• Breaking News

    Monday, July 27, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: Motivation Monday for 2020-07-27

    Bodyweight Fitness: Motivation Monday for 2020-07-27


    Motivation Monday for 2020-07-27

    Posted: 26 Jul 2020 11:08 PM PDT

    Welcome to Motivation Monday, your weekly thread for motivational videos, pictures, and stories!

    Anything goes in this thread, as long as it's motivating. Let's get started!


    Feeling inspired and want to pass the time with other badass videos? Check out our collection of YouTube videos through our official channel!

    Join our live chatroom on Discord! You can find the web client by clicking this link, here.

    We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    AMA - July 31st

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 05:58 AM PDT

    Hi everyone! Chris and I are looking forward to the AMA this Friday! We will got live at 11am PST and will try to answer as many questions as we can. Usernames are u/chrismcgreevy and u/trixwoo. I think I'm doing this right? Photo of us —> AMA photo

    Thank you to u/solfire for reaching out and making this happen. :)

    submitted by /u/TrixWoo
    [link] [comments]

    Before and After pics after 4-5 Years of Calisthenics

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 05:03 AM PDT

    Someone requested a picture of before and After from my last post, so I decided to post a few pics

    Unfortunately I didn't take any pics without my shirt when I first started training as I was really unhappy with my body, but I found one in a tank top and posted a few pics after 4-5 years of only bodyweight training!

    Link is here: https://imgur.com/gallery/55W3vA3

    Per guidelines I'll include all relevant info: Sex: male Height: 5'9 Weight: 175lbs (170ish in these After pictures) Age: 23

    Routine: I train daily. Sometimes I take 1 day off, but I constantly "Grease the Groove" with doing planche holds/push ups, front levers, back levers, human flags, handstand and HSPU (all throughout the day). And on 3-4 days per week I train pull ups, dips, and push ups. Usually I just max out for 3 sets of each with 5 minute breaks. Sometimes I also do sets of say 15 pull ups every 5-15 mins, same with dips and push ups. Also do muscle ups occasionally, just max reps for a few sets, 10 mins between sets

    -My main goal has always been to gain strength and learn new movements, I never had a strict diet, just trained hard with a passion everyday! Consistency is the key! -Heres a recent video I put together as well: https://imgur.com/gallery/Npw7BCw

    submitted by /u/Frahebede
    [link] [comments]

    Bodyweight fitness transformed my mind-muscle connection!

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 08:59 AM PDT

    I've struggled with my mind-muscle connection at the gym for ages. No matter how light I set the weight, I always felt the strain everywhere EXCEPT the muscles I was targeting.

    Over lockdown I did a simple Bodyweight routine a few times a week with compounds like thrusts, squats, pushups and pull-ups. As I had no weights I focused on contracting and slowing down the movement.

    Just returned to the gym today and WOW I noticed a huge difference in my muscle contraction. I can actually feel the pump directly where I need! It seems my body has realised how to focus on the muscle. I never considered this would happen but it's really amazing!

    submitted by /u/Forbidden_Froot
    [link] [comments]

    Does anyone else see this?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:55 AM PDT

    I'm a 26 year old female that's been every size you could think of since I was a kid. I'm currently at a medium range weight for me history (Corona virus weight packed on lol) but anyway, sometimes I look into a mirror and see someone who's thin and attractive. Sometimes I see someone disgusting, fat and pale. Is this normal? I get depressed when I dont feel like I look good and I want to fix it.

    submitted by /u/all-of-a-sutton
    [link] [comments]

    How accurate are the standards in strengthlevel.com?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:21 AM PDT

    I was happier with my body before I started working out, How to fix this.

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 06:48 AM PDT

    Hi,

    I am running into a problem and maybe someone can help me with this :)

    Info about myself:
    M/18-20, Working out for 2,5 years, Ectomorph, Hard-Gainer (Should be eating waaay more)

    Now about my problem:

    Before I started working out I never gave a second thought about my body. I was fine with what I looked like. This changed drastically after about 1 year of working out. You would think that after packing on muscles you would feel happier with your body but I think that the opposite happend. I started to see "problem areas" like a bit of fat on my six pack (before working out I never saw my abs and was fine with it) or I check on myself in the mirror and think wow, my biceps is still way too small (It got way bigger) and so on. Don't get me wrong, it's awesome that I got fit and made my happier overall but it killed the way I think about my body. I was happy with my body when I had zero muscles and now that I packed on muscles I feel bad about it. I also realized that I started to worry about my gains. I constantly check on my muscles in the mirror as if they would somehow dissapear in a second, pinch on my fat (every 15min) to see if it got more and so on...

    My questions to you:

    Has someone experienced something similar?
    How did you get over this?
    How did you stop worrying about your gains and actually began to feel happy with what you have achieved?

    "Stop working out" is not an option, working out feels great and got a hobby of mine.

    TL;DR

    Never thought bad about my body and now that I gained muscles I think worse about my body and I am worried that its not enough. "My biceps is too small, too much fat on my belly, etc."

    Thanks and stay healthy.

    submitted by /u/defaltusr
    [link] [comments]

    What type of gloves do those street calisthenics/bar guys use for their workouts?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 12:11 PM PDT

    I noticed these occasionally use gloves for their workouts. I assume the bar is too hot/slipperyor they just allow better grip. Regardless, does anyone know what type they use, or whatever gloves you may use? Some of them look like regular work gloves.

    submitted by /u/Rhatboi
    [link] [comments]

    Any other trans guys in this sub?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 12:02 PM PDT

    Just looking for community. I've been looking into starting a bodyweight routine and would love to see/hear from other trans guys/transmasc people!

    submitted by /u/BeerCat94
    [link] [comments]

    Rapid exhaustion and hyperventilation - normal?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 05:22 AM PDT

    Hey mates,

    I've been working out for about three months now doing the minimalist routine - though I switched lunges for squats.

    Going through the routine, I can manage about 4 circuits. I personally do 10 reps of each workout (squats, pushups (knuckle), inverted rows, shoulder taps).

    About half way through, or even less, I become effectively exhausted. I feel very tired and hyperventilate. I also drink a lot of water.

    Now, im wondering, is this something normal or... should I be this exhausted after a mere x20 squats, pushups, rows and shoulder taps? By the end of the fourth circuit I am effectively dead inside, i'd puke at the slightest movement and totally out of it due to exhaustion.

    submitted by /u/Fusionphazer
    [link] [comments]

    Does anyone have any experience with these home pull-up bars?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 11:05 AM PDT

    I currently have a pull-up bar at my apartment but I can really only do chin ups or a neutral grip on it because it's just not that wide. I saw an ad for these bars on Instagram, and they have a wider version that I could use on my corridor that's much wider, allowing me to do proper pull-ups, and also hang my gym rings at a wider distance as well.

    I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with either this particular model of pull-up bar, or this style in general, I'm wondering if it'd be worth the investment and if it would hold up to hanging gym rings off it. As many of us are, I'm stuck at my apartment for my workouts so I'm trying to figure out what equipment is worth the investment and which is more of a gimmick. If you have any other recommendations for bars that could fit a width of about 46", as that is my widest corridor and the ideal place I'd like to use this, feel free to link that as well.

    submitted by /u/DrRobotronic
    [link] [comments]

    Difference In Ring Pull-up Grip.

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:58 AM PDT

    Hey y'all! So I was doing my ring pull workout the other day and my first exercise is pull-ups. And I was doing it where you twist the rings at the top, but then I wondered what the difference is if I were to switch grips. So I switch to a neutral grip (Palms facing each other) and was able to get two more reps than the other grip. Why is this? Does the grip you use change the muscles being worked? Or atleast the emphasis?

    submitted by /u/Kitchen_Magnet37
    [link] [comments]

    Got my first ever ring muscle up after busting my leg doing a handstand

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 10:51 AM PDT

    The muscle ups: https://imgur.com/a/Sd8QAXu

    I know it's really bad form and that's something I will work on in the coming days.
    Here's the leg story: https://www.reddit.com/r/bodyweightfitness/comments/hufvf1/keep_a_safe_distance_between_you_and_other_things/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x

    submitted by /u/rohit5398
    [link] [comments]

    How do you deal with muscle soreness?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 04:53 AM PDT

    Whenever I workout with a moderate amount of intensity, my muscles feel sore afterwards. Sometimes the pain is so bad that I can't workout for two whole days, just because of all the pain that comes with it.

    How do you deal with this? Do you just ignore it to the point where it stops being a thing? Or do you need to have some sort of recovery session after every workout?

    Any input is appreciated. TIA.

    submitted by /u/MjarjoSAC11
    [link] [comments]

    Is the dip regarded as a vertical push exercise, and if so, why?

    Posted: 27 Jul 2020 02:45 AM PDT

    I have three main long term pushing goals in my training, namely:

    • A solid one arm push-up.
    • Handstand push-up
    • Solid ring dips (and strict muscle up)

    Now when I look at the Recommended Routine I notice that it combines the dip and the push-up. So I'm assuming that the dip is regarded to be a more vertically oriented push whilst the push-up is horizontal. How does this work exactly. Would it be a good idea to train either dips or pike push-ups in one session but not both? That's what I've been doing so far and it seems to work reasonably well.

    submitted by /u/Plastic_Pinocchio
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-07-27

    Posted: 26 Jul 2020 11:08 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Breathing during exercies?

    Posted: 26 Jul 2020 02:16 PM PDT

    So theres alot of differing research that i've read about how to breath properly during exercese (primarily weightlifting and bodyweight work).

    The first is to take a deep breath and completely fill your body with air and push out your stomach to 'brace' for the exercise.

    The second is to contract the core and keep it sucked in during breathing and breath out on the hard part of the exercise.

    Which of these is actually right or are they both right but for different things?

    Thanks.

    submitted by /u/IanCliff65
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment