• Breaking News

    Friday, March 27, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-27

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-27


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-27

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Door style pull up bars sold out everywhere so I made my own

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 08:35 AM PDT

    https://imgur.com/a/scSsT7c

    Works pretty good, but my grip strength fails after about 2-3 reps.

    Any suggestions to improve?

    submitted by /u/Noble_Thor
    [link] [comments]

    Body exercises for the obese?

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 01:44 AM PDT

    I've been going to the gym to use the pool for a couple months because I can't do a lot of normal things on account of my size. Since the quarantine the gyms been closed. I've still been walking to keep up the exercise, but I'd really like to get back to building some muscle, doing full-body stuff. I've had a hard time finding youtube videos intended for people like myself so I'd appreciate any suggestions on what to do or where to look. Thanks!

    Edit: I want to thank everyone for their advice! Even the advice that totally ignored what I was asking and assumed I eat way too much and need to change my diet lol. I know your heads are in the right place because you wouldn't be wrong two years ago. I've been through a lot of trial and error and found out what works for me diet-wise. I'm losing weight without exercise but working out has helped with a myriad of other things, like keeping my sleep routine, giving me energy, and making me stronger which I desperately want and need. That's why I want to keep it up.

    Anyone reading my post hoping to find exercises too, should 100% listen about the diet thing. If you're eating excess calories, you're going to have to exercise that much harder to make up for it, and we gotta be honest that's hard to do when it's hard to move lol. I know it's hard to give up what's fast and easy but it's worth it.

    submitted by /u/b-ruok
    [link] [comments]

    I don’t even really feel like I’m working out?

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 05:26 AM PDT

    Hey guys! Beginner here, one of those whose married to the gym but started bwf because of COVID-19.

    I've been following the recommended routine and it's been going fine. I'm a 21 year old female so max pull-ups for me is about 6 so I'm working on progressions etc.

    However with each exercise, while I feel tired at the end of the set, I never leave the bars feeling tired. Like after I would work out in the gym, my heart rate would be high, I'd be sweaty, I'd feel worn out, like I gave it my all.

    Am I doing something wrong since I don't feel any of this "worn out"ness after an hour of the RR? I am working at the right progression of each exercise and I feel a burn in the moment of doing them, but I just always feel like I have so so much energy after the workouts.

    submitted by /u/casseland
    [link] [comments]

    Should I take the rest days seriously?

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 05:53 AM PDT

    For about a year I was doing a variety of calisthenic exercises to build some core strength and fix my posture as well as, of course, look better.
    When I realized that my body did not grow much despite me gaining some muscle weight I came here and found a great app to help me progress further.

    Exercises are difficult enough for me to feel them the day after. The problem is, I've gotten used to exercising every day and now that the app suggests that I should have a rest day, today and tomorrow, I just feel like I'm slacking.
    Should I follow the training plan and rest, or is it okay to do some form of exercises everyday?

    submitted by /u/Alert-Yogurtcloset
    [link] [comments]

    Is there such thing as Assisted chest dips?

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 04:52 AM PDT

    Skipping progressions for static skills

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 03:51 AM PDT

    About two months ago, I decided that I want to be able to do a front lever. When I started, I could hold it with one tucked and one straight leg for a few seconds.

    So I basically just held this position every now and then for as long as I could and got the time up to an estimated 20 seconds. Sometimes I tried to straighten both legs, but I was never able to hold that position at all. Also, just about a week ago, I tried the straddle front lever, but was only able to hold it for about 1 second in bad form (legs higher than horizontal).

    But yesterday, I went from one leg front lever into full front lever (expecting to immediately fall, as always) and was suddenly able to hold it for about 3 seconds.

    I completely skipped the straddle front lever, which I wasn't able to hold just a few days before my first full front lever.

    I'm obviously not complaining, but how is this possible? Did anyone else experience something like that?

    Some extra information: My main focus lately has been the weighted pull up (one rep max is 30kg, 54% of bw), working similar muscles to the front lever. I'm also very slim at 56kg/123lbs and 177cm/5'10" and got legs like a stork, so that probably helps with the lever.

    submitted by /u/Tawareth
    [link] [comments]

    Exercises to combat man boobs

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 08:49 PM PDT

    Kind of an embarrasing thing to admit but I have a slight man boob issue. Even when I was in prime shape a few years ago I hated the look of my chest. I don't really know what originates this issue, I am just about 5 kg above my recommended weight now (which I am working on) and I have seen obese dudes that don't have the man boob effect so prominent. Has someone overcome this with a certain type of bodyweight exercise? Are the usual chest exercises good for tackling this issue?

    Aside from working out, are there foods I need to avoid (or consume) to reduce man boobs?

    Any bit of helpful info will be greatly appreciated.

    submitted by /u/GT_Emedi
    [link] [comments]

    DIY "rings" from PVC pipe and some climbing gear.

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 02:35 PM PDT

    Here is one way to get adjustable "rings" for home. Could also go into the ceiling on eye-screws if you don't have a chin bar.
    https://imgur.com/a/pLzTj

    submitted by /u/kibble
    [link] [comments]

    Quarantine cardio

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 04:32 AM PDT

    Hit me with your wisdom, reddit! I, like many of you, am stuck at home with quite limited space to work out. My go-to cardio currently is some combination of jump rope, jumping jacks, mountain climbers and burpees. However, I'm trying hard to do cardio that does NOT emphasize legs. The only semicardio that doesn't work the legs I thought of was seated rowing with elastic bands to add resistance. What do you do for non-leg cardio?

    submitted by /u/neeyla
    [link] [comments]

    Filling sets in RR

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 02:31 AM PDT

    If im doing the RR 3x8 push ups, i manage to do 8 pppus first set, second 5..is it worth it to fill those remaining 3 reps with easier variation to get to the 8 reps total? And with every other exercise aswell?

    submitted by /u/formerofformer
    [link] [comments]

    Substituting a Hangboard routine for the pull-up section of the Recommended Routine.

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 11:26 PM PDT

    Long term (10+ years 21/5.11a redpoint) rock climber trying to stay in shape with the gym/rock closures. Longer sport routes are my jam, don't currently boulder. Male/39/80kg. Just started the RR this week and ordered a shiny new hangboard to keep my finger strength up. Trying to figure out how to fit the beginner routine or something similar that came with my hangboard into my workout without too much crossover. I am currently doing 5x3 normal pull-ups as part of the RR. Full details for the handboard routine below, but it's lots of deadhangs/bent arm hangs,12 pullups (some normal, some offset). It even has progressions with a beginner/medium/hard routine. https://www.metoliusclimbing.com/training_guide_contact_training_board.html My week would look something like this: Mon: RR + Hang Tues: 1 hr run Wed: RR + Hang Thurs: 1 hr run Fri: RR + Hang Sat: 1 hr run Sun: Rest Am I missing anything out by this substitution? Is this workout going to affect any other parts of the RR? Is there any other way to do this? I could do the full RR then hangboard the next day, but I don't think that would give enough recovery time. The other option would be cut the pull-ups from the Hangboard routine. Thoughts and suggestions welcome. Would be interested in any climber's current routines!

    submitted by /u/TMBomber
    [link] [comments]

    Possible to add mass to calves training at home without weights

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 09:37 PM PDT

    Due to the mandatory isolation in the U.K. I've been doing 100 calf raises every single day since Sunday. Since gym could be out of the equations for months I was wondering if I could add mass to my calves working out from home as long as my nutrition (surplus diet) and rest is adequate. I unfortunately have bad calf genetics and standing at 6'7 feet my calves look thinner than they actually are.

    Any advice would be welcome.

    Edit: thank you everyone for your advice.

    submitted by /u/NotTheMagesterialOne
    [link] [comments]

    Protein shortage during COVID-19

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 05:02 AM PDT

    I'd imagine quite a few of you will be starting to run low on good sources of protein. I myself have just run out of eggs and only have birdseye frozen chicken left.

    For those struggling to meet even minimum daily recommendations, how would that effect muscle growth/strength? If we keep up or routines, will we maintain? Lose? Gain? Are calories more important?

    Also, what are some tips and tricks for those trying to maintain decent protein with shop shelves rarely including meat and eggs? How are you guys handling it?

    submitted by /u/ImMrDC
    [link] [comments]

    I'm going to film my journey learning how to ring muscle up, What would be helpful to include?

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 04:08 AM PDT

    Hey guys,

    About 2 years ago I filmed my journey learning how to pistol squat. I shared the video here and while most comments were positive I do remember getting some critiques. A bunch of people were curious about my starting fitness level and stretching regimen. But overall, the people of this subreddit really seemed to appreciate an honest look into a random guy's fitness journey.

    For the past 2 years I've really wanted to do another fitness related challenge to share but haven't had the motivation. You know, the ups and downs of life. But now I'm ready. I just lost my job due to the corona-virus lock down and I figured what better way to spend my time than to share with this community again.

    So here's the question. What should I include in the video. What would be the most helpful and motivational to you?

    I plan on including:

    - an initial fitness test to show my starting point. That would include pullups and dips.

    - a list of resources I'm using to learn

    - a before and after shot of my physique

    - a mention of my starting/ending weight and height

    - a detailed daily exercise plan

    - my diet?

    - my sleep/rest diary?

    I really want to focus of the video to be about the actual journey of learning how to ring muscle up. I don't think I want it to be similar to other videos I've seen showing 30 day challenges. No obnoxious background music or annoying Youtuber style edits. I don't know. I'm just trying to figure out how to share/document this journey the best way possible. What do you guys think?

    submitted by /u/peasantsean
    [link] [comments]

    Core exercice to master planche

    Posted: 27 Mar 2020 02:59 AM PDT

    Hi everyone First of all I'm French so I'm sorry if my English is not perfect

    I'm trying to train planche and press to handstand for some weeks now and I feel the problem comes from my core which is not strength enough to maintain the position or raise my legs I'd like to know if you have some exercises to increase my core strength Thanks

    submitted by /u/vmcher
    [link] [comments]

    Form Check Friday for 2020-03-27

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 11:07 PM PDT

    As always, please give last week's thread a once over for any form checks that could use some feedback.


    All previous Form Check Fridays


    Without further ado, please post a video (or if you can only manage a photo for a static hold) of the move you'd like to be critiqued.

    Your video should be:

    • Oriented the correct way
    • Be formatted such that there isn't unnecessary video of you preparing for the move (keep it short)
    • Have the important bits of the movement clearly visible (multiple angles is always useful)
    • You may want to show a regression of the current exercise as well, but try to keep each video to one "set" of movements
    • Include the whole body
    • Of you

    Include in your post the following details:

    • Basic Details: (Age, Weight, Height)
    • What move you are attempting (be specific in regards to progressions
    • Indicate whether this is a max attempt (holds/reps), or specify what your current best performance is
    • Any specific questions you have about your form

    Rules for critiquing form

    • Constructive criticism only
    • You need to either be able to complete the move yourself, or have experience in training others to complete the move (no "I read an article on how to do these")
    • Feel free to point others to resources that address their form and/or questions if you aren't "qualified" to give them advice yourself

    If your form is awesome, consider posting it in the Show Off Sunday thread!

    If you dun goofed, consider posting the out-take in the Slip Up Saturday thread!

    Join our live chatroom on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Question about oap progression

    Posted: 26 Mar 2020 03:48 PM PDT

    One of my goals for 2020 is to get (or at least make progress towards) a one arm pull up. I'm 135lbs/61kg.

    I can do one controlled negative on each arm (~5 second descent) for 3 sets. However, my weighted pull ups are still pretty low. I can only do 5x6 with 33lbs/15kg (+25% bw).

    Some people here suggest getting weighted pull ups up to 50%bw before training the oap, but I'm worried my flimsy doorframe won't hold up with tons of weight. Would it be a good idea to start working the oap now, or should I wait to get stronger?

    I know there's no magic formula, but any advice about the oap is much appreciated.

    submitted by /u/billwill2
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment