• Breaking News

    Thursday, October 29, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-10-29

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-10-29


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-10-29

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    3 years transforming my body with running

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 11:38 AM PDT

    https://imgur.com/a/w2kQM7q

    Today is exactly 3 years from the day I started running. I couldn't do two blocks because my chest hurt. Today I ran 20 km and returned home without even perspiring or doing things as soon as I arrived, there is literally no fatigue

    But the important thing is not just feeling good physically. Change your diet, your habits, your way of thinking! Running became a lifestyle that I only look back on and see beautiful memories, I love it, I feel like I need it more every day, it's great! I don't even believe it when I see my self from 3 years ago see it without doing anything, today in a month I can run 400km and it feels incredible, the feeling that at least nobody in a 4 km radius (in my case, I live in a small town) can run like me and many other satisfactions is amazing

    Please be encouraged to try running, your life will be better in all aspects, and much more when you put aside the search for a better body, because believe me, that soon becomes totally secondary.

    Postscript: if you want to know why I started running, they invited me to play a soccer game, I had such a bad time, everything hurt and the next day I tried to run with a friend but it didn't last two blocks the next and I went home and wanted to abandon everything.

    The next day with nothing to do I started to see rocky for the first time without thinking about it, and nothing ended, I felt super motivated and went running, I did 300 meters without stopping and returned to my house, and well I was adding day by day and I'm here today, I didn't stop

    When did I start: Men (22) - 76kg - 166cm

    Today 3 years later: Men (25) - 55kg- 166cm

    I know this is not an inspiring story and that I have read in this subredt many best of all of you, but I felt happy and wanted to share my achievement! Hope you have a beautiful week

    The reason why I post this here is because now I started with calisthenics, to train with the recommended routine, I have been going for a month and it is my next goal and I am super excited! thanks for taking the time to read me

    submitted by /u/xxflumanxx
    [link] [comments]

    Finally achieved a one-arm chinup after 3 years of training!!!

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 01:58 PM PDT

    I am so extatic right now. Ive been training since 14 years old and at 17, a few minutes ago I finally just got my first ever OAC

    My progress has been a quite slow, ive been able to do 20 pull ups for 2 years already and i kind of plateaud. I've had times of no progress over the course of multiple months, and i often find myself asking if it wouldnt just be easier to give up

    However, in the last couple months, things have gotten a lot better. Im seeing progress and gaining back my self esteem.

    My form isnt perfect, but im still happy for finally seeing my training pay off:

    https://imgur.com/gallery/hsZhaqh

    (Feel free to ask any questions if youre still strugling btw)

    Edit: i've been asked to provide more details, so here it is-

    Im 17 years old, 180cm tall and weigh 67 KG. My training routine, as of my last few months isnt a structured one, i just train every day based on which muscles are sore, and decide exercises on the spot. Many people considere it bad but honestly the structured routines just didnt work for me anymore and right now im having plenty of fun with it.

    Interestingly, i havent put a huge emphasis on training OAC progressions, i always train front lever exercises, and just do a OAC attempt every few days, but hey, thats what worked for me (i still cant front lever lol)

    And a lot of people get mad at me for not using the full range of motion at the bottom. I agree with you, and i will work on going 100% from the bottom. I even said in the post form should be better. However to be honest, i did not jump, it may just look like that because you cant see my feet here

    Since people want proof my feet leave the floor before i pull up here it is: https://imgur.com/a/ZPxTeXG

    submitted by /u/YaronL16
    [link] [comments]

    What do you do immediately after training?

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 12:13 AM PDT

    I reached a point where waking up early and training is not an issue but somehow stretching after the workout always puts me off and most of the times, don't do it, just straight to the shower.

    submitted by /u/iamoneeighty
    [link] [comments]

    Lat incertions relating to front lever

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 06:16 AM PDT

    So I have been training front lever and advanced tuck front lever pull ups for a while now (can finaly hold front lever for 3-4 sec and do an adv tuck FL pull up). I have noticed that a lot of high-level athletes who have longer lats (their lat incertions are all the way to their waist) are strong pullers. I have also noticed this with a few of my friends. My lats are really short and this might be why I am struggling with FL.

    For example, a friend of mine with a weightlifting background learnt the front lever for about a month after he started doing calisthenics. I know it is not due to better back development on his part because my back is way bigger than his even after he has been doing FL pulls and pull ups for some time now. I also know it is not due to CNS because I have been doing GtG on FL for a few months before he even started training the FL.

    Does someone know what is going on?

    submitted by /u/niksan004
    [link] [comments]

    One Arm Hangs: From 10 Second Hand to Ring OAC in 2.5 months

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 09:56 PM PDT

    *Title was meant to be From 10 Second Hang

    I made this post about one month ago, detailing my 1.5 month progress with one-arm hangs. (There was some controversy about my claim of being able to do 22 pull-ups at intermediate level, which I have since amended to 15 with proper form) Since then, I have continued to practice one arm hangs along with controlled negative one-arm chin-ups. After about 3.5 more weeks of training and 3 days of rest, I have done my first non-jumping (although kipping) Ring OAC! I am extremely happy with my progress, and highly recommend one arm hangs as part of anyone's OAC journey. Here was my typical training session and some suggestions:

    Stats: 16M 5'4 120 lb

    Before and after: 2.5 months

    ? proper form pull-ups -> 15 proper form pull-ups

    5x kipping muscle-up -> no kip muscle-up

    10 second one-arm hang -> 40 second one arm hang

    Jumping OAC -> Ring (kipping) OAC

    OAC Training: 3-4 days a week, taking rests when my body feels like it or if there is ANY elbow discomfort

    Warmup: Lots of Australian pull-ups, dynamic arm stretching, 3x8 chin-ups

    4x sets of one-arm hang on each hand until fingers slip; I never went to fatigue during training sessions with one-arm hangs. Rest 2-3 min in-between sets.

    3x sets of of negative OACs - jump up with both arms, then control the descent, at least 10 seconds for a rep. I started at 1 rep per arm for each set and worked my way up to 3 reps on each arm for 3 sets before I achieved the OAC. Use a towel to assist the descent if you cannot control it. 3 min rest.

    1x 2 arm max deadhang: after 25 minutes of one arm training, it just felt really good to deadhang with twice the strength, even while tired.

    Afterwards, I would do my legs or skill training.

    Suggestions:

    • THUMB ON TOP: I've experimented with thumb on bottom and on top, and I've found thumb on top to be more effective. A calisthenics YouTuber that I watch claims that the thumb on top creates more friction, thereby increasing your grip.

    • HANGING FORM: When you are hanging from one arm, hang in the position you would start an OAC from, not letting your body rotate to the side. It makes the OAC more natural.

    • CONTROL THE DESCENT: Controlling the descent is THE most important part of the negative. It is never worthwhile and often dangerous to "freefall" with one arm.

    • USE THE TOWEL: If you are struggling with your negatives, using a towel to help your descent is MUCH more desirable than not doing it at all or freefalling and damaging your tendons.

    • BE CAUTIOUS: For a period of 3 days, I tried to apply grease-the-grove to the negative and do it throughout the day, but it ended up being a bad idea, as I tried working through elbow discomfort on the 3rd day and ended up having a tendonitis scare, which fortunately went away after 3 days of rest and ice.

    That's all! A lot of people asked for proof last time, so here is my first ring OAC! (apologies for censored face) https://imgur.com/a/Xt8YCi0

    submitted by /u/away0122
    [link] [comments]

    Deload Week for Calisthenics, when should I take my first deload?

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 03:54 AM PDT

    This is my 4th week of callisthenics training, and I think I should take a deload week for week 5. I will explain my logic, but I want to know if you think I should wait longer (example train 6 weeks and deload on the 7th)

    Because I literally just started callisthenics, my body has been building strength and stability pretty consistently these first 4 weeks. But I figure because it is a new form of training, I should take a deload after 4 weeks instead of 6 weeks to let my body soak in everything it's learned.

    Another aspect is I find it hard to work out in the mornings now. Maybe my body needs a week to get better sleep?

    On the other hand, because im improving week over week, maybe i should push through and get the gains when i can get them. And deload no earlier than week 7

    Ive done some research but I can't find anything on when you should take your very 1st deload week. Any advice is appreciated

    submitted by /u/mamanatare
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment