• Breaking News

    Sunday, April 4, 2021

    Weight loss: Sat in a booth at a restaurant for the first time in probably 14 years. NSV

    Weight loss: Sat in a booth at a restaurant for the first time in probably 14 years. NSV


    Sat in a booth at a restaurant for the first time in probably 14 years. NSV

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 03:33 PM PDT

    The number on the scale continues to tick down, granted at a much slower rate than before. The clothes I once loved, fit me like potato sacks. Yet most days I still feel like the 450 pound guy who started walking 30 minutes a day in January 2020 to prepare for a family trip to DisneyWorld.

    But not today, today my weight loss felt real.

    It was sophomore year of high school the last time I let peer pressure force me to squeeze into a booth. Since then, "No booth, please." has been my shameful addition to every host interaction. At a certain point my younger sister began saying it just to spare me the humiliation.

    Today for the first time in a year I went to lunch, fully immunized I figured it was time. "Table for 3. No booth, please." My sister said the default script out of instinct, I shamefully averted my eyes and followed the hostess. After a few steps something clicked. "Actually a booth will be okay."

    I wanted to post the picture I took, but honestly just can't bring myself to do it.

    210 pounds down and still working towards my goals. But today really showed me that the scale isn't all that matters, the things I'll be able to experience again.. I can't wait.

    Edit

    Honestly the love and support here has been insane. But I have to make something very clear, I am not special or amazing, I'm not. Genuinely, I'm not. Anything I've achieved you can too.

    We just have to learn to love ourselves and be kind to ourselves. We can't win every day, not every day is going to be a success. But we can just keep trying, EVERY FREAKING DAY. Find what works for you, find what is sustainable, and try your best. I believe in all of you. I have been overweight since I was 10, obese since I was 12 and morbidly obese since 15. But I'm doing this, one day at a time. One meal at a time. One calorie at a time.

    I was reluctant to post pictures, but I want people to know that if THIS dork can do it, so can you! ❤️

    submitted by /u/TXjigga09
    [link] [comments]

    NSV: I actually ate a sensible sized portion of lasagne

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 12:16 PM PDT

    My weight problem stems from huge portions.

    I've never had a sweet tooth or a problem with candy or sugary drinks or ice cream. All that stuff was easy to cut out.

    My problem is savoury foods. Put a huge, groaning plate of mac and cheese or garlic bread or enchiladas in front of me and I'll devour the whole thing easily.

    My absolute favourite meal is lasagne. Beautiful, hot, creamy, tomatoey, cheesy lasagne.

    The dish that I make my lasagne in is big enough for 6 adult portions, if you have it with a side, like a salad or veggies.

    Yet usually when I make it, I end up dividing it into 4 huge portions instead of 6 normal sized ones. (2 for me, 2 for my husband.) I eat my way through my jumbo serving, and then go and get another serving and eat that too.

    In the end I'm stuffed, bloated and uncomfortable and have eaten enough food for 3 people.

    Tonight, I realised that as much as I love lasagne, I don't have to eat half a family sized dish of it in order to feel happy and satisfied.

    So I made my lasagne in its big family sized dish as usual. I served myself 1/6 of the dish with some veggies on the side, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Then I stopped eating and put the rest away for leftovers!

    I don't feel bloated, disgusting, stuffed or sick. I don't have to unbutton my jeans and lie in a food coma on the couch as I usually would. But I feel satisfied and no longer hungry. And now I know, this is what people are supposed to feel like when they finish a meal.

    And the best part? I now have leftovers that I can enjoy for lunch tomorrow. I get lasagne two days in a row!

    I really think I'm getting the hang of this.

    submitted by /u/fernshanks
    [link] [comments]

    Chart of non-linear weight loss in 32/F. Just to show that weight loss takes time, sometimes weeks for results to be seen.

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 03:16 AM PDT

    I've been on my weight loss journey from July 2020 till present [220lbs>152lbs = 68lbs], and I noticed 3 months into my journey that my weight loss wasn't linear and seemed to fluctuate with my menstrual cycle. So I started to properly track it back in November and after 4 months, the pattern seems quite clear.

    https://imgur.com/opwqjLa

    Weight shown is in kg. Red box= Period week, green box=ovulation week, Star= New recorded low before it fluctuates back up temporarily.

    I hope this helps out those who feel discouraged by your weight fluctuating day-by-day, especially women. After a couple of months, I've learnt to freak out less by sudden weight gains during periods/ovulations and just trust that the weight WILL go down as long as the diet and exercise remains consistent. I've also started to look at non-weight progress such as the dress sizes I'm able to fit into and measuring my waist, thighs and arms (and flatter boobs :( )

    Personal plan: 1400-1500 cals (1800 on period weeks though, I get hangry for sweets, heh) and brisk walk/jog 5-6 times a week for an hour + lift weights 20 mins X 3 times a week.

    Thank you for the awards strangers! Hopefully the chart encourages you while on your journey :D

    evwinter recently shared a really good video in the comments that explains the Science behind the fluctuations https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EnY3Ya_soU , thank you for sharing!

    submitted by /u/captainobviouslynot
    [link] [comments]

    Thank you to someone here!!

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 07:43 PM PDT

    32f 5'9 SW: 165 CW: 147 I just want to say thank you for all of the awesome advice from this community, but especially the person who was talking about how their therapist talked about a binge as if it was running a red light. They explained that just because you run a red light doesn't mean you should run every one you see after that. That really clicked for me. Finally something that really made me stop and think. I have really struggled with having one binge episode and eating like crap the rest of the day. This finally helped me to control most of those impulses and I have really turned a corner on my binge cycle. I even feel a lot more forgiving of one little overeating/binge because it doesn't mean I'm giving up on myself for the whole day. I have been doing IF and CICO since Christmas and I am proud to say I have lost almost 20lbs!

    Anyways, wish I could tell that specific person how much they have helped me, but maybe this will help someone else!

    submitted by /u/goosiferdog
    [link] [comments]

    What one year of "maintenance" has looked like for me

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 07:01 PM PDT

    Hi r/loseit! I'm back one-ish year later.

    Here's my data: https://imgur.com/a/0fW4qfq

    It's nearly the one year anniversary of reaching my goal weight. This year's goal was simple: maintain. Which honestly was sometimes harder than losing in the first place. I thought it might be encouraging to some people to see what I've been working on, and know it's possible to keep it off once you actually get it off.

    I've tracked my CICO nearly every day, and I'm (mostly) vigilant about tracking for maybe two years now. I can usually eat about 1800 calories on a regularly active day, and typically I'm pretty active. Lazy days are more like 1400, and very busy days I can get away with 2200.

    I think my biggest takeaway is that there will be fluctuations. I can wake up one morning at 137 and be at 134 that same afternoon. Or the other way around. Period week? Forget it. It can be really, really frustrating, especially seeing just a couple extra dumb pounds on the scale. It should be easy now! I lost so much and I can't handle another 1 and a half pounds??? Like... am I really on track? Is this really an extra 3 pounds or did I just retain a lot of water?? It's gotta be water weight, right? ...... right???

    I'll hit 135, or just get really close, feel happy and proud, spend a week "celebrating" by eating whatever I want and rarely tracking, then I bump up to 137 and spend the next week feeling down on myself and cutting calories again. I'm trying to not do that so much anymore. I'm still working to find a happy medium where I'm not in either "who cares I can eat whatever I want, I hit my goal weight" or "whoops that was silly gotta cut big time this week" mode. You can see there's many times this year where my weight fluctuated because of this mindset.

    What's been most helpful to me: honestly the fitbit, which is pretty good about tracking my activity and calories out and I just input my food. I'm not here to advertise so I imagine any activity or food tracker will do just as good of a job.

    BUT! It's up to you to be truthful! You're not cheating anyone but yourself by logging less than you're actually eating, and the numbers that matter aren't the ones you log into the app. I know how difficult and sometimes shameful it can feel to eat more than you "should." And little stuff can really add up! Olive oil is a shocking number of calories if you're being honest with how much you're using to roast those veggies. Also peanut butter: what gives you the right to have so many calories??

    Same story with drinking. Covid hasn't exactly encouraged my healthy drinking habits, but alcohol is purely empty calories. Log it anyway and maybe limit drinking to once or twice a week (she says, as someone who often does NOT limit her drinking to one or two days a week lol).

    The next most helpful thing is WALKING! Walking is crazy good for you, and in my opinion, much more pleasant than running. Last summer my goal was to walk 5 miles per day, which I often did, solely so I could eat an extra 300 calories lol.

    Bottom line: the work doesn't end when you hit your goal weight, which sucks tbh lol. Keep fighting the good fight!

    TLDR: keeping it off is possible but also challenging, be honest with yourself, and keep coming back, even if you fall off the wagon.

    submitted by /u/pseudo_civilized
    [link] [comments]

    40M, 100lbs (260-155ish) down over six and a half years. Pics included

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 12:09 PM PDT

    EDIT: My height is 5'10"

    Hi everyone,

    Around seven years ago, I posted here whining about the impossibility of losing weight again. My weight has fluctuated throughout my life, and I was feeling pretty hopeless. Unfortunately, I don't remember the throwaway account I used, so I'm updating with less context than I would like. Regardless, I started losing weight about six and a half years ago. It was relatively easy to lose the first sixty pounds or so; I just picked some foods, reduced portions until I was losing about two pounds per week, and then ate the exact same thing every single day. Based on the records I kept of my weight, I went from about 260lbs in January 2015 to 228lbs by October 2015. From that point to about April 2017, I ended up putting on another twelve pounds, and I decided to start losing again, with the same strategy. I got down to 184lbs by the end of December 2017. I didn't really track for awhile, and in March of 2019 I was back up to 188, so I again dieted down, this time to about 175 by May 2019. Again, I stopped tracking, and my weight went up to 200lbs by March 2020 (probably from stress eating).

    Well, COVID hit. I recognized it as an opportunity: lockdown meant that I could control exactly what I ate every single day without anyone trying to test my willpower, and it meant that I didn't have to leave the house to fulfill other obligations, so I could construct my workout schedule as I saw fit. I'm lucky that I am able to work from home, so I started making it a priority to walk every day on my treadmill; I started out just doing a half hour at around two miles an hour, "bumping it up" at the end to 2.3 with an incline of about 5%. I thought that was difficult! I had some time constraints, despite working from home, so I adjusted my diet and just walked every single day. I decided that in May I would start lifting weights again, after I got into the 180s again with walking and sticking to a consistent diet. Again, luckily, I had a pretty good supply of equipment from long ago, so I didn't have to worry about the fitness equipment shortage. I started Stronglifts in May, and ramped up my walking; as of now, I walk at about 4.2 mph for over an hour and a half every day. One of the challenges was adjusting my diet; unfortunately, keeping my calories as low as they had been made my workouts unbearable, and I found myself exhausted during the day and performing poorly when lifting. So I had to increase the calories a bit and add some carbs on non-lifting days (not the usual advice, but it worked for me). Since May I have lost about thirty pounds, and according to the DEXA scan I took in February, I'm about 15% bodyfat.

    I have to admit (here comes the whining again) that I'm a bit disappointed, because I really wanted to get down to 10% by now and have a "real" six pack, but with lockdown winding down and my parents vaccinated, I'm now occasionally seeing them and eating real food again, which makes it difficult to stay at a deficit. I tried adjusting my calories further down the rest of the time, but I took it too far and ended up with that same lethargy I had before. So now I'm looking at more of a recomp kind of situation, where I'll keep my non-lifting days at a slight deficit, allow myself the occasional cheat days every couple of weeks, and monitor my weight closely. I'll also get DEXA scans every few months to keep myself honest. On the bright side, I never thought I would get this lean at 40.

    Anyway, here are the pics: https://imgur.com/a/MDy1Chw

    submitted by /u/NotVerySexyIGuess
    [link] [comments]

    I stopped myself from eating Junk yesterday!

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 09:04 PM PDT

    I know it may sound like a small thing but I have a habit where I spend the whole day making sure I eat healthy but when it comes to night, I get strong junk food cravings and end up eating something or the other. Usually I make sure that I don't keep junk at home but sometimes I cannot stop it from being at home cuz I live with my family.

    But everytime I've had access to junk food, I've ended up eating it. it maybe as much as a packet of chips, but after a healthy day with healthy food and workout, I just feel guilty the next day.

    But last night I was watching a movie and really wanted to take out that Act 2 popcorn packet and make that, but I really read through the calories it has, and if it is unhealthy and I was finally able to stop myself from eating it. Instead I decided to have a glass of milk instead because it's filling and has less calories.

    It'll be small victories like thias that will be able to help me in the long run.

    I was really happy about this so I thought I'll share it with you 😊

    submitted by /u/bunnymcwolf
    [link] [comments]

    80lbs down. Slow and Steady

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 06:44 PM PDT

    This time two years ago I tipped the scales at 355lbs. I was heavy, sore, miserable, and my life was starting to be severely affected by my weight. I could barely walk anymore without taking a break every twenty feet or so. I ate horribly. My breakfast was usually three chocolate bars, my lunch was four sandwiches. My dinners were actually healthy because my husband cooked them, but in general, I ate very badly.

    Then I got sick. A strange thing that happens to me every couple of years. I just couldn't eat anything except broth and sometimes some plain noodles. Water was all I could drink. I dropped a few pounds and for once I thought... Why stop just because I'm feeling better? I started to work out by myself, and once I'd dropped about thirty pounds I joined a gym and tried out crossfit. It was both amazing and horrible. I couldn't keep up but the instructors always helped me modify the workout. I was usually in pain, but it was pain that was making me stronger, so that was good. I hired a trainer, learned how to use the gym, and then Covid hit and I lost my job. I had to quit.

    So I was pretty bummed at first, but at least I had a good base to work with. I downloaded MFP and started to work on my food choices. I'm still not fantastic and believe I have a low key addiction to chocolate, but I eat a lot more veggies now and my lunch is usually soup and things like pickles, beets, and salads. Good stuff. I got a different job that requires a lot of walking and on the weekends my husband and I take the dogs for long walks. The dogs tire out before me now, which is a switch.

    I do have some bad days, and I flux up and down a few times before finally dipping down more. Even though my progress is slow, I wanted to tell you all about it because I've been lurking for a long time and this is the first time I wanted to acknowledge how hard I've worked. I weigh in now at 272, and although I have a lot to lose yet, I'm starting to feel like it's a matter of time instead of being an impossible goal.

    That's... Um... All I have to say. Thank you for reading, if you got this far. :)

    submitted by /u/brown_eyed_frog
    [link] [comments]

    Down 20 pounds in 2 months and half.

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 11:51 PM PDT

    Just wanted to thank everyone for their posts and comments on various posts... It has tremendously helped me, and I'm feeling really happy. It's been really tough some days, but I've pulled through with the help of this sub. If anyone is struggling, I wish you the best, but I know that you can keep going. Seriously thanks, a lot. I'm still very much experimenting different methods for my journey, so I may not be the best to give advice, but if you want to lose weight give it a try. No matter how much you fail, just keep going, you'll find your own way once you figure it out. Don't stress out if you don't lose what you expected after you restrict yourself. Ive been really struggling with that feeling, so I know how hard it can be to look at the scale and be disappointed by the lack of progress, but PLEASE do not give in. Keep going. Why quit if you've gone so far? Just decided to give some of my knowledge out there like all of the rest of you. Stay strong, for whatever reason you're still going strong, keep that strength.

    submitted by /u/thermacslap
    [link] [comments]

    Worked out for the first time in years today

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 05:40 PM PDT

    It was just a 21 minute cardio workout and I had to modify a few of the exercises but it burned nonetheless and now I feel like I'm going to collapse lol. I've been really fat my whole life and got made fun of/shamed a lot because of it. I've been put on diets since before the age of 10, which I guess really screwed with my eating habits, since I either binge or starve. In addition to working out around people I'm actually scared of dealing with the number aspect of weight loss because I don't want to be so obsessed with calorie counting to the point of a full on eating disorder. This will take a lot of motivation, time and consistency...

    submitted by /u/i_know_nothing123
    [link] [comments]

    I’ve noticed that the last 25 lbs is way harder to lose than the first

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 10:16 PM PDT

    About 4 weeks ago I posted about my progress here and I got a lot of support from you guys so thanks. Over the past 4 weeks I have been down to eating 1 meal a day while working a physically demanding job as aconstruction worker and still going to the gymat least once a week I have lost a total of 6 pounds . I am surprised at how much harder it gets overtime, but I am still progressing pretty well. Today I was able to run 1.5 miles under 20 minutes and can now do exactly 1 pull up! Weight loss is definitely more of marathon than a sprint as it test both your body and your willpower to keep going and it always helps to have people cheer you on so this is for someone who might just need the motivation to stay on track and keep your eyes on your goals.

    submitted by /u/Schloomyschloms
    [link] [comments]

    Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Sunday, 04 April 2021? Start here!

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 09:31 PM PDT

    Today is your Day 1?

    Welcome to r/Loseit!

    So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started.

    Why you're overweight

    Our bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently.

    Before You Start

    The very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week.

    Tracking

    Here is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it.

    Creating Your Deficit

    How do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian.

    The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it.

    Exercise

    Is NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight.

    It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel *awesome* and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes.

    Crawl, Walk, Run

    It can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments.

    Acceptance

    You will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better.

    Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better.

    Additional resources

    Now you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.

    * Lose It Compendium - Frame it out!

    * FAQ - Answers to our most Frequently Asked Questions!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    A message to the teenagers losing weight...

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 12:24 PM PDT

    Hello fellow Redditors. I am a fifteen year old girl, 5'5 and two months ago I weighed 182 lbs . I was obese, unhealthy and began having back issues due to my bodying carrying so much weight. I decided to begin my journey to become healthier and more fit. I struggle with binge eating and anxiety as well. A message to teens who are looking to lose weight keep in mind it's not a fast process especially if you are making a lifestyle change as well. You will make mistakes and will gain weight then lose it again. It's a rough journey and you will experience so many emotions; motivation, disappointment, gratitude, regret. Be prepared to fail and start again. Be prepared to have people say mean horrible things. You got this. Look at your weight loss journey as a health goal rather than a way to look "hotter or prettier". Adapting these lifestyle changes now will help you as an adult. Keep in mind you can still enjoy food and be healthy and fit. Never stop enjoying food. Allow yourself to enjoy the flavors and tastes without binging afterwards. Focus on food as something that helps your body to feel healthy and great rather than for pleasure. It's your body, it deserves all the love you have, I'm not saying obsess over your health but treat your body well, you have to live in it for the rest of your life. Don't ever punish yourself when you make mistakes, instead think of ways you can do better tomorrow. Most importantly stay strong. I know how hard it is to lose weight especially when adults, parents, siblings, friends and strangers can be cruel and comment on your weight in bad ways rather than motivating you. I know those hard nights crying because you hate the way you look and feel, but rest assured everyone can find the motivation to lose weight. Whether it takes weeks or a year, once you are persistent and never give up you will achieve your goals eventually. Stay strong everyone <3

    submitted by /u/UpsidedownSunsets
    [link] [comments]

    How to deal with body dysmorphia/unhappiness after weight loss

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 07:49 PM PDT

    This time last year I was 35 pounds heavier and honestly I was happier. I ate whatever I wanted and didn't worry about food, I thought I looked good, I never worried about how I looked, and I liked my body. Now I am just so unhappy with my weight loss even though it was intentional and I don't want to regain weight. I look at myself and while I'm happy my stomach is smaller my butt and thighs are smaller (not like small but smaller than before) and I don't like that, my stomach is smaller but not flat, and I find my self constantly criticizing my looks.

    It also doesn't help that nothing is flattering on me anymore and even the new stuff I've bought that's smaller doesn't fit my proportions well and I always have gaping at the waist even when it's skin tight on my thighs and butt.

    Long story short how do you get over feeling like this if anyone has experienced this. I don't like being unhappy with the way I look and obsessed with food and checking to see what I look like in public every 5 minutes but I don't want to go back to being overweight.

    I want to go back to when I freshly lost weight and I was so confident in myself but I don't know how to get there.

    submitted by /u/dysantinan
    [link] [comments]

    40lb loss milestone, 1k cal deficit. Sedentary male, 33, starting weight 235

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 03:58 PM PDT

    https://imgur.com/2OqREB1

    33 male, 6'1", starting weight 235.

    Excited to have hit the 40lb milestone and be 10-15lbs away from target. Wanted to share to encourage others that simple calorie deficit worked for me and may work for you too. From the start I've just counted calories with MFP and targeted 1k/day deficit (-2lbs per week). I didn't restrict any particular foods or follow any other strategy. I'm fairly sedentary and didn't do any exercise during this other than occasional walks. Also, I wasn't perfect in hitting the daily target. I'd be a little over, a little under, or a lot over on occasions (maybe once every 2 weeks-ish). In general, I tried not to be too hard on myself throughout the process.

    I like calorie counting because it's simple and my result data aligns very closely with my target weight loss rate. Hopefully my success can encourage someone else looking for a simple plan. Happy to answer any questions.

    submitted by /u/caloriedeficit
    [link] [comments]

    6 month update

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 11:33 AM PDT

    I started out at 138.5kg (around 305lb) and now 6 months later I am currently at 109.1kg(240lb).

    I just wanted to share my progress so far and even though I still have a while to go before I achieve my target weight, I am happy with this. especially because it has mostly been achieved through my diet as gyms here where I live have been closed for over 4 of these months, and I had also spent 6 weeks abroad where I didn't lose (and fortunately gain) any weight.

    What I realised has had the greatest impact is being in a caloric deficit. Another has been portion control, I have not been strict with myself in what I can and cannot eat but I have been eating everything in moderation.

    submitted by /u/XbhGonto
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: April 4th, 2021

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 10:09 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences :)

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    25yo, 400 pound female

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 06:16 PM PDT

    25yo female who needs help

    I'm 25 years old and have always been on the heavier side. 2 years ago I started my weight loss journey and lost 50 pounds in a year. I then got extremely sick and was hospitalized for an extended period of time. Sadly during this time I gained all the weight I lost back and then some. I now weigh over 400 pounds and I'm scared for my life and health if I continue down this path. I want to be happy and healthy not only for myself but for my husband. I want to be on this earth for a long while to come so that I can start a family and be around for the family I do have for as long as possible. I need help and motivation to lose the weight. I'm looking for tips on how to start all over again and hopefully get healthy once and for all please!

    submitted by /u/rachiekitty21
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Sunday, 04 April 2021: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 10:01 PM PDT

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    * Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?

    * Did you log for an entire week? or year?

    * Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?

    * Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!

    ---

    On Reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily most the most read, most used, most interesting post on r/loseit by redding, commenting, and participating often!

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    24-Hour Pledge - Sunday, 04 April 2021 - The Plan for Today!

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 10:01 PM PDT

    Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!

    This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track.

    Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing

    I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me?

    Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution.

    Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message.

    ---

    On reddit, your *vote* means, *"I found this interesting"* (...read more about [**voting on reddit**](https://www.reddit.com/wiki/voting))

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Weight loss buddy needed!

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 06:10 PM PDT

    I've decided I really need to get back on track and lose about 23 pounds! I think it would be lots of fun to have someone to do this with. Usually I lose and gain all by myself but thought it would be fun to do this with someone. Care to join me?

    My plan is to do CICO, use MFP, stick to meal prepping, walking for exercise, giving up Diet Coke and drinking more water! I have great inspiration: I'm going on vacation May 6th through the May 18th, I have company for the 4th of July coming, and I have weddings August 14th and the 21st. I tried on my new swimsuit and it barely fits. I've already bought dresses for these events and I need to lose weight for them to fit and look better! In fact, the Calvin Klein dress I bought won't quite zip up! Ugh!!! Not only is this inspiration for me but my annual physical is in September and I'm sure this extra weight will have a negative impact on my overall health! My doctor will be very pleased I jumped on this and didn't gain even more.

    F, 63 YO. At my heaviest weight I was 285 pounds (July, 2002), in 15 months I went down to 159 pounds, had a complete abdominalplasty, went down to 140 pounds - I maintained this weight for several years, in August, 2019 my weight was 225 pounds and October, 2020 I was 143.6 pounds. I'm sure I'll be a success at losing the weight again!

    So today I logged my weight (166.5 pounds), food (1,416 calories), exercise (went for a 45 minute walk with my dog), drank 68 ounces of water and I did drink Diet Coke today (I have some at home and my plan is to not drink anymore starting Monday)! My goals are: log my food intake in MFP 5 days a week, stick to my calorie goal (1400 calories - recommended by my doctor/dietitian) 5 days a week, go for a 30 minute walk (I usually do more) 5 days a week and drink at least 64 ounces of water 5 days a week. Why are these goals set for 5 days a week? Because if I tell myself I have to do this every single day and I goof up one or two days I'll feel like a failure. If I do more than 5 days a week then I'll see myself as a success. Starting on Monday I want to start IF 20:4. I'll finish eating at 4:30pm on Sunday afternoon and IF until 12:30pm on Monday. It's time to get back on program!!!

    So, would anyone care to join me? Please let me know.

    submitted by /u/vcwalden
    [link] [comments]

    Overweight new dad 31yo, 225lbs, 5'9", heaviest in my life

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 03:41 PM PDT

    Hey All,

    I am writing this as both a cathartic experience and a way for me to stay focused and on track.

    I have always been overweight my whole life. My dad comes from a poor Brooklyn family. His parents came from Ireland knowing firsthand what famine looked like. So food was no to be wasted and was basically precious. My mom came from the midwest and so food was love and was typically drenching in cheese or something similar. I was not allowed to leave the table until my plate was clean no matter how much they gave me. This severely messed with my perception of food. To this day, i feel incredibly uncomfortable leaving food on my plate. I feel downright furious when food is wasted in my house.

    I was picked on a lot as to be expected in Brooklyn schools and so I found solace in food. Junk food in particular. Likewise, I didn't like to go outside much. There wasn't much to do for me in Brooklyn so TV became my best friend. The only exception was the weekends my Dad took me to our camp in the Catskills. I loved the outdoors, hiking, fishing, hunting. But those calories were quickly made up with junk food as boys do. I tried in vain a few times to lose weight. I'd go hardcore, cut calories like crazy and then crash hard into a pizza (my favorite)

    This was the norm until high school. I was able to take a weight training class which got me really into lifting/strength training. I lost a fair bit of weight without even really knowing it. I was still overweight but healthier. This was also when I first threw my back out. I didn't know it at the time, but I likely bulged a disc. This stopped me from doing any core exercises for years.

    Over the years I have tried to lose weight using every trick and gaget. Most recently, I have learned that I have not one, but two herniated discs. This makes my old lifting impossible. Add to that, I have a newborn, I have ballooned to my highest weight, 225 lbs.

    I'll take any advice or support stories anyone would like to share. I am terrified of screwing up again because I can't take it anymore. I'm so worried my emotions will get the better of me and ill find comfort in food again. I have wrestled with depression and my current situation is the most stressed and exhausted I have ever been.

    So here I am. Reaching out to this sub for support and catharsis. I am devoting this account to my weight loss and nothing else. I'm going to try to get involved to keep me on track. Right now I'm doing MFP (back on the wagon) as well as Fitbit, and Happyscale to help manage. I like data and can use it to my advantage.

    Let me have it.

    submitted by /u/Nothininparticular9
    [link] [comments]

    Progress through DEXA scanning

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 10:58 AM PDT

    https://imgur.com/a/RNsUDqG

    I had no trouble getting exercise in. I liked lifting weights and running, but I found it hard to track calories and stick to a calorie range. This all changed in early 2021, when I read an article that said, "fat but fit is a myth". I then decided that I really needed to lose weight by paying attention to what I eat.

    In 2019 (my last DEXA scan before the pandemic), I weighed 228lbs and had 48.3% body fat with 112.4lbs of lean tissue.

    After I lost a good amount of weight, I scanned myself in February 2021. I weighed 207lbs, with 44.6% body fat and 109.1lbs of lean tissue. When I compared the 2019 numbers with the 2021 numbers, I found that I had lost 3.7% body fat, but I also lost 3.3lbs of lean tissue! The thought of losing muscle scared me a bit, so I started increasing the amount of protein I was eating. Previously, I ate around 70-ish grams of protein every day, but now I try to get in over 110 grams.

    Today I scanned to see if I am building muscle, and I weighed in at 200lbs, with 42.3% of body fat and 110.3lbs of lean tissue! I lost 2.3% body fat, and gained 1.2lbs of lean tissue! I hope I can keep this going.

    submitted by /u/ampersand_you
    [link] [comments]

    Daily Q&A Post for Sunday, 04 April 2021 - No question too small!

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 10:31 PM PDT

    Got a question? We've got answers!

    Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? That's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small.

    TIPS:

    * Include your stats if appropriate/relevant (or better yet, update your flair!)

    * Check the FAQ and other resources in the sidebar!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment