• Breaking News

    Friday, July 30, 2021

    Weight loss: Yesterday I tried on a bikini and for the first time ever, loved how I looked. Today I noticed a change in habit

    Weight loss: Yesterday I tried on a bikini and for the first time ever, loved how I looked. Today I noticed a change in habit


    Yesterday I tried on a bikini and for the first time ever, loved how I looked. Today I noticed a change in habit

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 11:30 AM PDT

    I have a pool party in two days. Yesterday I tried on a bikini, and for the first time ever, I loved how I looked in it. I actually thought, "I look fucking hot".

    This moment finally came after about 6 months of actively trying to lose weight and love my body again. I stopped the restrictive diets and focused on changing my habits and changing them sustainably in a way that still makes me happy:

    When I need that dopamine kick: DON'T get stoned and UberEats a massive sandwich. INSTEAD get stoned and make a little plate with salami, olives, cheese, fruit and vegetables.

    When I feel lazy and sad: DON'T get stoned and eat whatever you want. INSTEAD drink a coffee (still a mood-altering substance for when I feel I need to escape) and lie in bed and scroll Reddit. I can be indulgent and lazy without getting high and binge eating. That way I can still go on a run later instead of being okay with napping all day.

    When I am feeling terrible about my bloated, water-retaining physical state: DON'T wear clothes that I don't really like or binge eat because "I don't like how I look right now anyway". INSTEAD drink MORE water! Wear nice outfits and do my hair and makeup! If I fake feeling good, I usually end up feeling a bit cuter. Also: people don't notice 4 pounds of water bloat. So I won't act like they do.

    Anyway, these small habits have actually made a huge difference. Maybe it's not so much actually changing the habits but recognizing patterns in mood and behaviour that lead to them. And because of that, I've lost about 15 pounds since February and I feel like this time it could be here to stay. I'm excited for the pool, for the first time ever. Wish me luck!!

    EDIT: wow this blew up way more than I thought!!! I'm so touched reading all your comments and what little tricks work for you guys as well. The pool party is tomorrow night lol and I'm scared I'm going to still feel self conscious. But you're only as hot as you think you are so I'm gonna go in THINKING IM THE SHIT haha. You guys helped so much!!! 😭😭😭

    submitted by /u/cowsmilk1994
    [link] [comments]

    Shout it from the rooftops- weight loss isn’t always linear and it shouldn’t be fast

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 04:04 AM PDT

    A reminder if you need it.

    1. Rapid dramatic weight loss might feel really good in the short term, but it generally comes from drastic lifestyle change, is that lifestyle change sustainable? Are you super restricted and planning on moving to more calories once you reach your goal? If you don't think you can maintain the changes you've made for the rest of your life, the weight will come back on.

    2. Human bodies fluctuate, we are driven by hormones and our environments and circumstances can have real impact on our endocrine systems, increased cortisol levels because you had a shit day at work? That will have an impact, woke up in the night? That will have an impact. Give yourself a 6lb bracket around your "ideal" weight for those natural fluctuations, don't sweat the small spikes, your body is amazing and is running on a system built to be responsive. If you are a person who has periods - TRACK YOUR CYCLE and really get to know your body. Information is everything, you can be banging your head against a wall not understanding why you are not loosing weight in any way that makes sense, spoiler alert - it's probably your period (worth a watch)

    3. Yes CICO works and there are (patronising) CICO purists who just say "just count it - nothing else matters" but it's so reductive, you are a beautiful, complex, flawed, ace person and not just an energy exchange with legs - don't sweat it, if you go over your kcals for the day, use all that you've learned to inform the next day, you've got to know your self better. It's really important to maintain a deficit, but if you don't manage it for a day or 2, don't see it as failure and a free pass to think fuck it, I've already failed, might as well binge and go waaaay over, equally, don't then restrict to a dangerous degree to earn those kcals back. I remember in the beginning not eating an apple because it put me 30kcals over my goal on MFP… eat the fucking apple.

    4. Progress paused is not progress lost. When I first started intentionally loosing weight, it was all quite rapid, it was maybe only 8 weeks in and I dropped 30lbs and felt preeeetty smug, then the wheels came off a little bit, the next 20lbs have taken me a year to lose, and I'm totally ok if takes me another year or 18months to lose my last 20lbs. I shifted my expectations, I no longer saw it as a failure if I didn't lose 2/3+ lbs a week. I have had 6month periods where I've not lost anything, but my body has changed, my relationship to my body has changed, I've not dropped a dress size but I have run 10 miles, I took some selfies that made me feel good, I ate some food that nourished me. When I wasn't losing weight as fast as I wanted previously, I was a little angry woman whose anxiety was through the roof and lacked any perspective. Focus on the progress you've made overall and celebrate the slightly more esoteric victories. I'm well on my way to lifelong, sustainable weight loss, if it's going to be forever, isn't it ok that it takes a while to get there?

    There isn't a single situation in life that is all or nothing, why does the journey to being healthier have to be? Your sense of achievement doesn't have to be defined but pre-set notions of success. Your journey will look different to mine and your timescale will be different but I'm proud of how far we've come, even if you're reading this and it's the first day you've ever tried to get in shape: you're mint and you've got this.

    TL:DR- be kind to yourself, celebrate your wins even if they aren't related to numbers on a scale and don't rush to lose weight.

    submitted by /u/BheagSelkie
    [link] [comments]

    Lost 50+ pounds in 4 months; what I have learned.

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 07:35 AM PDT

    20M, 6'1, 211 pounds. On March 19th I weighed 265 pounds. Goal Weight: 187 pounds

    Might be a long read, I will try to keep it short because I plan on posting my whole journey at my goal weight.

    Calorie Deficit

    I fucking wish I had known about this when I was younger (I learned about CICO when I was 19, WTF!), I have been trying to lose weight since I was 13 years old. Being fat has held me back my whole life and fucked me so bad, given me social anxiety I have absolutely no fond memories of high school because I was so fucked in the head from being insecure and fat and anxious. Sorry, didn't mean to get too deep but I am finally longing for a social life now, now that my confidence is slowly rebuilding (very convenient a pandemic hits, huh, wow I am in shambles).

    CICO is the key to weight loss. Weight loss is 90% CICO, 10% exercise, not even a debate.

    Mental Health

    Should be no surprises here if you read the above paragraph.

    Ok, this might be depressing but I have experienced little to no mental health benefits. I'm still insecure as fuck and hate my self-image, that said I am a little more confident. I don't think I'll know my true confidence until I hit my goal weight or my desired physique. I think I may have some slight body dysmorphia for sure.

    Physical Health/Changes

    I definitely notice physical changes, I still have a stomach and tits, but they are significantly smaller than they were. Before and after (after photos are kind of old, I was 220ish); https://imgur.com/a/QQTqgon

    As for the face gains, very minimal change, hopefully, that gets better closer to my goal weight, I know body fat % has a great impact on face gains.

    I also had chest pains near my heart (required a cardiologist, blood tests, multiple EKGs, multiple Holter monitors and a stress test) and frequent heartburn at 265 pounds. Both have basically disappeared and I am in the clear, doctors are proud of me, so much damn stress for absolutely nothing.

    With this weight loss, my tits are a little smaller so I have been trying to correct my back and neck posture, I always hunched to hide my man boobs but am a little more confident to stand taller now. Proper posture is very attractive in my opinion, even if it means your tits pop out a little more.

    Underestimated my goal weight

    I way, way underestimated my goal weight. I made a post in this subreddit celebrating my transition from 'obese' to overweight and I said my goal weight was 200 pounds. I can confidently say I want to get to 187 pounds or lower. I am still unsure what my goal weight is though, there are so many factors to take into account like body fat %, skinny fat and my own mental satisfaction with how I look.

    187 pounds will be my goal weight, but that doesn't mean I'll be happy with how my body looks, I will eventually start bulking and cutting or doing some kind of body recomposition for a leaner physique. Nothing can ever be easy for fat people huh.

    I have weight-loss privilege

    Men and tall men, be grateful! I have been in a, roughly, 1000kcal deficit for 4 months and I can sustain it because my maintenance calories are so damn high thanks to being young, a man, and tall. Losing weight for me has been relatively easy and fast, but, older, smaller and women/people have it much harder than us (Yes, I am eating plenty of protein and very regularly lift weights to maintain muscle mass while I am in this deficit).

    Tall people's weight loss is less noticeable

    I have learned that weight loss is significantly less noticeable in tall people because there is a more even distribution of fat across a larger area of the body, making fat loss look minimal (fat loss is very noticeable on smaller people). I have had very few people notice my weight loss (whether they feel awkward bringing it up, I don't know), waiting for the paper towel effect to kick in lmao! If you are tall and don't see much change, none of us do! Just keep plugging along.

    How on Earth did I get so fat?

    I truly wonder how I got to the weight I was. My maintenance calories at 250 pounds were almost 3000kcal a day, I now eat 1700kcal a day, and sometimes STRUGGLE to get to 1700. How the fuck was I eating more than 3000 calories a day when I got to 265!?

    My next and final post will be at my goal weight, giving my whole story and what I did, in detail, and how my life has changed. I am hoping these last 25 pounds change me for the best.

    submitted by /u/DickGrayson123
    [link] [comments]

    What to do if I don’t want to count calories for the rest of my life

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 04:57 PM PDT

    Ok, here's the thing. I successfully lost about 25 lbs several years ago by using MyFitnessPal and logging everything. I also was doing strength training and roller skating. It was…fine. I ate mostly the same foods as before (mostly avoided rice because it's so calorie dense and not filling), though I ate a lot more frozen dinners because I didn't want to weigh everything while cooking. I did sometimes cook simple things and weigh them.

    I then had some stressful stuff happen and took a break that never ended. Then health problems, antidepressant side effects, etc. and I've gained a bunch more weight since then. I am getting a handle on things now and would like to give weight loss another go.

    It wasn't like psychologically distressing to count calories but it was tedious and limiting. It made it hard to do things like share food with friends and family or go on dates, not even because I had to eat less but because I had to be able to measure everything I ate. While I don't mind tracking things for a while I don't want it to be something I have to do forever.

    I see 2 ideas consistently come up on this sub:

    1. CICO is best. You have to track calories. (I don't want to do keto or give up whole food categories so limiting my overall amount of food seems like the best strategy anyway.)
    2. You can't just diet for a period of time and stop; you have to make changes you'll keep up for the rest of your life.

    Anyway, how do you reconcile these two ideas in a way that's not "weigh everything you eat that's not a frozen dinner for the rest of your life"? Are there methods to get better at estimating how much food you should be eating for a given meal and adding that up? Especially if they're not centered around calories but maybe some other unit of measurement; that's not a requirement though.

    The idea that I'm entering into some sort of commitment to count everything that goes in my mouth until I die is really making me not want to start trying at all. What does it look like to maintain weight loss without constantly having to count things?

    submitted by /u/BeauteousMaximus
    [link] [comments]

    Is a 200 calorie deficit enough to make changes?!

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 02:45 PM PDT

    Okay for context I am 5'5, 144 pounds. I don't have a "goal weight" in mind, just to be happy/leaner. Anyways, my first issue is that I cannot figure out how many calories to eat, my second is to make sure that I eat enough that I don't pass out at work!

    I work outside in the heat most days and my activity level at work varies. Even before dieting, I was prone to dehydration/low blood sugar and getting dizzy. Some days, carrying equipment up and down stairs, others, lots of walking or sitting in my car. I aim to lift weights 2 times a week. My Fitbit can say I've burned 2100-2300 calories a day, which seems too high! Online says 1900. Lately, I've been eating 1750 give or take which I guess brings me to a 200ish calorie deficit. I haven't felt dizzy, actually pretty good. I am scared to go lower for reasons above, but I want results. On weekends I am more loose with diet, maybe to 1900. It's been 2-3 weeks and I feel like nothing has happened. Am I doing this right?! Is -200 enough? Man…idk what I'm doing.

    submitted by /u/bigoof8197
    [link] [comments]

    Binged on junk food today. Quitting smoking was so much easier!

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 10:15 PM PDT

    Ugh, I was doing SO WELL this week, you guys. I was eating all the right foods- lots and lots of vegetables, some fruits, lean protein, a small bit of carbs, and yes, even a sweet or two. The healthy eating not only made me feel so much better - improving my mood, focus and stamina, I was also seeing the numbers move in the right direction on the scale.

    Enter today (Thursday actually, since it's early Friday AM as I type this now) to ruin everything. I had a bit of a stressful thing that needed addressing this morning, and I think that just triggered a day of uncontrolled binge eating. Nothing I ate was green. I even had fast food, which I have otherwise successfully avoided for two weeks. Eating all that left me feeling disgusting, disappointed and angry.

    After all was said and done, I calculated my caloric intake for the day and I had consumed 3,400 calories. Wow. Despite the high number, from a purely CICO standpoint, I achieved the mission today. As a 291-pound male, my BMR is 2,500 calories/day. That would still put me at a 900 cal surplus, but I got a nice amount of activity in today: a 10K run, 4 miles of purposeful walking, and a bit of incidental walking. My Apple Watch says I burned 3,100 active calories for the day, which would put me in a 2,200 calorie deficit. So again, based on the CICO approach, mission accomplished. But for me this journey is also about learning healthy eating habits, and I certainly took a few steps back today.

    I'm proud of myself for getting a lot of activity in and reversing (calorically) the negative food decisions I made today, but I'm disappointed that I filled my body up with garbage food. I shouldn't be trying to "outrun a bad diet".

    Tomorrow is a new day and I'm definitely going to reset with the right foods again. I'm posting this here so that I can refer to this later on when I get the urge to binge on crap food. Note to future self: IT IS NOT WORTH IT. If I can quit a 9-year cigarette habit totally cold turkey and remain smoke free for 3 years, I can quit junk food too.

    submitted by /u/brownstonebk
    [link] [comments]

    Food obsession and portion control

    Posted: 30 Jul 2021 12:48 AM PDT

    I know everyone loves food but for me it seems extreme. 75% of my thoughts on a daily basis tend to be about food. What I want to eat tonight. What I want to eat tomorrow. That amazing meal I had 3 days ago. That one restaurant in town I really want to try. That delicious microwaveable snack I have in the freezer (actually I think I'll go make that right now.)

    The thing is, once I stuff my face and feel bloated, I always feel some sort of regret. For example, about a week ago I really wanted Mexican food, so I went to a local pickup place, and REALLY couldn't decide on two different things. I was so hungry and they both looked so good. Plus I had been thinking about it for at least an hour. I ended up getting them both. Both were giant portions, and you bet I ate every single bite. It was probably around 2000 calories total, possibly more. Afterwards I felt extremely full and bloated and felt ashamed for getting two entrees instead of one. I told myself next time I will only get one and that I've learned my lesson. Well, last night I went to the same place again. And guess what, I got two entrees. AGAIN. And I ate them both, AGAIN. And just like the first time, I felt very full and bloated and told myself I've learned my lesson for REAL this time.

    Just looking for any general advice really. Both for portion sizes and being less obsessed with food. I'm scared of repeating this cycle forever.

    I'm 28M 6'1" 220lbs which on paper doesn't look horrible but I gain ALL my weight in my mid section, not to mention my weight has been trending up way too quickly for my liking. My goal is to get between 190-195 and maintain.

    submitted by /u/s0be1
    [link] [comments]

    I'm tired of being fat, and I hate how I look

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 11:12 PM PDT

    Hello,

    What is TDE? How do I figure out my TDE (I've been seeing TDE a lot, and I know it has something to do with calories. I've been struggling with my weight for years and I am currently the largest I've ever been, and I hate being this way. Who can I go to to find out what amount of calories can I eat, what supplements to take, what food to it,etc. because I'm tired of struggling to lose weight. I've tried, keto but it isn't sustainable for me, I tried to be pescatarian and made no progress, now I'm I've been on calorie deficit for months and have gained weight like crazy. I'm at my wits end.

    submitted by /u/Head-Sail-9856
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: July 30th, 2021

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 10:22 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences :)

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    How do i get back on track?

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 07:40 PM PDT

    Long story short something bad happened and i turned to food again for comfort. I used to treat my diet like this "i love working out and to do it better i have to get in shape". Well, unfortunately i tore my acl so i wont be able to run and the gym is closed so no more weight lifting either. So motivation is low right now but earlier i tried to put on my shorts and it doesn't fit anymore! And i need to get back on track. My issue is definitely stress eating. Therapy is not possible right now because the covid in my country has gotten really bad again so pretty much everything is closed. Please i need advice/reassurance or tell me if you've experienced something like this too. Thankyou!

    submitted by /u/a2nier
    [link] [comments]

    Did you tell people when you started losing weight? If so, who?

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 04:21 PM PDT

    I'm at the very beginning of my journey now at my highest ever weight (240.6). I'm 18F and live with my mom. I'm thinking of telling her but we aren't very close and she has always been very... opinionated, to say the least. I want to share what I'm doing with her so I can openly celebrate my wins on the scale, but I don't want her to constantly comment on what I'm eating (yes even the healthy stuff) and make me uncomfortable even when she doesn't mean it. I'm mostly just scared she'll think I'm asking for her advice when I just want her to know I'm doing it at all. I don't have friends and I'm even less close with my Dad, so she's the only option I really have.

    Did you share with the people close to you when you started losing weight or did you wait until you'd made visible progress and someone brought it up? Thanks!

    (I'm thinking of starting Noom! I tried CICO but I've had a restrictive ED before and I want this to be sustainable and never gain it back.)

    submitted by /u/glossy_bear
    [link] [comments]

    Looking for advice regarding TDE and activity levels

    Posted: 30 Jul 2021 12:55 AM PDT

    I'm a 27 year old female, 5'4, 66kg, home office worker

    My bmr is around 1300, when I account for exercise my TDE comes out as 2100

    The exercise in question is 3 hours of intense weight lifting a week plus 4 miles of cycling per week

    Most days my step count is low because I work from home, but higher on weekends

    I'm also a fidgeter and can't sit still for more than 10 mins.

    Does my TDE sound realistic?

    My daily calorie intake is between 1600 and 1700 so should be in a deficit..

    Just looking for advice really, or encouragement that I'm on the right track!

    Ultimately I want to lose around 10kgs, but given it took me 5 years to gain the weight I'm happy for it to take a year to lose it

    submitted by /u/bottleblonde21
    [link] [comments]

    Post weight loss flab and chronic illness. How do I build muscle?

    Posted: 30 Jul 2021 01:38 AM PDT

    I'm an underweight, short (152- 43) female with very weak muscles and a high body fat percentage. I have adrenal fatigue and fatty liver disease so it is really difficult for me to walk and exercise. At one point I could not walk and had to literally sit down every minute or else I felt like I was going to faint from the pain in my body. I am currently on medications and even though my health is improving, I cannot exercise for long.

    My weight fluctuated between 66 kilograms (28 bmi for me) and 37 kilograms depending on my liver health. I've lost and gained the same kilograms three times the past five years and my body looks different each time, less and less toned.

    I probably lost a lot of weight and muscle after I gave birth to my daughter. 44 lbs since December. She's only 13 lbs 13 oz and holding her for more than 1 minute makes me want to cry because my whole body hurts.

    How do I start lifting weights and what do I need to do to tone my body, I am really confused because I am underweight and still have a lot of fat, more fat than the first two times I lost weight, so technically do I not need to be in a deficit to lose it? But with weight lifting I would need to eat more.

    With strength training is it okay to start with my body weight and gradually increase? How many times a week? I don't know what to do or where to start.

    submitted by /u/pillsandashes
    [link] [comments]

    Does anyone else feel like they started gaining weight after they became aware of what weight and stuff was?

    Posted: 30 Jul 2021 12:01 AM PDT

    When I was 11-12 I was pretty overweight for a kid, I think I was about 170-180, so my parents let this woman put me on a diet, the showed me shows like "my 500 pound life" saying that was going to be me one day, we counted calories and nothing was left out, I measured cereal out, and had to get the exact amount of sauces that were in a serving (like getting only 1tbs of peanut butter), and it worked, I lost weight. But then we moved away from her and I was on my own, my parents didn't help and I was left with all this information about calories, and was aware more than ever that I had a body, and ended up gaining 50 pounds by the time was 15, it feels like I'm just making exuses, my highest weight was 245 and I'm 200 now, but I don't have a healthy relationship with food and I don't think I ever will.

    submitted by /u/laciro349
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 29

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 06:28 PM PDT

    Hello losers,

    Thursday Thursday Thursday. It's hot & my skin is pissed off about existing as epidermis.

    Weigh in daily, enter in Libra & remove moral judgement/stigma/shame directed at yourself about it: Logged this morning. Progress over perfection. Having a streak of really not digging the scale lately. Please remember to be kind to yourself. You are more than the number on the scale & your weight is not tied to what you are worth as a person.

    1800 calories (tracking in 5-day cycles, Friday/Saturday at maintenance): Got it today. Hard little unripe stone fruit making me sad. STILL. Someone come sing to the unripe peaches.

    Exercise 5 days a week: 30 minute lunch walk & vigorous errands. 24/29 days.

    Alone time to word vomit into journal: Going to make time for this after dinner.

    Todays gratitude list: Today I'm grateful for active wear crop tops (really nice way to not wear a bra), new loofah sponges, Tiktok for making me laugh & the box of reclaimed organic (ugly) produce that comes to my door.

    Your turn kids!

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    [Century Club] July 29, 2021 - Have you lost or need to lose 100 lbs or more? Here’s a thread just for you!

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 07:53 PM PDT

    I have often welcomed those who have lost 100+ lbs (~ 50 kg , ~7 stone) to "the club" and joked that club meetings were on Thursdays. I recently suggested that we try out having a regular weekly thread to talk about issues that are particular to those who have lost 100+ lbs, those who are well on their way and those who are just at the beginning of a journey this big.

    Welcome back to the Century Club! Each week I will provide a topic of the day that has been on my mind or inspired by previous posts. However you are free to talk about any topics you think might be relevant to current and prospective club members.

    Previous Topics: Accountability - Elevator Pitches - (Half-)Marathon Training - Celebrations - Water Weight - Comments - Travel - Disconnects - Activity - Years! - Fun! - Rhythms - How strict? - Relationships - Loose Skin Redux - Multiple Centuries - April Fools! - What didn't work? - Milestones - Seasonal changes - Is it worth it? - Surprising Food Facts - Mistakes were made - Time to Vent - Relief Valves - Seeing Objectively - Tips you hate - Fear and Self-Loathing - Starting - 2020 recap


    ** Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes... **

    Sorry for the delayed post today, I'm in the final throes of moving in with my partner of almost 3 years and even though I saved a draft of this week's post last Sunday, I just didn't get a chance to post it until now.

    This past Saturday I had the unthinkable happen. I had to go pick up my 17 year old son at his mom's house, the house in which my family and I lived from mid-2009 to early-2018. His car had a flat and the tires wouldn't be able to be installed until Tuesday. He was running late, and because of the move I was driving a borrowed pickup truck to come pick him up.

    My ex-wife, the woman whom I lived with for 32 years, was pulling out of her garage bay while I was waiting for our 17 year old to come out. I saw her garage door open while I was waiting and so moved the truck a bit so I wasn't blocking her and got out of the truck since it was hot AF.

    She took a long while to pull her car out of her garage. but when she did I gave her a polite little wave. She lowered her window and asked me "if she could help me" and "what my business was parking there."

    Of course I told her that "I was there to pick up <son's name>" and that "he was still my son." She hurriedly said "I didn't recognize you", rolled up her window and drove away. Of course because of the borrowed vehicle there was some missing context.

    But, yes, the woman with whom I shared a house, a bed, and two kids for decades -- literally over half of our lives -- didn't actually recognize me and because of that lack of recognition those were the first and only words she has said directly to me since mid-2018.

    After that my son still hadn't come out and a neighbor I had known from 2009-2018 walked by, She was also surprised, but engaged me in conversation for a bit and said that I looked at most 45 years old instead of my 54 years on this planet.

    I recently celebrated 25 years of working with many of the same people and they all still recognize me. So I'm really not sure whether to feel proud of my accomplishments or sad that I spent so many years not being "me".

    So what about you Centurion? Have you had any situations where someone you once knew well really can't recognize you? Do you look younger than your actual age or are the wrinkles from loose skin conspiring against you... Inquiring minds want to know...

    submitted by /u/SmilingJaguar
    [link] [comments]

    What are everybody’s incentives for reaching their goal or celebrating along the way?

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 09:52 AM PDT

    I have two:

    I have a jar on my desk that started with cash I got from selling some old music equipment in January. For every 10 pounds I lose towards my goal I put a $20 in the jar, and when I hit my goal I'm going to buy the cute but expensive workout clothes I've always wanted but didn't think I had "the figure" for them. I'm the worst about never wanting to spend money on myself, especially on clothes. So I know for me personally, having money set aside specifically for this purpose that I've worked my way to save would help me avoid any guilt I normally feel.

    I've also set a goal of being active and closing all three Apple Watch rings every day for a year, and at the end of that year I'm spending a whole day at a spa just relaxing and enjoying zero responsibility for my husband or daughter.

    But I was curious what other people are using!

    submitted by /u/theinfamousharvey
    [link] [comments]

    My Main Issue is Being Consistent

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 09:43 PM PDT

    Hi,

    I'm 21F and I've struggled with body image issues since I was about 11. Back then I wasn't even over weight, but I become more aware of thinness being the ideal and that's when my very toxic mindset began. Back then I knew nothing about counting calories, instead I'd just starve myself at school and then exercise for hours after school. I guess over the years the restriction has caused me to develop two different mentalities: 1) can't binge if I don't eat and 2) I have to eat all of the bad food at once so I won't be tempted later.

    Due to a knee surgery in 2019 and a following post-op infection and like 5 months of recovery, I wasn't able to workout and I gained a decent amount of weight. I got back on track and was consistently losing and I felt pretty comfortable in my body but this year I gained 20 pounds. It feels like the harder I try to lose, the more I gain. I know I need to be in a calorie deficit, but the longer I maintain it the worse I feel about it and the more mentally exhausting it becomes. I don't know how to be consistent about it.

    I also know that I'm not eating enough of the right things, I'm deficient in several vitamins and minerals including iron, vitamins A/C/D, potassium, and a few others. I take multi-vitamins to help combat it and I think I need to take iron pills as I've cut out red meat and pork from my diet. I guess my main point is that I know what I need to do, but I just can't do it or keep up with it.

    submitted by /u/Infinite_Bath8231
    [link] [comments]

    I finally figured out why shorts ride up, and how to get it to stop!

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 10:39 AM PDT

    I've always hated wearing shorts because I have thick thighs and they would ride up. It never mattered what my weight was; overweight, underweight, or healthy weight, my shorts always rode up. Lately, I've been working on my core and really making sure that my core is truly engaged when I'm walking around, not just when I'm working out, and now my shorts don't ride up anymore! I haven't lost weight, and my thighs and ass are not slimmer. It just turns out that I was so lax with my core that my lower back was swaying and that's why my shorts were riding up for the 29 years I've been alive. The skin on my inner thighs is thanking me for finally paying attention.

    tl/dr: engaging your core and keeping good posture will keep your shorts from bunching!

    submitted by /u/hufflepuffbeater
    [link] [comments]

    HELP

    Posted: 30 Jul 2021 02:11 AM PDT

    Last year I started 80kg and went 67kg in April this year. Since last month I've been eating a lot of fast foods and unhealthy foods more than I can burn. I've gained more than 5kg and I can't stop. My weight goal is 65 and my weight now is 72 and keeps going higher.

    Everyday I begin my day with motivation but when it's lunch time I can't win over my mind and always end up in McDonald or KFC. And at the end of the day I'm always feeling guilty and this has been repeating for over a month. I need someone to straight up call me a fata** and give me solid advice right now. I want to get serious

    submitted by /u/MrSenpaiHD
    [link] [comments]

    How do I learn to be patient?

    Posted: 30 Jul 2021 01:55 AM PDT

    Hi everyone! For context I am F20, 5'1 and 145lbs (GW: 120lbs)

    I was overweight most of my life, and last year during the lockdown in my city, I lost around 44lbs and got to around 132lbs. I basically did low carb and didn't track anything, it seemed like the weight just fell off, and I suddenly had to learn how to accept compliments about my appearance etc. I actually found the change in perception from other people of me slightly disturbing, but flattering nonetheless. I think I went into my weight loss journey super naive. I did a lot of walking but didn't exercise a lot and I didn't know how much I was eating. In reality, I was probably eating anywhere between 1200 to 1800 calories a day. I started a new semester of university this term and started working a full-time job. I found I was so much more hungry than before and was binging after work as I hadn't eaten enough during the day. I did my best to eat to a low carb diet but also neglected my chronic health issues (I'm a type one diabetic). basically, I was just neglecting myself totally and felt so out of control. When I was first losing weight I had nearly perfect BGL control and slowly my numbers crept up my last test was flagged with a doctor for potential complications down the track. I put a large chunk of the weight back on- I think around 15lbs (can't be sure as I only weighed myself this week after losing a bit)

    I have been researching calorie deficits, macros etc and I find it quite clear and obvious that its the best option for losing weight, I think in the last 4 weeks or so I've lost about 5lbs (I've gotten over my fear of the scale so will be more accurate now, I have a feeling it might be a bit more lost with accounting for water weight). But the main issue I have had is fear of overeating. I am using the loseit app to track my calories, and my goal is approx 1500 calories per day. I exercise a fair bit- I run 3 times a week and go to the gym as well as walking a lot. My TDEE says my maintenance at my height and weight is 2143, so 1500 is a 643 calorie deficit. But I am eating sometimes under 1200 calories a day, mainly because I am scared that my tracking is inaccurate and I'm overeating. I find it really difficult to trust the process, eat enough and not fear the result. I weigh most things but I still find it so hard to trust what I'm doing. I think I am scared that people will notice I have put some weight back on and I want to lose it as fast as possible, but that neglect put me in this situation anyway!

    I am glad to be back on track and on a positive path to being healthy, I just neeeeeed tips to help me be patient and trust the process.

    Thanks for reading, I know it's a long post but you're all so smart and have so much to say that i need to hear.

    Thanks :))

    submitted by /u/tinystupid
    [link] [comments]

    I know what to do to lose it, I just can’t figure my calorie goal??

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 08:06 PM PDT

    I'm a 27F, 5'7", 195 pounds. I've been trying to lose weight for awhile now (GW 160) but I haven't truly committed to it. I'm that person who blows up their calories on the weekend and I wonder why I haven't dropped a pound after a month. I love dessert, alcohol and going out with friends. I know what to do to lose the weight, I just don't do it how it should be done.

    So here I am, blown away I've gained another 10 pounds since October, and I'm officially done.

    I've calculated my BMR, TDEE, macros, in the past, but with my track record of fucking up, I'd like to get it right this time, and I'd love some advice!

    The one thing I'm good at is working out. I lift 4-5x a week, ride my peloton 3x a week, and I try to hit 7,000 steps on those days I go to the gym. But on days like today when i just do peloton (or a rest day), I'm at 2,000 steps and that's it. When it's winter and beautiful out, I usually walk to the gym and around the neighborhood so steps are easier for me then.

    So. When I calculate my TDEE am I sedentary? Or am I light activity? Sedentary maintenance calories is 1,983. BMR is 1,652. And tdeecalculator.com says a cut would mean I'm eating 1,483 calories… or 169 calories under my BMR. Is that normal?? Their light exercise says a TDEE of 2,272 and it recommends eating 1,772 calories.

    I also tried macros on Precision Nutrition which has me at 1,870 calories a day. I marked down my job as sedentary but with moderate activity.

    That's a huge difference between the two and I have no idea what I should do. The last time I screwed up my calories I ended up bulking (went from 145 to 167 in a matter of months - combo of muscle and fat) and I want to avoid that at all costs.

    If anyone has any input, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thank you!

    submitted by /u/pursuitofwilderness
    [link] [comments]

    Free Talk Friday for 30 July 2021 - Come Talk About Anything!

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Happy Friday everyone! Free Talk Friday is a free discussion post. Come talk about anything you want, whether it's health/fitness related or not.

    So tell us, what's on your mind today? Any fun plans for the weekend?

    (Credit to u/HermionesBook for running these in the past.)

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Friday, 30 July 2021: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 29 Jul 2021 10:01 PM PDT

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    * Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?

    * Did you log for an entire week? or year?

    * Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?

    * Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!

    ---

    On Reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily most the most read, most used, most interesting post on r/loseit by redding, commenting, and participating often!

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment