Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-25 |
- BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-25
- Recommended Routine - Resistance Bands Version
- Back exercises without bars?
- Presenting BW GZCLP: a VDIP-ified version of r/BodyWeightFitness's Recommended Routine
- If you were a welding engineer and could fabricate any design of metal/wood contraption to fulfill all your BW excercises, what would it look like?
- Where do I start if I can't even do one rep?
- Comprehensive free 1-2 page PDF guide with pictures for full body routine during quarantine?
- might delete after, progress report
- Seriously starting calisthenics, what movements to aim for first?
- Hello, this is my first time really wanting to get into working out/exercising and it’s mostly due to the quarantine. Any tips on how to start a decent upper arm workout to get me going?
- IM SO HAPPY!
- Advice with muscle up grip issue.
- Skinny fat dude with only improvised equipment looking to lose weight and recomp
- Community Poll
- Beginner with injury asking for feedback and alternative excercises during recovery
- Archer pull ups hurt the right side of my upperchest/shoulder.
- Makeshift dumbell with weight plates and rings
- Backward Roll to Handstand Help
- Training for advanced pull movements
| BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-03-25 Posted: 24 Mar 2020 11:06 PM PDT Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!
Reminders:
For your reference we also have these weekly threads:
Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter! If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here. [link] [comments] |
| Recommended Routine - Resistance Bands Version Posted: 25 Mar 2020 06:26 AM PDT Hi all, I have developed a variation of the recommended routine that uses resistance bands, which I believe has some advantages over the original programme:
General notes:
Warm-up: Dynamic Stretches (5-10min)Follow the warm-up in the recommended routine. If you can't find somewhere to do arch hangs or support holds, replace them with something like the Vinyasa Flow sequence shown here. First Pair
Notes:
Second Pair
Notes:
Third Pair
Notes:
Fourth Pair
Notes:
Fifth Pair (Optional Extra)
Notes:
That's it! You're done! It's over! You did it![link] [comments] |
| Posted: 24 Mar 2020 03:01 PM PDT So here's the deal. First they came for my gym and I moved to a variant of the basic routine which I have now progressed to 6 sets of 8 for all of the movements, maxing out the beginner progression. Now they've closed even the parks. I can get dips, decline diamond pushups, high step-ups, and hinge patterns from home using furniture, but I 've tried every object in my small apartment and I have nothing to do the chin-ups and rows on. Doorway pullup bars are sold out everywhere and Amazon quoted me a delivery window of late April to mid-June. So, oh wise BWFers, what back work can I do without access to a pull-up bar? [link] [comments] |
| Presenting BW GZCLP: a VDIP-ified version of r/BodyWeightFitness's Recommended Routine Posted: 25 Mar 2020 09:16 AM PDT |
| Posted: 25 Mar 2020 07:50 AM PDT Title essentially. I have access to whatever metal/wood would be necessary. I am a welding engineer wthe the ability to ACAD, Fabricate, and Build whatever I want. I'd like it to fit in my basement if possible. Can anyone give me some ideas where to start? [link] [comments] |
| Where do I start if I can't even do one rep? Posted: 24 Mar 2020 03:15 PM PDT Hey! I'm about to start the Recommended Workout plan from this subreddit but if I can barely do one rep of the first progression of an exercise (ie: Scapular pulls for pull-ups), what should I do? Do I try to squeeze one rep and do that for the recommended amount of sets? Or does each exercise potentially have an even more basic progression that I should be able to hit 5 reps with? [link] [comments] |
| Comprehensive free 1-2 page PDF guide with pictures for full body routine during quarantine? Posted: 25 Mar 2020 08:29 AM PDT Hi, I am working as a psychologist in prison and we are preparing for Corona positive cases. For the prison environment that would mean, that some individuals will be put into quarantine - and as up to now it looks like they have to STAY in their cells 24/7. There is only so much I can try to provide, but one thing that is in dire need is things to occupy the mind and exercise the body... So I am looking for a
Thanks in advance! EDIT: Some clarifications. Obviously this is because they CANNOT ACCESS THE INTERNET...not officially [link] [comments] |
| might delete after, progress report Posted: 25 Mar 2020 11:59 AM PDT (my english is bad, sorry.) 18 years old i had rotator cuff injury, i couldnt do "external rotation" with my arm for like half a year and it hurt like hell for first two weeks. i was really depressed because i almost achieved front lever. ended up not working out for 2 years because i was too lazy to do exercises to fix my rotator cuff .. and went from 74kg to 95kg. before i had injury i was training too and was loving it, just not paying too much attention to warm up and correct form, very bad decision. i started working out again about 9 months ago, i started with easy exercises so i could strenghten my rotator cuff n stuff. when i felt i was ready, then i started to train shoulders and back again. right now i dont feel any pain and i feel better than ever, really happy about that. 9months ago 95kg picture : https://imgur.com/a/KXBhebz about 6months into training ( this is the leanest i`ve ever been ) : about 73-74kg front - https://imgur.com/a/9KPdBs7 back - https://imgur.com/a/AY4EUsF now i kinda have that extra fat ( deam.. i guess its time to slowly cut down, summer is comming after all) : 79kg front - https://imgur.com/a/N9XdP2Y back - https://imgur.com/a/eikf3Uw what do you think ? have i not gained any muscle after becoming more fat ? i mean my back, last two months i`ve been focusing on pull ups and went from 0 to 7 so there must be gains :D maybe its just really hard so notice with all that extra fat. i dont know if i even gained any muscle.. but i have definetly gained strenght, i keep doing progressive overload and adding weight and it works. my goal isnt to build muscle anymore, i mean it is but not so much, my main focus is to get those pull ups up to 15-20 and front lever shall be the first skill i`ll learn if someone asks, i can post pictures of my legs too, i do train them. nothing special really but i tought i`d post this since i see others do it as well, ehh, maybe i`ll learn something new, never know [link] [comments] |
| Seriously starting calisthenics, what movements to aim for first? Posted: 25 Mar 2020 06:40 AM PDT I've always wanted to be able to do more with my bodyweight, and there is no better time to try out new things than right now. I'm just wondering what should be the first advanced movement I should aim for (planche/handstand/etc.) or what exercises to do to strengthen certain parts of my core or other muscles to make these movements possible. I understand that I am months and maybe years away from tackling these things, but I'm just asking for tips. I am 160, 6ft, can do around 10 pull-ups and 30 push-ups in one go. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Mar 2020 12:11 PM PDT I'm mostly focusing on exercises that will help me build muscle on my upper arms as they are not very strong. Any tips will help, I am just having trouble with where to start. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 25 Mar 2020 12:07 PM PDT Today, I'm 100 pounds lighter than I was when I started my weight loss journey. My story is not one of overnight success. I didn't take a magic pill. My results were not from a fad diet or a product from an infomercial. My journey has been more like a roller coaster ride of trials, many errors, and a collection of small milestones along the way, eventually leading to more than I ever expected to gain. I was an unhappy girl with no self-esteem, trapped beneath baggy t-shirt and stretchy jeans and desperate to lose weight to just be normal. I had no idea that it would turn into a journey of self-discovery, freedom, and finding joy. Oh yeah, and 100-pound weight loss. YOU CAN DO THAT TOO: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1NMy78j2UMiMxZD6ZIwQjD3276v1OtMXTtXGjub3yZrY/edit?usp=sharing [link] [comments] |
| Advice with muscle up grip issue. Posted: 25 Mar 2020 11:57 AM PDT Recently I've started attempting the muscle up on rings. I've started slowly only attempting false grip pull-ups as well as holding myself up arms extended above rings. I just can't seem to get a good false grip. I've watched numerous videos and some say the ring should go across lower palm while some say to even let the ring rest on the bone. Regardless of either technique I can't maintain a strong grip with my hands/fingers closed around the rings. I can only seem to make a closed fist barely covering the rings. If I hold the rings closer to my chest I can maintain a strong grip, but as soon as I fully extend my arms I lose strength in my hands. I suspect this might have to do with flexibility and will need to practice simply hanging with false grips. Can anyone offer any advice on this issue? [link] [comments] |
| Skinny fat dude with only improvised equipment looking to lose weight and recomp Posted: 25 Mar 2020 08:31 AM PDT Hey everyone, reddit noob here, hopefully I don't mess up the formatting. So long story short I'm a 25 year old, 166cm (5'5), skinny fat dude weighing at roughly 73Kg (~160 pounds) wanting to do a body recomposition. Sure chose the best time to do this huh? Can't even go out without a paper saying you can. But anyway, for almost exactly a month now I've been focusing on what exercises I can do at home with basically no equipment roughly 4~5 days a week. I try to focus on proper form and range of motion as much as possible, even if that means doing less reps or having to do them slower. I'm looking for advice mostly, like if I'm doing something wrong or if I could add/replace exercises to hit other parts of the body since the gym is gonna be a no go for the next couple months at least probably. These are:
Because I've been able to do too many reps in a row of pushups, squats and calf raises to feel like I'm really progressing anymore, I filled a normal sized backpack with bricks. Brought down my pushup count from ~30 (for the first set, can't do 30 back to back) to 8-12 reps per set. Same goes with squats and calf raises, they start burning a lot quicker but not to the point I can't do enough reps to get things working nice and hard. I've thought about using the backpack or a single brick for isolation exercises like biceps curls and triceps extension. Thought about dips too but I feel like my triceps get enough work from the weighted pushups? I'm not sure if I should add them in. There has been a noticeable improvement muscle wise so far, my arms look fuller and more developed and my pecs are definitely quite a bit harder than they used to be. My thighs and calves haven't changed appearance wise I feel but the muscles are definitely harder too. My glutes, I have no idea if they changed at all honestly. Maybe hip hinges would help? Maybe I do the squats wrong? My poor thighs would beg to differ but who knows. Naturally I keep my nutrition in check. Mild caloric deficit with a protein focus. Seems to be working so far I think. Don't have protein powder but I think with the extra fat I got and 40~60g of protein per meal twice a day, I should be getting enough to support any growth my muscles want. Is that good enough for now for pseudo full body training or should I add more exercises or do different ones? I'm not sure what else I could do given the VERY limited space and resources I have. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 24 Mar 2020 02:08 PM PDT Polls are now an option for Reddit posts. We will be looking at whether we will activate this feature in the sub going forward. In the meantime, here is a test poll to see how y'all are doing. How has the pandemic changed your workout routine? P.S. Make sure to check out the [FAQ]( https://www.reddit.com/r/bodyweightfitness/wiki/faq) if you haven't explored the world of BWF before! [link] [comments] |
| Beginner with injury asking for feedback and alternative excercises during recovery Posted: 25 Mar 2020 03:23 AM PDT Hello guys. I would usually go to the dedicated thread for daily discussions but I think my situation requires a bit more input. I started the RR few weeks ago and got myself a tenis elbow pain. Due to the current lockdown, I am not going to a doctor and trying to manage it on my own. I use the advices from Antranik for this condition + I use Arnica cream which seems to lower the inflamation pretty well. Still, I think I will need several months to recover, which is really frustrating. What I did wrong is progressing faster than my body could cope and I got myself in trouble. I read some people cant do specific moves or exercises. My problem is that I feel pain doing everything - push ups/pull ups, rows and dips. I feel pain from L sit and Handstand as well, so skill workout is also out. Resting for a week(except rehab routine) was terrible and today I started alternative workout. I would like to receive feedback on the excercises I chose to do, which are basicaly lower body and perhaps lower back only. Any suggestions for more alternative exercises I can do are welcome! In case you had tenis elbow before, share your experience and recovery. Here is what I did today: Warm up + Excercises for rehabilitation and strengtening forearm extensors Skill: A bit clueless what I can do for skill workout, didnt do anything today. Perhaps dragon flag progressions?
Wall Slides Hollow Body Hold Arch Ups 3. Sliding Leg Curls Reverse Hyperextentions [link] [comments] |
| Archer pull ups hurt the right side of my upperchest/shoulder. Posted: 24 Mar 2020 06:35 PM PDT Surprisingly archer's were quite easy for me. I expected them to be harder than reps of 60 pounds weighted. The only issue I'm having is when I extend my right arm straight, I feel pain in my shoulder. Is this a mobility issue? I wanted to incorporate archer's to try and maintain my weighted pull up strength, but I'm not going to risk getting an injury. Should I just go with OAP negatives instead? [link] [comments] |
| Makeshift dumbell with weight plates and rings Posted: 25 Mar 2020 02:46 AM PDT So I searched online on how to do a Zanetti press and found a picture that I have trouble finding again were they basically tied weight plates using fabric to their rings as makshift dumbells. So if you bought a pair of rings and have some weight plates you basically have a set of adjustable dumbells. Stability might be an issue if you're trying to over head press it but might not be a bad thing to mimick the shoulder instability of ring handstand push ups for exemple. For any assitance excercises like biceps curls or tricep extensions it becomes easier to overload. Hope this helps some of you ! [link] [comments] |
| Backward Roll to Handstand Help Posted: 24 Mar 2020 03:41 PM PDT Title, I'm trying to learn it and after a lot of tries I'm not making any progress. I either roll backwards too fast or I can't get my hands to push upwards or in the right direction, sometimes I hit my head as well which isn't cool. I can HSP, HSPU and basically control my Handstand so I'm not a beginner. Looking for any advice, thanks in advance [link] [comments] |
| Training for advanced pull movements Posted: 24 Mar 2020 02:00 PM PDT If I want to learn the one arm pull-up, front lever, and improve pullups in general, should I do 1 front lever workout per week, one pull-up and weighted pull-up workout per week, and one one arm pull-up workout per week, or should I incorporate all three into each workout? Thanks. [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from Reddit's Bodyweight Fitness Community. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment