• Breaking News

    Wednesday, December 30, 2020

    Weight loss: Daily Q&A Post for Tuesday, 29 December 2020 - No question too small!

    Weight loss: Daily Q&A Post for Tuesday, 29 December 2020 - No question too small!


    Daily Q&A Post for Tuesday, 29 December 2020 - No question too small!

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 02:00 AM PST

    Got a question? We've got answers!

    Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? that's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small.

    TIPS:

    • Include your stats if appropriate/relevant (or better yet, update your flair!)
    • Check the FAQ and other resources in the sidebar!
    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    More than 73% of American adults are overweight or obese

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 05:19 PM PST

    Article link


    Main points

    • 42% American adults had obesity and 10% were severely obese, while another 30.7% were overweight with a body mass index (BMI) of 25 to 29.9.

    • A new report has also revealed that 19.3% of children and young people, aged between two and 19, had obesity, with 6.1% of kids identified as being severely obesity.

    • The age group with the highest rates of obesity was those aged between 40 to 59 where 45% of people had a BMI of 30 or higher, with middle-aged men having the greatest obesity prevalence at 46%.

    • These high rates of obesity contrast to data from the survey period covering 1960-1962 when just 13.4% of adults were obese and less than 1% were severely obese. Approximately 31.5% of American adults were considered overweight during this period.

    submitted by /u/XVll-L
    [link] [comments]

    Question: How would you explain the emotional toll of your long-term morbid obesity to someone who has never been fat?

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 04:59 PM PST

    Trigger warning for depressing thoughts...

    Question: How would you explain the emotional toll of your long-term morbid obesity to someone who has never been fat?

    My Answer:

    (sorry for the wall of text but feel free to skip this and just answer the question above)

    I've been obese since I was in my late teens. Morbidly obese throughout my twenties. I'm in my early thirties now.

    Yesterday a close friend of mine asked me what being morbidly obese was like - not in a mean way, but with genuine curiosity. She'd never struggled with her weight. Here's how I explained it to her:

    In my case, going through the last decade as an obese then morbidly-obese person is like living a TRIAL version of life, and I mean that in the video game sense. Like how you can sometimes access a trial version of a video game before you pay for the real thing - you get a sense of the gameplay, the story, can access various levels and weapons... just not ALL of it and usually not the good stuff.

    Everyone is running the same game of real life - walking through the same streets, entering the same stores and going to the same social events, but some of the features are just GREYED OUT for me. I can't click them...

    If my friends and I go to the regular department store, they can buy things but I can't because nothing will fit me.

    If we go to a bar together, they will have guys buying drinks for them but I won't. I can only access the "go stare at yourself in the bathroom mirror" side quest.

    My energy bar is just shorter compared to everyone else because of my girth. I get tired faster.

    A large amount of bandwidth/game time that should be dedicated to other regular adult life activities and experiences is spent obsessing over food.

    Over time, watching everyone else enjoy the full features of the game takes a toll. Especially because everyone's pretending like you've got access to the full game too, even though they know you don't...

    ... and I know it's my responsibility. Only I can change the way I look - I know that but...

    Changing your body and habits is just very very hard. It's turning out to be the most difficult thing I've ever tried to do. When I was younger, I really thought I'd figure it out. I didn't think I would still be dealing with this issue in my thirties.

    My friend was pretty empathetic & comforting after hearing this answer but respectfully emphasised that this was something (even if it's difficult) that's ultimately within my control... which is true.

    Which brings me to the question: How would YOU explain the emotional toll of your long-term morbid obesity to someone who has never been fat?

    submitted by /u/poppa_di_corn
    [link] [comments]

    If you're new here, read this.

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 05:40 AM PST

    I first joined the loseit community (under a different username) in April 2017. I weighed 308lbs and over the next 15 months I lost more than 110lbs.

    Of course there are many things I was doing to try to reduce my weight including therapy, completely cutting out sugar, and strict CICO, however this community is what actually kept me doing those things and losing the weight.

    Life then got in the way and got distracted from my amazing health focus and put back on more than half the weight I lost. Recently I knew I had to come back here, I had to throw myself into reading every damned post. They are ALL so useful. Really, I've never seen anything like this on any other sub or forum.

    I know I'm going to.lose the weight again in 2021, I've already started, and it will be because this sub will keep my weight loss in the forefront of my mind. I will read and read and sometimes reply and offer help to others, and it will all help me.

    If you're new, come join us. Ask and answer questions. Throw yourself in. I promise it will help.

    submitted by /u/cmon2021
    [link] [comments]

    Update: I’m doing it. I’ve lost 6 lbs!! I’ve started yoga and kept a healthy calorie deficit (even during Christmas!)

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 08:19 PM PST

    I made a post two weeks ago at when I was about a week into my journey and I received overwhelming support. You guys are amazing and a huge part of the reason behind my motivation.

    A couple things I've noticed -

    Group fitness classes are super great at getting you to do things you didn't think you could (and hate it while doing it but then feel amazing all day after)

    Overeating heartburn is REAL. All my heartburn has just literally vanished. I used to get heartburn like 4-5 times a week when I was trying to sleep but since counting macros and measuring portions, I haven't had a single tum.

    The couple of times that I did eat junk, I FELT it. For HOURS and it was the most uncomfortable I've felt in a long time. It sickens me that my body was so used to it that it didn't even phase me.

    Chips are so empty. I have been limiting eating them for obvious reasons. But now when I reach for them and I measure them out, the portion is so sad looking considering how much it adds to my macros that it doesn't even feel worth it.

    So that's it. I'm just starting and I'm feeling really good about it. This community is honestly so amazing and uplifting as well and I'm proud to be apart of it!

    submitted by /u/bcorl001
    [link] [comments]

    How I went from being 400lbs to an Ultra Marathon runner

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 07:43 AM PST

    Hi, Josh here! Welcome to my story of how I went from 400lbs to an Ultrarunner!

    So my weight loss journey began in 2015 when I decided I was tired of being fat and I needed to start eating healthier. I thought all I needed to do was not eat fast food so much (I lived off takeout) and eat veggies and fruits and home cooked meals and I'd be fine. My wife (gf at the time) told me all I needed to worry about was calories, and eating an entire bag of carrots and two bananas isn't going to do anything for me. I argued with her and told her that no way 100 calories of carrots and 100 calories of chips is the same thing.. well I was wrong , but I didn't know it then. Another good example is at the gas station. I'd get 2 breakfast sandwiches, a hashbrown and an energy drink or something. Healthy Josh got 1 breakfast sandwich, a banana, a protein bar, and a "healthy" sugary drink. Same amount of calories though..

    I didn't lose any weight, so I gave up and thought that it was just genetics. My family has all been bigger, so clearly I can't fight that. Again ..so so wrong!

    Fast forward a year or so.

    In order to save money, I ask one of my roommates if he wants to go halfsies and prepare meals for a week at a time together.

    He said sure, but he warned me that he is on the Paleo diet, and if I'm making food with him, I'd be following that as well I was, 320lbs, I needed a change in diet habits anyway. Our first week we made this bomb chili, and the only thing I ate aside from that was vegetables.

    Diet alone isn't enough, if I'm doing one, I might as well do more. Regardless of my size, I've always been pretty active by playing disc golf a lot, but this summer I haven't been for some reason. So I started going on nighttime walks.

    Then one Friday, I got to work (quick backstory, I worked in IT for a small local company. There are 11 employees, we were a pretty tight nit bunch) Fridays were usually awesome. We don't work that hard and IT meets the programmers for lunch, beers, and usually after work beers. Not this friday though.

    Thursday night, one of our programmers was out for a jog, collapsed and died due to heart failure. Turned out it was one of those one in a million things, he had an undiagnosed enlarged heart valve that closed up or something of the sort. I didn't just lose a coworker. We lost part of our work family. It's not fair. He jogged, biked, kayaked, and everything. He smoked and didn't sleep right but we all have our faults. He was always grinning at something, usually a find from the thrift store across the way.

    Needless to say I was pretty goddamn motivated to lose weight. I got down to around 300lbs, but then went on a vacation, stopped eating paleo and went back into my old habits. I consider this failure #1. What I learned from this failure is that motivation is fleeting. I lost a very good friend, you can't find much more motivation to get your shit together but it wasn't enough. During the times when you get motivated, it's not going to last. You need to develop discipline during that time so when it wears off you have healthy habits that you stick to during the times when it gets tough.

    Fast forward to around January of next year. I couldn't sleep, and of course when you can't sleep you start thinking about life. I thought about how much I've accomplished in life, and anything I've wanted I've been able to just put my head down and do it. Except..for losing weight. It's dumb. I have no reason and no one to blame but myself. So , I started browsing different diets. I started browsing reddit and found out about the 4 hour body slow carb diet. I thought, heck this seems awesome and I get a cheat meal each week, I can do this! You're only allowed meat, eggs, dark green veggies, and beans every day except for one glorious cheat day a week.

    That weekend I went shopping and attempted my first ever meal prep. Chicken, beans and squash - http://imgur.com/a/lEAy7

    I lasted 2 months on slow carb before it was just too restrictive and I "relapsed" and started eating everything and falling off the wagon. I felt like crap though, and I didn't want to fail yet again.

    This is failure #2. What I learned from this failure is that meal prepping is fucking awesome and something I want to keep doing. Although it's not necessary with CICO, I find having my meals pre logged and premade for the week helps me achieve my calorie goal for the day. Plus I love cooking and I'd rather have my food than fast food lunches most days anyway. If you're interested, I have all my meal preps and a guide at this site - reddit.com/r/hxcjosh23mealprep. I have even been featured in a published Meal Prep book as a recipe tester! My meal preps have also come a long way from the one posted above - https://imgur.com/gallery/by5YFP0#YfcY9OX

    Anyway, cue another sleepless night, Back to reading about diets and such. Then I found out about CICO on here. It was different then the "fad" diets, let's face it pizza and beer are just too good to live life without! CICO: calories in, calories out...just take in less calories than you burn. It's pretty much just simple math!

    I downloaded myfitnesspal, entered my stats and started tracking everything I ate. It doesn't take long to do, I maybe spend 5 minute inputting my meals for the day. I do meal prep for my lunches, which helps quite a bit because then I know what I'm eating and it's cheaper/tastier than eating out all the time, but it's totally not necessary. You could eat mcdonalds for every meal, and as long as you stay under your calories..you'll lose weight! I still about once a month or so hit up that Chinese buffet. But instead of thinking oh I "fell off the wagon" I just realize It happens. It's one weekend, or one day, or even one meal. Just get it over with and get on with my journey. In doing so, yes I delay my results by a few days, but I fucking love Chinese food and I typically eat a small breakfast and lunch that day to make up for it. The day after, I don't go..well I ate a bunch , better stop doing CICO and working out and just go back to eating a bunch. I just go about my day like normal, track everything and do my workouts. Remember , you're making lifestyle changes not dieting! Your daily habits will far outweigh those days where you eat all the things.

    This whole lifestyle change started a domino effect. I ate better, so I felt better. I felt better so I moved more. Exercise wise, I didn't do anything for the first 50 lbs or so. When I got around 300 I started walking a route from my house to a chinese resturant and back. I live just off the main street of my town and the restaurant is almost at the end of the street. The route is a little over 2 miles. Walking it took about 50 minutes and I would be out of breath afterwards. I got to about 290 and decided to give Couch to 5k a try. I've never been a runner, but I've always been "athletic" in my life. I love sports, I played disc golf professionally and loved playing other sports. It gave me something new to try and a new goal. I gave myself the condition that if anything hurt at all I would stop and keep losing weight until it didn't hurt. I remember running my first ever mile during Week 5 day 3 of the program. I was so excited that I woke my wife up at night just to tell her =). (It was 11pm at night and she worked at 5am. She wasn't as excited as I was lol)

    After doing my first 5k (a local turkey trot) I needed more. The route I used to walk, I was able to run in a little under 20 minutes and was hungry for more. I started doing the couch to 10k plan, but got bored one night and decided to see how far I could go and knocked out a 10k! I stuck around that distance for a while just enjoying running. I got down to 220ish and knocked out a nice 9 mile run in December of 2017. Then the story takes a little of a backslide. Wife and I learned we were expecting our second child. I had to get a second job since my wife wasn't able to work and we couldn't afford daycare. Things were fine for a while but then some stuff happened with my day job and luckily I was offered a management job at the restaurant I was working part time at. The downside though, is I was around free food and beer for most of the working day. I would snack throughout the day so I wasn't really losing weight anymore at this point. We opened 2 stores in a 6 month period . I had to live in a hotel for 2 months opening one store in a different state. Opening stores is a 90-100 hour week as well. My diet pretty much went out the window here, and I couldn't really keep up with my running either.

    I slid back all the way to about 290. I knew what I needed to do but the stress and my schedule was basically just making food decisions the last thing on my mind and I went back into old habits. I started getting pretty down in the dumps and was not doing so well. But, the good part was I already lost the weight. I knew what I needed to do. I got more active on r/loseit again. I became more active in the challenges. I started meal prepping and running again. I started training for my first half marathon. I worked my way down to 240 while working around my crazy schedule and successfully completed my first half! It was pouring rain the whole time too! I made up a pretty awesome race report here - https://www.reddit.com/r/running/comments/brda83/i_used_to_be_almost_400lbs_this_weekend_i_ran_my/

    In training for my half, I discovered a podcast called Ten Junk Miles. It's a running podcast, but the allure is it's a group of runners that more or less talk about their lives and silly stuff, and running to a short extent. They basically are like running friends for runners who don't run with friends. They kept talking about Ultra Marathons so I did some research. The half marathon was cool but I needed a new goal, the marathon was the obvious step up but these Ultras seemed way cooler. I kept it on the backburner as after my half I kinda took a small break from running in which I backslid a little again to around 260. I was still active on the r/loseit challenges so that backslide didn't last long. Plus, the Ultra was still in the back of my head. TJM also started a group chat and other events where the fans/hosts all became friends. I would talk to these people on the daily. Their motivation pushed me to go further.
    An Ultra marathon is any distance over a normal 26.2 marathon. Typically they start at 50k (31 miles), but also have them in 50 miler, 100k (62 miles) 100 miles, and on up. It seemed pretty far out of reach but as I became more connected with this podcast and other people from it, I knew I was going to do one.

    I worked my way up to GM at my restaurant but for my health, I knew I couldn't keep doing it. In November 2019, I managed to get a job back in IT with an amazing company, and go back down to part time at the restaurant. Now paired with a more consistent schedule, I developed a new running training plan. I got heavily back into meal prepping too since I could do it on the weekends and have lunch for the week at my office job.

    2020 had its ups and downs for me (and most people), but I was finally feeling back to my old self. There were some super stressful months, and we were limbo with buying and selling a house for 4 months or so, but I just kept grinding the training and sticking with MFP tracking. In fact, currently as it stands I have a 1696 day streak on Myfitnesspal. It's part of my daily routine at this point, I would feel super weird not tracking.

    Fast forward to August 2020. The races I had signed up for in 2020 went all virtual, I was supposed to do my first marathon in September but that also got postponed. I signed up for a 50k and a 33 miler virtual race instead. My training wasn't the best since we were in the middle of moving, but I just wanted to try it. I wanted to see how far I could go. The furthest I had ran up to this point was 14 miles. We finally moved into our new house on Aug 21st. The date of my race was Aug 28th.

    I woke up at 6am that day to set off on my 33 mile journey. I started off really well, kept up with hydration and eating good, ran 6 miles with a friend even! I got to mile 26.2 and thought man, what a stupid uneven number to stop at! Good thing I'm still going! Around mile 29, my right foot was just done. Looking back I think I wasn't drinking as much water towards the end since I wasn't running as fast and I may have had a dehydration cramp. Either way, I was so close so I pushed through and death marched to the end. The last 4 miles were pretty brutal, but I was determined. My wife and kids set up a finish line for me, I broke through that and laid on the ground for a solid 10 minutes. I had done it! I am now an official Ultra marathon finisher!

    4 months later, I'm still keeping up. I'm down to around 240 again and I plan on running another 50k in the Spring, and a 100k in the late Summer. My scale is steadily going down. I'm still tracking and meal prepping. My love for running and my goals keep my diet in check, as losing weight helps so much with running. Sometimes it's tricky to find the right deficit, as I have to eat more than 1800 calories a day during longer run days, but I'm in this for the long haul.

    I can't stress how much having like minded people around me is. r/loseit has played a HUGE role in my success. It helps seeing people strive for healthiness every day. Also, teaching people helps keep me accountable. I don't want them to make the same mistakes I did. If I talk the talk, I have to walk the walk so it keeps me on track. If I had to pick the one moment I can look back on that caused so much amazing change, it's when I clicked on r/loseit, read the quick start guide and the FAQS, and then started getting more involved here. I cannot recommend it enough!

    Thanks for reading, enjoy my progress pics! They get better as you scroll down ;)

    http://imgur.com/gallery/RpXjG - from one year of progress 2016-2017

    https://imgur.com/gallery/uYiS1xm - Half marathon finisher pic

    https://imgur.com/gallery/ZsTmpGv - My favorite pizzacat shirt

    https://imgur.com/a/V3s9Nxb - Ultra finisher medal and most recent progress pics

    submitted by /u/hxcjosh23
    [link] [comments]

    When someone eat your special cheat food you talked about all day...

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 11:52 AM PST

    I just went walking for hours with my boyfriend. I kept talking the whole way back how excited I was to be able to eat pecans pie back home. I had kept one piece just for me since Christmas. My boyfriend ate the rest during the last week since he's not trying to lose weight. I made me a healthy meal beforehand. I go back in the kitchen and tell him it's "pecans pie time". Ho but there's not much left he tells me... Well I know, I only kept one slice for me the whole time. I literally talked about it every day to him. He ate it ! Literally 5 min before I was about to get it. I tried hard to even eat a good healthy lunch before getting it so I would enjoy it more slowly. But not him! He just swallowed it before eating anything first But hey he left me a piece.... One bite man (not worth the craving trigger). He said he forgot but fuck. And I'm the one who bought it. I don't want to buy a whole pie again so I have to be tempted by it for a week by the time it gets eaten. And I don't want him to buy one either so he get to enjoy a whole other pie for eating the only slice I had kept for me. I'm just really mad. I will explain to him what it's making me feel but right now I just need to implode in silence (may you be blessed Reddit)

    And if any of you have an alternative for pecans pie craving, an healthy version maybe, I would love to hear it.

    submitted by /u/momspaguettitwitch
    [link] [comments]

    finally lost one pound after a month of nothing!

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 12:47 PM PST

    Some context may be helpful here. I (5'4 F, 20 yrs) have been stuck at 125 pounds for the last month. It was really disheartening for me, and I began to freak out about my body's set point and weight loss plateaus and blah blah.

    Two weeks ago I finally admitted the real reason to myself--I wasn't logging my food correctly. I'd eat healthy and make sure everything would fit in my 1200 calorie deficit, but whenever I'd go to the kitchen for a glass of water, I'd sneak a handful of potato chips or cut off a sliver of brownie. I wouldn't log it, and I wouldn't think about it too hard, because it's such a small bite of food, what difference would it make? And maybe those first few bites didn't make a big difference, but when I couldn't bring myself to stop, all those little calorie-dense bites added up over time and I stopped losing weight.

    So I forced myself to stop. I did intermittent fasting to cut the excessive snacking, and this morning when I stepped on the scale, I was 124 pounds! Just wanted to brag about this somewhere :) A million thanks to this subreddit for encouraging me when I needed it!

    submitted by /u/ariella124
    [link] [comments]

    I am going to get into the best shape of my life. Any tips?

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 08:04 PM PST

    I am 19 years old and am 5'8. When COVID started I committed to making healthy decisions and did a diet plan and lost 30 pounds over 3 months doing a high protein diet. I went from 213 pounds to 183 pounds. I went off the program in August of 2020 when I went back to college. I live in my sorority house, and unfortunately sorority chef food and drinking on the weekends without working out at all caused me to gain back all 30 pounds. I also got COVID, and since I have been home got it again and I have not really gotten back into my routine.

    I turn 20 in June of 2021 and I want (am going) to go into my 20s in the best shape of my life. I am sitting around 205 right now, and want to lose 40 pounds over the course of 20 weeks leading up to my birthday. So 5 months. One thing I have learned is motivation comes and goes, and I am going to need to have discipline in order to achieve my goals. My main goal is going to be to get to 170 pounds or lower by June. This is not going to be easy for me because I am going to be living in the sorority house again and am going to be back in the college environment. Here are some things I am going to do to achieve my goals and stay disciplined:

    1) Go to bed at 10 every night except weekends and wake up at 6:30am. On weekends wake up at 9am at the latest in order to maintain a somewhat balanced sleep schedule.

    2) I have signed up for 7am spin classes and yoga throughout the week and in order to commit to waking up those mornings I have found other girls living in with me to go to these sessions. I also signed up for 10am spin classes on Saturdays.

    3) I will be going to the gym to work on building muscles and resistance training Mon, Wed, and Fri after yoga. All in all, M, Wed, Fri I will be doing Yoga, Weights and some cardio, and Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday only cardio. Sunday will be rest days.

    4) I am currently sitting around 205 pounds so I am going to start drinking more water (I drink very little) and aim to drink my 40oz hydro 2-3 times a day and am going to only drink water unless I am mixing a drink, which then I will use half drink, half water and crystal light packets in order to minimize sugar and calories.

    5) Cutting out fast food for 6 months

    6) Logging my food in a food journal such as MyFitnessPal and eating around 1600 calories a day

    7) Log my weight once a week on Mondays and take measurements once a month

    8) Limit drinking to once or twice a week

    9) I am going to do intermittent fasting 7 days a week where I only eat between the hours of 12-6 everyday. The only exception for that will be pre-workout snack such as banana, etc. only because I dont do well on an empty stomach working out.

    My biggest challenge is going to be portion control in the sorority house as we are offered a bunch of different varieties of food but I know I can do it as long as I put my mind to it.

    I am posting this on here because I want to be able to come back in June of 2021 and say I did it. Any and all support is greatly appreciated. Based on all of this, I want to ask you fellow friends if you have any advice or tips on what helped you achieve your goals.

    Happy Holidays!:)

    submitted by /u/goldenlover5000
    [link] [comments]

    It took until I lost some weight for me to figure out I had synesthesia

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 05:05 PM PST

    Over the course of this year I've lost 25 lbs, and the diminishing pain from being overweight allowed me to realize that some body feelings weren't associated with weight, but with sounds. It's been such a trippy experience. Knowing that my body was getting stronger and correcting its imbalances, I couldn't figure out why I would feel a buzzing on my back, or tingles in my hands, while sitting down not doing much of anything except studying to some music. It's kind of hard to talk about this discovery with anyone because it's such a personal experience, but I've used my quarantine evenings to start listing my music catalogue according to this new discovery

    Has anyone else made a body discovery through weightloss

    submitted by /u/stfumary
    [link] [comments]

    Cheat meal, and actually feel awful

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 07:15 PM PST

    So, since I started on December 4, I've been REALLY good about being mindful of my eating. Down 6 pounds. Figured I'd give myself a cheat meal for my good work.

    But.. man. It just didn't taste good. I got absolutely no enjoyment from eating it. It's both depressing AND a really good thing. I was talking to my boyfriend yesterday that I was craving some things, so we got McDonald's today. And...

    Well, it was good. But looking at the calories. Looking at how my own home cooked meals make me more full and feel good. It's such a contrast. I think I needed this though. Because it really highlights some things for me:

    (1) I don't need to cheat. It makes me feel like shit, and I'm going to eat better for the rest of the day.

    (2) If I'm craving fast food, talking about it actually helps me work out that I don't need.

    (3) I can also make it at home for far fewer calories, and eating at home will make me feel better in the long run.

    I finally hit that wall of food not bringing me pleasure. Food is just now something I need to do to stay alive basically, lol. Like, the fast food didn't even trigger me. Normally it would be if I got it, I'd end up crashing and getting it again and again.

    But... I don't want it. I actually don't want it again. I want to eat more salads and healthy foods.

    I'm beyond happy and I know I'm going to really stick with this. My relationship with food finally feels like it's on the right track. That I'll be able to have a healthy relationship with food. Being mindful is really helping, and having control back is really helping my mental health.

    submitted by /u/guesswhogetshealthy
    [link] [comments]

    Formerly obese people, please tell me your success stories (trigger warning: death)

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 05:49 PM PST

    I am 31 year old male, 5'8", 229 pounds, down from 258 in July. Diagnosed with pre-diabetes and fatty liver in October. The fatty liver diagnosis scared me straight in October, and most of my weight loss was from October to now. My first goal is to get down to 200 pounds by June of next year, but the end game is to get down to a healthy weight for my height.

    I have this constant fear that I've put too much mileage on my body at this point and tend to think in terms of worst case scenarios, even though I've made healthier changes; no white rice or bread, moderating my carb intake, staying away from processed foods(I still eat deli meat which I'm trying to cut out now). The biggest benefit has been monitoring my daily calorie intake which has helped the weight drop off quite a bit. But I'm still terrified that the damage has been done to my liver from years of neglect and indulgence and I'm going to die young.

    For anyone who was in a similar situation to me, would you mind sharing how your life has improved from your weight loss and how things have gotten better? Or share a link to a good place where I can read similar success stories? I think it would help me to hear how positively your life has changed and how much better your quality of life is.

    This is my first post on this subreddit and I'm extremely anxious sharing all this, but I'm scared to share these fears with my friends and family so I feel really alone when I think about it. Thanks in advance for any replies, I hope to hear from some of you!

    submitted by /u/SlitEastwood
    [link] [comments]

    I was trying to fix the wrong problem all of this time

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 09:12 PM PST

    SW: 270, CW: 204, GW: 143

    Hello

    I have been dieting for the past two years .. I've lost ~60lbs but gained a few pounds recently. The reason why I gained them back was because I had a very stressful month, and I went back to my "old habits".

    You see, I am a serial snacker. I don't eat 5, 6 or even 7 meals a day. I eat MUCH MORE FREQUENTLY than that. My mouth doesn't stop eating from the moment I wake up until I fall asleep at night. I don't necessarily eat bad food, I actually eat many fruit and vegetables and I do eat some bad food too. I also don't eat a lot in one setting, I just eat enough to stop the hunger. I tried many healthy habits to solve this problem but they all seem to work temporarily:

    • counting calories: I count them all, but this didn't solve my eating habits at all. Basically, I still snack but this time all of my snacks are healthy and an added stress lol. I tend to break counting easily too
    • no junk/sugar/carbs: just like counting, I still eat many times a day
    • eating two meals a day/fasting 16:8 to OMAD: this worked the best for me! I found that not eating at all was much easier than eating little or avoiding junk! I actually lost the 60lbs using fasting :D I didn't feel tired and the two meals were big enough to fill me up so that I don't need to snack!

    So, fasting/eating BIG meals helped. But why did I go back to my old eating habits then???? I was fasting for two years already. Sure in an on and off manner but still it's already a habit so what happened?

    Simply put, I tried to get rid of the wrong culprit. No, the problem was not eating too much calories. It wasn't eating bad food. It wasn't snacking, It wasn't laziness. It wasn't the lack of willpower, discipline or motivation

    the problem is that I don't have time to cook proper meals

    I was fat since middle school. All of my childhood I was lean. Do you know what happened during middle school? I started becoming picky about my mom's cooking, so I will eat very few of it, then snack later and so on. The time my diet (fasting) worked was very special: I had enough time to cook!

    I like my cooking. But because I am stressed/busy, I don't have time to cook a proper meal so I end up snacking. So, instead of focusing on counting, avoiding food, numbers of hours fasted, how many meals a day, how many calories per meal and so on, I need to solve the problem in its root. No matter how strict I am with myself when I fast or count calories, I will end up back to where I was once I lose weight. Because I am trying to solve the wrong problem

    I will start meal prepping from today! I actually cook each week like 3 times. So I don't have to make food for the whole week. instead, I will make 2~3 days portion and meal prep two or three times a week

    Wish me luck! I feel like I could succeed this time haha

    submitted by /u/notafitperson
    [link] [comments]

    I gained weight and now get defensive when I’m asked if I wanna workout or eat a healthy meal

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 09:16 PM PST

    20F / 150lbs / 5'0

    Last summer I had a really good routine with working out and eating healthy. I was at my lowest weight which was 118lbs. When the pandemic hit I wasn't working for about 3 months so my old habits came back and I gained back all the weight I had lost plus more. I feel disgusting everyday but can't find the motivation to pick up my good habits again.

    I'm pretty short so my weight gain was obvious to not only myself but the people around me. This has been very hard for me and doesn't give me any motivation to do better. It's mostly my brother. He constantly asks me if I want to workout with him and offers to make me a healthy dinner. I don't know why but I get defensive and mad whenever he asks this. Maybe because I'm embarrassed and can't come to terms with the fact that I gained so much weight. Has anyone else ever gone through this? I'm taking baby steps like buying healthy groceries for myself but the thought of going to the gym sounds so embarrassing since I got so big. Any advice is appreciated.

    submitted by /u/throwawayihate2020ah
    [link] [comments]

    The strangest thing inspired me...

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 11:29 PM PST

    So I've been on again off again trying to lose weight. Was really successful for like a month then holidays and loneliness because of pandemic...so I ate my way through December. I imagine a lot of people went through this...but it was the first time I've ever spent a holiday alone. Very strange.

    I didn't have much going on so many friends reached out to just say hello as they know I'm alone and trying to do my part and not travel, and one friend reached out and recommended a show to me as all my friends know I'm a media junkie.

    The show was Ted Lasso. I watched the entire season, staying up until 3 am to do so...thankfully I'm on winter break as a teacher so I didn't have work the next day! Without any spoilers there are a lot of moments in the show where Ted struggles with something and it made me realize that it's ok to struggle but not give up on yourself. Sometimes things work out different than you planned and that's ok too as long as you keep trying.

    So here I am...watching a show about soccer and crying as I realize I can do this.

    Anyway, I'm back on the wagon tomorrow morning (well tonight but the day is over) with CICO and tracking all my food and getting back to my exercise regimen.

    Thanks Ted! And thanks to this community! Y'all are always so helpful!

    submitted by /u/barnaby14
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Wednesday, 30 December 2020: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 30 Dec 2020 12:08 AM PST

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    • Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?
    • Did you log for an entire week? or year?
    • Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?
    • Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!


    On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often!


    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    I want to make oat milk and assume amount of calories / carbs for MFP

    Posted: 30 Dec 2020 01:36 AM PST

    100g of oats = 360 kcal / 7g fat / 60g carbs / 8g fibre / 10g protein

    Now I don't want to go insane with all of that, but I need it mostly for my ice cream, aditionally I am on low carb diet, kinda low, just trying to stay below 100g per day, below 50g is even better.

    For 1kg of ice cream there would go 600g of milk, here in Poland I cannot buy vegetable milk for reasonable price, so I can either use milk with 4.7 carbs (4.7 sugar) per 100g or make my own.

    If I decide to make my meal ice cream (40g proteins 40g fats), there will be almost 40g of sugar from milk itself, kinda too much for me, or maybe not, I don't know I just want less... so I thought about making my own milk. First I thought about cashews but it has a lot of everything, today I read about oats and it would make a lot of sense to try that (if it will work with ice cream at all).

    People say to just weight pulp that I am left with after "milking" oats, but what if 90% of fat actually goes into milk? What if 90% of carbs stays in pulp? In my case I worry less about calories, more about macros, but it's just oats so there is not much of that anyway!

    So, I wanted to ask if that makes sense, I will just assume nutitional value for oats milk in this way:

    Nutritional Value of 1 litre of Oat Milk (100g of oats with 1l of water) = 108 kcal / 4g fat / 15g carbs / 0g fibre / 3g protein (entire pulp gets removed)

    To be honest I don't even care if that would be 300 kcal, that's totally fine, but does it make sense to assume that most carbs will stay in pulp?

    I guess it all doesn't matter, for 100ml if there was 100% carbs in milk, that would still make it just 6 carbs per 100ml, i just wasted my time writing this

    submitted by /u/kruszkushnom
    [link] [comments]

    Advice needed !!

    Posted: 30 Dec 2020 01:24 AM PST

    Hey guys, i need some advice. So im a 20F(5'1). Currently i weight 80kgs and want to lose around 20kgs in 6 ish months. Now i know that my BMR is 1800 so my -500 deficit would bring it down to 1300 as my daily calorie intake. (My current lifestyle doesnt demand a lot of moving around. I spend most of my day in my room either on my desk working or in my bed so the only time i work out is night when everyones asleep)

    (Im assuming that my calorie intake before this was much higher than 1800 because i wasnt aware of anything. For example, id eat white pasta couple of days a week, white rice twice a day)

    So, i wanted to ask if this sudden drop in my calorie intake would be dangerous? And if i should start with say 1700 or 1500? For a month and then cut it down

    Second thing i needed advice was that is being caloric deficit enough for weight loss or exercise is necessary

    Third was do those home workout videos on YT really work? Ive been doing chole ting lately and just wanted some reassurance

    Thank you for the help, i really appreciate it! :)

    submitted by /u/Tash_ganai
    [link] [comments]

    My Husband Thinks He is a Nutrition Expert

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 08:32 AM PST

    My husband and I have been trying to make healthier choices when it comes to food. I have tried to do the whole meal prep thing. It works for me, but not for him. I end up throwing out over half of the food I make for him because he simply doesn't eat it. However, he still tries to say that we need to meal prep.

    Almost every night, he wants to order food from DoorDash or Grubhub. I get very frustrated because I have no issue eating the food I've made. Also, when you're ordering food from a restaurant, it's so hard to make healthy choices.

    My issue is that he always says "we need to get back on track with eating healthy," or "this is the last meal we're ordering," but this happens MULTIPLE times a week.

    I made a comment the other day about how it's much better to have one or two small cheats a week, like maybe a cookie or your favorite coffee drink. However, he insists that it's much better to have a massive cheat once a week or every two weeks because it somehow balances better than the small cheats do.

    I've told him that I have never known a single dietician or nutritionist say that, and they always say that small cheats are the way to go for long term weight loss. He disagrees, aggressively, and just tells me that I'm wrong.

    I'm getting almost angry about this whole thing because I feel like he is a huge part of why we've been struggling to lose weight and keep it off. I have no clue what to even say anymore because no matter what I tell him, somehow he knows more and he's always right. What do I do here?

    submitted by /u/Jc_taylor
    [link] [comments]

    Water weight is so annoying

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 11:26 AM PST

    SW: 234 CW: 211 GW: ~150ish H: 5'7"

    I'm down about 23 since August, which is great. I have lost 5 inches off my waist and I can fit clothes I haven't fit in a long time. I even managed to keep losing weight through Thanksgiving and Christmas by balancing my cheat day with exercise and light eating the rest of the week.

    I suspect that the scale isn't a totally accurate reflection of how much fat I've actually lost because I keep getting trimmer at the waist even though the scale is moving much slower than it did at first. I also know that the scale is useful mostly as an estimate tool— not something worth living and dying by.

    Having said that, water weight is SO ANNOYING. I stayed light yesterday, kind of a Mediterranean chicken bowl and some broth-based soup. Lots of water and fiber. But also quite a bit of salt. I also did strength training. So now I'm "up" 4 and a half pounds. I know that's not real weight gain. I know it's going to go away again in a day or two. But I also can't deny the split second "oh f***" when I look down and see a higher number, before I realize what it probably is. I don't like seeing the little uptick line on my daily weigh in graph (I weigh in daily so I can see trends better and don't focus on any given weigh in).

    That's all, just a vent. Thank you for listening. Whoever invented water weight sucks.

    submitted by /u/Jasmotron3k
    [link] [comments]

    Getting back at it

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 02:15 PM PST

    Four years ago I was in the absolute best shape I'd been in since highschool days playing sports. I was running, hiking, biking, swimming and gymming. I felt amazing! In 2017 my mental health took a turn for the worst and I battled undiagnosed depression for about a year. Lost all interest in everything active that I once loved. 2019 I finally got on medication for my depression. It took some time but I started feeling more like myself again. I started to find motivation to eat better, drink less, get active again.

    2020 started off amazing for me. I was running an average of 7-10 km five days a week, a gym session in the morning and one after work (I had free access to a gym through my work) and swimming. 8 weeks into 2020 I was noticing a lot of changes in my body, positive changes. And then the pandemic hit....

    I tried to stay active with a "home gym" but it just wasn't happening. It was way easier to just watch Netflix, eat crap, and drink wine. I put on 30 pounds this year.

    Well, I decided that I wasn't going to wait for January 1st. Boxing Day I bought groceries, prepped and cut up vegetables for raw snacking and cooking with. Stocked up on healthy snacks, fruit, salad fixings, salmon, prawns, and chicken breast. I started running again, just short 3km. Something is better than nothing. I am so looking forward to getting back into my "crazy" workout routines.

    I think that setting a start date often sets people back. If you're ready to make the change now, start now. If you aren't, ask yourself why. I had no reasons why I shouldn't start now.

    So here I am, snacking on my veggies, planning my workouts for next week, hoping the weather clears so I can get out for a hike or two. I've already got one foot in 2021.

    submitted by /u/CasualRampagingBear
    [link] [comments]

    How would you explain the feeling and perks of being healthy to someone who has never not been fat?

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 06:49 PM PST

    I originally posted this as a reply to this post, but I figured it's worth posting on its own.

    I have been obese since the age of 8 and fat since the age of 4, and I have almost no memories whatsoever of my childhood prior to the former age. It's now been almost 20 years since then, and it's also been almost a full year since I crashed out of my first serious weight loss attempt after it, through the immense stress it caused me despite taking it very slowly, cost me my first job. As I sit here at 4 AM typing this after getting a nasty foot injury and collapsing from severe physical exhaustion after another long brisk walk, it's hard to come up with any internal justification to give it another serious go that actually means something to me personally and isn't just an objective fact.

    I'm looking at many of the points mentioned in this post and I just cannot relate to them. I'm an introvert who's largely uninterested in other people and quickly exhausted even by my own friends, and vanity means so little to me that I haven't bought any new clothes in the last 5 years because I can always just wash and wear what I've already got. I know I get tired quickly, but I have no internal comparison point for that as I've never not been overweight, and even at my slimmest point early last year I could not find any enjoyable physical activity that would be made better through being slimmer and more energetic.

    These things mean nothing to me - if anything I only ever had a phenomenally easy time losing weight when I wasn't thinking of any reasons to do it, but as me vomiting at the gym, becoming stressed and paranoid to the point of getting hallucinations once and ultimately losing my own job showed me, discipline for its own sake could only get me so far. Worse yet, relapsing, fully giving in to my old bad cravings and habits and regaining all the lost weight energized and relaxed me to such a degree that it gave me the confidence and strength to get and keep a new, well-paying job far beyond my skill level. Because of this, I am the happiest I've been in the last 7 years, yet paradoxically, it is exactly what brought me here again, wondering if weight loss is worth trying again. Unlike when I mentally collapsed, I feel objectively ready to pursue it again, but I know that, without a personally meaningful reason to do it, history will repeat itself no matter how slowly I take it. In fact, I feel dirty for saying this, but I feel no shame for getting to this point, staying here for almost 20 years and returning to it after my failed attempt, yet I feel deeply ashamed for trying to lose weight because I had no personally meaningful reason to do it, it made me deeply unhappy and persisting via sheer discipline ultimately caused me so much mental grief that it cost me my job at the peak of the pandemic and set my life plans back tremendously. I know I should do it eventually because I refuse to ignore the objective, "you will die otherwise" aspects of being healthy, but I also know myself well enough to know that discipline and those objective aspects aren't enough for me anymore.

    submitted by /u/dniwehtotnoituac
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: December 30th, 2020

    Posted: 30 Dec 2020 12:34 AM PST

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    The Last 30 Pounds

    Posted: 29 Dec 2020 09:17 PM PST

    Hi everyone - I've just been struggling recently.

    I've already lost a considerable amount of weight and maintained within the 162–166 range for a year or so. But then it seemed like I could never get below that weight - I'm glad to finally be below 160, albeit barely.

    However, even though I just had my lowest weigh-in in the last 6 years (158.5) I completely overate last night and feel like I ruined everything. I am aware I did not and my weight this morning (159.7) is mostly water and food weight in my bowels. But I'm still irrationally upset about this.

    I've been working from home and have a high-risk member in my family so my exercise options are incredibly limited. My calories are now set between 1600-1700. But I'm starting to struggle with knowing how long it will take me to lose this last bit of weight. Any encouragement, tips or things that helped you stay focused would be helpful.

    With the New Year coming up - I really want to start the year in a good place. I want to be less negative about this journey and find more enjoyment in every pound. I always felt that once I got below 160 again I'd magically feel amazing (stupid I know). But I don't.

    TLDR: I have lost some weight but am feeling really negative about how much I have left to lose. My calories are at 1600-1700. Any tips or encouragement would be super helpful as I want 2021 to be the year I get to my goal weight. TIA

    submitted by /u/murphy_11
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment