• Breaking News

    Monday, March 1, 2021

    Weight loss: [Directory] Find your quests here!

    Weight loss: [Directory] Find your quests here!


    [Directory] Find your quests here!

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:01 PM PST

    Welcome adventurer! Whether you're new on this quest or are towards the end of your journey there should be something below for you.

    ---

    Daily journal.

    • Q&A "I have a question."
    • Day 1 "I am starting my weight loss journey."
    • SV/NSV "I have an accomplishment to share."
    • 24hr Pledge "Today I am going to..."

    Interested in some side quests?

    Community bulletin board!

    Need some questing buddies?

    ---

    If you are new to the sub, click here for our posting guidelines!

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    September 2020 v. Today: 55 lbs down and finally have the confidence to wear a crop top in public

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 05:59 AM PST

    Hi everyone!

    I started my health reboot journey mid September 2020.

    Routine:

    1. IF
    2. Cut out sugar and junk food entirely
    3. Walked my steps on some days

    I'm down 55 lbs and I have around 80 more lbs left to go.

    I understood that I just couldn't continue living my life at 122 kilos. My face was breaking out continuously, my hair stopped looking healthy, and I hated living in my own body!

    I'm in a much happier place mentally and physically.

    I have a wedding to attend in exactly two months and I am so excited to lose more weight by then. I have such gorgeous outfits in mind - I'll be sharing those pictures when the time comes haha!

    I had a very toxic relationship with food and my outlook was extremely negative. I found no reason to be happy. Now? Now, I don't need any reason to be happy, I just AM!

    Here is a picture of me in a crop top - September 2020 v. today, being my goofy self!

    I have lost years, gained confidence and a waist line.

    submitted by /u/moti-vation93
    [link] [comments]

    I stopped a binge today.

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 02:01 PM PST

    Hi! So this just happened to me and I have no one to tell who would understand so I thought I would post it here. My weight has yoyo'd for years now. Up to 200, down to 185, multiple times per year. I have a horrible habit of binge eating whenever my weight gets low. I don't know why I do this to myself but I do. Back in October I hit 207 and I felt so ashamed. I've been calorie counting and eating 1200-1500 calories each day. I have managed to get down to 180. I haven't seen the 170s since high school. I've been excited to get on the scale in a week and see that number. Except. I have eaten fairly shitty all week. I got back on track two days ago. But it's been so hard starting back . I've felt that familiar pull to binge. And earlier today I started caving.

    I ate two Lindor chocolates. I opened my fridge and pulled out the humus and started eating it with wheat crackers. I was thinking about what I was going to eat next and then the number 178 just flashed into my head. I could be at 178 a week from now if I just stop this behavior.

    I put up my food. I took a glucomannan supplement (sort of like a fiber supplement to make you feel full) and chugged a glass of water, followed by some coffee.

    I feel a little better now. I know it shouldn't be such a huge achievement to not gorge yourself, but this is good progress for me personally. Good luck everyone!

    submitted by /u/QueenOfTheMemed
    [link] [comments]

    I'm terrified of who I'll become if I lose more weight.

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:48 PM PST

    I'm not sure if this post is even going to make any sense but hopefully, someone out there can relate to me on some level.

    I've been extremely overweight my whole life, to the point where it feels like it's become part of my identity. I hate being overweight but I also feel comfortable with it in a way, it's really all I know. In my mind, I can't even imagine a world where I don't weigh more than my family and friends.

    Anyways, to get to the point, I've been losing weight recently and people are starting to notice. Friends have told me 'you're getting skinny!' or 'wow you've lost weight!' and it makes me so uncomfortable because I've never heard anyone say that to me before.

    I'm so scared of being a healthy weight. I know how crazy this sounds but it just feels like I won't even be myself anymore and I know people will treat me differently. Does anyone else feel like this? How do you overcome this fear?

    submitted by /u/super-indecisive
    [link] [comments]

    From Nov 2019 to today: down 130 lbs & still a ways to go to my goal weight

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:54 PM PST

    I am 33 years old, 6'4 & 360 lbs currently. Here's how I've reached this point so far.

    Nov 2019 I was in a very bad state health wise. I couldn't walk to get my mail & back without gasping for air, I was constantly tired & in pain from what turned out to be gallstones. Before my gallbladder removal surgery I weighed 490 lbs the heaviest I have ever been. I decided after having recovered that I had to change things or I'd be dead sooner rather than later.

    At first I mainly focused on being in a caloric deficit I tried many diets to meet this goal like keto. I landed on not restricting any food group just to eat whole non processed foods & avoiding foods/drinks high in added sugar. After I had lost 20 or so lbs by just doing that I began doing cardio by walking around my neighborhood little by little, it took quite sometime to build up my stamina I hit a bit of a plateau around oct 2020 at 430 lbs. At this point I decided to switch my primary care Dr & she recommended I try a injectable weightloss medicine Saxenda that helps you feel satiated sooner by mimicking a peptide that signals fullness to your brain. From there I also got serious about not keeping junk food & other foods I tended to binge eat in the house & the weight started to come off again at the rate of about 10 lbs a month.

    Another thing I've done is started using myfitnesspal to track everything I eat & make sure it's mostly whole non processed foods. I have also as of two weeks ago introduce weight lifting to maintain/build muscle as not to lose much if any during my weight loss. I can now easily walk for 3 miles no problem when this time last year I couldn't walk across a parking lot without chugging for air. I've also been able to stop taking 2 of the 3 meds I was on for high blood pressure & am only taking 1/2 of the one I'm still on & no longer taking a water pill for swollen legs.

    Most importantly I'm feeling great & so many things have improved especially my depression while still here doesn't have as low lows as it used to reach.

    progress pictures

    submitted by /u/EducationalResult106
    [link] [comments]

    Getting serious about my goals after being the highest I’ve ever been.

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 06:55 PM PST

    Hey all,

    So COVID like for all of us has been so detrimental to my mental and physical health. For the last few years I have avoided stepping on a scale because I did not want to obsess about my weight. However, I should have taken a reality check earlier when even my fat clothes weren't fitting anymore. In the last 5 years I have gained 70lbs!

    I could not believe the number when I finally got on the scale. My fatigue suddenly made sense. I lost who I was, more than just the weight gain, I stopped going out, I stopped dressing nicely (I no longer had to with everything on zoom), I ordered junk every night, I missed important events because I didn't want people to see me looking so big. and I've finally had enough.

    So far I've already been able to lose 7lbs since Feb 8th when this all hit me, and I am committed to giving myself and my body the respect it deserves going forward. Came here for some accountability and support. If anyone is going through it feel free to hit me up.

    We got this!

    submitted by /u/IllPurple8281
    [link] [comments]

    Lost 15 lbs last year, kept 10 off, ready for more.

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:07 PM PST

    F35, SW 185, currently around 172, GW 150...

    I started trying to lose weight around August last year and by November I saw some success but was also getting way too obsessive and unhappy about counting calories. So I decided on a long break. I needed to focus on work and my happiness. I have a history of disordered eating and I know when I'm taking it too far.

    But... I'm ready to go again! I feel like I know a lot more about myself after last year and I am hoping I can make another step towards my goal.

    I know absolutely none of this is impressive but I'm proud of going at my own pace and prioritizing holistic health and sustainable changes :)

    submitted by /u/health_throwaway_161
    [link] [comments]

    Accountability post after regaining weight - 24F 5'1

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:33 PM PST

    9 months ago I was so proud of myself. I lost 30lbs and was my lowest weight since I was in high school: Old Weight loss post. Sadly I gained most of that weight back :(

    It was my fault. I started to workout less and eat more instead. Being stuck at home instead of taking the time to work on myself more, I would instead eat unhealthy food and watch Netflix. I stopped doing my daily walks, cardio and weights I used to do before. The weight slowly crept up on my and before I even realized I am now 154lbs (70kgs).

    Right now when I look in the mirror I don't like what I see. I don't like how both my face and body looks right now. Whereas 9 months ago I loved what I looked like. Every time I caught my reflection I loved what I was seeing. I wore some jeans today after not wearing any for a few weeks and my size 8 jeans are really tight and I know if I keep wearing them, they will rip after a few wears. 9 months ago these same jeans were lose and I was putting them in the dryer trying to shrink them to fit me.

    There isn't much I can do by dwelling on the past. So instead, I should focus on what I can do instead. I know what worked for me last time.

    Starting now I will start doing the following:

    • Drink 2L of water a day. Right now I barley even drink 1L a day, whereas last year I was drinking about 2.5-3L of water a day. This helped reduce my appetite and reduced any cravings I had for sugary drinks (ie. coke)
    • Do at least 60mins of light cardio a day. I know this can sound a bit intense but this is what helps me. Light cardio can count as elliptical, rowing machine (I have both at home) or going on walks. I'm short and I need the cardio to increase the amount of calories I burn since I suck at eating 1200 calories a day (I usually end up eating 1500-2000 calories)
    • Do weight training sessions. Currently my city is in lockdown so I can use the weights I have at home and follow workouts available on the SWEAT app. I really enjoyed doing this I just got lazy and stopped
    • DIET! My diet is the most important thing and I suck at eating on a caloric deficit. My plan is to eat a normal diet that the rest of my family is eating. But instead I will eat less. I will focus on eating more veggies and protein, and eat less carbs.
      • I will also follow intermetinite fasting. Not really anything new since I've been doing this for the past few years. I just never did it strictly.

    My starting stats are as follows:

    Weight: 154lbs - 70kg

    Waist: 77cm

    Hips: 105cm

    My ultimate goal is to get down to 120lbs hopefully by July. This might be a bit unrealistic because that means I will be losing 2lbs a week. But I will adjust the goal date based on my progress.

    This is my currently plan:

    Starting: 154lbs - March 1

    Milestone 1: 150lbs - March 15

    Milestone 2: 145lbs - April 1

    Milestone 3: 140lbs - April 15

    Milestone 4: 135lbs - May 1

    Milestone 5: 130lbs - May 15

    Milestone 6: 125lbs - June 1

    GOAL: 120lbs - July 1

    I'll make an update post on April 1st :)

    Good luck to everyone!

    submitted by /u/heyitsmeme105
    [link] [comments]

    16.9kg (37 pounds) lost since January 4th. No longer obese. Under 100 kg for the first time in years!

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 01:21 AM PST

    Take the picture

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 01:42 AM PST

    Take a picture when you start. No matter how horrid it makes you feel. Just do it. Take one. No matter how long it's been since you were in a photo. No matter if it's just your face. Just take it.

    I didn't. And now that I'm in a slump it's so hard to keep going now that my progress is slower. It's hard because I don't have a picture to look back on and see how far I've actually come.

    I'm in this really in between spot where my current clothes don't fit (in a good way), and my "skinny clothes" don't either. So I'm not really able to use that as a measure.

    It's incredibly frustrating and demotivating, especially when I'm waking up at 5:00 am every morning to exercise. I'm also walking every afternoon, and starting to run again using C25K.

    And I know that stalls are a normal part of loss. But it's hard without something to look back on to see how far I've already come.

    So take the picture. And take progress pictures. It's worth it.

    submitted by /u/spunkyfuzzguts
    [link] [comments]

    I used to like unsolicited comment on my weight loss but now I hate it.

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 08:37 PM PST

    So I've lost weight in the past and always loved it when anyone would comment on it because it felt like I was being validated for my hard work. Well, I gained all that weight back and then some. But over the last 9 months hace lost 25kg (55lbs) and am almost at my lowest weight in a long time.

    Now 25kg is alot of weight and so it's very obvious to anyone who knows me that I'm smaller. I had told my close friends and family I was losing weight, so I feel fine if they comment on it but, I saw my extended family for the first time in 6 months and they couldn't stop talking about it.

    They don't know if I was trying to lose weight, how I've done it or why. It makes me feel really uncomfortable that before they even say hello they say "Wow you've lost weight!" They even said this to my pregnant sister. Throughout the night I also heard them talking amongst themselves about it.

    It's interesting that in the past I would welcome these comments and thrive on them but now my mindset has changed to a more health approach rather than focusing on appearance.

    Does anyone else have this experience?

    submitted by /u/charlotte_thicc
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Monday, 01 March 2021: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 10:01 PM PST

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    * Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?

    * Did you log for an entire week? or year?

    * Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?

    * Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!

    ---

    On Reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily most the most read, most used, most interesting post on r/loseit by redding, commenting, and participating often!

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: March 1st, 2021

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:55 PM PST

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    For all new people that have joined this month, at the end of the month we do a roundup of what happened. we'll also talk about our goals for MARCH.

    How was your FEBRUARY? You're free to structure this however you want, but think about the following topics:

    • How has your weightloss progressed? Better, or worse than expected?

    • What are some Non Scale Victories that you've experienced this month?

    • Did you set goals, did you keep to them?

    • What went well during this month, what could need improvement?

    • What important lessons did you learn?

    Today is also goal-setting day for MARCH! If you're new, every first day of the month we think about small goals we want to achieve this month. They can be weight goals, exercise goals, or anything really... An important aspect is that they are SMART goals: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Time based...

    • Do you have a goal weight for this month, if yes, what is it? For example: maintain a 0.5kg loss a week.

    • Do you have exercise goals? For instance, get in 10.000k steps a day

    • What plans do you have for your diet? Do you have goals there?

    • What are some non weight/exercise related goals you have? Here, get creative. Past participants have used this section to stay accountable for their homework, learning languages, pledging not to order junkfood, ...

    if you're new, please introduce yourself! Let's kick some ass!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    I want to lose it, I want a healthier lifestyle, I don’t want to live like this anymore, advice?

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 08:38 PM PST

    I've been overweight since my mental illness spiraled out of control. I've tried personal trainers, nutrition counselors, therapy, medication (welbutrin and naltrexone to stop eating so much) and sometimes I stay on a sugar free diet and exercise... then I start to crash and burn.

    It's gotten so bad simple tasks make me breathe heavily. I don't want to be in this body anymore. I really want to change and a chance to be healthy. I want to be stronger and resist binge eating so many sweets and salty foods....

    I don't know if I'm asking for a lot but I'm hoping someone can maybe relate and tell me what they went through or maybe give me some sort of direction. I just want to change and really mean it this time. I don't want to be like this anymore.... I almost feel like it's impossible at this point.

    Tldr: got advice for someone who feels there's no chance I will ever be healthy? I want to really change and stop the constant failures and disappointment in myself.

    submitted by /u/FlowersOnJupiter
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 28 February Wrap Ups!

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 06:24 PM PST

    Hello losers,

    WRAP UP POST! Can you believe tomorrow's March?! Damn this month was fast.

    Here's the sign up for March!

    https://redd.it/lshzj7

    Time to review the month. I'll go first!

    Weigh in daily, enter into Libra & report here even if I don't like it: 230.6 lbs this morning, 229.6 trend weight. Started this month at 234.6 lbs, 232.4 lbs trend weight. Delta of 4 lbs, 2.8 lbs trend weight. About what I'd aimed for, I would like to see closer to 3.5 to 4 pounds down on the trend month to month but I'm still glad to be here & headed in a downward trend again.

    Stay within calorie range (1800): Overall, headed in the right direction. I don't like that when I had an over goal day, it was a holy crap over the mountain day. I'll keep working for better without being overly critical because we all know that leads to crappy things. 17/24 days.

    Exercise 5 days a week: This is habitual. So very necessary for my mental health. As usual, I'd like to keep chasing higher intensity & more strength workouts. 22/28 days.

    Self-care time (journaling, beauty treatments, anything that fills the bucket, nonfood rewards): Did good work this month. It was hard. I kept the wheel turning. I know, deep down in my crazy brain, that fueling my body with nutritious food in reasonable portions actually tells my shitty brain that I do care about me & it by proxy. Can you hear the deep, irritated sign that followed that sentence?

    Try a new recipe once a week: Swing & a win. Did good work here this month. I've learned I have so many opinions about produce it's ridiculous. Identity crisis chili (because it's kind of red & kind of green), curry chicken drumsticks, roasted carrot coins, oven roasted zucchini, pickled peppers & a ground turkey lentil semi stroganoff. 6/4 weeks.

    Express mindfulness and or gratitude: It has been a tough month to stay centered. I have done some good work but I am always learning. And I think that is exactly what I need to be doing. Gold star.

    How about you all? I want to hear it all, the good, the bad, the ugly.

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    Did HIIT For The First Time Today With My Normal Cardio Routine

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 03:23 PM PST

    And holy cow, it kicked my butt.

    I'm getting older lol that's reality. And as a result, loosing belly fat, in particular, is harder and harder, and this pandemic has been exactly 0 help in that!

    So, I'm shaking up my diet and exercise routine a bit.

    Rather than only looking at calories, I am also upping my protein intake. I'd noticed that I'm not losing weight as fast as I used to (yay, age!) so now, I'm trying out HIIT, too.

    I'm not going to lie... It was way harder than I thought haha! I have alright endurance, or so I think, but wow... The burn is real!!!

    Regardless, I hope it works!!! I plan to keep going : D

    What kind of exercise do you do? What's your favorite?

    submitted by /u/Dark-Oak93
    [link] [comments]

    Confused on how to feel

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 11:31 PM PST

    SW: 237 CW:190 GW: 150 (F) 21 5ft6

    So Ive been steadily losing weight into the new year, 6lbs in January and 7lbs in February (13lbs in total) and considering my goal was to lose a lb a week I'm doing really well.

    Obviously the weight is going down and my clothes are a lot baggier than before so overall im happy!

    Although even though the weight is going down and I can tell my clothes are bigger on me. But recently my measurements are the same? My only thought is that im fairly lucky to carry my weight well. Its all spread out on me fairly evenly (besides a bit more on my belly) So maybe i just need to boost up the excersie more but from previous experience I find it hard to keep up with diet AND exercise. So just sticking to my healthier diet for now and a 30 min walk everyday is what im finding manageable and sustainable.

    Im happy with the progress but also feeling so stuck in how my body looks. I feel like I look as big as I did before I lost 47lbs.

    I want to lose weight mainly for confidence and feeling more comfortable in my body. As im quite into fashion, it was disheartening seeing certain things not look as good on me as I thought because of my size.

    And having my female friends who are also into fashion being very petite and skinny, anything they wore would look good on them really. I don't think I'll ever be "skinny" as all the women in my family have quite big curves even if they are on the smaller side. Trying to accept that Im never going to be model thin has been rough, but I'm not giving up just yet.

    Overall Im happy with the progress I've made, but I can't help but feel saddened whenever I look in the mirror. Currently living alone and not seeing many people due to covid has got me wanting a "oh did you lose weight?" Or a "you look nice" comment. Its pathetic I know as I shouldn't have to rely on other peoples opinions. I just really can't seem to see the progress myself and some honest, outside reassurance might just perk me up a bit.

    However whats keeping me going is that hopefully one day (please let it be soon lmao) that ill look at myself and feel confident and say "yeah you do look good"

    submitted by /u/seraphinaswan
    [link] [comments]

    I see no difference after 65lb weight loss?

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 02:09 AM PST

    Hello, I've been lurking here for a while and I really appreciate how much this sub has helped in my weight loss journey. I (25f 5'5) went from my highest weight of around 203lbs to now at 138lbs I still have a bit more to lose, my goal is about 125lbs. I know I've lost inches, none of my clothes fit any more and family members have made comments about me looking slimmer, but I can't see a difference when I look in the mirror. I didn't take progress pics which I really regret now. I just wondered if anyone else had experienced this? It's quite frustrating to have gone through so much effort and not see a difference!

    submitted by /u/felt_bird
    [link] [comments]

    24-Hour Pledge - Monday, 01 March 2021 - The Plan for Today!

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 11:01 PM PST

    Wake up with determination; go to bed with satisfaction!

    This is our daily check-in, to help keep us accountable over the long haul. Feel free to post whatever goals will help keep you on track.

    Here's the regular text on behalf of this thread's originator, kingoftheeyesores, taken with his blessing

    I'll be posting a daily, 24 hour pledge to stick to my plan, or whichever small piece of my plan I am currently working on. Whatever your dietary goals may be, I hope you stick to them for the next 24 hours (and then worry about the following 24!). Who's with me?

    Thanks to /u/nofollowthrough who made the 24-Hour Pledge an ongoing /r/loseit institution.

    Due to space limitations, this may be a sticky only occasionally. Please find it daily using the sidebar or top message.

    ---

    On reddit, your *vote* means, *"I found this interesting"* (...read more about [**voting on reddit**](https://www.reddit.com/wiki/voting))

    ---

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Do you guys think my face will go back to how it was before when I finally get to my goal weight?

    Posted: 01 Mar 2021 01:28 AM PST

    https://imgur.com/a/FosahmA

    In the first pic, I weighed 100 lbs (5 feet 0 inches tall). In about a year, I gained 60 lbs and I look absolutely awful now. In the second pic I was 160 lbs. I am so ashamed of my face that I won't even show it in a zoom call let alone in person at all. Do you think it will go back to how it was before? Or will I just look like a deflated balloon? I'm 22.

    I gained most of the weight from an eating disorder, antipsychotics, and depression. I have been trying my damndest to lose and get back down to 100. I lost 12 pounds in the last month and went from 160 to 148 on a calorie deficit only.

    submitted by /u/Due-Abalone-6943
    [link] [comments]

    I went for a walk today

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:19 AM PST

    I don't think I've walked more than 400m in one trip anywhere in the past 1,5 years. I got my first job and it was super demanding psychologically. It isn't exactly a sedantary job but still. Now it has calmed down a bit but I gained maybe 25kg since I started there. The past year and a half my work days looked like this - wake up at 5:30, work 7-16/18, eat my dinner, read a few articles, watch a movie, go to sleep absolutely dead at 21:00.

    Now I finally get home between 15-16 and it's managable. Today I decided to take my friends advice and at least take a walk. 6,6km. Took me 1,5 hours. Half uphill, half back. I'll try walking around town at least during the work week.

    Honestly I was suprised I could go all the way uphill. It was like halfway there something "broke" and it wasn't as difficult anymore. I don't think I will be able to do this daily but I have to start. At least walking. I am sick of huffing and puffing after walking up a flight of stairs. I am sick of shaking like jello when walking. I am sick of holding my breath when putting my socks on. I am sick of being too fat to date.

    I hope this experience will motivate me to continue.

    submitted by /u/skyesdow
    [link] [comments]

    Daily Q&A Post for Monday, 01 March 2021 - No question too small!

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 10:31 PM PST

    Got a question? We've got answers!

    Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? That's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small.

    TIPS:

    * Include your stats if appropriate/relevant (or better yet, update your flair!)

    * Check the FAQ and other resources in the sidebar!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    My fiancee is losing weight very slowly despite eating at a 1000+ calorie deficit. Why is this?

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 10:27 PM PST

    My fiancee and I have been doing a diet together for about six weeks, I'm eating 800 calories less than my TDEE, she's eating just over 1000 less than her TDEE, and we're getting vastly different results even though we eat all the same meals together at the same times.

    My weight is fluctuating all over the place on a daily basis but there's a general trend downward; she lost 10lbs in the first five days (we're thinking mostly water weight) but has only lost two pounds in the five weeks since then despite eating at a serious deficit. When we started in mid-January she was 320, she plateaued at 310 for about five weeks and is now around 308.

    All of our food is logged and measured in MFP. We use a food scale so there's no room for error.

    Why does this happen? Shouldn't she be consistently losing 2lbs every week?

    submitted by /u/soupkitchenrobot
    [link] [comments]

    I've lost 15kg since September!

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 05:12 PM PST

    Hey, I've been browsing the sub for a long time now and I just wanted to stop by to share my progress too the ones who helped inspire me! I have always been on the bigger side since I was young, and I have given a lot of half-assed attempts at losing weight. I have been on this journy since September and it has finally worked. As of this morning, I am in the "healthy" weight range.

    Last year when I moved away from home and to start studying I made a breakthrough. For the first timein my life I'm buying everything I consume myself. I could simply cut out all the bad food in the store, so when I get hungry my only choice was healthy. At home there was always something tasty to eat, and as a result I found it really hard to stop myself from eating bad. I originally started losing weight with intermittent fasting, but as I started hitting the gym I found it to not be sustainable. So I decided to change it up and began tracking my calories, following my own CICO style diet. This included a lot of of protein to support my gains in the gym, and general low calorie foods that could keep me fed as long as possible.
    When I started strength training at a local gym (I'm so thankful it is still open) and I found a new passion. Competing with myself trying to increase the weights and seeing my body change really motivated me to keep going and I found the urge to eat bad was leaving as it would prevent me from keeping up my progress. Nowadays I go 6 days every week, and I can't see myself ever quitting.

    In terms of numbers, I am 190 cm tall, and I first weighed in at 104 kg in august, making my BMI 28,8. This morning I weighed 89 kg, which means my BMI is at 24,7. This means I'm officially in the "healthy" BMI range, and I'm super-proud. To track my dials I bought a smart scale some months after the beginning of my journey and I'm currently at around 19% body fat. (I know its probably quite a bit off, but it still stays relative to itself). I dont know what i was at when I first started, but I imagine it was quite a lot higher.

    My progress pics:

    Current side: https://imgur.com/spJgC5s
    Current front: https://imgur.com/9XZ7k7T

    old front: https://imgur.com/Z55vG9u

    I'll also including some American conversion units for you guys:
    old weight: 229 lbs
    current weight: 196 lbs
    height: 6"2

    Moving forward I'm hoping to lose somewhere between 5-8 kg more and work on losing more of the fat and gain more muscle. I'll probably post a follow-up when I reach my next goal, but until then i hope this inspires you, and even if you just read it I'm thankful. I just got a big urge to share my progress with everyone here who helped me get motivated to start.

    TLDR; You can change what you eat, before you even eat it and progress feels genuinely great!

    submitted by /u/Sandlethief
    [link] [comments]

    Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Monday, 01 March 2021? Start here!

    Posted: 28 Feb 2021 09:31 PM PST

    Today is your Day 1?

    Welcome to r/Loseit!

    So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started.

    Why you're overweight

    Our bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently.

    Before You Start

    The very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week.

    Tracking

    Here is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it.

    Creating Your Deficit

    How do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian.

    The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it.

    Exercise

    Is NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight.

    It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel *awesome* and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes.

    Crawl, Walk, Run

    It can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments.

    Acceptance

    You will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better.

    Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better.

    Additional resources

    Now you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.

    * Lose It Compendium - Frame it out!

    * FAQ - Answers to our most Frequently Asked Questions!

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment