• Breaking News

    Tuesday, September 1, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-09-01

    Bodyweight Fitness: Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-09-01


    Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-09-01

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    Training Tuesday! Post the full details of your routine and the progress you've made over the past week. Include as much detail as possible.

    All the past Training Tuesdays

    If you are posting an update from last week's thread (please do!), please link your old post.

    Copy the comment's address by right clicking the "Permalink" under your comment and clicking "Copy Link Address/Location" or similar, depending on your browser.

    Then include this in your post:

    [Last week's post](http://link.goes/here) 

    Include these sorts of details:

    (Gender, Age, Height, Weight [kg/lbs please])

    Goal: Vague or specific (get bigger? Or master a planche by December?)

    Routine: Include what progress you've made this week. Extra reps? Longer hold? New progression?

    Diet/Mood/Energy/Anything else relevant to your training:

    Questions: Request any feedback you'd like on your routine.

    Highlight the improvements you have made in your routine, since last week and include any videos or photos that are relevant.

    All top comments must be routine posts.

    Join our live chatroom on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-01

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    4-month progress with Recommended Routine

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 12:44 AM PDT

    6 months ago I found this sub and decided that I wanted to do something about my exceedingly lanky physique. Then I put off starting the RR for 2 months, eventually building up the willpower to stick to a consistent workout schedule.

    I started pretty underweight at 6'2" 141lbs. Max of 18 pushups, 3 pull-ups, and could not manage even a single shrimp squat or dip. I have been going through the recommended progressions and trying to eat more (I haven't been counting calories because it's really time consuming and I have really only been doing this casually.

    There were a few times in the first couple weeks where I would work myself to exhaustion and be unable to properly work out for a few days afterward, but over time I was able to balance this out as I got to know my body more.

    I am now 152lbs and top out at 45 pushups, 11 pull-ups, 6 pistol squats, 14 dips. I've also noticed my standing jump to have gotten about 8 inches higher which is probably the most striking to me.

    These are some progress pictures http://imgur.com/a/xhjeArX

    The change in my body might not be much, but it feels huge to me and really motivates me to keep going with this. Anyways, it's only 4 months in! I'll get back to you when I have gotten a full year of training.

    submitted by /u/Neptunesfleshlight
    [link] [comments]

    3-Month Progress - Calisthenics (*)

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 08:18 AM PDT

    Disclaimer: Although is started with purely Calisthenic movements, I have since incorporated dumbbells (and sometimes even machines) into my routine. So keep that in mind as you read through this. With that being said, I wanted to share some pics because I'm quite happy with the progress I've made so far.

    I started working out during college, but stopped due to losing access to my uni's gym once I graduated and due to having to juggle 2 jobs. I got back into training after about a year of inactivity, but its not like I trained for a long period of time prior to this 3-month period. So these are all pretty much newbie gains. I'm 25 btw, so a little late to the party.

    Before: May 29th, 174cm (5'8), 68.2 kg (150.4 lbs)

    After: August 29th, 174cm (5'8), 63.8 (140.7 lbs)

    After - back shot (excuse the backne)

    As you can see from the progress pics, I didn't really get bigger, I just slimmed down. I was actually at 160 a month prior to starting training so it seems like my weight fluctuates quite a bit. Even though that may be the case, I still think I lost a good amount of body fat and added some muscle definition. Although I don't have any pictures of my back before I started training, I'm really happy with how it looks now so I decided to include it. It's not the most impressive before-after but I like the changes that I see in my body, so I wanted to share my experience so far.

    As far as training goes, I started with an old version of the RR that I ended up dropping. For some reason it had core before anything else, so I ended up switching to another routine about a month ago. I work out every other day, and I try to stretch whenever possible.

    I don't much want to share my personal workout routine because I don't want to accidentally give you guys some bad advice or spread misinformation. However, if you're interested I can always post it.

    As far as diet goes, I pretty much cook everything I eat. Every once in a while I'll have some takeout (I've had takeout about 5 times in the last 3 months or so), but apart from that it's all home cooked meals. I always try to get about 120-150g of protein per day and then fill out the rest of my calories with fat and carbs.

    I don't really mess around with supplements, but I've been toying with the idea of adding whey protein and creatine to my diet. Let me know what you think of that idea, as well as my progress so far.

    Edit: Sorry mods, here's the biometric information

    Stats

    Male, 25, 140 Lbs, 5'8

    Diet

    1900 calories/day, 120-150g of protein, filling the rest of the calories out with fat and carbs

    Routine

    Guidelines

    • 3-4 times a week (for me it's every other day)
    • Alternate b/w Workouts A & B
    • 5-15 reps per set, 3-5 sets per movement
    • Do about 40-70 total reps per movement per workout

    Workout Routine

    A B
    Horizontal Push Vertical Push (Extension)
    Vertical Push (Flexion) Vertical Pull
    Horizontal Pull Horizontal Pull
    Squat Hip Hinge
    Core Core

    Progression

    This is a way you can progress through the movements, but don't take anything in here as gospel. Some of the progressions in here require equipment (pull-up bar and rings), so substitute when you need to.

    Horizontal Push Horizontal Pull Vertical Push (Flexion) Vertical Push (Extension) Vertical Pull Squat Hip Hinge Core
    1. Incline push ups 1. Inverted ring rows 1. Pike press 1. Bench dips 1. Foot assisted pull ups 1. Bodyweight squats 1. Glute bridge 1. L-sit compressions
    2. Push up 2. Elevated ring rows 2. Elevated pike press 2. Parallel bar dips 2. Eccentric (negative) pull ups 2. Assisted pistol squats 2. Single leg glute bridge 2. Tucked hanging leg raises
    3. Diamond push ups 3. Tucked lever rows 3. Deep elevated pike press 3. Ring dips 3. Pull ups 3. Pistol squats 3. Back extensions 3. Hanging leg raises
    4. Ring push ups 4. Wall hand-stand push ups 4. L-sit pull ups 4. Barbell squat 4. Deadlift
    submitted by /u/DiscoPND
    [link] [comments]

    Static vs dynamic core exercises - which one is better for progressing in static elements?

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 03:46 AM PDT

    Okay guys, so I've been thinking about it for the last few days and I can't really make my mind up.

    I can currently hold my FL for a solid 20-25 seconds with perfect form. Because of that I decided to try learning OAFL. How should I strengthen my core then? I believe that static exercises would be hella better, because they directly increase the isometric strength of my core.

    Am I right in thinking that Dynamic core exercises only increase the concentric strength and thus won't really do much in terms of learning OAFL?

    And additionally: what's the point of doing dynamic core exercises (leg raises etc) except for increasing one's strength in presses?

    What results in your strength do you guys notice while doing dynamic vs static core exercises?

    submitted by /u/iccreek
    [link] [comments]

    RESISTANCE BANDS

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 11:05 AM PDT

    Hi, I just recieved some resistance bands I bought online. I'll use them for my skill training (fl,straddle planche and iron cross). Does anyone want to share his/her experience using bands? How did you organize your trainings and when did you include them? I know that for skills it's better to use them around my waist. Would you recomend I use more resistance (more time under tension but easier) or should I do less resistance (5-10 second max effort sets)? What worked for you?

    submitted by /u/Achaval27
    [link] [comments]

    Hello, I'm moderately uncoordinated and I don't know what to do

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 10:53 AM PDT

    Hello,

    I'm rather uncoordinated and I need help learning how to do bodyweight training. Is there a service where a trainer can look at me on video and coach me on my form so I'm not hurting myself?

    submitted by /u/saltwaterandsand
    [link] [comments]

    [Progress] M24, 142-160, 2 years (climbing, calisthenics)

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 10:35 AM PDT

    Progress photos here

    2018 vs last week

    6'3, lanky boi

    It's been a long road to get here, but I'm finally approaching a healthy weight.

    After dropping to a period low of 148 early this year, I knew I had to make a change. I lost some progress to quarantine, but have been back hard in the last few months.

    Things that have made the biggest difference:

    • No alcohol
    • No drugs
    • No caffeine
    • No nicotine
    • Tracking every calorie
    • Rock climbing. (god damn I love climbing)

    I haven't really had a consistent workout plan as of recent, just doing twice-a-day exercise. Whether it's cycling to the gym then lifting, mobility work, sports, etc, just hitting it twice a day and eating properly has been huge.

    I climb whenever my tendons will allow, and fill the rest days with some other work. Typically calisthenics/body-weight work or lifting + some form of cardio.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    submitted by /u/Snoopy7393
    [link] [comments]

    Trying to lean bulk. Any advice?

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 11:50 AM PDT

    Here's some details I'm 14, have a fast metabolism and am growing a lot. I'm 6'2" and 140 pounds and really underweight. I swim HARD 2-3 miles 3x a week(1.5 hours) burning around 1000-1200 calories during this swimming. On days I swim I eat dinner twice and probably get 3000+ calories on those days but that should be fine because I'm burning a lot due to my metabolism and swimming. Getting a lot of protein. No access to a gym right now so this is my routine.

    10-15 minutes abs a day

    15-20 minutes arms a day

    Swimming(works my whole body)

    Legs on days I don't swim

    Pull ups/chin-ups throughout the day

    Remember, I'm really underweight so I'm starting small. Will probably up the length and weight as I get more muscle. Any recommendations?

    submitted by /u/thespitefulorange
    [link] [comments]

    How long will it take to cut after a lean bulk?

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 11:35 AM PDT

    I just want an estimate since I have never bulked or cut before. Right now I'm 14, 6 foot 2, and 140 pounds. My plan is to gain a decent amount of muscle in the chest and abs (from nothing) and then cut. How long will this process take?

    submitted by /u/thespitefulorange
    [link] [comments]

    Is doing shoulder stands (with parallette bars) a good progression to handstands?

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 11:22 AM PDT

    At the moment I can't do a handstand with my arms fully out but I can get into that position almost by doing a shoulder stand using parallette bars. I just need to get my body more straight rather than at an angle and be able hold it there for longer.

    I just hope to master the shoulder stands than hopefully progress onto hand stands.

    submitted by /u/kerningtype
    [link] [comments]

    Planche

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 10:31 AM PDT

    Wich band to select I can hold Planche few seconds And I'm wondering for light band 2-16kg can progress with this band

    submitted by /u/teoapple22
    [link] [comments]

    Have any OAC tips, prehab or anything else?

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 06:29 AM PDT

    Are there any prerequisites to starting OAC training? As of now my vertical pull in the RR is 3*8 L-sit pull-ups to chest height. Don't have a muscle up yet but its not really something I'm eager to achieve right now. Can do sets of 3 in a 2 finger assist chin-up.

    I used to have medial epicondylitis and it's flaring up a bit now. What are you tips as for frequency, volume, perhab? (I might not even start OAC in the next couple weeks but I do hope to achieve it by this time next year)

    submitted by /u/DisforDor
    [link] [comments]

    Lower Body Crossover

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 11:50 PM PDT

    Has anyone ever actually improved their barbell back/front squat from body weight exercises? My 1RM was around 295lbs at 160lb bw before a minor hip injury and COVID limited my squatting dreams.

    I can sissy squat until I'm almost parallel to the floor, have previously gotten sets of 4-5 on dragon squats, and am close to my first full Nordic curl.

    It seems like there's not a whole lot of room to strive for hypertrophy or strength with bw exercises, which also limiting my motivation to push it in those areas. Has anyone had an experience of significant growth from bw leg training? Or an experience of strength transfer to weighted exercises?

    submitted by /u/avocaiden
    [link] [comments]

    Monthly BWF Physique Thread for September

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    Have you made some serious gains and don't want to post your own progress thread? Tired of snapping swelfies in the mirror and have nobody to share them with? Need some critique on your muscles and would like some exercise advice? Well, this is the topic for you!

    Physique posts do not have to adhere to the regular progress post guidelines normally found here but you are welcome and encouraged to share as much relevant information as possible. Age, weight, and height are all relevant points of information you should consider providing. All other rules are in effect, especially Rule #4. As always, please report comments that are out of line.

    Feel free to join our live chatroom on Discord! You can find the web client by clicking this link, here.

    We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    Remember, we're all gonna make it.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    What are the best books beginners should read when starting Calisthenics?

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 06:40 PM PDT

    Wanted to start a lifestyle change during this quarantine and I got nothing but time.

    submitted by /u/kbrom3
    [link] [comments]

    Is it bad for joints/tendons/anything to do fire hydrant exercise (glutes) with lots of added weight to leg?

    Posted: 01 Sep 2020 01:03 AM PDT

    I modify the fire hydrant exercise by attaching dumbbells to my ankle weights, which I place around my thigh just above my knee. So, currently it's about 20 pounds total attached to my leg, but I want to keep upping the weight so I can do fewer reps etc. When I do the exercise, I don't really feel any "strain" (besides muscle burn) that makes me worry, but since adding the weights makes it kind of an unnatural movement, I want to make sure I'm not messing up my body. (Newbie here).

    Thanks.

    The exercise: https://www.healthline.com/health/exercise-fitness/fire-hydrant-exercise#modified-versions

    submitted by /u/synchr0nlclty
    [link] [comments]

    As I train calisthenics, I've gotten stronger at lifting weights. Just not actual calisthenics. What gives?

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 04:09 PM PDT

    Since the summer (May), I've been going read hard at calisthenics. I've noticed that I've gotten stronger in a general sense. For example, I went and did alternating hammer curls in the gym and could do 5 reps, 3 sets using 40 lbs dumbbells (a new record for me). However, while I've seen progress in weightlifting, I haven't really improved with calisthenics.

    I'm still stuck at 12 reps for regular pull ups, 15 for chin ups. 35 push ups (all of this is max rep).

    submitted by /u/LonelyNarwhal
    [link] [comments]

    Pull Up Plateau

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 05:49 PM PDT

    Hello everyone,

    I was wondering if weighted negative pull ups will help increase pull up count past 5 reps. I am currently stuck on 5 pullups for about 3 weeks now. I just started doing weighted negatives(weighted eccentrics) and weighted rowing today. I only got my first pull up two months ago. I am looking to get to the 20 pull up mark in 6 - 8 months. I work on the push,pull,legs split. I train pulling two times a week. After I get to 10 pull ups, I'll start doing weighted pull ups to further my results as I have heard and read that they drastically increase pull up count. If any of you had a pull up plateau in your training regimen, what did you do to overcome it? I would love to hear everyone's thoughts.

    submitted by /u/HighPotential12
    [link] [comments]

    Going from Arch to Hollow Pull-Ups

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 10:08 PM PDT

    Hey all,

    After a long an arduous journey, I have finally achieved five pull-ups. Negatives set off my elbow every single time and I didn't make progress until I made my own assisted setup.

    Anyway, my goal now is to get up to about 10-15 reps and then start working on high pullups.

    I learned to do pullups using the arch method which has really helped my scapular strength. However it seems for further skills I should have learned hollow pull-ups. Just curious if they transfer over relatively easy and if anyone has any tips for making the switch to hollow pull-ups and pulling waist high in general.

    (Bonus Question: How long did it take you to build the explosive power to pull cleanly to your waist?)

    submitted by /u/Undisciplined17
    [link] [comments]

    About to finish Thenx beginner program.

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 05:11 PM PDT

    I know there's a lot of Chris Heria haters out there, but I have to say everything he promised in the intro video came true. I made the switch from weight lifting to cals once COVID hit. With the help of the app showing me how to do things and giving me structure I've come to love calisthenics! My gym is open again and I only lift weights once a week and am going to move on to the intermediate program next week. The feeling of being able control my body with ease has made so many other activities effortless.

    If anyone is trying to make the switch, Heria will make it easier in my opinion. Thanks for listening.

    submitted by /u/snappishstew117
    [link] [comments]

    Adding in a designated weight day?

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 07:33 PM PDT

    I'm switching to a primary calisthenics workout, but I really enjoy weight lifting. Is it safe and/or smart to add in just a day or two of only weights in the week? Thanks!

    submitted by /u/historymemes
    [link] [comments]

    Rows and posture question

    Posted: 31 Aug 2020 06:49 PM PDT

    I hear people say rows are good for your posture. Can anyone with an exercise science or biology background support and explain that? I'm curious.

    Ps. I appreciate first hand experience but in this particular case i'm less interested in isolated anecdotes than I am in research based info. Thanks all!

    submitted by /u/snipsnaps1_9
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment