• Breaking News

    Monday, June 28, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-28

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-28


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-06-28

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    I re-recorded the complete Recommended Routine in one video

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 04:15 AM PDT

    For some time I wanted to give back to the awesome bwf community. After a couple of questions and posts in here asking for a complete video with the progressions of the Recommended Routine I decided to go over the Beginner to Intermediate progressions and record them, this time adjusting a couple of forms given the feedback I receved from my last video.

    Here is the complete routine video

    The progressions covered in the video are the following

    Pull Progression

    • Scapular pulls
    • Active hang
    • Pull-up negatives
    • Pullups

    Squat Progression

    • Air squat
    • Split squat
    • Bulgarian split squat
    • Shrimp squat
    • Step up
    • Pistol Squat

    Dip Progression

    • Parallel bar support hold
    • Dip negatives
    • Dips

    Hinge Progression

    • Romanian deadlift
    • Single leg deadlift
    • Banded nordic curl negative
    • Banded nordic curl
    • Nordic curl

    Row Progression

    • Incline row
    • Horizontal row
    • Wide rows

    Push Progression

    • Vertical pushup
    • Incline pushup
    • Pushup
    • Diamond pushup
    • Pike Pushup / Elevated Feet Pushup

    Core Triplet

    • Antiextension Progression
    • Anti-Rotation progression
    • Extension progression

    ----

    I'm planning on doing an "Easier progression RR" video afterwards, let me know if that is something you would me interested in!

    submitted by /u/_javierivero
    [link] [comments]

    Losing body fat

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 03:23 AM PDT

    So guys, I've been eating at a calorific deficit of 500 calories for the past two weeks. It's seems to be working as my weekly average weight has gone from 81.74kg to 81.21kg - which is around 1Ib per week. However, I was wondering how people deal with days they plan to go out for a meal with friends?

    I thought about doing this. I am eating 2100 calories per day, which divides nicely into 700 calories per meal. But on days when I'm eating out with friends, I plan to have a less calorific breakfast and/or lunch, so I can leave some calories for the meal out e.g eat 500 instead of 700 calories at breakfast, so I have an extra 200 + the allocated 700 calories for dinner, making a total of 900 calories for a meal out. If I believe the place is really valour dense, I'd also lessen my much from 700 to 500 calories, giving me another 200 calories for dinner - making it 1100 calories for that meal out.

    Am I on the right track with this idea?

    submitted by /u/BTesla92
    [link] [comments]

    Bulking and cutting while training calisthenics, what am I doing wrong?

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 12:06 PM PDT

    So I recently finished a bulk/cut and no matter how I look at it, it looks like I really messed up. Best case scenario, after it was all done I gained 4lbs lean mass after 73 weeks going from 163 to 167 and having roughly the same body fat % (16-17%) at beginning and end. I realize this isn't 100% accurate but no matter how optimistically I look at this it feels like I really blew it! More details:

    • I bulked between January 1 2020 AND July 31 2020, going from 163lbs to 190lbs. This is 27lbs over 30 weeks. I gained about 6lbs of weight in the first week or two, which I assumed was just water weight, which would bring me to 21lbs over 30 weeks. So I either gained at 0.7lbs per week or 0.9lbs per week if I include that weight. My target was to gain 0.5lbs a week, and I aimed for 2500 calories per day. I eat more than enough protein usually.
    • I "cut" between Aug 1 and May 31 2021, going from 190lbs to 167lbs in that period. Honestly I suck at cutting as you can tell because it took me 43 weeks to lose 23lbs. I didn't lose weight consistently across this period. Some weeks I just maintained, but I'm not sure offhand how many weeks I did that. During the first 5 months of this I was able to gain a lot of strength and even kept hitting new PRs. The next 5 months I was able to keep making progress in some places, but I lost some strength in my heaviest lifts. The strength loss wasn't that much and seemed expected from what I've read about cutting.
    • I tried my best to keep up with leg training without barbells. I did pistol squats, bulgarians, and a few different hamstring curl variations. I wasn't 100% consistent with my leg training this time but I didn't slack that bad.
    • At the start of my bulk and end of my cut, I was between 16-17% body fat. I'm going by pictures and caliper measurements, and referencing against pictures of myself where I have a BodPod measurement to go along with it. I've been doing caliper measurements for many years and I think I'm fairly good in taking accurate measurements. I don't have a recent BodPod measurement though as the few places that had them in my city closed during the pandemic.
    • My training was roughly the same in both phases. I kept intensity high and had a decent amount of volume for each muscle group. ​I was doing FitnessFAQ's Body By Rings program during the bulk. During the cut I did my own program which was very similar to the Body By Rings program with some adjustments for specific strength goals.
    • FWIW I gained a lot of strength over this time period and was generally pretty happy with my progress until I started losing strength further into my cut. Over this time I went from 3 x 5 ring dips to 3 x 5 w/ 75lbs. I also got my first HSPUs during my cut and can now do 5 HSPUS against a wall and 1 freestanding, when last year I could barely do 3 x 5 pike pushups with poor form.

    Just offhand it feels like I could've gained a lot more strength and a lot less fat if I just aimed for 0.1lbs per week, and I would've optimistically gained 7.3lbs lean mass over the 73 weeks of the bulk and cut. That's still not much lean mass, but it's a huge improvement as I wouldn't have to deal with the huge hit to progression that comes with a cut.

    All that said, I'm really wondering where I went wrong and what I should do instead. Getting BIG isn't my primary goal, but I do want to look better and gain muscle mass to support my strength goals, so I really want to fix this aspect of my training as it feels like I'm wasting a lot of time and not getting anything out of it.

    My guesses for what I did wrong:

    • I definitely gained more fat than I wanted to during the bulk, and going forward I should probably try to bulk on an smaller surplus.
    • It feels like any lean mass I gained during my bulk I lost at least some of it during my cut. I really don't know why this might have happened. Could it be because I cut for way too long?
    • Is it just not possible or smart to do traditional bulk/cuts while training calisthenics? This doesn't make sense to me, but I've seen some people say this online
    submitted by /u/mrwagon1
    [link] [comments]

    Lifelong slight physical handicap (late teens)

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 07:09 PM PDT

    So, I haven't been to the doctor about this since I was little, but I have a bit of a handicap of sorts. According to my parents I was born with a small calcium deposit either on or in my brain. I don't have any mental problems, but It affects the physical part of my left side. My left arm is about 1" shorter than my right, and I don't have as much flexibility, strength, or control over my hand. For example, it's harder to move each finger individually, and my wrist is a bit stiff/hard to move. And no matter how many times I rotate my wrist, it pops multiple times. My arm as a whole is much weaker as well. It was much more noticeable as a kid, but I'm still self conscious about it even though it's not super noticable. I also have a problem with my left foot. I can't move my toes almost at all on my left, i still feel them and can feel pain, so it's not like I'm paralyzed. But it's also hard to raise my foot, so when I step on it, it comes down flat, meaning I have a bit of a limp that becomes pretty noticable when you can hear it on solid floors. I think it's called dropfoot? So anyways, my question is, is there a specific name for this? And will I ever be able to function as normal? What exercises can I do to improve my mobility and strength, as it's hard for me to lift weights or workout without my wrist or ankle hurting. I can't even fully rotate my wrist so that my palm is straight up so I can lift a dumbbell. Just for clarification, my right hand and foot are completely fine, I have full control and can use them like normal. thanks for the help!

    submitted by /u/Primary_Concern_9622
    [link] [comments]

    Supplementing Bodyweight with Weights

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 02:57 AM PDT

    Hey all! I am 20, 5'4", 127lbs. I have been doing primarily the RR for the past 6 months or so, and have seen pretty good results. However, I want to add weightlifting as a supplement for strength gains and because it's easier to scale. What I'm thinking is an upper/lower 4-day split, with lower body exercises being primarily weighted, but upper body exercises switching between bodyweight and weighted each upper-body day. Like this:

    Upper 1: bench press, pullup, ovhd press, b/w row Upper 2: pushup, pullup, dip, dumbbell row

    Is this the most effective way to combine them? Or should I structure it differently? I want to keep working towards bodyweight skills while using weights to help build strength faster. Will this work?

    Sorry if this post is a little scatterbrained, and thank you so much for your input! I read through the FAQ but couldn't find exactly what I was looking for.

    submitted by /u/death_on_time
    [link] [comments]

    Recommendation for installing ladder stall bars to brick chimney

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 07:34 AM PDT

    Pushing myself has become harder and harder

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 05:07 AM PDT

    I just wanted to address an issue that I've recently noticed with my workouts and wanted to have some feedback on what you guys think.

    The problem is that I feel that I don't think I have pushed myself hard enough, I know workouts don't have to be taken to absolute failure, but there's always that feeling that I could have pushed myself harder and that I haven't done enough.

    I used to push myself super hard when I first started training and every workout felt like a nightmare, but now it's almost as if a part of me hates working out and I don't actually feel like pushing so hard anymore.

    Still making decent progress, just wanted to know if this is a problem I should fix or it's just a normal phase that everyone goes through and will eventually fade away.

    submitted by /u/OP_SLuDgE
    [link] [comments]

    Quick and effective strength workout?

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 10:42 AM PDT

    Hello everyone, I am looking to get some feedbacks on my workout and maybe some tips if possible. Newish to the whole body weight training, did a lot of it when I was in the army but never thought of it as a serious way to get muscles before.

    I'm 27 and looking to get in the best shape of my life before I reach my 30s. My workout goes like this;

    Round 1

    1 min push-ups 1 min squats 1 min crunches

    30 sec rest 30 sec jump ropes

    1 min push-ups 1 min squats 1 min crunches

    30 sec rest 30 sec jumping jacks

    1 min push-ups 1 min squats 1 min crunches

    2 mins rest

    Then do 2 more rounds, changing the variation of push-ups, squats and abs exercise every round to hit different muscles.

    Is that an effective way to gain strength and muscles? As I get stronger I plan on doing harder moves, but can I keep that template of workout? Is there anything I should do differently? Any ways to improve my workout? I like to keep my workouts straight to the point and under an hour long if possible.

    Thank you for any feedbacks or tips in advance.

    submitted by /u/beyondthewoodland
    [link] [comments]

    Pull up drop sets?

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 10:18 AM PDT

    37m 6' 160lbs. I've been doing drop sets lately with the intent on increasing strength and efficiency. Don't care to much about size. I have everything where I want it to be. Except the pull ups. Just feel like I'm missing out on something when I do them. Currently, I start off with a wider grip pullup to max. 5 sec rest then chin ups to max. Another 5 sec rest followed by neutral grip lat pulls to max. I do lat pulls(160lb) because I don't have access to a bar with a neutral grip. Rest about 1 and a half to 2 minutes. Repeat. I'll 4 sets. Sometimes 1 more if I feel I have a bit extra energy. I've only been doing the drop sets for 2 weeks and I'm seeing some results that I like so far. But I do feel like there's a better way to go about them. I don't have access to a weight vest or belt yet. So I want to see what I can do to make them better and see what other people have tried and what their results were.

    submitted by /u/HotPantsMax
    [link] [comments]

    Fat loss training program (need opinions and help to improve it)

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 09:41 AM PDT

    Hello. It is the first time I am writing here and would like to get some input about my new training program. My personal desire is to focus on fat burning. The program itself is made from all of my personal experience and input from the FAQs. It would look like this:

    Workout A: 4 sets of these pairs with 30 sec rest between sets and pairs:

    1- Pull Ups and Dips max reps each (around 5-8), 2 - Push Ups and Squats (ether assisted 1 leg version or with a dumbel) x 10 each, 3 - Deadlift + Rows 8 reps each, 4 - Plank (30 sec) + Reverse HyperExpention and Copenhagen Plank x12 each.

    Workout B: 4 sets of these pairs with 30 sec rest between sets and pairs:

    1 - Clean and Press with a dumbel x8 + Hanging Knee tucks x12, 2 - Clasp Push Ups x12 and Lunge Jumps (max height) x12, Explosive Pull Ups x5 and Ankle Hops x20.

    Workout C: 30 each and then move to the next. Once the sequence is over, 1 minute rest. x4 times entire sequence.

    Burpees, Mountain Climbers, Jumping Jacks, Lung Jumps, Jump Rope

    Routine would look like this:

    1. A,C,B,C,A,C, Rest
    2. B,C,A,C,B,C, Rest

    The biggest problem is that I want to incorporate jogging to my routine. My work is really psychologically stressful, and it helps me to relax a lot. However, not sure where to put it to avoid stuff like overtraining.

    submitted by /u/Sparteh
    [link] [comments]

    The Stay-sane-and-progress-whilst-injured-routine: what would you do?

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 12:25 AM PDT

    TL;DR: Injured upper-body, what would you do to keep sane and progress? And please critique routine and/or recommend exercises for my third pair.

    The doctor has ordered 2–3 weeks of rest for me to recover from a (probable) strain to my right serratus anterior muscle. This sounds about right as I'm experiencing constant discomfort (and pain when exerting) in my pec, scapular and area under my armpit.

    I typically train RR on m/w/f and run 8km on t/t/s. This is all now off the table, including running and most abdominal work as the doctor said these will put tension on the muscles, too. (As an aside, it's amazing how connected everything is, and with this injury doing any day-to-day activity is pretty unpleasant. Even lifting my head in bed causes pain. This has caused me to rethink my training and when I'm back to health I will be scaling things back to ensure quality over quantity).

    It's inconceivable to me that I should just stop and do nothing for 3 weeks as training for me is as much mental as it is physical. (If you start the day training or doing a healthy habit and make a little progress, you feel like you're winning, no matter what happens for the rest of the day.) The doctor has told me that I can train legs, so that's what I'm going to do.

    I've put together a little programme, as follows (assume the goals of a Beginner-Intermediate RR trainee):

    M/W/F
    First Pair
    Beginner Shrimp Squats
    Calf Raises

    Second Pair
    RDLs (possibly single leg)
    Leg Raises (these seem to be ok for my injury but I'm open to replacing them)

    Third Pair
    ??
    ??

    Finisher
    AMRAP deep bodyweight squats

    EVERYDAY
    Walk 5–10,000 steps

    What do you think of this routine? I feel like I can afford to add a third pair of exercises to this. Any advice on what those might be based on the above bearing in mind my injury?

    What are your experiences with an injury and trying to stay sane and progress? What was your programme and/or general approach to maintaining some level of training to keep progressing and keep your mental health in check?

    Thanks!

    submitted by /u/Sedkno
    [link] [comments]

    injury from to many dips

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 08:09 AM PDT

    About a month or two ago I went for a close grip muscle up and failed. 2 days after the first attempt I did it again, on this day though my triceps were killing me still, looking back at it, it was probably tendonitis. This was probably because I was doing a lot of dips 2 days before, more then usual.

    I went for the close grip muscle up and I got one rep this day. I pain came back and a day later I couldn't lift my arm above my head and I had pain in the armpit. I waited a week and It went away. I started working out again and I got the pain after doing dips and it didn't last long. Recently I did a lot of dips in one day and the pain came back and now I'm taking a month off because I have this and distal bicep tendonitis. Does anyone know what this is, I can feel a round tube/ maybe a tendon coming from my tricep all the way into my armpit. It might be tricep tendonitis but I don't know, it has been a week and a half and I still have it. does anyone know what this is? It is felt in the middle of the upper arm near tricep and it leads to the armpit, is it a tendon? if you know please tell me.

    submitted by /u/johnripper1256
    [link] [comments]

    Can't keep my right hand's knuckles on the floor in a wall assisted handstand

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 07:25 AM PDT

    So I started to do some research on how to do a handstand because I canceled learning this skill for way too long, and I noticed that the part of my right palm, where the base knuckles are, elevates when I balance myself in the handstand. My left palm supports me just fine though.

    When I push with my right hand's index and middle finger it feels like it is not doing enough work and I believe that's why i create a bigger angle between my fingers and palm in the knuckle area.(but it's just speculation). I say that because i can feel my fingers from the left hand actually pushing.

    Did this happen to you? Or do you know if it's a matter of mobility or strength? What particular exercises will help me get on track? Thanks for letting me know, I really don't want to rush the progressions until it all feels right, I hear too many athletes hurt their shoulders while doing handstands.

    submitted by /u/ASweedishGuy
    [link] [comments]

    Accessory work programming question - Interference effect

    Posted: 27 Jun 2021 06:53 PM PDT

    hi people, I have been reading some posts lately regarding the programming of the accessory work.

    Normally,
    high Intensity - 5-6 reps - more time(3-7mins) between sets works on strength.
    Low Intensity - high reps - less time between sets works on endurance.

    If we combine both then i read that one of them cancels the other gains - Interference.

    But when i read about the accessory work programming, at first glance,it was as if endurance is being included in the strength training.

    I also have gone through GZCLP method, where there are Tier-1,2,3.

    Tier -3 looks like an endurance work out. (* but CL, on his reddit post in fitness reddit, wrote in one of the comments that there is more to the programming but never mentioned about the science though *)

    The exercises are isolated exercises but still the same isolated body part would have been worked during Tier-1 or Tier -2 workouts. So wont the Interference effects pitch in ?

    Could some one help me explain the science behind the Accessory programming ?

    submitted by /u/DecentPresentation23
    [link] [comments]

    Push/Pull/Legs Routine into Push/Pull -- Too much Volume?

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 04:19 AM PDT

    Hi Friends!

    I know the topic on volume is quite subjective, however I'm just looking for some general peer reviews on if this routine would be of benefit or detriment due to the amount of volume.

    Essentially its u/Antranik 's PPL condensed into 2 days rather than 3 with a few accessories added in.

    Reference: Bodyweight Training (antranik.org)

    All 4 days (Mon/Tue/Thur/Fri) consist of a 5 min skipping warm up, 5 min mobility warm up, bodyline drills and 10-15 min skill work (HS,L sit, Supp hold).

    Monday Tuesday Thursday Friday
    Dips 3x 8-12 Pull Ups 3x 8-12 REPEAT MONDAY REPEAT TUESDAY
    Pike Pushup 3x 8-12 False grip hangs 3x30-60s
    Push Up 3x 8-12 Rows 3x 8-12 ??BB Bench?? ??BB ROW??
    OA Plank 3x 30-60s per arm FL Progression 3x 8-12
    Tri Extensions 3x 8-12 BL Progression 3x 8-12
    Pistol progression 1x 8-12 (BW ONLY) Bi Curls 3x 8-12
    Squat 3x 8-12 Deadlifts 3x 8-12
    Lunge 3x 8-12 Calf raises 3x 8-12
    Core variant 2x 8-12 Core variant 2x 8-12

    All in all takes me about 1h30m to complete if I don't mess around. Does this appear reasonable or would I be better off removing some exercises or going to a dedicated upper/lower split instead?

    Any thoughts appreciated.

    Kind Regards.

    submitted by /u/Soft_Satisfaction698
    [link] [comments]

    The Recommended Routine (RR) is overrated.

    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 08:17 AM PDT

    Why? It may be technically brilliant in the way it gradually builds both strength and mobility, but it lacks true sticking power because it gets boring — and consistency is the secret sauce to making gains.

    My Criticisms Include: - It takes too long to complete - It requires some equipment - It gets boring (little variation)

    Background: As someone who has watched countless videos Russians flying around bars and crazy calisthenics athletes doing insane reps in the heart of Harlem, I've always aspired to achieve at least a fraction of that level of fitness.

    I'm an average athlete. 5'8; 162lbs; 13% body fat. I've lacked true control over my muscles and looked to RR over the years to build it. But that consistency has always eluded me.

    Cue Pandemic: I got pudgier and hadn't touched the amazing RR iOS app in some time (kudos to the developer and supporters for putting that together).

    I searched for no-equipment calisthenics programs and came across Athlean Xero and decided to give it a shot.

    What I've learned so far: I'm 4 months into the Athlean Xero program, and nails it on every category for me: - Great progression system for beginners who need building requisite strength - Workouts are fast and intense - Video explanation for every workout - Lots of variation and doesn't get boring - Absolutely no equipment needed - Easier to stay consistent because all of the above

    It really is about trial and error: I found the right balance for me has been blending the mobility and stretching routines from RR with Xero workouts to round out a "complete program."

    Everyone is different but I found Xero helped me unlock that secret sauce of consistency to make steady gains, and I must credit RR for helping me realize what I was missing from a calisthenics program.

    What are your experiences RR? Did you stick with it? Did you do something else instead? Do you agree or disagree? I'm curious to hear about your calisthenics journey.

    submitted by /u/ClockworkTalk
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment