• Breaking News

    Sunday, March 29, 2020

    Weight loss: BMI and coronavirus and honesty

    Weight loss: BMI and coronavirus and honesty


    BMI and coronavirus and honesty

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 01:07 PM PDT

    I wish people were honest about things. There was a 37 year old city sanitation worker who died of Covid-19 in my area. The news keeps saying that he had an underlying condition of heart disease. The photos of him (after you do some digging) show that he was morbidly obese. But they never mention that as a risk factor even though a BMI of 40 or over is classed as high risk. I feel like it would be a serious wake up call if they were just honest. I know it's a motivation for me. Last year I had a BMI of 40 and now it's 34.7. I think about the deadly consequences if I let quarantine mean eating out of boredom.

    submitted by /u/MuslimVeganArtistIA
    [link] [comments]

    Calories in, calories out is not a good response when someone asks how you lost the weight.

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 02:58 PM PDT

    I see this on here a lot when people are talking about their friends and family asking them how they lost so much weight. Most people seem to find this a ludicrous question, since the answer is so obvious. It's easy, just calories in and calories out.

    The vast majority* people are aware of the fundamental fact that you need to eat less to lose weight. Even if they are not necessarily familiar with the mantra calories in and calories out, they understand the basics of it. When someone asks you how you lost weight, what they are really asking is how you managed to change and maintain behaviors over time that allowed calories in, calories out to work for you.

    *I'm aware that there are exceptions to this, but they are few and far between and often speak more to denial stemming from disordered eating than misinformation.

    So sure, talk about calories in and out, but talk about it in the context of how you developed the willpower to track your food. Did you change how you spoke to yourself? Did you use an app? Do you have recipes you can share? Did you start seeing a therapist and/or a trainer? Did you let yourself have cheat days? Do you meal plan? How do you prevent meal planning from becoming overwhelming? Do you input your food at the beginning of the day or as you eat it? More than any of this too, I think, it's being honest and upfront about how you came to change your way of thinking and develop persistence.

    Calories in and out is the answer for weight loss. But it's not the solution. Help people to change their behaviors and their mindsets. That's the real answer to weight loss. And that's what people are asking you when they ask you how you lost weight.

    submitted by /u/SongRiverFlow
    [link] [comments]

    The Buddha's weight loss advice

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 04:29 AM PDT

    Once when the Buddha was living at Savatthi, King Pasenadi of Kosala ate a whole bucketful of food, and then approached the Buddha, engorged and panting, and sat down to one side. The Buddha, discerning that King Pasenadi was engorged and panting, took the occasion to utter this verse:

    When a person is constantly mindful, And knows when enough food has been taken, All their afflictions become more slender — They age more gradually, protecting their lives.

    Now at that time the brahman youth Sudassana was standing nearby, and King Pasenadi of Kosala addressed him: "Come now, my dear Sudassana, and having thoroughly mastered this verse in the presence of the Buddha, recite it whenever food is brought to me. And I will set up for you a permanent offering of a hundred kahaapanas every day." "So be it, your majesty," the brahman youth Sudassana replied to the king.

    Then King Pasenadi of Kosala gradually settled down to [eating] no more than a cup-full of rice. At a later time, when his body had become quite slim, King Pasenadi stroked his limbs with his hand and took the occasion to utter this utterance:

    Indeed the Buddha has shown me Compassion in two different ways: For my welfare right here and now, and also for in the future.

    Donapaka Sutta: King Pasenadi Goes on a Diet

    submitted by /u/Gutei_Isshi
    [link] [comments]

    My mental health is SO much better without binge eating

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 09:28 PM PDT

    Since I was 12, I've struggled with binge eating disorder on and off. These last three years have been particularly challenging for me, and about a month and a half ago now I decided that I would get better. Getting better to me looked like living a life without binge eating, and also like building healthy habits around food and exercise.

    So, I downloaded a book called Brain Over Binge to help with the mental aspect of recovery, and then I started building a picture of how I wanted my eating and exercise to look like. Counting calories has always triggered me to binge, so this time I decided that I would no longer do it. I am, however, at an unhealthy BMI, and I don't feel good in my body the way it is now. Once upon a time I got wrapped up in the mentality of "you don't need to change yourself if you love yourself ", but not anymore. I'm changing myself because I love myself, and those two things can very much coexist. I've started doing 16:8 IF and I've reduced portion sizes. I try to eat mindfully (using chopsticks instead of a fork really helps with this??), and before I eat I ask myself: "do I really want this?" All of my meals are mostly vegetables, but there's always protein and usually carbs. For snacks, I'll eat fruit and/or veg.

    As for exercise, I don't have much of a routine now that all the gyms are closed, but I try to move every day. Mostly, I've been going for long walks, the occasional run, and I've been doing hiit in my basement.

    In the last month and a half, I have binged 3-4 times. The last time was a week and a half-ish ago, and that really felt like the last time. Earlier this year I was binging once every 2-3 days, so this is a major victory for me.

    Recovery is slow, but it is so, so, so worth it. Today I felt truly confident for the first time in years. While I'm not exactly where I want to be with my body, I know now that I am on the right track. I can already feel my social anxiety decreasing (not that I'm being super social w anyone anyway atm), and I just overall feel happier. More than anything, i feel free.

    Anyway, just thought I'd share. Hopefully this gives inspiration to someone going through something similar (-:

    submitted by /u/dirtbagbanana
    [link] [comments]

    Celebrating small milestones

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:10 PM PDT

    My heaviest weight was 158.5 at 5'2".

    As a teenager, my worst eating habits were about 2-3 years ago.

    Since September my eating has gotten a lot better, although it is not perfect. My goal is to eat 1,300 a day, but most days I think I eat about 1,400- 1,500 which isn't bad but it's usually because I had something that went over my sugar and fat goals.

    But, I'm proud to say I very, very rarely get fast food. It used to be multiple times a week, so I'm glad I made that decision.

    By January I was down to 154 (my weight flunctuating from 154-156) and I was happy that despite months and months of nothing happening, the number was shrinking.

    Today, I am 149.5! It's been 3 years since I was under 150! I remember when I stepped on the scald I thought it said 154 and I was like "damn" because a few weeks ago I was 151.5, but then I saw that it was a 4 not a 5!!!

    I'm on my way to better things!

    submitted by /u/dohdohdohyourboat
    [link] [comments]

    Has anyone successfully gotten rid of belly fat?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 08:11 PM PDT

    I am what many people would consider "skinny fat" I'm in a normal weight range for my age and height but my BMI is too high. My biggest complaint about my figure is my super squishy belly. I'm 5'6" and weight about 155lbs, but my stomach fat is disproportionate to my body. It's uncomfortable, my clothes don't fit like id like them too and I know I have to just lose weight overall and start building muscles. I'm just wondering if anyone has been in this situation and ended up with a flat tummy... I ask because I've heard it's really hard to get rid of visceral fat on your abdomen. If so - what worked for you?

    submitted by /u/moone1ce
    [link] [comments]

    SV BMI in normal range for first time in years

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 02:08 AM PDT

    I'd really let myself go after being in a slightly unhealthy long term committed relationship and almost a year ago when we decided to end it, I was at the highest weight I've ever been (215lbs) and it was all fat. Prior to my relationship, I was overweight but I lifted three times a week. I had never been over 180 lbs prior. During my relationship I went to the gym less than 10 times. We did a lot of fun stuff, but almost never anything physically demanding. By June 2019 I vaguely remembered what my abs and calves even looked like - hadn't seen them since 2010.

    I was having tons of health problems: back kept giving out and I'd just use vikes to cover up the symptoms. I had constant irritable bowel, acid reflux, heartburn, tendonitis, erectile dysfunction etc. To top it all off, I was smoking cigarettes regularly (a habit I'd picked up as a kid). Even when I was more healthy, I used to lift and end my gym sessions with a cigarette in the car.

    But this was rock bottom for me... It wasn't working out and I was pretty miserable, which carried over into everything else in life. I just never had energy to do anything - it was a death spiral. I had to snap out, and there's nothing like a break up to provide some space and self realization.

    So I started my journey with CICO without considering macros. I had done a lot of dirty bulks and cuts as a kid so I had the basic idea down. Once I'd hit 200, I had a lot of motivation to start getting my life back. The goal, though far far away suddenly seemed within my grasp. Around this point I started working out once or twice a week whenever I felt like it. I had to ease into things because of the tendinitis and back problems - one time I threw my back out from just sneezing!

    Than before I knew it, it was Oct 2019 and I was at around 190. I started reading and listening to everything nutrition related that I could around this time and started to tweak my macros to preserve lean mass. The "bitter truth about sugar" helped me limit my sugary energy drink and soda consumption, and similar lecture series from the same university helped me better understand different aspects of nutrition.

    December came around, and I was around 180 lbs and I'd spent some money at this point retrofitting my now bachelor pad with a home gym. $600 or so dollars later I've got a pretty little pull-up/ dip bar, bench, weights etc. I remember trying to do a single pull up and not even being able to get one in. That didn't feel too good but it provided even more motivation.

    It's now the end of March, and I'm progressively overloading on my major lifts in spite of being in a deficit. I've managed to get a pull-up and I'm working a routine to specifically improve that. My chin ups went from 0 unassisted four months ago to easily repping out sets of 5.

    I'm now 168 lbs at 5'9, just at the top of the normal BMI range, have started eating vegetables, learned to cook a little and pretty much quit smoking cigarettes (replaced with vape where I'm slowly weaning down on nic content). I've still got a ways to go to get to where I want to be, but I haven't felt this good in years. No more being out of breath as I walk around the city, no more getting sweaty all the time, so much mental clarity and alertness etc. And to top it off, I did it mostly slowly and sustainably, so I don't see any loose skin (yet?)

    Just wanted to share my story as I regularly got motivation from this sub throughout my journey. Best of luck to everyone else out there!

    submitted by /u/conartist101
    [link] [comments]

    For all the fellow losers who've hit a "plateau": don't give up!

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 10:06 PM PDT

    Something about myself, I'm 31F 5'7" (170 cm) SW 259 (117.6kg) lbs CW 220lbs (100.1 kg). I started at US size 14 (EU size 48) and was size 12 (EU 46) for the last 2 months.

    And while I've been consistently losing 1% of my bodyweight every week for a couple of months the last 2 weeks I've been stuck at the exact same weight (+-0.2 lbs).

    And that's without changing my diet/activity (nor was it during my period).

    I already started to doubt cico. I felt thinner but measurements (belly, waist, hips) seemed to be staying the same.

    Today I tried on a size 10 (EU 44) jeans (that hasn't fit ever), and lo and behold, today they fit! Even though the weight stayed the same.

    So I guess I suck at tape measurements.

    Fellow plateaurs, don't give up! Just stick to your diet and you'll break the plateau, even if it might not show on the scale.

    submitted by /u/LiveBlanket
    [link] [comments]

    Tips for staying motivated - I’ve hit a plateau

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:37 PM PDT

    So i started my weight loss journey last year in the summer, about 225lbs. I took a diet approach as opposed to a fitness one. It was terribly slow progress but i did shed a few pounds. Winter break hit and i gave in to a three week binge cycle, gained it all back. I turned my life around for the better starting early January 2020. Since I went back to college I figured I could pick an exercise regimen and stick to it for the next 10 weeks of winter quarter. And I think I did something right. I attended spin class 3-4x a week, cleaned up my diet, went on a caloric deficit. As of March 28, I weigh 199lbs, or lost about 25 pounds in total since I first began. My goal is to reach 150 eventually.

    I just feel like I've hit a plateau. With the corona virus situation I was forced to go back home with my family, no gym, no exercise equipment. I can't find the food that helped me get through the last 10 weeks because of all the panic buying, also many of the super markets in my town do not offer many of the healthy alternatives/organic snacks that I came to love back at my college town.

    Whats worse is that I feel a difference in my body but don't see one.... there's literally no difference in my before and after photos. I've been stuck at the 199-201lb range for the past 3 weeks. And I'm beginning to doubt whether this is all worth it or not. I've always been fat. My whole life. I can't imagine a skinny, fit me. Because she's never existed. And I'm not sure if she ever will.

    TL; DR : ive hit a plateau in my weightloss journey and don't know how to stay motivated

    submitted by /u/juicemeup1120
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Sunday, 29 March 2020: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 01:09 AM PDT

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    • Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?
    • Did you log for an entire week? or year?
    • Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?
    • Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!


    On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often!


    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    24-Hour Pledge - Sunday, 29 March 2020 - The Plan for Today!

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 09:08 PM PDT

    Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!

    This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track.

    Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing

    > I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me?

    Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution.

    Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message.


    On reddit, your vote means, "I found this interesting" (...read more about voting on reddit)

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Late night binging

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 12:26 AM PDT

    Hello everybody! I am once again trying to lose weight and find a lifestyle that is affective for me. I recently started Noom, which has been great so far! I truly enjoy the program and am doing good with keeping within my calorie limit and eating healthy. It's only my fourth day and I already had a slip up. Usually I eat within my calorie range and feel just fine, but today from the very start, I felt like no matter what I ate nothing was enough and I was still hungry. I ate only 30 calories below my max calorie limit fairly early in the day (around 6:30PM) and tried to go to bed to keep myself from eating any more. Well here I am, half past midnight and I'm majorly regretting a huge binging session that I had. I was so hungry that I felt like I had absolutely no control of myself and I ate so much. What can I do to make sure this never happens again? I feel guilty but I'm not going to give up. How can I make sure I'm eating the right things on days where I feel ravenous to make sure I don't get so hungry to the point where I blow my diet?

    submitted by /u/spongeybi
    [link] [comments]

    Worries about loose skin: What increases your chances of having it?

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 12:19 AM PDT

    I just finished my first strict week of dieting and lost 4 1/2 lbs. I'm not sure if losing that much in one week is a) healthy,or b) going to increase my risk of having loose skin if I keep that trend going, as I've heard that quicker weight loss can raise the risk of having loose skin (correct me if I'm wrong). However, I'm not even sure if I am at an age and weight where I need to be super worried about loose skin: I'm a 19F, am now 153 lbs, but heaviest was around 165, and 5'2. My goal weight is around 115-120 (or I'll stop when I feel happy with how I look), so a goal of about 40 lbs to lose from my heaviest weight.

    Is my goal of losing 40 lbs at 5'2 putting me at risk of having loose skin?

    Overall, what increases your risk of having loose skin as you lose weight? And, what, if anything, can you do to decrease your risks?

    submitted by /u/NotWhoYouThinkItIs98
    [link] [comments]

    Meal planning app

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:54 PM PDT

    Male, 27, 5'3", 180lbs

    I tried noom and had decent results for awhile, losing around 15lbs over about 15/16 weeks, but I don't want to keep paying for it monthly as it's a tad exspensive and a lot of what they touted as making them unique can be found for free (articles) or was incredibly lack luster (coaches). While on their program, I did learn some good skills for losing weight, but I'm having a hard time sticking to a regimen like I did when using the app. Additionally, I've always felt my weakest areas where on meal planning and portion control, so I'm wondering if anyone know of good apps that can help with that? I would preffer apps that are one-time-buys or are free. As a bonus are there like good Tupperware that help with portion planning ahead of time? Any suggestions are welcome and wanted.

    submitted by /u/arcorax
    [link] [comments]

    Calories in, Calories out

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 05:37 PM PDT

    Hi! So I've recently lost 10lbs this first month by eating a 1,400 calorie deficit. I considered myself to be "lightly active" because I worked at an elementary school, but since I've been laid off I've become a couch potato. Because of this, I've noticed that the weight has been coming off more slowly (obviously).

    I use MFP to count calories, and I noticed when you put calories in, it raises the amount of calories you can eat! I always hear "losing weight is calories in and calories out", and this may come off a ridiculous question. But if I worked out and burned 300 calories, am I able to eat 300 calories more in my deficit, or should I ignore it and continue eating only 1400 + the exercise?

    submitted by /u/Rosandito
    [link] [comments]

    What can cause somebody to overeat?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 06:33 PM PDT

    Hi! I'm a 19y/o F 130lbs. Ever since being in high school I have struggled with overeating. I have nights where I get this random urge to continue eating and eating. And it's ALWAYS at night. It used to be a whole bag of sourdough pretzels, a PB and jelly, etc. Nowadays I have a much healthier diet and typically would just eat skinny pop or vegan ice cream or something. I haven't had a night where I've felt out of control with my eating in a LONG time. Months maybe. I've been calorie counting for weeks now (1,600cal) to loose a few pounds and I feel really good about it! Ive lost 4 pounds and I've been staying on track and seeing some changes. I usually track my calories in the morning and have about 700 left before dinner. So typically I don't track dinner which has been working for me. I was baking for my grandma today & had extra to make a little cake for my family. So I did, a vegan, gluten free chocolate cake! I didn't track my dinner and after dinner sat down on the couch to watch a movie.

    I ate three pieces of cake. I kept wanting to go back for more. And I WOULD of gotten a fourth but I felt my family give me weird looks on the third. I'm just so stuck on why I have to eat THREE pieces of cake? I know one would satisfy me, and I know more then one would hurt my stomach. I went way over my calories for the day and cannot help but feel like I messed up.

    Because I have not had an urge like this in a while I'm a little nervous I'm going to fall of track as far as sticking with my calories goes. And I want to be able to solve this before it becomes a problem again. What can cause overeating like this? What are some steps & ways I can stop myself from overeating before I begin?

    submitted by /u/isarosebella
    [link] [comments]

    First Milestone done! Onederland + 10kg/22lbs lost!

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 10:01 AM PDT

    Hi y'all,

    just wanted to share this with you. I reached my first milestone and I'm so happy and actually proud of myself. It took me 3 months and I did CICO and rarely some excercise (did CICO very stricly tho). I still wanna lose 25kg/ 55 pounds, so I'm 1/3 done!

    I posted on progress pics here if you're curious what this loss looks like at my height. I normally have a pear-shaped body so I lost most around my middle and my thigh-fat will probably go last.

    Checking this sub daily or weekly definitely helped me staying on track, so I wanna thank all of you for your indirect help!

    Let's all keep going and do our best every day! <3

    submitted by /u/wghtlss
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: March 29th, 2020

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:24 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, march 29th is here!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 28

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 07:30 PM PDT

    Hello losers,

    Happy Saturday!

    Weight by end of month (200 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning, scale batteries were, weird & the display was jacked.

    Stay within calorie range (1500 ish): Dinner is pre logged. I should be okay. I've been missing the 1500 mark a lot. I'm okay maintaining. It's been a fucking wild month.

    Exercise 5 days a week: Vigorous cleaning. 24/27 days.

    Self-care time (journaling, working on love journals, beauty treatments, drawing, fancy coffee out no more than 3 times a week 12/13): TBD

    Try a new recipe once a week: Peanut butter hummus, a free form chicken noodle soup, avocado hummus (I forgot about that one!), 15 bean soup & roasted chick peas made all the way from dry beans! 5/4 weeks.

    50 pages of The Body Keeps the Score: I got some good reading time in, hoping for more this weekend! 60/50 pages.

    Drawing prompt every day: Gonna try to hit it up before bed. I think I need to get back in the habit of leaving the supplies out somewhere noticeable. 8/28 days.

    Be more mindful & express gratitude, avoid the hedonic treadmill: Post & run so not a lot to comment on here today. I'm grateful that I seem to have perhaps finally grown into some small store of patience.

    Your turn kids!

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    Why is it suddenly so easy, I'm terrified something more difficult is around the corner.

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 02:21 AM PDT

    Weight loss has always seemed impossible for me, and many, many times I have tried to lose weight and ended up falling off the wagon and gaining everything back plus some.

    But this most recent time it has been easy. For 54 days according to the Loseit app I have logged all my food and not fallen off the wagon once. Not even had a cheat day. Even on my birthday we went to a buffet and I didn't eat before going and ended up not eating the ridiculous amount I normally would have.

    School got really stressful, I didn't eat a pint of ice cream to cope. Fight with my girlfriend, felt too sick to eat instead of incredibly hungry. Trapped at home because of Covid-19, not eating out of boredom.

    I swear I'm not trying to brag. I've gained 20 pounds in the past just from binging on halloween candy I bought from the store. I've been so addicted to sugar for so long I have no idea why abstaining suddenly working.

    The fact that things have been easy so far just makes me scared something is going to happen that messes me up. I am so excited that I have been losing weight so consistently and I want this to continue all the way down to a healthy weight. Has anyone else experienced this happening? Where you try again and it just works? I've heard of people having wake up calls because of health scares or having kids or something, but nothing really was any different this time.

    submitted by /u/Thanat0asted
    [link] [comments]

    PSA: check the intended timing of your meds if you notice a change in your appetite.

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 07:23 AM PDT

    I say this because it took me a month to realize my error.

    I started taking a new med which my doctor recommended I take at night. No big deal I'll just take both my meds at night so I don't forget.

    After a couple weeks my appetite increased which i attributed this to the new med and resolved to speak with my doctor about it.

    Last night, a full month later, I realized my increased appetite was mainly in the evenings. So I googled my original med (Wellbutrin XL) clear as day it says take in the mornings. 😑.

    Oops! Now I'll have to wait and see if that resolves my increased appetite surge, but given the timing of my "hunger" I'm fairly confident it will.

    TL;DR: This month I f*cked up by taking my meds at the wrong time of day which in turn led to changes in my appetite. Double check the timing of your meds if you notice a change in appetite after starting a new one

    submitted by /u/HarveyCohen
    [link] [comments]

    Eating at TDEE + Exercise... does it make sense?

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 12:57 AM PDT

    Hey yall,

    First of all I am not trying to lose weight really quickly as I have hit my goal weight. I would love to lose at least 1-2 more lbs, however I have some assumptions regarding the deficit that I am going to make and not sure if this makes sense.. so let me describe it for you.

    My TDEE sedentary is around 1580cals, and I run at least 7-10KM (sometimes more) everyday, which burns roughly 300-500 calories (more if I run > 10k). My assumption is, if I eat at around 1600-1700cals everyday, I will still be at a deficit of around 180-200 cals everyday. Does that sound correct?

    tl;dr:

    1580(sedentary TDEE)+300(running) = 1880

    Food = 1700

    Deficit: 180

    Does this make sense? Or am I misunderstanding the usage of sedentary TDEE?

    Thanks!!:)

    submitted by /u/sorecalves
    [link] [comments]

    I’m healthy, but still retaining a bit of weight

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 08:47 PM PDT

    I'm a female, 5'7, and have a BMI of 18.8 (I weigh 120 lb). People tell be I look like a stick sometimes, and I do appear that way on the outside. But for years, I've never had a perfectly flat stomach like some of my friends have. I eat really healthy, don't snack too much, and work out at least an hour a day (a little bit less now because of quarantine but I'd say half an hour at home currently). I don't know what I can do to get a flatter stomach. There are other places on my body that I would like to lose a little weight as well, so I guess it's good that weight loss can't be spotted. I am trying to cut down to eating 1 or 2 meals a day right now, but stomach is aching so much that I don't know how long I can go. People have already expressed concern over how little I was eating before the quarantine, and I did not understand why because I was eating 3 meals a day with snacks. Still, I used to get lightheaded and nauseous all the time while working out. I feel like I'm doing all I can to safely lose weight, while a few of my friends eat a large bag of chips a day and still look like models. I know that losing weight isn't an absolute necessity for me since I have a healthy BMI, but I really want to for aesthetic purposes. I don't know if this is important, but I have an outie belly button, and sometimes I think that I perceive myself as "bigger" just because of that. Please let me know if you have any advice or ways I can lose a few pounds!

    submitted by /u/NaBrO22
    [link] [comments]

    35lbs lost 2 months

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 09:29 AM PDT

    50M ,251 SW now at 216, started aggressively eating just salad / lentils with two pieces of fruit for the first month, lost 20lbs in the first month. Second month has been more relaxed , more protein, homemade savoury pies etc for dinner and fruit for breakfast/lunch lost an additional 15lbs. Two major lifestyle changes, I do a lot of home cooking, can easily do 2 hrs a night knocking up some recipe and I push the exercise twice a week , when I started I could barely run half a mile now up to 8 miles. Keys to the success so far has been to embrace being hungry, keep a discipline on the food intake and to fill time with more activity.

    submitted by /u/friedbabyyoda
    [link] [comments]

    Feeling really lost, scared, and discouraged. Don't know where to start. I've tried and failed so many times...

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:57 AM PDT

    hey loseit.

    i've been obese for a long time now (female, late 20's, about 5 foot 3, probably 250 lbs). i have lost weight successfully in the past, but that was years ago when i was younger. i am now at my highest weight ever (i don't know what it is because i am afraid to weigh myself) and am very very unhealthy. i want to lose weight desperately and have been trying for a year and a half now, but somehow have only gained more. my biggest problems are drinking alcohol, fast food, and overeating.

    i just feel hopeless. i have read the faq and have tried these things. i do it for a day or two, then lose it and go to wendy's and order three meals and scarf it all down in my car in 15 minutes and feel like shit. or i'll have 3-5 beers and then lose my inhibitions and eat whatever. it's like i have no self control and can't say no to myself.

    i would like to exercise, but i am so fat and out of shape that walking slowly for 15 minutes makes my hips hurt. i get blisters on my feet. sometimes i lift weights, and that is probably my most successful but even then i do it one day and then don't have the self discipline to keep it up. it feels hopeless.

    i am scared. i read posts here of people who are like 'oh i just cut out sugar and only ate salads for a month and i lost 20 lbs.' cool. how the fuck do you make yourself do that? i don't get it. am i defective? i need help...

    submitted by /u/hiimathrowawayacct
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment