• Breaking News

    Tuesday, September 29, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-09-29

    Bodyweight Fitness: Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-09-29


    Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-09-29

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Training Tuesday! Post the full details of your routine and the progress you've made over the past week. Include as much detail as possible.

    All the past Training Tuesdays

    If you are posting an update from last week's thread (please do!), please link your old post.

    Copy the comment's address by right clicking the "Permalink" under your comment and clicking "Copy Link Address/Location" or similar, depending on your browser.

    Then include this in your post:

    [Last week's post](http://link.goes/here) 

    Include these sorts of details:

    (Gender, Age, Height, Weight [kg/lbs please])

    Goal: Vague or specific (get bigger? Or master a planche by December?)

    Routine: Include what progress you've made this week. Extra reps? Longer hold? New progression?

    Diet/Mood/Energy/Anything else relevant to your training:

    Questions: Request any feedback you'd like on your routine.

    Highlight the improvements you have made in your routine, since last week and include any videos or photos that are relevant.

    All top comments must be routine posts.

    Join our live chatroom on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-29

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    One-arm hangs have helped me progress tremendously

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 11:27 PM PDT

    I was at the low-intermediate stage in Calisthenics, being able to do 22 pull-ups, 5x kipping muscle ups, 5x ring muscle ups, tuck back lever, etc. About 2 months ago, I tried to do a jumping one arm pull-up, and to my surprise, I was able to do it. I then started training 1-arm hangs and negative 1-arm pull-ups, starting off fresh and then using a towel for assistance as I got tired. In about 1.5 months, I have noticed considerable increase in strength from the one-arm training, more than before in the same period of time. Without training any other specific movements, I can now muscle-up on the bar from the dead hang without kipping, hold a straddle back lever instead of tuck lever, doubled my one-arm hang times, and unlocked the one-arm towel hang, which seemed impossible 1.5 months ago. I highly recommend giving one-arm training a try!

    EDIT: I didn't want to come off as arrogant, and it seems I stirred up a lot of dissent with the "beginner-intermediate" comment. I want to make clear that I have been putting hard work into calisthenics in the last 2 years, and especially in the past year, but I still myself as a beginner=intermediate in my vision because of my goals of elite skills such as iron cross and maltese. I am not looking to discredit the work it takes to get to 10, 15 pull-ups but was writing this post with the long-term in mind.

    submitted by /u/away0122
    [link] [comments]

    I would like to be able to carry my bride through the threshold and I am looking for advice.

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 11:08 AM PDT

    I am currently trying to make an expanded version of the minimalist routine a habit. I've added supermans, squats, and planking. I can get through 2 sets with 10 reps of each exercise (30sec on planks), I just don't do it as often as I should, so progress is slow. I am very much out of shape.

    Here's where my request for advice comes in. I am supposed to be getting married in July of 2021, roughly 9 months from now. Are there any modifications or additions I should make to my current routine that would make it easier to carry my future wife through the doorway?

    She's not heavy or anything. I CAN pick her up, its just clumsy, and I would really like to be able to surprise her by doing this with stability and relative ease when the time comes.

    I appreciate any advice you can give me.

    submitted by /u/cpncjwhitebeard
    [link] [comments]

    Do I have to eat more calories to build muscle?

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 01:27 PM PDT

    My understanding of building muscle is, I must eat 1.5 - 2g of protein per kg of lean body mass. Do this and train and muscle will grow.

    So why do people tell me I have to eat a calorific surplus to gain muscle? Surely if I just meet my protein goals, I will build muscle right?

    I want to loose fat and build muscle, so if I'm in a calorie deficit, but still maintain my protein goals, I will still gain muscle right?

    People tell me this is wrong and that if I dont eat an overall calorific surplus I wont grow, but I dont understand why this is the case?

    submitted by /u/Thelittlefungi
    [link] [comments]

    in push-ups, Antranik says you need to protract your shoulders, while Athlean X and many others say you must retract and depress them, help me out here i'm confused

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 09:26 AM PDT

    Also if you know the science behind it. I'm looking to maximize chest isolation and prevent shoulder stress in the push up. I'm quite frustrated with all the conflicting advice out there.

    submitted by /u/leomir26
    [link] [comments]

    Any "authorities" on RTO dips?

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 10:59 AM PDT

    It's hard to find info about RTO dips.. but seeing as how I can do up to 6, I'm wondering IF I'm doing it correctly, because Ive seen people with a very far lean forward, causing them to have (what looks like) a straight body..

    Now, I've tried this, with basically the lower back hyperextended, and it just feels a lot more unstable, whereas when I do it with a hollow (flexed abs), I can actually control the movement. So It actually looks more like a regular dip vs. what I just described. I would assume those guys are just more experienced and can handle a significant forward body tilt, and dont need the stability of a hollow body?

    Are both ways technically 'correct'? would really appreciate input.

    submitted by /u/JustHalfANoob
    [link] [comments]

    Advanced tuck planche form check

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 10:49 AM PDT

    Hi I recently started doing small advanced tuck planche hold (at least I hope) could you please tell me if the form is good, and also give me some advice to progress. https://youtu.be/8mj42LJQwVM here is my Last set

    submitted by /u/thehorsespower
    [link] [comments]

    workout plan help!?

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 11:52 AM PDT

    Im planning on doing this everyday for a month

    100 pushups

    daily ab workout

    30 pull ups

    30 chin ups

    5km run

    my question is this.. Should increase or decrease anything? will my muscles be a weird shape if i continue these? or what would you recommend? Please help <3 thank you!

    submitted by /u/FiveDegreesTonight
    [link] [comments]

    Can less volume make you stronger?

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 11:52 AM PDT

    Been training for a while now (2 years) and i've always thought that you need a certain amount of weekly volume to progress. Like, the minimum would be 3 days a week. But, just using the RR I've found it hard to recover training three days a week if I actually push myself during the workouts. So for the last couple of months I completely disregarded any "you have to train at least X times a week". I only trained when I felt like I was recovered enough to progress in each excercise (longer holds, more reps etc). And then I made sure I did MORE each workout. I have really had to leave the ego at the door, because sometimes it takes me 3-4 days to recover completely from these workouts.

    This means many weeks with only 2 days of training. Some weeks even just 1. And I've made the best gains ever.

    Yes, I could train 4 times a week, but I would never be able to recover enough to progress from workout to workout. And just cranking out the same reps every time seems to get me no where.

    SO, is progressive overload the key? Is volume useless if you don't progress each workout?

    submitted by /u/froggerjobber
    [link] [comments]

    Don't Know If I (23M, 165 lbs., 6'0") Am Getting Stronger With Pullups/Chinups and Pushups

    Posted: 29 Sep 2020 11:14 AM PDT

    23M, 165 lbs., 6'0"

    About a year and a half ago, I started doing pushups regularly everyday (started at about 20 per set, can now do about 50 reps, probably 3 sets a day) to try to gain some muscle. I have never been the most active individual, and wanted to add some weight to my arms (biceps/triceps) and chest.

    Approximately 6 months ago, I purchased a pullup/chinup bar to hang on my doorframe. I thought I was progressing fast, could do about 5-6 reps at the beginning and quickly got to 10 reps per set. I was reasonably doing about 5 sets of 10 reps every other day (with muscle fatigue at the end).

    Then, I realized I may be doing my reps incorrectly. After every rep, I was landing back on the ground. My doorframe isn't tall enough to fully extend my arms on the way down, and after watching some videos, I noticed people mostly hanging the entire time. So, I started doing this by bending my legs during my sets. Ever since then, the pullups/chinups seem harder. I can do about 4 sets of 10 reps in addition to about 2 sets of 30 pushups before being exhausted (doing this exercise 3-4 times a week).

    So I am unsure of a couple things. Am I getting stronger even though I haven't been able to increase my reps for a while? And also, is this a good workout? I'm not trying to get extremely ripped, just want to add some definition to my scrawny arms. Thanks for any advice you can give.

    Edit: I have also had symptoms of Supraventricular Tachycardia (SVT) that have occurred on and off for about 13 or so years and am currently seeing a cardiologist to try to get a diagnosis, although I can't seem to replicate the symptoms while wearing a heart monitor.

    If it is relevant, at my most exhausted while doing this workout, my heart rate gets up to around 175-180 bpm.

    submitted by /u/heartquestion12345
    [link] [comments]

    Do you draw lines between calisthenics and weights? If yes then where do you draw lines?

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 01:59 PM PDT

    In every community there are certain people who tend to remain on pure side of things. For example some vegans will only eat raw unprocessed foods.

    In same way there must be people into bodyweight stuff who want to remain on "pure" side of things.

    So where do you draw lines between pure bodyweight and unpure? Does it matter to you? Do you think one is better than the other? What workouts you think are better done bodyweight and what are better done with weights?

    I am sorry if the whole post has weird feel to it. English isnt my first language so if you understand what I mean to ask please share your thoughts.

    submitted by /u/ba-dum-tsssss
    [link] [comments]

    Way to achieve super strength? Or even super speed too? But just for me not for you guys

    Posted: 28 Sep 2020 08:28 PM PDT

    I've hit a rough patch in my life and have lost around 20lbs but I remain the same strength as before resulting in me being able to run quicker. If I keep gaining weight through intense training and then losing it again will I be able to achieve great strength while still maintaining a lightweight body? I feel as though with a good year two training I'd even be able to run quicker than usain bolt considering I'm already 10kmh away from the record and haven't ran a race in years.

    submitted by /u/Kootabab
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment