Weight loss: Day 10 at Fat Camp |
- Day 10 at Fat Camp
- Creeping up on 5 years on MyFitnessPal. Frustrated with loose skin but it's nice to see how far I've come. 350 -> 202
- Quarantine treated me well! 19f, lost 10kg (22lbs) in 3 months
- I drop my phone in the toilet
- Couldn't even bend down to pick up my dogs food bowls when I started. 78 lbs down now, eating more calories now than when I started - 5'10 male 202 lbs
- Am I the only one that goes into a mini shock every time I step on the scale and my weight is down?
- Another Update
- being trapped by food
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: November 4th, 2020
- I guess I lost *some* weight :)
- I need help losing 90lbs? Any tips are truly appreciated!
- 14 weeks of therapy - and 2 pounds down!
- The only downside of losing weight................
- Nightshifter's Night 1
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 3
- My weight loss progress! Also, questions about Body Recomposition? Requirements? Any success if you’ve tried it?
- I want to lose weight but shape my body.
- Post-covid getting stricter with diet. Feeling tired after meal. Why? Never used to happen during dieting
- Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Wednesday, 04 November 2020? Start here!
- Advice for Overcoming 2-Month Plateau (18F 5'6" SW:180 CW:150 GW:130)
- Finally able to start working out again!
- Daily Q&A Post for Wednesday, 04 November 2020 - No question too small!
- I want to start my weight loss journey
- Tired of giving up but can't stop either
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 07:14 AM PST It honestly feels like forever since I started this makeshift fat camp, but I finally made it 10 days! And I lost 12 pounds! I went from 470 to 458.0! By makeshift fat camp I mean I'm staying at my dad's office-turned-second-home. My dad's been guiding me on nutrition, accompanying me for daily exercises (twice a day) and restricting all access to junk foods. Now I am eating roughly 2000 calories a day in strictly nutritious foods: oats, beans, chicken, turkey, fruits, veggies, and the like. I'm already feeling the benefits in my body, energy, and motivation. I feel more energetic and lively. I could only walk 15 minutes at a time the first day and I'm already walking 30 twice a day now. I've started to develop healthy habits like walking first thing in the morning, jumping straight in the shower, then getting a nice oatmeal/fruit mix for breakfast. I still miss fast food and crave it (and candy) on occasion, but their cravings are slowly dissipating day by day. With more energy, I have less desire to sit on a computer all day (not that I have access to one that I can do much more than browse the web on), and I'm starting to even look into a career where I can get more activity and enjoyment in general than my crappy office job (from which I'm working at home). I had a really tough time a few days in, but so far, things have gotten steadily better since a little breakdown I had on day 4, and they don't look like they're going to stop. I'm really excited for what the future holds, and I hope I can finally break these bad habits that got me to 470 in the first place. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 12:17 PM PST This January will mark 5 years since I've started daily tracking with MyFitnessPal and every now and then I need to force myself to look at old pictures to see how far I've come. have counted calories the entire time and since August of 2019 I've been lifting 3-4 times a week. As happy as I am with my progress I'm also beyond frustrated with loose skin. My last weigh in I was 202 but without a shirt on I probably look closer to 250. I'm not sure what percentage of it is skin vs. stubborn fat still hanging around. For those of you who've dealt with loose skin after a good deal of weight loss I'd greatly appreciate any advice. Thanks! [link] [comments] |
| Quarantine treated me well! 19f, lost 10kg (22lbs) in 3 months Posted: 03 Nov 2020 11:24 PM PST Around 6 months ago I asked for help on here about how to lose weight during quarantine since I couldn't go out on my daily walks. Unfortunately, none of the advices given to me worked on me. However, I did not give up. On July 10th, I started my first day of KETO DIET at 80kg (176 lbs). I was slightly over 80 but I didn't want to admit that I had surpassed 80 at all so I recorded it at 80. Exactly 3 weeks later, on July 31st I broke my diet. Which was very wrong. I broke it and didn't get back on it until October 13th. I'm not gonna lie, I broke it two more times during this time until now but I during both of those times I didn't eat so much. Now I am at 70kg (154 lbs). I strongly believe that if I hadn't broken my diet I'd have lost much more. I'm hoping that this would inspire some of you to start dieting right away! I was just like you, I didn't believe it would work but I gave it some time and here I am. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 02:00 PM PST SW: 215LB, CW:160LB, GW:150LB, 30F. So basicly, i have this terrible habit of puting my phone on my lap while I'm at the toilet. Before, when I would sit, my lap would touch, therefore, my cell wouldn't fall. Now I sit, it does not touch anymore, but I still have this bad habit. So today, I drop my damn phone in the toilet. And never been happier (but felt stupid, I REALLY have to work on that habit). Anyway, I never thought that walking, using smaller plate et eating my veggies first while eating would bring me this for. 2 years ago I would have laughed. So a big thanks to this community for support and encouragements, I just thought I would share my "happy-stupid". (My bad, english isn't my first language) [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 09:09 AM PST I've struggled with obesity my whole life and this year it was time for change. Here's a transformation photo. Here's the backstory of my life for anyone who cares to read. I'm 28 years old and I've never seen my abs. I've always turned to food for happiness and that's really all I ever cared about. about 8 months of my life (ironically when I worked at mcdonalds) I was 165 lbs and I called myself fat and was embarrassed at my stomach and man boobs. That thought to me amazing to me now having hit 280 lbs at the end of last year. Body dysmorphia is freaking real and we can't appreciate where we are at any given time without some perspective. Being nearly morbidly obese eventually became a freaking nightmare. I couldn't bend down to pick up my dogs' bowls to put food into them, heck I couldn't bend down at all. I had become so pathetic that I had to buy those robot claw things just to grab things off the floor. It was humiliating and I have no idea how I let it get that bad. I knew it was time for change though and by some miracle I found the courage to do so. I originally started at 262 lbs, dropped down to 229 in 2017 with CICO and then fell off after one bad weekend. I gained all the way back up to 280 HIGHER THAN I ORIGINALLY STARTED. I did 1500 calories a day to just shed weight fast and hit 229 again because I knew I'd lose motivation. Slowly my old habits started knocking at the back of my mind and whispering to me that I need more food. I almost fell off track agian. I decided to bump my calories up to 1800 - terrified that I was going to gain weight, and I did. I gained weight on the scale but thankfully reminded myself that it's more water weight and there's going to be an adjustment period because I physically have more food in my body. I let a few weeks pass and I started moving down in weight again. I am losing much more slowly (1lb per week for a 202 lb man is decently slow) but I am SOOO HAPPY and I'm starting to love myself more. It almost feels like time passed by faster now that I'm eating more and losing slower because I'm more content at the end of each day. This time around, I knew I didn't want to gain back more if I fell off the wagon so I decided to take a high protein approach to try to preserve as much muscle mass as possible - I mean I earned it from carrying my obese butt around. I had a BMI of 39.9 at my start which is basically touching morbidly obese and my BMI is about 27-28 now. I'm very happy that I did this, I've been measuring my biceps and although I lost 78 lbs, I only lost about half an inch on my biceps and I'm having some KILLER CALVES. Another reason I did this is so I can have the highest possible TDEE at my goal weight because clearly I love to eat having hit nearly morbidly obese on the BMI chart! Anyways, I don't even know what i'm rambling on about. I was the laziest excuse for a human being possible and I managed to change and get out of it. I was a pickier eater than anyone reading this, I hated the taste of diet soda and vegetables more than anyone reading this. Somehow that has changed and I'm finally starting to love life, and more importantly myself again. I have about 30-40 lbs to go to see my abs and I hope I can reach that by next summer. Big effing thanks to everyone in these subreddits and the Lose Weight, Eat Pizza Facebook group for keeping me accountable and constantly motivated to keep on trucking. TL;DR - lost weight fast, switching to slow because it's more sustainable. I'm stating to love myself and I'm so much more f*#king happy all the time. [link] [comments] |
| Am I the only one that goes into a mini shock every time I step on the scale and my weight is down? Posted: 03 Nov 2020 04:18 PM PST For YEARS like many of you, I've struggled with yo-yo dieting and binging. It was a constant battle with food and I could never find a balance. After trying so many different diets and things I finally figured out what worked for me and now my weight is dropping! Even though I know my weight will most likely drop when I step on the scale, I still ask myself, is this correct? Let's try again. I'll sometimes do it 3 times (lmao) just to make sure it's accurate. It definitely is, but I just can't believe I am able to lose weight after struggling with food for so long. (Even though I've only lost a little over 10lbs and have 30 to go) I'm amazed by the progress I made and hope I reach my goal soon! Cheers to everyone who's working their ass off! Good luck on your journey! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 09:42 PM PST Hi Everyone! So my last update mentioned I was having back issues, and 3 days after posting the issues with my back hit critical mass. I was in the hospital for a week, because I could not walk, and had to have surgery to correct the discs that were herniated. I stuck to the diet the dietitian wanted me to follow while I was there, and unfortunately that meant I was not eating much. While this sounds like it was a bad time, I dropped to 370 lb during my stay, and as soon as I woke up from the surgery I was able to walk again. Since the 21st, I dropped another 5 lb, so I am now at 365 down from 430 in June. I've been given the go ahead to return to work, to exercise (with some restrictions) and to go out and about, which means I can finally use the fitness center here at my apartment complex. I can't wait to see what the next month brings me on this challenge of losing weight! Thank you again for your positive and supportive comments! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 08:35 PM PST so it's been over a year since i started out cooking everything i eat from scratch. i've legit had what amounts to a handful of potato chips and maybe like a slice of pizza all year aside from what i've cooked myself. it's worked really well for me because i just can't keep up with the way i used to eat if i have to cook everything. also i've gained some real cooking skills, accumulated some easy recipes, kept a budget and done all the planning and home economics i should have learned to do ten years ago. i planned halloween is my 'cheat day' for the entire year. made it the only day/night i'd allow myself all sorts of candy. as i was eating my favourite kit kats and coffee crisp, i just kept thinking how my cooking is so much better than them. it's like sugar was their only flavour and it got boring. another thing i noticed was an old feeling of being immobile. for me, it's an easy trap to fall into when eating a lot and watching stuff on the computer to just not go from that 'activity' to anything else. when i'm actually up and active, i get on top of things. i'll start with laundry, move on to dishes, organize stuff, do some cooking and just keep changing things up. when i'm stuck in eating mode, these activities don't even seem like an option. like, they not only become easier to put aside, it doesn't even compute that there's any activity available besides eating. habits from depression i guess. [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: November 4th, 2020 Posted: 03 Nov 2020 09:48 PM PST Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went! Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here! I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences! [link] [comments] |
| I guess I lost *some* weight :) Posted: 03 Nov 2020 08:11 PM PST I've been doing light workouts, usually from YouTube or tiktok since April (..? I guess) and I haven't been much consistent about it at all. I have been working out at my own pace with little to no restrictions of my diet because I rarely eat junk and sugar. I(19/F) am 163cm, currently weigh 73 kilograms, and my weight never seems to go down. But recently I found a picture of me that I had taken at the beginning of August and I thought of taking a recent picture of myself and DAMN, I hadn't realized that I had gotten into a much better shape! I have lost almost all visible back and bra fat and I can also see some tone on my torso. I am so happy about actually getting results because I have never been consistent and I've always been giving up mid workout and I've been pretty inactive despite the workouts. But I'm so happy right now and I have decided to work out at least 5 times a week and watch my diet. I want to lose some weight on the scale by the end of November. Let's see how that goes! [link] [comments] |
| I need help losing 90lbs? Any tips are truly appreciated! Posted: 03 Nov 2020 07:35 PM PST [SW 260lbs – CW 245lbs – GW 160lbs] [30y Female 5'5] I'm asking for help from strangers :( I am ready to put in the work to lose this weight. I'm tired of watching these weight loss shows or watching weight loss videos on YouTube. I'm getting all this information in but then I'm not doing anything about it. I really don't know why – besides laziness. Although friends, family and coworkers wouldn't think so – I feel like crap all the time. I want to feel good, healthy and fit. For me, it's no longer about getting into my dream outfit. I just want to feel better. My doctor is worried about my blood pressure and I've been getting migraines and just body aches all the time. I'm not on any medication but my doctor will push medicine if I can't get my bp under control. I've started eating real food and I've lost some weight but not much. I have a low carb meal plan drafted and will aim for 1400 calories to start. I'll also recorded my meals on MFP. Currently everything about my life is sedentary. The most exercise I use to get before the pandemic was to and from work. I have recently joined a gym and plan on going very late at night. I'm embarrassed of my current state. I also don't want to be heard huffing and puffing for dear life. I don't know what I exercise/machines I should start with? I thought posting here might make me accountable. If you have any tips or advice please let me know! Thank you! [link] [comments] |
| 14 weeks of therapy - and 2 pounds down! Posted: 03 Nov 2020 05:42 AM PST Compared to some of you well disciplined folks, nothing has ever clicked for me. I have thought about my weight every day for 5 years. As a stress eater, counting calories has caused mental breakdowns, but equally eating "whatever" causes extreme guilt. Long story short, I've never felt mentally prepared to ever take on my physical health. Something clicked in therapy this week. My stress translates to chest pain, a fog, exhaustion, back pain, headaches - a whole lot of physical issues that does not translate well for my goals to get going. We worked through that food does physical make me feel better. It's easy, quick, and realistically - instant relief. So the game plan moving forward? Stretching. I can stop at any given moment and do it for 5 seconds, or 5 minutes. Stopping to recognize this stress, acknowledge it, do something about it on the spot, helps. Good days and bad days are determined by how many times I stopped to stretch - which is guilt free, compared to how much I've ate. It's obviously still a new idea that I'm going to try to continue to apply - but for once it's something I'm really excited about. [link] [comments] |
| The only downside of losing weight................ Posted: 04 Nov 2020 02:23 AM PST ...........is the sheer cost of it in terms of wardrobe! At 71lb down since May (about another 7 to go to reach target loss of 35Kg from a start of 232lb), I have dropped around 3 dress sizes - even belts don't help when things get that baggy. Literally everything in my wardrobe hung on me like a dustbin bag. I look at 8 sacks of clothes upstairs emptied from a wardrobe (how does any one person accumulate that many clothes!?) and there must be oodles of cash sitting there. OK, yes, it means I can create a whole new look for the whole new me, but the sheer cost of it in terms of getting rid AND buying again is stupendous! It's not only basic day wear, it's things like coats, underwear!!, even belts! About the only things that still fit are shoes, gloves and hats!! Has anyone else found the same thing? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 04 Nov 2020 02:19 AM PST Hi everybody! Let me start by saying this is my first ever post on Reddit so please bare with me if I didn't do it quite right! And if so, please let me know :) In 2017 I had a gastric bypass surgery and went from 330 pounds to 190 pounds! Since then I've stayed a steady 190-200 pounds but I am now 208 pounds and just not feeling well. So I am starting over...leaving my 'sustain the weight' lifestyle and going back to 'lose the weight'! I work 12 hour nightshifts 3 to 4 nights a week which makes it impossible to have a steady and consistent meal schedule which is my biggest challenge. So my goal for the next 3 weeks is to post once a week explaining what I've found to be helpful in managing a healthy diet on nightshift, my progress, my failures, etc. I will begin with goals for week 1!
These goals listed are much more specific on my end and condensed for the sake of not making you read soooo much. Here I go! I will keep you updated :) A. [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 3 Posted: 03 Nov 2020 05:39 PM PST Hello losers & fluffy monsters, I hope you're well my friends. Hell of a day. Weight by end of month (200 lbs, preferably trend weight): Couldn't face the scale this morning. Stay within calorie range (maintain): I slipped & fell on a lot of calories today kids. Exercise 5 days a week: Meant to but didn't get to getting. 2/3 days. Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): Yeah actually. 1/1 week. Nanowrimo 1666 words a day: 3568/50000 words. Will try after this post. Try a new recipe once a week: Fried parsnips so far. Tasty but I'm not sure they were any better than the roasted ones I usually do. 1/1 weeks. Express gratitude: Someone close to me has COVID & my partner was exposed. I am grateful that so far no symptoms. That's all I got for that I think. How about you all? If you're in the US, stay safe & vote. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 10:37 PM PST Here's a little backstory first: I've been trying to lose fat for YEARS now as far as I can remember, but every time I'd "try" I would just give up in a week or two. This year was the first time I took it seriously. Since March, I started the CICO diet approach, took measures every week, checked my weight progress each week. I was so relieved, for the first time in my life my waist was shrinking and my weight dropping, I was ecstatic! I went from a 104cm (41in) waist to now, 85cm (33.5in). My weight was bearing near 90kg (198.5lbs) and today I am 69.3kg (153lbs). I must admit, I did make some mistakes in the beginning. Such as dropping my calories way too low, not doing any lifting at all, excess cardio. I was sacrificing my sleep everyday just to fit in cardio. Stats: 18 years old | 172cm (5'8) | B:90kg(198.5lbs) | C:69.3kg(153lbs) |OG-Goal:65kg(143lbs). Unfortunately, I did not take any pictures in the beginning. Here's a picture of me in 2018 at age 16 (probably the heaviest I've ever been). The first progress pic I took probably mid way to 3/4 of the way through my cut Of picture of me now As you can probably see, I have ended up skinny fat. I'm still happy that I've lost most of the fat now nevertheless. I have a predominate hip bone structure ("genes"). I know I can get rid of them, however I don't feel too comfortable cutting now. Especially that I've been in a deficit since late Feb until just last week. My diet right now (bulking experiment): 2300-2500kcal 150-170g protein Fat doesn't exceed over 60g Carbs just fall in where they do I don't eat any specific meals each day, I like to change up my food because I will get bored of eating the same thing. Upon research, I came across a term called body recomposition. To my surprise, so many people have mixed thoughts about it. Some say it works, some seem to argue otherwise and some will say it only works for a specific group of people. I've compiled a list of "qualifications" for a body recomp! FYI: this information is merely from my own research, I am not claiming that any of this is true nor false):
Can anyone who is knowledgeable in this please confirm if any of these are true or false? As for my final question. Has anyone here ever tried this approach to fat loss + muscle building? Did it work? Would you recommend it to anyone? Why or why not? Thank you taking the time to read this! [link] [comments] |
| I want to lose weight but shape my body. Posted: 04 Nov 2020 12:42 AM PST Hello all, I'm a 20 year old female. I'm around 5'6 and my at home scale says 208 lbs. I think my body looks okay because of the way it is proportioned but I want to get rid of my belly that is getting bigger and shape my butt and legs. I do not mind looking and being a bit bigger because I think thick women are beautiful (all women are beautiful), but I just want to make myself look a little bit better and get rid of my belly. My starting goal weight is around 180 lbs and then I will see where I want to go from there. I've always been chubby but my belly just keeps getting bigger and I don't like it. I can't really afford a gym membership because I lost my job due to Mrs. rona. I don't eat all the time and I usually have like 1-2 meals a day. I calculated how many calories I should eat and my maintain is around 2,000, and the one under that is 1700. I believe that I eat somewhat around that but I haven't strictly calorie counted in a while. Does anyone have any advice on how strict I should be on myself for calories and exercising? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 11:43 PM PST I have been on an Low-carb, High-Fat diet from 2018 Jul. I have been on serious diet for about 2 years and lost a lot of weight and waistline. In 2019 I also became physically active, plus added Intermittent fasting. Went from 12 hour fasting to an OMAD lifestyle towards the end. Apart from the first month or so when body was adjusting to the change, i never had a problem with tiredness. In fact i was feeling pretty good. In the beginning also, the tiredness was only during fasting, not feasting. I also was pretty active physically in the 2019. But after the covid-related changes came in work and i was working from home, I have kind of strayed away from the diet a lot/a bit. March-October 2020, I have been snacking a lot more, most of it things that are not allowed in the diet. (SWeet stuff, traditional fried stuff, fruits) My fasting window also reduced to about 16 hours. But my meals still stayed same as what i was eating in diet. (LCHF). Activity levels are low and will stay low with the covid in the air. Only an hour of brisk walking is what i am able to do. Now from last 2 weeks I am trying to get back on the wagon seriously. My weight has not changed from pre-covid to now, but i wanted to get better. I have moved to a 20-hour fasting period. I have cut the snacking. Note that i have a big cup (16 oz) of bulletproof coffee while on the fasting but that has remained same for last 2 years. But now one thing i am noticing is that I suddenly feel very tired after my daily meal that happens after 20 hour fasting. Will this be a temporary thing? I was not expecting this because my meal has not changed all this time and always has been LCHF. [link] [comments] |
| Day 1? Starting your weight loss journey on Wednesday, 04 November 2020? Start here! Posted: 04 Nov 2020 02:25 AM PST Today is your Day 1? Welcome to r/Loseit! So you aren't sure of how to start? Don't worry! "How do I get started?" is our most asked question. r/Loseit has helped our users lose over 1,000,000 recorded pounds and these are the steps that we've found most useful for getting started. Why you're overweightOur bodies are amazing (yes, yours too!). In order to survive before supermarkets, we had to be able to store energy to get us through lean times, we store this energy as adipose fat tissue. If you put more energy into your body than it needs, it stores it, for (potential) later use. When you put in less than it needs, it uses the stored energy. The more energy you have stored, the more overweight you are. The trick is to get your body to use the stored energy, which can only be done if you give it less energy than it needs, consistently. Before You StartThe very first step is calculating your calorie needs. You can do that HERE. This will give you an approximation of your calorie needs for the day. The next step is to figure how quickly you want to lose the fat. One pound of fat is equal to 3500 calories. So to lose 1 pound of fat per week you will need to consume 500 calories less than your TDEE (daily calorie needs from the link above). 750 calories less will result in 1.5 pounds and 1000 calories is an aggressive 2 pounds per week. TrackingHere is where it begins to resemble work. The most efficient way to lose the weight you desire is to track your calorie intake. This has gotten much simpler over the years and today it can be done right from your smartphone or computer. r/loseit recommends an app like MyFitnessPal, Loseit! (unaffiliated), or Cronometer. Create an account and be honest with it about your current stats, activities, and goals. This is your tracker and no one else needs to see it so don't cheat the numbers. You'll find large user created databases that make logging and tracking your food and drinks easy with just the tap of the screen or the push of a button. We also highly recommend the use of a digital kitchen scale for accuracy. Knowing how much of what you're eating is more important than what you're eating. Why? This may explain it. Creating Your DeficitHow do you create a deficit? This is up to you. r/loseit has a few recommendations but ultimately that decision is yours. There is no perfect diet for everyone. There is a perfect diet for you and you can create it. You can eat less of exactly what you eat now. If you like pizza you can have pizza. Have 2 slices instead of 4. You can try lower calorie replacements for calorie dense foods. Some of the communities favorites are cauliflower rice, zucchini noodles, spaghetti squash in place of their more calorie rich cousins. If it appeals to you an entire dietary change like Keto, Paleo, Vegetarian. The most important thing to remember is that this selection of foods works for you. Sustainability is the key to long term weight management success. If you hate what you're eating you won't stick to it. ExerciseIs NOT mandatory. You can lose fat and create a deficit through diet alone. There is no requirement of exercise to lose weight. It has it's own benefits though. You will burn extra calories. Exercise is shown to be beneficial to mental health and creates an endorphin rush as well. It makes people feel awesome and has been linked to higher rates of long term success when physical activity is included in lifestyle changes. Crawl, Walk, RunIt can seem like one needs to make a 180 degree course correction to find success. That isn't necessarily true. Many of our users find that creating small initial changes that build a foundation allows them to progress forward in even, sustained, increments. AcceptanceYou will struggle. We have all struggled. This is natural. There is no tip or trick to get through this though. We encourage you to recognize why you are struggling and forgive yourself for whatever reason that may be. If you overindulged at your last meal that is ok. You can resolve to make the next meal better. Do not let the pursuit of perfect get in the way of progress. We don't need perfect. We just want better. Additional resourcesNow you're ready to do this. Here are more details, that may help you refine your plan.
[link] [comments] |
| Advice for Overcoming 2-Month Plateau (18F 5'6" SW:180 CW:150 GW:130) Posted: 04 Nov 2020 02:17 AM PST Hello Lose It community! This is my first post on this sub. I'm an 18yo female who started at 180 and have been plateauing at 150 for the past two months now. This is a long post, but I wanted to include as much information as I could because I'm not sure what exactly is causing this extended plateau. I've used a few different online calculators, and my BMR is around 14-1500 calories per day. I've been using the Lose It app since April of this year (2020) and have logged every single day honestly and religiously. With a strict diet of 1200 calories per day and lots of exercise, I lost 30 pounds in the first five months, but then plateaued somewhere around September and haven't been able to lose a single pound since. I've heard many times that weight loss is simply about the numbers, and if you're on a deficit, there's no way not to lose weight. However, I've run the numbers countless times and for the past couple months I haven't seen nearly the results I should be seeing based on my calculations. I started paying attention to how much protein I ate a few months in, and I make sure I have at least 60-90 grams every day. I lift light weights a couple times a week and do 20-30 mins of cardio (Just Dance) every night before dinner. I'm an online student, so I'm mostly sedentary outside of planned exercise, but lately I've started standing up during class (5+ hrs a day) because I heard it's better than sitting all day. I have to mention two big things that I think may be affecting my weight loss: First, I'm a student at a Japanese college but was unable to go to Japan due to Covid, so I'm living in America taking online classes in Japan time, which means my waking hours are 6pm to 7-8am. Obviously, this is not a normal sleep schedule, and I'm sure it's not healthy for my body, but there's nothing I can do about it until I'm able to fly to Japan early next year. Also, about sleep, I've always had sleeping problems and can't remember the last time I felt rested waking up, no matter how long or short I slept or if it was during the day or night. I had a sleep study done once when I was 9 and once again a few months ago, and they found no irregularities, so I have no idea why my sleep is the way that it is. I know that getting good sleep is essential to weight loss, but I haven't slept well since I was a little kid, so I don't know what to do about that. Second, I have GAD, and right now is an extremely stressful time in my life for several reasons, one of which being my upcoming flight to Japan, which I have to jump through several hoops to make happen in this post-Covid era. I know that the release of cortisol can impede weight loss, and I'm trying to start doing things like meditation and guided breathing, but I'm very much a ball of stress right now. Am I eating too little calories per day? Is my weight loss stalled due to the abnormal sleep schedule and stress and there's nothing I can do but try to maintain for now? Basically, what am I doing wrong and what are some things I can start trying to do better? I'd really appreciate any advice or help from people who may have had a similar experience (night shift workers, etc.). I've come this far and have no intention of giving up, but I am very discouraged from not being able to lose a single pound in 2 months after dropping 30 so quickly, so any advice on staying motivated would also be greatly appreciated. [link] [comments] |
| Finally able to start working out again! Posted: 03 Nov 2020 06:16 AM PST So this is more of a personal victory for me, but I'm excited about it nonetheless! So back in August (right on my birthday!), I twisted my knee wildly and had to go through months of pain, instability, swelling, etc. Waiting for MRIs and trying to get people to diagnose my pain was frustrating beyond belief, but I began my weight loss journey nonetheless while trying to focus more on nutrition than working out. I've lost ~3kg so far (from 62.8kg to 59.2kg at 5'8") But yesterday, finally, I managed to get cleared to do some mild workouts (not involving/limiting leg workouts) and I've been loving it! I only have about a kilogram or so to go, and the exercise is really helping me feel motivated again and helping me gain some more confidence in my appearance. Thank you for reading, if you've read this far! [link] [comments] |
| Daily Q&A Post for Wednesday, 04 November 2020 - No question too small! Posted: 04 Nov 2020 02:00 AM PST Got a question? We've got answers! Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? that's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small. TIPS:
[link] [comments] |
| I want to start my weight loss journey Posted: 04 Nov 2020 01:31 AM PST Hello! (I apologize for any spelling mistakes, english is not my first language) Im a 19 year old female, 167cm (5'5) tall and i weight 78kg (172 pounds). Lately i haven't been feeling like myself in my body anymore, i have started getting acne (i have never had acne before) and my energy levels are very low. I really want to lose weight, my goal weight is 60kg (132 pounds) and i want to make lifestyle changes that i can keep on doing so the weight also stays off. My goal is to be at this weight in august of 2021, so i have plenty of time. I like to think i have a pretty active lifestyle, i lift weights 3-4 times a week (push, pull, legs), i do HIIT 2-3 times a week, have a samoyed that needs lots of walkies and i also do wall climbing and skydiving sometimes. I really enjoy moving and being active. I am a pescetarian, i was a vegetarian for 6 years but i have recently started eating fish. Myfitnesspal and calorie calculators suggest i eat 1850-1960 calories a day to lose a minimum of 0,5kg a week, is this enough or do i need more/less calories? I started my journey 2 days ago and i have been eating around 1800 calories and i feel pretty great! Any weight loss tips are also welcome, im new at this and i just want to have a healthy body i feel proud of and that i feel like myself in! [link] [comments] |
| Tired of giving up but can't stop either Posted: 03 Nov 2020 03:25 AM PST I'm in my fourth month of dieting. Things were going very well for the past three months but now I give up after every two days. I don't understand what's wrong with me. I am motivated. I want this badly, why am I doing this to myself? I regret it later everytime. I gave up today too. What's happening to me? I'm afraid I'll lose all my progress. I feel like I've tried everything, I don't buy junk food at all, I make sure I don't get too hungry, I took a break from dieting last week and maintained, but it's like my body wants to rebel or something, like it hates me. I feel like crying, what should I do? How do I stay on track? [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment