example https://imgur.com/ghSkz43

    $300 is insane for a single dumbell let alone for $600 for two.... Bowflex ones are even more expensive

    Just curious if anyone has a different brand that is cheaper... Bowflex's just because their brand name makes the prices way higher if you know of mean, even people reselling them used on Mercari won't budge less than like $500 for the set of them... theres gotta be those cheaper not as popular brands

    submitted by /u/Ocelot859
    [link] [comments]

    What should your bench be in order to hold a planche

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 10:48 AM PDT

    Hey guys so I've been trying to hold a planche for about a month and I'm just wondering if I have the chest strength for it. I weight about 147 lbs and I can only bench 165 lbs for a rep which is only 1.12 times my body weight. Am I strong enough to be able to hold a planche or do I need to focus on strength more?

    For those of you who can planche, what is your bench compared to your body weight?

    Also what are your guys' overhead press because mine is only 105 and I'm wondering if it should be more

    submitted by /u/qwerty2869
    [link] [comments]

    Handstand on higher objects

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 03:11 AM PDT

    I don't know if this has been posted before, but I've always wondered how one can hold a handstand on a high surface like tall parallel bars or a straight bar. I can already hold a decent straight handstand on the ground or on paralletes and can pretty easily bail out of it safely (cartwheel method) but I'm scared of trying it on the bar and on the parallel bars in my local park. Any suggestions?

    submitted by /u/Justaname27
    [link] [comments]

    Bodyweight resistance training, will it make me toned?

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 10:38 AM PDT

    Woukd just basic exercises like squats, russian twists, sit ups and push ups for an hour a day, keeping it consistent make me toned? or will this just build endurance

    submitted by /u/Laussu
    [link] [comments]

    Switching from weight lifting to bodyweight doing RR routine. Not easy! Any advise?

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 10:31 AM PDT

    29/F switching from lifting to bodyweight doing RR routine. Started today and found some exercises hard (scapular pulls, parallel bar support hold can only do 30 s, squat when done with proper form!). Any tips?

    Also question for push-up. I can do full pushup but only 1-2. Should I just do this until I can do 8, or should I move to incline before the full pushups?

    submitted by /u/compatibleagents
    [link] [comments]

    Do I need to do more and more cardio (progression)?

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 09:25 AM PDT

    I was just on day 8 of the RR, and I do cardio every day, 20 minute of skipping on days without RR and 15 minutes of skipping on days with RR.

    However, I've noticed that I feel like the 20 minute skipping has become slightly easier than when I started (about two months ago). Does that mean I need to spend more time with cardio now? Or is the same amount going to be fine?

    I know it has to do with nutrients, I eat ~2500kcals a day, and I am an 19 year old 5'6 ~61kg male.

    My question is that if I keep doing the same amount of cardio, will I be burning less energy than before (hence I will need to do more cardio to stay fit)?

    submitted by /u/b1g_disappointment
    [link] [comments]

    diy handstand canes question

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 11:19 PM PDT

    I'm building a new set of handstand canes for myself. I have the blocks and the base cut from wood, and I'm looking for an elegant upright post, ideally detachable /adjustable. my old canes are welded angle iron and.. heavy.

    all the designs I can see online use a simple round metal bar screwed or slotted into a bracket - sounds great but I cannot for the life of me find anything like that bracket in the hardware stores near me. I've seen a design with a square post with adjustable height - very cool, but no more available.

    is there an online supplier for these? a generic name for the bracket and post in question? where did you guys find posts for your canes?

    submitted by /u/Tanekaha
    [link] [comments]

    Anyone else just sorta skipped Pike Push-Ups as a HSPU progression?

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 11:37 PM PDT

    I never liked Pike Push-ups. Always felt awkward and it's hard to consistently keep the same tension especially when not elevated. Every inch of hand placement or foot placement completely changes the movement..

    I can probably count on my two hands the total number of Pike push-up sets I've ever done.

    Yet I've worked up to a total of maybe 9-10 HSPU reps against the wall and just recently managed to do 1 freestanding.

    How I did it was just doing the negative portion of the HSPU on the wall as slow as I could until my head touched the floor. Then I got off the wall, kicked myself back up and did it again as reps. Would do this consistently throughout the day to build strength.

    Then, I don't know, maybe a few months later, voila, I could magically push myself back up. 1 push up turned into 2, then 3 and so on.

    Pike Push-Ups were just not necessary for me to achieve the HSPU, I skipped them entirely. Anyone else have a similar experience?

    submitted by /u/greenactive
    [link] [comments]

    Switching Program Split

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 01:21 PM PDT

    Hey. I've been consistently training for a 1+ year now. And the current split I'm on is a PPL split for the past 5 to 6 months. However, I'm thinking of switching to an Upper and Lower Body split. My reasons for switching is because of time constraints and to pursue other interests. I want to continue to see results and progress. However, I'm not sure how to program an upper and lower body split. Any template or guidance would help.

    submitted by /u/unaputations
    [link] [comments]

    Unpopular opinion: This sub is about closed kinetic chain exercises, not bodyweight.

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 02:02 AM PDT

    Everyone is always comparing calisthenics to weight lifting, but the distinction should rather be made between open vs closed kinetic chain movements. A barbell back squat and weighted push up are closed kinetic chain exercises, not calisthenics.

    submitted by /u/Kekenos
    [link] [comments]

    Feeling a little bit stuck..

    Posted: 27 Sep 2020 03:01 PM PDT

    Im 195/6,5 and 83/183. I've been working out for sometime now yet lately i dont get any stronger/bigger My usual workout is: 3x7 pullups (45-60 sec) rest between sets 3x12 push-ups (45) 3x8 diamond (45) 3x10 dips (45-60) Biceps curls if i got dumbbells (45) All kinds of ab workouts (30) 3x8 Pike-pushups(45)

    Im a pretty hard gainer and knowing that i actually force myself to eat alot so i wont lose weight.

    Do you think i should decrease rest time? Maybe use a weight vest, any advice is welcomed. And what would you add to my workout considering its meant to be a whole body workout?

    submitted by /u/Writing-Mother
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment