• Breaking News

    Sunday, March 29, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-29

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-29


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-29

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Advice about joints for people new to calisthenics

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 01:13 AM PDT

    TLDR: If you are new to callisthenics you are at risk of injuring your joints. The most at risk individual is someone who is older (30y+), with strong muscles from previous weight lifting, but tight and weak joints. It is best to start with progressions below what your muscles are capable while you work on joint strength/mobility exercises to allow your joints to "catch up".

    I had a few years of weightlifting experience when I discovered calisthenics. I was immediately hooked and went balls to the wall with the hardest progression I could using the RR. My expectation was that I would achieve a muscle up and a 30s handstand within a few months. Although I got close to both goals, I ended up with elbow, hand and wrist tendonitis so bad I couldn't even lift a kettle to make a cup of tea with my right arm due to the pain. It took 6 months of rehab exercises to regain full range of motion in my right wrist before I could cautiously start working out again.

    I can now sense when my joints are unhappy and back off. If you get any sort of pinching or pain near a joint, you should stop doing exercises that aggravate it straight away.

    It takes time to strengthen your joints and increase their range of motion. It also takes experience to judge how much and what type of mobility/stretching you should do to help your joints, without overdoing it.

    Enjoy the journey.

    submitted by /u/IcecreamJunkieUK
    [link] [comments]

    I was able to do 5-7 pull ups two weeks ago, now I can't even do one! Please help I need advice

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 05:56 AM PDT

    Hello everyone, so due to recent circumstances I've been working out on my own, although I have been doing PT 4 days a week since I entered college this year with Army ROTC. I started the SF/Ranger workout program by Stew Smith about two weeks ago (the monday before last) and on the second day there were a lot of pull ups, about 75 or so broken into sets of 5. So I got through about 15 with proper form (marine corps deadhang style) and couldn't do anymore so I did negatives for the rest of the reps.

    Next day my inner elbow area felt pretty sore, but nothing abnormal that I haven't experienced before. Part of the workout for this day was 100 regular and 100 tricep push ups. I noticed that about halfway through I had to go to my knees, then about halfway through that I have to go on my knees and do the push ups inclined on a chair.

    Now the day after that... my arms were on FIRE. My inner elbow area was super sore and i couldn't move my arm past a 60 degree angle without forcing them with intense pain, and my arms were visibly very swollen. This pain lasted for about 2 more days and started to subside. Around wednesday of this week I felt like my arms were back to normal. I ended up skipping most of the pull ups this week, and when I did do any they were negatives.

    However... And here is the real problem. I tried to do a pull up yesterday and today, and I couldn't even do one. In fact it's so bad that I can't even get my arms out of the fully extended position when hanging from the bar, I can't even do half a pull up and it's embarrassing. But I don't feel sore! I also noticed I can't even do a real proper form bicep curl with 20 pounds... Also embarrassing considering I used to do 25 lbs no problem. Now it is harder for my to curl 20 lbs than 30 lbs two weeks ago.

    So will my muscles repair themselves and get back to where I used to be if I just don't use them? Or have I permanently damaged them and should I start training those muscles right now to get my strength back?

    submitted by /u/BF2_BushWookie
    [link] [comments]

    Thoughts on Pull Up and Dip Station Design

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 09:42 AM PDT

    So whilst I have been in lockdown, I have been trying to design a pull-up and dip bar station out of scaffolding components. The main purpose is for the obvious but I am also looking to hang a fingerboard and some rings from it to do some climbing-specific training.

    https://imgur.com/a/cpGrRwA

    The total height is 2.2m and the footprint is 1.4m by 1.1m. It is 0.8m wide and 0.5 across the dip bar. There is a slight concern about stability but I reckon that can be easily resolved with sandbags, bolts, board etc.

    I have a full cutting and parts list and I am getting a quote for it to be delivered from a UK company if anyone is interested. Also, if anyone has any suggestions, I would appreciate any input.

    Cheers and stay safe.

    submitted by /u/Staffchild101
    [link] [comments]

    Smolov Jr for Pullups: sharing my experience

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 04:29 AM PDT

    Background:
    I have been training weighted pullups to develop strength for front lever. I have been following a linear 5x3-5 regime, before switching to a Light/Medium/Heavy spilt. Last month, I began to plateau. For heavy day I was stuck at 5x3 with +35kg (at about 64-66kg bw). After deloading for about 2 weeks, my numbers further declined to 5x2 with +35kg. I then decided to give Smolov Jr for pullups a try (see https://www.reddit.com/r/bodyweightfitness/comments/3e70kx/concept_wednesday_smolov_jr_for_weighted_chins/?utm_medium=android_app&utm_source=share).

    Program:
    As I had not tested my 1RM before that, I used this calculator (https://workout-temple.com/en/pull-up-calculator/) to estimate my 1RM using a bodyweight of 64kg and added weight of 35kg for 2-3 reps. My estimated 1RM was between +43kg to +44.89kg (total weight of about 107kg to 109kg). I then did the following workout:

    Week 1: 6x6x11.25 7x5x16.25 8x4x21.25 10x3x26.25
    Week 2: 6x6x16.25 7x5x21.25 8x4x26.25 10x3x31.25
    Week 3: 6x6x18.75 7x5x23.75 8x4x28.75 10x3x33.75

    During the program, I did not do any other significant back training. I only practiced short holds of adv tuck front lever (stage 2) for 2x5s per workout. Also, as recommended, I also did prehab work: 3x8-12 face pulls and 2x30-50 bicep curls for most workouts, and also shoulder dislocates.

    Results:
    At the end of week 4's deload week, I tested my 1RM. It was +48.75kg (at 65.8kg bw - to be clear, while my post-program bw is 1.8kg higher than my starting bw, I do not think I gained that much muscle mass as my weight has always fluctuated between 64-66kg). Compared to my estimated one rep max, it was a gain of about +3.75 to +5.75kg of added weight, or about 5.75 to 7.75kg inclusive of bw. In terms of % of bodyweight added, i went from about +70% to +74%.
    After testing my 1RM, I also tested how many reps I can do with 35kg (the original weight that I used to estimate my 1RM). I could do 5 repetitions.
    A few hours later, I also tested my front lever progression. I could do a half lay front lever for 5s (previously I could barely hold the position for about 1s). I tried full FL but failed (struggled to hold the position for a second).

    Thoughts:
    Overall, I am very satisfied with the result. However, since I still cannot do the front lever (I aim to do a clean 5s), I will be continuing to train weighted pullups. The next program I plan to do is OmarIsuf's pullup program (https://youtu.be/HJvY5f_zIRE).

    submitted by /u/foosh90
    [link] [comments]

    Doing rows on a stick between two chairs

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 10:09 AM PDT

    I put two chairs next to each other with smaller cushioned stools on top of each. Then betwen them I have a long sturdy pipe detached from a vacuum cleaner. It's sturdy. Cushioning on those stools makes it kinda stay in place better and not roll around... But... It now rotates around itself.

    And as you can guess, the same as with those rolling bars for hanging challenges... This one challenges my grip like no other.

    I barely could perform 10th set of rows not due to back fatigue... Noo, far from that. My grip gave out instantly. I had to incorporate rest pause method and my forearms were on fiiiiire.

    So to conclude, it makes rowing and front lever exponentially more difficult to the extent that I hung towels off of it (which are usually used to challenge grip) in order to be able to hold onto it longer.

    Stay home, stay safe, but more importantly, to keep others safe.

    PS. Make sure everything is stable at least wnen trying front lever on this setup haha.

    submitted by /u/LGPlatinum
    [link] [comments]

    How to improve conditioning for harder exercise variation? (Not typical cardio)

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 12:38 PM PDT

    Ok so while working out I've been facing this problem lately. My conditioning is pretty bad and it's holding me back in some ways.

    My strength is increasing. I was able to do 5 tucked front lever rows without ever doing any horizontal movement at all. My weighted pull ups and dips have increased as well, but I can't do as many reps as I would expect myself to do. It's because I get out of breath pretty quickly.

    For example, I can do 3 sets of 7 pull ups with 15 kgs (33 pounds). But I can't do 11 pull ups for 3 sets. It's mainly because only after 5-6 reps I start breathing horribly and can't do many reps. Same goes with push ups and dips. Can do 3 sets of 12 with 15 kg but only 3 sets of 15 without weight. And only 30 max push ups.

    I'm not fat. I'm pretty skinny. I used to regularly run and do jump rope but I can't do them now because of Coronavirus. I don't take too long rest either.

    Any idea why this is happening? And how to improve? I don't want to be only strong. I want a good balance between strength and conditioning.

    submitted by /u/I_Watch_Turtle_Porn
    [link] [comments]

    Has anyone injured themselves recently while exercising at home? Because I sure have and I want to hear your stories too ��

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 12:31 PM PDT

    Let me preface by saying I'm an idiot and I should have seen this coming. My dad installed a pull up bar in his pool house two years ago, two metal poles coming out of the wall with a metal rod across them with two divots to keep it from rolling. It's not welded together but it's pretty sturdy.

    I looped a resistance band to the bar to practice pull ups with assistance and it was going great. My sister commented that it could also work as a TRX band and I decided to try it out. I leaned back and held the band as if to do a row... and basically fall back and slingshot the unsecured metal rod at myself.

    It hit me in the right forearm and the right hip, and even though I was wearing a sweatshirt I still scraped a chunk of skin off my forearm and I have a gnarly hip bruise. It could have been way worse if the angle was different or if the bar hadn't hit furniture on the way down to slow it! Just imagining it hitting me in the face is enough warning for me to now check very carefully that everything is secured before putting my body weight on it. Lesson learned.

    Anyone else have weird quarantine fitness injuries to share?

    submitted by /u/savillas
    [link] [comments]

    I have some questions on calisthenics

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 12:27 PM PDT

    Hi. I'm 19yo/168cm/61kg and I pretend to start exercising myself. I want to build up muscle and reduce fat.

    I've already been to a gym for a couple months but I had to leave.

    I cannot go to a gym right now and I don't have a proper space for the workouts because I live in a flat.

    I really want to get into a regular training of calisthenics but I have a lot of impasses:

    • I don't have equipment like weights and pullup bars
    • My home isn't quite spaced
    • I don't have that much time (I'm a student) although I want to workout 3/4 times a week
    • I'm not motivated
    • I'm not sure about the gains in 3 months, 6 months, 12 months and therefore if I workout for that amount of time and I build almost no muscle I'm gonna feel that it was a waste of precious time

    I know my problem is more headed to mindset and it's kinda psychological but I need advice from you guys. I need you to tell your stories, show your progresses, before and after photos, your workout plans and how you overcame lack of motivation.

    I don't wanna be like The Rock, I just wanna get a few kg of muscle. 3/4 workouts a week for 6 months, what would be the results?

    Note: I know the basic rules of sleeping, food, protein and calories.

    Thanks in advance!

    submitted by /u/migdinny
    [link] [comments]

    How can I tweak the RR while still keeping it effective?

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 06:25 AM PDT

    So basically, when I started the RR, I did it religiously and did make a lot of progress, but it's getting a little stale for me and I wanna build my own plan that caters to my current needs and tweak it as I progress.

    Goals:
    So my goals have changed since I started, when I started I mainly just wanted to improve strength and health, and overall recover from 5 years of sitting on my ass playing games and eating chips all day, WHICH I HAVE DONE.
    But now I wanna focus more on building strength and more specifically building mass. I also really want to work on legs which I feel like I have neglected over the past and have most of my life just been twigs (which I'm kinda over at this point).
    I'm not really concerned about my BF%, and I don't specifically want to lose fat.

    Resources:
    So my resources have also grown a lot since I started, I still don't have access to a full-on gym (yet), BUT, I now have a weight belt and 12 2L bottles (which comes to 24kg of weight) I use for weighted pullups. I also have a full collection of resistance bands (which I currently use with a bar for deadlifts) I also have proper wooden rings and a proper place to do pullups.

    Time:
    I am also now willing to put way more time into it. When I started all I did was the 40-50 mins of RR 3 times a week and call it at that. Now I'm willing to put in 1-2 hours every day.

    What else I do:
    I also play Rugby, practice is on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, However, I usually only make 2 practices a week. (although it's not on atm and I have no idea when its gonna start again). Practices can range from some simple cardio to more intense rugby specific stuff.

    So, with the information above, how would you guys recommend, I tweak the RR (or make a completely new routine) to suit my needs?

    Thanks in advance!

    submitted by /u/liamJmic
    [link] [comments]

    Is this a good workout?

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 12:16 PM PDT

    Hello, I'm a 16 year old male and i weigh around 60kg. My height is 167cm, I used to train kickboxing at my dojo, but since i'm quarantined I just do this:

    3* ( 3 minute rope jumping with a 1 minute rest in between)

    3*( 10 pushups)

    3* (10 pull ups)

    3*(10 planks)

    3*(10 squats)

    3*(10 russian twists)

    3*(10 toe touch crunches)

    3*(10 pull-ups on the bar with my wrist facing me)

    3*(5 pull-ups with my wrist facing outside)

    Maybe it's too quick for results to show but i feel like i'm starting to gain abs:

    https://imgur.com/a/BP1kUs5

    submitted by /u/dangerousappetizer
    [link] [comments]

    Slacklines for use with rings?

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 11:55 AM PDT

    I'm lacking a space to set up for my gymnastic rings, but I've recently come across neighbors using slacklines (e.g., https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0763R5MNX/?tag=liamcokk-20&th=1) with rings hanging from them for their kids. Anyone use something like this for an adult wanting to do a full array of exercises with rings?

    submitted by /u/Jtmoor
    [link] [comments]

    Back exercises without a pull-up bar?

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 11:53 AM PDT

    As the title states, I don't have access to a pull-up bar and I was wondering what bodyweight workouts I could do to work my back.

    submitted by /u/oxylover2
    [link] [comments]

    Is this too wide for dips?

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 11:45 AM PDT

    Found a spot I could do dips but is it too wide?

    https://ibb.co/Qbf12xj

    submitted by /u/Locogooner
    [link] [comments]

    A lot of fitness equipment out of stock lately?

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 07:58 AM PDT

    I was looking to buy a freestanding pull up bar on Amazon and noticed they all seem to be out of stock. Not just one manufacturer but almost all of them. Was checking a few other online fitness retailers and noticed the same thing. Was wondering if this might be due to the COVID-19 situation in China where most of this equipment is probably made somehow disrupting the supply chain. Or is it possible that with most gyms now shut in the US is creating a demand surge for gym equipment as people shift to working out at home?

    submitted by /u/eurcla44
    [link] [comments]

    Hip problems

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 11:09 AM PDT

    I don't know if this is the right sub for the question. Im 18 and i have hip problems. I think sometimes the nerve gets pinched because its one of the worst pains ive ever felt. Really, really painful. I cannot do most leg exercises because of that. What are some exercises to increase ROM in my hips? I think something for 80y.o. grandmas would be best, please help me out.

    submitted by /u/Lil-djuro-18
    [link] [comments]

    HOW TO TAKE CARE OF HAND CALLUSES

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 11:05 AM PDT

    Making this post because I got a lot of request on making this "HOW TO TAKE CARE OF HAND CALLUSES"

    Calluses are not bad, but not taking care of them will lead to ripping your hands in my experience.
    Thats why I made a 5 min video about this and sharing my method on how to take care of them: https://youtu.be/hM54rYvLC5k

    If you don't wanna check the video, I will explain as in text:

    Just to clarify is that when you are starting out, and it's your first time hanging on the bar, going to the gym, you will have pain, you will build callouses that will hurt in the beginning. Everybody just needs to go through it. The ONLY 2 things you really need are a Foot file and Nail clipper.

    STEP ONE: When you are done with your workout you wanna wash your hands directly afterward, especially if you have used chalk. This is to clean them out and not have dirt on your hands.

    STEP TWO: When you come home and you are about to shower this is where you are gonna use the foot file. Soak your hands for a while, when that is done you take your foot file and scrub off the dead skin on your hands especially in the area where the calluses build up.

    You scrub then you wash your hands and the foot file from the dead skin that you have scrubbed of, do this a complete of times until your hands feel smoother.

    The hardest part will be in the middle of the palm, not all get callouses right on that spot, mostly it's people that are swinging on the bar a lot. The thing is you do not want to smooth out all of the "thick" skin also called callouses, but you want to prevent that the callouses to build up to big mountains on your hands.

    STEP THREE: After you have done step two you wanna check if you got some calluses that have not smoothed out. If your calluses are like triangles mountains you want to cut them with the nail clippers. Now when you have cut the edges or the mountains that I call it, you wanna use the foot file again to smooth out the area, wash your hands afterward and you are done.

    Easier to watch the video where I show you how I do it: https://youtu.be/hM54rYvLC5k

    Hope this helped you!

    submitted by /u/FlefilDaniel
    [link] [comments]

    How To Make Gains Without A Gym

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 05:46 AM PDT

    Sunday Show Off - Because it's perfectly fine to admit you're also doing bodyweight fitness to do cool tricks in front of people!

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 01:03 AM PDT

    HEY YOU,

    Have you taken any recent pics of those sweet gains, your human flag, or those handstands off the wall you're finally holding?

    Do you have other bodyweight fitness accomplishments you've made and want the world to know about because your friends and family can't appreciate how hard L-sit progressions are??

    This is the thread for you to share all that and inspire others at the same time! I'm talking about another S-S-SU-SUNDAY SHOW OFF!!

    Note that we aren't limiting you to what we're discussing on the FAQ. Show us anything that blew your mind the moment you realized you had it. This may include aspects of: gymnastics, climbing, parkour, weight loss/gain, posture, etc. They are all more than welcome in this thread.


    We also want to remind you that we've been sharing your content on @redditbwf on both Instagram and Twitter. Help us grow our sub's social media in order to reach out to non-Redditors across these other platforms!


    Last week's Show Off thread

    Check out some of the previous Sunday Show Off threads for more inspiration! Archives here.

    As always, many of us are on Discord and would love to meet our BWF brothers and sisters, wherever you're from!


    Want to motivate yourself further? Use our member locator and workout map resource in our sidebar to form a local workout group in your area!

    submitted by /u/Solfire
    [link] [comments]

    Are low reps for pushups and pull-ups worth it ?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 05:36 PM PDT

    I was under the impression that with body weight exercises you'll do sets of as many reps as possible. But Now since quarantine I've seen so much new information on body weight exercises it's throwing me off. For example if I want to build strength would I do sub maximal reps of pushups and pull-ups or would that be a waste since I'm not fatiguing the muscle since it's sub maximal.or what about doing extreme volume training like doing 500 pull-ups would that have a large hypertrophy or strength effect. If someone were to give me some good information on rep ranges for body weight exercises it would be much appreciated.

    submitted by /u/Thomas200389
    [link] [comments]

    Inverted Hang Shrug - Vertical Pull

    Posted: 29 Mar 2020 05:55 AM PDT

    I've read in Overcoming Gravity that you should push/pull in vertical and horizontal planes to support shoulder health. The author pairs pushups with inverted rows, pull-ups with HSPU and dips on its own. Since dips are a push movement where you push vertically downward from the body, shouldn't there be a pull in that direction i.e. shrugs. And since we are focused on calisthenics, I figure hanging from a PullUp bar or rings upside down, feet straight up in the air and then shrug, this would be the equivalent. If anyone has a good explanation or can expand why this may or may not be a worthwhile exercise, please explain. Thanks.

    submitted by /u/Tolomeezy
    [link] [comments]

    Cutting while switching from barbells to bodyweight, how to avoid losing strength?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 06:00 PM PDT

    Before the lockdown, I was focusing on my bench press, and gaining bodyweight.

    I am currently 105Kg (6'4), a bit fluffy, so it seems like a reasonable idea to cut down while I do not have access to a bench, squat rack etc.

    The only problem with this is the worry that not continuing to bench while cutting will cause my strength to plummet. I've read conflicting information on this.

    My current plan is to do full body workouts three times a week, with the main exercise for pressing strength being dips with added band tension. If I do dips with high intensity (3-6RM sets), will this be just as good for maintaining strength as if I were benching heavy?

    Or have I got the wrong idea here, and would I be better off maintaining bodyweight and doing higher volume bodyweight exercises to maintain/grow muscle?

    submitted by /u/UnleashTheWolf
    [link] [comments]

    Good workout program for "girly" girls?

    Posted: 28 Mar 2020 03:10 PM PDT

    My GF wants to get for so I tried showing her the RR but she said that the exercises were too difficult and too "menly" for her (I am an ex military and she accused me of trying to give her an exercise for soldiers). I tried the easiest variation of each exercise but she didn't like it and didn't want to preform the workouts.

    Can you recommend any beginner exercise that would fit this situation? No trying to improve strength or anything roo drastic, just want to give her an enjoyable workout that she could stick to for a month or two before moving on to something more serious.

    Thanks guys.

    submitted by /u/PeachKnight96
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment