• Breaking News

    Wednesday, November 4, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-11-04

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-11-04


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-11-04

    Posted: 03 Nov 2020 10:05 PM PST

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    7 months progress // 27 yo male

    Posted: 04 Nov 2020 05:25 AM PST

    Hi BWF, today marks 7 months since I've started calisthenics, so here's my progress:

    Motivation

    After a knee injury in August '19, I was kept in bed until I got surgery in January '20. That was the moment I was sick of not being able to run like before. I was never a fan of the gym (lifting), so finding calisthenics made me say "THIS IS IT". My arms are super thin, have had gynecomastia since my teenage years, and I really hoped I would grow my chest so the tissue would not be so visible as much.

    Stats

    Age: 27

    Height: 175 cm // 5'9 ft

    Weight: Before - 65 kg // 143 lbs /// After - 67 kg // 148 lbs

    Progress pictures

    Before (April 2020) https://imgur.com/a/upjpuVK

    After (November 2020) https://imgur.com/a/xW810hl

    First months

    In April I started the recommended routine, so training 3 days a week, with almost no focus on legs, since I wasn't able to use my knee post-surgery.

    Pull-ups story: I was doing the first 3 progressions for pull-ups, knowing that I am not able to do a single pull up. While doing the negative pull-ups, 2,5 months after starting progressions, a dude asked me "why don't you try to do regular pull-ups?". So the next day I tried and did 3 of them with good form!! That was mind-blowing to me!

    In the first two weeks, I was very motivated to do this. The next month I really fought the thoughts of giving up, such a struggle. But never gave up, never missed a workout. After 2-3 months, the habit was implemented and I was leaving home in the morning, even if I felt lazy or not, it just became so normal to go out and train.

    Current workout

    I started developing a lot of the upper part of my body, so my legs and butt really need some extra workout. Now I try to mix between barbell squats, leg press, leg extension, barbell hip thrust, glute, and hamstring extensions.

    In August I started running little by little, and now my training looks like this: strength workout Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and running 5k + abs workout on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday, with Sunday as a rest day.

    I'm doing 3 sets of 8-9 rings pull-ups or chin-ups. Currently working for the one arm chin-up, it's slowly getting there! I'm doing every time a set of decline, pike, regular and incline push-ups.

    For abs: I do 3 exercises hanging on a bar, Copenhagen plank + regular plank, rings rollouts, ring reverse crunches, leg raises, and some other few exercises.

    Still working on my hand-stand (80%), human flag(70%), and back lever (75%).

    Now I have a few questions if someone is willing to give me some advice:

    Regarding rows: I'm doing horizontal rows, but have plateaued - still feel fatigued after 3 sets of 10 rows, but have been doing for months now. What should I do?

    Regarding abs: I'm not sure if I'm slowing my abs progress if I train 6 days a week intensively. Am I?

    Regarding dips: I'm doing parallel bar dips, but I feel some pain in my shoulders. What's there to do? This has also plateaued since a few months ago.

    Weight

    I started at 65 kg, and since I also wanted to build muscle, one of my mistakes was of course not eating enough and doing intermittent fasting. I stopped doing IF and eating much more (I'm not counting calories) - sometimes it's exhausting the amount of food I have to eat, but hey, gotta stop looking like a little boy. Now I'm at 67 kg, eating mostly plant-based food, trying to have 3 meals + 2 snacks a day, with a protein shake before workouts.

    Conclusion

    I'm in love with exercising after almost a lifetime of avoiding it like the plague! The routine it has offered me, combined with 8 hours of sleep a day and a healthy diet, it helped me a lot during these tough times. I don't wanna imagine where I'd be now without it!

    The gynecomastia is still there, more visible than ever. Considering removing it, but waiting to fly somewhere I can get it cheaper than where I live.

    Now that I look through the photos of when I started and recent photos, I don't see a lot of progress like other people here, but I feel the photos don't do enough justice for how it actually is in real life and how I feel now. What do you think about it?

    submitted by /u/iamgadjodilo
    [link] [comments]

    I(18, 201 cm,264 ponds, m) have problems reducing fat percentage.

    Posted: 03 Nov 2020 10:06 PM PST

    I think there are two main reasons for this. One could be because of my diet and the second one could be because I cut back on cardio. I have significantly reduced my cardio because of the gyms being closed. Can anyone help me and recommend some cardio which I can do at home without any equipment ? I was thinking about buying some equipment for boxing or other mma sort of stuff, so would that help ?

    submitted by /u/Tony_thefapmonsta
    [link] [comments]

    Bodyweight-only advanced leg movements

    Posted: 03 Nov 2020 05:57 PM PST

    For various reasons I'm on a quest to maximise my strength without any weighted assistance. For the upper body, and even hinge movements, there are a plethora of options.

    For everything below the waist, however, it's more difficult. Once pistols and dragon squats become easy, by what means can we increase tension and load using only our body?

    Current ideas:

    1) Extremely disadvantaged leverage. Examples: Quad: Knees over toes full/pistol squat; Hamstring: full/single leg Nordics; Glutes: ???

    2) Squeeze as hard as possible and pretend the movement is nigh impossible

    3) Go super slowly with extreme control, and do pseudo-isometric bounces.

    4) Create tension by pressing against the body or a surface; I've seen this called dynamic tension in some places. For the upper body one could use the hands to press against each other for some pectoral movements, but how to do so for the legs?

    Ideas: Split squat with the back leg elevated pressing into the ground (awkward and very difficult to do effectively; have had little success attempting this); lateral movements in wide/sumo squat, resisting with non-pushing leg; full/single leg hip thrust using the hands to press down on the waist; hip thrust with almost-straight legs pushing from the back of the heel; reverse hypers with more of the upper body hanging suspended and level with the bench, but not supported by it; pushing against an opposing wall with one's back against another, slowly adjusting position as legs extend; elevated dragon squats with shoulders dropping below the foot; bridges but with more gluteal than erector and shoulder support.

    That's all I can think of.

    Any other ideas or principles?

    This is really quite the vexing problem. In reality, I do occasionally use bands or weights (mostly just a glute band and two dumbbells I place on my waist and push down on), but I'd like to do away with both if possible.

    I appreciate everyone's help!

    submitted by /u/TennisMaster2
    [link] [comments]

    I made a tracker to log your progress in bodyweight fitness progressions

    Posted: 03 Nov 2020 03:51 PM PST

    Since lockdown I've been doing a lot more bodyweight fitness. I loved the progression excel doc, but wanted a version that would be easier to use whilst I was working out.

    So I made an app to record your progress

    The intention is to be able to see which movements you are working towards, and explore the related progressions between movements. E.g. from Pull Up to Muscle Up

    Although it's quite basic at the moment, I hope some people find it useful.

    I am looking for feedback to make it more useful, so please respond with any questions or suggestions.

    Major shout out to u/shellerik who's Bodyweight Fitness Progression doc provided the vast amount of data on movements and their orders.

    Edit 1: I have now added a search function to the cards

    Edit 2: If anyone has any suggestions I'd love to hear them. https://trello.com/b/gStS88Z2/bodyweight-fitness-suggestions

    Edit 3:

    Tech stack:

    Nextjs for creating the Single Page Application

    Vercel for deploying

    Simple Analytics for anonymous page tracking

    submitted by /u/numinor
    [link] [comments]

    How low should I go if I replace the pistol with the barbell squat?

    Posted: 04 Nov 2020 12:47 PM PST

    Hello,

    I have a barbell at home and have been training with it quite a bit. I wanted to try out the RR,but was wondering if I need to replicate the form of the pistol squat with the barbell squat or not. I tried to do a pistol squat but was unable to, despite squatting 50kg 3x10 in a normal barbell squat position last week.

    I felt like I lacked power in my lower range of mobility, when my hips were below my knees. So I wanted to barbell squat ass-to-grass, but I hope to receive your feedback on whether this is a good idea and how I should go about doing it? Thank you very much in advance!

    I tried a 32kg barbell squat ass-to-grass just yesterday and I was able to do 3x9. Does that indeed indicate a weakness? How would I fix this?

    Edit: spelling.

    submitted by /u/Dagobert_Juke
    [link] [comments]

    Fiction books about body transformation, strength, calisthenics

    Posted: 04 Nov 2020 12:14 PM PST

    I know there are plenty books about actually training your body, but can anyone recommend fiction books about body transformation, strength and calisthenics? It would be for pure entertainment, but maybe it will also have a motivation effect as a side bonus (not that I find it the correct way to do things, as opposed to habits and discipline). Thanks!

    submitted by /u/SadSkill3848
    [link] [comments]

    Workout music

    Posted: 04 Nov 2020 08:08 AM PST

    Can you guys recommend some good tracks for working out? Something like eye of the tiger ... I don't like these new overly serious workout songs but just something with a good motivational rythm, doesn't necessarily have to be a song made for working out. Thanks

    submitted by /u/Hiitko
    [link] [comments]

    Question about the front lever

    Posted: 04 Nov 2020 11:03 AM PST

    (15/M) 65kg 179cm. I'm training front lever almost every day, it's like impossible for me not to do it, because i'm too into it. (Prolly a bad thing)

    So the problem is that I feel like my back is like kinda heavy/stuffed, I think it's called soreness (sorry english is not my native language) and when I try to perfom it, I also feel like a little pain/sting on one side in the upper back.

    And I'm kinda scared to have more than 2-3 rest days, I feel like I'm going to lose my progress.

    Give me some tips, and how many rest day I should take or something. WHAT SHOULD I DO?

    submitted by /u/Ned2005
    [link] [comments]

    Stop setting limits for yourself!

    Posted: 03 Nov 2020 06:07 PM PST

    For the past 5 months, I have been working towards getting back to being able to do pullups easily again. A few years ago, I was able to do 15+ pullups in a row and multiple sets of it. I eventually stopped lifting/doing bodyweight fitness as I started to train for a marathon. I ultimately lost all of the progress made with pullups and other bodyweight exercises.

    In April, I couldn't do a single pullup. I felt pretty bad about it because of what I used to be able to do. But, in the past 6 months, I have been working hard and getting back what I once had. Two days ago, I realized something. I was holding myself back with pullups. I kept limiting myself to three sets of about 5-7 of them. As soon as I'd reach that number I'd just stop. Yesterday I decided to push myself and keep going until I felt like I couldn't anymore. I ended up doing two sets of 11 pullups. And the third set I did 9.

    So, whether it's pullups or something else.. tomorrow try to not think about a limit that you set for yourself. Go past that and see what you can really do! I've made a lot of progress in the 6 months without truly realizing it. I'm excited to see what I can do in another 6 months of training.

    submitted by /u/DrewMac380
    [link] [comments]

    One arm negative super clean, but OAP eludes me.

    Posted: 03 Nov 2020 01:04 PM PST

    As title says, I can do a super clean 10-15 second controlled one arm negative from chin above bar to a deadhang but still am not close on the OAP.

    This seems like a big discrepancy to me based on previous posts where it seems that once most people achieve some very nice, clean and controlled negatives they can usually get the OAP.

    Does anyone have any tips in regards to where I might be going awry or is my logic just flawed and is the OAP just a damn hard calisthenic movement?

    submitted by /u/mayonnaiseforsale
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment