• Breaking News

    Tuesday, September 29, 2020

    Weight loss: I resent the tv trope of a (typically female) character who has a terrible diet and never works out but somehow magically stays super skinny

    Weight loss: I resent the tv trope of a (typically female) character who has a terrible diet and never works out but somehow magically stays super skinny


    I resent the tv trope of a (typically female) character who has a terrible diet and never works out but somehow magically stays super skinny

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 02:06 PM PDT

    There are many examples I can think of but the most prominent one that comes to mind is the Gilmore Girls. Those girls were always in tip top shape (Alexis Bledel was sometimes almost too skinny). It was a part of their personality that they ate terribly. Always eating junk food, binge eating in front of the TV, frozen food, diner food, or take out for almost every meal. It was also a part of their personality that they hated exercise. It was presented like it was just them being quirky. Like haha isn't funny they're so unhealthy! Yet somehow they managed to stay rail thin and beautiful. Growing up watching these tv characters gave me the impression that I could eat whatever I wanted and not worry about exercising and I would stay skinny. Sometimes that works (it does for my sister), but more often than not that's going to lead to obesity. For a long time I felt like I should be able to eat what I wanted or that watching what I ate wasn't "cool" but this just lead to me always being unhappy with my body and always being at least a little overweight.

    I really resent that TV trope for giving me the impression that eating junk food and not exercising was "cool" and that it wasn't problematic. If you live like that it is normal and expected that you will become overweight. Focusing on eating a healthier diet, watching your portions, and staying active are GOOD and HEALTHY and things that we SHOULD be doing!

    submitted by /u/soswinglifeaway
    [link] [comments]

    my "naturally skinny" friends' habits vs mine.

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 04:23 AM PDT

    i'm 19f, 135lbs and 153cm.

    after hanging out with some "naturally skinny" peeps, i realised that metabolism really isn't the end all be all of your weight. some people just don't eat a lot.

    • they're super picky. it can get really annoying when we're choosing a resto. i'm a foodie so i love trying new and weird foods, but usually they will pass and go somewhere familiar. (edited)

    • they hardly finish their food. they always have take out, or when they eat chips they'll eat like two things of it and put it away.

    • they talk a lot over a meal. when we meet up for breakfast or brunch they'll tell me that they're "starving!!!!", eat two bites of their sandwich, and then talk for the rest of our meal, barely having touched the rest of their food.

    • they order something high in calories, but somehow never overeat because they don't finish it at the resto, take it home, and that's the only thing they eat the whole day. nothing else.

    • they eat something really light in the morning, like a cup of tea or a yogurt. i'm usually making a whole english breakfast :/

    • they eat whatever they want - but greasy foods or overly sweet foods make them sick of the food really fast, and they end up giving the rest to me or throwing it away.

    • they stop eating the moment they're full. most people try to eat a few more bites before tapping out completely, they just stop eating and wait for everyone else to finish.

    basically, they're on my diet but they aren't.. these are just habits they've always had growing up. i think they're really in tune with their body, and treat food truly as fuel. i LOVE food. i enjoy eating, i've never seen food as fuel, but as something to be savoured. my mother used to wake me up for school by offering me a cookie, or bribed me to behave with cheesecakes. the time i spent bonding with anyone i knew from the ages 5-12 were always something to do with cooking and baking and i was raised to ALWAYS finish my food. these are my habits vs my skinny friends'. what are yours?

    edit: a lot of people are having a problem with the super picky part and that they think i am promoting some unhealthy habits like skipping meals or eating unhealthy. i made this post as a comparison, not a guide on how to lose weight. please follow a diet that works for your body and eat right. about the picky part, i'm part japanese and i wanted them to try some sushi the other day, and they spit it out and said it was gross. i may have wrote that part with that scene in mind so i'm sorry if it has some strong emotion. maybe not all skinny people are picky but the ones i've met usually only like a few foods, and will not want to try new things. of course, these can all NOT APPLY to EVERY skinny person, but as the title explains, it's what i've noticed my FRIENDS do. not every skinny person.

    submitted by /u/soft-buttcheeks
    [link] [comments]

    A note about discouraging comments.

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 02:12 PM PDT

    Hello all. The moderation team here at /r/loseit wants to say that we're so proud of all of you for your continued work and amazing weight loss and self-improvement progress. We wanted to talk a bit about mental health related to weight loss, though. In any journey of personal progress, a person often discovers what an inseparable part mental health plays. While we aren't doctors, or therapists, and don't intend to give medical advice, there is a small matter we wanted to address.

    The effect others have on our progress can be pernicious. Negative words from family, friends, or even strangers on the internet can be discouraging, and sometimes make you want to quit. That is why it's so important to find motivation and satisfaction from inside, no matter what others say. Setting realistic goals for yourself and reaching them is such a large part of that -- finding that satisfaction can make a large journey feel like just a few small steps. That's one thing we love about the NSV/SV posts -- small accomplishments can bring a lot of happiness!

    Discouragement happens, though, and it can come from unlikely sources. People who are in a different part of their personal progress can speak out of a place of despair, or even jealousy. That's part of the "crabs in a bucket" saying. It can feel like people who see you trying to better yourself react negatively, by trying to sabotage, discourage, or outright hurt you. While, sadly, we can't affect what others do or say, we can affect how we respond to it, and how we proceed. The only person who can make your progress is you. No one else, whether by trying to hurt you or help you, can change your life for you, unless you let them. If you face discouragement, whether from family, friends, or even comments from random users online, keep going. You're making a change for yourself, and you're doing your best to reach your goals and improve yourself. So block that troll. Don't let snide comments slow you down.

    We'll all get there, sooner or later. We're rooting for you.

    submitted by /u/Penultimately
    [link] [comments]

    Tired of being told I’m “not trying hard enough”

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 11:33 AM PDT

    First, I'll let you all know, yes, I'm still overweight but in the last year, I've lost 50, fifty, five zero, pounds. I'm proud of it.

    I quit drinking soda, I put a lot more veggies and fruit in my diet, I exercise every weekday morning for an hour. I've managed not only to lose it but keep that 50 pounds off.

    But apparently, to several coworkers and my damn doctor (!) I haven't lost enough. "If you tried a little harder you could lose a lot more!"

    My coworkers I just let the comments slide. They don't know. Whatever.

    But my doctor.... come ON! You can see that I'm healthier and weigh less. I told him everything I did. But apparently I "should have lost 100 pounds by now if you're being honest with me." What? WHAT?!

    So I guess what I'm really asking is; did I overreact when I literally switched doctors over this? I mean, I have sheer proof that what I'm doing is working for me.... but because I didn't hit some arbitrary number by some arbitrary time limit I'm "not trying hard enough"?!!!

    Edit: since people seem to want to know, I started at 250, am down to 200 now. I'm fairly tall for a woman, too.

    submitted by /u/kidforlife14
    [link] [comments]

    I lost my first 20 lbs!

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 07:45 PM PDT

    I am at the beginning of my journey and I have lost 20 of the 50 lbs that need to go! More importantly, inches! The number on the scale is helpful in keeping me on track but not super important.

    It wasn't difficult (portion control + walking 30 min a day over the summer) but it does take discipline. I feel like I have finally found a lifestyle I can stick with forever.

    I have no one to brag too -- my friend wasn't happy for me so I decided to come here and brag, lol.

    I think the biggest victory is having a better relationship with food. I spent my entire life battling with an unhealthy view and use of food and I just feel lighter in spirit, you know? It's a good feeling. I like it.

    submitted by /u/Mysterious_Object
    [link] [comments]

    I went off the rails this weekend after the sudden loss of my cat, but I didn't binge, and I'm back to eating right. And I don't feel guilty at all. Big NSV for me.

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 03:08 PM PDT

    My 16-year-old cat suddenly died on Wednesday night and I have been a complete basketcase ever since. She was healthy, wasn't sick, wasn't acting weird - but randomly, suddenly dropped dead in the middle of the living room. I screamed and cried so much my throat went raw. I was extremely connected to her. I've been feeling lost and incredibly depressed since. I didn't even have the energy to do anything except cry, sleep, and eat. I've been eating nothing but takeout because I could not bring myself to focus long enough to clean the kitchen and do dishes, which I was already behind on before this happened. I've needed to go to the store to restock all my healthy foods but I've barely been able to peel myself out of bed, much less face being in public.

    I've lost 30 pounds since May and this is the first time that weight loss has really 'stuck' for me. I've been concerned that falling off the wagon just once could derail me entirely, as it has in the past. I've avoided stumbling until now. Losing my cat has completely rocked my entire world. I used to binge absolutely incredible amounts of snack food and soda whenever I felt an emotion I didn't want to feel, like sadness or anger, or if I was bored. Trust me when I say that the urge was strong this weekend. But... I didn't binge. I ate a lot of stuff I don't normally eat anymore, like Chinese food and pizza, but I tried to keep portions reasonable and stop when I was full. I finally recognized that whatever the problem is, bingeing pretty much universally will not solve it. It won't bring my cat back. It won't remove my sadness and despair over losing her. All it will do is make me feel guilty afterwards, and put my body through physical stress for no benefit. And practically speaking, I don't think my stomach could handle that sort of intake anymore. (It's certainly pretty cross with me already after 4 days of takeout.)

    Today, I'm back to tracking. I gave the kitchen a quick once-over and will be restocking on all my healthy food tonight. I'm still sad, confused, and angry, but life continues on and I am only going to set myself back further if I continue to allow myself to wallow. I'm only 2.5 pounds heavier today than I was on Wednesday morning, and I think most of this is water weight that I will quickly shed, as I have been eating a lot of very salty foods. Going a little crazy on takeout over the weekend didn't kill all my progress like I'd feared. I didn't binge. I didn't throw my hands up and call it all off when things started getting difficult, which is what I've done so many times before. I'm not bothered about 2.5 pounds of water weight. In the past, this would have been enough to discourage me completely. And what's even better is that I don't feel guilty at all for any of it. I'm trying to be gentle with myself and remember that I'm going through a difficult time, and I refuse to beat myself up over it. I'm just a handful of pounds away from being under 200 for the first time in probably 8 years, and I'm going to let that excitement buoy me through the next few weeks as I adjust to life without my furry best friend. I'm just really happy that for the first time ever, falling off the wagon isn't the end of my journey. It's just a bump in the road. This situation is temporary, as so many situations are, but improving my health will benefit me forever.

    I'll miss you forever - thank you for everything.

    submitted by /u/OhNoMgn
    [link] [comments]

    From an obese sedentary smoker to losing 100 pounds and falling in love with fitness.

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 12:21 PM PDT

    Obligatory apology for any formatting mistakes, on mobile. Also this is gonna be really long!

    History and Goals

    I was always a chubby kid and never had much interest in sports. I dabbled with volleyball in middle school because I was tall and it felt like I should, but I only did a couple camps and couldn't make the middle school team. I quit after that. I started marching band in high school so that was really my only form of physical activity, and only during the season. I got up to 200lbs by my junior year and decided to do something about it, and lost about 40 in a random and unsustainable manner. I stayed there until a couple years after graduation when I entered my first serious relationship and slowly started gaining again. I also started smoking around this time which made any physical activity even more uncomfortable. When I got above 200 again, I had some ups and downs, but never made it into "onederland" again.

    This brings us to the start of my real ~journey~ at the beginning of 2018, when I weighed in at 262lbs. My general goal was just to "lose weight" but beyond that I didnt have any concrete goals. To be honest, I just wanted to be hot, because I was sick of feeling bad about myself. I actually quit smoking cold turkey that January which I'd been trying to do for a couple years. Here are a couple pictures from mid-late 2017, apologies for the potato quality.

    Before and After Stats

    January 2018: 25/5'11"/262lbs BF% - No idea. Looking at photo charts I'd guess 45%?

    September 2020: 28/5'11"/160lbs BF% - My scale says 24.5% right now, and looking at photo charts that doesn't seem totally off. I'd guess somewhere between 24-27%

    Side by side before & after. These before were actually taken after I'd already lost like 25lbs because I think I was too ashamed to take them at the very beginning.

    Some normal pictures of me from the last couple months.

    Diet

    At the beginning I was an omnivore. Started meal prepping for the work week but I'd eat the same exact thing all 5 days every week. I'm not sure how I kept that up. I told myself I was eating 1500 calories but I was really only getting 1300. Got about 150g of protein but that was the only macro I paid attention to. I got down to 163lbs in 11 months with this method (plus working out) and then I went fully vegetarian/mostly vegan aside from protein supplements (mostly ONE bars and the occasional random shake).

    Around this time my personal life also blew up and my diet and exercise went out the window. From about December 2018-July 2019 I stopped counting calories and mostly stopped working out, but was still veggie. I knew I was gaining weight back but didn't realize how much till I went in for a pre-surgery consultation in late June and weighed in at 220lbs.

    After the (minor) surgery I got back on track and started counting again, but allowed myself a whole 1600 calories! /s. I kinda went back and forth with losing/maintaining/gaining until I really locked things down in June 2020, weighing 190. I went with 1800 calories and actually ate that many, making sure to get at least 100g of protein and letting everything else fall where it may. I was much less strict with my meals as I learned more about macros so it was much more enjoyable and sustainable, which is why making it to 160 in three months felt like a breeze.

    Routine

    Weight Training: At the beginning I started with a full body dumbbell routine and kept that up for a few months until I got bored. Then I started PHUL which, looking back, I was not experienced enough to tackle. I moved from Planet Fitness to an LA Fitness where they actually had barbells and plates, so I had my first experiences with the big three lifts. Squats caused me a ton of hip pain for some reason so I stopped doing them pretty early on. Deadlifts were my favorite, bench was meh. I started messing around with the routine because I didn't like it and just ended up with a random upper/lower routine.

    I more or less did that until late 2019. I never really gained any strength because I wasn't fueling myself and my routine included no compounds. I became frustrated with this and started doing Strong Lifts 5x5. After three months of that I was squatting 155 (with awful form), DLing 200, and benching 85. Not awesome but I wasn't progressing any further so I switched to Strong Curves a couple weeks before COVID hit.

    I'd bought a couple kettlebells and an adjustable dumbbell set in preparation for gyms closing because I knew it was coming. I then threw together a full body routine with that stuff that I quickly abandoned and went back to SC with at-home modifications. I ran that through once as I was buying real equipment. I'm now in the middle of running it again on the 4 day rotation, and I have a squat rack, barbell, plates, etc. I've lost a lot of strength since this is so aesthetics focused but that's okay with me for now.

    Cardio: I completed C25K in mid 2018 and dabbled with running on my own after that but I was never able to progress much. I did do one race, the 5K Turkey Trot that Thanksgiving, which was really fun! I abandoned running shortly after that and most of my cardio came from the elliptical, bike, or Stairmaster. In 2019 I started hiking a lot.

    I've kept that up because I live near a national park and I love being outside. I started jogging again earlier this year but it's walk/jog intervals and I don't put any pressure on it. I mostly use it as a way to get outside. Now most of my cardio comes from those jogs, hiking, or cardio boxing YouTube vids (Christa from Popsugar is evil).

    To sum this section up, I lift 4x a week and do cardio 2-3x.

    Measurable Progress/Achievements

    I'm proud of myself for running the Turkey Trot race! I came in 136/462 for my age group which I was surprised by, especially since my time was 31:43. My fastest 5K on my own was 30:31.

    The earliest waist measurement I have is 40in, but that was a few months into losing. My waist is 29in now so I've lost 11+. That was really the only measurement I took. I was pant size 18, shirt size 2XL. I'm now a size 8 pant and SM shirt. I wear mediums in Gymshark if that gives you any frame of reference.

    Going Forward

    Currently, I'm in the process of reverse dieting up to maintenance. I just started and upped my calories to 2,000. I started the TDEE spreadsheet yesterday, and I'm guessing my maintenance will be 2500-2600 but we'll see! I'm so glad I've learned so much about food because it's allowed me to make fun stuff and still hit my goals. I genuinely think I may have had a binge eating problem in the past but I seem to have overcome that because I never have the urge now, thankfully.

    Fitness-wise, I'm going to try and recomp for a year. I have 6 more weeks of SC then I'm going to do PHUL as it's written to try and get some strength back. I kinda want to get a DXA scan to see my real body fat percentage but A. it doesn't really matter and B. I don't want to take out all my piercings lol. Here are flexing pics to show where my start point is. I'm actually pretty impressed with the amount of muscle I have but it's probably due to this taking so long, and occasionally lifting while being in a surplus over the last 2.5yrs. In the front flexing pic you can see the loose skin on my stomach. It's not that bad and I'm pretty lucky in that regard. However, I am considering a breast lift and mini tummy tuck in the future.

    Again, sorry this was so long! I hope this can inspire someone to start their journey or keep going even if you have a misstep like I did and gain a bunch back. It highlighted where I'd made mistakes and gave me the tools to keep it off going forward.

    submitted by /u/xcdp10
    [link] [comments]

    "Your circumstances are not the reason you can't succeed. They are the reality in which you must succeed."

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 09:53 AM PDT

    This quote by Cy Wakeman has helped me in my slow march towards getting healthy.

    I used to make a ton of excuses for why I couldn't lose weight "I just enjoy food, can't exercise due to injury, etc".

    I read Cy's book "No Ego" and it changed my perspective on dealing with shitty circumstances. Life isn't supposed to be perfect. Life isn't supposed to always be easy.

    I have to succeed despite my barriers - I shouldn't treat them like these monolothic pillars that are somehow nefariously preventing me from being healthy.

    I lost 25 pounds about a year ago and lo and behind I gained most of it back because I gave up.

    I'm now down about 15 pounds, and am planning on continuing.

    I have yet to find any VALID excuse that can keep ANYONE from managing their diet better.

    submitted by /u/The_Cheeki_Breeki
    [link] [comments]

    Finally hit a big milestone, 250-200 over the last 5 months!

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 03:45 PM PDT

    I'm very much a lurker in this sub but today I finally crossed into onederland and I don't really have anybody to celebrate with other than my reddit family. Started in February after a rough breakup, I put on a lot of weight and quarantine wasn't helping. Midway through April I decided I really needed to change so I started basic dieting just counting my calories using my fitness pal, around August I started running daily and have fell in love with it over the last 2 months. I still have a little more to go to my final goal weight (180) but this is my first time under 200 in 2 years and it makes me happy. Having clothes fit better and just being able to look at myself and realize I'm not a slob anymore has been really helping my mental health. But that's all thanks for coming to my rant and I hope you guys are doing well and making progress!!

    submitted by /u/CarnageCoconut
    [link] [comments]

    i'm obese now

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 07:44 AM PDT

    it was a reality i tried to avoid. i didn't have to leave the house during quarantine. i could stuff my face and order delivery as much as i wanted without anyone to judge me or see what i was becoming. home was like a nest, a comfortable nest where i enabled my depression and anxiety. it was the winter months and whenever i did leave the house, i wore 2 oversized jackets that hid my body well. i never had to confront the truth but i was wasting my life away. i wrote a post here several days ago, a cry for help, and today, i finally stepped on the scale to know what i'm working with. i'm much heavier than i thought. i'm officially in the obese category and i'm just here, crying, not being able to believe what i've allowed myself to come to. even now, i can't believe it. i'm in shock and i'm ashamed.

    since my last post, i have been eating less and moving more. i am tracking my calories and eating under my calorie deficit. i've also been drinking a lot more water with a cute water bottle i have. i tried to not stay in bed all day and to go for walks. i want to say i've improved a little although this revelation has really gutted me but i will keep on going.

    i really want to get back to my pre-pandemic weight, desperately. i was overweight then but at least i felt like myself. my skin is terrible now. my body is covered with cellulite. i used to be so competitive and social but i've lost all my friends and i have no motivation to live anymore. i just want to disappear, really. a lovely redditor suggested in my previous post that i can get a pet. it would help me not think of negative thoughts and it can ease my loneliness. my family doesn't want me having animals although i think a smaller one might be possible? but i'm scared that i won't be a good owner and that it will die on me. so i'll do my research and give it a lot of thought before i make a final decision.

    on the bright side, my treadmill is broken but i placed an order for an elliptical. i used to have one and used it all the time years ago and it kept me in shape. i loved it a lot and consistently used it everyday. thinking about it brings me good memories. my mum threw it out without letting me know because she said it was making my leg muscles big. but i'm very excited for the elliptical that i ordered. until it arrives, i'm going to keep on going for walks.

    i'm going to go to sleep early and wake up early to go for a light jog at the park. will have to go to the shops tomorrow so i'll try get some fruit as a healthy snack option at home. hopefully my next post will a positive one. i won't give up on myself. wishing the best for everyone here too.

    submitted by /u/throwawayffwriter
    [link] [comments]

    [Update from 50 days ago] running with r/looseit

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 03:18 PM PDT

    I want to make myself accountable from my post from 50 days ago.

    Back then, I was at week 3 or so of my C25K program (with zombies) and was able to run 2 minutes without stopping and very proud of that achievement. As anyone should!

    I never ran 2 minutes straight in my life before that. Never tried, never thought I could. Never thought I needed to. Gym and exercise were never things I thought were for me, you know?

    In my original post I was 77kg 180lbs (28f, 165cm, 5'4")

    Ok, so ffwd 50 days, not amazing progress scale wise, 72.5 160 lbs. But I feel so much better:

    • My old clothes fit: first is first: vanity. My work trousers from when I was 63kg 138lbs? I can button up. Granted, they're still a bit tight on my thighs but omg! My old 'boyfriend shirts' that I just considered normal shirts just 2 months ago? They're boyfriend shirts again! My fancy jeans that used to fit alright? They're now loungewear because I can't wear them anywhere!!! My ribs? I can see them laying down! My newish sexy bras? Getting a bit too loose :(

    • Food: not starving myself. Started out with 1200 and OMAD. I still do OMAD (minus the 200 kcal shake after a run). 1200 is to little for me on run days though, I tend to have 1500 on those. On non running days 1200 feels like I'm eating(ok, and drinking) like a queen though lol

    • Cellulite: less of it. Visibly less of it. Still have tons, but much much less.

    • My house: cleaner. Because I feel better.

    • My average resting heart rate: dropped by 5 bpms!

    • My sleep: better. I sleep for longer and wake up early 3 times a week (I call this early but it's probably normal for 90% of folks here) at 7:30 to go for a run before work. That way I can win all day.

    • I CAN NOW RUN FOR 20 MINUTES STRAIGHT. I signed up for a race that's taking place in a couple of weeks

    It's now more about getting fit than losing the weight for me. Never tried this last few times I tried losing weight. If you'd have told me I would ever be doing this at any point in the last 10 years, I'd call you a doctor because something would have been clearly wrong with your head. Lol. I'm running now.

    Anyway, hope this helps someone considering exercising while trying to lose weight. It was definitely a struggle for me to make the decision! I get that it may not be for everyone's goals though! You do what is best for you!!!!

    submitted by /u/absolutely_cat
    [link] [comments]

    For those using CICO method, and using calorie trackers or meal diaries

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 05:54 PM PDT

    I personally use MyFitnessPal to track my calories and exercise, and at times I'll fixate on the number of calories I'm under or over for my daily goal.

    Something important to notice is that every day, you have a blank slate. The app doesn't take into account yesterday's meals for today's diary-- and if you felt like you did poorly the day before, that's okay.

    Today is a new day, and you can think of how you can make things better today. Don't worry so much about how you may have "failed" yesterday. Focus on making healthy choices today.

    This was kind of just a shower thought for me, but I feel like it's the advice we need to hear sometimes. You're doing this for you, nobody else. So love yourself and give yourself grace.

    submitted by /u/imperial_silence
    [link] [comments]

    70 lbs lighter after 9 months with 18 more to go to reach a healthy BMI. What I've learned and what I still want to learn.

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 08:15 AM PDT

    SW: 242. CW: 172. GW: 154. 22M. 5'6" tall.

    I feel my path is a little bit different from what most people here did.

    I started my weight loss journey officially on January 2, 2020. Basically, I wanted to be healthier, to avoid the diabetes that has affected most of my older relatives, to look better, specially in my alternative fashion style, and to cosplay....yes I'm a weeb.

    From January 2, my plan has been pretty simple and straightforward: Eating around 1500 cals a day, while focusing on incorporating veggies and fruit, and reducing fats and most sugars massively, as well as exercise for 30 minutes a day each and every day.

    Unlike most people, I don't really track absolutely everything I eat, I'm fine with the value being 1400 one day, 1600 the next...I do know the exact calories of some of the food I eat, but for most of them, I don't. And I think this sort of approach has actually been benefical for me. I haven't had a single serious relapse or wish to quit in 9 months, and I mainly attribute it to how easy to follow my current alimentation plan was. Could I've lost more than 70 pounds in 9 months? Probably. But I saw this as a permanent lifestyle change. And, being permanent, it had to be something I could stick up with for the rest of my life, a happy medium, if you will, between eating healthy and eating tasty food (although, as months went by, I found out both often overlap, and I'm now having occasional cravings for stuff like a nice whole-grain rice salad)

    I also like cheat, or as I like to call them, treat days, unlike what I've seen from most posts. Unhealthy/greasy/sugary food still tastes delicious to me, and the fact it's now a once a week thing instead of what I eat almost every day makes it ever the more special and makes me enjoy the meal even more than before. But I've learned the ropes of moderation. Yes, I can eat a Big Mac with french fries and coke once a month. Not twice a week, like I used to when I was bigger. Yes, I can have Diet Coke twice a month. Not thrice a week, like I used to last year. And I don't really have cravings, to be honest. I feel excited when my weekly treat day arrives, but I don't really crave that food for the remaining of my week. I think about what I'll get a couple days before and that's it.

    Another thing I thought I would never happen is me finding joy in exercise. I've hated physical activity for almost the entirety of my life, yet I ended up loving it recently! I used to ride my static bike for 30 minutes while listening to music every day. It's now broke, so I've switched to 100 crunches, 100 pushups, and 100 squats a day. I would love some exercise tips or suggestions as, honestly, that's the part I'm the most clueless about right now.

    I'm also soon to start consultations with a dietician to get the help I think I need to lose the final pounds!

    So, in a nutshell:

    Things I've learned/noticed

    • JUST START. There's no better day than today. It doesn't matter what happens, you'll thank yourself after 3 months.
    • Perfection is the opposite of possible. Screw ups, weight gains, binges, plateaus, and more are normal and part of the process. Cry if you need to. Shout. But then keep going.
    • Diet Coke now tastes better than Regular Coke.
    • Healthy food CAN be delicious if done right (Old me would've scoffed at the idea of a salad being tasty)
    • People do treat you differently when you lose weight. I've noticed quite the increase in female attention. In some cases, girls who haven't even seen me or know I've lost weight, so it's not really about my body being more attractive, I think, but about me coming out as much more confident overall. I'm now in a relationship with a girl after a year or so of being single.
    • No matter what clothes you wear, you'll look better in all of them if you lose weight.
    • Same goes for whatever hairstyle you rock.
    • Being able to fit comfortably in clothes I didn't wear in a bit under a decade is one of the best feelings in the world.
    • Same with buying cute new clothes many sizes smaller than what I used to wear, and going from XL to M shirts.
    • Finding jeans my size is not a nightmare anymore!
    • My resistance to heat and hot temperatures has increased, my resistance to cold has decreased.
    • Body dismorphia is a thing. I still see myself as fat sometimes, even in progress pics.
    • Losing weight can turn your whole mentality around if you mean it. I've become a more positive, confident, and all-around better person because of my weight loss. I don't know why. I can't really explain it. But it happened. I have people telling me I'm an extremely possitive person, after being depressed for quite a long time.
    • If you need help, seek it. If you want validation, seek it. There's people out there going through the same thing as you are going through, or who have gone through the same thing, or who are starting their journey and may be on a similar page from where you are or used to be. Socialization and communication are key on this.

    Things I'm learning or want to learn next (that's right, I'm not perfect and I'm far from being perfect)

    • To not have a small breakdown if I gain 2-4 pounds in a week due to water weight (which ended up coming out naturally throughout the following week)
    • To not get THAT frustrated if I plateau, like it's been happening to me right now.
    • To develop a proper workout routine (maybe weights?)
    • To take better pictures
    • To not compare myself to others (I'm quite close to that one!)
    • To love myself and my body (Definitely around 80% of the way there!)

    All in all, the one thing I regret is not having a good-quality starting photo. It's all blurry and it was taken by someone else because I just didn't feel like taking a starting photo back then for whatever reason. Other than that, losing weight is probably the best decision I've taken in my life, and I'm 100% commited to continue this for the rest of it. It's also nice to have this little space in reddit to support each other, so I really appreciate that :3

    Good losses everyone!

    submitted by /u/Kazumiguchi
    [link] [comments]

    Has anyone else had an injury set them back significantly? I was bedridden for almost the whole year, and I lost all the progress I made. I'm having an incredibly hard time starting over again.

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 06:55 PM PDT

    Hello everyone. This is my first time posting in this community. I'd like to hear from others who have had serious injuries or setbacks to their progress. How did you cope with the strain of starting over again? How do you combat the feelings of dejection and uselessness?

    Back in early March, I sustained a pretty serious injury to my leg which required surgery, and left me stuck in bed until very recently. Before this, I had been working out/eating well and had made significant progress: I lost fifty pounds in six months' time, and was able to lift 60 lbs (a big feat for me). I was strong and thinner than I'd been in years and I was on the track to wellness.

    Then, this accident happened. And now, here I am, walking/standing for the first time in months, and I have gained those fifty pounds right back. I'm weaker than ever. I'm basically starting from scratch, but it feels worse somehow.

    I hate it and I can't stop the negativity going on in my mind. I'm so frustrated with myself (even though logically, I know no one is really at fault - it was purely an accident). I hate the situation I'm in so much and I'm seriously struggling with getting back into it. I am starting to have self-defeatist intrusive thoughts. "Maybe I'm meat to be fat"; "I'm gonna be fat forever"; "There's no point in trying". Logically, I know I the recipe for success and that I just need to start over again and be patient, but emotionally I am so. damn. drained.

    I can't even walk normally yet. I still have difficulty standing or walking for extended periods of time. And I'm trying to account for my lack of movement; I cut my calories down even more than before I hurt myself and I'm going to a private gym when I can, but it feels like nothing is working. For the last month that I've been walking again, I've teeter-tottered between 280-290 lbs, and haven't gotten lower than 279.

    I'm so frustrated and I just don't know what to do or how to feel. I don't want to be like this forever, but how can I move forward when I struggle to move at all?

    Any anecdotes or advice is appreciated.

    Also, if it helps at all: I'm a 5'4 female, current weight is 291 lbs. Before I hurt my leg, I was 243 lbs.

    submitted by /u/bitchfacedeluxe
    [link] [comments]

    M33 / 5’6” / 195lbs > 165lbs (2 and a half years.) Trust the process, and don’t forget to take care of your mental health!

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 06:54 PM PDT

    My before and after pics

    Almost three years ago I had one of the hardest conversations with my father. He told me he loved me, and out of that love, he told me I really had to manage my weight better to avoid health problems that run in my family (high blood pressure and high cholesterol: both of which I had.)

    In June of 2018, I walked into a crossfit gym for the first time, and I also made a conscious effort to stop eating out all the time and make gradual, better choices with my diet. I was no longer getting fast food multiple times a week, I stopped drinking soda, and I significantly cut back on my alcohol intake. I learned how to cook and added lean meats, complex carbs and vegetables to my diet. I learned to love clean eating along with working out hard.

    I also was struggling badly with depression and anxiety, and I vowed to fix that. I found a therapist to talk to and I saw him regularly, I went on anti-depressants (found one that wouldn't cause weight gain) and anti-anxiety medication, I made sure I got out of my apartment (pre-Covid lol) and I learned to love myself, and my body.

    Fitness is a lifelong journey, and I intend to keep living healthy well into my later years.

    submitted by /u/Replicant28
    [link] [comments]

    No luck with the scale .

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 05:27 PM PDT

    So I haven't had any luck with numbers on the scale going down. How ever I've noticed very recently that I'm more able now to control my portion sizes. So I went to a restaurant and had a large chips & bbq chicken (it's a combo & the only real option if you want chicken). Usually I would eat this in one sitting no problem while also drinking the beverage that comes with it but I ate most of the chips and a little piece of the chicken and I was full. And not horribly full it was the "your body has had enough fuel it's okay to stop" and I did. I then had enough to eat for dinner no problems.

    So even though I'm disappointed with the scale somethings have changed.

    submitted by /u/okGenZers
    [link] [comments]

    I feel like I lost my curves

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 08:37 PM PDT

    I'm 18, 145-give or take, 5'3 female. At the beginning of the year, I weighed 179. At that time I was quite overweight and struggled to walk at times. When I hit 160, I began feeling way more confident, and still retained much of my curves. Now that I'm 146 however, I'm more slender and I feel so insignificant in a culture that praises thick, curvy women (nothing wrong with them). I found myself pulling up my old jeans yesterday to go out. They were so baggy and I felt so...unattractive in them. I don't even know my jean size. Nothing fits me anymore.I guess you can call it insecurity, or low self esteem. I'm not sure. Maybe I'm just not used to this new body. I feel so so small now and people have commented on it. My parents don't make it any easier for me because they think I'm starving myself and look like a "bird." Whatever that means. Anyone feel like this after weight loss?

    Well this was my little venting session. Take what you may from it.

    submitted by /u/annabeelongx
    [link] [comments]

    Anybody else depressed / ashamed about former self? Can't take compliments?

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 02:38 PM PDT

    First of all, I'm sorry for coming here with my "first world problems", I realize there are ppl here struggling to lose weight and here I am "complaining" about having lost it and being fit. I hope I am not making anybody feel bad. I wanted to post in another subreddit but I don't know where else to find ppl who could identify with my situation.

    So, I lost about 70-75 pounds last year and I'm a guy, if that matters.

    I must be fucked in the head because every time I see a picture of my old self, or somebody compliments me on my body change, I feel no pride. In fact, I cringe, I feel sad and ashamed of how I was, the time I lost (this kills me) and the irreparable damage I did to myself (although minimal and I'm thankful I took action before it really became an issue).

    I feel no connection (physically speaking) to the person I was for pretty much 15 years, all my youth after highschool. In my mind that was never me, I never saw myself for how I was. And it bothers me that so many people that I've met will remain with that image of me. Even the ones which see the current version of me will always have in mind how fat and ugly (at least in my mind) I was. Now, I know this part is a bit childish and immature. Who cares, right? But I can't stop caring. I talked about this in therapy but the feelings remain.

    Do some of you guys who lost weight struggle with this as well, or is it just depression / immaturity?

    submitted by /u/planet_hell
    [link] [comments]

    Running with LoseIt - 9/28/2020 - Walking and how it can help a new runner

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 05:27 PM PDT

    This is a weekly post for the Runners of LoseIt. (I was busy with work last week, but I'm back again.)

    All levels of runners are welcome -- from brand new first timers to experienced marathoners. Please feel free to come in and share, ask questions, whine, post NSVs (non-scale victories), etc. There are a lot of great runners on this sub and lots of experience and help to share. Plus, it is also more fun to share regularly how you are doing with others going through the same challenges and experiences.

    This post is mostly for sharing details of running this week, your first run, running related NSVs, questions, PRs, etc.

    In addition I will ramble on about some topic that is helpful to runners, usually new runners, to help people along. This week -- what walking can do for new runners.

    Can Walking Help you Run?

    I will begin here by saying, I am not any accredited or degree-wielding person. I am just someone who lost a lot of weight (130lbs) and walk and run a good bit. This is based on that experience.

    Walking can assist you in running. It's not going to make you a runner, though. Running is tough and requires way more energy expenditure than even a brisk hustle. The only real training for running -- is to run. Period.

    But, walking can help ease that transition, solve running problems, or just help you get through those initial running barriers. That's what I am going to talk about here.

    The Endurance Building Power of Walking

    Walking can mean lots of different things to lots of different people. An easy stroll at 2mph (3kph) or a brisk hustle at 4mph (6.5kph) can all be called "walking". When you walk with a purpose and put some effort in it and not stroll along, then there's definite endurance building here.

    I will do 3.0 mph walks most days, largely held back by my dogs. I'll call these medium walks. Not a stroll, but not a brisk walk. Even these walks assist in keeping my cardio endurance up.

    The length of my walks, 45-90 minutes maps to a level of easy running endurance by about half. If I go out most days and log a solid 75-90 4-5 days a week. A 35-40 minute easy jog is within my cardio capacity. And that was indeed the case.

    I've played around with this recently. I've been running only 30-35 minute runs lately, letting my cardio capacity really settle (dwindle?). Those last 5 minutes are laborious. At the same time I am doing plenty of 60-70 minute medium walks. Seems like that 60-70 is right in line with the 30-35 minute jogs.

    For the last 3 weeks or so I've upped by walks most days getting in closer to 90 minutes at least 4-5 times a week. Sure enough my cardio popped up, too. 45 minutes and I'm going a little faster. (Some smoke filled days stopped all activity here, though. But I'm back at it.)

    Will you go from walking briskly 60 minutes to a 30 minute run? Nope. Will walking briskly 60 minutes help you ramp up your running to 30 minutes. It will.

    Faster walking offers even more endurance building. When I first started off running, I was walking steep inclines on a treadmill for 45-60 minutes. My favorite was the 45 minute, 1000' 5K. It was where I'd walk fast enough to cover 3 miles and go up 1000 feet in 45 minutes or less. This required a speed around 4.2mph (9min/km) and an incline of ~7%. That incline walk (brutal power walk) easily prepared my cardio for easy running of the same time -- 45 minutes. When I started running, cardio wasn't my problem.

    The Power of Being Upright and Moving (for a long time)

    I have helped a few people who have asked me for advice about running. Mostly I tell them to slow down. Two in particular though needed a little more. They wanted to run a 10K or a half marathon as goals but they both had various issues with aches and discomfort that kept them from their goals. Just walking helped them both.

    I'm an older runner (52 years old) as well as an obese runner (by BMI). Most folks doubt I run until they see me going out there or I run a race with someone and we talk about it. In each case the help started from them realizing big ole' me ran, why can't they. "You really do run? I'd do that... but..."

    My 10K co-worker was dubious about the prospect of a 6 mile run. While they had run years ago, they hadn't been able to restart their running. The "but..." though was a common thing I hear on the boards. They had lower back aches after running the first few weeks of C25K. I asked them if they would try a 65-70 minute walk once a week. This was their target 10K time and I wondered if they just got used to being upright and moving for that much time they wouldn't resolve these issues. "You'll be running for that long, surely walking would be a great first step."

    Sure enough, they ran into the same aches and discomfort as the runs. But, walking allowed them to work through it. They added in walks 3-4 a week for a 5K (my idea to give them a nice goal) and they found they were ache free. Replacing the walking with running lead them to blast through C25K and on to Bridge to 10K. (FYI -- I also told them to forget about some sorta goal pace all their running pals had told them to aim for, "sub 60, or if you really wanna sweat, 50!". First time out, just finish.)

    My half-marathon acquaintance tried training for a half... "but..." they couldn't make beyond 45 minutes. Seemed like it was a real barrier. They could not imagine running for 2 hours if 45-50 minutes was a wall. (I hated to tell them it would likely be over 2 hours the first time out.) It seemed like something felt off or started to hurt at that 45 minute mark plus cardio fell apart and they would have to stop. So, I asked them to add in one 2 hour walk a week. "Two hours, why would I waste that time?" they asked. "Well, you are aiming to run for 2 hours, that's your half-marathon. Maybe getting used to logging that time upright and moving would assist. Plus, any half-marathon training plan will have you run 5-6 hours a week. Get used to the time -- it is a big part of running." They tried it once and just as the 10Ker found, they experienced some of the same issues and discomfort on those walks.

    They worked through it -- and found that two hours was mentally harder than physically. So they started to distract themselves during the 2 hour walks. And, a month or so later they burst past 45 minutes one weekend and ran for 75 minutes. "I think it was mental more than anything. I stopped because I was mentally done. I got used to getting through that walk and the run was way easier."

    Distraction and the Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner

    More than anything else, walking will teach you to deal with your mind and it's needs for long periods. Going for regular long walks will keep you mentally capable of getting through a long run. If you look forward to a podcast, music, audiobook, nature, fresh air, or sharing time with others -- it really makes a run so much easier. Taking the time to figure out what will keep you mentally occupied for 1, 2, or many hours while walking -- will flow right into running.

    Distraction is a big part of long runs. Keeping your mind occupied, not focused on your body wearing down and your cardio running out -- it's how you grow as an early runner. (In truth, you are mentally enduring every run from the first to your latest.)

    Walking out the Kinks

    You want to figure out if you have the right shoes, socks, clothes -- go for a long walk. Likely, if you are absolutely comfy in your running shoes, shorts/tights, shirt, hat, say, for 60 minutes of brisk walking, you are good to go for a nice 30-45 minute run.

    But if that sock bunches up, or that shoe feels tight, your tights chafe, or anything ends up uncomfortable -- well it's gonna be worse running. Fix it. Check yourself for blisters, hot spots of your feet. Anything a walk brings up will be amplified on a run. Long runs will amplify those problems x10.

    Have a great week, and get out there and run (or walk) and I'll be back next week.

    submitted by /u/cmxguru
    [link] [comments]

    I'm now a healthy BMI. Here's my story and some of the temporary and also permanent lifestyle changes I've made.

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 02:04 AM PDT

    I'm using BMI figures because I'm a short female, at my highest weight I was obese, but for a tall man, that weight is perfectly healthy and potentially a goal weight.

    When I left home in 2016 my BMI was about 28. The first few kilos just dropped off from cooking myself and from walking more so i got down to a BMI of 25-26 easily. I did have a health issue which meant I did dropped down to a BMI of 22 in an unhealthy way and then gained it back once it was fixed. For a few years I hovered around a BMI of 25.5-26, but my jobs and activity level kept changing and I had some more health issues, so calorie counting wasn't a priority and my doctor had stopped commenting on my weight/suggesting I lose weight like they did when I was a BMI 28. Then during lockdown my weight rose back up so my BMI was 26.5. I quite like baking and only had one other person to share my baked goods with! For a few weeks we were only allowed to leave the house for certain reasons and for up to an hour unless it was for work/medical reasons. I decided to do something about it before it got any higher.

    On sedentary days I've been eating 1200-1300 kcals. I've been eating more when I've been active and on a couple of special occasions during this time. For the first couple of weeks, my weight was dropping by at least 0.1kg a day. But then by the end of July progress slowed. I ended up being half a kilo heavier during the entire last week of August than I was at the start of the month! August was so frustrating, I should've lost a kilo! My daily fluctuations aren't that extreme unless I've eaten rice/pasta and I hadn't plus my fluctuations only last a day or two normally. My Libra graph then showed a slow, downward trend and slightly lower average weight in September than August. But I still hadn't lost as much as I should on the deficit I was averaging. And then this past week, WHOOSH, my body has caught up with my deficit it seems. This entire last week, I've averaged a kilo less than the first half of the month! And today I weighed myself to find I'm now a BMI of 25 exactly. My goal weight range puts me at a BMI of 23.4-24.3. I wanted a range to allow for fluctuations and things like christmas when i'm going to eat extra. If i hit a BMI of 24.4 and I don't think it's just water weight, I'll track and eat lower calories for a week or so to make up for over-indulgence. Depending on the pandemic restrictions we might be spending christmas away with family so I won't be able to track very accurately. But I won't go crazy, just treat myself in sensible portions and go for daily walks.

    My TDEE at my goal weight is only about 100kcal a day lower than my highest weight this summer! That makes it sound so annoyingly easy. But my diet is varied and 'little' treats like when someone brings donuts into the office can soon add up. I'm working from home at the moment because of the pandemic. So I'm snacking and being tempted less, but also probably getting less steps in each day, so it's swings and roundabouts I guess. But there's definitely little habits I'm going to change. For example, on the walk between the train station and office is a shortcut for staff only, that literally all staff take. I'm going to only take that if I'm running late and need to or it's raining. Walking the long way round is an extra 5-10 minute walk. so walking an extra 15 mins even 4 days a week, bags me a few extra calories, which make a difference at this height.

    I would take a 'healthy' ie low calorie lunch to work, between breakfast and lunch I would take maybe 600kcal with me to, but just end up snacking from the office cookie jar or maybe grabbing something from Tesco express on my way home if I was hangry. I don't strictly track macros, but have learnt that getting more protein in at breakfast and lunch is important. My breakfasts and lunches were quite starchy. So I've swapped to similar items, but with more protein and fibre.

    There's certain foods I pretty much cut out because I could live without them for a couple of months and others I've just cut down on. Some of my main meals that I've always cooked, I've carried on cooking and will do because they turned out to be so low calorie and filling, I just got to be careful of the garnishes, oil and side dishes I eat. Some meals we would eat maybe once a fortnight or more, are about 800kcal though, so I've only had one thing in particular, once since being on my diet, after an active day. Most high calorie items/recipes I've managed to find substitutes for or made sure to have low calorie side dishes with them so the meal is under 700kcal and eaten them on active days.

    I've also decided that some starchy foods are just bland and not worth the calories. Apart from the occasional nice crispy quesadilla/tortillas pizza, I've cut out tortillas. I still make my boyfriend enchiladas or fajita mix. But I've actually decided that tortillas are definitely not worth 175kcal each. Low calorie, full size tortillas aren't available here. I used to eat two for a main meal, about once a week. I'd much rather have some roasted veggies with more flavour for maybe 50-100kcal instead. BAMM, that's maybe 300kcal saved from that meal.

    Also, during the summer it was easy to cut down to just one hot drink a day with sweetener and a splash of milk. Although during the heat wave I was also having 100-200kcal of ice cream in the afternoon! But now it's colder I'm wanting more hot drinks. I have managed to find a coffee I like black at least. But I do like a cup of tea and biscuit (cookie) in the afternoon in the winter to keep me going until dinner. So I'm looking forward to having that back in my diet.

    If you got this far, thank you for reading. Hopefully this provided you with some inspiration and hope. Especially for any short women struggling to lose the last few pounds.

    submitted by /u/kiwa_tyleri
    [link] [comments]

    The last belly fat but at what cost?

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 01:51 AM PDT

    Hi! I've been dieting since October last year and I've gone from 107kg to 71kg.

    I'm a 193cm tall man and weigh 71kg putting me at a 19.1 BMI. I'm at the point where I'm pretty much happy with everything except my belly fat which still hangs around.

    I've been stuck at 71kg for around 3-4 months now because I've been eating more and have been lifting weights a little bit and probably put on a tiny bit of muscles but not much considering the low amount of lifting and diet.

    I'm not sure if I should be dieting any more considering how low my BMI is getting but I don't feel skinny myself? Here is a picture of my shirtless upper body for reference. (Although it might not look as bad in this picture, as its meant to be flattering, but from the side and when I bend my stomach there will be multiple "fat rolls" and I can easily grab two handfuls of fat on my stomach and pull it around which I'm not too happy about.)

    Should I do a stricter diet and lose extra weight but get close to underweight BMI? Lift more weights? Cardio? All of it? Guidance would be greatly appreciated!

    submitted by /u/SirDosser
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 28

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 06:12 PM PDT

    Hello losers,

    Happy Monday funday! Hope you're all brewing & stewing.

    Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning.

    Stay within calorie range (1500 weekdays, maintenance weekends, NO FAST FOOD): Better today. Maintenance.

    Exercise 5 days a week: Light walk to clear my damn head will happen after dinner. 18/27 days.

    Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Not today. 3/3 weeks.

    Self-care time (working on love journals, beauty treatments, staying on top of adulting, drawing 11/22 days): Work. Blergh. Adulting.

    Try a new recipe once a week: Experimenting with pumpkin puree, slightly different chili recipe & an oil based vinaigrette salad dressing. 3/5 weeks.

    50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: Not tonight kids. 0/50 pages.

    Be more mindful, present in my body & express gratitude to avoid the hedonic treadmill: I am grateful for my kitty only requiring one firm push off the bed to stop head butting me at 4 am.

    How are you all hanging in?

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    Is exercising while eating at a 1,000 calorie deficit unhealthy?

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 01:31 AM PDT

    For reference: 27M/5'10"/215 lbs

    I've lost 12 pounds since July 1st strictly from eating at a calorie deficit. This week I decided to be incredibly strict with meal prepping and weighing out everything to insure a calorie intake of 1,200-1,300 during a 2-4 hour window for a 20:4 intermittent fasting routine (TDEE calculators put this at roughly a 800-1,000 calorie deficit)

    I'm posting because I'm curious on whether or not increasing this deficit by adding an hour of walking every morning before breaking my fast would cause any health issues. Let's assume for this question I have the willpower of a saint and won't binge (not claiming this, but just for this question let's pretend). If I'm getting adequate protein intake, along with vitamins and minerals, is increasing my deficit with exercise "healthy"?

    submitted by /u/SimplyMedical
    [link] [comments]

    Next thing I knew I gained 30lbs

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 02:56 PM PDT

    I don't know how to start this or if this is even the right sub for this, if it's not please direct me somewhere more suitable. I'm a 24 year old female who went through a break up at the beginning of the year, just before covid hit... I ended up moving out alone and then lockdown started.. I guess this is where everything went downhill. I started eating my feelings and next thing you know I'm 30lbs heavier than I was at the start of the year. I didn't want to admit it to myself. But I started to accept it when I realized how my clothes were fitting me. Pants don't fit, bra too small, shirts to tight. I am 5'3 and currently weights 145. I know I'm not obese but I used to be around 115. I signed up at the gym a few months ago when I realized i need to start exercising again, however I'm here because I am currently lacking the motivation and disciple to commit to going. I know I should be working out and eating healthy but I would rather lay in bed all day and binge junk food in the evenings. I need help. I need advice. How do I lose this weight I've gained. How do I disciple myself into actually working out. There are times where I can get myself to go to the gym, and I'm there for 10 minutes and am over it. I don't want to do it, I don't have the strength. I just want to leave. I know I'm just rambling now but I needed to get this out. I'm at a loss right now. I feel so bad about myself, I feel so embarrassed and ashamed of my body yet I still don't have the will power to do something about it....

    submitted by /u/_kcc
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment