Weight loss: [Directory] Find your quests here! - {{%B %Y}} |
- [Directory] Find your quests here! - {{%B %Y}}
- As of September 1st 2020 I will begin my journey into weight loss
- Anyone else that's been trying forever to "just" lose 20lb?
- I was getting discouraged until last night.
- Don't rush and overcomplicate weight loss
- Better to go slow than to go backwards
- MY BODY IS READY
- Weighed myself for the first time in 6 weeks to find that I crushed my first goal!
- Long time lurker, first time poster
- A rant about resistance to 'diet culture.'
- For me
- eating a meal when hungry >>> overeating on a satisfied stomach
- 50 pounds down, my lowest weight in over a year!
- I lost some weight during quarantine and I don't want to stop
- 120 days in
- Getting used to: Being Full ≠ Being Fat
- Your fitness journey should be for you and nobody else
- I never thought I'd post here
- I have school soon and am very embarrassed to go back.
- -81 lbs in 6 months, 12 inches off waist and increased muscular strength from 50-200%. Here’s how I did it and how I’m not done!
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 31
- Found CICO so much easier before I was married
- Feeling weak, discouraged, and lost with fitness
- I went in for a CT scan for something different but ended up discovering I have very early signs of fatty liver. I’m only 23.
- Don't be like me and make losing weight your whole life
| [Directory] Find your quests here! - {{%B %Y}} Posted: 31 Aug 2020 10:01 PM PDT Welcome adventurer! Whether you're new on this quest or are towards the end of your journey there should be something below for you. Daily journal.
Interested in some side quests?
Community bulletin board!
Need some questing buddies? If you are new to the sub, click here for our posting guidelines [link] [comments] |
| As of September 1st 2020 I will begin my journey into weight loss Posted: 31 Aug 2020 05:11 PM PDT I'm 17M, 5'8, 198lbs and as off today I will begin my journey into losing weight. My target goal is to be 160lbs by the end of the year! That's 121 days (just over 17 weeks) which means if I lose 2.2lbs a week I will achieve my goal! Of course it sounds easier than it actually will be but I believe in myself that I will be able to accomplish my goals and end this year well. I have set myself rules in this journey. I will do atleast 8k steps per day whether that be walking to and from college, or going for a walk/run. I will permit myself to 1 treat meal a week. As well as making sure I keep an average of losing 2lbs a week. I will cut out all of the junk food/fast food/sugary drinks in replacement for healthy lower calorie options. I'm sure this won't be read by anyone but this is more as a way to document my progress week-by-week. I will be back next week to give an update if you're interested 👍 good luck to everyone on this same journey 🤜 we can do this together... [link] [comments] |
| Anyone else that's been trying forever to "just" lose 20lb? Posted: 31 Aug 2020 09:31 AM PDT Hello r/loseit ! I've been a longtime lurker and am trying to kickstart my weightloss journey again. I guess I'm just looking for some solidarity. Unlike many of the posts I've seen here, I don't have a ton of weight to lose (15-25lb). But I've been wanting to lose for years and have had so much trouble doing it. I'm female, 5' 4" and 137ish lb. I'm just on the edge of healthy/overweight and have been wanting to lose weight and exercise consistently like I did in the past. I used to be so much healthier, stronger, and feel better in my body. 20lb may not seem like much, but on a shorter woman like me they really make a difference. And every pound feels so hard to lose. I read a lot of posts here of others who have more total weight they want to lose. And I know I should be and am grateful that the finish line is so much closer for me. But I can't help but feel jealous reading about people who just 'cut out soda' and are instantly dropping 5lb a week. I definitely don't want to hate on or discredit the hard work and struggles that others on here have shared. Everyone's journey is different and reading everyone's experiences and successes has been such inspiration for me. However, I just don't see many others in a similar situation as me sharing their stories or tips. Anyone else here who can relate? What changes did you make to lose those 20lb you've always wanted to lose? Today I decided I am going to start tracking calories again and go for a 1 hour walk everyday after work. --------- EDIT: Woah! I know this is stereotypical to say, but I didn't expect my post to get so many responses haha. I guess this struck a chord with you guys. It'll take me some time to read through and respond to everyone. In the mean time, thanks everyone for sharing your stories and advice! It's been so great to hear about your experiences. I'm especially encouraged to hear if you've found ways to make progress and reach / are on your way to reaching your goal weight! You guys are awesome, seriously!! [link] [comments] |
| I was getting discouraged until last night. Posted: 31 Aug 2020 04:09 PM PDT I've been seeing all these posts on the various fitness subreddits that I'm subbed to, where people are losing like 15 pounds in two months or whatever, and it's been super discouraging. I've lost about 5 pounds in the past month and a half and it feels like everyone else is making this insane progress and I'm just going SO SLOW. Then last night one of the women I live with sort of squinted at me and said "You've lost weight. I've been seeing you the past few days and you can tell." And it made my NIGHT. It inspired me to check my measurements (I hadn't in a couple weeks) and I'd lost an inch off my thighs and an inch off my waist as well. Then I looked at this picture I took just two weeks ago: And it's not much, but there's noticeable (I think) face gains there and that made me feel so much better. I've been working out every day since August 1st - I do 45 minutes of cardio, usually on the recumbent bike but sometimes by taking the dogs for a brisk walk. I also eat 1500 calories a day (I was originally eating less than that, but I started losing weight when i upped my calorie intake. I don't think I was eating enough.) This morning I had my lowest weigh-in so far, and I just hope that I'm doing the right thing and I'm just gonna keep doing it. [link] [comments] |
| Don't rush and overcomplicate weight loss Posted: 31 Aug 2020 07:18 PM PDT I've been there. One day you suddenly see clearly everything for what it is. You don't exercise, you don't eat well, you're overweight and you're leading an unhealthy lifestyle. You panic. You decide that this is it. You need to change immediately. You throw out the junk food, you buy recipe books, you purchase a gym membership and you vow to never touch junkfood again. All is going good until you've had a rough day two weeks later. You get home and order takeout. You wake up the next day feeling guilty but decide to move on. But today is not better than yesterday. So you eat your feelings away and decide that maybe you should take a break from all this dieting stuff. You have enough on your plate and planning everything takes so much effort. Not to mention food is the only thing that's bringing you joy right now. And I mean, you did last two full weeks, that's something! So you let yourself go. A few months later you suddenly see everything clearly again. And rinse and repeat. You've heard it over and over again but let me say it again. Weight loss should be sustainable. And preferably slow. You're not doing yourself a favor by shedding more than 2lbs a week. I know fast results are what people want but they are not realistic and they raise chances of gaining the weight back. I know some people aim to lose the weight quickly and only then start building habits to maintain but that's very hard and odds are against them. You need to make weightloss a way of life. Something you can do without thinking about and obsessing over. Something that's a part of your life but not the centre of it. Small changes over time, moderation, some exercise and smart choices. That's all you need. It's not easy but it's simple. [link] [comments] |
| Better to go slow than to go backwards Posted: 31 Aug 2020 04:30 AM PDT I had an interesting thought this morning that I thought might be worth sharing here. For anyone interested, the rest of this paragraph will be about me, and the next will get into it. I am 25F 5'6 currently 155lbs. My goal weight is somewhere in the next 5-10lbs. I started dieting January 2019 at 190, got down to 151 in July '19, and then had a dark few months of binge eating to get me back to 184 in January 2020. I started losing weight until covid, gained a little, and started losing again in June. I track all of my calories and weigh myself everyday with a food scale and excel document. I ate 1600 for the majority of the time. Based on the data I track, I have been in a 1000 calorie deficit. And over the past two weeks I have had two days of binge eating, plus a few days of just needed extra calories. Not the cute, I ate 500 calories above my deficit kind, but the shame-filled I cannot control myself kind. This is what set me so far backwards last year. I could tell I've been hungrier lately. Today at the gym I realized: I would rather progress slowly than to go backwards. I've upped my calories by about 400 this week and will see how I feel. It's hard to give myself the permission to slow my progress but I'll be so much better off for it in the long run! Don't be afraid to listen to your body and take your time getting to your goals [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 31 Aug 2020 03:45 PM PDT SadButterfingers here, you may recognize the username as I have been on and off this sub for the past almost 3 years I think... aaaand I've gained weight. A LOT. Writing this post as a way to introduce myself because I plan on being active in this community. I lost weight awhile back and this community helped me so much! Love you guys and I can't wait to get back on the wagon (actually I want to do anything BUT that) but I can't keep letting those emotions get in the way. I made a realization that if I just actually STICK to something, I will make progress. It's really that easy you guys!! (Just kidding, we all know it can suck) But I really do want to get back on track and take control of my life again. Little information for me to look back on, and to give you an idea of who I am: 25F, 5'5", CW: 195 GW: 145 Fifty pounds feels like... a lot. But I see you guys putting in the work everyday, and I'm ready to do it too. I've lost this weight in the past, going from 190 to 155. I got down to about 150 before I ballooned up for whatever reasons, so here I am trying to back track. Dear boyfriend if you are reading this: I am sorry, I know you enjoy my new found boobs, but they will have to go. Thanks for loving me even with the extra poundage. I guess that's all I have to say right now, my body is ready. [link] [comments] |
| Weighed myself for the first time in 6 weeks to find that I crushed my first goal! Posted: 31 Aug 2020 01:33 PM PDT F/5'7" SW:235>CW:218=12 pounds GW:170ish I started intermittent fasting (16:8, occasionally 18:6) about 6 weeks ago. No calorie counting, just eating in moderation and making better choices. I've also stopped using food as a coping mechanism that would lead to a binge and stopped drinking soda and replaced it with at least 100 ounces of water a day. First day of working out was yesterday and I plan to do some exercise at least 3 days a week from now on. I weighed myself that first day at 235 pounds and put the scale away and decided I wouldn't weigh myself again until September 1st. I get obsessive and weigh myself hourly and I swear that's what has been hurting me in the past. That gave me 6ish weeks to lose 10 pounds to hit my first goal of 220. Today (okay one day early I couldn't resist) I weighed in at 218! I'm so excited and more motivated than ever! I want to hit 210 (my pre pregnancy weight for my 3rd child) by October 1st and I know I'm going to get there. [link] [comments] |
| Long time lurker, first time poster Posted: 31 Aug 2020 01:41 PM PDT I've spent the last year losing weight and trying to get healthy and I'm thrilled to say that that effort has resulted in me losing 96 lbs and this community was a big reason why that happened. I've been part of this subreddit for YEARS and never took any real steps to improve my health. It always felt insurmountable and I had more of less come to terms with being fat the rest of my life. But I hit 30 a couple of years ago and I began to really feel the weight of my obesity. I could feel it in my joints and especially my back. I also wasn't having any luck dating and I knew deep in my bones that it was because of my weight. Especially on dating apps, first impressions are everything, and I knew that I wasn't giving off a good impression at all. So I knew for my physical well being and mental health that something needed to change. So I started reading more and more of the posts here. Seeing what did and didn't work for people and what made sense for me. That, along with seeing a friend of mine find huge success with it, led me to CICO. I got a little obsessed with counting calories and changed a lot of my eating habits. I bought a scale and checked it weekly. I wanted to make sure I didn't let my weight loss consume my every waking moment. I lost about 50 lbs just from cutting back and cutting out certain things. Then I added some light exercise (thanks Ring Fit Adventure) about 6 months ago to supplement my dietary changes and that helped push me to 96 lbs lost. I was hoping to reach 100 by the one year mark but those last couple of pounds are being stubborn. Thrilled with the results overall though. It's been a weird and good journey. A lot of highs and lows. I still feel "big" a lot of the time and have HUGE issues with body dysmorphia and probably will the rest of my life. But this is a change that was long overdue and I'm happy with my progress so far. SW: 330 lbs CW: 234 lbs GW: 200 lbs And here's a before/after for ya! [link] [comments] |
| A rant about resistance to 'diet culture.' Posted: 31 Aug 2020 12:10 PM PDT It's incredibly frustrating. I know that what I'm trying to do - effectively shed a third of my bodyweight through lifestyle changes and healthy habits - is HARD. I'm keenly aware of this. And as someone who has struggled with whether or not I have a strong will or a strong self, I'm especially susceptible to doubting myself. I've taken steps to prevent this from happening when it comes to my health, but every single time the rallying cry of "diets don't work" comes up its that much more effort to remind myself I'm capable of doing this. Over and over I have had people and organisations show up in my online communities, adamant that 95% of anyone losing significant weight will fail. They talk about the biological systems of the body resisting what is perceived as famine cues and how we are doing damage to our systems by trying to control it. They discuss the wrongness of placing moral value on food, but then loudly point to before and after photos as morally wrong because they cause others to think about their weight. Where is the AGENCY? If only 5% manage to make it work, tell me what they're doing! Give me the strategies that are successful! It's beyond demoralizing to me when I see taking control of my body as an act of independence and growth, yet it is immediately met with protest and screams of how not everyone can do it. I am not everyone and I am not going to develop an eating disorder if we approach this calmly and constructively. So where are those discussions? I see so much support here and for that I thank you all. It's a little ray of light when my media seems saturated by the ideological debate of health and wellness. A lot of us are normal people just looking to take back our lives from years of trauma or neglect. It would be nice to see more of this in the world. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 31 Aug 2020 08:46 PM PDT Hey everyone! I first started my weight loss journey July of last year. I have since lost 80 pounds! I still have probably at least 20 more to go until I'm at a "normal" weight. And for the first time in YEARS I'm at overweight instead of obese! I lost weight by counting calories, IF and OMAD. I did some running in the beginning but I only seriously started exercising in January. I've been maintaining since June at about 179 and today I decided I'm going to push myself to get back into becoming healthier. Originally I didn't have a goal set, I just wanted to look better. I wanted to feel better. And I do, but I'm still not 100% comfortable with my body yet. The reason I stopped losing weight is because my fiancé didn't "approve" of it. I remember standing in the kitchen feeling so confident in a size 14 pair of jeans (that were slightly loose!) after being in a tight 18 for over a year when he told me I looked sick. It crushed me. Not once In a whole year did he compliment me on my weight loss. He only picked at me saying things like "you know I like bigger girls" "your butt used to be so much bigger" "you don't look the same" "your thighs are too small" "you need to gain more weight". I felt every single one of those insults. I stopped losing weight. I stopped eating healthily. I stopped caring. I thought maybe if I just stayed at that weight he'd come around. But today, after finding out that he has been cheating on me (with bigger women actually) Today, I restart. For me. For my health, for my confidence. For me. So here's to day one, again. [link] [comments] |
| eating a meal when hungry >>> overeating on a satisfied stomach Posted: 31 Aug 2020 12:50 PM PDT Disclaimer: I understand that I'm extremely privileged to actually appreciate the feeling of mild hunger, and I'm sorry if this post is tone deaf. I also do not want to promote starvation, and if you struggle with an ED, consider passing up this post. I know for most people who are in tune with their body, this goes without saying, but for me, this has been quite an eye-opener. I got overweight by simply overeating. I rarely binged or had those uncontrollable days when I couldn't stop eating; they only occurred a few times a year and it was typically done at some sort of celebratory event and in tandem with drinking, and I didn't really feel guilty after those days, I just thought it was kind of fun and reckless. But I got into the habit of snacking every waking hour of the day--on top of eating large meals. This habit probably stemmed from my childhood years of playing 3 sports, being outside all day every day, growing, and eating a lot to provide this necessary fuel. But once I stopped growing, dropped from 3 sports to 1, and spent most of my awake hours studying, the weight started to creep up, and I slowly put on 20+ lbs in about 5 years. I used to think that any time I felt hungry--or didn't feel full--I should eat something. I snacked when I was bored, tired, wanted to relax, etc. I was (and still am) a student at this time, and I would eat during every single class just to stay awake or because I was bored. I would eat breakfast, then I had a morning snack, lunch, then another snack at 5 pm, then dinner, and typically a dessert. I would carry 3 bananas in my backpack every day and eat them over the span of a few hours. I never felt hungry, and I thought this was normal. Earlier this year, I decided that I was fed up with my weight gain and wanted to address it. After managing my caloric intake, I realized that, while my meals were always pretty reasonable and relatively nutritious, my snacks could easily add up to 700+ calories a day. I always thought because I ate a balanced diet and was pretty active, yet I still continued to gain weight, I was just cursed with a slow metabolism and would be overweight and out of breath for the rest of my life. None of this was true, I was simply eating too much, eating for the sake of eating. After this realization, I decided to take action. I started to eat in caloric deficit with no diet "rules" other than these guidelines: stay in a moderate deficit, do not eat your first meal until you physically feel hunger, and do not eat anything until you've finished preparing that meal--not a nibble, a bite, a lick, nothing--basically inadvertent intermittent fasting. In the past I would eat breakfast within the first 30 minutes of waking up (when I wasn't even hungry), and I would always eat snacks and pick at food before eating any meal, to the point that I wasn't even hungry when I sat down to eat the meal. Now, I wait until I feel hungry, prepare a meal, and start eating when my food is on the plate, I have a glass of water poured out, and I'm sitting down. I also drink 8 oz of water before taking a single bite of food--this just lets me get into the habit of exercising self discipline, and I get to drink more water. I don't mean to demean myself, but it's kind of like when you command your dog to sit and wait for you to place their food bowl down for a few moments before you permit them to eat. I'm the dog, my self-discipline is the dog owner, and the food bowl is my meal. Once I started doing this, my meals tasted so much better, and I felt better after eating too. Have you ever had those moments when you're very hungry and you eat a pretty average meal, and you say something like, "I don't know if it's just because I'm hungry, but this is so good". That's kind of the feeling I have, except I'm only mildly hungry. But I really feel like I'm eating like a king, and I'm so satisfied afterwards, even though I'm just eating regular things, like yogurt or eggs. This habit is still not second nature to me and it's still a struggle to avoid snacking, picking, and grazing, but the days I succeed are always good days. Edit: Also, I think snacking is great and I still do it, especially when I have scheduled a meal with someone else and feel hungry well before eating that meal. I never let myself get to a point of feeling extreme hunger. If I feel mildly hungry, I try to skip the snack and just prepare a meal. [link] [comments] |
| 50 pounds down, my lowest weight in over a year! Posted: 31 Aug 2020 06:43 AM PDT Hey all, haven't really posted here before but wanted to share my progress with some likeminded people! I started tracking calories with My Fitness Pal, signed up for the gym and started educating myself on ways to lose weight and get healthy. Things started well and I was losing 1kg a week on average until lockdown began and the gym closed. Over the next 13 weeks without the gym, and due to slacking a lot with my diet, I only lost 1.7kg(3.7lbs) over 13 weeks. Here was the point that in the past I would have given up, but this time I made the decision to keep going. I was still unable to go to the gym but decided to start walking every day and to get back on top of my diet. I am averaging about 0.8kg(1.8lbs) loss per week over the last 9 weeks since then and feel like I am back in control. My total loss as of today is now 22.7kg(50lbs), I weigh daily so it tends to fluctuate and it will be a little longer before my weekly average hits this amount, but just getting to that number feels like a big achievement. However the bigger achievement to me is the fact I have kept going at it. I am now 8 months in and that is by far the longest time I have continuously stuck to a weight loss regime. I still have a long way to go, but I also still have plenty of ways I can make additional changes to get there and that excites me. For the first time I feel that my journey will result in a permanent change. [link] [comments] |
| I lost some weight during quarantine and I don't want to stop Posted: 01 Sep 2020 01:11 AM PDT So I'm a 20 yo female, ever since I was 13 I've been overweight and I've tried many diets and many things but ended up stopping, usually it's around new years eve where I tell myself my new year's resolution is to lose weight, I keep it up and then I drop the resolution by the end of feburary, I tried many things, diets, calorie counting, proportion control, water fasting, but I always ended up not committing, even if I did lose some weight, ill go back to it. So I redid that this january, and to my shock I ended up not committing, again xD but then at the mid of march our college suspended classes because of covid. I, like most people at my country ended up staying home and baking with my parents, I tried many recipes and ate too much and didn't move much. In april I started realizing that that isn't a good idea, I'm sitting all day, I should be lowering my calorie intake and not raising it, I didnt think of it as a diet or something, I just did it to not gain too much weight and it didn't bother me because I spend the day either playing video games or watching movies. The 12th of may I put on a pair of pants and to my surprise they weren't tight around my hips anymore and they became loose around my stomach, I went and tried many of my and my mom's pants and found out that the size 12 that used to be too tight fitted perfectly and I could even fit in my mom's size 10, let me tell u that was one of the best feelings, I finally started losing weight and I was seeing it and my clothes became bigger. So after that I decided to take this as an opportunity to keep on losing weight, I sadly didn't weight myself then because I couldn't find the scale and I didnt bother with going to buy a new one during quarantine, but I'm sure that in January I weighted over 200lbs, also from may 12th to august 23rd I lost 4 inches from my hips, 5.5 from my thighs and 2.4 inches from my waist line. So I now weight 192 lbs (my height is 5ft10), and I plan to keep on losing weight until I reach my first goal which is 185lbs, then my second goal which is 170 lbs (which would mean that I reached a normal bmi) and my long term goal is 154 lbs but I'll still need some time to get there so I'm focusing on goal 1 & 2 for now, I'm so motivated and I feel like I won't give up this time. Thank you for reading all of this and sorry about my weird english it's my 3rd language and I'm constantly trying to improve it. TLDR: I'm a 20 year old girl, 5ft10 and 192 lbs, I have already lost some weight during quarantine and I want to lose more, I don't think I'm gonna give up like I did before. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 31 Aug 2020 10:23 AM PDT I have a 120 day streak with MyFitnessPal. I just had three consecutive perfect streak weeks where my average was right around my goal and I didn't go way over or way under my goal once. I have lost 32lbs. I went from 285-253lbs as a 5'10 F. My BMI went from 40 to 36, and from obese class 3 to obese class 2. I have about 10lbs to go to get to obese class 1. With each level, my health risks are falling, my fitness is getting better, and my mental health is getting better. I have gone from total couch potato to alternating days of walking at least a mile and doing yoga for at least 30 minutes. I can hold downward dog longer, my child's pose rests are getting deeper, my warrior poses are getting sturdier and longer. I can touch my toes now and hold forward folds longer. My hikes are getting longer and faster. My lungs are getting bigger and the breaks I need to bring my heart rate back down are getting shorter. I need less sleep as I am sleeping better, going from a groggy 9hours to fully refreshed at 8hours. My mental health is improving with every habit I am building, especially yoga and the time it gives me to be grateful and mindful. I'm posting this for my own records, I want to look back and see the progress I've made through out my journey. It's so easy to discount all progress except scale progress, but each of these types of progress are important to me and have made my life infinitely better. This is about finding myself again, the me before I got lost in depression and binge drinking. [link] [comments] |
| Getting used to: Being Full ≠ Being Fat Posted: 31 Aug 2020 05:39 PM PDT SW: 220lbs CW: 200lbs GW: 150lbs I'm grateful for this community. So many of you have inspired my journey and I'm down 20lbs from July 7th to now thanks to a new nutrition and exercise routine. However, it's amazing to see my body adapt to food and movement but my mind struggles with old patterns of negativity. This is the first time I'm on a holistic journey - weight loss and exercise all these years has meant either being fatigued or famished and people telling me it's "normal." So now when I feel full after an extremely clean and balanced meal, I have to hold my hand to my heart and have gratitude because the phrase "oh I ate so much, I feel fat," arrives so effortlessly. Over the past few days, I've eaten within my calorie limit but took a break from eating clean and I spent all day thinking I was definitely 210lbs with all the carb/water weight etc. and after a hearty meal, stood on the scale "just to check" and I was 202 lbs. Again, in that moment - I had to practice kindness, not belittle myself, call myself silly etc but calmly tell myself, this has to get better. My relationship with the self, food and my mind is what's equally important, if not more. So just a random rant out there - to anyone who may be struggling in their hearts and minds like me. Please continue to Feel full. Feel whole. Feel loved. ❤️ [link] [comments] |
| Your fitness journey should be for you and nobody else Posted: 31 Aug 2020 04:23 PM PDT Hi everyone. I started my weight loss/fitness journey in December 2019. I've made some really good progress on a pretty large goal. I am 38% of the way through and feel better than ever. Im not ready to disclose the details yet but 38% is still more than most. I'm the best shape I've been in five years and the changes I made have done a total 180 on my life. My chronic condition is healing and everyday I get better and healthier. Some days are easy and other days (especially closer to my TOM, I wanna swim in chocolate). But still, I keep my eye on the prize and the mental will power requires strength. But right now all I feel is defeated and triggered. I was talking to my mom as I prepared dinner and she made a comment about the amount of work I still need to put into my abdomen area. She might as well have punched me there because that's how her words hit me. I felt like all my progress was still not good enough. I was taken back to my high school years when I was physically in great shape but wasn't stick thin and she made me feel awful about it. It was those years where I felt no matter how healthy and great I was feeling, I was fat and ugly. When you're a naive girl in high school who is told from every angle she needs to be beautiful, you develop a cute little condition of body dysmorphia. No matter how good you look or feel, you're ugly and fat. It's like being gaslit about your body. And her one comment brought all those years of torment back. It was those years of torment that made me stop caring for me to then lose control of my health and now I have years of damage to undo. Side note: she is overall a great mom that loves me a lot and would go to the ends of the earth for me. She's been really proud of my progress and praises me more than she messes up. She was raised in a similar toxic background but it would be unfair of me to not include the loving side of her. She's very selfless and very affectionate and has become a better mother over time. But still... I can't ignore the impact this has on me. Anyways, I won't be eating dinner tonight. Just needed to vent. Please don't trash my mom. I think when I am emotionally stable, I'll let her know how her comment impacted me and I think she will take that feedback to heart. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 31 Aug 2020 07:38 PM PDT I've been obese my entire life honestly. I've had issues with my mental and emotional connection with food for as long as I can remember and it's been very difficult. I've always gained weight. The only times I've ever lost weight is when I'm sick for an extended period of time (I had bronchitis a year ago and lost 10 lbs in 2 weeks). I don't weigh myself or own a scale so I only get weighed when I go to the doctor's. Last September I was 390. Today I am 362. I did a double take lol At first I didn't understand. My relationship with food is still bad and I don't really exercise. But then I got to thinking. Ever since quarantine started, I've obviously been eating less fast food because I don't really go out. I used to drink milk and juice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. And now I sometimes go days without it, while only drinking water or tea. I've been seeing a therapist and my mood has definitely improved so I'm not constantly eating like before. I don't hate myself like I used to. Who knew a global pandemic would be the thing to help me? [link] [comments] |
| I have school soon and am very embarrassed to go back. Posted: 01 Sep 2020 01:42 AM PDT So I am 15 years old I am starting my freshman year of highschool on Sep 8 and I really feel discouraged because I used to be skinny and now i gained a lot of weight I am about 5'9 190 pounds and everyone knows me as a skinny kid, I'm doing football right now and trying to eat no processed carbs and eating 1-2 times a day with a lot of water and I just dont know how much longer I can go until I reach my goal weight 150 lbs I know im only 15 blah blah blah but its a serious issue for me and I'm pretty lost about what to do, Ive already gotten a few comments about my weight gain and I feel like I cant wear clothes anymore because i look so horrible in them, if you guys have any encouragement please share because I'm kinda at a low right now. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 31 Aug 2020 09:37 AM PDT Req' stats: 34M / 6'2'/ SW: 330 / CW: 249 / GW: 220 So instead of just telling you my story from start to finish, I've decided to break it up into a useful Q&A format so you can either read the whole thing or scroll until you find a question that you would like answering (either that or AMA in the comments). How did you lose the weight? Diet? Exercise? A combination of a total diet AND exercise shift. I started my journey 'officially' at the beginning of March 2020. Re: Diet – Heavily into the CICO side of things. I went from eating between 3500 to 5000+ calories a day (I say '+' because I wasn't exactly counting while I was binging) to between 1500 and 2000 calories a day. I cut refined sugars (ex. I ate A LOT of candy – up to a kilo a day and ice cream – up to a pint a day), wasteful carbs (ex. Mayo-based potato salad, Doritos/Chips, etc.) and fast food (made up a significant portion of my daily diet) almost immediately when I started, and gradually cut back portion sizes over time. A typical meal for me now (looking at a standard size dinner plate) is ¼ lean protein (turkey/chicken strips or scrambled eggs), ¼ carbs (mostly brown / jasmine rice), and ½ vegetables (snap peas, carrots, cucumber slices, spinach, etc. – I like variety). I also use a measurement asiago/artichoke dip for the veggies to give me some additional good fats and to flavor it up a bit. Re: Exercise – Prior to this 'journey', I would be in the gym just lifting weights/elliptical type thing for 2-3 days a week, 1 hour at a time (just sort of at an odd 'habitual' level). That was it. I didn't walk / move a lot (getting less than 3000 steps a day on an average day). The key to my exercise mindset shift was muscle variety (similar to the philosophy advertised by P90X). Now my workouts are all over the place (COVID made me adjust, but also was good). Now I walk, swim, weight train, bike, kickboxing, rowing machine, workout DVDs, etc. Just overall MOVEMENT; it doesn't matter what I'm doing, as long as I'm moving and I get my steps / active minutes in (now I average between 10 and 30,000 steps a day). How did you get to your heaviest weight? A combination of COVID-19 quarantine (both my jobs (1 full-time, 1 part-time) were deemed essential – went from a 50 hour work week to an 80+ hour work week), poor sleep, lack of motivation, ongoing poor diet (including binge eating, detailed further below), as well as always being on the heavier side (usually hovered between 270 and 300lbs over the last few years). What is an example of what you were eating when you were at your heaviest? After work (just before midnight), I go to 7-Eleven, I buy a large cup of candy, a chicken salad sandwich, a container of Ben and Jerry's ice cream, and a bottle of root beer. Then I drive to McDonalds...it's been 10 minutes since I was at 7-Eleven and my sandwich and half the candy is gone. I buy a McChicken and a McDouble sandwich, then I drive to Burger King. Another 10-minute drive, both burgers are gone. I buy a Double Whopper Combo with extra large onion rings and a Coke. Finally, I go home and eat what is left before falling asleep at just after 2:00am. (I checked my banking statement from February 29 to March 15 – 16 days - I look back 16 days in my spending history and see 16 days of the same amounts and same locations...16 days straight of the food hurricane you just read...and that's just as far back as I can measure from that time-period). 12 inches off your waist? What about the other measurements? When I took the 'Before' picture (see other post for photo) I wasn't sure if I would be able to lose the weight, so I was scared to take measurements (didn't want to be disappointed). I base this off my jeans/shorts as it's the only measurement I can say accurately – went from size 48/50 pants (depending on fit – loose vs. regular type thing) to size 36/38 pants (again, depending on fit). When you say you "increased your muscular strength from 50-200%+," what do you mean? I based this on purely 'strength-based' weightlifting gains because they are the easiest to make percentage/number comparisons. Here is a sampling of it (all of these are based on a 3 set by 10 rep standard breakdown – I don't believe in doing a "max" one-reps, especially with my bad shoulder); · Bench Press (Olympic bar, not machine): From 135lbs to 215lbs · Shoulder Press (Olympic bar, not machine): From: 95lbs to 185lbs · Bicep Curls (Free weights): From 25lbs to 50lbs · Lateral Pulldown (Machine): From 80lbs to 165lbs What about your cardiovascular fitness? Oh, I bettered that too, you can't not if you want to do this in a healthy way; here are a few examples; · Went from barely being able to walk a mile to now averaging 5-8 miles a day. · Went from being able to bike 5 miles to 25-50 miles at a time. · Average time on elliptical pre-'journey' : 20 minutes, Current: 45-60 minutes. Did you have any identified health problems then? Yes. In addition to being classified as morbidly obese, I had severely high blood pressure, was pre-diabetic (no surprise there), poor skin conditions (boils, rashes, etc.), ongoing exhaustion, sleep issues (snoring, even on my stomach), and chronic fatigue. I also had chronic pain in my right knee and right shoulder (left over from an old injury). Do you have any identified health problems now? I am no longer pre-diabetic, blood pressure is back to normal, and I don't have any sleep issues or chronic fatigue. My shoulder still hurts occasionally (think it always will) but my knee pain has completely vanished as well. Also my skin has cleared up immensely, especially around high-chafing areas (thighs, armpits, etc.). Did you take any supplements? Yes, but nothing weird, unusual or 'secret'. I take a multi-vitamin (men's) as well as a Vitamin C tablet every morning (helping to supplement a lot of OJ that I had been drinking before), and I use a BCAA recovery supplement in my water bottle when I weight train, and a Whey protein supplement in my morning shake. What about photos? As far as I can tell (reddit junior here) I can't post a picture to the r/loseit channel here, so I'll post it in another similar one and you can just check my post history if you want to see it. I think that's about it. If you want to know more/have other questions, please let me know! [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 31 Posted: 31 Aug 2020 07:03 PM PDT Hello losers, Last day of the month! Time to wrap it up. Summarize how it's been for you & how you feel about your goals! No wrong answers here. Sign up post is up! Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): 207 this morning. Not pleased but that's what I get for some not fabulous choices this month. I'm back on the wagon, have continuously tracked & am ready to fight my way back into onederland. Let's get it losers. Stay within calorie range (1500 weekdays, maintenance weekends): Oofta. Not fabulous this month. But I'm still tracking & learning. Exercise 5 days a week: 90 or so minutes of fast jog walkies. 21/31 days. Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Will do some tonight. 4/4 weeks. Self-care time (working on love journals, beauty treatments, drawing 17/29 days): I did okay at the start of the month, super shitty in the middle & am really working towards better now. I know I need to keep this up in a big way going forward. My mental health demands it. Try a new recipe once a week: Baked donuts, enchilada casserole, bbq hummus, more different enchilada casserole, dressing(s), crock pot mashed cauliflower & ground turkey almost stroganoff. 6/5 weeks. 50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: Not today. 0/50 pages. No fast food or candy from the work dish: Streak day 7. Did okay here. Really had a bad middle of the month. I treated my body like a dumpster for processed foods. And I felt like garbage & it reinforced the idea that I'm not worth anything more than gas station muffins. I'm not dissing said muffins but when I punish myself with food sometimes that's what it looks like. Be present in my body & accept the sensory feedback: Mixed bag here. I am better in general at listening to my body than this time last year. But sometimes I over eat anyway. We'll call it a work in progress. Be more mindful & express gratitude, avoid the hedonic treadmill: Important to keep this rolling for my sanity. It's a tough gig sometimes. Feels a little perfunctory. I'll keep striving. Now all you go! Let's hear it losers. [link] [comments] |
| Found CICO so much easier before I was married Posted: 31 Aug 2020 02:15 PM PDT I managed to lose weight with CICO once before, when I was single. I have been struggling for the past year or so and wondering why it was so easy to stick to then and why it's so hard now. I think I have an answer. Before I was married, it was much easier to keep track of portions. I cooked exactly one serving for every meal and it worked brilliantly. Now, I make a huge pot of food (my husband likes ample leftovers for work meals) and it's hard to know who ate what portion. I also feel more pressure to make "balanced" meals than I did as a single person. It's hard to be perfectly balanced while on CICO as a short female as I don't have a lot of calories to work with. Sometimes I would just rather have some junk (so none left for nutritious stuff) but then I feel bad feeding my husband crap. I dunno if I should start making separate meals or what. Sounds very whiny when I type it out but does anyone have any ideas? Thanks!! [link] [comments] |
| Feeling weak, discouraged, and lost with fitness Posted: 31 Aug 2020 06:32 PM PDT I'd like to preface this by saying I'm not overweight (19, 5'4", probably around 125lbs now), but the notorious "freshman 15" did hit (more so during quarantine than anything) and I have gained over 10lbs. I know this is probably a stupid problem and I know that other people have made tremendous change with a much harder journey, but I feel extremely pathetic in my physical capabilities and I just don't know what to do. I've never really been active in my life; my mom barred me from joining any sports as a kid (I was very chubby back then and felt extremely insecure) and she would later also go on to make fun of me whenever I tried to work out or diet. Safe to say, I now have pretty severe gym anxiety (in addition to my normal anxiety) and have internalized everything my mom pushed onto me when I was younger. I ended up shedding all of the weight I had as a kid during puberty and have pretty much relied on my relatively fast metabolism since then to maintain my weight. I knew it wouldn't last forever and, lo and behold, I have finally started gaining weight. I've been trying to exercise almost every day of the week for the last 3 weeks (mostly pilates because I don't have a job currently and my parents don't want to get me weights or a gym membership) but I still feel as weak and pathetic as I have my entire life. I don't feel like I'm losing weight/gaining muscle at all and whenever I try to do more intense core workouts my back/neck just ends up hurting. I try to engage my core as much as I can and keep my lower back tucked against my yoga mat, but whenever I try to do exercises that rely on me lowering my legs, I can't go as far as I'm supposed to (whilst maintaining proper form) and it just feels extremely discouraging. On top of that, when I first started working out, I would get sore the day after--but that recently stopped; at first, I thought that meant I got stronger, but when I tried adding more onto my workouts the back and neck pain ensued. My mom made a passing comment about how I gained weight today and it's been on my mind all day, hence this Reddit post. I've started eating less (I start my day off with two eggs and toast) in the hopes that it'll help me lose weight but I honestly don't know what I'm doing at all. My mom also cooks and buys all the groceries for the family so I rarely have an opportunity to make dietary choices of my own volition and, even if I did, I'd still have no idea where I would begin. Thankfully, I move back to university soon and can finally start making my own meals but, again, no clue what I would even be making. I'd also like to say I don't have an ED as I love food and don't feel repulsed by the idea of eating, I just want to know how to continue to eat in a healthier manner. If you've read this far, thank you; I'm sorry for rambling but I guess what I'm asking is: What even is "a healthy diet"? How do you count calories (do you need to count calories?)? How can I make my workouts more effective without injuring myself but also push myself in the same vein? (As an aside in case it's relevant, I'm a trans-man who is pre-transition; I'm trying to get into the swing of a healthy diet/workout regimen so I can build muscle when I start T in a month or so as opposed to just flat out gaining weight instead.) [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 31 Aug 2020 01:53 AM PDT I started to feel unwell a few months ago, ended up going through the process of getting a bunch of different tests and whatnot. They initially were going to do an ultrasound to check my pancreas and gallbladder, and if they were able to see through my fat, I'd have to have a CT scan. After the first scan, the tech asked if she could inject me with some stuff to light my liver up because she wanted my doctor to see it. Went to the doctor the next day (my regular doctor had gone on his annual leave) and the new doctor asked me about my diet and lifestyle. I told him I walk my dogs every day but that my diet is terrible. I eat a lot of fried foods, a lot of high fat foods, and not a great deal of vegetables. He looked so sad when I told him and he said that the tech picked up something in the CT scan... that I have very early stages of fatty liver. The damage will be reversible if I completely overhaul my diet now but if I continue on the path I'm on it's just going to lead to further health problems. I need to overhaul my entire diet and I don't know how. I'm a terrible cook, my mother is a negative nancy who always criticises when I attempt to eat healthier, and I'm at a loss on what to do. [link] [comments] |
| Don't be like me and make losing weight your whole life Posted: 31 Aug 2020 06:26 AM PDT I guess this is a warning and a reflection on my part at the same time. I used to be 83 kg and lost about 35 kg to eventually maintain at aroun 48-49 kg (been maintaining that for 8 months, but maintained at 52 before that for 6 months). Today I realised that I made my whole life into losing weight. It was everything I thought about from waking up to going to sleep. When I went out with friends, I didn't go if I knew we would be eating out and I didn't drink. I know that not all activities have to be about food, but I just didn't have fun anymore either. I lost interest in all things I cared about like reading, learning new things and many more because I was constantly thinking about losing weight. I thought losing the weight would make me happy. It didn't. Sure I am happier and more confident in myself. But I guess I am also a lot less confident in a lot of ways. I still think I look like a monster. I have some loose skin comparable to new moms I would say is the best explanation and I feel like all the hard work was for nothing sometimes. Revolving my whole life around losing weight was a mistake that I am now trying to undo. I want to maintain, but I can not let my body not looking like I would want it to look stop me from living my life. That's what I did when I was bigger and that's what I am doing again now. The last few months I have found my old passions again, but it's a shame that I let weight loss consume my life the way it did. I am finally finding a balance, but I wish I would have tried to find that balance sooner. Losing weight doesn't solve all of your problems. It's healthier though and I am so much better at sports then I user to be, so it's worth it. But it's not all that's important! [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment