Weight loss: A sudden realization: I’ve already succeeded and I’m not even at goal weight |
- A sudden realization: I’ve already succeeded and I’m not even at goal weight
- My number 1 motivational tip to fight cravings and binge eating
- NSV: All of my clothes fit again!!
- What food do I actually like?
- I decided to eat a cupcake tonight. It was disappointing.
- Gained 40lbs since lockdown began in March. I’m fed up and I have been trying to stick to weight loss to no avail
- NSV - Tried on my prom dress, 16 years later
- Anyone else just stop listening to their stomach after a while?
- Weight loss from 280lbs to 160lbs. Things I’ve learned and questions I still have...
- Saw a video of myself today and cried for 20 minutes
- F34 / 5'8" / SW245 CW186 -58lbs in 6 months, hope this motivates someone
- Unexpected effects of weight loss
- I hit my goal weight!
- NSV - I fit in a size large
- My Weight Runs & Ruins My Whole Life (TW, eating disorder, body hate)
- [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: October 29th, 2020
- Job interviews whilst being morbidly obese
- UPDATE: F36 / 5'4 SW 240 lbs CW 195lbs GW1 195 lbs GW2 165lbs GW3 140lbs
- At my halfway point of 22 kg weight loss ⭐️ And my thoughts on it
- I thought sticking to a calorie deficit would be the easy part
- 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 28
- How do I not slip down to disordered eating again
- Why do I have such a big distended belly when the rest of my body is relatively normal sized? How can I get rid of it?
- I need some simple tips
| A sudden realization: I’ve already succeeded and I’m not even at goal weight Posted: 28 Oct 2020 07:11 PM PDT I'm walking home from work yesterday and I see two thin people walking ahead of me. My first thought is, "one day, I will eat like them." And then I stopped and realized I ALREADY DO. (Shock! Gasp! Wow!) I have 214 consecutive days under my belt of logging what I eat, and because I'm logging, I've been consistently losing or maintaining my weight. For seven months. And THAT'S WHAT THEY DO! Thin people consistently eat an amount that maintains their weight. And guess what, I do it too!!! This was such a joyous realization. The real goal has been to sustain the weight loss, not just to lose the weight, and I'm already sustaining it! SUCCESS!! This also makes me feel better about the fact that I'm usually losing about half a pound or less per week. It feels s l o w. But I'm also eating how I want to continue eating (everything in moderation) so weight loss feels pretty damn sustainable. Cheers to this sub for sharing all the joys, sorrows, inspiration, and motivation. It makes all the difference in the world. [link] [comments] |
| My number 1 motivational tip to fight cravings and binge eating Posted: 28 Oct 2020 03:37 PM PDT I have been struggling with weight loss for a couple of years now. I start all my days great, even lunch works out most of the times, but when dinner time arrives, I can't resist the cravings for fast food, large portions, huge piles of pasta, comfort food while watching a movie, etc. I feel horrible after I indulge. Every. Single. Time. Now I've lost over 20 kg (44 lbs) since the first lockdown in April. And I couldn't be happier about it. Of course, there are many elements to my weight loss journey, but the motivational trigger that helped me best is the following: every single time I was thinking about overeating and to binge, I forced myself to think: "How long will this bring me joy?" I finish a meal in let's say 20 to 40 min max. After that, I'd feel immediately guilty and bad for breaking my weight loss routine and healthy eating habits. With this thought, I force myself to grab a healthier meal and after I've finished that one and the hunger is gone, I feel blessed for being able to resist the temptation. You could even time yourself while eating a treat meal. You could then look at the result of that timer when you feel like you're struggling to fight an urge to overeat. "Is this worth it? Should I really order pizza, knowing this "joy" will be over in under 30 minutes..? Nah, let's go for this salad that'll make me so proud in the morning when I weigh in!" It might sound silly but it's a neat little trick that worked great for me. [link] [comments] |
| NSV: All of my clothes fit again!! Posted: 28 Oct 2020 11:02 AM PDT Yaaaaay! As the title says. It's my birthday today and I know I am going to eat a lot and my weigh in this morning was no different than the last few days so I decided to look for a different kind of victory and I FOUND IT! It's been a great strategy for me when I am not seeing scale victories to go on the hunt for other types of wins! A further walk than before, a deeper stretch, or... I tried on all of the clothes that I haven't touched in years because I know they are too small and none of them are too small anymore! A dress that I bought for a friend's wedding two years ago, that didn't even zip all the way up at the wedding, now zips easily! It feels soooooo nice because I remember trying on clothes back in March and nothing fit and I was so bummed and almost got rid of everything that was too small! The only thing that still doesn't fit are the jeans I purposely bought too small so that I could document myself slowly fitting into them! For reference I am 5'3 female. Started losing weight at the very end of August. Started at 190 pounds and am down to 167.7! Yay for birthdays and non-scale victories. Now I can happily indulge for the day! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Oct 2020 04:09 AM PDT I realized that I just eat everything, because it's there, because it's cheap, not necessarily because I am hungry or even like it. So I'm going to start rating my food, did I actually like the cheap unsmoked bacon this morning? No. Did I like the ready to drink cold late? Yes. The toast with cream cheese and honey? Love that. And so on. The hope is that I can start buying stuff I actually like, truly enjoy the food, take my time savoring it and saving some for later. Rather than buying stuff cause it is the most volume to price in something I don't hate, then eat large portions as I would hate to waste food. Edit, while I write down and rate the food I might as well write down the calories too I guess lol Edit, first post on this sub and my first award, count me as feeling supported :) [link] [comments] |
| I decided to eat a cupcake tonight. It was disappointing. Posted: 28 Oct 2020 05:09 PM PDT My birthday was earlier this month, and I got sent some designer cupcakes as a gift. I froze them so I wouldn't eat them all at once. In effort to kick a sugar addiction, I've been on a no sugar kick for 2.5 weeks. Been doing high protein, low carb, no sugar. So today I decided to reward myself and split a cupcake with my husband. It was disappointing. I expected it to be sooooo good. I expected even just half a cupcake to be pure bliss. Maybe it would even taste better since I hadn't had sugar in a while! Instead it just tasted gross and sticky and... I don't know. I regret eating it, it wasn't worth it. Can we get a refund on our calories if the food doesnt taste good? 😂 [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Oct 2020 11:11 AM PDT So since March I've gained 40lbs, putting me at 190lbs at 5'2". I have lost 40lbs between Sept. 2016 and January 2018 and regained all of it back and more but this time around it's so difficult for me to lose weight, with many gyms in my area still being closed and all. I've been walking for a couple of weeks and truth be told I struggle with food and keeping track of anything. I feel so bad about my weight gain because I feel like I gained a substantial amount in such a short time and I feel very bad about. Barely any of my clothes fit anymore and I don't feel as confident as I once was. Anyone have any tips for sustainable food plans? Thank you [link] [comments] |
| NSV - Tried on my prom dress, 16 years later Posted: 28 Oct 2020 06:28 PM PDT So after being overweight for a few years, I decided last May to make a change and to go back to liking my body. Since then, I've been working out almost everyday in my basement with basic equipment such as a mat and a few dumbells. I've also been doing CICO pretty religiously and I've been having great results thus far, losing 35 lbs and maintaining it. Last week I saw my mother in law and she mentioned that she found some pictures of my boyfriend and myself at prom. She told me she had the feeling that I now look in an even better shape than back then (that was 2005). Then today I got a couple new pairs of jeans and I had to order a size 8 because after going down a couple size, I had to go down again. That's when I realized that this is the size I was wearing back in high school and I thought: oh wow, I've really made huge progress! ... Then I though of my prom dress! Well, I did put it on and... it fits even better than when I wore it at prom 16 years ago! That completely blew my mind! I mean, that dress is completely useless since I won't wear it ever again but it my boyfriend and I had a great laugh! He just couldn't believe that I had managed to go from a somewhat unhealthy lifestyle, aggravated by mild depression, to now being in the best shape of my life and fitting in my old prom dress. Funny how life can be! [link] [comments] |
| Anyone else just stop listening to their stomach after a while? Posted: 29 Oct 2020 12:04 AM PDT I (19F, 5'5) started watching my weight around the end of June, and so far I've gone from 150lbs to 135ish. My goal is 120, so still have some ways to go, but I've started to notice that in losing weight, I've gotten better at handling hunger/cravings. It's almost like I've distanced myself from my own stomach. Like when I'm hungry now it's not "I am hungry" but it's more like "my stomach is hungry." I'm not sure where to go with this, but I just thought it was an interesting realization I made today. It really reflects how watching what I eat has changed my relation with food. TDLR my hunger isn't controlling my mind anymore, and it surprised me. Anyone else relate to what I'm saying? [link] [comments] |
| Weight loss from 280lbs to 160lbs. Things I’ve learned and questions I still have... Posted: 29 Oct 2020 12:54 AM PDT Hello, Let me start with some stats for context - M29 5'11 SW 280 CW160 GW?!?! I've been losing weight now for 3 years through a combination of diet and exercise - one thing I've definitely learnt is that there is no magic weight loss bullet folks. Taking care of yourself in terms of what you put in and how you use it is literally what it's all about. Things I've learnt - 3 mindset changes: The biggest mindset change I've had is an actual love for exercise - in particular running in total on my weight loss journey I've run 3466 miles now in 3 years, 1596 of which are this year since January. At first when I started running 3 years ago I couldn't do more than 60 seconds without wanting to collapse and I genuinely googled if it was possible to break your legs if you tried to run whilst being obese. It HURT! However, now the time I spend running is one of my favourite ways to spend time, it's done so much for my confidence and social life. The time I spend running I use to think and contemplate. It can genuinely lead to running epiphanies like for example it was time to leave a toxic relationship that was not conducive to my weight loss efforts and later that I had met the person I want to spend the rest of my life with and I should propose. Anyway minor segue off topic... The second biggest mindset change and this I'd say I'm actually still fairly new at and in the process of adapting to. That is, thinking of food as fuel. Trying not to let emotions dictate my eating habits. Like a lot of people on this sub I have issues with emotional eating and impulse control, I really enjoy cooking, eating and all things food. For example all of the accounts I follow that aren't friends on Instagram are food accounts. I spend a good deal of time reading and collecting recipe books. My favourite evening/date night activity is going out to sample new restaurants for dinner. I love food! So the idea of it as just fuel and trying to desensitise myself and detach from all that emotion and happiness I associate with food has been really tough. I guess what I've learnt is food is so ingrained in every human culture that it should be celebrated. Just it's important to remember it shouldn't be ALL be celebrated ALL the time. I had a very dangerous view that I had to eat everything I made or ordered. (clean plate club childhood, anyone?) Essentially, just remember that it's okay to overeat and consume the foods you love. Just not all the time and just not to excess. Remember at the end of the day it's all fuel for your body and like any fuel it has a varying energy density and quality. Think of it like this - high fat and sugar food is like heating your house with fossil fuels, really energy dense and easy to acquire but runs out quick and burns fast vs high fibre and nutrient rich food (see; fruits and vegetables) is like chopping down a tree and using the wood to fuel your house it takes energy to digest (cut down the tree) and burns way more slowly and is less energy dense pound for pound you need more of the tree to heat your house. Weird analogy maybe, but it's how I think about it - both viable fuels but worth considering your choices. The final mindset change I consider important enough to talk about/mention is just awareness over obsession. That little voice in your head that says I want another biscuit with my cup of tea but I really shouldn't is healthy but on occasion during this journey I've let it take over to an unhealthy level. For example the voice says you're going out this weekend better run 15 miles or you can't go. Breakfast this morning? No thanks, it's (insert colleagues name) birthday and there will be cake at work. Just eat the cake, go out, run but stay consistent with majority good choices - but by denying yourself of something or considering yourself unable to eat unless you've reached some arbitrary burnt calorie goal. Then you are, in my humble opinion, starting to dice with obsession. Now, it's important to keep your goals in focus of course but, there is a fine line. I've definitely been to the obsessive side plenty on my journey. Questions I still have: Will this loose skin ever go away? (Probably not...) Do I now have enough definition in my jawline to rock a moustache? If I stop running through injury, will I gain all the weight back? Will I ever not be slightly startled when I see myself in a shop window as I walk past and think, where did that guy come from?! Then realise it's me... Will I ever stand in front of my bathroom mirror and not feel the need to lift/grab/stretch the pouch of loose skin that hangs 360° around my abdomen and just accept that this is my body and I'll probably never have definition despite being at 14% body fat currently? Does it even matter? Is this a good problem? Why doesn't it feel like a good problem... maybe I should step on the scales and see if my stats have changed? (Seriously, this has been tough to come to terms with) Do people treat me better now because I fit societal norms or am I just a happier more confident person and therefore better received? Why do I feel a combination of both sympathy and resentment (this troubles me) for those that are obese but not trying to change. Probably because I'm projecting myself onto them right?! I don't really resent them I resent what I used to be? What is my goal weight? Honestly I don't know, for now I'm pretty happy with a goal range of 158-162 maybe this year I'll start properly lifting and that will get higher. For now I think a 4lb buffer is a healthy thing. Anyway, thanks for taking the time to read this. So many posts here have helped me find motivation or tips, so I hope this helps someone else! Before and after: Before and after picture [link] [comments] |
| Saw a video of myself today and cried for 20 minutes Posted: 28 Oct 2020 03:45 PM PDT Saw a video of me performing today. Everyone left nice comments but when I saw it, my jaw dropped. I knew I gained all of my weight back since the virus came. I knew it was bad. My S.O even told me to remember the camera adds 15 lbs. But it still got me. I remember being so happy to be on stage again. I forgot a camera was recording me and just let go. Now watching it, I felt sick and angry at myself. I could only watch 20 seconds before I turned it off and cried alone for 20 minutes. Luckily no one was home so I just let it all out. I let all the anger at myself come out. I've been trying to fight this for months. since March. I got down to a normal BMI for the 2ND TIME in February. I was so happy. Then, in March, I saw the pounds go up. "oh, the quarantine 5 lbs" I thought. But 5 turned to 10, 20, so on until I'm back to my highest weight of all time. I'm in the morbid obese category at 5'1 and 178 lbs. I cried asking myself how I let it happen? I cried asking myself would I ever stop? I cried realizing I had to do it all over again for the 3rd time when I could be maintaining happily. I cried asking myself if I have the strength to even do it again. I cried because I have been trying for months and just see the scale going up. But I know it's because I'm comfort eating. I have to do something. I came here because I keep seeing posts of others in similar situations and thought I should post mine. Maybe I can push myself to stop this. Thanks for reading. I've started weighing myself daily. It seems to be the only thing that helps keep the scale from going up at least. Now if I could just get it to go down again.... Any tips, advice, or any comment is appreciated. [link] [comments] |
| F34 / 5'8" / SW245 CW186 -58lbs in 6 months, hope this motivates someone Posted: 28 Oct 2020 07:02 PM PDT tl;dr: I weighed everything I ate, used the Lose It app, logged everything even when I went way over, and have lost 58lbs in 6 months. I've lost ~60 lbs since April. I'm 5'8". My weight was 245 in March, and I'm 186 now. My goal weight is 145, but I'm posting now because I'm beginning to think about this process less and less. Maybe this is what people meant when they said that time was going to pass either way. If you put good habits in place, and you let time pass, you get results. I'm slowly but surely getting those results. I've written this in the hopes that it can motivate you if you need motivation. My only regret is a common one: I wish I had done this years ago. One day, I randomly started weighing my food. That's how it began. I was curious, and I weighed out a portion of cheese I was about to eat, and saw that I was planning on eating four times the normal serving. Since that day I've been weighing my food and logging it in Lose It. My overall rate of loss is 1.63 lbs/week. I used the app's calorie goals until it took me down to 1200, which was too low for me, so I set a manual limit of 1300, which is where I am now. I'm not working out at all except for the occasional dog walk around the neighborhood. I sit around as much as ever, but it's much easier to pop up and move around than it used to be, so I probably do move more overall. Here are the ways my life has changed that I didn't expect. I hope my experience helps someone else. Honesty: Nathaniel Branden articulated the change in my life. I began reading his books a month after I made significant changes, and I realized that what he was describing was what I had done. I was made aware that I was eating huge portions of hugely caloric foods. I knew that already, but it was in the background, like an email reply I kept needing to write. Then, suddenly, I was punched in the face with reality, and instead of choosing ignorance and bliss, I chose reality. I chose to live in reality. It's a radical choice. Honesty meant that I would log every food I ate. Even if I went to the donut shop and ate two dozen donuts, I would log it. Honestly. If I ate a whole pizza and cinnamon whatevers from Domino's, I'd log it. Honestly. If I really wanted to eat something and it was over my calories, I would eat it, and log it. The failure of so many of my weight loss attempts in the past can be traced to dishonesty. There's a reason we call it a "cheat day." For me, cheating is just dishonesty in broad daylight. Honesty has become a much bigger part of my life overall because of this change. I've always been honest; I never told white lies. But now I realize that lying to yourself is still lying. I don't have a time machine, but I think we used to consider a person's character to be something significant, something you cultivated and maintained, and something that relied on foundations of qualities like honesty. I've rediscovered honesty as a foundation that behavior comes from, not a pass / fail exam I take when I make a public claim. This has obviously transformed my body, but I've also stopped messing around on Instagram. That app should be called Photographic Falsehoods. I've stopped believing gossip because it doesn't come from the primary source. If I wasn't there, I don't believe a sensational story about someone. I've stopped taking news analysis and headlines as fact and started watching politicians' statements in full (which are sometimes hard to find), like when I believed Trump said white supremacists at Charlottesville were good people until I watched his full statement and he didn't. I've stopped assuming malice from people's actions, like mistakes at work or someone on the HOA telling me I'm in violation of a bylaw. Honesty is shocking and liberating and radical at the same time. Yet it's far more peaceful mentally. Crossing my legs: I used to have to haul one leg over the other, pulling on it with my hands to get it in a place that didn't hurt. And then it would hurt after a few minutes anyway. Now, I can cross them easily, they don't hurt quickly, and I don't take up nearly as much space while crossing them. Flexibility: I haven't worked on my flexibility at all. (Haven't worked out at all.) And yet even still, when I go to sit on a couch or in an upholstered chair, I naturally tuck my legs under me and contort myself in all sorts of shapes. I've never done this before and didn't think I was even the type of person to do it. Chairs and couches often hurt my back because I would sit on the cushion and lean back, which, for whatever reason, hurt my back. Not anymore. I've been much more comfortable sitting on anything soft, and again, I take up much less space. Mattress: I used to think all mattresses sagged within a year or so of getting them. I'm sure that's true to an extent, especially depending on the material it's made of, but the innerspring mattress that I got about a year ago and thought I was already wearing out has seemingly improved in quality. It doesn't sag because I'm not piling an extra 58 pounds on it. It also used to squeak with every move I made at night, which is, shall we say, undesirable. It stopped doing that, too. Jeans: I was 245lbs, squeezing my body into a size 20 jeans. I'm now a loose 18. It's been nice to go back to my "skinny jeans" and wear those instead of having to buy everything new. But it also says something about the fat distribution I had. Guess it was all in my eyebrows or something. Ha. Feet: I used to get really dry heels. I would moisturize them nightly with a special sock. If I missed one day, they'd go back to being right angles instead of rounded. Now I don't have to do that anymore, wear flip flops even now at least every other day, and they still look rounded. People noticing: Since I've been doing this by myself for so long, I kinda forget about it. We had a socially distanced work party recently, and I thought that some people might notice, but didn't have high expectations. A friend from work who I've seen often has said that she doesn't really notice because she sees me all the time. But, I also noticed once I really started losing major poundage, she started working out and eating healthier too. At the socially distanced work event, people were just greeting each other, saying it was good to see everyone. Then as I was walking along, someone stopped me and went into a long "holy shit you look amazing" speech. Which felt GREAT. I said I wasn't sure anyone noticed because no one had said anything, and those two people said everyone had to notice because it was a huge difference. They asked me what I had done, and seemed receptive to my boring and simple explanation. The main question was "do you still eat the things you want?" And I said of course, but within reason now. One other person said in passing "you look great," and the next day on a video call, a coworker said she saw me from a distance and noticed I looked great. The interesting pattern I noticed was that people who tend to say something positive are people who are one or more: friendlier / women / more southern / funnier / overweight / happier / "brutally" honest. The ones who don't say anything tend to be: more "polite" / thinner / feminine / men / city dwellers. People being nicer: At the work event, the group of younger guys who I am friendly with—but not friends I'd seek out in a crowd—made a point to talk to me. Another male coworker who is a friend declared to a group call that he really wanted to catch up with me soon. I don't think any of these guys are romantically interested in me. I do know some men are attracted to overweight women. But I've developed a new theory: Men tend to be less friendly to overweight women because they don't want the women to mistake the friendliness as romantic interest, or have it be seen as romantic interest by their friends. They're friendlier to healthy weight women because, if that woman mistakes their friendliness for romantic interest, well, they just feel more like Adonis. So in a weird way, their rejection of overweight women could be partially because of their own insecurity. Just a theory. Self-esteem: I read a book by Nathaniel Branden that said self esteem is feeling like you are well suited to your life, and you feel like you are capable of dealing with its challenges. To me, this explains why I had low self esteem when I was obese, and why it has improved since losing weight. I feel more capable of meeting life's challenges now, even if it's just sitting with friends in a park and standing up again at the end. Having a body that feels right increases my confidence to try things. Going downstairs: I realized about a month ago that I don't worry if someone sees me hurrying downstairs. I used to worry about it because I was really jiggly. Now, it's just the boobs. Seeing overweight people: I don't think about other people much unless I'm looking right at them. Sometimes, when I see someone who is young and overweight, and from body language seems uncomfortable, I feel bad for them because I know how much my life was limited by not feeling suited to it in the body I had. It's also like when you're thinking of buying a car, and suddenly you see that car everywhere. I see how many overweight and obese people there are today, and it is mind blowing when you consider the change from a few decades ago. The 29%: The CDC says that 71% of American adults are overweight or obese. I haven't been in many winning brackets in my life, but this is one I can control, and I want to be one of those rare healthy weight people. Healthy food: I used to think healthy food was gross. Now I have a taste for it and I realize I was wrong. I think of food differently now. I hold the nutritional value of whole foods in much higher regard than I used to. I get excited about good fruit. Unhealthy food: I used to think that I was "treating myself" all the time—that naughty foods were a consolation for life's disappointments. Now I see tasty, unhealthy food as a novelty. I think that's where they all began. The milkshake isn't so different from the fried Oreo. There's nothing wrong with cookie dough wrapped in a wonton wrapper and deep fried, but it's certainly a novelty, and I've begun to treat it that way. I don't eat state fair food every day. It wasn't intended to be eaten every day. Many more foods fall into this category than just the ones they actually sell at the fair. Digestion: I used to get an upset stomach all the time. It really limited my life. Thought I had IBS. The vast majority of those issues are completely gone, or are predictable. Skin tone: My face used to be red most of the time, and the difference in color between my cheeks and my neck was significant. Now, my skin is far less red overall. The step ladder: I have a step ladder that has a 220 lb weight limit. I used to get up on it all the time when I was 240+, and each time I would take things up on the step ladder with me too, I would hope that this wasn't going to be the time it broke and killed me. Now I am safely within the weight limit, no matter what I take up there with me. Meal planning / prep: I eat a salad every day for lunch. I have several dressings and rotate in veggies and toppings like wonton strips. I have a vacuum sealer and make chicken in bulk for lunch and freeze it, which has been very helpful. It's a great way to eat lunch and has made my life much easier. Dinner is usually a lean meat (because I can eat more of it) and 2-3 vegetable sides. I think I eat dinner like they did in 1950, and it's pretty good. I have a vacuum sealer and make chicken in bulk for lunch and freeze it, which has been very helpful. I'm writing this now because I don't come here as much anymore, and I've already forgotten some of the things I thought "oh wow!" about earlier. This feels more like a lifestyle now, and I don't think about it as often as I did before. If I can do this, you can do it too. Being honest with myself and weighing everything has brought me a lot of freedom and a whole new life. [link] [comments] |
| Unexpected effects of weight loss Posted: 28 Oct 2020 11:30 PM PDT 26F 5'2 SW: 178lbs CW: 131lbs GW: ~110-120lbs For a long time, I've been saying my favorite weather is 55-65°F without wind, and now that we're firmly in that range in my area and I can finally wear my beloved sweaters without worrying about being too warm... I'm actually freezing, all the time. It's a pretty neutral effect, but it just goes to show how accustomed I was to being heavier and not even noticing how it was affecting me! Other little things I've noticed are 1. My stomach no longer rolls over my leggings when I bend over 2. Said leggings don't even fit me anymore 3. COLLARBONES. I can see em now Would love to hear what little things you noticed/are noticing as you approach your goal weight :) [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Oct 2020 12:12 PM PDT M25/5'10"/SW: 232/CW: 200/GW: 200(?) Or maybe it's more accurate to say that I hit my "first" goal weight? My scale just read 199 lbs. In July of this year I stepped onto the scale and didn't like the number I saw (232). A switch clicked in my brain and I decided that the number was only going to go higher unless I did something. I always knew that it was my diet that was a major roadblock in my weight management so after some searching I found this subreddit and it's been a life changer! I created a spreadsheet because my dumb brain hates the thought of using myfitnesspal and got calorie counting. I'm not a master chef and there's been a lot going on in the past months so there were less fresh ingredients and more microwave dinners than I would have liked but for the most part I logged every single calorie. Aside from a depressive episode and recent Thanksgiving celebrations I've been pretty consistent and saw results. I don't remember the last time I ever weighed under 200 lbs... this is a pretty incredible feeling. Things that have happened during this journey:
Obviously I have to celebrate, and I will this weekend when school is settled down a little bit for me. I think a fitbit would be a really nice goal to get but money is a little tight as I'm a uni student and not working due to COIVD. Does anybody have some good suggestions on frugal prizes? LOL. I also have to figure out what my next goal weight should be. I'm not sure if 180 is too ambitious or not. God damn I need to just relax and be proud of what I achieved and figured out the next goal in a few days! e: formatting [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Oct 2020 06:54 PM PDT For the first time in several years(probably since high school, and I'm 30), I am a size large/14/32. I ordered a couple of new clothing items in a size large last week, and they arrived today and fit perfectly. I didn't think I would ever wear a large again - it felt so unattainable. I saw any sizes without an "x" as tiny and not even in the realm of possibility, but here I am! For background, I started the year at a size 2X/20-22 and 273lbs. A diabetes diagnosis in January pushed me to really focus on my health. By cutting out soda, eliminating most sweets (except the occasional square of dark chocolate or home baked treat), and increasing my walking, I've now lost around 60 lbs. I still have a ways to go (my goal right now, at 5'9" and female, is in the 150-175 range), of course, but this feels huge to me. I know it's just a label, but I never really believed that I could be anything but "plus-size" and that held me back even when I wanted to lose weight. Now I'm starting to conceptualize myself and my body differently, and I can actually imagine reaching my end goal! [link] [comments] |
| My Weight Runs & Ruins My Whole Life (TW, eating disorder, body hate) Posted: 29 Oct 2020 02:22 AM PDT Hey all. I'm not sure this is the right place to post this, or if I should be mostly in the Overeater's Anonymous sub. I actually don't think overeating is my huge issue. I do overeat, I'm sure, especially on calories. I'm actually a serious maintainer. It really seems as if I've gone through periods of my life where I've been in severe depression or something, gain a ton of weight, then I stay there. My whole life has been about my weight. I became very heavy as a child. I was always bullied at school and at home (not by my parent, but everyone else). I remember being 134lbs in like second or third grade or something. I don't know why I was allowed to get so overweight, especially because my family hates overweightness and are constant (but usually chubby/overweight) dieters. A huge family of eating disordered people who never shut up about what they eat or how they eat or how you should eat or how thin you should look. It used to make me nuts growing up. I think I was rebellious to it. My food was monitored by my grandmother who I lived with, my aunt would always NOT subliminally be teaching me how to lose weight and eat healthy: "whenever I eat pizza I always get one slice and a salad if the slice doesn't fill me up!" 🙄I was once given a wedge of mozzarella cheese as a child by my uncle and my aunt said, "that's lunch!" I'm in my early thirties but I remember how terrible it made me feel. Like I was fat and disgusting and my hunger after the wedge of cheese was not normal. My uncle once corned me to ask me how much I weighed and was trying to measure my waist with a tape measure, when I was twelve. My mother was an enabler. Always getting me whatever I wanted to eat, whenever. Naturally, my whole life, I go between extreme self loathing and then rewarding. TW: Bulimia/Anorexia When I hit twelve I got the grand idea to start throwing my food up. Then starving myself. I went from 245lbs as a twelve year old to 145lbs into being fourteen. I was mostly bulimic so never much lower than that number. I was like, super eating disordered. Very typical, ritualistic, stick to my guns on what I'm doing, scared of food and calories, starving myself all day, eating a ton of food at night to throw up, cracked out. Like a legitimate addict but with food. A chain smoker, etc. I was in two eating disorder hospitals because I was so bad, and even got left back a year in high school because of it. My weight has truly always ruined my life, even my lower weight. The obsession of weight. My family treated me so differently while I was thin. I had a lot of sexual attention from peers suddenly, even by male family members—yeah...it was an alternate reality. Suddenly I was hot, cute, sexy, pick up-able, a person, etc. I didn't even get to enjoy my body because I was always wanting to be thinner. I wanted to be 120lbs. I wrote it on everything. On my wall. On my coffee cups. I was really sick. Then when I was about sixteen, the pediatrician—eating disorder specialist—was closing in on me so much and threatening to send me back to a hospital that I became too exhausted and gave up. I had been chugging water before appointments for when I was weighed. Then I'd be sent right for bloodwork and she'd see my electrolytes were off and knew I was purging/starving myself. One visit she said, "you can still lose weight with eating," I had just gotten out of the second hospital, and maybe I was too tired of obsessing, so for some reason I was like, "oh, okay!" And started eating again...but then I didn't stop. I actually know now that it's a common thing that happens to people coming out of starvation eating disorders. You're supposed to be monitored by a therapist, and I was allowed to leave mine even though I shouldn't have been. Long story short, it's been about fifteen years since then and I am over 300lbs. I got to 260lbs within the first year and a half of eating again, though. Huge weight gain, then maintained and not lost. I never imagined myself getting to this point, ever. I was actually around 335lbs at my highest, that happened within the past five years, that I know of, could have been more at points because I stopped weighing myself. When I was in my mid twenties I fell chronically ill with an autoimmune disease that was not being diagnosed. Why? Well gee. Every doctor I went to said, "I'd lose some weight!" Or, "it could be your weight," and did nothing more as my life fell into oblivion. It actually took my going to a rheumatologist who is also really overweight (I didn't know before hand) for a dr to actually look at my symptoms and not my fat to diagnose me. I'm doing great now because it's being treated, but I gained another fifty or so pounds while I was ill. I went through extreme trauma in the midsts of being chronically ill. I almost became homeless, practically was, and my family pretty much black sheeped me—though, I realize now that I was likely always predestined to be the black sheep. Fat black sheep. And even though I got better from the autoimmune disease, I almost died from Covid, and I'd bet THAT had to do with my weight. I'm doing fine now, lost some from being so sick actually. I'm still in the three hundreds, though. 307 last I checked. I was a long hauler for five months afterwards and just started feeling normal again about last month. Lost half my hair. It was a MESS. And I thought THAT would prompt weight loss, but all it ever prompts are weight loss thoughts without actually doing any work. I can think myself thin fantasizing about it. The point of this post is that. I feel so stuck. I am totally disassociated from my body. I think I have always been because it's always been the topic of conversation or a spectacle amongst everyone, especially in my family. I've always hated my body, yet it's always been my number one focus. All I could ever think about since I'm young was my weight, how fat I am, how ugly I am, how bad I am because of the foods I eat, and how everyone thinks I'm so fat. Just constant and extreme shame + guilt. Sometimes I sit and think about all I could have accomplished if my entire life wasn't about my body. Maybe I could have went to Harvard or something. I didn't even know I was capable of anything intelligent until I got to college, where bullying wasn't really a factor anymore. I'm so angry but also so numb. I want to lose weight so badly. It's always a revenge body thing in my mind. I fantasize about running into people who bullied me. It's never about my own health and happiness, it's about appealing and impressing. I've wanted to lose weight my entire life but never actually do, unless I'm starving myself. Unless it's extreme. I read a quote that said if what you fear is what the outcome is, it's likely that trauma is at play. I feel like I've gone through trauma my whole life from being forced to feel uncomfortable in my own skin. Now I have stretch marks all over my body, my skin is disgusting, with acne everywhere since getting this overweight, and I know I'm going to have loose skin if I get down to the weight I want to be: 145. It makes everything feel worthless. Like it won't be worth it because I'll never be perfect. All I want to be is perfect with a smooth body and smooth skin, and no matter how hard I work, I will never ever have that. It's such a hurdle to get over. I try to make it a metaphor for myself: maybe you can't have $1,000,000, but wouldn't you at least rather have $700,000 than nothing?? I would rather have $700,000 than nothing, but I have no drive. It makes me feel so resentful that I've always been overweight or totally screwed up about eating. I just feel so gypped, used, and like I've wasted my entire life. I just can't imagine anyone will ever want to be with me, and for so long I didn't even want to be with anyone, but now I do. I'm in my early thirties and I just want a nice, happy life with a partner. Quarantine has made that especially clear to me. But I feel like I will never be good enough for anyone with my body. TMI, but I haven't even been with anyone in over eleven years. No sex. No nothing. I will not be with anyone at this weight because I hate myself. I think I've always hated myself because I was taught to. That makes me feel resentful the most. I'm not sure what I'm trying to get out of this, but I needed to vent, and I want help, or a community, or something. I don't know, honestly. Bleh. Thanks for reading if you have. Edit: I also wanted to add that I feel like I'm living the nightmare version of my life. I honestly thought I would be a healthy weight, in my career, financially independent, etc at this point. Chronic illness threw my whole life backwards. Instead of the revenge body, I am more overweight than I've even been or could have imagined. Instead of being financially dependent and in my career, I couldn't work for four years, now five because of this stupid pandemic. And I still live with my mom! I also have no relationship with my family anymore. They treated me like I was a lazy POS while I was sick because I wasn't being diagnosed, and they already thought I was a fat, lazy person before. My life is the nightmare version of what I thought it would be at this age, and I don't know how to find myself or be who I want to be now. I know I need therapy. Sigh. [link] [comments] |
| [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: October 29th, 2020 Posted: 28 Oct 2020 11:48 PM PDT Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well! For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other. Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went! Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here! I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences! [link] [comments] |
| Job interviews whilst being morbidly obese Posted: 28 Oct 2020 09:02 AM PDT Hi all I've got an interview next week at Tesco (UK based supermarket). I'm currently relying on benefits (help from the government with money) because I am classed as mentally ill. However, I so badly want to have a purpose in life and get a job. Tesco called me about 20-minutes ago and said they want to interview me! I'm so excited that they want to interview me. But at the same time I'm so worried my weight will get in the way. For example, I can't really bend that well because of my weight, but I'm trying so hard to lose it. Should I tell them the truth about how I can't bend that well (currently). I mean, people shouldn't judge right? If I do get this job - even being a bigger girl, people shouldn't judge an obese person for wanting to work, right? I've read online however that employees are more likely not to hire someone obese. It's making me nervous because what if they think I'm so obese that they won't hire me? I know I'm worrying like mad, but I just can't help it. To make myself feel better, I'd love to know if any of you guys work in retail whilst being really obese? It would make feel feel better. I know I shouldn't care what others think, but I worry lol. Thanks! [link] [comments] |
| UPDATE: F36 / 5'4 SW 240 lbs CW 195lbs GW1 195 lbs GW2 165lbs GW3 140lbs Posted: 28 Oct 2020 11:07 AM PDT Hello Everyone! I've been on a weight loss journey for most of my life. The first time I stepped on a scale and I was put on a diet was when I was 12. Back then, with only a few pounds to lose, doctors and family thought I was "obese". Since then, for the past almost 30 years I've been struggling with body image, self-worth, depression, insecurities, and of course, food. Food has been the only constant in my life. When everything was changing, food was there. If sad, happy, conflicted, depressed, doubtful... food was my only true friend. The one that didn't judge, the one that comforted me in my darkest hours. I've tried many diets. Many "lifestyles". Many tricks to lose weight. Name it. Paleo? done it. Keto? done it. South Beach? done it. Acupuncture? done it. Moon diet? done it. Slow-carb? done it. Low carb? done it. Liquid diet? done it. Juicing? done it. "Enter your new year's resolution diet here?" done it. For so many years I've been frustrated because I thought there was nothing I could do to lose weight and feel and look good. But everything had to do with the way I think. How I see myself, the things I would tell myself every day, the beliefs I've acquired through the years (that were 90% not true) etc. For about 5 years I've been having digestive problems. Early this year this condition got worse and I was devastated. It didn't matter what I would eat. I would end up in the ER just for them to run a bunch of tests to tell me I have nothing. I started to count calories, walk and worry "less" about life. It wasn't perfect. Still not perfect. Some days are better than others. Long story short, I am still figuring this thing out. I have to retrain myself to see food as fuel for my body and not indulge. I've read about intuitive eating, about calories and nutrition, and a holistic way to approach it. Need to make peace with the fact that I LOVE FOOD but it is not supposed to control me. I need to live with it. Eat to live, not live to eat. It has been a journey of a lifetime, and I am not even halfway there! But I need to work on my thinking and start purging the things that don't benefit my life. Letting go is always a hard thing to do, but it is time to do it. I've reached my first goal of losing 45 lbs and I am over the moon. Feel better, look better but I want to give this my 110%. I am documenting this small victory so might be encouraging for anyone that is struggling with the same type of issues. You need to do this for yourself. No one else would appreciate it more than your body and your spirit! Have a great day! PS: I was trying to post pictures but is not letting me... anyone having the same problem? [link] [comments] |
| At my halfway point of 22 kg weight loss ⭐️ And my thoughts on it Posted: 29 Oct 2020 02:19 AM PDT I'm 5'4 and Today I'm 68,5 kg / 152 lbs. I started at 82 kg / 180 lbs in January and have been gradually losing weight. I hit several bumps in the road and plateaued two times for a whole month but I'm finally halfway through to my UGW :) In 2019 I gained 15 kg pretty much in the span of 7 months and didn't care about the way I looked or felt. Had a wake up call after going to the shop one day and feeling so out of breath I felt ill. I weighed myself and it was 82 whopping kgs. I had lost some weight previously through calorie counting and that's where I started again. I was still pretty hooked on sugar and caffeine so I did my best to fit those in my calorie amount of 1200kcal / day. I didn't want to start exercise straight away due to the added weight on my already bad knees, so I kept my cals low. I did fasts in the beginning but since it didn't sit too well with me, I just concentrated on logging all my foods and drinks to myfitnesspal for several months. This helped to get me to the 74~ Kg range which lead to the first real plateau. I stopped counting at this point and stayed the same weight for 1 month, yay! Small victory! After that I felt comfortable enough to just stop counting altogether, listen to my body but not give in to too many temptations and next thing I knew I was 71 kg. I plateaued for a month and a half again; and started exercising. I started walking every day I could, added hand weight exercises and biking. I don't do any of these exercises regularly anymore (because I'm bad at doing the same things everyday). I do go on walks though. I kept eating healthy homemade food and sweets when I was hungry, but watching my portion size. My craving for sweeties is almost completely gone, vegetables and fruits taste amazing and the occasional microwave burger doesn't ruin my progress. Fast forward to the past three months, I've quit drinking coffee (which led to a yucky two weeks at first) and giving in to sweets every now and then to avoid binging and restricting and it's really been working out so far. Next 10kg is going to be tougher but I owe myself that much to get there 💪🏼 if anyone has tips for that last 10-5 kg I would love to hear them. Good luck everyone and thanks for reading my post 👐🏻 [link] [comments] |
| I thought sticking to a calorie deficit would be the easy part Posted: 28 Oct 2020 07:14 PM PDT I am doing a good job at adding more healthy sources of carbs and fats, but I don't know what to do about protein! I think I'm okay with fibre but I'm not 100% sure. I also have a hard time counting calories when someone else cooks for me. I know I'm losing weight slowly, My measurements and scale show it; but I don't know if I am actually making healthy choices like I thought. The whole point of losing weight is to implement healthy habits in your life, avoid preventable illnesses, and honestly, look a little (or a lot) better than you used to. I keep doubting everything I eat, not because of the calories, but because I don't want to consume too much of one thing and not enough of something else. Honestly, I'm having a hard time balancing everything out and I tried googling it but it made me more confused. If you have any advice I'll gladly accept it, but I'm mostly here to rant to be honest. [link] [comments] |
| 30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 28 Posted: 28 Oct 2020 06:21 PM PDT Hello losers, Happy hump day! Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning. Stay within calorie range (maintain): Maintenance. Exercise 5 days a week: Walky walks. 21/28 days. Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): There has been much journaling, I may finish this journal I just started this month. 4/4 weeks. Self-care time (work on not using food as a reward): Gonna have a lovely shower in a bit with much moisturizing. Again because it's gone from a week of fall to snow here. Need all the lotion! Try a new recipe once a week: Turkey tacos, roasted parsnips, roasted purple cauliflower, fajita marinade/fixings & a hamburger casserole thingy. 5/5 weeks. Be more mindful, present in my body & express gratitude to avoid the hedonic treadmill: Grateful for my heat seeking kitty, seeing cool hawks on my drive home & roasted vegetables. Your turn kids! [link] [comments] |
| How do I not slip down to disordered eating again Posted: 28 Oct 2020 09:12 PM PDT To start I am (18f) 5'7" and my cw is 230lbs (gw 140lbs). I have always struggled with disordered eating ever since I was young, and I had undiagnosed anorexia nervosa and I was at my lowest weight (around 95lbs). I never got official treatment for it but I did go to inpatient after a suicide attempt three years ago. Since then I've been binging at every meal and it got me to my current weight now. I'm trying my hardest to not slip into disordered eating again, but now that I have my mindset on weight loss to get to a healthy weight I find myself doing things that I used to do while I was anorexic. For example I find it nearly irresistible to not weigh myself every day or multiple times a day, I also find myself cutting normal sized food portions in half so I can get less calories per meal. Today I "forgot" to eat dinner so I could stay under my 1000 cal limit (my cal intake is supposed to be 1,500). The longer I go on with this weight loss (I've lost 10lbs since I started a week or so ago) I find myself slipping further and further back to my old ways. I want to lose weight the healthy way I want children in the future and if I carry on like this I will lose my reproductive system it will be unlikely for me to be able to carry a child. But the other part of me doesn't care and all I want is to be thin and I don't care what gets me there. I don't know what to do and since I'm overweight I can't get treatment anymore. If anyone that has gone through disordered eating can you help me with this I will be extremely grateful. And if anyone has any tips that I can use that will keep me on track that would be amazing. [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Oct 2020 04:24 PM PDT I'm a 25 year old male, 5'9, and 169lbs, so BMI is 25. I used to be very skinny (like 110lbs) in high school and first few years of undergrad, before I got married (4 years ago) and tried all kinds of things like weight gainers and diets (like GOMAD, etc) to actually try to gain weight. I used to lift some weights too back then. Now I've gained a lot of weight since then. I'm a medical student so my lifestyle was very sedentary for the first few years; studying from morning until late at night at my desk. My diet is also not great: lots of curries, rice, bread, and junk food. My face has gotten kinda chubby but my main concern is my belly is large and protruding (looks like I'm pregnant sometimes). It's not soft/flabby like how the belly of other overweight people might be, but more tight and distended and poking out. Since starting 3rd year of med school I've been on my feet a lot in the hospitals and it's made me realize that I don't want to be overweight and so sedentary. Last week I started intermittent fasting (16:8, sometimes I'll go over the 16) and I'm really really liking it so far and I've lost like 2lbs. Should I continue the intermittent fasting? And what exercise should I incorporate into my routine? I was thinking about getting an exercise bike like the peloton thing to start slowly becoming more active, and then maybe start lifting weights again to improve my physique and health even more. Or should I just start out with lifting weights from now? Thanks for taking the time to read this. I appreciate any help and advice. I tried posting in /r/fitness a few times before but I found the users there to be pretty mean spirited and not helpful, I'm hoping this community is a little nicer and more helpful. Thanks! [link] [comments] |
| Posted: 28 Oct 2020 10:33 PM PDT Hey y'all, Im an 18 year old male from the U.S.. I've been chubby since I was around 13 and am currently pretty obese. I am starting to find it hard to move around, talk for too long without running out of breath, and am generally very lethargic. This sort of thing has only recently been commonplace for me, though. Even when I was chubby I still had tons of energy and never felt so easily tired out. Hell, even my lower back will start to hurt just after craning my neck to wash my hair in the shower. I'm really ashamed of my weight. Not because of societal views but more so because I know I'm being ungrateful for this wonderful gift of a fully capable body I have. But I'll be honest, I have tried for years to be consistent and driven when it comes to eating right and working out and I have failed every time. So, I guess it's time to admit I need help. I am 5'10" and weigh around 250. I'm not sure of my exact weight because I've used two different scales within the span of a week and they had a 20 lb difference between them, so I just went with the higher number. Before COVID, I used to weigh 200 and I looked significantly better and felt way better (although I was still trying to lose weight). As for some weaknesses that you all might be so gracious as to help me with:
Kinda a long blurb there. Sorry bout it. I would be very thankful for any advice. [link] [comments] |
| You are subscribed to email updates from loseit - Lose the Fat. To stop receiving these emails, you may unsubscribe now. | Email delivery powered by Google |
| Google, 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043, United States | |
No comments:
Post a Comment