• Breaking News

    Wednesday, March 25, 2020

    Weight loss: I tried on shorts from last summer and COULDN'T BELIEVE HOW BIG THEY ARE OUT OF A SUDDEN!!!! WTF!!!!

    Weight loss: I tried on shorts from last summer and COULDN'T BELIEVE HOW BIG THEY ARE OUT OF A SUDDEN!!!! WTF!!!!


    I tried on shorts from last summer and COULDN'T BELIEVE HOW BIG THEY ARE OUT OF A SUDDEN!!!! WTF!!!!

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 09:39 AM PDT

    picture of me in my now too big shorts

    (i was cleaning + tidying out so ignore the mess in the background lol)
    So I never took "before" pictures, mainly because I was so ashamed I even did gain all this weight (24 pounds and I'm a tiny woman so I really was rather chubby out of a sudden) - half a year ago, I started attempting to lose those 24 pounds again.

    I think I'm halfway there (haven't weighed myself in a while so I'm not sure), but trying on those shorts I bought for my chubby self last summer was a SHOCK today! I NEVER thought they would be THIS big by now!!! I even tried wearing them with a belt because I really liked them last summer but it's just obvious that I'm wearing THE WRONG SIZE!

    This is so crazy but so cool!!Also: Mind you, I was SOOO inconsistent with my calorie limit! If you look at the monthly view of my calorie counting app - it's a mess! About half of the month I went over the limit, the other half was fine.

    So, guess that's a reminder to all of you that even if you're inconsistent, you still will lose weight in the long run (at least I did?!).

    Thanks for reading and stay safe everyone :)

    submitted by /u/acertaincalmnes1507
    [link] [comments]

    How I beat the evening munchies - watching shows about fat people losing weight when I get hungry

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 07:06 PM PDT

    Nothing more motivating to keep you from going looking for a snack than watching someone else stuff their face/lose weight. You tube is packed with them

    Super size/super skinny

    Secret eaters (my favorite)

    Too fat to toddle

    Fast food babies

    Fat families

    Fat doctor

    Big ward

    My big fat diet show

    Eat well for less

    Eat yourself skinny is pretty damn cringeworthy with the naturopathic stuff, and their diet advice is pretty weird.

    And this is the bit where you type extra so it will post, but your time is more valuable than reading some shit about how my estranged coworker used to make this recipe and I had the window open and a warm breeze blew across the kitchen as I cooked, blah blah blah. And this is the bit where you type extra so it will post, but your time is more valuable than reading some shit about how my grandma used to make this recipe and I had the window open and a cold breeze blew across the kitchen as I cooked, blah blah blah. And this is the bit where you type extra so it will post, but your time is more valuable than reading some shit about how my autnie used to make this recipe and I had the window open and a fart blew across the kitchen as I cooked, blah blah blah.

    submitted by /u/Ninotchk
    [link] [comments]

    To everyone having trouble with extra eating because they’re stuck inside -

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 09:33 AM PDT

    I've seen lots of people blaming anxiety, boredom, stress, etc. but for just a second, take a step back and remember how hard the first few weeks of a new diet were, when you were still at work, running errands, driving kids everywhere. It was hard then because it was a CHANGE in your daily patterns.

    This is just another change in pattern. It's going to be hard at first, probably very hard - but don't let your mind justify "cheats" or getting off track, and don't allow yourself all the wiggle room in the world. Keep tracking, keep weighing, keep on keepin' on. Eventually, you'll get used to this new pattern and soon enough everyone will be complaining about how many office snacks people are bringing in 🖤

    STAY STRONG EVERYONE! YOU'VE GOT THIS!

    I also want to add that I am in no way saying this isn't a stressful time or that people don't have anxiety - it IS stressful, but don't let that stress throw you off the train tracks. This is a great time to teach kids how to eat healthy, cook with them, or even just teaching yourself a new healthy recipe if you don't have kids. Try a free at home workout and fall out of new yoga poses (did that!). Cope to this change with positivity, not negativity, and you will be okay 🖤

    submitted by /u/dunielle
    [link] [comments]

    Terrified about coronavirus due to obesity.

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 10:30 AM PDT

    A woman in her 30s in my community recently died of coronavirus. The media reported that she had no pre-existing conditions.

    However, when they released a photo of her, it was apparent she was obese.

    Then the floodgates opened and everyone was talking about how OF COURSE obesity is a pre-existing condition. How obesity is a choice. How young "normal" people still don't need to be worried.

    Obviously, this was quite upsetting. I mean, it's already disgusting that people don't care if people with pre-existing conditions die. But I've struggled with weight my entire life. I've been making slow progress. VERY slow, with a lot of setbacks. I'm currently at a BMI of 34. I just don't want this thing to knock me out before I have a chance to win this fight against obesity. I'm trying to keep as healthy as I can but it's still very upsetting and scary.

    Does anyone have any thoughts? Thanks very much!

    submitted by /u/IndependentCell7
    [link] [comments]

    I gained 50lbs my freshman year of college

    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 12:19 AM PDT

    I am a 6'1" 19 year old male who is currently a sophomore in college and I have gained way too much weight since I started in August 2018. I had always been skinny with little to no body fat. I played football and baseball throughout high school and was very lean and toned up until college.

    Throughout my freshman year I kept getting bigger and was in denial about how big I was getting. I started college at a slim 150, and I didn't weigh myself again until December right before winter break. I had put on 20lbs of fat, I was 170lbs. None of my jeans fit me at that point and I only wore sweatpants. Over winter break, I put on 10lbs, starting second semester 30lbs heavier than I was in August. By the end of the school year in May I weighed 200lbs.

    It scared me that I put on weight like that, why did I gain so fast? I have bright stretch marks everywhere, and I've outgrown everything. This past summer I gained 20lbs, and this year alone I've put on 30lbs. Its hard for me to control my eating, I live in an apartment at school on my own so I can eat whenever I please.

    I need help, any advice is appreciated. I now weigh 250lbs, a full 100lbs heavier than I was when I started college in 2018. Why did I gain so fast?

    submitted by /u/InterestingBiscotti4
    [link] [comments]

    Starting my weight loss journey and trying to heal from emotional pain

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 06:51 PM PDT

    I wrote this post to try and help/encourage anyone out there who can relate.

    This is me:

    https://i.imgur.com/nLT8Vb6.png

    I'm 5'7"/170 cm and 185 lbs. Long story short, I have become quite overweight mainly due to taking antidepressant and mood stabilising medication for the past six years. (Not all psychiatric medication has this as a side-effect but one of the two meds I took did.) I can't really see a massive difference mood-wise between now versus when I was younger but the change in my weight is so apparent; and it repulses me.

    I am aware I don't look morbidly obese, but my weight simply makes me so sad; and not just my weight. It's the sheer emotional turmoil, and self-harming behaviours that contributed to it. I think of overindulging in food (not nourishing your body, that's different) as a form of self-harm that many people overlook. That I overlooked, but knew deep down I was only doing it to distract from the mental hunger I felt for acceptance, love and emotional nurturing.

    I have deprived myself of health and long-term happiness by overindulging in food. That is exactly what I mean when I say it's a form of self-harm. I lied to myself, but of course I knew the negative consequences it would have. I just believed I deserved them.

    I was crying earlier on scrolling through r/progresspics, because I felt so inspired and touched by stories of people who I imagine have experienced similar things to me. I need to prioritise my mental health, and I hope in doing so, I'll find things like intuitive eating and healthy eating easier.

    Of course my intention is to lose fat, but I don't want to replace one bad habit (overindulging) with another (restricting too much) because I know I have a tendency to try and self-destruct.

    Idk if anyone read the full post but if you did, I would like to add that I am here for you and hope you conjure your energy to love yourself, not to harm yourself. If for no other reason, because it's the least you deserve.

    submitted by /u/gainingme
    [link] [comments]

    Plateau Breaking Accountability Post

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 11:38 PM PDT

    So, I have been sailing along nicely, losing weight steadily and sticking to my routine, but then...

    I haven't lost any weight for almost two weeks now, and while it's still early to freak out, I have decided to take measures to boost me through this.

    Current weight: 62.8kg

    My earlier routine was 1200~ calories a day (some days a bit more, some days a bit less) with exercise mostly being walking to most places and running maybe once a week. I have been taking my measures, and while there are still some improvements there, they have slowed down drastically. Belly fat (my most problematic area) hasn't gone down in weeks.

    After scavenging the internet for some tips, I have formed a new routine to try and help me get through this. Here goes.

    -1400-1500 calories daily (My body might have adapted to a lower calorie intake)

    -Intermittent fasting. 16:8-18:6 from 6pm until 10-12pm

    -Drink coffee in the morning and green tea in the evening

    -Do workouts from youtube daily. Do my usual pokemon Go route (5~k steps. Also practice social distancing! And carry hand sanitizer with you.) Run when having a break from youtube workouts (and weather is pretty.) Try adding weight training with dumbells 2-3 times a week (I've been extremely lazy on this because after the 30minute intense youtube workout I just want to shower and lay down.)

    -Drink enough water! 2-3 liters a day with 1 liter coming in while fasting in the morning.

    -Try not to stress. There's a lot happening right now and times are rough, but we'll get through this.

    -Eat more protein. I have seriously been slacking off on this, so I'll have to get atleast 25% of my daily intake from protein.

    -Less carbs. I've done keto with a bit of success but it's too restictive for me, but desperate times call for desperate measures. I'll reduce it to 50-100 grams per day to go easy on myself for now.

    That's about it. I'll try to update in a month how this worked out with some possible insights on what seemed to help the most. Take it easy, this isn't a race. I'll get there when I get there. Love you all and good luck with your weight loss journey.

    submitted by /u/fitnesstuff
    [link] [comments]

    Finally! Better mood equals better me!

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 07:54 PM PDT

    I am 5'4" and weighed 160lbs the last things i posted here. I had been trying to lose weight for three years and other than a momentary fluctuation down to 150 while killing myself in grad school I've been unsuccessful.

    I finally hit a point where i realized i literally couldn't eat less than i was. I had plataeud eating 1200 calories a day and though i was very fit i still had a lot of extra weight.

    I moved across the country for a great job that i love, and almost immediately had a brand new severely traumatic thing happen. It was bad, and i don't want to elaborate on it, but it culminated in my anxiety and depression skyrocketing. I finally managed to get to a psychiatrist who started me on Zoloft and it was life changing.

    There have been a lot of weird side-effects, i completely lost my appetite for about a month which, with my decision prior to increase my activity [i was already training for a triathlon, but i doubled down on my swimming] helped me drop about 15 pounds.

    As my appetite came back and i acclimated to the zoloft, my ability to focus and deal with things increased to what i think is even better than it was before the trauma happened. I still have a few weird things going on, the anxiety is still there, and the current quarantine is making it hard to be active. But the zoloft has helped immensely, i don't have the urge to binge nearly as much and with continued calorie counting, excercise, and just feeling better i lost another 5 pounds.

    Im now happily fluctuating between 138-143lbs and i have started being able to see my abs again. I just bought an excercise bike since im working from home and its hard to bicycle in my neighborhood, and I'm feeling very good about my job, my life, and very grateful for all the security i have right now.

    Im not quite done losing weight but now that I've lost the majority of what i needed its easier to excercise, to feel good about myself, and realize that the jeans that previously looked great on me are now very loose and it's almost time for me to buy new ones.

    I've been creeping on this sub for a while and i can't tell you how helpful and inspiring people are here. The antidepressants were what i needed to feel better and really dedicate myself to being healthier and if anyone else is feeling stuck or like things outside of their control are stopping them from succeeding, i encourage you to ask for whatever help it is that you need, whether its antidepressants, a personal trainer, a new meal plan, or just some personal time to relax and recover from life. You can do it. Im cheering you on!

    submitted by /u/thequarkcollective
    [link] [comments]

    Why do I crave food that makes me feel like crap?

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 07:25 PM PDT

    So I am getting back on the diet wagon after having fallen off for some time. For about 3 day before yesterday, I ate super clean. Made great salads at home. Ate my daily servings of veggies and proteins. Ate minimally processed foods and didn't eat out once. Those few days I felt great; my stomach was flatter, I was able to go to the bathroom normally (tmi, sorry), I felt satisfied, and wasn't craving bad foods too much. Then yesterday I really wanted chick fil a. The state where I live has issued a shelter in place mandate starting tonight and I just wanted one last chicken sandwich before it was frowned upon to leave the house. I didn't have the fries or drink to make sure I was within my calorie goal for the day. It was okay but I didn't feel satisfied after. The idea of it was much better in my head and my homemade food was definitely better. And today I feel like crap. I'm tired, somewhat depressed, can't go to the bathroom (sorry, again) etc. however, I am freaking CRAVING bad foods. I want pizza and Panda Express and ice cream and cookies. And even though I ate clean and have my protein and veggies, I'm not satisfied. I am proud of myself and have not indulged in my cravings (except 2 oreos which fit in my calorie limit). But why do I still crave these things when I know they just make me feel horrible? When I know I won't be satisfied? What addictive products are added so that we keep coming back for more? Why do these foods make my stomach a bottomless pit? I just want to stop being addicted to such bad crap!

    submitted by /u/AnonymousRakoon
    [link] [comments]

    24-Hour Pledge - Wednesday, 25 March 2020 - The Plan for Today!

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 09:07 PM PDT

    Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!

    This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track.

    Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing

    > I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me?

    Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution.

    Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message.


    On reddit, your vote means, "I found this interesting" (...read more about voting on reddit)

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Does it ever get easier?

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 12:29 PM PDT

    I'm a 20 year old woman. I've always loved food and been slightly overweight/chubby, but I maintained my weight pretty well. Until I was 17 or so, I can't remember having any problems to stay away from unhealthy food. I could eat a normal amount of candy/snacks/unhealthy things on Fridays and Saturdays and be satisfied and not touch it during the weekdays. But the last 2-3 years, I have progressively and slowly been getting worse. This autumn it got to the point where I would overeat on unhealthy foods daily (I'm still doing it). Most of the time during this period I ate healthy and normal portion sizes for my main meals, the problem was that I overate between lunch and dinner and/or before I went to bed. I gained about 11 pounds in a couple months.

    Now I really want to lose at least the weight that I gained, and then I wanna be able to maintain it. I need a new lifestyle, because I know that this lifestyle can become dangerous if I keep it up.

    There are a few problems though:

    I've never been able to follow a diet for more than a week. No, I'm not kidding. Not even when I was younger and didn't have "food problems". I wouldn't gain weight, but after a week or so I started eating normally again because it's too much work.

    The past 9 months or so I've been having the same problem but with overeating on unhealthy sweets and snacks. Even if I've tried to stop overeating many times, I always give up about 4 days in. And if I try to give me a "day off" where I eat unhealthy but in moderation, I always end up eating way too much instead.

    I almost feel "addicted" to eating certain things. On days where I don't eat them, I'm thinking about them so often. Not eating them makes me feel super bored and empty. It's like eating certain foods is what makes me happy (tragic, I know).

    If I lived alone I would at least throw the "worst" food away and refrain from buying it, but I live with my whole family and I can't force them to not buy things just because I end up overeating all the time.

    I really want a healthier lifestyle. But will it be like this forever? Will every single day be me thinking about certain foods and actively having to fight the urge to eat them? Will I ever be able to eat unhealthy food in moderation again? Will it get easier and come a day where this feels like the new normal to me?

    submitted by /u/Dense-Sheepherder
    [link] [comments]

    To help move your body in a socially responsible way....

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 10:56 AM PDT

    Might I recommend the FitOn app? I've been very much enjoying it since beginning my practice of social distancing. All of the workouts are free and there's a wide variety, from slower strength-focused pilates and barre to high intensity kickboxing or dancing. The exercises are sortable by length of time, instensity, muscle group, instructor, and type of workout. If you're feeling particularly adventurous you can do a strength followed by a cardio for a good 45 minutes if sweat!

    You need a mat(or a towel) and some weights, but they're not essential (I have been improvising some with grocery bags filled with full peanut butter jars or soup cans).

    It also has a good repertoire of stretching and yoga, so even if you feel drained or too tired to workout, you can still give your muscles the TLC they deserve. Stay safe friends!

    submitted by /u/scared_but_excited
    [link] [comments]

    Gained some weight - feel like utter crap...

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 02:19 AM PDT

    30F here. I've recently gained what I will call a significant amount of weight. And I can really physically feel it now and i just feel gross. I few awful about myself.

    Started from Christmas holiday break every so slightly crept up. But now I have been emotionally eating and the lack of exercise (also corona related) has made me jump up on the scales. I feel like a pudgy loser. It's really become apparent now and it's hit me like a tonne of bricks.

    More a vent than anything and any support would be nice. I need to get motivated and back on good diet and exercise.

    Day 2. Staying accountable.

    Planning a 12-week diet and exercise "sprint" back towards my goal/pre-Xmas weight....

    Sending love to those in a similar boat.

    submitted by /u/iskra099
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: March 25th, 2020

    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 12:43 AM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, march 25th is here!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    Caloric restriction's effect on lymphocytes (white blood cells) may be detrimental. We need our immune system these days. Should we bump up to maintenance for a while?

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 08:40 PM PDT

    ***I AM NOT A DOCTOR BUT I FOUND THESE STUDIES***

    Calorie restriction induces reversible lymphopenia and lymphoid organ atrophy due to cell redistribution.

    Special attention to the weight-control strategies employed by Olympic athletes striving for leanness is required.

    Changes of mucosal immunity and antioxidation activity in elite male Taiwanese taekwondo athletes associated with intensive training and rapid weight loss.

    Lymphocytopenia is the condition of having an abnormally low level of lymphocytes in the blood. Lymphocytes are a white blood cell with important functions in the immune system. It is also called lymphopenia.

    Again, I'm not an expert and I cannot speak for the validity of these sources, but if they are accurate caloric restriction diets may be compromising our immune systems at a bad time. I would like to get a discussion going about this, hopefully with some people more qualified.

    submitted by /u/Mo0m0os
    [link] [comments]

    Healthy lifestyle changes making me... not so healthy?

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 03:18 PM PDT

    Disclaimer: I am in no way trying to glorify unhealthy habits or anything of that sort. I myself am genuinely puzzled by what I am experiencing and would just like to perhaps gain an insight into what could be causing it, that's all.

    Alright, through the pursuit of losing weight, I am sure that many of you have changed their diets quite considerably and I'm sure many have opted to eat not only smaller amounts, but also healthier stuff. For over three months until recently, I have tried the same, I changed my lifestyle to contain healthier foods, for example unsweetend oatmeal instead of sugary cereal, lots of veggies, less chocolate and just general mindfulness when it comes to what I put into my body.

    Now that I had to return back to my home country due to this stupid virus, my eating habits have reverted back to what they used to be for most of my life which means, lots of sugar, chocolate, eating late at night and mostly ready to eat food such as ramen noodles, frozen pizzas and so on.

    I expected to gain quite a considerable amount of weight, but was ready to accept it because well, times are tough enough right now. However, quite the opposite has happened.

    After a few days, I had gained about a pound and then just stayed at that weight consistently until a few days ago when I lost that pound again and have now been maintaining at that lower weight. Other than that, my IBS has let up and gotten much less severe, I feel a lot more energized and a lot less hungry over all. I sleep a lot better and even though I am about to get my period, my mood has been a lot more stable than it has been over the last few months of eating healthier.

    Could it be that my body is just used to eating this way since it's how I've been raised all my life up until a few months ago? Is that a thing that can happen?

    I am really confused as to what could be causing this reaction in my body, even my skin is clearer which I am equally as surprised about. Has anyone experienced similar issues when they changed their diet? I know that there's a certain adjustment period that the body usually has to go through, but since I've been eating healthier for over three months, I think that should be enough time for my body to have adjusted?

    Thank you for reading through this, I wish you all the best, don't let this time beat you down!

    submitted by /u/ToughCookie00
    [link] [comments]

    Motivation with an unhealthy partner?

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 07:52 PM PDT

    First time poster here, hello everyone! My partner and I were doing so good, working out together and cheering each other on, until the coronavirus shut everything down. Now that he can't go to the gym he's lost all motivation (I still try and go on walks but he hates the heat) and it seems no matter how hard I try I always end up giving in to our cravings. I was good all day today, only 500 calories by 3pm but then we ordered dinner. We did last night too. It's not always him, sometimes it's me too because I see how miserable he is eating healthy when he's not making as much progress so I offer food to make him happy.

    It's a really bad situation for the both of us, has anyone been through something similar?? Any advice is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

    submitted by /u/rebeccalavada
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 24

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 01:02 PM PDT

    Hello losers!

    I hope you're well!

    Weight by end of month (200 lbs, preferably trend weight): 207.2 in this morning.

    Stay within calorie range (1500 ish): Dinner is pre logged, looking forward to tasty noms. 13/21 days. 3/2-4 maintenance days.

    Exercise 5 days a week: 30 minute walk at lunch & will do swings or HIIT tonight. 21/23 days.

    Self-care time (journaling, working on love journals, beauty treatments, drawing, fancy coffee out no more than 3 times a week 11/13): Gonna have the most lovely shower ever tonight & get me to bed early. Anxiety level is better today & I'ma keep chasing it.

    Try a new recipe once a week: Peanut butter hummus, a free form chicken noodle soup, avocado hummus (I forgot about that one!), 15 bean soup & roasted chick peas made all the way from dry beans! 5/4 weeks.

    50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: I got some good reading time in, gonna aim for doubling this goal! 60/50 pages.

    Drawing prompt every day: Gonna hit it up before bed. 8/24 days.

    Be more mindful & express gratitude, avoid the hedonic treadmill: I'm grateful that I got to submit a work order & have someone else deal with why the fuck there was standing water in the kitchen last night. Renting isn't always fun except when it really is.

    How you all doing?

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    When to stop exercising?

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 06:44 PM PDT

    Hi, I have once again started focusing on being healthy. I'm right at 400 lbs which is the highest I've ever been and I'm getting old enough (almost 30) where I'm starting to really feel the effects.

    I have a long way to go with normalizing my food intake so while I'm trying to sort that out I figured I'll start exercising again. The problem is, when I start exercising it feels really difficult, but after a while I get a surge of adrenaline and I feel like I can go forever.

    Almost a week ago I rode the adrenaline way too far. When I finally stopped I started hyperventilating to the point I felt I was going to feint. The next day I felt the greatest I've felt in a long time but the days after that I was so sore i could barely move. I've had the last few days off now which I used to recover and now I'm at the point I can start exercising again but I obviously don't want the same thing to happen.

    Does anyone else get like this or have clearer stopping points for exercising?

    submitted by /u/lilith02
    [link] [comments]

    I can't do this anymore. I am weak-minded

    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 01:53 AM PDT

    Hello people of r/loseit. I just want to share my story and would appreciate any advice anyone would give.

    I am 163cm/5'3" tall, and started my nth weightloss journey on January 2020 weighing 89.9kg/196lb, and has reached 75.8kg/165lb three days ago. It's then when I relapsed. I got the news that I failed some classes, and some bad news from family, plus I got my period and its accompanying cramps. I felt like I was crumbling, so I went back to the only thing I knew would make me feel better: food.

    I am ashamed to say this; I've never been as happy this whole year as I've been those 3 days. A few weeks ago, I started feeling week and tired all the time, so I decided to start counting calories even though it triggered my binges due to past diets. I decided to consume between 1200-1300kcal a day, as I am not very active during the day (I only study, do chores and walk 10000 steps a day, but I try to work out from time to time, like jumping rope or on the elliptical). But it didn't help my physical state, and my mental state got even worse. Because of the accumulation of stress that happened three days ago, I just couldn't resist and threw the work of a whole month down the trash.

    I am addicted and emotionally attached to food. I can't stop eating, and I never feel full. My stomach would hurt from the amount of food I ate, but I never felt full. I would eat all day, and still feel like I ate nothing. My stomach would even grumble 5 minutes after I ate. I am so ashamed of my self. I literally gained 3.4kg/6.6lb in 3 days, but during those three days i never felt tired, I never felt like crying, I never felt irate and I never lost my cool like the past 3 months.

    My parents can in no way afford to take me to a psychiatrist. My mom's only advice is to "eat whatever you want but in moderation". It is working with my sister who is losing weight with no struggle, but she knows fully that I can't control my eating; once I start, I never stop. My dad on the other hand is pushing my sister and I to lose weight and be in a normal BMI, even though he knows that I've been struggling with weight my whole life (I have been underweight and ill from 0 to 8, and I've been overweight since I recovered from my unknown problem from 8 to 19, which is my current age) and have been ridiculed for my weight my whole life, to the point that any remark on my weight, good or bad, would affect me negatively.

    I've been spewing excuses all this post, pathetic I know, but this is literally what goes in my mind.

    Any piece of advice would be much appreciated. I just want to be healthy and happy, I don't want to sacrifice one of the two.

    Thank you for reading

    submitted by /u/Doukaim
    [link] [comments]

    Weigh-In Wednesday (Share Your Numbers)

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 10:01 PM PDT

    Share Your Numbers!!!

    Welcome back to another week of weigh-in Wednesday. Share your +/- change from last Wednesday to this Wednesday, and a short summary of your week. Sometimes we get lost in the day to day ups and downs and it's good to see our week over week changes. Time to celebrate losses and lift each other up during possible failures. This is not a timed event or contest, feel free to jump in any time.

    This post was made a staple of r/loseit by u/Kahne_Fan and our thanks goes to him for providing a service that so many find helpful.

    Past Weigh-In Wednesdays

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Trying to go on a healthier diet, live with people who are anti-diet. Suggestions?

    Posted: 24 Mar 2020 07:46 PM PDT

    Gonna just start by saying im a teenager, and my parents are quite anti-diet (despite them not liking the way they look). Trying to start building muscle mass (ive been weightlifting) but i wanna get a better diet (my parents eat a lot of sugar, and I generally only eat sugar/snacks with them, but that means I'm still pretty much eating candy/chips/other stuff daily. They also don't eat a lotta vegetables, and I rly wanna go vegetarian). Other then wanting to be vegetarian (and knowing that's not gonna happen), I wanna cut out sugar completely/and reduce carbs, because I did a week-long sugar detox a week ago and felt pretty great, but my parents seem to think any type of diets are fake/dumb and any time i do diet type stuff it's bad and im unhealthy or no fun. They always notice if I don't take any snacks when they eat them, and they get annoyed. And with the whole quarantine thing going on, i eat more meals with them. So, basically, is there anything I can do? Thank you <3

    submitted by /u/josephetta
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Wednesday, 25 March 2020: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 25 Mar 2020 01:10 AM PDT

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    • Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?
    • Did you log for an entire week? or year?
    • Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?
    • Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!


    On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often!


    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment