• Breaking News

    Sunday, May 10, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: Sunday Show Off - Because it's perfectly fine to admit you're also doing bodyweight fitness to do cool tricks in front of people!

    Bodyweight Fitness: Sunday Show Off - Because it's perfectly fine to admit you're also doing bodyweight fitness to do cool tricks in front of people!


    Sunday Show Off - Because it's perfectly fine to admit you're also doing bodyweight fitness to do cool tricks in front of people!

    Posted: 10 May 2020 03:58 AM PDT

    HEY YOU,

    Have you taken any recent pics of those sweet gains, your human flag, or those handstands off the wall you're finally holding?

    Do you have other bodyweight fitness accomplishments you've made and want the world to know about because your friends and family can't appreciate how hard L-sit progressions are??

    This is the thread for you to share all that and inspire others at the same time! I'm talking about another S-S-SU-SUNDAY SHOW OFF!!

    Note that we aren't limiting you to what we're discussing on the FAQ. Show us anything that blew your mind the moment you realized you had it. This may include aspects of: gymnastics, climbing, parkour, weight loss/gain, posture, etc. They are all more than welcome in this thread.


    We also want to remind you that we've been sharing your content on @redditbwf on both Instagram and Twitter. Help us grow our sub's social media in order to reach out to non-Redditors across these other platforms!


    Last week's Show Off thread

    Check out some of the previous Sunday Show Off threads for more inspiration! Archives here.

    As always, many of us are on Discord and would love to meet our BWF brothers and sisters, wherever you're from!


    Want to motivate yourself further? Use our member locator and workout map resource in our sidebar to form a local workout group in your area!

    submitted by /u/Solfire
    [link] [comments]

    Fitting a pull up bar on a narrow, thin doorframe?

    Posted: 10 May 2020 04:14 AM PDT

    Hey everyone. I was looking into getting a multibar, the one you just put on your door frame and you are ready to go without having to install it. However I am worried that my door frame might be too thin. Does anyone have any experience with it? Any other places I could mount it or any way to see whether my door frame will do? What about the damage on the door frame?

    Wanted to get one to grease the groove, or run an armstrong program, and installing a pull up bar is not an option. Thanks in advance!

    submitted by /u/wolfensteirn
    [link] [comments]

    Too much pressure on shoulders and wrists during include push-ups (able to do wall push-ups)

    Posted: 10 May 2020 10:29 AM PDT

    Hey all, during this quarantine period I set the goal of doing a single pushup. The main recommendations on this subreddit are wall pushups and then incline pushups. I started with wall pushups, and my max right now is 18 in a row with good form. I tried to do incline pushups on my kitchen counter (about 1m high), but I was unable to do them, as it put way too much pressure on my shoulders and wrists. Could the pressure on the shoulders and wrist be due to a lack of strength in the other muscles (chest, triceps) and I am compensating by using the other muscles? I am 99% sure I am doing the correct form. So are there any other bodyweight exercises I can do to build strength in my chest, so I am able to do an incline pushup without too much pain? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    submitted by /u/348748540
    [link] [comments]

    Muscle imbalance?

    Posted: 10 May 2020 11:14 AM PDT

    Hey guys, just wanted to ask a quick question here. While doing pushups, I can feel my right arm working and pumping while I can barely feel my left. My right feels stronger after every workout while my left feels the same. Also, I can only feel my right side of the chest working in PU. Can anybody provide an explanation? (It's not been very long since I started bodyweight workout).

    submitted by /u/dogfishthat
    [link] [comments]

    What’s your thoughts on this home PPL routine I made?

    Posted: 10 May 2020 11:48 AM PDT

    What do you think of this home PPL workout with bands?

    Legs/abs = 1. Loaded backpack squats 2. Lunges 3. Banded hamstring curls 4. Machine leg curls 5. Leg extensions 6. W Style leg raises (from athlean x ab workout) 7. Crunches 8. Heel taps 9. Banded ab pull downs

    The main compounds will be done with low reps and high weight whereas the accessory lifts will be in the 3 x 12 sort of range. Cardio done 3/times a week with running and cycling.

    Any criticism is appreciated.

    EDIT - Apologies, I should mention that I have a basic cable multi gym in my setup.

    submitted by /u/TheEnzar
    [link] [comments]

    First ring muscle up - how long did it take you?

    Posted: 10 May 2020 08:59 AM PDT

    Hi,

    I am workingout on rings since november and one of my goals is to do a ring muscle up. At the moment, I can perform 7 false grip chest to bar chin ups with good form (10 with poor form), 8 deep RTO dips (13 regular ring dips) and some transition exercises but I am not even close to performing a muscle up.

    How long did it take you to get there and what were your rep ranges when you finally succeeded?

    submitted by /u/Soutys84
    [link] [comments]

    Low Weight/Reps Plateau

    Posted: 10 May 2020 09:38 AM PDT

    Hi,

    I've ben training calisthenics correctly ( Knowing what I'm actually doing ) for the last 2-3 months. Everything was going great and I'm progressing kinda fast but recently my ring dips ( I don't have parallel bars ) and pull ups ( +5lbs ) have been plateauing a bit. Whenever I do both of them, I'm stuck at 5-3-3-3 and it's been like that for the past two/three weeks. I don't think I should deload because my pushups/rows/leg work have been progressing super fast and I don't feel so tired.

    Stats :

    14M/5'5/110lbs ( Still underweight but i started at 95ish )

    Thanks for the advice !

    submitted by /u/DasAThiccBoi
    [link] [comments]

    How does he do it?

    Posted: 10 May 2020 11:04 AM PDT

    My friend is able to do 14 pull ups and claims he hasn't worked out in months. Meanwhile I struggle to do 1 and he makes fun of me because I have been working out for a month now. How is he able to pull that off?

    submitted by /u/KonLiber
    [link] [comments]

    If I used to undereat and not exercise, is it normal to gain 4 kg in 20 days while starting to bulk and exercising??

    Posted: 10 May 2020 10:35 AM PDT

    Hii! So, I used to eat just to no tbe hungry and I didnt use to do sport. Now, I have informed myself and I'm eating more calories, healthy food, the proteins I need, etc... And I'm starting to do calisthenics (I'm focusing more on the basics like pull ups, push ups, dips, squats, with several variations).

    My main concern is to be gaining a lot of fat, but I actually dont see much more fat than i used to have. Is it posible to be just muscle? I mean, I know i cant avoid gaining fat while bulking, but maybe its mostly muscle... Is this posible? Do you think I shoud cut calories or maybe keep up with it few weeks to see how my body adapts?

    submitted by /u/Engal_
    [link] [comments]

    I am too weak for pike pushup.

    Posted: 10 May 2020 11:54 AM PDT

    I'm strong enough to do 5x5 dips but I can't even do a proper pike pushup (feet on the ground, legs slightly bent for hamstring reasons).

    I have been doing them on my knees instead of my feets but this really sees underwhelming.

    What should I do ?

    submitted by /u/Zvarri__
    [link] [comments]

    Need advices for my pull up technic

    Posted: 10 May 2020 09:38 AM PDT

    Hi,

    I'm pretty new with body weight and after over losing over 20kg i started to switch from weight lifting to bodyweight :) and i'm loving it.

    I've followed everything from RR routine and watch a lot of videos on pull up form.

    Here a short video showing my 3 reps pull up. I know it's not perfect that's why i need your feedback.

    I'm really serious about technic and really want to focus on form other than reps.

    My weak point is from dead hang to active as u can see. The transition is not smooth as i'm still weak.

    i'm kinda obsessed with correct form so i focus a lot of on my core, my glutes and depress my shoulder. As i focus too much on other muscles so i feel like i lose strength when pull my body up.

    Any comments for helping me ?

    Here a link to my video : https://streamable.com/025wph

    Thanks a lot

    submitted by /u/ducky92fr
    [link] [comments]

    Muscle Imbalance?

    Posted: 10 May 2020 12:49 PM PDT

    So , my right arm is 39.8~ cm , and my left arm is 39.6 ~

    Is that considered a big , medium or small muscle imbalance

    pretty much 2 to 3 mm difference.

    also what is considered a muscle imbalance in sizes , is it like 1cm 2 ?

    submitted by /u/Oricon3264
    [link] [comments]

    100 pushups challenge fail

    Posted: 10 May 2020 12:43 PM PDT

    Some time ago I discovered a 100 pushups training plan, and since it seemed quite effortless and not time consuming I opted in @ https://www.100pushups.com/ . Im not doing anything physical beside it.

    Did my benchmark, which was about 32 chest to floor pushups, divided it half and made 4x16 pushups every day for a week. At the last day, made an amrap, which was about 30. OK.

    So I continued this for a week or 2 more, made progress to 34 and started doing 18 pushups for 4 sets throughout day. Did this for a week or two- no increase in max reps.

    Figured, I need to grease the groove a bit, backed down to 12 and made 5 sets per day, and now I have made 7x12 reps per day with pretty great energy, but when I go for all out, im still b-a-r-e-ly able to achieve 30.

    Yes, I admit, that my posture has improved a bit and Im doing them quite slow down and explode up for quite some time, but this plateau is irritating, what could make me improve on my numbers?

    I have taken plenty of rest days as well.

    Right now looks I was better of doing pushups before I opted in for this challenge :)

    submitted by /u/youraveragemilkman
    [link] [comments]

    RR four days a week? Overdoing it?

    Posted: 10 May 2020 12:40 PM PDT

    I do the recommended routine every alternate day, since a two day gap makes me kinda lazy.

    Recently I tried out the Athlean X 22 day ab workout and it seems awesome. So would it be advisable to do that on the rest days of RR?

    submitted by /u/lokatinou
    [link] [comments]

    Getting in shape

    Posted: 10 May 2020 12:35 PM PDT

    So as many people are doing, I'm trying to get into shape with all this extra time. But before I get into the meat of it, I'm going to start with some background.

    Since I was a kid I was a bit chubby, however I started competitive swimming when I was like 9 and I've steadily lost weight. But at the same time I had a pretty bad diet. This led me to have extremely skinny arms and a big beer belly and man boobs. Right now my index finger and my thumb can wrap around my wrist with some extra space, but I can also grab onto a lot of fat. Right now I approximately 12% fat, which may not seem like a lot but it is very disproportionate and all my fat is in my chest and stomach.

    So then I decided to fix this, and in the past month and a half I have been working out and I don't really see any results. I'm somewhat of a beginner when it comes to home workouts so if anybody can correct me, that would be greatly appreciated.

    6 * W-raises(5 each set)

    30 bench dips

    60 bicycle crunches

    30 bench dips

    60 levitational cruches

    30 bench dips

    2* 1 minute planks

    90 pushups

    So far I haven't seen any physical changes, even though I have lost weight. Last time I checked I was around 123, now I am around 118. I am cutting around 700 calories a day, but I still feel like I am gaining fat. I wake up in the morning with a relatively slim figure, and after lunch my belly protrudes. This happens every day, and I don't know what to do.

    So my question is what should I improve. I know that if I weren't quarantined right now, then I could be swimming or running, which can boost my cardio and help with fat loss, but I can't right now. So what exercises or what diet changes should I do to get a better body.

    submitted by /u/Gh0stXXI
    [link] [comments]

    Question about stomach to wall handstand

    Posted: 10 May 2020 11:55 AM PDT

    So im pretty close to being completely stomach to wall in a handstand (like 10cm away) and I was wonderint...

    When leaning on the wall during the handstand, do you guys put your toes on the wall to keep a small distance or completely lay your body and feet on the wall?

    submitted by /u/randomafricanboi
    [link] [comments]

    Gymnastic ring

    Posted: 10 May 2020 10:20 AM PDT

    What brand of gymnastic ring do you guys recommend? One that will last me for a long time

    submitted by /u/wizard_1109
    [link] [comments]

    Warming up for Pushups; a mobility perspective

    Posted: 09 May 2020 03:09 PM PDT

    One of the most impactful ways I've ever been taught something is not by being told 'what to do' but 'how to think about doing it'. So this post is not about recommending exercises xyz, but rather sharing how I think about warming up for pushups. I hope at least one person gets value from this.

    If pushups are an important exercise in your routine then it's important to be aware of how to approach warming up for it, from a joint perspective.

    ---

    I'd say the main joints to consider are; wrists, elbows, scapula

    Wrists

    Can you actively bring your wrists into 90 degree of extension? If you can do that pain free - then great! If not, then you have three options in my eyes.

    1. Perform the exercise on your fists, holding onto a DB or some equipment to keep your wrists neutral.
    2. Find an alternative to pushups for now while working to improve your wrist mobility (comment if you'd like specific tips for improving wrist mobility)
    3. Find an alternative to pushups for now while not trying to improve your wrist mobility

    Scapula

    Can you actively protract and retract your scapula pain free? Do you have body awareness in that part of your upper back? What can you do to have better body control in your scapula?

    1. Film yourself trying to move your scapula through four movements as smoothly as you can (elevate, retract, depress, protract)
    2. Discover for yourself if any of the above movements cause any pain or pinching. Write down any findings and be specific.
    3. If you are pain free then start building up isometric strength in your weak areas. Start off with Level I PAILs for example. Try and create full body tension at 30% intensity. High enough to teach more body awareness, but low enough so that you are not too fatigued to train it often.

    Elbows

    Can your elbows supinate and pronate in both flexion and extension pain free?

    1. For many people elbows won't be a limiting factor, but it's still something we train, so we must consider it.
    2. If your 'push' workout will challenge your shoulder/elbows in different positions, then you should warm up your elbows in different positions. Try doing three elbow CARs (moving your elbow through a full pain free range of motion) but each of them in a slightly different position.

    How do you warm up for pushups or a 'push' day? Let me know !

    submitted by /u/JuhaJuppi
    [link] [comments]

    Looking for portable gym equipement i could install on my house, and take with me if i move out.

    Posted: 10 May 2020 01:43 AM PDT

    So with all this thing of the quarentine, I was thinking that i should arm a gym inside my house so i could work anytime anyday, without excuses. I am not sure, but i might move houses in a couple of months, or later, so being said this, to have in mind on the type of equipement, plus equipements tend to be very expensive, and i cant afford much, but my mom was going to give me a gift, so i thought what better thing than some portable or not so portable gym equipement.

    So having this in mind, what affordable portable and semiportable equipement do you recomend me? and what other easy set up things i could install on my house?

    example, having 1 or 2 pulleys were i could add weight and which could have a wide range of motion could give me quite a variety of workouts, having a mobile bench with a squat bar, could do the same, and such.

    Is there some things that i should pay extra attention to, example avoid certain types of machines, or brands, or go for certain machines, or this is the essentials, example some calestenics/ gymnastics equipement could give me an overall body workout and such. For instance there is a portable bycicle that could fit inside a bag, and having such equipment , and so on.

    thanks for taking your time.

    submitted by /u/harunamika
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-05-10

    Posted: 09 May 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    What I Think about Pullups and How To Do Them!

    Posted: 10 May 2020 10:15 AM PDT

    They are necessary, and a mark of pride and strength. It is a lot easier than you'd expect, and I'll tell you what I think about pull-ups and how to do them

    Pullups are a matter of survival, if you were running away from a terrorist camp where you were just held hostage and the only way out was to pull yourself up over a wall. And you COULDNT?

    That would be a little embarrassing wouldn't it.

    If you are hearing me now and thinking, shit, that's me, I can't do a pullup

    Then you need to get a grip. Ba dum tsss

    But in all seriousness, it is a good thing to be able to do, and isn't as hard as you think, it just requires a tiny bit of a word you may have heard of. DEDICATION.

    I will explain a fool proof method on how to get from 0 to 1, and then when you get to 1, you can do anything.

    You know a man who can bang out the pull-ups is a man with strength, consistency and determination.

    It is important that our back and arms can lift our weight for situations where we may need it, there is a reason that you are required to be able to do them for most military and police forces.

    There are many kinds of pullups.

    Chin ups are underhand and are a lot heavier on the biceps, do them every single day and you're going to have some juicy guns.

    Over hand is the real pull-up, it requires more lat activation and your forearms play a larger part, plus they look better.

    You can do a normal pullup, wide grip or narrow grip. All will be good enough as long as youre doing them.

    There's a man you've probably have never heard of, David Goggins.

    This tank of a human was 300lbs, lost 160lbs in 3 months to go through navy seal training, did it 3 fucking times, ran on broken legs, became a seal, did that for many years, won medals for bravery, became a legend, ran 200 mile marathons.

    He is a beast, inhuman, and an absolute legend

    But this guy also at one point held the 24-hour pullup world record.

    He did 4 THOUSAND AND 30 Pullups in 24 hours…… 4 THOUSAND.

    You don't want to mess with the Goggins because if he's going to do something you bet your arse he's going to fucking destroy it.

    As easy as he makes it look, pull-ups are hard, especially for the common man. If you haven't tried it ever in your life; chances are you probably can't do one.

    But that means it's time to do so.

    Like I mentioned before, here is my foolproof method.

    If you are severely overweight you may want to think about losing some, it's going to be a lot easier to pullup a body that doesn't weigh so much.

    But you can still make a start, get a pullup bar, stick it in your doorway and just hang.

    Just hang there for about a minute, if you can. This is going to build up your tendon strength and is really good for you, your shoulders and back will love you for it.

    I suggest if you want to work up to a pullup you start by doing some eccentric ones.

    I get you can't physically pull yourself up yet, but you can jump up to the bar and use the little strength you have left to slowly lower yourself down.

    Our muscles fibers tear the most during the eccentric part of the lift, when they are under tension and stretched, through doing this you will slowly start to build strength.

    I then suggest after doing this for a while, you ever so lightly place your toes on the floor or get an elastic band and just give it a go with a little support, you should be able to bang one out now.

    When you get good enough and remove any support and can do one. You've fucking made it, well done.

    Now it's easy.

    Just do that one, whenever you can, wherever you can.

    Get the consistency in, within a couple days you will be able to do 2, then 3, then 4 and then you're laughing.

    You can now do pullups.

    Be proud of yourself.

    The next step is weighted pull-ups for the big mother-truckers in the gym that want to show off.

    You could also do a muscle up, which is scientifically impossible, I can't do it and I'm convinced everyone I've ever seen do it is on a wire rig and playing me for a fool.

    Other fools in life are people who believe this 'kipping' rubbish is a pullup… this is not.

    You should be kipping this shit out of my gym.

    The pull up is a great weapon to have in your arsenal. Acquire it, use it.

    Just remember

    Red bull doesn't give you wings, pull-ups do.

    submitted by /u/TheHolyKey7
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment