• Breaking News

    Wednesday, October 28, 2020

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-10-28

    Bodyweight Fitness: BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-10-28


    BWF Daily Discussion and Beginner/RR Questions Thread for 2020-10-28

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 11:06 PM PDT

    Welcome to the /r/bodyweightfitness daily discussion thread!

    • Feel free to post beginner questions or just about anything that's on your mind related to fitness!

    Reminders:

    • Read the FAQ as your question may be answered there already.
    • If you're unsure how to start training, check out our Recommended Routine, or our more skills based routine: Move.
    • Even though the rules are relaxed here, asking for medical advice is still not allowed.

    For your reference we also have these weekly threads:

    Join our live conversations on Discord! We're also on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter!

    If you'd like to look at previous Discussion threads, click here.

    submitted by /u/AutoModerator
    [link] [comments]

    At Home Fitness Transformation / 9 months / 27yo ~165 lbs. (Feb.) - 158 lbs (now)

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 05:11 PM PDT

    Hey guys. My name's Aaron and I just wanted to share my fitness journey that's taken place over the last 9 months that we've all been locked in our houses (I'm in LA so I'm still very much inside).

    Let me preface this post by saying that I'm very much still early on in my fitness journey. I'd say about 75% of what I do is body weight exercises or started as body weight but now with extra weight. I have tons still to learn and improve upon. I've never been to a gym barring 1 or 2 times going half as a joke in HS, but at the beginning of quarantine I was in a really bad place personally. Super depressed and drinking a ton after moving out to LA and having the first few people I thought were friends f me over and lie about all kinds of stuff (I'm in the music industry and that's a story in and of itself, but for another day). I was just down overall, and my girlfriend at the time kinda gave me an ultimatum of "you gotta find something that drives you and your passionate about or I can't stick around". It had nothing to do with my physique, I'm just a person that needs exceptional personal challenges to work towards in able to keep myself happy and sane. She recommended that I look into some 75 day hard challenge.

    Essentially 75 days with

    -no alcohol only drinking water and coffee

    -no drugs

    -only eating lean meats, whole grains, and vegetables.

    -Work out twice a day for 45 min each (at least half of that outside)

    -at least 7 hrs of sleep

    So I decided I was going to try that out, and started at the very beginning of Feb. At first I wanted to die lmao but after a week or so I started to fall in love with the training and decided that I was going to make myself look like a marvel superhero, and be in my best athletic shape of my life instead of just doing the challenge for challenge' sake.

    Here's the progress from day 1 (Feb 1st) till now https://imgur.com/a/Eu0KFpk

    I ended up lasting 60 days adhering strictly to the rules of the challenge, but had a drink on the 61st night lol.

    As far as my routine -

    When I first started I was walking 3 miles a morning 7 days a week gradually incorporating more and more running as I was able to.

    Then for my lifting I'd lift every day doing a full body routine I made up. I got a backpack and filled it with my heaviest belongings till it was around 25 lbs and used that as a free weight.

    100 standard pushups

    50 declined pushups

    50 inclined pushups

    3 sets of tricep dips 25 reps each

    3 sets of curls 10 reps each arm

    100 sit ups

    3 sets upright row 20 reps each

    2 sets of under arm raises 20 reps each side

    That was essentially what I did for the first month till I got bored, and learned more about weightlifting etc.

    Since the start of things I've done a ton of research and learned a lot more about weightlifting, rest days, dieting, macros, etc and have applied what seems to work best for me without being too overly critical.

    These days I'm still eating super clean. Very little sugar. almost only whole grains, but limited carbs. I try to get 150 - 200 grams of protein a day. I have a few drinks every now and then, and sometimes allow for a cheat day every blue moon, but honestly the hardest thing for me is to intake enough calories every day to stay at a surplus. I have protein shakes sometimes, but other than that I've never done any supplements and wouldn't know where to start.

    There have been slip ups here and there throughout the journey. In June my father in PA passed away surprisingly from a heart attack at 56, and that led to a rough few months for my physical and mental health and a lot of time helping with family, but these days I'm dealing with it all as well as I can.

    My current routine is significantly more organized than it was. I alternating between doing sprints for 3.5 miles and rucking with 50 lbs for the same distance every other day. My 9 month old Pitsky loves the running days as she joins me every day.

    Then for my lifting I split up my week doing

    Mon - full upper body

    Tues - Chest and Shoulders

    Wed - Legs

    Thur - Arms and Back

    Friday - Rest

    Sat - Chest and Arms

    Sun - Legs

    I try to get in 100 pull ups every other day as well. I try to break each day into 5 or 6 different workouts. doing 3/4 sets of each.

    I also brought back a bunch of old donut shaped weights from PA so I can more precisely measure my strength improvements and all that, but still put them in my backpack for rucking, pushups, and most other things haha.

    Apologies for making such a long post, but I wanted to try and provide some details as to what I'm doing. I've still got a good ways until I'm proper Superman ripped, but I've learned so much, and am so much happier having done what I have up till now. I'd love to chat with anyone so If you've got any inquiries about more specific elements don't be afraid to drop a comment. More than anything else these 9 months have reinforced my belief that there's no better way to succeed at something than to just start. As long as you aren't afraid to be wrong, and have a desire to learn along the way you'll be straight. If I tried to learn everything I know now before I started I never would have started.

    submitted by /u/ackeba
    [link] [comments]

    Training Plan Help - recovery orientated question

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 09:01 AM PDT

    Hey guys I know this is for cycling however there are clued up people about physio and fitness on here I suppose if you could help.

    I have been doing the below whenever I feel like it or if its left however would anyone recommend a priority/day to maximise return and rest etc;

    2/3 Hour base zone 2 day

    1.30 Hours zone 2 and short intervals day

    1.30 Hours zone 2 and hill repeats day

    1.30 hour off the bike at home with weights or running

    Regards ,

    Taf

    submitted by /u/TAFAKKA
    [link] [comments]

    Question for those who have mastered 20+ pullups

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 08:47 AM PDT

    I've been trying to get as close as possible to 20 dead hang pull-ups for a while now. I'm decently lean and lift 2-3 times a week, I have some okay gains. I've taken time off lifting to really give the Fighter pull up program a try, after having hovered around 12 pull-ups for a while. Two weeks in I just started lacking physical energy to get all the reps. I've tried getting better sleep, more protein, etc. I missed several reps and decided to take two rest days and get back at it. Things are going fine, I went back a few reps and am moving forwards again. My question for those who have punched past this wall / plateau : Is it a matter of patience or should I be training some other way? How did you get past the weaker days and attain the objective? Thank you all for your time.

    Edit : Apologies in advance, this must be one of the most asked questions on this sub, but I feel like I'm doing things right yet not progressing very much. I take long rest times in between sets and have tried weighted pull-ups. Nothing original but I always appreciate feedback.

    submitted by /u/theotherguy3431
    [link] [comments]

    How long should I hold an arch hold on the RR before moving on to negative pullups?

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 01:27 PM PDT

    I'm a bit confused, do I hold a certain amount of time on an arch hold for 5-8 reps, or is it supposed to be an isometric hold for a certain amount of time and I just do the max for the set.

    submitted by /u/comrade_cheddar
    [link] [comments]

    i dont understand recommended routine

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 12:00 PM PDT

    I dont know if i missed something or readed it wrong but i cant to understand how it works.

    If i understood correct. The proper way how to form a weekly scheedule should be something like this:

    Monday :

    - Warm up

    - Pull up progression 3x5-8

    - Squats progression 3x5-8

    Wednesday :

    - Warm up

    - Dip progression 3x5-8

    - Hinge progression 3x5-8

    Friday :

    - Warm up

    - Push up progression 3x5-8

    - Row progression 3x5-8

    I dont understand where i add core exercises to this and should i do for example monday. Just set of pull ups and squats or i do all pull ups and squats progression exercises. I am sorry if missed something and if my question is stupid. Sorry for bad English, i hope i will get some help to understand this system better

    submitted by /u/sipura51
    [link] [comments]

    How to reduce swinging during dips

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 09:16 AM PDT

    Do you swing a bit during dips? If so what do you do about it?

    I find that I swing when I lockout or am almost about to. My form otherwise is good, I keep my shoulders down and go down to a bit more than 90°.

    submitted by /u/ZrAckl
    [link] [comments]

    Handstand muscle memory

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 03:23 AM PDT

    Has anyone ever over trained handstand with a wall and now when they try and do it away from the wall the leading leg moves out to hit the wall that isn't there?

    I've done this. I still do 3 sets of feet swaps chest to wall in my handstand training.

    But find when I go free I kick my leading leg out.

    Any tips?

    submitted by /u/nickpangalos
    [link] [comments]

    Will heavy cardio reduce strength/muscle gains?

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 05:04 AM PDT

    I am doing the rr one day and running, flexibility, skills and some fighting/MMA work every other day. Currently I am on the C25K program for my running on W4 (3.2km split up into running and walking) and hoping to get up to 5k runs. Will all this cardio limit my gains? I know I will need to eat more calories to make up for the increased activity, but if I'm still in surplus, will this negatively affect another part of my routine, such as strength?

    submitted by /u/Dragon34714
    [link] [comments]

    About advanced skills

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 12:33 PM PDT

    When should i start to train victorian or maltese?Actually i have 10 sec of FL and 6 of Adv. Tuck planche,should I master those ones first, or Begin tô train now?

    submitted by /u/IgorAaaafpo
    [link] [comments]

    Combining weights and body weight for aesthetics and strength

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 10:07 AM PDT

    My main goals are to get stronger with pull-ups, HSPU, dips, and to learn the front lever and planche. However I know these are all strength moves, which wouldn't be trained optimally if I take a hypertrophy training route. But the thing is I also want to use weights and improve aesthetics. The Main things I'm really focusing on aesthetics wise are lateral delts, chest, and arms. How can I train for this all at once? Is it even possible? My current training split is push, pull, planche, but i feel like my triceps and chest don't get enough volume due to my push workouts being 90 percent compounds. They never feel sore, and I don't get the desired pump. If anyone can help me that would be awesome thanks a lot.

    submitted by /u/Glum_Bell
    [link] [comments]

    I made my own workout routine

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 08:46 AM PDT

    So I used to do bodybuilding till I got injured now I've been doing calisthenics for about 2 months. I just made my own routine that I've been following for a week, I wanted if there was anything u think I should change or any suggestions. Thank you.

    Workout routine: 3 second rest between each set and 5min rest between each excercise

    Each excercise should have 10 reps and 3 sets

    All body weight excercises are weighted

    Day 1(push):archer pushups,dips,pseudo pushups,diamond pushups,incline bench press,squats,overhead press

    Day 2(pull):wide pull ups,pull ups, chin ups,tucked back lever,deadlifts,barbell rows

    submitted by /u/BeeGeeeee
    [link] [comments]

    I'm not sure what's going on, but I'm done with gym

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 04:38 PM PDT

    So I'm 18, 5'4, writing finals for high school. This year hasn't been the most forgiving, with covid forcing schools to close and my only gym was at my school. This meant that home workouts with only 10kg dumbells has been the only option, which lowers motivation intensely.

    But most of all, it's not just the environment. I've lost interest in taking care of my body in general. I started working out cause I'm skinny, this being a heavy insecurity. For a while I loved gym – I didn't want to stop cause I saw a bit of progress. Then all of a sudden it just stopped. It was like I was going to gym for fun. People would ask me, "You still work out?" when I never stopped in the first place. Everyone around me attending gym were all seeing major progress, even I saw it on them. For me it wasn't the same. I had the protein powders and everything. I even ate more but no.

    I'm not sure if maybe its because of the depression and anxiety I've been dealing with but I doubt it cause I usually work out to nullify those feelings. The point is, I'm on the brink of losing all interest. Its been 2 yrs of looking the same. This loss of interest also makes me sad cause I want to see myself look better but idk if it'd even happen. Does anyone relate?

    submitted by /u/ThiccboiGOD
    [link] [comments]

    Is there a threshold to the amount of calories that can be converted into muscles?

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 08:15 AM PDT

    I weight around 60kg, and eat about 3000 calories a day. What would happen if I took that number to 4000, or even 5000? Would all the extra calories (assuming they are made up of healthy carbs etc) turn into muscle, or would some of them eventually start turning into fat? Is there any danger to radically increasing your calorie intake like this?

    submitted by /u/elcronopio
    [link] [comments]

    [Pushup Progress] One week of maxing-out every day

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 04:16 AM PDT

    What am I doing?

    I'm doing one set - and one set only - of as many pushups as I can every day, every day.

    Why?

    For fun, and to see how I progress, very much inspired by another redditor who did a similar thing. Link

    Below is a little table of my week one progress, visual chart can be seen here - note: link goes to personal website

    Day Pushups: Total:
    1 19 19
    2 21 40
    3 23 63
    4 28 91
    5 27 118
    6 35 153
    7 36 189

    Obviously this is not an optimal program to increase your pushups numbers - this is a little test of mine. I hate pushups, but I am not new to them which might explain how I could go from 19 to 36 in one week. It's been about a year since I did pushups on the (somewhat) regular, but seeing how I have been able to more than 50 before I'm not suprised that some kind of muscle memory mumbo-jumbo kicked in and took me to 36. I reckon progress will stall significantly from 40 and upwards.

    Note that I am a very fit person in general and someone new to fitness would see different results. I'm no athlete-athlete, but I sometimes run ultra-distances and I can do one-arm pullups - just to paint a small picture of where I am physically.

    What about rest days?

    Lol.

    How long will you do this?

    At least till I get to 100 - or even a full year. Hopefully I'll get there faster than the guy that inspired me to do this little challenge. Updates will be given on a weekly basis. If you want to join it'd be fun to see how others would progress doing something similar!

    Oooor until I realise I'm not making any progress because I'm not getting any good rest, at which point I'll do it every other day. But the aspiration is to max out every day!

    Why is doing 100 pushups something to aspire to?

    It's not. Neither is finishing a marathon, or climbing some specific mountain, but people still do it. I guess humans like doing arbitrary, stupid things.

    submitted by /u/MrSealpoop
    [link] [comments]

    Backflip Confidence

    Posted: 28 Oct 2020 01:05 AM PDT

    Probably get a lot of this question on this subreddit, but I really wanna get the confidence to a backflip on the floor. I can do it on the trampoline, as well as the mattress in one jump (no jumps prior to make my final jump high) but I can't bring myself to do it on the floor, or on the grass. My dad offered to spot me but I still couldn't do it. I can't really go to one of those places where they have soft pads to do it on because of Covid so I don't know what to do.

    Edit: I'm also 6'3, does my height have anything to do with how hard this can be for me?

    submitted by /u/PrudentReality7932
    [link] [comments]

    Can I build a freestanding pull up bar ON concrete?

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 09:14 PM PDT

    Hi! I have a concrete surface in my backyard, and was wondering whether it would be possible to build a pull up bar on the concrete itself? I tried searching for YouTube videos of those who had done this, but struggled to find any. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

    submitted by /u/AcromegalyFortnite
    [link] [comments]

    Burpee Challenge

    Posted: 27 Oct 2020 06:45 PM PDT

    Long time lurk, tring to get my life back on track and thought this might be a good stepping stone. Join if you would like and add your name to the sheet! We're a couple days in but you can start where ever, whenever!

    (Link Below)

    Oh for the love of Burpees!

    Choose the Burpee type/progression that is comfortable for you. You may opt for no jump, or knee pushups, or just very relaxed paced - that's okay! Just get the reps in. Form is fundamental, reps are mandatory, consistency is key.

    This regiment is not for everyone, so please be your own advisor and do your research.

    This is more of a mental challenge of commitment and consistency.

    ps. please let me know if I can edit this post for improvement.

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1YwkmEZgnZHIye0ZzUUvh7NumlaCc2nQDybmfkVQO4ic/edit?usp=drivesdk

    submitted by /u/PacManWyatt
    [link] [comments]

    No comments:

    Post a Comment