Bodyweight Fitness: Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-11-03 |
- Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-11-03
- BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-11-03
- Minor progress Male/ 5 months / 23yo /6' /190lbs June/ 174lbs now
- Bodyweight squats hurt the muscles directly below the shoulder, but not the biceps.
- Herschel Walker’s Basic Training: It Really is Good
- Motivation for Muscle ups 0-10
- Anyone have this issue
- In bodyweight fitness do you have to incorporate pushups or can you replace them with other exercises such as pull ups or Chinups?
- Leg raises / flutter kicks / reverse crunch, etc., work groin more than abs
- OAP band assist position
- Alright this might be an unusual post, but. What advice would you give for a 15 year old male?
- Building a bit of muscle with no equipment?
- Is it possible to build muscle without a diet?
- Best exercises for most strength as fast as possible.
- Need Help - Being "Naturally Fit" and Lacking Motivation Because of it
- Calisthenics lose strength
- Any tall folk recommend a skipping rope?
- Why this thing happens and does this mean i'm really close to achieving the exercise?
| Training Tuesday - Post Your Routine for 2020-11-03 Posted: 02 Nov 2020 10:06 PM PST Training Tuesday! Post the full details of your routine and the progress you've made over the past week. Include as much detail as possible. All the past Training Tuesdays If you are posting an update from last week's thread (please do!), please link your old post. Copy the comment's address by right clicking the "Permalink" under your comment and clicking "Copy Link Address/Location" or similar, depending on your browser. Then include this in your post: Include these sorts of details:
Highlight the improvements you have made in your routine, since last week and include any videos or photos that are relevant. All top comments must be routine posts. Join our live chatroom on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter! [link] [comments] |
| BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-11-03 Posted: 02 Nov 2020 10:05 PM PST Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!
Reminders:
For your reference we also have these weekly threads:
Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter! If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here. [link] [comments] |
| Minor progress Male/ 5 months / 23yo /6' /190lbs June/ 174lbs now Posted: 03 Nov 2020 01:46 AM PST Hey there fellas, as the title suggests this is not one of those transformations that is super impressive but I still wanted to share it with you. Before I started working out I was basically living stationary because of the lockdown and rarely got out. After my body gave me various warnings I decided to start dieting and bodyweight fitness. The main point I want to make in this post is that even if you don't do everything perfectly it's still better than doing nothing. I started homebrewing 3 months earlier so I regularly consume beer, I'm a chemical engineering student so fuck sleeping and being not stressed isn't an option. Being busy I can't always meet my protein goal of 200g daily and how many calories I take can be very random. And still I made some progress and I feel much healthier and stronger than before. The before pic:https://imgur.com/a/QIOE1hY My program is nothing impressive, I started out doing push ups with my knees, squats and crunches, that is it. For the first 2.5 months my main goal was losing weight and I achieved my target of 170 pounds in mid August. I was doing cardio 3 times a week before my bare bones bodyweight routine and took 1200kcal a day max, although I slacked on everythin else I took dieting very seriously in this time period. My cardio routine was mainly jumping rope and shadow boxing as I have some Muay Thai experience. In mid August I started to take training more seriously and my main focus shifted to strenght training. However bare bones my training was I still gained some strength and my transition to RR was fairly smooth. The only equipment I lacked was a pull up bar and I only got one last month so my pull up progression is garbage compared to the others. My progress now is: 3x12 push ups 3x7 parallell bar dips 3x10 australian rows 3x3 pull ups 3x10 forward lunges (explosive) 3x10 single leg deadlifts I've added 4-5 pounds Me now:https://imgur.com/a/laSF5Mi Like I said, nothing impressive but starting out I wasn't even able to do a single proper push up so this is a lot of strenght gain for me. Also I know the pictures are taken in different places but we got rid of that god awful mirror so my only option was the bathroom. Lastly as for motivation love your body and yourself, even if you are out of shape and even if you are obese, you are much more inclined to care and improve things that you love. Body shaming in my experience is only demoralising and people who body shame you probably do not care about you at all and they most likely will try to put you down on other stuff too. I started working out for myself and continue to do so because I want to improve myself, I'm not working out of spite. Thanks for reading this post, have a nice day! [link] [comments] |
| Bodyweight squats hurt the muscles directly below the shoulder, but not the biceps. Posted: 02 Nov 2020 08:21 PM PST Hello, when I bodyweight squat with my arms directly out in front of me, I find that my arms, specifically in the area on the outside of my arms directly below the shoulder but above the biceps, ends up hurting, making me finish squatting before my legs are even remotely tired. Does anyone know why this is? EDIT: It appears to be my deltoids that are hurting, judging from where the deltoids are located. [link] [comments] |
| Herschel Walker’s Basic Training: It Really is Good Posted: 03 Nov 2020 02:57 AM PST I know some of this topic may be done to death, but I haven't seen an in depth review, I have the book and I'd like to provide one. First of all the title is "basic" training. The goal is really about fundamentals. Next it's about "training" in general, not even really specific bodyweight training, although that's a huge part of the book. Next, this book is really of its time. You will see variations of sit ups, static stretching, etc. that probably aren't the best option. Also since it's "basic" if you're looking for a bunch of fancy variations of well, anything, you'll be disappointed. You'll also see weight training. What makes it really stand out, is the combination of modalities and programming. This book feels like a primer on physical literacy. You will learn how to run properly for a sprint, keep your body strong with or without equipment, some decent agility drills, even a bit of karate! And how it all ties together. Downside is it can get time consuming, but if you view it as a template rather than an absolute plan then it's really something special. You can sub out some of the stretching and by the way karate is a serious part of the plan, you way want to sub out some of the karate drills with Muay Thai drills or what have you, but if you have any interest on martial arts, it makes sense to me to do what the book says and take a few key moves and just get some extra reps as part of your strength training. Also I wouldn't hate too much on the karate moves in the book, there's only 7 but they're bread and butter strikes and kicks, and practicing how to twist into a strike and the balance benefits of kicking are athletically valuable just generally. It's also a book that needs to be read, not just look at the pictures think you know it all anyway and then just plow ahead. The plan really is progressive as well. You're not just leaping into Herschel Walkers workout and burning yourself out. I also like the book's use of isometric holds to start building pull up and chin up strength. This book won't teach you tricking, how to do a human flag, etc. It's like I said before, about physical literacy. It's basic. It's all about running fundamentals and getting really good at those. It's got a variety of physical activities, and again I think the programming shines as long as you don't get doctrinaire about it. It's kind of a crime this book went out of print, and for the price the book goes for, it's clear there's some kind of serious demand. Maybe a new edition would be in order with some changes regarding sit ups, stretching, etc. Finally, it's refreshing to read a book on fitness that doesn't read like a marketing consultant and a motivational speaker got together to beat up the text. You won't learn to "push your limits to the max" or gain "superhuman strength" or mental training to "go beyond pain with the mental toughness of a Spartan/Ninja/Navy SEAL/ManBeast". It's just bread and butter, start small, keep adding up, here's how to do it right. Very Bill Bowerman sort of vibe although that just may be my read on it. All of that being said, man the price on this book used is frequently insane, I was able to snag a copy for not too much, but $100 plus? Not so sure man. It's the type of book though I wish I'd started with in high school. If anybody has any specific questions, let me know. [link] [comments] |
| Motivation for Muscle ups 0-10 Posted: 03 Nov 2020 11:38 AM PST Hi guys I have made a video documenting my journey from 0 to 10 muscle ups. Hope this video motivates you to get from 0 to multiple muscle ups. How did I get to 10? I did few sets of reps of 3-5 each session 3-4 times a week. Once I got more effiecent and more explosive I upped it 6 then 7 then few weeks later I tried and managed to get 10. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 11:27 AM PST They wake up super thin but then in the rest of the day you are bloated like crazy and my belly Is like a penguin . How do I fix this? Makes me look a hell lot less defined and fatter. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 11:10 AM PST I'm curious to know if Pushups are a necessary movement in bodyweight fitness. I know a couple of people who do not do any type of push up movement and instead replace Pushups with exercises like pull ups and Chinups is it okay to train this way ? [link] [comments] |
| Leg raises / flutter kicks / reverse crunch, etc., work groin more than abs Posted: 03 Nov 2020 11:02 AM PST I'm not sure what's going on but it's super annoying. Any time I attempt an exercise similar to the ones in the title, it seems to work my groin more than anything. I usually have to quit, not because my abs are burning, but because my groin is. Am I just doing these wrong? Any ideas on what I can do to help this? Help appreciated. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 10:46 AM PST Curious how far you guys think I am out. I currently am doing OAP singles with 15 lb band assist, i grab the band a few inches under the bar and it goes to chest level, then a few inches above belly button level arm 90 degrees to finish the rep, providing pretty minimal assistance compared to keeping it closer to the top the whole time. [link] [comments] |
| Alright this might be an unusual post, but. What advice would you give for a 15 year old male? Posted: 03 Nov 2020 10:16 AM PST My stats: Male, 15 year old Height: ~1.78cm Weight: ~65kg-66kg My stats for some exercises: I can do about 20+ pull ups with a good form Last time I checked my max push ups, it was around: 62-65 in one set about 5-10 one arm push ups (sadly but with my right arm only :D) About 5-8 muscle ups REALLY CLOSE TO ACHIEVING THE FULL FRONT LEVER! kinda excited for this :D [link] [comments] |
| Building a bit of muscle with no equipment? Posted: 03 Nov 2020 10:14 AM PST 16 y/o male, 52kg (skinny as hell). Does someone know if there's a routine that can be done at home with absolutely 0 equipment? Really want to avoid making my parents buy me ANYTHING. Honestly, I just want to have a bit of muscle and slightly defined body; something presentable because I'm tired of this shitty appearance. Thanks. [link] [comments] |
| Is it possible to build muscle without a diet? Posted: 03 Nov 2020 09:25 AM PST So im a 14 boy 182 sm and 60kg.Im living with my parents and i cant control what im eating (although im interested in hearing diets that work for people my age). I started exercising not a long time ago(about a month) and im trying to get healthier. [link] [comments] |
| Best exercises for most strength as fast as possible. Posted: 03 Nov 2020 09:00 AM PST I'd like to know what exercises build strength the fastest, but ones that can build to the point of hard calisthenics like planche, handstand, or front lever. [link] [comments] |
| Need Help - Being "Naturally Fit" and Lacking Motivation Because of it Posted: 03 Nov 2020 08:21 AM PST Hey guys, Essentially, the TLDR is: For those of you who maybe didn't have to work so hard for being in shape - How do you guys stay motivated for keeping in good shape, mentally and physically, if you never felt you 'had' to work for it? In a way, I feel I'm struggling to keep at it because I'm somewhat "naturally fit" Here's my story: I'm a mid-20's guy who has been 'doing' judo throughout my whole childhood. I never really did it too consistently, and mostly just once a week. But apparently enough for me to have to results in competitions and always staying in relatively good shape. For example, I always has a 6-pack pack and was always among the strongest of my friends - and I've hovered around 81kg at 182cm, essentially pretty much since I was around 17. I haven't really been keeping up with the judo maybe the last 3 years. This may seem like some sort of humble brag to some, but I am really looking for help! This "ease" or so to say of 'natually' being in physically good shape has begun to bring me some troubles in my life. For one, I've really begun to realize through reading, how exercise supposedly is supposed to be great for mental clarity, productivity and the like, which is something I really care about - and am currently majorly lacking. I saw a few videos on excercise and reading the many comments like: "Once you see the first bit of changes to your body, you'll become OBSESSED" really kind of discourages me, as I've never really felt this 'problem' so to say to motivate me. I'm hoping that somehow, maybe there's a mental clarity side to it that I can somehow turn into a motivator? Here in Corona times, I get basically no exercise, except for the occasional walking, and I really want to change this, but I've been slow to adopt changes, lacking motivation, blaming it on an injured wrist etc, and being abroad etc. - I am also a complete noob on most fitness things other than Judo and running.On the food side, I also noticed problems. I eat the strangest mix of very healthy foods, like spinach, eggs and wild rice - but I also super often eat Pizza, kinder chocolates and even chips. Pizza is maybe even my main source of calories. It hasn't really affected my physical "shape", but I really do believe that the lack of exercise and food is affecting my mental strength negatively. I would love to start eating healthier, but am finding it hard to stick to it.I'm currently stuck abroad in Eastern Europe, making it hard to do Judo and I've never really gone to the gym (which I would like to experiment with).My days are mostly a slump spent at home with my partner. I go to sleep inconsistenly, but mostly between 11PM to 1:30AM. I wake up pretty late. I don't have a job here (want to start a business, and I'm pretty damn broke), buy pizza or snacks almost on a daily basis. And get no EXCERCISE. In the end, I would like to try to change my life, especially my mental state, bad food habits and lack of productivity - and I thought that Fitness and Excercise would be a great way to do it. But I'm honestly lost on how to go about it over here. I'm really sorry if it sounds braggy, I just wanted to give the best representation of my (sad) situation as I could. Have any of you been in a similar situation, and what can I do to change it? [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 03 Nov 2020 07:25 AM PST Hey guys last week I used to have a pain on my tricep tendonitis and i stop working out for rest . Now when I'm trying to do pull ups and muscle ups I feel like sore and weaker like I lose my strength and on push workout little strength .do you know what happened? [link] [comments] |
| Any tall folk recommend a skipping rope? Posted: 03 Nov 2020 07:18 AM PST I'm 6ft6 and all the gym's skipping ropes are too damn short! Can any tall peeps recommend a skipping rope? Or failing that, what is the appropriate length of a skipping rope relative to height? [link] [comments] |
| Why this thing happens and does this mean i'm really close to achieving the exercise? Posted: 03 Nov 2020 05:45 AM PST So, long story short: One day I was able to hold a front lever for about 2-3 secs FOR THE FIRST TIME and the other day all my achievings were gone. Same with the one arm pull up, one day I could do it and then it's gone. At that moment I felt like I had a lot of strenght, sort of :D [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from Reddit's Bodyweight Fitness Community . To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment