• Breaking News

    Sunday, April 4, 2021

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-04

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-04


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-04

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Sunday Show Off - Because it's perfectly fine to admit you're also doing bodyweight fitness to do cool tricks in front of people!

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 09:17 PM PDT

    HEY YOU,

    Have you taken any recent pics of those sweet gains, your human flag, or those handstands off the wall you're finally holding?

    Do you have other bodyweight fitness accomplishments you've made and want the world to know about because your friends and family can't appreciate how hard L-sit progressions are??

    This is the thread for you to share all that and inspire others at the same time! I'm talking about another S-S-SU-SUNDAY SHOW OFF!!

    Note that we aren't limiting you to what we're discussing on the FAQ. Show us anything that blew your mind the moment you realized you had it. This may include aspects of: gymnastics, climbing, parkour, weight loss/gain, posture, etc. They are all more than welcome in this thread.


    We also want to remind you that we've been sharing your content on @redditbwf on both Instagram and Twitter. Help us grow our sub's social media in order to reach out to non-Redditors across these other platforms!


    Last week's Show Off thread

    Check out some of the previous Sunday Show Off threads for more inspiration! Archives here.

    As always, many of us are on Discord and would love to meet our BWF brothers and sisters, wherever you're from!


    Want to motivate yourself further? Use our member locator and workout map resource in our sidebar to form a local workout group in your area!

    submitted by /u/Solfire
    [link] [comments]

    Is 30-40 minutes of Back exercises twice a week enough for growth?

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 09:10 AM PDT

    Hi everybody,

    I am 23M, 6ft tall, weighing about 220 lbs. I am somewhat of a beginner in working out since I have trained for 3 months back in 2016 and 3 months last year before stopping.

    Because of the lockdown, I am currently training at home where I have a dip bar, a pull up bar and 80 pounds in free weights. Since I don't have much time, my routine consists of 50 min - 1 hr workouts 6 days a week. Rest of the day I am sedentary since I have an office job. Here is the weekly routine by muscle groups:

    Monday - Chest, biceps and abs
    Tuesday - Back and abs
    Wednesday - Legs and abs
    Thursday - Chest, biceps and abs
    Friday - Back and abs
    Saturday - Legs, triceps and abs
    Sunday - Rest

    Since it's only 50 minutes to 1 hr a day, I divide my workout to target eg. chest for 40 minutes, biceps for 15 minutes and abs for 5 minutes. Similarly for back day. My question is, can I stimulate back growth by doing 30-40 minutes of Back exercises twice a week? Here is an example of my typical back day routine:
    Tuesday - Back and abs
    (40-45 minutes of back exercises)
    Pull Ups - 15-20 sets (my max is 10 reps and the rest I can do 5-6 or 3-4 for the last sets), total done about 100 pull ups, alone totals about 25-30 mins
    One Arm Dumbbell Row - 5-7 sets (with weights I have), on Tuesdays, 10-15 min
    Bent Over Dumbbell Rows - 7-9 sets (with weights I have + some extra weight I find around the house), on Thursdays, 10-15 min
    (about 5 minutes of abs exercises)
    Leg Raises - 5-7 sets

    The entire back routine takes about 40-45 minutes to complete since it's about 25-30 sets total depending on the rest periods which are about 45 sec to 1 min. Is this enough for my back to grow and expand or am I wasting my time?

    Here is some more info on my diet:
    Typical day of eating: ~2200-2300 cals, ~190-200g protein

    submitted by /u/Future-Fisherman
    [link] [comments]

    Mobility / stretching to prep pistol squats?

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 09:26 AM PDT

    Hi everyone!

    I've been trying to slowly build my way to pistol squats. I am currently at a stage where I stack two sturdy boxes (around 40cms total) and use that to do chair pistol squats progression.

    However, I've noticed I have mobility issues in my right leg / hip. I can go ass to grass with my left leg (although I can't get back up because I don't have the strength) but if I try the same with my right I either fall back or fold my trunk forward way too much to keep my balance.

    This is still very noticeable in my progression exercise: I have to add a book to the boxes when I work the right leg and still my form is bad.

    I always do a bit of mobility work before I work out to open the hips but it's obviously not enough.

    I should also add that a weightlifting coach immediately noticed the difference in mobility in my hips while doing mobility work during a class.

    submitted by /u/lone_direwolf86
    [link] [comments]

    Discouraged and need help.

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 09:42 AM PDT

    Hey everyone, thank you for looking at my post if you do. But I just need some advice from somebody who has achieved what I'm looking for. I want to start by saying I used to be in amazing shape in high school, 6 pack abs, amazing strength and stamina, and overall just confident. After my junior year I asked my mom if she could help me buy food for a diet. I ate nothing but plain grilled chicken, raw spinach, eggs, protein powder, and yes I got amazing results I was very defined and probably in the best shape in my life I was around 180 (I'm 5'9") but the diet was definitely not manageable, it was way too strict to last a long period of time.

    I stopped after about 6 months. Everyone kept saying I looked "too skinny" and it really discouraged me. Instead of hearing compliments I heard things that I found a little insulting. So I figured let me try to bulk. I had absolutely no idea what I was doing I just ate all day long whatever I could get, giant plates of chicken, sandwiches, anything. It did make me feel stronger in the gym I noticed about a month in that I could lift a lot more than I usually could. I quickly put on weight. I've always been skinny my entire life so to see stretch marks, more fat, rolls, it was scaring me and discouraging me. Nothing fit anymore, and I was embarrassed 24/7.

    Because of this, I stopped trying all together, stopped working out, stopped eating the amount I was. I was defeated, I couldn't even walk up the stairs without getting winded. I constantly ached. Even laying down in my bed I felt like I couldn't breathe. I'm now 20 years old about 250. My worst wait was 260. I started a diet last September and I lost 45 pounds I dropped to 215 and I was feeling great but unfortunately I had complications in my job and I ran out of money for my diet. Christmas came along and I let go again.

    All my gf's brothers did steroids and they're all jacked so I'm not gonna lie it gets tempting sometimes. I know I could never do it lol I can't even watch needles go in me let alone do it myself.

    I've always wanted to get big muscles. Nothing insanely big but big enough for people to be like "damn that guys jacked" I'd like to lose the weight first and then try to pack on muscle but I'm not sure. I'd love to hear what some of you guys suggest I'm open to anything.

    submitted by /u/ApartPen8059
    [link] [comments]

    Calisthenics leg training chart

    Posted: 04 Apr 2021 03:04 AM PDT

    Hello !

    A few days ago, I was looking at the overcoming gravity chart and I noticed that there were not a lot of guidelines for the leg training, it was mainly upper body.

    I decided to create a chart for lower body training as it is something that I love with calisthenics. Here is the link :

    Bodyweight leg training chart

    I just wanted your opinion on this chart. I am French so there is a little bit of french but most of the text is in english.

    Let me know how you would progress for some of the exercises and if you want me to add more exercises.

    Thanks for reading !

    submitted by /u/WorkoutSchool
    [link] [comments]

    Opinions on calisthenics + running routine

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 04:49 PM PDT

    Hi everyone!

    I'm a very busy person (10+ hours of work a day, 2 kids, living far from my hometown) and i'm trying to stick to a routine that is sustainable and that provide me some hypertrophy in the long run. Since i'm a military, I need to run at least 3 times a week just to maintain my conditioning for the army fitness requirements of my country (which, for running, means being able to run 1,8 mile/2900 meter in 12 minutes).

    My stats today: Height: 1,72 m / 5,64 feet Actual weight: 72 kg / 158 lbs Age: 29

    My fitness/gym experience: - Sedentary kid. - Joined a gym when was 16 years. At that time, weight went from 58 kg to 62 kg. Flexed arm 32cm. - Joined the Military Academy at 17. Quit gym for obvious reasons. For the following 5 years of my life, just survived the Academy (lots of running, calisthenics, field exercises, poor sleep, etc). At the end, my stats were something like: 66kg, flexed arm 33cm, age 21 (year was 2013). - For the next 6 years, just maintained the military fitness routine (some running... some calisthenics). Normal diet (3 meals a day, mostly healthy food, some beer at weekends). In october 2019, my stats were almost the same of the previous: 65kg, flexed arm 32cm, age 27. - In november 2019, decided to try something to bulk up. Stopped running and begun Starting Strength routine. Diet was normal added with a "half GOMAD". Maintained this for 2 months. The results were: Squat went from 40kg to 110kg; bench press went from 50kg to 72kg; overhead press from 16kg to 42kg; deadlift from 50kg to 120kg. Stats at the end: 75kg, flexed arm 35 cm, age 28. HOWEVER, the bad side was: run conditioning went to shit, and the parts of my body that grow the most were my legs, butt and belly! Didnt enjoy my appearence at the end, so I stopped Starting Strength in february 2020. - Did nothing (no running, no weights, no calisthenics) from feb to july 2020, because of the pandemic 1st wave. Stats at the end: 67 kg, flexed arm 33cm, age 28. - In august 2020, decided to try to bulk up again. This time, with a totally diferent approach: I did the 6 days a week Schwarzenegger Beginner routine. Took creatine and tracked my calories. Didnt run during this time. It did work! I was able to maintain that routine till the end of october 2020. Stats at the end: 74kg, flexed arm 38cm. Bad sides: the workouts took too much time (between 1h30 to 2h). For a busy person like me, wasnt sustainable in the long run. Other than that, i wasnt able to run during that time, for 2 reasons: lack of time and lack of energy. - From october 2020 to actual days, I did some eventual running and calisthenics. Stats today: 72kg, flexed arm 37cm, age 29.

    So, now I want to try to do something that: - Allow me to run the mininum needed to maintain the army fitness requirement (which i think means running at least 3 times a week). - Dont take a lot of time. 30 minutes should be the best, but 45 can do. - Allow me to get some hypertrophy in the long run. - Dont need a gym (gym means time lost going to and from the gym).

    After some reading (recommended routine reddit, bodyweight muscle book, greyskull lp book, the prio system, etc) I came to the following routine:

    1ST WEEK: Monday: - Chin Up progression 3x(6-30) - Push Up progression 3x(6-30) - BW squat progression 3x(6-30)

    Tuesday: Running (5-8 km / pace: 4:45min/km)

    Wednesday: - Front Lever row progression 3x(6-30) - Pike Push Up progression 3x(6-30) - Hinge progression 3x(6-30)

    Thursday: - HIIT run = (8-12)x400m, 1:30/lap, 1:30/rest

    Friday - Chin Up progression 3x(6-30) - Push Up progression 3x(6-30) - BW squat progression 3x(6-30)

    Saturday: - Running (5-8 km / pace: 4:45min/km)

    Sunday: - Rest

    2ND WEEK: - Keep the running routine. - Alternate the calisthenics workouts.

    Some detail: - Rest between sets is 2 minutes. - After building enough strength and coordination, the idea is going from pike to handstand push ups. - I took the rep range from The Prio System book. The author says, at some point, that there are scientific data showing this rep range (6-30) works for hypertrophy. - Yes, the strenght routine is like a calisthenic version of Phraks Greyskull LP.

    So, what do you think about this workout? Can I expect some muscle gain in the long run?

    submitted by /u/figa_53
    [link] [comments]

    How many weighted pull ups to do a one arm pullup / chinup?

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 05:10 AM PDT

    Hi All

    I am currently training for my one arm pull up and or chin up.

    I come from a bodybuilding / 'powerbuilding' (powerlifting strength reps but for whole body) background. I'm very intrigued in the idea of performing a one arm pull up.

    I had a question and I have seen numerous reddit threads on this matter, which is How much additional weight to add to do one arm pull up? As some of you may already know to do a one arm pull up requires a high ability to do many reps in pull ups let's say 20 reps.

    I'm trying to lose weight as of right now, due to the lockdown and re-opening of normality. But because of this as well, I really want to achieve my dreams of being able to do a one arm pull up. My stats are as follows:

    5"10' (70 inches) - Height

    14-17% (ranges of 32.5 - 33.1 inch around belly button / hips area a bit) - Bodyfat

    178 LBS (81KG) - Weight

    Ideal weight I am cutting down to is around 163 lbs (74KG)

    My estimated one rep max from pull ups is about 127.5KG. This is done by adding in my best performance into a calculator from https://strengthlevel.com/one-rep-max-calculator. Lower reps tends to failure tends to be extremely reliable. whereas 10reps or above can be inflating a one rep max potentially by 10KG.

    Anyways, I'm wondering what do you think is the likelyhood of achieving the one arm pull up with these stats? I'm sort of just impatient with my weight loss lol. I would like to know peoples experiences with the one arm pull up and how much weight they had to add on in proportion to their current weight to do the one arm pull up. From various threads it seems to hover around 1.7x your current bodyweight that you can do in a one repmax for pull ups. Do you think 1.7X your bodyweight in additional weight in 2 hand pull up to be the main factor in the one arm pull up?

    Thank you in advanced.

    This thread isn't meant to be bragging if anyone thinks of it. I'm just very curious what people think about this.

    submitted by /u/poggershehe
    [link] [comments]

    Can you protract without rounded shoulders?

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 05:47 AM PDT

    I just finished some planche leans. After I did so, my shoulders naturally rounded and my chest just felt very tight. Keeping good open posture felt more difficult.

    Is this a consequence of bad form or just protraction? It seems like the latter since I don't see how one could protract without rounding the shoulders. I tried to rotate my humerus externally on the last set so my bicep was facing forward more, it felt better but still left me rounded. My shoulder joint hurt for a bit from this, it's subsided but it was only on one side so that can't be good.

    Is my protraction form wrong? Is there a way to do this without rounding the shoulders? My serratus anterior and lats were activated, I was conscious of that and it really seemed like my scapular posture was as good as it could get, but my scapula was rounded to the point where my lateral delts were engaged in the motion.

    submitted by /u/Master-Task-9141
    [link] [comments]

    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2021-04-03

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 09:01 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, try the BWF Primer Routine, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    NEW EXCITING NEW YEAR NEWS:

    • The BWF Primer Routine is being rolled out! You can follow that link to a collection of all the rollout posts. Check them out and follow along at home for an introduction to BWF

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Ulnar Forearm pain during planche training (Potential fix)

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 03:52 PM PDT

    Hey everyone, I have been training planche for a few months now and have recieved an injury in the ulnar side of the forearm during advanced tuck planche holds. This feels like a sudden/sharp pain when releasing the hands off the ground too quickly.

    One solution I've found from this subbreddit is to release the pressure off the ground very slowly, this has worked for me most of the time but still allows the pain to seep through unfortunately.

    From experimenting with the pain myself, I've found that the pain originates from even earlier than when you release from the ground. The key was maintaining the lean position:

    • When you are done with the hold, drop down without leaving wrist extension.
    • Slowly lean backwards until wrists are comfortable (forearms are at 90+ degrees from hand).
    • Slowly release pressure from the ground.

    I have been using this method recently and haven't gotten the sharp pain in my arms anymore. I hope this is helpful for anyone out there that needs it, but if the pain is still present, it's probably best to see a physiotherapist as soon as possible.

    Thanks for reading, have a great day!

    submitted by /u/Sharifee
    [link] [comments]

    Are you aware of your central nervous system?

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 12:50 AM PDT

    With the best of intentions, I thought it would be fun to create a thread that might help someone to the next step in their training. See clips linked below (I have not seen it since it was published six months ago). I feel that since I started thinking about the CNS being affected by different kinds of training, I have jumped up a level in both strength, volume and endurance.

    So are you all aware of this? Even though he talks about powerlifting (?), I think it affects us who train a lot with body weight, but maybe in the other direction. Solution? Be sure to use weights occasionally to achieve maximum load. Make sure to go to the gym and do heavy deadlifts, squats, bench presses with few repetitions.

    Well, maybe this is obvious to most people. But at the same time, there may be someone who benefits from this information. Happy Easter!

    Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LBAG-MvdHOM

    submitted by /u/Igor_Kravchuk
    [link] [comments]

    Nearly 3 months Recommend Routine

    Posted: 03 Apr 2021 01:30 AM PDT

    http://imgur.com/a/BNb6kKi

    Hey all, i want to Share my progress with recommend Routine. I started with 73kg skinny fat (174cm height), my weight stayed the Same. I started strictly with the Routine, after 4weeks i bought some Rings, for Support Hold, Dips and Push Ups. I also added weight (10kg) for Bulgarien Split Squat and Hamstring Slides, now i use 20kg for this two Exercises. I could do 1 pullup and 3 Dips, now i do 6x6 pullups 4x10 pbar-dips or 4x7 ringddips. My Push Up was allrdy good 3x12 Diamond, now 3x8 ringpushup.

    My diet is pretty simple, oats with fruits in the morning, some carbs and meat for Lunch (sometimes eggs). Most time i eat only two Times, sometimes some skyr at evening. I try to eat mostly healthy fruits for Snacks and some whey Protein for Shakes. I stoped drinking alcohol 4weeks ago, No sugar or sweets at all.

    Great shout Outs to Saint_Cian He helped me a Lot to progress and stay motivated.

    So i hope my progress is OK for this time. Stay tuned and get strong. This Community is awesome!

    submitted by /u/giasinso66
    [link] [comments]

    Calisthenics/bodyweight kit (present idea)

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 01:17 PM PDT

    Hi everyone,

    My husband used to do calesthenics a few years back and loved it. He recently found a place with bars nearby and wants to get back into it. For his birthday I'd love to surprise him with a kit of loads of things to help him get back into it. I know nothing about calisthenics/bodyweight exercises other than he mentioned something about needing bands to do pull ups properly until he builds up enough strength. I don't want to ask him the specifics of what he needs as I would like to surprise him. Any suggestions as to what you would include in your dream kit? (It's his 30th birthday so I don't mind spending a bit of money). Thanks for your suggestions!

    submitted by /u/juliannelyne123
    [link] [comments]

    Small arms after months of body weight workouts

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 06:37 PM PDT

    Hey so I'm 16 (m) and 5"9 and after lots of help on here I am nearing my first milestone of going from roughly 128 pounds to 150 pounds ( I'm at 145 right now). However during these months of bulking and body weight workouts I've neglected my arms, I've noticed my chest has got bigger and people have pointed out that I look bigger however I still avoid wearing shirts as my arms are only 12 inches and look skinny in t shirts. I've got a dumbbell now to work on my arms now in addition to a new body routine.

    This is what it's looking like for my arms day:

    15,15,15,15 dumbbell squats

    8 , 8, 8, , 8 reps of curls

    12 , 12 , 12 , seated dumbbell shoulder press

    12, 12, 12, tricep close grip press

    12, 12, 12 shoulder shrugs

    12, 12, 12 unilateral floor press

    I've never worked out my arms before and couldn't seem to find a routine I could make work on some other subreddits so any help would be appreciated of your thoughts on this routine every other day using a 20lbs dumbbell. I also eat 3100+ calories a day with a lot of protein. My main question is are all these exercises worth doing or shall I just stick to curls and the squats with a body weight workout for my chest instead.

    submitted by /u/lettuce40
    [link] [comments]

    Helping my sister lose weight and get healthy

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 11:01 AM PDT

    Hey guys, I'm new to the subsection and this is probably my 3rd ever post.

    Let me start off by explaining my sisters background growing up as far as her fitness journey goes.

    My sister was never into any sports growing up and rarely did any outdoor activities, mostly gaming or spending time online with her friends. She did dabble a little bit in badminton but that is all. She has never been one to read the nutrition label at the grocery store while grabbing groceries and often opts for the cheaper alternatives. She was never obese and is not obese today but she is definitely overweight for her size. She orders fast food atleast 3-5x a week, she works nightshift with Canada Post in a warehouse and often only gets 5-8 hours of sleep and outside of work. The only excercise she gets is the limited workout from her work, walking her dogs 5x a week and her one 45 minute 5km run each week, where she averages a 45 minute 5km. After these runs she complains about hip pain and join pain.

    This is where I try to help her, meet resistance and frankly have given up, this is my last shot. She recently

    I've tried to explain to her that her 5km runs are too long for where she is at physically right now. That her frame is not meant to carry the extra weight and that could be why she is having these hip/join pain issues and that she would likely benefit from multiple shorter runs throughout the week. I've tried to convince her to get a personal trainer but she has had one before that by the sounds of it pushed her too hard and she got too sore for her liking... I really want to see my sister live happy and I believe a healthy lifestyle is something that's important and its something she has never ever had.

    My sister told me that if I can scientifically explain to her why what she is doing is not working for her and what is necessary for her to see change then she will listen.

    Up until recently she has been having protein shakes every single morning even though she is only working out AT MOST once a weekend for 45 minutes running 5k.

    submitted by /u/Same_Specialist_9149
    [link] [comments]

    Help with L-Sit compression work form for the inflexible folks like me (comparing methods by Antranik, Tom Merrick, FitnessFAQs)?

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 05:49 PM PDT

    When doing compression work for L-sits, the form confuses me a bit.

    Basically, with Antranik's video, he sits upright with a neutral spine. I find this position challenging on its own, and I don't know if doing compressions with my back slightly rounding/rocking a bit is negating any progress.

    Tom Merrick's video has a bit of a different approach to compression work. He, like FitnessFAQs video suggests using a wall or post to keep your spine aligned. Tom suggests a weight to help with contractions and an elevated butt if needed. FitnessFAQs suggests single leg versions to start.

    However, in all three videos, the back of their pelvis/hips still looks rounded to me. Is that just the normal position of it in the L-sit? If so, maybe that's what I have and I've always thought I was still rounding my back.

    Anyways, my questions: for someone who is unsure of their form and who knows their flexibility in this position is likely poor, which compression work should I follow? Any of you have success with compression work, going from little mobility there to a complete floor L-sit?

    Bonus question: form on elevated tuck l-sit feels wonky. I feel like I'm going to fall backwards if I have to push my hips further out. I also don't know if my thighs should be parallel to the ground or more in a V. What are some cues or form tips for it?

    submitted by /u/KoreanJesusPleasures
    [link] [comments]

    Dexa Scan results - High Visceral Adipose Tissue (VAT)?

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 12:07 PM PDT

    Hey everyone, so I had a dexa scan performed yesterday and the results were pretty much what I expected except for 1 item - the VAT mass and volume. I realize my BF% is pretty high which I am pretty confident will come down with better eating habits + consistent exercise. I'm just concerned that my VAT has gone up in much higher proportions than BF% since last measured 4 years ago.

    My main question is whether the VAT mass of 2.2lbs / 64 cubic inches volume is extremely high on it's own, or is it high relatively speaking because my BF% is also high?

    Also, how do I compare this value with values from others in my gender / age group? Everything I researched refers to VAT "ratings" rather than mass / volume :(

    Gender - Male
    Age: 42
    Weight - 196 lbs

    4/1/2021
    BF% - 31.9%
    VAT 2.2 lbs / 64 cubic in.
    Trunk fat: 35.5%
    Lean mass: 128.6lbs
    Fat mass: 60.2lbs

    3/17/2017
    Weight - 187 lbs
    BF% - 25.5%
    VAT .78 lbs / 22.9 cubic in.
    Trunk fat: 26.9%
    Lean mass: 134.2lbs
    Fat mass: 46lbs

    Thanks :)

    submitted by /u/unreall_23
    [link] [comments]

    Gymnastic rings 24inches apart? Problem?

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 10:53 AM PDT

    I've had gymnastic rings installed inside my doorframe (pullups, leg raises, dips, rows, pushups etc). With eyehooks anchored into walls above the door. Only place I could have hung them effectively.

    I eyeballed my usual grip and at the time it seemed the right width but now I'm worried they might be too far apart. The vertical straps from the rings to the hooks are very short - 1 foot at most. The rings are hung in a neutral / hammer fashion and the distance between the inner edges of the rings is just under 24 inches. My cubit and shoulder width is about 18 inches.

    I've since read that standard width is 50cm / 19.7inchea and long vertical straps. So my setup is nearly 4 inches wider (6 inches wider than shoulders) with tiny straps.

    Is this a problem in any way? For my shoulders in particular. I'm reasonably good at calisthenics so I'm not worried about it being extra difficult - but I don't want to mess up my shoulders with bad angles and lateral forces if this is an issue.

    I could have them redone to be closer but it's a headache I'd rather avoid if it's not necessary.

    Thanks.

    submitted by /u/Pzypro
    [link] [comments]

    I have no idea how to structure my workout, and I'm not satisfied with my gains.

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 08:24 AM PDT

    Okay, prepare for a long read.

    I'm a sixteen year-old in the eleventh grade, with pretty much no physical activity other than said workouts. I'm 6'1/2" (184cm) tall and I weigh 153lbs (69.2kg).

    I started exercising about a hundred and fifty days ago with pretty much no schedule. This is my workout:

    1. As many sets of ten of regular pushups I can do, with 15 seconds rest between (~2)
    2. 1-2 minutes rest
    3. As many sets of ten of diamond pushups I can do, with 15 seconds rest between (~5)
    4. 1-2 minutes rest
    5. As many sets of ten of chest/shoulder (just increasing the width from palm to palm to focus) pushups I can do, with 15 seconds rest between (~2)
    6. 1-2 minutes rest
    7. As many sets of ten of clap pushups I can do, with 15 seconds rest between (~1)
    8. 30 seconds-1 minute rest
    9. 3x this workout (30 seconds rest between)
      1. 25 seconds leg hold
      2. 15 times per leg knee to chest
      3. 25 seconds plank
      4. 15 roll-ups
      5. 15 times per arm pullup hold
      6. 15 scissors per leg
      7. 15 hip lifts per side
      8. 15 mountain climbers per leg
      9. 25 second plank
    10. 30 seconds-1 minute rest
    11. As many sets of 20 bench dips I can do, with 25 seconds rest between (~6)
    12. 2x this workout (20 seconds rest betwee)
      1. 40x straight arm russian twists
      2. 20 second rest
      3. 40x heel taps
      4. 20 second rest
      5. 40x opposite toe touches
      6. 20 second rest
      7. 40x bicycles
    13. This random flexibility routine targeting my hamstring and legs
    14. 1 mile run

    I do this, unfortunately, rather irregularly. I tend to do it two days in a row, then a day of rest, but sometimes three days in a row and two days of rest, sometimes three days of rest, and it's just this gigantic mess because it's based on if I wake up or not.

    I have no idea what cutting and bulking is, so I haven't been doing that. I've just kinda cut down on eating high-calorie and high-sugar stuff. My body fat rn is low enough that I can generally see the line between the third row and fourth row of abs, and from a post I saw on here maybe I gotta start bulking then.

    I've seen some improvements. I'm still not happy with my arms, because it's going extremely slowly, and it's prolly because I don't have a proper arm-focused workout. My abs definitely improved a lot, but I don't think the workout is helping increase muscle mass in that area anymore.

    I'm trying to start actually waking up consistently, and broaden my workout to include my back and lower body as well. The entire problem is that I have no equipment at all other than a bench, and I'm not sure what to do. I've tried to schedule working out different body parts for different days, and this is what I've come up with so far:

    1. Day One
      1. Triceps
      2. Forearms
      3. Shoulders
      4. Chest
    2. Day Two
      1. Calves
      2. Hamstrings
      3. Quads
      4. Glutes
    3. Day Three
      1. Biceps
      2. Abs
      3. Back
      4. Lats
      5. Traps

    And running/biking everyday.

    A couple of things that I want to achieve in the future: a pistol sqat, an L sit, a handstand pushup, a one handed pushup, a muscle-up, a dunk (10 foot hoop), 7% body fat.

    I have a few questions. What are beginner progression exercises that y'all recommend in any of these body parts? Will it be effective if I employ the three-day body part workout split above (as in since the workouts are so spaced out per body part, how effective will they be)? Is there an alternative for this split-per-day-by-body-part thing (I have about 2 hours a day for this workout)? What is bulking and cutting, and what is the easiest way to go about it? How do I lower my body fat other than just diet (or rather HOW MUCH CARDIO)?

    I want to make it clear that I have done extensive research, but I've found a lot of conflicting information and some stuff that just confuses me. Also, though there are trusted professionals on the internet (and I realize that this is somewhat hypocritical) I'd rather directly ask people who are participating in calisthenics with the off chance that someone will troll me than just go with the internet's advice. I don't really have the money to pay for any programs or a trainer or anything.

    Thank you for taking time out of your day to read my post! I'm grateful whether you can help me or not. If you are unable to directly give me advice but know of a resource, I will gladly take that. I'm sorry if I did something wrong, but I did my best to read the community guidelines and stand by them.

    submitted by /u/NimbusTheOG
    [link] [comments]

    Complete beginner, looking towards learning\guidance about fitness and how to build it.

    Posted: 02 Apr 2021 07:40 AM PDT

    Ive been on and off with fitness but finally I really want to start doing it consistently.

    I really have no knowledge in fitness whatsoever, both theoretical and practical, but I can do a couple of basic exercises quite well, ie pushup, pull-ups and dips.

    Ive been working out with programs that others have built for me, just doing as I was instructed and not putting to much though into it, and not really wanting expand my knowledge in fitness.

    But recently Ive started putting a lot of thought towards my general health, and have decided that's its a crucial part of everyone's day to day lives that shouldn't be neglected and should be instead taken seriously.

    And so Ive made a conscious decision towards exercising and expanding my knowledge in fitness.

    I'm really quite interested in military style training, the goals I'm looking looking towards building are strength, endurance, health and mobility.

    From a bit of research I thought about somehow incorporating CrossFit training, calisthenics, running and yoga together as that would totally meet my needs, I just have no idea how to do that, any knowledge in those fields whatsoever (how to work towards my goals) and if that's something that is feasible doing?

    Also I'm really afraid of lifting weights, from all the horror stories I've heard about it.

    • How can I get started with fitness? ie good resources and guidance, that will teach me principles and how to work towards my goals as-well as to achieve them.
    • Is weightlifting a real concern? Or with proper technique, knowledge and guidance is it something that is worth pursuing?
    • Are my goals out of reach? Or is it something totally plausible, and are the goals that I've set for myself good ones?

    Thanks for listening! Any help is appreciated.

    submitted by /u/Pugly_Dan
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment