Weight loss: [Directory] Find your quests here! |
- [Directory] Find your quests here!
- Hope my experience is encouraging: old folks (65) weight loss. NSFW because no shirt, otherwise G-rated. But old guy paleness MAY be terrifying!
- The first day of my adult life that I'm not obese!
- Self reality check: weigh your dang food
- If you want to keep track of what you’re eating but not count calories use the “ate” app
- Freshman minus 20!
- (Small Success) Back on the Wagon Finally - 10ish pounds down ( M SW: 250/CW: 240/ GW: 150 )
- I Made a healthy choice today, and I am happy about it.
- Feeling helpless- cheat meal turned into a cheat day
- Found some "Before" Photos from last year, also Onederland!
- Lost over 80lbs over the last year, and you can too! SW:295 -> CW:215lbs
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: May 1st, 2021
- Finally passed 150 lbs!
- SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Saturday, 01 May 2021: Today, I conquered!
- Day 1, again.
- Losing the weight a second time. A year in weight loss and (mostly) maintenance.
- I always overeat on weekends. Food is the only thing I look forward to...
- Daily Q&A Post for Saturday, 01 May 2021 - No question too small!
- Need tips (Stalled weight loss)
- Am i regaining muscle or is my fat loss stalling?
- Does anyone here have ADHD and struggle to lose weight?
- 50lbs down, 60+ more to go. Loose skin is already starting, is there anything I should be doing to minimize it?
- Fallen off this past month
- Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Saturday, 01 May 2021? Start here!
| [Directory] Find your quests here! Posted: 30 Apr 2021 09:01 PM PDT Welcome adventurer! Whether you're new on this quest or are towards the end of your journey there should be something below for you. --- Daily journal.
Interested in some side quests?
Community bulletin board!
Need some questing buddies? --- If you are new to the sub, click here for our posting guidelines! --- [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 30 Apr 2021 02:56 PM PDT While this is not interesting to those w/ upper-tier physique and/or ambitions to have one, if you're a regular guy frustrated with excess weight, chin up. Dec 3 of 2019 I was a metbolic train wreck w/ BMI almost 35, terrible gout, skin tags sprouting up everywhere, etc. At that point I decided it was time to go all out to restructure myself, regaining some muscle mass and losing fat. Coincidentally: as soon as the news from Wuhan began rolling in, I became a ravenous consumer of early (non-peer-reviewed) studies that, one after another, pointed at inflammation, accelerated disease progress from high ACE, high viral load from excess adiposity, and so on. This became a mission. Fortunately I had access to good outdoor paths and a set of VERY dusty Bowflex dumbells in the basement. I had many challenges, as we do when we age. Spinal and other injury histories prevented the important heavy lifts and as well as anything more than a brisk walk/slow jog, Premature Ventricular Contractions, etc... too much to list. BUT: if you can set aside fantasies about looking like Frank Zane in the 1970's and adjust exercises to protect connective tissue and precious joint health (hello, rotator cuffs!) you can do a lot. Be very conscious of your need to concentrate on BALANCE and FLEXIBILITY as you progress. These are additional challenges of aging and you cannot ignore them. Also you really, really MUST have sufficient protein intake, especially as an old dude, to keep muscle tissue vibrant as sarcopenia knocks at the door. Finally, if you've a mind to do some fasting periods, don't be afraid of it, but go slowly. Wife and I now do a 40-hr once a week and it has made a world of difference. I still struggle with night eating from time to time, but otherwise all is pretty good. Pics from a couple of weeks ago here . As stated elswhere: as you age you can't get your skin to fit anymore in general, but it's not as loose as you might expect w/ almost 80lb down. Just under 19% Body Fat now (DEXA measure); my target of a few more % may not be possible. As you can see turkey neck def kicks in --- what the hell, I'm old, and we do what we can. My wife snapped the left pic when our daughters were fretting about the Old Man being endangered by COVID and general decrepitude. She wouldn't do the ab vac shot because it "looks gross, like the Walking Dead or something". I have a couple of snaps that are captured right after dropping the dumbbells at the end of a 5 set breakdown, but frankly they're just temporary pumps. This is the real, wrinkly, genuine, Saturday morning me, and I'm OK with it. Believe me it beats the hell out of being breathless from tying your shoes! [link] [comments] |
| The first day of my adult life that I'm not obese! Posted: 30 Apr 2021 08:39 AM PDT F/23/5'6" SW: 256 CW: 185 GW: 165 After losing 71 lbs in ~8 months, my BMI is finally out of the obese category! This hasn't been the case since I was a freshman in high school. During college I gained over 70 lbs due to habitual stress eating, but I lost it by cutting out fast/fried food, soda, adding vegetables to my diet (didn't eat a single vegetable regularly before), no more marijuana, actually reading nutrition information, CICO, and daily exercise. Losing my gallbladder was my final straw, and so many health problems I assumed would be with me for my entire life have resolved. Recently (the past 2 weeks) to beat a plateau I stopped drinking alcohol and have cut out caffeine as well (just to see what would happen), which was hard at first but it's done the trick and I honestly don't miss anything I've left behind from my old lifestyle. Hope everyone is feeling well this morning, or evening or whenever this finds you 😊 [link] [comments] |
| Self reality check: weigh your dang food Posted: 30 Apr 2021 07:32 AM PDT Hello, everyone. Last April, I weighed 173 pounds. Two weeks ago, I weighed 133. Today, I weigh 134.4 pounds. Two weeks ago, I went on a visit home for a bridal shower, and I admittedly went off track a bit, when I weighed in afterwards, I didn't sweat the 1 pound increase. Between the "cheating" and upping my weekly mileage on my runs, I figured I would be okay the next week by buckling down a bit. This last week, I was eating "normally" for my diet, but not really measuring or weighing closely and maybe eating a few chocolate chips here and there. This morning, I am .4 pounds heavier, and it is apparent that I need to quit trying to fool myself. I have 4.4 more pounds to lose. Let's get this in May. I'm back to weighing all of my food. I'm going to join the 30 day challenge again. I'm back to a 1,400 calorie goal. No more messing around: 130 pounds, here I come. So, besides my rant, here's my question: do any of y'all have tips for staying in the game for the last few pounds? Any of y'all having the same issue? Do you all have a reward planned for when you make it? What is it? [link] [comments] |
| If you want to keep track of what you’re eating but not count calories use the “ate” app Posted: 30 Apr 2021 03:49 PM PDT My nutritionist has told me to try to not count calories because it can lead to too much stress about my eating habits when I should be focusing on eating better foods. but she also wants me to keep a good diary. Problem is I was using MyFitnessPal so whenever I went over a certain amount it messed with my head. My nutritionist directed me to an app called ate. Basically you take a picture of your food, give a brief description, and answer some quick questions about how you feel before and after the meal. Ive just used it today and so far I really like it and if any of you just want to work on eating better without focusing on calorie count I recommend it I also want to make it clear I'm not being promoted or instructed to promote this app in any way I just want to put this out there in case there's someone else who's in a similar position as me. I definitely like not having to worry about calorie count and just focus on eating right instead. Hope this helps! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 30 Apr 2021 10:33 PM PDT Just finished my freshman yeah of college! I stayed at home for the first semester and then went to res for the second. I definitely took advantage of the meal plan for the first month and a half but then started to pay attention to how I felt after eating only fried foods on the daily. After going home for reading week and seeing that I hadn't gained or lost any weight after being at school for a bit, I remembered why I was so excited to leave and decided to do something about my health and fitness. When I got back from my break, I started to only eat foods that made me feel good and satisfied. I almost immediately started to feel better when I fixed my mindset towards food. Especially when I realized that I'm 18 and for the rest of my life I get to eat whatever I want. The store will always be a short walk away and if I don't actually want a certain food, I'll have many other chances to eat it. I also have become obsessed with more plates more dates and Greg doucette. Been watching will tennyson for a bit but Greg really changed my life by telling me the cold hard facts about weight loss and nutrition. (Mostly eating until I'm full and eating low calorie foods is what I got from him, also many recipes) I've always been an athlete so I enjoy working out but now I can really appreciate physique building which is something that interests me now. I'm only 2 months in and this is the easiest it's ever been for me. Thank you all for the encouragement and I hope to be in better shape and stronger before track season training starts next semester! Still have quite a bit of work left to do but I'm excited for the journey. [link] [comments] |
| (Small Success) Back on the Wagon Finally - 10ish pounds down ( M SW: 250/CW: 240/ GW: 150 ) Posted: 01 May 2021 01:18 AM PDT Hey /rloseit! I made a huge despairing post here a few months ago. At that point, I was actually lighter than I am now by about 5 pounds (I hadn't weighed myself and over-estimated my weigh gain in that post at the time). In that post I detailed struggling extremely hard with my weight, quarantine, and my sleep disorder etc. I had lost 40 pounds 2 years before, and I was close to gaining it all back after successfully keeping it off prior to quarantine. I'm still struggling with weight/quarantine/sleep, but a switch finally went off in my head, and the last two weeks have been great! I finally got back into a rhythm, and I've bucked off about ten, or maybe twelve pounds in two weeks. I don't expect the numbers to keep falling off that fast forever, but I'm enjoying the extra motivation it brings. Before this, I did gain all my weight back...with a touch of interest. I weighed the heaviest I ever had in my life at 250 now, when before my highest was 247. It wasn't my fasting weight, but it's still a number I never wanted to see. It felt terrible to see that number; a huge failure. But physically day-to-day? I felt worse. A constant all-encompassing lethargy and brain fog. I was overheating a lot from the extra weight, getting heat rashes where new padding between my armpits and my upper arms had formed because of fat. As an a chronic AD eczema sufferer, this sort of experience is unbearable. It's painful and highly disruptive for sleep and work. I'm back on IF, with some days of CICO instead; I am being kinder to myself than I was the first time I had to lose weight. By being less black-and-white, all-or-nothing, I think my path will be more sustainable to lose not just forty, but the full ninety that's left for me to lose. I'm still strict with calories and food intake, but I lead a very busy, high-pressure lifestyle with lots of long hours and weekend work. Stress and pressure have been the biggest detriment to my IF routines, and my food choices. I realize now that if I allow myself to use CICO on my more stressful days instead of IF, my progress may not be as fast, but it will be sustainable when my stress is high and the urge to eat is only making it worse. Before, I was very strict about my IF and would get really frustrated and mad at myself when I started to fall off the weight loss wagon and keeping up with IF became a source of anxiety. For example, as I type this, I have not had a day off in twelve days, and will continue to not have a day off for at least another seven. I work in the entertainment industry, and I'm in crunch time for a deadline. The money I make reflects what I work at least, which can't be said for everyone in my line of work, where a lot of abusive practices are rampant. For at least 2 of these last two weeks I've been changing my habits again, I have allowed myself to do CICO when it was too hard or stressful due to my lifestyle. Waking up at 6 Am to get an early start on work, only to be so hungry all I can think about is food but can't eat until noon? Unsustainable, especially early on while I'm making new habits. So I switch to CICO. This week during an early start, I ordered some chicken fingers (300 cal,) and eating just the protein kept me from being hungry until at least noon. Then I ordered some veggie soup in the 500 cal range. Dinner was small, and I stopped eating at 7. Meal prep during these periods is hard for me, so being in a position where I can comfortably order food is a boon and a bane here. Anyways, this adjustment so far has been successful, kept my stress down and prevented me from overeating. I found the EatThisMuch website/tool and that was also very helpful. Seeing an attainable date to reach 150 pounds in a healthy manner has made a huge difference. Adapting my body back to IF and CICO has been amazing. Psychologically, it takes 11 days to form a habit and I cleared that milestone. I think it takes about 90 to lock it down neurologically. I did do it before so adjusting back to my old fasting windows hasn't been a terrible experience, but I did have to work back into it slowly. Before I got strict in the diet part, I was on-and-off fasting a lot, gradually increasing the days I was fasting vs the days I didn't. But my meal choices weren't good, so the scale kept moving up instead of down. Now it's habit again, and it's finally -easy- again. Anyways, it's only the first ten pounds, but it's been two weeks of consistent dieting and success. I'm off to a good start, and finally I can do this again. I've been visiting these subs daily and weighing myself almost daily to stay on track, too. I look forward to having the face gains I had 40 pounds ago! And then face gains after 40 more pounds after that :) Thanks for listening. I know this post is a bit free-form/scattershot. I'm too shy to post pics, but maybe when I have more dramatic results to show off I will. [link] [comments] |
| I Made a healthy choice today, and I am happy about it. Posted: 30 Apr 2021 10:23 AM PDT Today I had one of the worst cravings I've ever had. I completely quit processed sugar a week ago, and haven't eaten unhealthy snacks since. I was craving chips and chocolate so much today. I was thinking: "what can go wrong with a little snack?". I already got my jacket and wallet and was walking to store to buy them, but there was a waiting line in front of a shop. In those 5 minutes, i thought about how I was going to feel after binging on chips and chocolate bar, which is nearly 1000(!!!) Calories. In those 5 minutes, I decided that those 15 minutes of satisfying my sweet tooth, is not worth it, because I would feel extremely disappointed afterwards. I went in the shop, got one bag of carrots, apples, and 125g pack of raspberries. I came back home and enjoyed the healthy snack option for much less than half calories of unhealthy processed sh*t. And I'm gonna go on a 5k run in about an hour. My advice: DONT LISTEN TO YOUR CRAVINGS. Hunger is just mechanism to tell your body WHEN to eat, not WHAT or HOW MUCH to eat. I hope I inspired at least anyone with this post, stay responsible and stay healthy! [link] [comments] |
| Feeling helpless- cheat meal turned into a cheat day Posted: 01 May 2021 01:22 AM PDT This is just going to be a sad rant btw. I currently weigh in at 86kg (189 pounds) and Ive been trying to change up my eating habits as of 2 weeks ago. It has been going okay. The problem is just how arduous and long the process is. I almost want to scratch my eyes out from just the slow pace of it all. I have a cheat meal every Saturday and like I always do, I ended up bingeing on alcohol and snacks and icecream. I feel so shit about it all and Im just in a place where Im stuck. I feel stuck about my weight loss and my mental state. Its like, why can't I just skip to the part where I look bomb af and feel confident about myself? I feel like its going to take ages just to get to a point where I and other people can see results. Just today, i ended up eating so much and what was meant to be a cheat meal turned into a cheat day, basically. I am writing this in utter hopelessness. I want to change my mentality to just not fully focusing on the way I look- rather just that its for my healthy and longevity. But I look at progress pictures of people who have changed and it makes me feel sad. I wish I could look like those people. Did I mention that I hate exercise? This means itll take doubly as much time to lose the weight ,I reckon. Im trying to find exercise I like, for example, dancing classes and I might take up boxing too. Anyway, sorry about the long winded rant. Its been a long day. [link] [comments] |
| Found some "Before" Photos from last year, also Onederland! Posted: 30 Apr 2021 12:26 PM PDT 30 M 6'2" SW: 280 CW: 199 GW: 180 I was feeling down the other day. I still felt chubby, still felt fat. Even after I finally got a "1" in front of the scale. (first time since middle school!) Stretch marks and loose skin'll do that to you. I vaguely remembered taking a few photos when I began seriously planning my weight loss. I was curious, so I searched and searched. I remembered I had emailed them to myself! I opened the first photo and was shocked at how much I actually lost. I subconsciously still feel like I look like that guy, but just having both photos side by side made me tear up a bit! Having hard evidence of weight loss is invaluable. Take before photos people! Here's an Album of my Before and "After" After's not quite the right word, more like current. [link] [comments] |
| Lost over 80lbs over the last year, and you can too! SW:295 -> CW:215lbs Posted: 30 Apr 2021 10:59 AM PDT M24, SW: 295, CW: 215, GW: 180, H: 5'8'' All my life I've been a pretty big kid, from eating all my favorite pastries, deserts and all types of shit, it eventually snowballed into a really unhealthy state of my weight in November 2019. At the start of college I've always had a weight around 230-240lbs , still overweight but I was happy where I was. As my engineering college career advanced, so did the stress and the neglect of my dietary habits and before I knew it I was looking into the mirror hating myself at graduation in December 2018 I was 295, had some breathing problems, was entirely sluggish and overall felt tired everyday, just didn't have energy to do anything productive-day to day. Then in February 2020 I got into house fire accident where I got partial second degree burns on my right arm and right side of my body. I was completely devastated. Here I am, burnt to a crisp and a big ol fatty, you could've thrown me to lion's den and I'd be the tastiest grilled human ever haha After the incident, I wanted to have a positive body image about myself, something I've never quite afforded myself as a chubby kid all his life. So I went the the gym religiously, followed a Keto-based diet, most if not all carbohydrates i eliminated from my diet, bought a bike during the Pandemic and rode practically 5 miles a day +. Overall I'm so much more happier as an individual. -Better Sleep -Better Energy Throughout the Day(No sluggish midday nap needed anymore) -Love Handles are disappearing -Helps with the dating life -Better Immune System( Even with the pandemic, I've not gotten sick once during my weight loss journey) -Increased Confidence My favorite -Tons of other benefits! The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago, the next best time is now. The power of now kept me motivated to workout everyday regardless how I felt/what the weather was/ what's going on. It's my hope that sharing with this community can help inspire others as this subreddit has surely kept me going :) Before Pics / After Pics [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: May 1st, 2021 Posted: 30 Apr 2021 10:53 PM PDT Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. For all new people that have joined this month, at the end of the month we do a roundup of what happened. we'll also talk about our goals for May. How was your April? You're free to structure this however you want, but think about the following topics:
Today is also goal-setting day for May! If you're new, every first day of the month we think about small goals we want to achieve this month. They can be weight goals, exercise goals, or anything really... An important aspect is that they are SMART goals: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Time based...
if you're new, please introduce yourself! Let's kick some ass![link] [comments] |
| Posted: 30 Apr 2021 07:22 AM PDT I little backstory - I am 36F, 5'3" and was 165lbs. I have pretty bad self esteem and have become pretty good at hiding it most of the time, but during COVID and other stressors (PMDD/school/work/and the political state of things in the U.S.) I was prescribed Zoloft. Meds coupled with weight lifting made extraordinarily hungry all the time and since I work out pretty regularly I thought the increase in appetite was due to the weight lifting. The meds caused the extra increase in hunger and I gained a lot. My fault, I am a serious researcher and should have known better than to take something without knowing the side effects. I managed my stress levels through changing my routine and setting boundaries. I stopped the meds and started fasting, calorie counting, maintained a 5 day workout etc. Unfortunately, I plateaued and couldn't break past 150lbs. Until I changed my routine to adding more fiber (fruits, supplements, flaxseed), upped the amount of time I spent working out, and made sure my heart rate was within the preferred range for fat burning, and one week later I have finally got to 148lbs. I have a small stationary bike and upped my distance to 100 miles a week at the highest setting. I have done HIIT, Insanity etc. in the past and realized that it takes a lot to get my heart rate into that preferred range. I stopped counting calories and started eating better, I know that this does not work for everyone, and this is a small change, but it is super motivating. I have been at this since January and to finally see a dip almost 5 months later will help me keep going. To anyone struggling please just keep going! Up your fiber, take your vitamins and don't let anyone stop you! **please excuse any misspellings I am writing this in a hurry** Also I do know that 2 pounds isn't much, but it motivates me :) [link] [comments] |
| SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Saturday, 01 May 2021: Today, I conquered! Posted: 30 Apr 2021 10:01 PM PDT The habit of persistence is the habit of victory! Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?) * Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal? * Did you log for an entire week? or year? * Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record? * Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit? Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness! Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit! --- On Reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily most the most read, most used, most interesting post on r/loseit by redding, commenting, and participating often! --- [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 30 Apr 2021 09:01 PM PDT 38M, 406+lbs, 6' Less than 14 months until I hit the big 40, and wondering if I can shed 15 stone in that time. Maybe, maybe not, but in attempting it I'll be healthier anyway. Ordered a Concept2 RowErg indoor rower today, as rowing is about the only kind of exercise I actually enjoy. I figure with plenty of use (I get virtual no movement currently) and some modifications to the diet this may be a feasible journey. Also ordered a soft tape measure so that I can start keeping track of waist circumference. My first major goal/milestone is getting back inside the threshold of my digital scale. Nothing has been more disappointing to me than crossing to the "too heavy" side of that range. Thankfully, that should only be 10-15lbs. Row row row the fat Gently off the scale Steadily steadily steadily steadily Is the best way not to fail. [link] [comments] |
| Losing the weight a second time. A year in weight loss and (mostly) maintenance. Posted: 30 Apr 2021 12:39 PM PDT TLDR: I had lost a ton of weight before, gained some again after a couple of trips and kept track of my weight loss. Click links at the end for pics. Hi everybody! My first journey started way before I found this subreddit. I had maxed out at 286lbs (129kg) when I had finally decided to do something about it. I slowed down on fast food and sugary snacks while outright giving up soda. I started walking which led to biking and going to the gym for weights which led me to r/bodyweightfitness. Small, incremental changes to diet and exercise helped me lose the vast majority of my weight. Hell, my diet wasn't/isn't even that great (I still don't really eat veggies). It took about four years to reach my lowest weight of 172lbs (78kgs) in late 2017. From then on I had mostly maintained around the mid to high 170's. The entire time in those three years I never thought of myself as being on a diet. It was just a change of life-style. While I cooked almost all my meals, I never gave up having pizza or ice cream or cookies or anything really (other than soda, it's the one thing I've completely given up). This had mostly worked for me until late 2019 and early last year. I decided to stay in Mexico for about six months and then have a 2 week trip in Japan with friends. At the time I was trying food left and right and had regained a considerable amount of weight, mostly unnoticed as I had stopped weighing myself. When started up again in March of 2020, I had gone back up to 215lbs (97.5kgs). I was back home and able to fully control my diet and got back on the bike. And like riding a bike, where the bike is my mouth and my routine is my biking skill (is this metaphor working for you), it was pretty easy to get back into gear. Following my previous routine helped me lose the weight pretty quickly again. By July I was back to the low 170s (77kgs). From then on, it was maintenance mode. It got a little harder once my brother moved back with me. We're both big losers, but he has a better handle on his snacking and we had a thing that every time one of us would go grocery shopping, we would buy whatever new flavor snack (Reese's, Kitkat, Oreos and the such) we would find trying to one up each other. While this did affect my weight, got back up into the low 180's (80's kg), I got into the hang of things and I've been able to maintain mid to high 170's since new years. Your routine can be pretty flexible as long as you know where treats fit into your routine. I decided to keep track of my weight and take pictures through this process. Made a small gif, with front and side view for a year, I did forget to take pictures some weeks though. I don't really have any major insights. I'm still not happy with my body. The extra skin/fat on the bottom of my tummy and sides seem eternal and ever-lasting and I'll always be self-conscious about it. Don't let that stop you though. Get a routine that works for you and modify it as you go, it'll change depending on your goals. You will slip up and there will be plateaus. Don't give up, pick yourself up and get on that mouth bike again. If you ever regain weight, trust in your routine. You've done it once and you can do it again. Me at the start https://i.imgur.com/sh1Qsli.jpg One year before and after https://i.imgur.com/EmqMKbe.jpg One year progress gif https://i.imgur.com/QDsuFUt.mp4 In case you were wondering, here is the ranking of appearances for the type of boxers. [link] [comments] |
| I always overeat on weekends. Food is the only thing I look forward to... Posted: 01 May 2021 02:28 AM PDT The problem I'll be describing is literally the reason why I have been wanting to lose weight for at least many years but never managed to do it for more than a week... I've always loved food, which isn't bad in any way, but I've noticed that the two past years or so, I've slowly become more and more dependent on food for happiness. By "food" I mostly mean different kinds of junk food and sweets, like chocolate, candy, chips, nachos etc. Let me also clarify that moderation doesn't satisfy me: I need AT LEAST like 800 calories of these things to feel satisfied and content. It has gotten to the point where I basically don't have any willpower: The only thing that keeps me from eating like this everyday is the fact that I have a job now, which keeps me distracted for a certain amount of hours most days of the week + makes me feel like "it's not worth it"/I wouldn't enjoy to eat since I have to work the next day. There have been time where I was unemployed or only worked like 2 days a week, and you can guess what happened: Overeating most days. But even though my weekdays have been saved by me having a job now, a problem still remains: The weekend. This whole week, I managed to stay under my calorie limit, which is pretty hard for me for the reason mentioned above. But then the weekend came and yesterday, I logged 3000 calories and basically ruined the whole week. I don't know what to do about my overeating on the weekends. I feel like food is what defines the weekend for me, it's what I look forward during the weeks. If I don't eat at at least like 800 calories of junk food/sweets on Friday and Saturday and don't have take that extra portion of the weekend dinners, which are a bit more "luxury" than the weekday ones, I feel like I'm wasting the weekend + don't have anything to look forward to and feel kinda empty. So basically, food is the only thing that I look forward to nowadays and nothing satisfies me the way food does. Sure, seeing friends (for instance) can be fun, but I will still crave that food when I get home. I don't know how to get out of this mindset. I want to lose weight but when things are like this, I can barely stop myself from gaining it. Also, I don't live alone, so there's always sweets and junk food at home. I can't force them not to by things. [link] [comments] |
| Daily Q&A Post for Saturday, 01 May 2021 - No question too small! Posted: 30 Apr 2021 10:31 PM PDT Got a question? We've got answers! Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? That's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small. TIPS: * Include your stats if appropriate/relevant (or better yet, update your flair!) * Check the FAQ and other resources in the sidebar! [link] [comments] |
| Need tips (Stalled weight loss) Posted: 01 May 2021 01:12 AM PDT SW - 103kg GW - 80kg CW - 91kg MALE | 20y/o I've been trying to cut body fat for like 7 months - i've lost around 8% body fat and around 12 kg. I'm currently sitting on 1900 calories/day i'm 170cm tall, 91kg 27.7% BF, workout 7 days a week cardio + strength training. I just hopped on cardarine + sr9009 + ostarine for an 8 week cycle. I hope you guys aren't against PEDS. I read dereks (MPMD) article just then on how you can screw up your metabolism eating less than 2k calories/ day and i'm scared i've done that. Should I go back to 2300 calories/day or stick with what I have. What would you guys recommend. Thanks in advance all. [link] [comments] |
| Am i regaining muscle or is my fat loss stalling? Posted: 01 May 2021 01:07 AM PDT Hey first time poster here. stats: 6'1 male, Age: 22, start weight: 238, 25% bf, started lifting when I was 16. I took more or less 1 year off the gym when lockdown hit, hardly any cardio, ordering food, everything went out the window. I put on 14 pounds in this time period putting me at my highest weight yet - 238lbs. I started back out at the gym a couple of weeks ago with my intention to pursue my dream goal of getting to around 10-12% bf. My maintenance calories are 3000cal but I'm currently eating 2100 calories (225g protein, 200g carbs, 50g fat). Also currently doing 3x 400 calories walks. Week1 ABW: 233.8 Week2 ABW: 232.36 Week3 ABW: 231.9 So basically my weight loss is already stalling but I just don't know if it's muscle gain due to muscle memory or because I need to change my macros or cardio sessions. Does anyone have any advice on how I can tackle this problem? In my head it's lose 0.5%-1% a week, if that's not achieved then either decrease macros or increase cardio. But if i'm gaining muscle how can I know for sure it's not fat and that I just need to stick to my current plan? Any advice is appreciated, the post is a bit all over the place. I've just tried to cram in as much info as possible. [link] [comments] |
| Does anyone here have ADHD and struggle to lose weight? Posted: 30 Apr 2021 04:15 PM PDT F/21/5'3" SW: 170lbs CW: 166lbs GW: 125lbs I'm in the process of getting medications for ADHD, which I've most likely had my entire life but has only become a major problem in the past year or so. I was wondering if anyone else has ADHD and has trouble either with diet (boredom eating, sticking to a calorie count, impulsive eating) or exercise (lack of motivation, boredom with running/walking, hard time with repetitive exercise) and how they handled it or overcame the issues. I've never had to think about my weight, and prior to August of 2019 the highest i had been was 140lbs, and I'm assuming it was due to disordered eating and high activity. Ive gone from restaurant and dog kennel work to veterinary technician work where I am sitting for most of my 10 hour shifts. I have also stopped riding horses and living the active lifestyle I used to. I've been trying to lose weight since quarantine started in March 2020, and have pretty much just gained and lost between 175-164. I just can't cross the threshold and sustain the weight loss. Currently I've been tracking weight using MFP and have lost around 4lbs in almost 3 weeks. I'm eating between 1200-1600 calories, and doing YouTube exercise videos daily +/- long walks/jogs. Does anyone have any insight on ADHD and weight? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 30 Apr 2021 09:57 AM PDT 24 F, I've lost 50lbs over the course of 8ish months, from 275 to 222 this morning. Haven't been exercising because my joints hurt a lot and I am afraid of injury, so all the weight loss has been through cutting how much I eat. I actually properly looked at my body for the first time last night since I started losing weight and I realize everything has gone saggy. My body looks worse now than it did when I started losing weight. I'm losing weight for health reasons rather than aesthetic reasons so it's not enough to deter me but it is frustrating, especially since I'm so young. Are there any tricks or tips I should be following to help minimize the loose skin? Edit: removed a word [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 30 Apr 2021 07:43 PM PDT 21F SW:153 LW:136 CW: 140 Hi!! I've worked really hard the past few months to lose weight and was on a really good streak. Worked out 3-4 times a week and was really good about what I was eating and not snacking. Stress with graduation has picked up and I find myself stress eating and out of control. Nothing crazy but it definitely is not what I want and I know it will lead to more weight gain. Any tips to get back on track? I find myself eating well all day at work then snacking late at night when I'm stressed with homework. I feel bloated all the time! I also have had less time/energy for the gym. I'm hoping after graduation I will be able to go back to my normal gym schedule. How do I stop the cravings!!? Tomorrow is a new day: going to hit the gym and try to get back on track. [link] [comments] |
| Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Saturday, 01 May 2021? Start here! Posted: 30 Apr 2021 09:31 PM PDT Today is your Day 1? Welcome to r/Loseit! So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started. Why you're overweight Our bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently. Before You Start The very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week. Tracking Here is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it. Creating Your Deficit How do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian. The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it. Exercise Is NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight. It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel *awesome* and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes. Crawl, Walk, Run It can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments. Acceptance You will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better. Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better. Additional resources Now you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.
* Lose It Compendium - Frame it out! * FAQ - Answers to our most Frequently Asked Questions! [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment