• Breaking News

    Saturday, September 5, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-05

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-05


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-09-05

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Wallstand push-ups to free handstand push-ups

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 07:15 AM PDT

    Hi there! So i can do multiple handstand push-ups facing the wall (3 series of 4-5 reps) and they are clean (leaning forward, 90° angle etc), but i can't free handstand push-ups. I have a clean straight handstand, i hold it 9 times out of 10, but always lose stability when going down, so i wondered if there is an other step in between the wall hanstand push-ups and the free handstand push-ups? I also try to hold the bent-arm free handstand hoping it might help. Any tips?

    submitted by /u/Eegann
    [link] [comments]

    Creating Youtube videos about analyzing and creating workout routines based off of workouts in films?

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 08:09 AM PDT

    I've been inspired by Binging with Babish where his whole thing is finding out how to recreate dishes in films. I don't cook that well, so I thought perhaps I could try to make videos that create workout routines based off what you see in training montages like Rocky or Dark Knight Rises, pointing out what isn't actually that useful, and explaining further why some exercises are more useful that you'd think. This of course is geared for the everyman.

    Is this something you think you'd enjoy seeing?

    submitted by /u/themanwith2names
    [link] [comments]

    Smart Core by antranik

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 10:01 AM PDT

    I'm hesitating if I should invest in this program please if someone try it tell me how it went and is it really worth it My goals are to achieve dragon flag and ties to bar Thanks in advance :)

    submitted by /u/IRLEkko
    [link] [comments]

    Fastest way to 20 rep sets of pull ups

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 08:49 AM PDT

    Would bodyweighted pullups get me to 20 reps set faster or would weighted pullups get me to 20 reps bodyweighted faster?

    submitted by /u/zealousfuck
    [link] [comments]

    FINALLY GAINED ONE KILOGRAM!

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 11:55 AM PDT

    I'm Zyl, a guy.

    so a bit of background, I'm an ectomorph type of person and an extremely hard gainer. back in 2018, I was at 65 Kg (213 lbs) and 179cm(5'9 ft). I've been doing workout since then and my weight dropped to 52 Kilogram Kg (171 lbs) just under a month in the first time working out. It hits me like a truck to lose that much weight. I lost 12kg(40 lbs) under a month, and it stays like that for two years.

    Keep in mind that back then, I'm already a skinny person, so, losing another 12 kg really made me look like someones whos really sick. My stomach deepens, I'm becoming more sensitive to temperature and my arms getting scrawnier, yet knowing that my weight isn't going up and it stays at 52Kg, I still keep working out(non consistently), the weird thing is that my weight stays but I can tell that the arms getting muscular, so do my chest and my back.

    Until recently, I gained a clean one kilogram, actually really surprised right now. Have been doing cutting and workout while in a calorie deficit, it surely works but it takes a long duration of time. But at least a bit muscular than back then and that's the important part of it.

    So, to every hard gainer, just keep doing what you are doing. It's worth it bro. Youll be stronger, muscular, and surely healthier.

    TLDR; Just wants to say to any hard gainers out there to not be worry, working out in a calorie deficit really does works, keep doing what you doing.

    submitted by /u/DeeZyL
    [link] [comments]

    Rest/Deload Day Frustration

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 11:05 AM PDT

    Does anyone else get frustrated by rest days and deload weeks? I notice how depressed I am these days when I'm not doing something school related or calisthenics related. I want to be more active but I don't have my drivers license yet. :/

    submitted by /u/Yaucrates
    [link] [comments]

    RTO and forearms

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 11:00 AM PDT

    Hi everybody, I would like to ask you something about RTO pushup and RTO in general. I also checked OG paragraphs concerning them but there is no mention about forearms position. Are the forearms allowed to touch the rings during the whole RTO PU movement? And in general should them touch the rings also during RTO support? I always managed to turn the rings out avoiding to touch the straps, but my forearms always touched the rings. Actually I managed to turn them out until 45 degress , but not more than that and I always thought it was a matter of strength and of getting used of pushing out more with time. Now I think I couldn't do it because my forearms were touching and somehow pushing preventing me from turning them more. If so which is the best way to avoid that? Leaning a little bit forward or bending the wrist outward a little bit without leaning? Thank you!

    submitted by /u/andreacocco
    [link] [comments]

    How to modify a weight vest to hold more weight?

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 10:56 AM PDT

    Any good hacks out there for expanding the capacity of a weight vest?

    submitted by /u/coffeeslammer
    [link] [comments]

    Pull-up Bar and Dip Rack

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 10:42 AM PDT

    I'm looking to buy one of these racks but I'm not sure whether I should believe the reviews they get on amazon or not. Does anyone have any recommendations?

    submitted by /u/ithinkerno
    [link] [comments]

    Prerequisites for full planche?

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 10:06 AM PDT

    What movements should I master before moving on to the full planche?

    submitted by /u/NoticedNemo
    [link] [comments]

    Looking for the best way to lose cup sizes

    Posted: 05 Sep 2020 09:07 AM PDT

    What exercises are best used?

    submitted by /u/Shiplett_RPhT
    [link] [comments]

    Transition from Elev. Pike Push-Ups to HSPU Progressions

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 11:59 PM PDT

    Hi all,

    currently I'm working on elevated Pike Push-Ups with to goal to achieve HSPUs. I increased the elevation step by step during the last months.

    Unfortunately, transitioning from elevated Pike Push-Ups to Wall HSPUs still seems like a big step in diffulty for me.

    Is there a good indicator when to switch to Wall HSPUs / negative HSPUs?

    Greetings

    submitted by /u/Humusman24
    [link] [comments]

    Close to impossible (wider version)

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 04:29 PM PDT

    Difficulty of this move?. CTI compared to a maltese cross or the harder Victorian cross

    submitted by /u/DrexKen
    [link] [comments]

    Is it normal for a back lever to be harder than a front lever?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 09:30 PM PDT

    I've read that back levers are generally easier although I can hold a strict 10 sec front lever but can't back lever at all. I don't train either, I just rock climb and decided to try out a back lever for the first time. It was surprising how hard it is. Maybe there's some common mistake I'm making when trying to back lever? It feels like I'm doing it right but just don't have the strength for it.

    submitted by /u/LockManipulator
    [link] [comments]

    Exercises for planche

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 01:35 PM PDT

    I'm looking for some more exercises to spice up my planche training.

    Currently doing adv tuck holds, l sit to adv tuck, tuck planche pushups and leans.

    Are there any other exercises that could help me progress faster?

    submitted by /u/Troll_C
    [link] [comments]

    I use BW fitness and the RR as rehab from years of powerlifting and decades of being a sitting person.

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 12:59 PM PDT

    As many other people these days, I spent my teenage years playing video games, hunched over my desk with a shitty sitting posture. Then I spent my young adult years walking with my head forward, again hunched, just radiating low confidence to anyone who saw me.

    At 24, I picked up powerlifting. The strength, the confidence, the deep dive into the world of fitness, I still consider it to be the best decision I ever made, it became what defines me these days...

    ... but, something simply didn't work for me. For 7 years, I just kept having issues, and developed chronic neck and right shoulder pain. Because of these issues I've never really progressed into any serious numbers on the big lifts. I believe it's simply the combination of my body being screwed by decade(s) of bad posture, weaknesses, and the fact that Powerlifting doesn't exactly give you a good framework for keeping your shoulders healthy, and your pulling and upper back strong.

    Because of covid, I moved away from powerlifting around March, and in April began my BW journey. And one thing I quickly realized, is that BW/calisthenics is all about that pulling and core strength. And since then, I've seen some great improvements in my problem areas. There still are issues, as I'm dumb and always end up pushing through pain, but the gains I got from all the static holds, scapular pulls, ring work, it seems to be precisely addressing all my biggest weaknesses.

    Just in April I attempted my first ever support hold, and had to let go after 5 seconds of ridiculous shaking. That same day I attempted a dip on the rings, and only (barely) managed the negative. Today I did a set of 12,11,10 of solid controlled dips, shit felt great. I'm currently using the SSC principle I picked up from Antranik's website to drill my tuck front lever and crow pose, to slowly progress to a full front lever and planche (if my thick powerlifter thighs ever allow that). Feeling very hyped and positive about calisthenics, and most importantly, having lots of fun.

    submitted by /u/Minomol
    [link] [comments]

    Back levers as horizontal pull substitute?

    Posted: 04 Sep 2020 12:10 PM PDT

    Hi! I found this sub about a month ago and started working through the Move programming, which has been really fun. I was working on Tuck Front Lever Pulls (TFLP) and found myself being a little demotivated with how far I seem to be from achieving actual Front Lever Pulls.

    To try to motivate myself, I took a look at the fantastic progressions spreadsheet to find a nearer goal, and saw that Back Levers are considered easier than Front Levers and are also "horizontal pulls," even though they seem to be more of a static pull. Does that static nature make the BL progression a poor substitute for TFLPs?

    Additional context around my goals: I'm looking for general fitness/injury prevention, and my main sport is climbing, which I do about 1-2 times a week as pull-heavy cross training.

    Thanks!

    submitted by /u/Itakitsu
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment