• Breaking News

    Saturday, May 1, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-05-01

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-05-01


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-05-01

    Posted: 30 Apr 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    How much fitness can be achieved with simple home routines?

    Posted: 01 May 2021 07:26 AM PDT

    How much fit and healthy can you really get if you work out from the confines of your home with bare minimal equipment? I am asking this because this pandemic fiasco is not going anywhere soon. I do not feel safe exercising out in any park or gym. I feel comfortable exercising in small spaces with no one looking at me. This may be because I am a total beginner and have body image issues.

    My question is simple: What does it really take to get fit at home using calisthenics? Can routines like this be really effective? I don't want to get more demotivated by trying random stuff. I want to start small and build a consistent habit with something that really is effective.

    Long time bodyweight fanatics who do it just for the sake of being healthy and fit, can you please advise based on your own experiences?

    P.S : I can't do a single pullup. I can do 4 shaky floor pushups. I can squat pretty well though. I don't want to get super buff. I just want a lean muscular physique which is generally healthy and fit. I have my diet checked. I have maintained the same weight of 69 Kgs for over a year. Entirely home cooked food. No fast food.

    submitted by /u/dsengupta16
    [link] [comments]

    Can you build your butt and legs while being in a calorie deficit?

    Posted: 01 May 2021 02:56 AM PDT

    This maybe a totally newbie of a question and it's because I am one. 🤣

    I'm overweight point blank period. I'm working on losing 100lb. I want to build music while losing weight and everything I'm reading says in order to grow your glutes and to build your legs, you have to be in a calories surplus.... But what do you do when you are literally a walking calorie surplus. Is it possible to loose a significant amount of fat while gaining and toning? Will keeping my protein high while staying in my calorie limit work? Or is this a situation where I will have to loose the fat and then focus on muscle gain? <—— Please don't say that's what I have to do. 🤦🏾‍♀️😭

    Thank you for reading my question! You're AWSOME and I have you have an amazing day🌻❤️

    submitted by /u/Stardustrebel
    [link] [comments]

    A simple, creative home setup idea. (No concrete, quite cheap)

    Posted: 01 May 2021 07:20 AM PDT

    What's up fellow students.

    In my last post about achieving 10 ring muscle ups I've been asked about my home setup and how I managed to build it. If I may say so myself, it's quite a decent setup that I'm already working with for 3 years and still going strong. The good thing is that it was in fact quite easy to make and doesn't require pouring concrete, nor making a large external frame. On top of that, it was pretty cheap to make too. I've had some luck with obtaining the materials though, but still, I believe by looking out for second-hand materials, comparing stores and simply daring to ask fellow humans you can either way build this kind of set up at a relatively low cost.

    Making this setup was kind of a freestyle of using materials that I had laying around (or my dad) and finding cheaper options (again, had some luck here.) Therefore, I didn't include EXACT materials that you will need, because I believe it could have been built better if I had finer materials, and also believe it would still work fine with maybe even cheaper materials. The goal of this video is therefore to give you ideas to make your own setup and inspire you to be creative with it. We all have different options, aspirations, budgets, experience. Be creative and roll with it, goodluck.

    MY CALISTHENICS SETUP

    submitted by /u/kaasgork
    [link] [comments]

    What are some body weiight workouts that you believe help with posture?

    Posted: 01 May 2021 03:59 AM PDT

    I just started working on back levers about 2 weeks ago and now feel that my posture has improved a lot. Is it because the back lever worked out muscles I never worked out before, or is it the fact that the back lever stretches my shoulders back? I don't know but something is helping..

    I can front lever/etc.. but since I work out the front side of my body so much, I feel like the backside of my body is neglected. Working on my laptop all day doesn't help either. Open to any tips/other bodyweight workouts you think help with posture.

    submitted by /u/42duckmasks
    [link] [comments]

    One year of Progress

    Posted: 30 Apr 2021 12:40 PM PDT

    Hello everyone,

    30, M, Starting Weight 280, Current Weight 199, height 6'2"

    Progress Photos

    I hit a bit of a milestone the other day. It's the been a year since I started working out regularly, reining in my diet, giving a shit about my health.

    I've been doing the Recommended Routine for about 7 months, after bouncing around different bodyweight routines.

    I lost a majority of the weight just from cutting out soda and fast food from my diet. I would hit up one chain to the next, it was bad.

    Now I drink almost exclusively water, coffee and tea being the exceptions. I only eat fast food on occasion, and only a reasonable portion.

    When I started I couldn't even do one good pushup, I could barely do dip holds, forget about even hanging off a pullup bar.

    Now I can crush diamond pushups easily, I can do 3 pullups (maybe 2 good ones...), I can crank out dips all day!

    Sure I could eat a little better, sure I could work out harder, more often, but I've been doing what I can!

    submitted by /u/odinrack
    [link] [comments]

    Muscles so sore I can't do any exercise at all

    Posted: 01 May 2021 04:10 AM PDT

    Hello everybody, I'll try to keep it short. I haven't done any sport or physical activity in 10 years and I've gained a few tens of pounds. I've done some substantial effort for my nutrition, but when it comes to exercise, apart from walking daily 2 to 5 miles, I can't do anything else. I'm a 27 years old Aspie man, and a Valproate kid (you can google it if you want), which implies that learning anything by mimicking is not my forte; doesn't help much with my very lacking coordination since my toddler years (learned to walk at my 30th month). I searched far and wide for any exercise or workouts for autistic people, and aside a few reliable sources (HasFit and Darebee), I'm at a total loss for learning the most basic exercises (wall push ups, wall squats, etc.) Anytime I do try an exercise, I don't know if it's instinctive or not, but my breathing goes into apnea mode; that's my new biggest concern (and no, it doesn't imply walking, thank God...) Thank you in advance for your responses and advices.

    submitted by /u/Odon_Viewer_93
    [link] [comments]

    [M17] 9months 119->141Lbs calisthenics transformation

    Posted: 01 May 2021 09:59 AM PDT

    Hi here is my transformation in 9 months (I began early June 2020)Pictures

    I have a terrible diet and don't get enough protein.I just eat the most possible of what i have available.

    I had lots of on and off during my training due to lockdowns but still managed to do the minimum.

    When I began i could do 15 pushups max and about 10 pullups max,I'm now at 30pushups max and 17pull ups max.

    I have a wrist injury so I can't do dips and normal push ups ,so I did them on my knuckles.

    My training consisted in mostly pullups 4series , pushups 4series ,dips 4series (when I could do them) and that was about it (2-3x times a week) .I ran a little , and skated (3-4x times a week) on the side I'm now adding legs and core exercises cause i don't wanna have imbalance.

    So far I'm happy with the results

    submitted by /u/TheScraft69
    [link] [comments]

    Looking for a Rehabilitaion/Absolute Beginner Programme. Help Needed.

    Posted: 01 May 2021 02:57 AM PDT

    Hi all,

    Apologies if this is the wrong sub for such a request, but seems like as good a community to ask as any! (I might repost this elsewhere so if you see reposts in my history don't think I'm spamming!)

    Long story short, I've had health issues for years and as a result I have become extremely inactive and sedentary. I'm a 31 year old man, not particularly overweight. I have become very weak and soft. I'm probably comparable in terms of fitness and strength to an average 70 year old. As someone who used to love working out, martial arts, etc. it's pretty tough.

    As an example of the level of weakness I'm at, I tried to start getting healthy again last year and for bicep curls, I was literally doing them with my empty hands, no weights - same with tricep curls, shoulder press. No weight.

    I checked out the beginner routine in this sub's wiki, but the first exercise is incline pushups - I can't even do a pushup against a vertical wall, so that routine is too much for me.

    I would love to find something where I can systematically and progressively begin to strengthen my whole body, every muscle. Maybe there is something for people who've been in an accident or a coma or something?

    I would honestly appreciate any help. I'm determined to get strong again, just seems like an uphill battle at the minute.

    Thanks for listening!

    EDIT: Whoops, typo in the title - Rehabilitation*

    submitted by /u/feetsies42
    [link] [comments]

    Outdoor gym ideas?

    Posted: 01 May 2021 02:17 AM PDT

    Hi all, I am starting to build a an outdoor gym station in the yard this week, putting the concrete floor to attach equipment to.

    It is going to be a DIY project which I will try and make the setup with my basic welding skills.

    I know I will have a high bar/chin up bar and dip station off this. I also like the idea of welding on a support for a heavy punch bag too.

    Has anybody made something like this before and have any pointers? What other equipment should I add? I have seen a few outdoor gym ideas on YouTube but must seem to be made of wood.

    Many thanks

    submitted by /u/captain_shamrock
    [link] [comments]

    Weight loss progression and getting into real bodyweight fitness.

    Posted: 01 May 2021 07:35 AM PDT

    Hello all!

    My short story ends with a question. So the thing is I started walking and eating healthy 11 days ago trying to get my self in a calorie deficit after I gained some weight. So for the record at the age of 24, 11 days ago I weighted 95kg and I am 186cm tall(209lbs and 6.1ft). I am walking every morning around 10km and slowly started adding push ups and other simple exercises into my routine(10 push ups, 30sec plank and 20 squats in 3-4 rounds, can't do pull ups yet). So after 11 days I've managed to lose nearly 3kg(6.6lbs). I tried jogging today but after 15 min at a pace of 6km/h i believe, I started feeling dizzy and stopped(I will try again tomorrow). So this is my question: Is my progression a good or a slow one and what should I change, add/remove to my routine?

    P.s. Sorry for my English and thanks in advance!

    Edit: I forgot to mention that I'm consuming 1500 calories or less per day and my needs after online calculation are at around 2900(not sure about this one).

    submitted by /u/leg1t_00000
    [link] [comments]

    Need help with several things: pull ups, uneven chest, skin the cat

    Posted: 01 May 2021 08:17 AM PDT

    So i have a Couple problems when it comes to my fitness career that i have stuble on upon.

    1. pull ups: i have been training for pull ups for a long time and havent gotten anywhere with it (this is what ive been doing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YvfRx31xDE, if you dont wanna watch i basically did scapula pull ups, band asssisted -ll-, kneeling lat pull down, rows, and negatives). Out of does things only rows has improved but has now slowed down. During this time i have only once been able to a perfect chin over bar pull up. When doing negatives if i get my chin over the bar i just immediately fall down because i have no strenght in that part of ROM. i trained back then 2x week. What can i do to fix this. Btw i can do a couple half reps pull ups.
    2. When i say uneven chest i mean my lower chest is undeveloped and doesnt show. have same problem with the inner part of the upper chest. for the lower chest im trying to do straight bar dips but how often should i do them because i cant see any results there.
    3. When it comes to skin the cat i can do the tucked back lever part but not the front lever part (can do the only the negative). i tried using a resistance band for the front part and then removed it in the middle of the exercises. Worked pretty good but my friend told my im training the different parts of skin the cat unevenly which can lead to injury. i dont think thats the case because the back lever is just easier then the front lever but ill listen to the experts.

    Thank you for reading and commenting!

    submitted by /u/Rokie0637
    [link] [comments]

    Push-up and Pull Up Strength

    Posted: 01 May 2021 12:51 AM PDT

    How often should push-ups and pull-ups be done? I've been doing them every other day, but so far my progress has stagnated. It seems like I'm not getting stronger. My numbers haven't increased in the past few sessions, so I'm thinking maybe I should start to do them every day. My max push-ups is 10 with proper form and I can do about 1 chin up followed by ~12 slow and controlled negative chin ups. I'm a teen girl so I understand my progress will be slower compared to a boy's, but I haven't made any progress at all recently. I do push-ups and pull-ups followed by a push or pull workout depending on the day, and 45-60 min of cycling after that. Just wondering what I should be doing instead or what I can improve on

    submitted by /u/Trugeta1
    [link] [comments]

    In need of support/encouragement

    Posted: 01 May 2021 08:21 AM PDT

    So I have list 20lbs since January and have an additional 20lbs to go before I'm close to my goal weight. I am hoping to lose that weight by November (trip to Mexico then yay!!) But I've kinda hit a plateu... I've been following keto diet for the most part (not extremely strict about it but close so maybe just low carb?) I only have around 45 min available for the gym in the mornings before work. I've been doing a mile on elliptical as fast as I can for a bit of cardio 5 days a week then I do mostly core exercises as I have a pooch and am trying to tighten as best I can.... is there something I should be doing differently? If I cut out cardio I could have more time for free weights but I'm not sure what is better? Any ideas?

    submitted by /u/MotherOfDea
    [link] [comments]

    Improvement to cardiovascular health and endurance in 10 days?

    Posted: 30 Apr 2021 08:42 PM PDT

    I had a Physical abilities test five days ago that I failed by 10 seconds. My heart rate reached 169 and it cut me off. I am a 6'1 21M and I weighed 255lb at the day of the test, 5 days later and 6 days until my retest I weigh 250lb. I have ran a couple miles every day, completely eliminated sugar and alcohol from my diet, and each day that I've ran my max heart rate has dropped from the previous day. I did show up to the test off 3-4 hours of sleep, hungover, dehydrated from a night of hot tubbing. If I could of went another ten seconds under the max heart rate I would of passed. And I'm certain I'll pass the retest, but this whole process has triggered the question in my mind, if I went from being a couch potato, eating bad, drinking daily, to getting full nights sleep every night and eliminating sugars and alcohol and also becoming active, how much of an effect would I have to my cardiovascular health and my overall endurance? Little? None? Ton? Thanks for the info that will help curve my ignorance and stupidity.

    submitted by /u/MGCIII
    [link] [comments]

    Range of Motion is important but what if you are skeletally unable to?

    Posted: 30 Apr 2021 07:30 PM PDT

    I understand that range of motion is important, but I have a condition with my right elbow where my flexion is 35 degrees lower than my left elbow. So 20 degrees pass 90 instead of 55 pass 90. For exercises that require 2 hands at the same time like push up, pull up, barbell bicep curl, barbell overhead press, bench press or even holding the bar for a squat, doing them is awkward for me. I can do pushup where my chest touches the floor but not if it's too deep like doing them with parallettes. For pull ups, I can do them, but I can't touch the bar with my chest. Is it ok if I don't do 100% range of motion for these exercises?

    Obviously my left arm will be weaker on the range of motions that I am compensating. For strength gains I am working toward single arm pushups and pull ups so my left arm's strength isn't held back by my right arm. Please drop any beginner 1 armed exercises for pull and push.

    submitted by /u/Chleric
    [link] [comments]

    Incorporating dumbbells exercises into PPL?

    Posted: 30 Apr 2021 09:53 PM PDT

    Hey guys, I've been doing PPL for a bit and I'm wondering if what are some good ways to incorporate dumbbells into it. I currently only have 5 lbs and 15 lbs dumbbells, so I don't know if I could use them for chest? Anyways here are some ideas I've come up with so far:

    Push:

    • one arm push up progression
    • handstand push up progression
    • add lateral raise or shoulder exercise with dumbbell
    • add triceps exercise with dumbbell

    Pull:

    • pull ups
    • dumbbell bent over row
    • another back exercise with dumbbell?
    • bicep curls
    • hammer curls

    Legs:

    • I'm currently doing some bike training and running

    As you can tell, I'm not completely sure on what to do. Any suggestions? Thank you!

    submitted by /u/-Starflight-
    [link] [comments]

    How to step up my handstand push-up game?

    Posted: 30 Apr 2021 11:35 PM PDT

    (21 M) I've been practicing (inclined) handstand push-ups for some time now. Started calisthenics 2 yrs ago but my progress has not been consistent since I rarely had the time to go to a gym when I could (~cough~ covid) and there's no good outdoor gym near where I live..heck there isn't even a dip bar FFS.

    Recently I decided to up my game. Been doing pike push-ups (elevated as well), regular push-ups, one-armed pushups, diamond pushups, and some explosives as well. However, I'm not really sure about my core strength. What exercises should I do preferably at home to achieve highly inclined handstand push-ups for my core strength and arms (they are pretty slim even though not entirely weak)?

    submitted by /u/pseudo_random_here
    [link] [comments]

    Advice on PPL routine

    Posted: 30 Apr 2021 11:28 PM PDT

    Hi,

    I'm putting together a PPL setup, I'd like feedback on. I'm considering myself somehow intermediate level. I've been doing crossfit for 1-2 years (with covid-19 breaks), but I wanna build skills and mobility. I've been doing/building this program for 2 weeks so far. I'm training at home, and I got rings and parallettes.

    I've got 3 goals:

    1) Freestanding handstand (pushup)

    2) L/V-sit and pistol squat

    3) ring muscle up.

    I'm using programs in Calisteniapp for handstand and ring muscle up progression, and Thenics app for L/V-sit and pistol.

    Workout looks like this: (adding exercises and reps as progression pass)

    Day 1 (Push): Handstand progression (60 sec break between sets, 90 sec break between excersises)

    2 x 5 Pike Push ups

    5 x 20 sec Frogstand

    2 x 8 assisted short handstand push ups

    5 x 20 wall assisted handstand

    3 x 15 dips

    Day 2 (Pull):

    4 x 7 Pull ups with hand rotation

    4 x 10 sec false grip hang with bent arms

    4 x 15 bulgarian row on rings

    4 x 10 bicep curls on rings

    4 x 10 face pull on rings

    4 x 10 sec false grib hang with streched arms (this one hurts insanely. need more practice)

    Day 3 (Legs): Progression slowly towards pistol and v-sit (this one kills my legs)

    3 x 12 Bench Pistol squat

    3 x 10 archer squat

    3 x 12 bulgarian squat

    3 x 30 deep squat

    3 x 16 sec Straddle leg raise hold

    3 x 10 scapula dips

    3 x 8 Straddle leg raises

    3 x 10 knee raises

    Day 4: Easy flexibility, active recovery hike for 5km

    Day 5: Some sort of HIIT/Mountainbike trip for hypertrophy/endurance

    Day 6: Easy flexibility, active recovery hike 5 km

    Day 7: Start over?

    Any thoughts, ideas and advice are highly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance.

    submitted by /u/howkidowki
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment