• Breaking News

    Friday, October 30, 2020

    Weight loss: As of today I’ve lost 50 lbs

    Weight loss: As of today I’ve lost 50 lbs


    As of today I’ve lost 50 lbs

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 07:04 PM PDT

    Hi there! I'm back! Just wanted to share how excited I am!!!

    One of the main things I've been looking forward to as a reward of losing weight is feeling more confident in myself this Halloween, and I'm really pleased with the results!

    Haven't changed much from my last post, except I've added a whole feast week instead of a cheat day because I've been finding it hard to reach a healthy calorie intake daily (side effect of meds :/)

    It seems to really be working for me but I mean like, don't just trust me, talk to your doctor.

    Anyway, happy spooktober y'all![before and after ](https://imgur.com/gallery/AuAILoZ)

    submitted by /u/its_not_about_you247
    [link] [comments]

    A fun story about hearing “Help me out big guy.”, starting to help, and then realizing they weren’t talking to me.

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 08:23 AM PDT

    Sadly this is no longer the case but a long time ago I had lost a lot of weight and gone from obese to a normal weight and size. I remember clothes fitting better. I remember needing to wear sweaters more often (like others around me ) because I no longer had all that insulation on me. I found this quite funny and interesting. I remember a lot of little things but one story stands out.

    I was in a carpentry class building a shed with the group. One of the students grabbed one end of a sheet of wood next to me and said "Help me out big guy!" I was already lifting the other end and starting to move towards the framing when I saw the confusion on his face. He wasn't talking to me but another nearby student 😳😂 He then resumed the lift and we both walked over to the framed wall together. I realized how long "big guy" had been a label I responded to. I also realized that despite all the heavy weight lifting and strength training I had been doing in the gym, I likely looked less strong than my past self because of my smaller frame. Quite the contrary. It was really interesting.

    Another story was me trying on a pair of maybe size 32 (US) pants and mentioning to the store clerk that they were nice but perhaps a little tight. He suggested a size 33 and casually said in a friendly tone how summer is just around the corner and maybe this will be my motivation to lose that little bit of weight. I chuckled quite sincerely but internally it was for a different reason. He had no idea how much I had lost to go from a size 42/44 to a size 33.

    Those thin days are behind me but I hope to see them again one day. That's why we're all on this subreddit. I just thought this crowd might get a kick out of these stories.

    submitted by /u/casualgamerdave
    [link] [comments]

    I am so tired of other people having an opinion on my eating

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 10:40 AM PDT

    Sorry, I just need to vent a little. I work in a small office, 7 people total. Our office building happens to be in an area that is completely surrounded by restaurants, great ones.

    I have been trying to get to goal and be in shape for yeeeeears, but I worked in restaurants for a long time and was constantly around bad food and bad habits, and although I would have occasional successes in losing weight, it would all inevitably come back plus some. I thought that moving to an office and away from restaurant life would make my journey a lot easier, but my coworkers eat out all the time. Like, way too much. For the first half year or so that I was here, it felt like my boss was always buying us lunch, or having pizza parties, or Mexican during lunch meetings, or the girls wanted Chinese... you get it. When Covid hit, we initially stopped doing this and then once things opened back up, it slowed waaay down, thankfully.

    I figured Covid was a great time to start working on myself without the influence of others. I am trying to make this just a complete lifestyle change, because i am so damn tired of yo-yoing. I'm 34. I want to finally feel good about myself, dammit. So I started working out more consistently at home, meal planning and eating correctly. In the past 5 months i have managed to lose 20 pounds, and even though it's a little slow, it honestly hasn't even been hard. I am perfectly happy eating the way that I am! My body feels better, my food tastes better. Halfway to goal and for once i think I actually mighty eventually get there!

    However, my coworkers are still continuously asking me to join them in eating out. Every single time I say "aw thank you, but i actually brought lunch today!" And every time they respond with something along the lines of "oh. You're so boring". Wtf. Because i don't want Chinese food for the third time this week? I guess not wanting heart disease is totally super boring. Also, why do you even need me to eat it with you??? If you want it, get it. No judgement here and no need to bring others down with you.

    I was forced to join in on a lunch meeting recently in which everyone had pizza and coke. I ate my veggie burger.. It was literally the joke of the entire meeting because I didn't feel like eating pizza.

    On a regular basis, people will walk by my office while I'm eating lunch, peer in and say "oooh salad... well that's fun...". Like they honestly don't believe that I truly enjoy the food I am eating.

    They often tell me that I need to loosen up and live a little... ok what? How does this make me uptight?? I have a treat meal at least once a week with my family. I am not deprived. They don't even remotely understand that as a shorter woman, an extra cheat meal each week can undo weeeeks of hard work! Excuse me if I choose to have my special treat meals with my family rather than midday where I'm just going to sit at my desk feeling disgusting for the rest of the day....

    Ugh. Ok. I'm done. I just... don't understand other people at all.

    submitted by /u/DoctrDonna
    [link] [comments]

    (F) The scale has moved down 5 lbs over the course of 8 months.. But I don’t look like I did 8 months ago...

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 11:34 AM PDT

    M-u-s-c-l-e g-r-o-w-t-h Spell it with me people!

    When I started this 8 months ago all I wanted to be was small and petite. Like- no ass, no breasts, nothing. I wanted to be nothing since I was quite a thick girl. I wanted to be more attractive for everyone else..

    "Everyone else?" You may think...

    Yes, I wanted to look better for everyone else around me. I wasn't morbidly obese. I was definitely overweight though and I was tired of feeling like slop because of my weight. I have PCOS which is a hormonal disorder that makes it super hard to lose weight and also means I have excess testosterone(keep that in mind..)

    I realised that running for hours on end and intermittently fasting for 20hrs whilst eating 1000kcal (fasting is more fun if you're eating what you can handle) was making me mentally ill (running made me better with handling oxygen but it discouraged me). I wasn't looking like my perfectly skinny and/or "thicc" friends..

    So I stopped trying to lose weight and recollected myself... One thing I did realise during my recollection was that I did not want to be skinny, but I wanted to continue being "big" but just not with this whole ton of fat.

    I started researching other ways to lose weight and find ladies who's bodies are admirable to whatever I wanted to achieve...

    Yoga? Flexibility and harmony is badass but no thanks. Running? NO. Weightlifting? Hmm.

    And through weightlifting research I found powerlifting and through powerlifting I found... lots of strong, feminine, muscly women who DONT look like men... Some of those women are Meg Gallagher, Jessica Buettner and Natasha Aughey!

    I fell in love with their physiques and aspired to look like them and train like them.

    So eight months later with a purchase of 3lbs dumbbells to a whole set of heavy weights, a 45lbs powerlifting barbell, weight racks, creatine, protein powder and multiple finished packs of large eggs, chicken and fish...

    Here I am with 5lbs lost...

    "5LBS?!" Yep. Only 5. I'm not necessarily bulking or anything.

    I'm eating 1600kcal which is mostly protein and a few cheeky snacks/candies. But my legs are big and muscular, my arms are past "toned" (I do not look the ya boi the rock tho... phew) and my traps n shoulders are hardened and growing! So in a way my PCOS is put to good use!

    To continue... science tells us that muscle weighs 3x more than fat... and since the scale hasn't gone down... this means that...

    IM HAVING A BODY RECOMPOSITION!

    However, I still have a crap ton of fat to burn off and some muscle to gain but I've gotten compliments from friends and family that are along the lines of "you look so strong!" "Can you help me pick this thing up?" and my favourite from my little sibling... "How heavy is that? Can you pick it up? That's so cool!".

    I don't look like Taylor swift and her perfectly skinny body or Nicki Minaj and her perfectly thicc body. I definitely don't look like any of my friends... But I am happy with my body (for once jeez)

    I also got called an "Amazonian girl" by someone behind me in class- (I'm still trying to get over that..) like- wHaT??? PeOpLe DoNt ThInK I LoOk WeIrD?! 😳😳😳😳😳😳

    Anyways, I still don't think I'm beautiful if anything I'm far from it, but I'm happy with where my body is going and I promise for all you people trying to achieve your goals... You can do it...

    Consistency is key and don't be so hard on yourself, in order to achieve anything you want you have to be in a reasonably good place mentally!

    thanks for coming to my ted talk (sorry I just needed to ramble..)

    submitted by /u/Blo0dytear
    [link] [comments]

    From 157 to 138, I made it past the halfway mark!

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 09:21 PM PDT

    before and after

    I don't have the best before pic because i hated taking full body pictures. I found one from about 153-155, but I am now 138 from 157 back in june at my heaviest. I've been doing CICO and I cut out most sugar, and all fast food, and now have an occasional once a month restaurant date with the boyfriend. For reference I'm only 5'1 so my goal is 120. I'm over halfway there and SO HAPPY!!! My boss took this picture of me today at work and the first thing that came out of my mouth was, "holy shit i look skinny!" I'm so happy. I know my before isn't the best shot but whatever, I can still see small differences that I feel proud of myself for.

    submitted by /u/pinkbattt
    [link] [comments]

    Not worth the calories

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 12:17 PM PDT

    I've mentioned it a few times in comments now, but wanted to put it out there for the general community.

    It started as an inside "joke" between fitness-minded friends at work - whenever we had free cake or snacks, we would share our experience. We often had amazing looking cakes that tasted disappointing - the concept of "not worth the calories" was born. In the environment of abundance, I started to build standards.

    I love cake, but not all cake is worth the caloric intake. It can have 600 kcal per piece, but then it better taste like the happy tears of sparkling unicorns.

    It was an amazing realisation that even if the cake was there for the taking, I didn't have to eat it, especially if I already knew it was nothing spectacular.

    Now it is a measurement for all unhealthy foods (I'm not good enough of a cook to apply this to healthy foods, too). I "cheat" quite a lot, still, but if I do, it better be good enough that I won't regret eating it later.

    Perhaps this can help you too the next time you consider eating something simply because it is there? Ask yourself: "Is it worth it?"

    submitted by /u/__ER__
    [link] [comments]

    NSV: I...can keep ice cream uneaten in the freezer??!?!!

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 07:54 PM PDT

    I have had ice cream sitting in the freezer for the past couple of weeks without really thinking much about it or getting the urge to eat it. I didn't think that was even possible for me!

    A couple of years ago I decided that my new ice cream rule was: I could only eat ice cream at an ice cream parlor - I couldn't buy it from the grocery store and keep it at home, because I just ended up eating it all in unhealthy quantities. The ice cream parlor might seem more expensive at first glance, but it didn't work that way for me, because with this rule, I ended up having much less ice cream (and appreciating it much more, since it was a fancy ice cream parlor treat!) So it was a win all round, for both my health and my budget.

    Lately I've been wondering if I really still need to have that rule, so I bought a few little 100ml tubs of Haagen-Dazs like a month ago, and I've only eaten two in all that time. (!!!) There is still ice cream in my freezer. Uneaten. That is not emitting a siren call to me to eat it.

    Now, I have not turned into a superhuman fiend who is somehow un-tempted by treats.

    I think what's happened here is that my morning bowl of yogurt and granola has evolved to the point of being both delicious and somehow satisfying some of the same desire that ice cream satisfies. I never would have expected that, but here we are!

    The yogurt isn't frozen, but it has some ice cream similarities: very dairy, smooth creamy texture, sweetness and crunch from the granola (my favourite types of ice cream have crunchy nuts in them), chocolateyness from the granola (I also love vanilla ice cream with chocolatey bits...Haagen-Dazs Swiss chocolate almond, mmmmmmm).

    And my chocolate granola is homemade and has, over some months of tweaking, become the Best Granola Ever if I do say so myself. I'll add the recipe in the comments in case anyone is interested. :)

    For anyone who might be thinking to themselves - "that's great and all, but *I* don't like yogurt that much, so that wouldn't work for me..." Once, I was even as you! lol. I was never a yogurt fan until last year when I started trying plain unsweetened yogurt with granola on top, and now I am a convert. I don't think I'll ever much like the fruity ones, but this is my new favourite breakfast and I look forward to it every morning.

    submitted by /u/cinnamonandmint
    [link] [comments]

    Just a little bit of positivity ☀️

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 02:14 PM PDT

    Does anyone else get really happy when they see others that are overweight at the gym or just out going for a walk/run?

    I do because I know from personal experience how damn hard it is to find that motivation to start, and how much harder it is to keep going once you've started.

    I saw a guy jogging on my way to work this morning, overweight man with sweat pouring off him, and I smiled to myself thinking "hell yeah go you, dude!" and I felt really proud of this complete stranger.

    I don't know maybe this is all really silly, but I just feel happy when I see others doing what I'm now doing because I know it's not easy, and with all the toxicity of the body positive movement around (I'm not saying being body positive is a bad thing in general, but a lot of people just use it as an excuse to be unhealthy, which is upsetting) it's nice to see people working hard to get healthy because at the end of the day the only person that can do that for you is you.

    Keep going, guys! ❤

    submitted by /u/rnoriarty
    [link] [comments]

    Potentially Controversial Opinion: Weight Watchers (WW) is a tool for social support which is the only reason it works for people

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 11:42 AM PDT

    I am not a fad diet person, and I much prefer free, accessible resources like this sub to fancy pants "health" programs. In fact, if you had asked me "Would you ever consider joining Weight Watchers?" two years ago, I would have laughed in your face as a lean FIRE person who is proud of my Officially Crazy Frugal Person badge.

    HOWEVER, I find myself sliding into my 30s with a consistent extra 5-10 lbs at any one time, and I finally decided, I can afford this, why not try it? It works for other people apparently and they like it. After a few months on the program, I actually really like it *!*. I've decided this is simply because of the camaraderie, cheery positivity (although I could see how this may be grating to some folks), and group accountability. Also, I believe my enjoyment is in no small part due to the deficit of other social activities during this odd time.

    Does anyone else use WW in combo with this sub, intermittent fasting, intuitive eating, or other "free" mindset type approaches?

    submitted by /u/OrderlyKit
    [link] [comments]

    I will *not* miss people telling me I’m “thick” or “big boned” when I would say “I’m fat”

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 07:29 AM PDT

    What kind of condescending gaslighting bullshit is that? I get that it usually comes from a good place i.e. the person has a very negative association w fat and wants to distance me, the (now formerly) obese person, from their negative charge around fatness. But work that shit out in therapy on your own time; please don't put me in a position where I have to either argue that my 280-360+ lb, 5'11 ass is, indeed, fat (gasp), or just accept that you have a teeny little problem with a part of me that I don't feel the need to deny. Alternatively, I if I'd point out that they have an issue with admitting that it was glaringly obvious that I was fat, they'd get real defensive and I'd end up feeling mean for confronting them with it. Again, I'm not really upset at them, but I surely will not miss having that conversation.

    Edit: I don't walk around saying "I'm fat" to strangers. I was obese for pretty much my entire life, and it was unavoidable for me. If someone wanted to go to H&M, for example, I might say that they really don't carry clothing for fat people so I'll check out Old Navy and link up after. In that situation, I don't think that it's beneficial for anyone for people to reassure me that my bones are big.

    Edit 2: I didn't put people in that situation, because it would make them uncomfortable. Instead, I usually just sucked it up and moved on to spare them the anguish. This post is from my perspective as someone being contradicted about a basic biological fact that was often relevant to guiding my day to day. "If I'd," not "during my weekly challenges against strangers to prove I'm fat." For all the reasons brought up in the comments and more, this is not a route I'd usually take. It doesn't mean that it doesn't frustrate me sometimes.

    Edit 3: I get why my tone makes it sound like I might be upset at people who have done this, and that's why I tried to clarify it in the OP but I guess I should emphasize: I am not upset at anyone. People do their best and I don't expect more. I am just very happy that I will no longer be in a position where me being fat is relevant and I have to A) pretend I'm not fat; or B) raise the issue and be prepared to say that I am indeed fat or accept the correction that we both know to be false.

    submitted by /u/Slight_Cauliflower_1
    [link] [comments]

    I am not a garbage disposal!

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 03:06 PM PDT

    One of my bad habits is using myself as a cleanup method for food. Licking measuring spoons, picking up the fallen chocolate chips and just popping them in my mouth, cleaning the spoon with a bit of pb left on it with my mouth. It's just automatic for me to pop the last bit of cheese for a recipe, or the last bites of food in the Tupperware in my mouth! I have to stop myself from eating the last bite of something just because I'm holding it, and put down the grapes I'm not really enjoying and not just finish them as a way of 'cleaning up'. I don't know if anyone else is like this. I eat past satiation for cleaning my plate's sake, and eat things I don't like just to clean them up! I don't know if I'm phrasing myself well, but something I started telling myself is "I'm not a garbage disposal! I don't have to clean up by eating!" or "I am not a vacuum! I don't need to eat it just because it's there!". I think I'm making good progress with this endeavor, and I hope I can train myself completely out of that habit. I honestly don't know why I do this!

    submitted by /u/pasta-daddy
    [link] [comments]

    [Challenge] European Accountability Challenge: October 30th, 2020

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 11:23 PM PDT

    Hi team Euro accountability, I hope you're all well!

    For anyone new who wants to join today, this is a daily post where you can track your goals, keep yourself accountable, get support and have a chat with friendly people at times that are convenient for European time zones. Check-in daily, weekly, or whatever works best for you. It's never the wrong time to join! Anyone and everyone are welcome! Tell us about yourself and let's continue supporting each other.

    Let us know how your day is going, or, if you're checking in early, how your yesterday went!

    Share your victories, rants, problems, NSVs, SVs, we are here!

    I want to shortly also mention — this thread lives and breathes by people supporting each other :) so if you have some time, comment on the other posts! Show support, offer advice and share experiences!

    submitted by /u/visilliis
    [link] [comments]

    Environment is EVERYTHING.

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 01:20 PM PDT

    I've been trying to lose weight for 10+ years: always falling off the wagon, getting back on, and learning more and more. Exhausting? Yes - but I'll get there! And this time, I've learned the most important lesson for me.

    Y'all. Your environment is so, so important to weight loss.

    Before the pandemic started, my environment wasn't ideal because I wasn't paying attention or taking care of it. We had junk food in the house. Our housemate didn't eat healthily, and I allowed her bad habits to influence me. I told myself it was too hot, too cold, or too wet to exercise. We had a gym, but I made excuses. I thought "it's not the right time, I need things to be right". Put simply: I didn't lose weight in The Better Times, because I was waiting for perfect conditions.

    And then things got so much worse.

    Covid shut the gyms. We got takeaway delivered almost every night during lockdown. Depression, anxiety and sadness set in. Good things happened too - I started walking every day when we were allowed one exercise a day. We couldn't go to the shops to snack so much. I started thinking, "maybe I can be one of those people who loses weight during quarantine!"

    ...Then things turned really bad.

    Basically, my mum moved in with us. I had to rescue her from a horrible situation, and she's a very negative person. Since she's been staying I've realised some horrible things about my childhood I can't process properly while she's still here. The woman is a black hole of negative energy. I feel like crying whenever I'm in the same room as her. We're working on getting her in a better living situation as soon as possible - but until then, I feel trapped. My mental health is in a dire state.

    And you know what? Weight loss can wait. I did the bingeing thing... it makes me feel worse. So I won't be intentionally seeking out junk food.

    But if I want a pizza? I'll get a small one. Extra cheese.

    If I need to get out of the house? I'll take a big walk - I won't try and run, and risk breaking down crying because I can't meet the standards of where I "think" I "should" be by now.

    Life's thrown us a curveball to the side of the face. And I'm seeing the evidence everywhere - it seems like either people have thrived over quarantine, getting into bodyweight fitness and ridding themselves of junk food without the pressure of eating while socialising. Their environment has improved for weight loss. Others have put on weight, or barely maintained, because their environment has worsened for weight loss.

    This is me. And if this is you, it's okay.

    It's never too late. It's genuinely okay to take a break, because the world is exploding. Even if you've been way too lazy during The Good Times.

    It feels like I've been evicted from a large, lovely house I took for granted and allowed to fall into ruin, and now I feel what I lost. I'm living in a broom cupboard, and regrouping. Re-learning what I need to do to keep my environment clean, build good habits, and thrive on the other side.

    Just a thought. I hope it helps.

    submitted by /u/PitifulParfait
    [link] [comments]

    the misery of yo-yo dieting

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 07:22 PM PDT

    hi all,

    I'm new here and just wanted to hop on and say hello. i'm 28 years old and have struggled with yo-yo dieting and restrict-binge cycles most of my late teens and 20's. I've always been an overly drastic person and tend to fall victim to extremes. I've gone up and down 40lbs within just a few months.

    I'm finally just so sick of it. The instant gratification of crash diets doesn't appeal to me anymore. I just want sustainable change and to love my body every step of the way.

    Does anyone have any success stories of finding balance after aa history with yo-yoing like me? How did you do it and what finally caused you to look for a different solution? I could use some encouragement. Thank you!

    submitted by /u/muscleandmentality
    [link] [comments]

    This is another guy trying to lose weight. Hopefully it will stick this time around.

    Posted: 30 Oct 2020 02:00 AM PDT

    I feel as though I keep sabotaging for myself whenever I start losing weight and I hate myself for it.

    So quick background, 28yr old and have an 8yr old son. Most of my days are spent sitting at a desk because I am studying to become a fullstack developer, so not a lot of movement going on there. I am 197cm tall ( 6′ 5.5591″, thanks google translate) and weigh 136.7kgs(301.4 lbs), so I need to lose 40kgs(88.1lbs) which is a lot.

    I used to be as heavy as 160kgs a few years back, but I managed to lose some, but it's far too slow and I am afraid of dying because of my weight before my son becomes an adult. I need to change things.

    My plan is to post here daily to keep myself honest, even if I had a bad day, and also post pictures monthly of any progress I might have made. And hopefully in a years time I can look back at this thread and be happy with myself.

    Today I will mostly study and later tonight I will meet up with my family and celebrate my cousin who turned 18, so there will be some drinking going on. I haven't been drunk or anything in almost 10 years so def not a regular thing. But there will be chips and popcorn there as well, so I will really try and stay away from that.

    I have some pictures I just took of myself that will mark the starting point of this journey, but I can't seem to upload them here, so I will post them later if it's possible.

    I'll check in at night when I come home or tomorrow morning. (Hopefully it's okay to use this as a sort of diary btw)

    submitted by /u/BecomingaWarrior1152
    [link] [comments]

    Finally bought a scale; really upset about the result

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 02:31 PM PDT

    (For reference I'm 21m 6', 230lbs currently) My crappy mechanical scale broke and started giving ridiculous results about a year ago. I never got around to getting a new one and forgot about it. I had been slowly gaining weight for a while, but when quarantine happened I started gaining really, really fast. I finally hit the brakes in mid September and started calorie counting, trying to lose weight etc. I kept track just by taking measurements and seeing how my clothes fit, so I know I've definitely lost fat since then.

    Over the weekend I was out shopping and ended up buying a bathroom scale. I was honestly a little scared to step on it and left it in the package for a few days, but today I busted it out and weight myself-- 230 lbs. My best guess for my current weight had been ~210 lbs, and it's been really upsetting and demoralizing. Since I know I've lost weight, I must have weighed even more than that at my highest point last month. I really can't believe I let this happen, and I'm so sad knowing that it's actually going to take an additional 14 or so weeks of losing weight just to get down to what I thought was my starting weight!! I really wanted to get the weight back under control, at least to an extent, by the time I went back to school in person (mid January). I knew I couldn't lose all of it by then, but now I know that even if I lose weight quickly between now and then, I'll still be way above how much I weighed when I was last there.

    This is more of a rant than anything else, but this has really killed my motivation and is making me feel a little hopeless. If anyone has advice/sympathy/feel-good stories it would be much appreciated

    submitted by /u/incoherentsheaves
    [link] [comments]

    Why I don't completely regret gaining back 20 lbs of the 30 lbs I lost

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 02:35 PM PDT

    IMPORTANT: I DO NOT ADVOCATE GAINING BACK WEIGHT YOU HAVE ALREADY LOST

    Hey everyone! So for some background I am an 18 year old male. I am 6 foot 3 inches and I currently weigh just under 260 lbs and when I started my weight loss journey back in March I was 273 lbs. I lost around 30 lbs before I started struggling mentally and gave up on eating better for a month or so. Yep, a month is all it took to gain 2/3 of the weight back that I spent multiple months losing.

    See, I would normally be distraught over this, but this gaining back of weight has taught me a lot. I am someone who believe everything happens for a reason, and I feel like this is no different. I started this journey after my high school shut down because of COVID (I have since graduated and now attend my dream college). I had just started losing weight because there was nothing fun to eat around the house and I couldn't go out and get food. Over the course of losing weight I never really noticed a difference in how I felt. I thought I had more energy and felt lighter but I wasn't sure.

    Gaining back this weight has illustrated I was 100% right. I felt SO much lighter and had WAY more energy. I was never really tired, I felt great, I was more responsible and overall happier. Currently, I feel like garbage physically and I really don't enjoy it. So, some words of warning for those of you on the right path now: If you start slacking, you will regret it, and you will feel 100x worse than you do now, I promise. Keep going, you got this.

    In addition to this, I kind of had a breakthrough moment. Even though I am 13 or so pounds lighter than I was, I realized I am fat. People always say "no, you're not fat, your just chubby" or "you're just big-boned!" I now absolutely hate when people say that. I am fat, and I own that now. I am more self-conscious, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. If you have a reason to be self-conscious (like being fat and unhealthy), you should probably be self-conscious for your own good. This was kind of an unexpected discovery for me but I am glad I discovered it.

    Lastly, I found out: WEIGHT LOSS IS POSSIBLE! I thought it would be so hard to lose weight, but through CICO I had very little difficulty. I found I enjoyed it a lot and I am happy to be back on the right path.

    So, where am I now? I am a fat college student with more motivation than ever to improve. I now know it is possible and that it really isn't as hard as everyone makes it out to be. I also realized how much weight I want to lose and now I am the one pushing for weight loss, it isn't just happening because of quarantine. Lastly, I am working on building muscle while losing weight, and so far it has been a lot of fun.

    KEEP AT IT PEOPLE! THE TEMPORARY TASTE OF UNHEALTHY FOOD IS NOT WORTH THE GRIND TO LOSE THE SAME WEIGHT ALL OVER AGAIN! YOU GOT THIS! I BELIEVE IN YOU!

    submitted by /u/EnthusiastofAll
    [link] [comments]

    SV/NSV Feats of the Day - Friday, 30 October 2020: Today, I conquered!

    Posted: 30 Oct 2020 01:09 AM PDT

    The habit of persistence is the habit of victory!

    Celebrating something great? Scale Victory, Non-Scale Victory, Progress, Milestones -- this is the place! Big or small, long or short, please post here and help us focus all of today's awesomeness into an inspiring and informative mega-dose of greatness! (Details are appreciated!! How are you losing your weight?)

    • Did you just change your flair? pass a milestone? reach a goal?
    • Did you log for an entire week? or year?
    • Did you take the stairs? walk a mile? jog for 3? set a new personal record?
    • Fit into your old pair of jeans? throw away your fat clothes? fit into your college outfit?

    Post it here! This is the new, improved place for recording your acts of awesomeness!

    Due to space limitations, this may be an announcement (sticky) only occasionally. Please find it daily and keep it the hottest thing on /r/loseit!


    On reddit your vote means, "I found this interesting!" Help us make this daily post the most read, most used, most interesting post on /r/loseit by reading, commenting, and participating often!


    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    Daily Q&A Post for Friday, 30 October 2020 - No question too small!

    Posted: 30 Oct 2020 03:00 AM PDT

    Got a question? We've got answers!

    Do you have question but don't want to make a whole post? that's fine. Ask right here! What is on your mind? Everyone is welcome to ask questions or provide answers. No question is too minor or small.

    TIPS:

    • Include your stats if appropriate/relevant (or better yet, update your flair!)
    • Check the FAQ and other resources in the sidebar!
    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    A little tip for someone starting out?

    Posted: 30 Oct 2020 02:18 AM PDT

    Hey! So, I'm an anxious person, and have lost a lot of will to actually do stuff to lose weight, I'm between 190-200 pounds with no muscle on my body and have really been trying to get down to 130 pounds at the least to be more comfortable with myself. I wanted to know if there was anything that helped you guys keep to losing weight and working out even when it felt there was no use to trying? Having been in the 200 range for some time, I had never been bigger than 200lbs, but it's been years since I've been smaller than 150. I have done light exercising in the past to try and get myself going, but often find myself giving up due to the anxieties or being put down by others. Though I have done rather well on my eating habits.

    Are there any tips you have that had helped you keep going with your dieting and exercising?

    [18y, 5'5, m, if that helps with anything.]

    submitted by /u/DistortedVale
    [link] [comments]

    30 Day Accountability Challenge - Day 29

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 06:32 PM PDT

    Hello losers,

    Thursday! Woot woot.

    Weight by end of month (199 lbs, preferably trend weight): No weigh in this morning.

    Stay within calorie range (maintain): Maintenance.

    Exercise 5 days a week: 30 minute HIIT video & lower back stretches. Feeling limber. 22/29 days.

    Self-care journaling (once a week, 60 minutes): There has been much journaling, I may finish this journal I just started this month. 4/4 weeks.

    Self-care time (work on not using food as a reward): Went in for a check up to the doctor even though I did not want.

    Try a new recipe once a week: Turkey tacos, roasted parsnips, roasted purple cauliflower, fajita marinade/fixings & a hamburger casserole thingy. 5/5 weeks.

    Be more mindful, present in my body & express gratitude to avoid the hedonic treadmill: Grateful for fat berries, coffee & relative stability.

    Your turn kids!

    submitted by /u/Mountainlioness404d
    [link] [comments]

    please read this!!

    Posted: 29 Oct 2020 06:17 AM PDT

    (i'm a bit sad that people are downvoting this! i'm really hoping as many people as possible can hear this/something similar.)

    hello! i'm quite new to the r/loseit community but I just wanted to say something and if it helps even one person in the slightest bit, that is amazing. I needed to hear this myself and thought maybe some of you would need it as well.

    Please just take a minute to look at how far you've come. taking your own health into your hands in and of itself is a huge achievement, and while it may not seem like it at first, it really us. for those of you struggling, you will get through it. you're learning so so much about yourself throughout this process, and that is more important. try to not let the numbers consume you.

    I'm here for you!! I may be a stranger, but anytime you need me to tell you how amazing you are, send me a message! because I'll do it, YOU ARE AMAZING! If you're like me, you may be thinking "she could be saying that to someone that isn't actually that good... how would she know? it doesn't really help" but let me tell you, being a part of this community and trying to take steps for yourself MAKES YOU AMAZING. (I'm not sponsored by this sub or anything, I just really love what reddit has done for me and so so many other people).

    if you're having a bad day, I'm here for you, and so are so so many other wonderful people. Trust the process, and you'll get there. In the end, you'll have a lifestyle which you can maintain, in a body that you love.

    I love you!! <3

    P.S. please say something to those who need to hear it. you don't have to send this particular message, just some kind of support to them. please try and support someone else who might be having a hard time! that's the best thing we all can do. after all, we're a community, and we need to make sure that we strengthen it.

    if you've come this far, thank you for reading it! please look at the comments — people are sharing great things there :)

    submitted by /u/peppasucksatpig
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment